Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Beeman HW97K Thumbhole Stock Air Rifle reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (19 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Neel from USA on 2013-06-03 10:19:57

    Things I liked:I have had my .22 cal HW97K synthetic for about 2 months. I love this gun it shoots very consistent with the right pellet. For some reason it loves RWS MEISTERKUGELN pellets. I am using a Hawke Sidewinder 30 Tactical SF 6.5-20x42 with BKL rings. It is a very well made rifle. The bluing and finish are as good as it gets.
    Things I would have changed:Maybe the weight this is a heavy gun. Weighing in at 10 to 11 pounds with the scope.
    What others should know:Shoot it and get used to it. I shot it through a chronograph with the RWS Meisterkugeln pellet a 14gr pellet. It averaged 722.58 fps with a 10 shot spread of 5.66 fps and a deviant of 1.73.
    0 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Rodrigo from USA on 2012-03-20 14:49:18

    Things I liked:Recently I purchase a hw 97K because all the reviews. I received a piece of crap, I has barrel droop so bad, that even with a barrel droop compensating base, I had to use 5 shims to zero the scope. After doing that the rifle would group erratically in 4 inches at 20 meters. I live outside US and my country customs won’t let me send it back to Pyramyd. I’ve tried everything an Pyramyd won’t even send me spares if I don’t send the rifle back. So seems I end up with a $ 850 beautiful paper weigth.
    Things I would have changed:Store and Brand
    What others should know:If you live outside US Dont buy anything Here
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2014-05-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:consistently accurate. Not as hold sensitive as some other lever cock guns, quite forgiving
      Things I would have changed:Be mindful of scope length with regard to covering the breech opening. Can make it a bit awkward to load pellet.This gun as with many lever guns is pretty heavy, which is ok if you are shooting from a brace or rest, but pretty heavy for offhand shooting. wish you would offer a front sling tube adapter, as a sling makes it a better hunter.
      What others should know:Overall I love the gun and would recommend it, and I do enjoy shooting it. but it is a bit pricy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dale from USA on 2014-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is excellent. Very easy to shoot, and it likes many brands of pellets. Quality and accuracy are very very good. Worth the money if you want a great shooter. This is my first spring gun and I found it very easy to shoot. Just relax your grip and do everything the same on the next shot.
      Things I would have changed:The weight with out losing quality.
      What others should know:This is a very well built gun. You will be happy with your purchase.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By joe from USA on 2014-03-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I just recieved my new .20 HW97 Synthetic Stock (Special Ordered) Kudos to Stacy G. at Pyramyd for making this happen...she is the best!!!! Now for the gun..this gun is as advertised....after un-boxing it I wiped her down & admired how beautiful this gun really is.....HW quality is second to none .....I mounted a 6-18 x40 Bushnell Trophy & I had my new baby zeroed with five shots at 30 yards using JSB Exact Diablos..i then put five pellets in the same hole at the same 30 yards (this is the only pellet I tried so far)...This gun is definitely a keeper!!!
      Things I would have changed:As of now the only thing I would consider changing would maybe make the HW97 with the anti- bear trap for obvious safety precautions...this does not mean that this beautiful gun is not safe...it is safe...its a well made air gun!!
      What others should know:First & foremost what all airgunners should know is that Pyramyd airguns customer-service is second to none...they will go above & beyond to satisfy the needs of their customers!! I have owned most of the higher end spring guns as well as gas rammed (Theoben)...the HW 97 sits up at the top with the most accurate including the TX200 which I've owned.. that is why i am able to make this accurate appraisal!!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Noel from USA on 2014-01-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Unbelievably accurate. One hole gun at 10 yards. Very good adjustible trigger. Easy to control and shoot. Shoulders nicely. Good balance. Measures up to the HW reputation.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Heavy rifle to carry arround the woods.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By alejandro from USA on 2013-12-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Everything, the rifle feels solid, very smooth cocking cycle, incredible accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:nothing, the rifle is heavy but i'm getting used to it
      What others should know:there is only one spring rifle capable of achieving the same or even better accuracy than the Air Arms tx200 and the HW97K is the one.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Neel from USA on 2013-06-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have had my .22 cal HW97K synthetic for about 2 months. I love this gun it shoots very consistent with the right pellet. For some reason it loves RWS MEISTERKUGELN pellets. I am using a Hawke Sidewinder 30 Tactical SF 6.5-20x42 with BKL rings. It is a very well made rifle. The bluing and finish are as good as it gets.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe the weight this is a heavy gun. Weighing in at 10 to 11 pounds with the scope.
