Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Beeman P17 reviews - page 3

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18 02:43:29

    Things I liked:The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.
    Things I would have changed:Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)
    What others should know:Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By scott from USA on 2014-09-20 14:54:04

    Things I liked:Accuracy was great. Trigger was fantastic for a $40 pellet pistol.
    Things I would have changed:Some of the components are the cheapest quality imaginable. I fired 4 shots fired before the compression chamber started leaking. It would lose gas on the compression stroke. At first I thought it was a seal, which would be real easy to replace, but I disassembled the gun and tested the chamber under water to find the seam at the rear of the chamber had failed. It is a pressed joint that has no business as part of a compression chamber. Unbelievable that it is built like this.
    What others should know:Waste of $40. Should have bought something else.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 1234 ... 1011 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By gregory from USA on 2014-01-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice weight and balance. It feels good in your hands, aims easily with the fiber optic sights. Very accurate, just about right on right out of the box. Wonderful trigger, best of all my guns. Nice power for a pistol. Mine chronied at 420 average, they advertised 410.
      Things I would have changed:It would be great to have a safety on the right side also to make it truly ambidex. Other than that, it's about a perfect target pistol.
      What others should know:I've never had the chance to shoot the P3, but it can't be that much better than the P17. I mean $39 vs $239, really? The only reason I didn't give it all 5's is because the first one I recieved had a air leak problem, but PA took care of it and had my replacement back faster than the original one. I got the 10 for 10 and it's been great !
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By archangel from USA on 2014-01-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price. Purchased this pistol on a lark to see if reviews were right about value for the money. They were RIGHT!! For this price it is hard to beat. Accuracy is wonderful. I get dime size groups at 40 feet easily with the BSA Red Dot sight I mounted.
      Things I would have changed:nothing.
      What others should know:This is a great value for the price.It is hard to cock but after you develop a technique it becomes quite easy.Definately an all day shooter. BUY IT YOU WILL LOVE IT.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Melissa from USA on 2014-01-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this is a hard air powered pistol to top not only for the $, but for its accuracy. I have owned adult airguns for the past 10 years. This is a good one.
      Things I would have changed:should have a rubberized grip
      What others should know:try it!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rick from USA on 2014-01-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: This gun is highly accurate and fun to shoot. I put a BSA red dot sight on mine, and am shooting 1.25" 10 shot groups at 20yds, using RWS diabolo basic pellets from a bench rest. I'm sure you can do better with match ammo.
      Things I would have changed: I didn't care for the stock sights. Although they are definitely useable, I mounted a red dot on the built in 11mm rail, for better accuracy.
      What others should know: Like others have said this gun is pretty hard to cock. I would not recommend this pistol to a person under 12yrs. old, or an older person with arthritic hands, just for this fact alone. Other than that BUY IT YOU'LL LIKE IT!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ralph from USA on 2013-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is very accurate for the power. Loads of fun to shoot. Glad I purchased two of them because the person standing behind you always wants to shoot it also (problem solved) Great Entertainment!! And pactice!! For the price!!
      Things I would have changed:Ambidextrous Safety would be nice for everyone.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By allen from USA on 2013-12-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:fast shipping
      Things I would have changed:the plastic package it comes in.
      What others should know:bought for a christmas present .son opened it a on the very first pump it broke an o-ring. didnt get to shoot it yet. very disappointed at this time.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bob from USA on 2013-12-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very good groups, if I do my part, even with cheapo pellets. Feels good in the hands. One of the few pistols with ambi grips, so I can practice lefty. It's a good gun to get someone started with, if they aren't sure about air guns.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger pull on mine is long and creepy, even adjusted to the limit. Many reviews comment on the excellent trigger--mine sucks. The rear sight is a pathetic joke. The "muzzle brake" only serves to make it louder indoors.
      What others should know:Lots of recommendations to check for burrs in the air cylinder. For the money, I don't expect it to last forever, and it won't. I'm tempted to send it back due to the lousy trigger, but will probably keep it for basic training.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Crosman Shooter from USA on 2013-12-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The version of this pistol has fiber optic sights in the same style as the P3 it emulates. The earlier version of this has target style sights. I bought the later version but I prefer the target style as they can be more precise. This pistol is very accurate with with either style of sights.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, the P17 is a bargain. The durability of the two I own has been proven with over 3000 shots.
