Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Beeman HW97K Air Rifle, Thumbhole Stock reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    4.5 (6 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Alexandre from USA on 2012-01-30 11:38:15

    Things I liked:Finish on the stock and comfort that it provides. I have weakness towards thumbhole stocks. Accuracy is very nice I am new to the sport but 5mm (0.2'') at 14m with leepers SWAT scope is good enough for me at this moment. The Blueing of the metal parts is superb. Trigger is very nice and smooth. cocking is relativly easy I am 130lb and can shoot this rifle all day without getting tired.
    Things I would have changed:1) The rough-ed up part on the grip and below stock I would replace with fish scale - its just preference 2) Rifle is kind of expensive for birch stock I would say. 3) Walnut thumbhole stock - why are those never available? 4) fully shrouded barrel would be great for reduced noise
    What others should know:1) rifle is heavy for off hand shooting it is preferable for you to shoot from bipod or a rest unless you have the strength to steady this thing in your bare hands. 2) Surprisingly the rifle does not like JSB jumbos or for that matter any pellet with soft thin skirt it caused my rifle to dissel. I mainly suspect that is because of the skirt deformation. 3) rifle works very well with Kodiak heavy-s, Baracuda Match from H&N RWS super dome - great accuracy. the H&N field target trophy was also O.K. but not as great as above pallets
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By ken from USA on 2012-11-24 12:17:00

    Things I liked:beautiful gun, shootsaccurately,very comfortable,great craftmanship,love it!!!!!
    Things I would have changed:cant put it on safety after you have taken it off,worst of all it is soooooo!!! heavy,NOT A GOOD FIELD RIFLE for that reason i have a bad shoulder and it is hard to carry and hold up!!!!
    What others should know:Just the weight is the real disadvantage to this beautiful gun!!
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-05-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Like everyone reading this, I debated 97K, TX200 and A.R. Pro-Sport. With the /97K or KT I like there is no way for the cocking lever to hit the barrel. I like the cocking lever release button. I like the thumbhole stock. The P.S. is the best looking of the three. The walnut stock is incredible I am not a fan of that aluminum cocking lever. Should be ionized steel similar to the side lever of the RWS48. I understand you make me happy and you have a hunter not wanting that extra weight. The TX200 in my mind needs the cocking lever like the 97 with that catch piece designed to prevent the cocking lever from hitting the barrel. Such wonderful airarms blueing with a tiny rubber bumber to protect it.
      Things I would have changed:As you can see from above I want the best of 3 worlds. Look of the P.S., walnet stock like Air Arms has, cocking lever and action of the 97, flawless metal-work like the TX. I opted for the 97KT. The price is about $100 on the high side. At least in the USA it comes with a lifetime warranty. Time will tell if it will be there when you need it.
      What others should know:I will upload 2 pictures I took of the the 97KT. Of course I would prefer Oak over Beech but I have to say the staining looks beautiful. I have also seen TX200 comments where the owners have stated their Oak stock was rather plain when compared to the online photos. While that is a certaim amount of luck that is one of the issues with online shopping. No way to look before you buy. P.A. sales and service is top notch. I only had to return a bad scope so far. One final note. Since the stock on the KT is not the traditional rifle stock an AR-15 softside case I bought at a local sporting good store who's name starts with a "D" is a perfect fit.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By ken from USA on 2012-11-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:beautiful gun, shootsaccurately,very comfortable,great craftmanship,love it!!!!!
      Things I would have changed:cant put it on safety after you have taken it off,worst of all it is soooooo!!! heavy,NOT A GOOD FIELD RIFLE for that reason i have a bad shoulder and it is hard to carry and hold up!!!!