      What others should know:Shoot it and get used to it. I shot it through a chronograph with the RWS Meisterkugeln pellet a 14gr pellet. It averaged 722.58 fps with a 10 shot spread of 5.66 fps and a deviant of 1.73.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By glen from USA on 2013-04-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:the gun really feels good in your hand and is right on accurate as the shooter is. after zeroing it in i could hit quarter size spots with it at 30 yards. thats good for me im 66 and a little shakey!
      Things I would have changed:i dont know if you could make this gun with the nitro cylinder action or not but would be nice to get away from the spring sound when shooting it. the safety is not in a good location for me . i would prefer it more friendly for a right handed shooter.
      What others should know:gun is a little heavy. all said i really enjoy my gun!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gregory from USA on 2013-04-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:In one word, everything. It has the accuracy I was expecting. All shots can be covered with a dime, with change to spare, and that was right out of the box. The trigger is a dream, very smooth. The pellet loading port is very large and is a good fit for my large fingers. All of the other good things that people have listed also apply.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:It is a heavy gun. I have a 4-16x40 scope installed and it is a total of 10.75 pounds. I find the extra weight helps stabilize the gun against the spring recoil. After a little shooting you actually forget about the extra weight.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Duppy_Kankera from USA on 2012-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything....this Rifle is solid and compact....no rattling and the stock doesn't feel cheap, after about 50 shots in , i just took out 2 Possums using Crossman Ultra Magnum Domed .22 ( all head shots) Rifle has very little recoil and is really Accurate
      Things I would have changed:Cant think of anything i would have changed
      What others should know:save and get this rifle...the wooden stocks i think are too pretty to go hunting so i opted for the synthetic stock....the weight doesn't seem "plasticky" did i say it was super accurate ??
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brad from USA on 2012-10-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is a really nice airgun. The stock's thumbhole configuration is very ergonomic, and the synthetic material that it's made of definitely isn't cheap. All the metal parts are meaty and richly blued, and the gun is exceptionally accurate. With Crosman Premier Lights, I can get dime-sized groups at 40 yards when I do my part. I'm sure that the gun is capable of even more.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Some have commented on the automatic safety. Once you disengage it, the only way to re-engage it is to re-cock the gun. It would definitely be nice to be able to re-engage the safety by simply pushing the button; however, I really don't find the inability to do so to be an inconvenience. Others have commented on the weight. It's definitely a heavy gun, but I don't have a problem with this either. I do a lot of paper punching, and the extra weight just makes it easier to steady the gun. I also do a lot of hunting with it, and I don't find it to be too heavy for this either. I suppose if someone does find it to be too heavy for hunting, they could always fashion a single-point sling for it. The thumbhole configuration of the stock would probably make doing so a relatively easy task.
      What others should know:I used the mounts that came with the gun to mount a UTG 3-12x40AO scope. So far this arrangement is working just fine. The bottome line is if you want a high-quality German-made airgun that you can pass on to your kids, then don't hesitate to buy the HW97K. You won't regret it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brad from USA on 2012-09-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This gun is absolutely, positively exceptional. The stock is made of a very high quality material and is not your typical synthetic stock. The gun is very heavy, but I feel that the extra weight makes it easier to shoot accurately. The fit and finish are exceptional, and the gun is worth every penny.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:I'm still experimenting with various .177 pellets but have found that it shoots Crosman Premier Lights very well and can print five-shot groups at 25 yards with all shots touching. I'm going to try JSB Exacts next. I put a UTG Leapers 3-12x40 AO on it, using the rings that come with the gun to mount it. The bell barely clears the receiver, but it's proving to be an excellent combination. Anyway, this is a fantastic gun that you won't regret buying should you decide to do so.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Adrien from USA on 2012-09-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Everything about this rifle I really like. Accuracy is unbelievable, (right out of the box). Like some of the other reviews, the more it is shot, the better the accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing!!!