      What others should know:I use 7 gr. rws basic with very good results. Crosman 7.4 gr. wad cutters are nearly as accurate.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jon from USA on 2013-11-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:for the price you cant beat this for plinking.it has a great trigger function and is very accurate. I have bought one for me and also my best friend. he has never shot a handgun and this is helping him learn all the ins and outs of handling a handgun.also have 3 kids under 10 that will learn with this gun.
      Things I would have changed:nothing its a good little gun
      What others should know:a fun all day shooter would recomend
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By airgunanimal from USA on 2013-11-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun shoots very well. Better than my regular pistols. Not too light has a real feel can be shot inside or out. Has almost no recoil. A great gun to get people to start shooting. I love the 1 pump cocking function instead of the multi pump.Has some punch but I would not hunt with this gun. I purchased this to keep me shooting inside when the weather is bad. For $39.95 you really can't bet this gun. Some say the cocking is hard, what do you expect if you want the gun too have some power. Very accurate. 1.5" groups at 20' off hand. If I had better vision it would be even better. The gun will make it happen if you can do your part. Went to my friends and we were hitting 3" blocks of wood at 40' in his basement.
      Things I would have changed:One thing; if you are shooting, wear a glove on your non-shooting hand or the hand that you put on top to cock the gun. There is a rail/dove tail and it is alittle rough after 20 or so shots.
      What others should know:Yes! This looks to me like an exact copy of the Beeman P3. I don't know this for sure but the gun looks, and the specs are the same. The P3 is $200+ dollars and the P17 is $39.95. I do not know what the difference could be other than price.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jack Cotter from USA on 2013-11-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:price. accuracy. power is a good value. feels good in my hand to shoot. I have a routine soup can i plink. measured 40.3 feet away, i can and do tag it with authority and score 70 to 80 percent of the time, when i'm taking my time. that is, since i zeroed in at the bench with windage and elevation adjustments.
      Things I would have changed:rear sight elevation setting sometimes sicks in down position, causing the shot to be off... check that it it is pulled up to the screw before you pull the trigger. i may put a heavier spring under the rear sight to help it stay up and accurate.
      What others should know:this is my first air pistol and i couldn't expect to be more pleased. i LOVE the accuracy with different pellets. match grade RWS pellets seem just as accurate as points or hollows at this distance. a most fun pistol.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Will from USA on 2013-11-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a good-looking pistol that has very nice accuracy, especially when using the inexpensive RWS basic wadcutters. The trigger has a good feel and breaks consistently for good accuracy. It is fun to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:The notch in the rear sight seems wide and allows for a lot of lateral slop when shooting 25 ft and farther.
      What others should know:For me, the Crosman (or other) dot sight is a big improvement over the open sights, but I get terrific accuracy with the Center Point laser pointer (sight). I'm having a lot of bursting frost-damaged cherry tomatoes from the garden at 25 ft using a hand rest.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By pa.oldman from USA on 2013-11-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Price, Accuracy, Excellent velocity, Nice triger, price oh yeah!!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:When I received my P17 the piston was dry and cocking was rough. I applied a small amount of white lithium to the piston and put a drop of pell gun oil in the chamber that was a year ago. My P17 is the older version with iron sights not the fiber optic. It is as accurate as the 6 inch barrel Walther CP88 I own for 1/5th the cost. Velocity with Crosman Premier Super Match 7.9 gr wadcutter my P17 is just about 400fps very close to what the Walther shoots the same pellets. The P17 is quiet enough to shoot in my basement with no hearing protection so this is a great foul weather/winter gun. I highly recomend the Beeman P17
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2013-11-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Feels like my 9mm in my hand. YouTube videos show P17's without the fiber optic sights. This P17 Deluxe has fiber optic sights front and back which is a huge help in sighting a target. Saves money because no co2 is needed. It's very accurate. I am hitting a 6x6 fence post from 45 yards 4 out of 10 shots. A person with better pistol skills could do better. If aimed properly, it will hit what is aimed at. I am trying to improve my pistol skills and this is a more inexpensive option than shooting 22 or 9mm which I was using before. Also, I can walk out on my deck and shoot at targets in the back yard legally. I am lucky in that my yard backs up to a pasture. No, I don't shoot at the cows. I am really enjoying shooting this pistol.
      Things I would have changed:Because this gun is what it is, any changes would be more for convenience than anything. I am 71 years with arthritic hands. After charging and loading the pistol, closing it can be difficult. I use a fingerless shooting glove on my left hand to prevent getting a blister from the closing process. With hands like mine, loading the pellet can be difficult. Fat fingers can be challenge. It's a minor thing, and not a major drawback.
