Beeman HW97K air rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (31 reviews)
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Geoff from USA on 2009-06-04 12:20:37

Things I liked: I received my first .177 HW97K in early May of this year. I had it scoped with a Centerpoint 4-16x56 AO IR & 2 piece high mounts. I was intrigued by this gun after my (2) Air Arms TX200's. Let me tell you, this did not let me down!!! I loved my Air Arms guns so much I started to get more and more intrigued by other springers. As I read reviews and unbiased opinions I decided I HAD to own one of these for comparison. Well, once I received this gun and just "started" to zero in the scope in my back yard 25yd. range I fell in love with this gun just as much as the AA gun! This gun is so incredibly smooth to handle, from the cocking lever, to the perfectly sculpted cheeckpiece, to the grip, checkering, and incredible Rekord trigger, I could not believe how much I enjoyed this from the very first shot I took. It must have taken no less than 5 minutes to zero this in to my liking and enjoy it for the entire day. I could NOT put it down! It is very similar to the Air Arms gun in the quality all around, but everything is a different breed. The wood finish, bluing, trigger, barrel, cocking arm, cocking release button, and safety are all different. So, it is a little different to shoot and handle than the Air Arms. Obviously being a carbine, it is a bit shorter, and is definitely noticeably lighter. It is a little more difficult to load pellets with a large scope than the TX200. It is right on par in the accuracy dept. It shoots dependably right where you want EVERY time!

Things I would have changed: I would LOVE this gun in a rich, deep rose, walnut finish..... THAT's IT!!!

What others should know: I wrote a review on the TX200 MKIII, and said I would on this gun as well. If you are thinking about either one of these, I'm sorry, but I can't definitively tell you which one I would buy. I pulled the trigger and opted for .22 version about 2 weeks ago as well. So, now I have (2) TX 200's in .177. One Beech and one Walnut. I have (2) HW97K's. One .177 and one .22. All I can say is.... When shooting either one of these, you have to purposefully pull out your other guns of lesser quality to shoot, just because they are there. All of my other guns sit for long periods, because simply put, they are not as enjoyable, comfortable, accurate, or pleasing to shoot. Don't get me wrong, I do truly love all of my airguns, but these are just a whole different breed of quality workmanship that gives you an instant gratification to shoot, and a solid understanding that these will be in your family for generations, if and when you are ever willing to give them up when that time comes. Pull the trigger on either and you will NOT be sorry. There is a reason why these don't get returned, or sent in for service. They simply don't fail, you or mechanically. The only reason I can ever think of this gun being sent back is user error or cost possibly. Once you buy either one of guns, you WILL want and find a way to get the other one as soon possible. Feel free to email me should you have any questions on either gun. Geoff geoff538@msn.com

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By pedro from Canada on 2014-04-14 02:33:15

Things I liked: It's a Weihrauch, what else can I say? Excellent build quality. Awesome accuracy. Nice fit for my build. Mine is shooting JSB exact 8.44 grns. @ 860 fps. Still breaking it in after about 700 shots and still getting smoother!

Things I would have changed: Nothing

What others should know: The gun is a bit heavy but does not bother me. I like the quality. Mine is most accurate with H&N Field Target Trophy so far, (.177) I have a Hawke Sidewinder 3-12x50 and very nice match for this gun. Expensive but worth every penny.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jaime from USA on 2015-08-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Wow..6 shoot 3/8 inch ctc at 27 meters the first time I bench rested it with JSB exact. Haven't been able to duplicate it ever since, and just getting 5 shot 1/4 to 1/2 of an inch group at 27 meters. After 1 can of pellet stock HW97 is Quieter than my VORTEK R9 in .177 and 22.