      What others should know:The people at Pyramyd Air was very helpful and professional. (Thanks, Greg!!!)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Randall from USA on 2012-09-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I just recieved my HW97K this week I thought I would sight it in this weekend. I mounted a Hawke 6-24x50sf 30mm scope on a one piece base and guess what I've got rain, not to be discouraged I opened the back door and set up a target in the back. Right out of the box it took very little to get it right on target. the trigger is amazing just the way it came, and the accuracy is better than I am. If you buy this rifle you won't be dissapointd It's a winner
      Things I would have changed:The forestock has sharp edges where the underlever recceses after a few shoots it started to slice the skin on my thumb. it's nothing a little emery paper or a glove wont take care of.
      What others should know:I recommend this rifle! I love mine but I wish I would have gotten the wooden stock.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jon from USA on 2012-08-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I have waited about six months to write this review until the rifle was used enough to be through it's initial stage and until I thought I could write a fair review. This is a dream gun once you get it broken in and get used to it. Like all heavy power springers I have ever shot you have to loosen not tighten your gun hold for greatest accuracy. Having said that I am now shooting 10 shot 20yd groups through virtually the same hole and at 40 yds about 5mm center to center. I do not consider myself a grat shot. THis gun makes up for my limitations.
      Things I would have changed:I really can't think of a thing other than I did add a recoil pad to give me one more inch of stock length but that is just my body and my preference.
      What others should know:I have tried many pellets and the thrree that I have found shoot the best in the .22 are the JSB Jumbo Heavies, H and N Barracudas and H and N Field Target Specials. This gun is capable of squireels out to more than 40yds. I can't say how far because that is about the maximum I shoot at in the area where I hunt them. By the way I lke this gun so well I sold some of my others and now own this exact same gun in all three calibers, .22, .20 and .177
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jon from USA on 2012-07-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I have to tell you that of all of the air rifles I have tried this is the heads and above winner. I know that you can get rifles that are precharged that can be as or nore accurate becuse they escape the double kick of the spring in a powerfull spring gun, but this gun always works and it's accuracy level is so great that the difference you could acheive with a PCP is small. I like this gun so well that I currently own two of them , .22 and .20 and am getting a .177 and getting rid of my old other branded .177 and .22. I note one reviewer had a negative review and I am telling you to discount most of it. First off Pyramyd has always been expremely helpful and easy for me to work with. Second, while it might be possible to get a lemon all Wheirich guns are factory tested to the point that it is highly suspect that the gun in question could have had that kind of droop unless the screws attaching the mechanis to the stock were loose from shpping vibration etc. WHich off course was the first thing I was taught to check every time I went to the range or hunting. These guns are just pure tack drivers and too good to take a droop adjuster and four shims. I will give some other information about theoperation of the gun in the anything else you should know part of the review. And as a note to the unhappy reviewer I am not trying to dismiss your review but rather sugjesting that if you look deeper for a solution you may find you have a top of the line gun after all. Mine are!
      Things I would have changed:I do not think there is anything I would change but I will make an observation about something I found I needed. The .20 I bought was the exact same gun but with the wooden stock. Then I got the .22 with the synthetic stock. The .22 was a bit more hard to sight in even though the optics and mounts were identical. I compared the two rifles side by side and realised that in part the problem was that the wooded stock was approximately 1 1/4" longer and needed that length of pull. The wooden stock also has an adjustable butt plate which is part of the length difference. So on the .22 I simply added a 1 1/2" slip on recoil pad. I was immediately able to zero the .22 more precisely even that the .20. Next, because I was so happy with resuts and because I really did not want scratch the wooden stock in the field, I ordered in a synthetic replacement stock and an identical slip on pad as the one used on the .22. I was carefull about jarring when I switched stocks which is very easy to do.. I made sure I tightened the screws well and evenly and then went to sight in the gun again because I was certin that changing the stock wold necssitate that. While I did do some tweeking I was amazed that the rifle was still almost dead on center even after the stock change and before I tweeked it at all. You just cannot go worng with this rifle.
