Date: 26/8/2016 16:13
0

BSA R-10 MK2 PCP Air Rifle, Walnut Stock reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Jerry from USA on 2011-11-11 09:36:32

Things I liked: I have both calibers .177 .022 I received the long shroud or long barrel version meaning the barrel is 7 inches longer than the one shown, it is the same on both. I have to say this was pure luck . These are the absolute most accurate air rifles i have in my collection, which includes all calibers of the benjamin marauder .177 . 022 .025 The FX royal , edgun which is not a repeater of course. and so on. These rifles with the longer shroud have outstanding range and accuracy. I have paired them both with center point 8-24-56 scopes, I will put these rifles up against any and all comers. I am very impressed.

Things I would have changed: I use a sling pin bi pod which covers part of the fill port, I have to remove the bi pod to fill. No big deal I read that people talk about the price, After buying the R10 and seeing the capabilities of the rifle I would have paid more. You get what you pay for is a true statement here.

What others should know: If you want to have an air rifle with absolute world class accuracy then this is the rifle for you, I would only buy from Pyramyd air they have great knowledge of these rifles and the products they sell. They have a great support team on staff and can answer all questions, if I could sell all of my other air rifles and just have my R 10s I would be satisfied. I hope this helped

The most helpful critical review

0 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Juan from USA on 2011-10-23 17:35:28

Things I liked: The looks, beautiful design and the stock is awsome.

Things I would have changed: I paid for the $10 for 10 test ..!!! and the metal finish is mediocre, it leaks when filling and have to be cocked to avoid the air passing through the barrel. Accuracy is less than impressive and in 100 yd. shot I can see through the scope the pellet swirling in a spiral (ridiculous). And after only 20 or 25 shots air starts leaking so you have to cock it again to stop from loosing all the air. I can't believe I even wrote to Erica at Pyramyd Air before ordering to avoid this deception.

What others should know: It is a VEEERY long barrel (43") and the picture Pyramyd Air has doesn't match the gun you'll get. Go for Air Arms every day folks.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-08-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent gun. Very accurate

    Things I would have changed: Some design that would prevent loading a second pellet accidentally. It's possible to forget that you've chambered one and work the bolt again.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By D. Braxton from USA on 2016-07-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Beautiful presentation. Accurate at every yardage I've experienced. Hole on hole at 18 to 25 yards, 3/4 inch group at 60 yards using hunting chair and bipod. Rifle is capable of even better if bench rested. Great trigger and good balance off hand. Rifle is very easy to disassemble and maintain with many videos on YouTube for the UK and others. I really like this airgun!

    Things I would have changed: Ok! BSA stock regulation just isn't acceptable out of the box. It was acting as a restriction and producing the classic bell curve that unregulated airguns display. I disassembled the regulator, burnished the moving parts with extra fine steel wool, and used a tiny amount of molycoat/synthetic oil blend to lube the regulator piston. Reassembled and adjusted the spring tension on the regulator to confirm regulator response (1 3/4 turns in from flush). With regulator now responding, I achieved an extreme spread of 21 PSI for 30 shots. Not bad. However, I drank the online Kool-Aid and ordered an aftermarket regulator. Plug and play install, 10 fps extreme spread, over 40 shots. Great airgun when stock regulator works, but an AWESOME air rifle with the new regulator!!!

    What others should know: I could not rate this gun with 5 stars overall because of the regulator issue. If you have some mechanical experience, don't be afraid to disassemble and work on this gun. But don't do anything you don't need to do either! I did not adjust the hammer spring, or go into any other internals. Except for the regulator the gun is fantastic right out of the box. I hope that Gamo (who now owns BSA air guns) will address this issue, but it may push the price up a bit. As it is, the pricing point on this premium rifle is very attractive. Watch for Pyramid Air's super sales and order with confidence.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Clay from USA on 2016-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is the first PCP Airgun I've ever got, and took it out the day before our shooting match, got first place by a long shot. I love everything about this gun, except the the hand pump, but I can now change it up in 5 minutes

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: If you don't like pumping, and got the money get a tank

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Barny from USA on 2016-03-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks, feel, balance, craftsmanship, walnut stock, accuracy, regulated, trigger feel, ease of filling, recessed mag, continuous scope rail, sling swivel stud, threaded barrel, quietness, mag loading ease, real bolt, P-Air customer service! Ran out of allowed characters below: After 40 years of Crosman 2100 multi pumps (3 of them), I bought the .22 walnut as my first PCP gun and the BSA 3-12x44 scope.

    Things I would have changed: Add a physical stop feature to prevent wasting air due to shooting an empty mag, I waste one shot each mag. Publish a more detailed owner manual. I don't know the regulated air pressure value nor how to adjust it. Knowing the value would tell me when to refill, avoiding wasted air. Offer left hand or ambidextrous in walnut (BSA does, PA does not).