    Things I would have changed: Mine have a barrel drop. I use a 2 piece sports match model ATP61 to sight in a Hawke endurance 4x16x50 at 10 meters. I will be ordering a VORTEK kit to tame the minor vibration and make it quieter.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2015-07-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The accuracy is great. The trigger is great, once it is tuned up. The overall ergonomics of the rifle is pretty good, [better than the TX 200]. This rifle is one of the two best spring rifles that I have ever seen, and I am 54 years young. I use this gun for hunting so I got the 22 caliber. Do not let the slower velocity of this gun keep you from buying it. It has plenty of punch for rabbits and squirrels, and a hit at 750 fps. is far more deadly than a miss at 1400 fps. I know because I have tried it.

    Things I would have changed: The bluing could be better. The gun is a little thick in the grip. There are no baffles in the suppressor. I really would like a walnut stocked version. I gave this gun a 4 on value for money because of the beech stock.

    What others should know: I bought the HW97 after having owned an Air Arms TX200 about 5 years. I shot both guns as they came out of the box until I had a good feel of how they performed so I would have an idea how much they had improved with a tune up.[I am a hobby machinist, so I could make all the parts I needed] I have completely torn down and rebuilt both guns after a lot of research online. The rebuild was delrin guides on spring and compression chamber. Polish spring and stone and polish trigger. After tuning both guns showed less vibration when fired. The triggers had the most improvement with the TX near perfect and the 97 is perfect. Accuracy did not get much better, but both were very good to start with. Comparing the two the TX 200 has perfect bluing and a very nice walnut stock. The HW97 has a better ergonomic feel. To sum it up, I take the HW97 hunting and leave the TX200 in the gun cabinet to show to people. Either one is way better than anything else I have ever seen. Just pick one and love it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stefan from USA on 2015-07-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent quality! The fit and finish is perfect. It's heavy on paper, but feels 2 lbs lighter because it's so well balanced. Accuracy is, well, beyond great.

    Things I would have changed: Absolutely nothing. I love it the way it is.

    What others should know: If you're thinking about getting one, stop thinking and just do it! You will have no regrets.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2015-06-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quality, quality, quality. Fit and finish are excellent. Trigger is second to none. Very little if any adjustment needed to fine tune the trigger to an individuals taste. Breaks in exactly the same spot each time, so your shots go where you want them. I like the large breech opening making loading easier than on some underlever rifles.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe an anti-bear trap mechanism as a safety on the cocking system. Perhaps something more in the spring guide to deal with the little bit of "spring twang" at the end of the shot cycle. The tx200 has done something like this and you cannot feel the "spring twang" at the end of the cycle on it at all. It doesn't seem to affect accuracy at all, but it would be nice.

    What others should know: After reading many, many articles, review, reports seeing videos comparing the tx200 to the hw97k, I had to see for myself.So, I now have both. I can tell you, either of these rifles will put your pellets in tight little groups of 1/4" at 40 yards. It is not uncommon to put 2 and sometimes 3 through the same hole. It is all up to the shooter and how well you can hold your aim point. I have heard it said that the tx200 is the more attractive of the two, but this is a little misleading. The hw97k is a beautiful piece of craftsmanship in it's own right. The workmanship and materials are first rate and the finished product makes this obvious once you pick it up the first time. The HW97k is a high precision tool that will not disappoint.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By clarence from USA on 2015-02-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: well balanced German airgun even when mounted 3x12 50mm scope with UTG drooper scope mount (only very slight compensation needed*); Not too heavy an airgun with smooth action mechanics and accuracy within 200 JSB Match 13.73gr pellets(5mm);stock permits anatomic cheek weld; adequate loading port with ambidexterity;German build and quality;

    Things I would have changed: stock's checkering could be MORE distinct to its look and feel; would pay extra $$ for a walnut stock offering; torx or hex fasteners could be more up-to-date;

    What others should know: any spring twang and internal vibrations appear minimized after only 200 JSB pellets; beautified and protected stock finish with soft paste wax; Rekord trigger pull force easily adjustable; slight moly at ball detent for smoother underlever mechanics;