      What others should know:The primary thing I wish others to know is a restatement of several tips that are allready out there. With top model powerful spring guns there is a foraward/ backward double kick when you fire. This makes grip and hold position all important and the "artillary grip" a necessity. In the airgun academy or other articles on the Pyramyd site there are good articles on this. I have had luck firing off a bipod or shooters rest too but only with the right king of v rest on the shooters rest. What I hav e found best is a top pice more like a wide U rather than the traditional v.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2012-04-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This gun is very solid and quality is second to none. Fine German craftsmanship is evident as soon as you fire that first shot. The Rekord trigger needed no adjustment what so ever. It has a very easy 1st stage pull until you get to the stop and the 2nd stage is very crisp each and every time......never a slip! The gun like most likes a particular pellet and no two are alike for the most part. I found Beeman FTS Copper Plated 14.72 grain pellets to group sub .5" most often and some group in the .3" most often. The gun like any springer has the familiar twang synonymous to a springer. But I installed the Vortek PG2 18+ tune kit and a great gun became a miracle! It is quieter and no twang and recoil is also lessened quite a bit. The gun is putting out almost 16.5 ft./lbs. of energy with the Beeman FTS pellets. The effort to cock this gun is not bad either. Truly a nice lifelong springer for anyone. Very nice plinking gun or a hunter with those ft./lbs. produced.
      Things I would have changed:Not much if anything. Maybe the gun could have a safety system that once you click the safety off to shoot could be re-engaged without having to re-cock the gun to engage.
      What others should know:Expensive??? Yes! Worth it, very much so!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2012-04-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The gun is very well made and the bluing was superb. The guns cycle is silky smooth with no hangups and is very tight. True German craftsmanship can be seen on this model. The synthetic stock is very well made and finished.
      Things I would have changed:Make the butt portion of the stock solid rather than hollow. I know it would add more weight but it would take some of the vibration/twang out of the spring release when fired.
      What others should know:Your buying a lifelong shooter here. Don't fret over the price, especially when you are getting a rifle built rock solid like this. This gun is very accurate and the one I received likes Beeman FTS Copper Plated 14.72 grain pellets. Mine had barrel droop and I had to get a barrel droop mount.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2012-03-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is without a doubt one of the finest springers on the market. The Germans have mastered quality in air rifles! The stock is beautifully made and well finished with no jagged edges or areas that look like they handed a babboon a exacto knife to whittle down like on some guns.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing!
      What others should know:This gun when you find the right pellet will shoot ragged touching holes to a target! There is some twang to the shot cycle but it is a springer and the finest made I think. Very robust and craftsmanship evident as soon as you take it from the box! Mine likes Beeman FTS 14.72 grain copper plated pellets best. JSB's did not fair as well which was surprising to me. But each gun is different for sure. You will enjoy this gun if you get it. Pricey.......yes, worth it.............absolutely!
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Rodrigo from USA on 2012-03-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.254 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Recently I purchase a hw 97K because all the reviews. I received a piece of crap, I has barrel droop so bad, that even with a barrel droop compensating base, I had to use 5 shims to zero the scope. After doing that the rifle would group erratically in 4 inches at 20 meters. I live outside US and my country customs won’t let me send it back to Pyramyd. I’ve tried everything an Pyramyd won’t even send me spares if I don’t send the rifle back. So seems I end up with a $ 850 beautiful paper weigth.
      Things I would have changed:Store and Brand
      What others should know:If you live outside US Dont buy anything Here
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top