    What others should know: If getting a bipod, get one with picatiny rail sling adaptor like the Leapers UTG TL-BP78Q. This moves it forward of the fill port (I got lucky). For scope ring sizing the barrel top is 1.9mm higher than the dovetail rail top. This gun isn't light, with scope and bipod it weighs 10.4 lbs. I bought for backyard only so weight is fine for me. I don't know how to fill above 2900 psi to 3300 (232 bar). I bought the Air Venturi scuba fill adaptor and the AV 4500 psi carbon paint ball tank ($300), but both are regulated at 2900. This was supposed to avoid needing a $300 heart attack hand pump.The scuba tank process is awesome, only takes <1 minute to fill since the port just slips in w/o a snap fitting. Call PA customer service before buying if you have 'any' questions (like fill adaptors). They selected everything I needed, the call was the best customer experience of my 52 year life.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By samuel from USA on 2016-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: everything.works well with 6 or 7 types of pellets that I tried. Only got a flyer, not really a flyer(about 1/8 off at 10 yard) when I let the pressure drop outside the green.

    Things I would have changed: nothing so far

    What others should know: The gun shoots at over 970 fps with the 11gram ammo that they test the R-10 with even tho the specs say 900max vel.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By samuel from USA on 2016-01-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: After reading reviews, watching videos and speaking with sales reps at pyramid I bought and received my R-10 22cal.shortly after the new year 2016. I had heard that the air arms and the daystate rifles where also good and around the same price range. Needless to say I didn't bother doing much research once I found out they want about 50 buck for extra mags(that's sick being that I bought 4 extras for the R-10 the same way I did when I got my ben-mar ). I was hoping all I read and saw wasn't hype. I have only shot from 7-15 yard but so far its unbelievable how accurate this gun is. I now know what you guy mean when you say stacking pellets, A few times I had to point away to make sure I wasn't out of pellets because I saw no change in the size of the pellet hole after several shots. I already was saying to myself "your crazy" when I bought the Ben-Mar for that price but I'm more than happy to have spent 2x as much for this gun.

    Things I would have changed: nothing so far

    What others should know: .I really like my Benjamin marauder in 22cal but the looks and the accuracy of this gun is at least 3x better. this is a great step up

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Shellie from USA on 2016-01-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought this gun for myself, but my husband is always using it. This from a man that thinks if it not a Daystate or Air Arms it is not a good gun, guess he found one he likes better.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing, most beautiful gun I have ever seen.

    What others should know: Greg should recommend these more often, he was a great help in my choice.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bruce from USA on 2016-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like all these things: Trigger, Accuracy, Stock, Looks, Low Sound Level, Very consistent muzzle speeds with the regulated pressure, Many shots per fill, Magazine is easy to use and load, Bolt is smooth and easy to use, Metal finish is good but not as nice as some other higher end guns.

    Things I would have changed: Filler port system. Would be better with the quick disconnect type or like Air Arms uses, but with the type bottle used it would be difficult to incorporate. The way BSA packages the gun. Mine came with a small rub mark on the barrel from moving in the box while being shipped for thousands of miles from England and then to me.

    What others should know: I have now put several hundred rounds thru this gun. I fitted mine with a Hawke Sport Optics 8-32x50 AO Airmax 30 SF Rifle Scope. The combination is incredibly accurate. I now have this gun and an Air Arms S510. I can't tell you which one is more accurate. Do not skimp on a scope for this gun, If you can see it it will hit it. I started using Crossman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Domed, pellets and it shoots so well with these I haven't tried another type or brand yet. More fun to come.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2015-12-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fit and finish is on par with other fine rifles like my Air Arms S500's I already own with a beautiful Minelli stock. Great accuracy for me as a hunter - stacking 22 cal pellets on top of each other at 30+ yards is no problem. Like the sling studs and how quiet this gun is. Very back yard friendly and probably just a tad bit louder than my AA S500's set at half power but quieter than a 25 cal Marauder and much quieter than a Airforce Talon SS. Adjustable butt pad is also a nice feature. Trigger is very crisp - 1st stage is a little longer than on my Air Arms PCP's but the 2nd stage break is crisp and light. Having a regulator on the gun at this price point is amazing - consistent shot counts with no worries about point of impact changes as air pressure drops.

    Things I would have changed: The magazine works well but can be a bit difficult to place back in the gun - just make sure to align it correctly. Mine seems to catch/snag on the right wall of the magazine, so just applying a bit of pressure towards the muzzle corrects that problem.