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By PAUL from USA on 2015-01-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is an excellent under lever airgun! I purchased in .20 and mounted a Leapers 3-12x44 AO SWAT Accushot Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 30mm Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings using aUTG Drooper Scope Rail, 11mm-to-Weaver Adapter mount. It only took four 3 shot groups @ 15 yards to get it zeroed with one hole accuracy. At best, I am an average shooter, or perhaps average for 65 yrs old would be more accurate. I prefer this rifle to the TX200 MKIII because for me it is more accurate and much easier to load with the bigger loading port. Although the TX200 MKIII with the walnut stock is a work of art in the appearance category and is almost unfair to compare it to the HW97K. Albeit that looks are subjective and the HW97K is actually a thing of beauty. To me the HW97 is light and fairy easy to cock at least when compared to an RWS 48.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing! This rifle is better than what I was expecting and my expectations were pretty high.

    What others should know: On the chronograph I was getting an average of 760 fps using H&N Field Target Trophy .20 Cal, 11.42 Grains, Domed pellets. That was done straight from the box with no break in period. If you buy this gun you will have no regrets. It is outstanding.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2014-09-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love the trigger and the accuracy of this rifle. I just got it last week and have already gone through 1200 rounds. I shoot every chance I get and this rifle is everything that they say it is.

    Things I would have changed: it is rather heavy, but that might just well be why it is so accurate, very steady. The safety takes a little getting used to.

    What others should know: Buy one, put a decent scope on it and try it out at your range. I am very satisfied with mine. My range goes out to 87 yards and I'm using 1 inch orange dots and keeping very good groups.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By wvanharpen from USA on 2014-08-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Trigger, Its better than anything I've fired in a springer. I also like the positive lock up with the cocking handle.

    Things I would have changed: The safty is kind of annoying but you get used to it pretty quick.

    What others should know: I've had the same old Gammo for almost 10 years. I can't even begin to count how many squirrles and rabbits I've taken with it. I decided to upgrade and wanted a tac driver. If you are having any doubts about this rifle, all I can say is buy one, you won't be dissapointed. Its really really nice. The attention to detail, the finish, the stock, all of it beautiful and then you shoot it... At first the trigger was just a bit heavy for me. A little adjusting and now its basically a hair trigger, probably too light for most. Anyways I've had the gun for two days now and I'm already down 3 squirrles and 2 chipmonks. I'm very pleased.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2014-08-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Not the most powerful or best looking rifle, but what a total package. Rock solid and accurate right out of the box. Teutonic engineering and performance at its best. Even this old man could produce quarter inch groups at 15 yards. It is heavy and there is a mild twang when fired, but these are insignificant and don't affect the overall experience. I look forward to passing this on to my grandson one day. If you need a 700 hp Challenger, there are more powerful rifles. If you instead appreciate the agility of a Boxster, this is the rifle for you.

    Things I would have changed: As others have said, it would be nice if it was a little lighter.

    What others should know: As reported, the trigger is fantastic. The cheek piece is very comfortable.

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2014-05-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy

    Things I would have changed: Spring twang, awkward safety

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pedro from Canada on 2014-04-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's a Weihrauch, what else can I say? Excellent build quality. Awesome accuracy. Nice fit for my build. Mine is shooting JSB exact 8.44 grns. @ 860 fps. Still breaking it in after about 700 shots and still getting smoother!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The gun is a bit heavy but does not bother me. I like the quality. Mine is most accurate with H&N Field Target Trophy so far, (.177) I have a Hawke Sidewinder 3-12x50 and very nice match for this gun. Expensive but worth every penny.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2014-02-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a fantastic air rifle

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing..

    What others should know: It is a little heavy if you plan to carry it around all day.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dan from USA on 2013-07-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I am 49 years old, have been shooting air rifles and BB guns for 42 years.I have been on a journey, I've purchased 3 rifles, two springers, one nitro piston in as many weeks.I was not happy with the trigger in the Benjamin Trail NP 22. I purchased a trigger and it made a big difference. I then purchased a better scope, then I realized I should have spent the $130.00 extra right from the beginning. I spoke to Dan at pyramid and he suggested the Beeman HW97, the other rifles I bought are Christmas presents for my nephews, what a difference, all around. The gun is amazing, accuracy is so good, you realize how ,limited your ability to hold the rifle on target is. I will enjoy trying to shoot as well as this rifle shoots for a few years to come, I'm very happy with this weapon.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I would change is the safety, it's not positioned conveniently,especially if you are wearing gloves, this is being very nit picky, but that's the only thing I would change. I should have spent the extra money on the laminated stock, this gun warrants the investment. I was a little shy on my third attempt, wish I had gotten the laminate stock SS package.