      What others should know:Just the weight is the real disadvantage to this beautiful gun!!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Urban SquirrelHunter from USA on 2012-09-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Awesome, but not perfect . . . I have been saving my pennies for what would be my ultimate air gun purchase. Torn between the Air Arms TX200 and the Weihrauch HW97K, the thumbhole stock of the HW97K was the deciding factor. I own four other air guns, but none compare to this engineering marvel. Ordered from PyramydAir and paid through Amazon, my rifle arrived within the 2 day delivery advertised by PyramydAir. Knowing that I would mount a Hawke Sidewinder TAC 30 6.5-20X42 Mildot Riflescope, I also ordered a set of 30mm BKL Double Strap dovetail rings. After mounting the scope and cleaning the barrel, it was off to my backyard range to site in the scope. Sighted in with three shots using Crosman Premier Domed .177 Caliber 10.5 Grain Pellets. The fourth shot nailed a squirrel at 25 yards. The fifth shot nailed a crow in a tall oak at 40 yards using hold-over. Groups are one ragged, dime size hole. The rifle’s documentation claims accuracy will increase after shooting x-number of pellets. I don’t see how, this rifle is spot on. Cocking is effortless and is as smooth as silk. The two stage trigger is a work of art, for me a bit heavy, but a small counter clockwise tweak solved the problem. Using a Birchwood Casey Presto Gun Blue Pen, purchased from Academy Sports, the barrel’s bluing flaw was repaired. I wasn’t in love with the stock’s satin finish and gave it a hand finished treatment using TurtleWax Polishing Compound and the Platinum Series Ultra Gloss automotive paste wax.
      Things I would have changed:My initial inspection revealed imperfections in the finish of the stock and a bluing flaw on the top of the barrel near the muzzle break. The rifle was shipped in a box within a box encased in a plastic bag. The stock’s finish was marred from what appeared to be water droplets. I don’t know the origin of the droplets. Possibilities include the wood or finish not being thoroughly dried, and/or condensation during storage or shipment. The satin finish of the stock only highlighted the issue. The plastic bag appears to have contributed negatively with regard to protection of the HW97K.
      What others should know:After applying the TurtleWax treatment the rifle really pops. For me, the jury is still out on the forearm and grip stippling. I would have preferred the ornate fish scale of the Air Arms TX200. The stippling is a magnet for a cotton cloth. Hopefully, this magnetism will abate with time and wear, and the stippling will grow on me. Overall, I am extremely pleased with my purchase . . . Urban Squirrel Hunter – New Orleans Reference accompanying photograph . . .
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Donald from USA on 2012-09-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is my best springer. It is a beautiful gun that is easy to cock, accurate, and will be a great rifle for years to come. The craftsmanship is well apparent in all areas. If you can afford a quality springer, buy this one.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:This is quality par excellence. I have several PCPs, but this is a joy to shoot and it is just as accurate as any of them.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Alexandre from USA on 2012-01-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Finish on the stock and comfort that it provides. I have weakness towards thumbhole stocks. Accuracy is very nice I am new to the sport but 5mm (0.2'') at 14m with leepers SWAT scope is good enough for me at this moment. The Blueing of the metal parts is superb. Trigger is very nice and smooth. cocking is relativly easy I am 130lb and can shoot this rifle all day without getting tired.
      Things I would have changed:1) The rough-ed up part on the grip and below stock I would replace with fish scale - its just preference 2) Rifle is kind of expensive for birch stock I would say. 3) Walnut thumbhole stock - why are those never available? 4) fully shrouded barrel would be great for reduced noise
      What others should know:1) rifle is heavy for off hand shooting it is preferable for you to shoot from bipod or a rest unless you have the strength to steady this thing in your bare hands. 2) Surprisingly the rifle does not like JSB jumbos or for that matter any pellet with soft thin skirt it caused my rifle to dissel. I mainly suspect that is because of the skirt deformation. 3) rifle works very well with Kodiak heavy-s, Baracuda Match from H&N RWS super dome - great accuracy. the H&N field target trophy was also O.K. but not as great as above pallets
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By chad from USA on 2011-03-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This I think is a very beutiful gun from the built in silencer to the great finish on the stock and the weight of the gun is a little heavy but that just adds to the accuracy and stability of the gun
      Things I would have changed:Absolutely nothing
      What others should know:This gun doesnt come with open sights so you will need to scope it
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top