    What others should know: I fill mine up with a Benjamin hand pump just like all my other PCP's. Make sure you buy the Air Venturi adapter if you plan on filling it up with a foster attachment. I am currently shooting JSB 15.9grain 22 cal pellets from about 210 bar down to around 165 bar and get 30 shots before I top up. It takes me about 65-75 pumps to bring the pressure back up to 210 bar, so roughly two pumps per shot. If you're in the market for a PCP and have considered Air Arms S510's but don't want to spend as much money, consider this a bargain with no tradeoffs, which can be even cheaper with coupon discounts - cannot apply coupon codes to Air Arms PCP's. This gun with all its features is a steal vs most other fine British PCP's.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John O from USA on 2015-12-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a wonderful work of craftsmanship. It preforms like a dream. It is much more accurate than I am. The wind was terrible my first outing with it but still managed some doubles and triples.

    Things I would have changed: A synthetic stock to make it lighter. Also a carbon pony bottle for the same reason. Hard to improve on this rifle.

    What others should know: It is so pretty that I am afraid to scar it up. (:

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Austin from USA on 2015-10-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything. This rifle feels like it was made specifically for me. Incredible accuracy. Great consistency and shot count. If I do my part this rifle will stack pellets at 50 yards.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: I seriously doubt that I'll be shooting any of my other rifles anytime soon. This rifle is amazing.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2015-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love the trigger -- wonderful break. Will probably decrease the first stage, as I prefer a little shorter travel. Overall look is superb. Balance with a modest scope (Leapers 4-16x44) is excellent.

    Things I would have changed: A bit of protection around the fill port would be nice -- I suspect the wood will get dinged up after a while from inserting the probe.

    What others should know: A larger (80 mm) AO sidewheel on your scope may cover the magazine port. I was just able to move mine rearward to clear the curve. Initial difficulty with a hand-pump fill: the o-rings on the probe wouldn't seal (friction fit). Corrected with a bit of Teflon tape under the o-rings to raise them ever so slightly. Crosman 0.22/14.3 gr domes averaged 930 fps out of the box. Very consistent fps down to 140 bar, giving about 45 shots from a full 230 bar fill (~2 bar/shot). The last 1/2" of bolt travel was surprisingly firm.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jon from USA on 2015-09-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The stock fits me perfectly, and is very beautiful. The gun is very light and easy to hold. It's very accurate, and relatively quiet. It's easy to load and cycle. I like that you can set the safety at any time. It's pretty easy to pressurize with a pump.

    Things I would have changed: Hard to complain about anything. The bottom of the butt catches on my shirt sometimes.

    What others should know: I have been shooting JSB Exact 8.44gr domes and Crosman Premier 10.5gr. I can only shoot at 20 meters in my yard, but from a rest I can put 10 Premier's in a .25" ctc group. This is my first PCP and it's great!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eddie from USA on 2014-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.264 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The heavy barrel. Barrel is almost 5/8" in dia. and free floated so that means no barrel bands to worry about/not trust. I like that the magazine does not protrude above the receiver. The stock is a fantastic piece of walnut and sculpted with purpose. Fits like a glove. I can hardly walk past it without picking it up and shouldering it. Installed sling studs are great. Regulated! Not pellet fussy. The trigger is adjustable for physical position (crude but useful) as well as sear engagement and pull. Haven't messed with the sear. I prefer the trigger on my S500. But if I had to choose between the rifles, I would pick the R10.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see a more rounded corner on the bottom of the butt plate so it doesn't hang on my shirt when lowering the rifle. Mine came set up with the regulator set up to a relatively high pressure and a light hammer strike. Which was very efficient (lots of shots) but gave some variation of velocity during shot string. I lowered the regulator pressure and increased the hammer spring tension so the velocity would be stable at 845 fps (900 fps CPHP) and smoothly dropping off the regulator at around 130 bar. I think this is the ballistic sweet spot for this pellet for a 50 yard shot, but I am no expert. Also there is no cover for the fill probe socket. A foam ear plug works well here.

    What others should know: The cheek piece is well suited to a high mounted scope. The bottle shaped reservoir is a more efficient use of material than a long slender tube. I believe this is where the weight savings came from to pay for the bull barrel, still leaving the R10 mk2 .25 lbs. lighter than the Air Arms S510 which has a thinner barrel. This is a robust, manly rifle. In my mind the barrel, hammer forged around a hardend mandrel, should leave a barrel without burrs. I do know that this rifle is astonishingly accurate. It will put pellets through the same exact hole at 25 yards and easily capable of 3/8" or less at 50 yards.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alan from USA on 2014-12-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Lines on the gun are beautiful, and the balance is spot on for me (5'6"). The trigger is excellent, and now that I have several hundred pellets through it, the action is very smooth. Accuracy is great out to 100yds (though wind is a problem); shot count is great with the regulated output. Sling studs on stock make putting a bipod on a breeze. Magazines have a unique design, and no jams, smooth as butter. Available single shot adapter makes odd sized pellets feed easily. Not overly pellet fussy, but seems to like JSB jumbos so far. Very easy refill port with the gauge visible during the refill.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger adjustments are not all available unless the stock is removed. It's a little louder than I would like even with the shroud (but the neighbors don't object when they see a rifle in the back yard making the noise!) and will probably eventually modify it to be quieter.