    What others should know: This gun likes many different styles of pellets, the other guns I've owned either liked wad cutters, or domes, or pointed, usually not all the shapes, if they are RWS this gun shoots them in the same hole, literally. I have not tested many brands at all, I had many cans of RWS and was very happy with there performance, no need to experiment yet. I have only had the gun for 2 weeks, probably put 600 rounds through it. I have not stretched out the master gunners flat nosed pellets beyond 30 yards, but up to it, they fly very accurately.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jay from USA on 2013-07-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: WOW is all I can say! A beautiful gun, and very accurate. I've shot less than 500 rounds though it, but it seems to like the JSB Match Diabolo 13.73 gr. 1/4 inch groups at 25 yds and 1/2 groups at 50 yds. I'm sure the gun will do more if the shooter can! I'm very pleased and anxious for the break in. I'm sure it will only get better! I would highly recommend this gun! I put a Hawke Sport EV 4X12X50 IR with Map6a reticles (download the Hawke Arm Chair App, it's great!), with the one piece mount. For me, I think it's a great combination.

    Things I would have changed: I love the Walnut stained Beech, but I think the real thing would even be better!

    What others should know: This is a heavy gun. It is built very well.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from Venezuela on 2013-05-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: this is my 2nd HW97K, my first one is a blue laminated one which made buy this second ond one because it is the best spring rifle in the market. The only thing I notice is that it is not as accuarate as the blue laminated one, maybe because in this one I put a Leapears UTG 6-24x50 vs a leapers UTG 4-16x50 on the blue one. The 6-24x50 seens to be more dificult to hit the target of a 1.5 inch wide at 25 yards. I think that it may be the scope thta it is hard to zero it. I ordered a 4-16x50 which I like better to see how it work. If anybody have any similar problems with this scope I will like to know about it so do not doubt to write to me at williamromner@gmail.com

    Things I would have changed: on the rifle, nothing at all. on the scope, see some hawke for the best performance of the rifle if you have the money. With the blue one there is no problem hitin a dime at 25 to 30 yards twenty times one shot after another.

    What others should know: Great rifle period. Please if anybody has any information on this leapers , please let me know

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Julius from USA on 2013-04-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Super accurate and consistent gun. A little picky on the hold, but once i got that down, I'm loving it more every single day that i shoot it. Got a Hawke 6.5-20x42AO scope for this Rifle and they seem to be perfect for each other. Went through a little bit more that 1500 JSB Match 8.4g and i find them to be a really good choice for this gun. I found it odd though that the screws came loose after about 1k shots. But i just lock-tighted it and its been good ever since. Cocking effort is spot on, I shoot it for hours at a time and it doesn't feel like a work out. It does make a weird thump from time to time.. you can hear the spring hit different but for now i can live with it. Maybe down the road a tune for this gun, until then I'm certainly going to enjoy it.

    Things I would have changed: I'd take out the cheap scope mounts and not include them all together. As for the gun, I wouldn't change a thing. Amazing gun all around

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dennis from USA on 2011-11-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I'm 53 and have owned many guns in my life. I can tell you that I'm as excited about this Beeman HW 97K as any rifle I have ever had. Who would think a .20cal pellet rifle could shoot dime size groups at 50 yards and straight through the front shoulders of grey squirrels at the same distance. My rifle shoots Beeman Precision FTS 11.42 GR the best. I can't tell you the one you get will do the same but I can tell you this. Mine will never be for sale.

    Things I would have changed: Smaller pistol grip and a walnut stock would be nice.