      What others should know:Shutting the pistol after charging the piston and loading the the gun can take a fair amount of effort. After putting about 500 pellets through this pistol, I have found that it takes less effort to perform the closing process.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Cody from USA on 2013-11-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:No cartridges to buy and actually getting a little more power from this pellet pistol.
      Things I would have changed:Loading application.
      What others should know:Takes muscle and concentration to cock this thing and do not get your fingers/hand caught while your at it!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Nick from USA on 2013-11-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good weight, balance, and accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:Shorten the barrel 1/4 inch or re-design the butt end of the break barrel to make loading pellets easier.
      What others should know:It can be hard to close the barrel and charge the pistol so be careful because the first time I did this I pinched the palm of my hand rather painfully.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2013-11-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Even though it is mostly plastic and chinese made I do like this gun. It is a decent 10 meter pistol and fairly accurate. The trigger is light and smooth, cocking the gun is a bit rough but not unmanageable. It's a fairly large pistol that does feel very good in your hand. It fills a larger hand well which adds to the good handling of this gun.
      Things I would have changed:Pay just a little more attention to the seam in the plastic. It was a bit rough in my hand until i took a knife and trimmed it so the grip was smooth and pleasant.
      What others should know:Fairly good gun for the price.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2013-11-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Wow! Why anyone would buy the more expensive P3 and pay two hundred more dollars for it is beyond me! This Beeman P17 is one AWESOME gun for the money! I almost didn't order it when I read it was a copy of the P3 and two hundred dollars less, plus made in China. I figured it was junk. But, after reading the reviews, I figured what the heck...costs less than a tank of gas...far less! When I held the gun, saw the truglo sights, and saw the quality, I was blown away. When I shot it...even better! About six shots and I had the sights zeroed in at 10 yards and the shots were in the bulls eye. The trigger is like butter! Great first stage and a nice clean break with little noise when it fires. I was using Crossman pointed pellets and they worked great.
      Things I would have changed:It is hard to cock, but it's the nature of the beast. I don't have a problem loading it, but I can see where someone with large fingers or arthritic hands would have a problem. Certainly not a gun for children or someone who is weak. You could definately pinch your hand or or stomach or chest skin if you don't cock it properly. I was shooting inside, prone on the floor, and putting the end of the barrel on the floor while trying to snap the top closed. I really don't think anything can be done about these things because of the design. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing!
      What others should know:It feels great in the hand and is a great shooter. Once you get used to loading and cocking the gun, you will really enjoy it. I am very glad I bought it. I really don't think that there is a better deal on a decent pellet gun out there! It comes in plastic bubble wrap, but let that turn you off. This is a quality pistol all the way. Oh...one other thing. Check out you tube for some good videos and one shows you how to disconnect the cocking piston so you can put some white grease on it to help the O ring. Also, some people complained about a burr around the air hole in the front bottom of the tube that houses the piston and it was causing the O ring to tear. I checked mine and it was nice and smooth so i didn't have to smooth it out. If you are on the fence about this gun, jump off and buy it! I don't believe you will be disappointed.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Keith from USA on 2013-11-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This pistol feels good in the hand. Not bad to cock once you develop a technique. The trigger is really good although mine has a peculiarity (see below). At ten meters I can hit 1 1/2" circles almost every time. Does not seem to be pellet picky. I think this pistol is a real value for fun plinking and will be getting another one soon.
      What others should know:While testing for accuracy I found that a slow trigger pull will fail to release at the end. It might subsequently fire with a sharp pull, but sometimes needed to be recocked in order to get it to fire. I have not been able to adjust that problem away yet. With a brisk pull (does not have to be a jerk) it is a nice trigger with a predictable release and it works every time. I have not experienced any of the other problems that seem to be commonly written about this pistol.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By juan k. from USA on 2013-11-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The trigger pull on this gun is excellent for it's price range,(once adjusted) fairly easy to cock, and load. the fiber optic sights are nice. And the feel of this gun is really nice and comfortable.
      Things I would have changed:Other than uping the power a little, nothing else.
      What others should know:I bought three of these guns at once, one for me, my father, and his friend, and they are both over 70 yrs old and they have no problems working these guns....I put a cheap tasco 2-7x20 scope on mine which makes it easier to cock/close, and I'm shooting bottle caps at 30 yards consistently with ease!! It really is that ACCURATE! And I'm using (gamo pellets and tasco scope) from wally world!! Quarter size groups at 30 yards, nickel at 20 yards. Sound impossible? get one and try it for yourself you'll be blowed away by a $40 pistol....I WAS!!!
    • « Previous 1234 ... 1011 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top