    What others should know: Fits me better than an FX, and the Daystate seems very barrel heavy in comparison. Couldn't beat the price from Pyramyd Air, but they don't allow any advertised discounts beyond the stated price.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2014-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.03 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: IMHO the R10 is one of the best looking guns around! The stock is gorgeous and it handles great. It comes with sling studs. Accuracy is phenomenal. Sound isn't to loud. Adjustable butt pad. The trigger is very crisp and easily adjustable. Reg can be adjusted w/o disassembly. Uninterrupted dovetail makes scope mounting a breeze.

    Things I would have changed: The shroud is not vented at the muzzle, so all the shroud behind the muzzle is just cosmetic. If the shroud were vented then maybe the guns overall length could be reduced cause there are 8" in front of the muzzle for the sound suppression. After firing the last pellet in the mag it is possible to continue cycling the action and firing w/o pellet in gun. Please add blank spot in magazine so after firing last pellet then action can't cycle & notify shooter that mag is empty. Fix the setting of the reg from the factory. On two .22cal copies I received the reg was set to high resulting in an fps spike when the gun drops off the reg. I reduced the reg setting to 135 bar and now its averaging 900 fps (JSB 16gr) with no spike for 45 good shots from 230 bar before POI drops.

    What others should know: If you mount a bipod on the front stud (like Caldwell or Harris ) you'll likely have to remove it each time you fill. So use a stud to picatinny adapter and a bipod that clamps to picatinny. This moves the bipod to the front of the stud leaving the fill port clear. The trigger isn't a true two stage unit. As far as sear engagement goes there is only the second stage. It is very easy to adjust but don't go to light or a strong bump might fire the gun. BSA barrels are known for accuracy. My .22cal R10 is shooting more accurately than my S410 rifle. Also the barrel has a nice stiff 15.5mm OD where many other guns are coming with more slender and flexible barrels. Dovetail is low or barrel is high (depending on your point of view) compared to other AGs so be prepared to buy high mounts. What are you waiting for?

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2014-03-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything! Accuracy, the stock, the regulator, the trigger, the looks. The complete package is wonderful. The gun shoots CPH's at 948 fps for 40 shots. 1/2 inch groups at 50 yards is easy.

    Things I would have changed: If I could change anything, it would be the bottle size. I would love a 300cc bottle.

    What others should know: Great gun at a very good price. I am so glad I bought the BSA R10. I hunt and only shoot paper to get on target and zero the gun. Then I shoot for groups with different pellets to find what pellet the gun prefers. The accuracy will amaze you. Thanks PA for such a fine product.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andy from USA on 2013-12-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy is as good as it gets. The elegantly carved walnut stock has perfect ergonomics and gives a solid feel. Everything works as it should and makes for a rugged performing airgun. Fairly high shot count of 55 at 18 FPE is nice to have available.

    Things I would have changed: The shroud could be made to perform as a true reflex system which would make it even quieter.

    What others should know: This gun needs to be shot a lot to give the regulator a work out. Once a few hundred shots have been taken, the regulator frees up and works very consistently.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2013-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Stock and looks of gun. I have a .177 and is super consistent over the chrono and delivered over 40 shots at over 20ft/lbs. The bolt is smooth and the gun balances great.

    Things I would have changed: Not much, I do prefer right side loading on my guns as I like large side wheels on my scopes.

    What others should know: You will not be disappointed with this rifle and price point is perfect.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jerry from USA on 2011-11-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.07 ratings

    Things I liked: I have both calibers .177 .022 I received the long shroud or long barrel version meaning the barrel is 7 inches longer than the one shown, it is the same on both. I have to say this was pure luck . These are the absolute most accurate air rifles i have in my collection, which includes all calibers of the benjamin marauder .177 . 022 .025 The FX royal , edgun which is not a repeater of course. and so on. These rifles with the longer shroud have outstanding range and accuracy. I have paired them both with center point 8-24-56 scopes, I will put these rifles up against any and all comers. I am very impressed.

    Things I would have changed: I use a sling pin bi pod which covers part of the fill port, I have to remove the bi pod to fill. No big deal I read that people talk about the price, After buying the R10 and seeing the capabilities of the rifle I would have paid more. You get what you pay for is a true statement here.

    What others should know: If you want to have an air rifle with absolute world class accuracy then this is the rifle for you, I would only buy from Pyramyd air they have great knowledge of these rifles and the products they sell. They have a great support team on staff and can answer all questions, if I could sell all of my other air rifles and just have my R 10s I would be satisfied. I hope this helped

  • 12 Next
Navigation