    What others should know: This is the first review I have ever written about anything. That's how much I like this rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By nathan from USA on 2011-05-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: Being able to put pellet after pellet into the exact same hole out to 60 yards all day everyday. Being able to trim dandelions out to 110 yards. My friends who all made fun of me for getting a pellet rifle instead of a 'real gun' all having to eat their words. 1500 pellets functioning flawless. Shoots extremely accurately. FPS extreme spread never been above 12 with 10 shot strings. Ergonomics of grip are excellent compared to other pellet guns. This is one nice looking gun.

    Things I would have changed: Go figure that the most accurate pellet in this gun JSB exact express 7.9gr Pyramid air doesn't carry. Wish they did so i could buy thousands hint hint

    What others should know: I have a wrap around porch and almost always shoot rested off of the porch railing. it doesn't matter if you spent $5,000 dollars on a steyr and $2,000 grand on a scope you will not find anything other than a laser that shoots any straighter than this gun. Best long range strings so far 16 pellets in same hole no noticeable signs of more than 1 pellet being fired at 30 yards and 27 straight dandelion stems clipped between 50 to 70 yards.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By walt@prosourceconstruction.com from USA on 2010-12-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: wow! where to start. ive only got just 50 pellets through her and already getting 3/8 ctc 5 shot groups just over 20 yrds! im still learning the artillary hold so im not even perfectly still yet. that trigger is ridiculous! like glass. overall look of the rifle is one of a serious purposeful weapon! it makes me wish i had at least 50 yrds to shoot in my back yard.:( i only have about 23 give or take. the recoil is great. i love it. it reminds you its a powerful gun. about medium loud i guess. only have a 1377 to compare it to. i cant see shooting that anytime soon. sorry crosman. its like driving a decent honda then jumping in a mercedes! everything is better.:)

    Things I would have changed: cant think of anything. nothing. its heavy but i guess its needed.

    What others should know: well worth the cash. if you can get it... get it! as soon as i picked it up from the box i knew it was not a toy. this is a gorgeous rifle. bluing looks great and the wood very pretty. not alot of figureing in the wood but pretty. it is soft though. i bumped a screwdriver againt the stock fairly softly and it dents. be careful. other than that its a+plus from my perspective.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Harunori from USA on 2010-11-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: An Excellent gun! As Mark Camoccios's remark, HW97K and TX200 are highly accurate springers and they are the best spring piston sporting air rifles. The Rekord trigger is so smooth and breaks at exactly the same point. Shot after shot, this gun is just so accurate. From 10m, it is fairly easy to get same holers at the target with this gun. The sound report is fairly quiet. The Stock is beautifully crafted. The cheek piece is high enough so the scope with high mount Accushot Ring gives no problems. The cocking stroke is quite a bit shorter than TX200 and I feel that this gun cocks a lot easier especially at the end of the stroke. I like that the breach is so much wider than TX200 and easier to load the pellets. Once you shoot this gun, you will love it just like you will love to shoot the TX200. The 11mm scope mount is solidly built. Pellets: I tried with RWS SuperDome .177, and Crossman Premier light 177. They are very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: This gun does not have positive anti-beartrap like TX200, I wish that Weihrauch/Beeman will modify the gun such that it will be more safer. Missing those clicking sound from TX200 from the safety latches makes the HW97K much more quieter while cocking though.

    What others should know: This is an extremely accurate springer. Although, it costs a bit more than TX200, the excellent German engineering is there, and worth it. This gun is so much easier to cock compared to the RWS 48: a lot harder hitting gun. The quality wise, HW97K is a ton of better class belongs just like TX200. If you own this gun, I am sure that you will not want to shoot other cheaper rifles. After shooting so many thousands pellets, my gun's main spring broke. But, with the Beeman lifetime warranty, the Air Venturi replaced the main spring, the seals, and well re-lublicated the whole gun and shipped back to me very quickly. I am very happy with their repair service (Air Venturi is at the same place as the Pyramyd Air!) Of course, the gun shots perfectly after the repair.

  • 12 Next
Navigation