Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Beeman P17 reviews - page 6

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18 02:43:29

    Things I liked:The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.
    Things I would have changed:Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)
    What others should know:Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By scott from USA on 2014-09-20 14:54:04

    Things I liked:Accuracy was great. Trigger was fantastic for a $40 pellet pistol.
    Things I would have changed:Some of the components are the cheapest quality imaginable. I fired 4 shots fired before the compression chamber started leaking. It would lose gas on the compression stroke. At first I thought it was a seal, which would be real easy to replace, but I disassembled the gun and tested the chamber under water to find the seam at the rear of the chamber had failed. It is a pressed joint that has no business as part of a compression chamber. Unbelievable that it is built like this.
    What others should know:Waste of $40. Should have bought something else.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12 ... 567 ... 1011 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kris from USA on 2012-10-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Price is right on the mark for taking a chance, so I did. Adjustable sights are very good. Accuracy is great! The trigger is great! This is a SINGLE stroke gun. I like that it is designed so that you cannot pump it twice. When cocked and closed, the lever is locked down so you can't mistakenly over pump the valve. Forget to load? No problem. This is a dry-fire-friendly gun.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Even the automatic safety is a good idea.
      What others should know:I ordered one from PA to see what all the hype was about. I was so impressed I ordered two more. Cocking effort is a bit stiff for kids and seniors, but most shooters will finesse the gun to cock it easily. Initially I had trouble with the breech seal popping out. Replaced it with an O-ring from the hardware then shot 500 rounds. Yes, 500 rounds. No problems. I DID manage to pinch my hand towards the end of the shooting. Got tired. Accuracy was best with RWS Super Points and RWS Meisterkugelns. This is one of the truly great values for airgunners at a price that makes it my first choice of gift for shooters.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2012-10-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Shoots great. Good practice gun.
      Things I would have changed:Better trigger.
      What others should know:Good value.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Khorgan from USA on 2012-10-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the design, the feel, and the fact that this gun has virtually no recoil. Is extremely accurate and has a decent power for such a low priced piece of hardware. It was a great success among the friends that shoot targets with me.
      Things I would have changed:I would not change a thing in this gun. Extremely accurate out of the box and a very good looking solid gun looking good and low price but nothing cheap about it. What else can you ask for?
      What others should know:Adding a red dot sight makes it even easier and more satisfying to use this gun. Infallible up to 15 yards
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Rob from USA on 2012-10-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Shoots hard. Cheap to shoot. The trigger is the best aspect of this gun.
      Things I would have changed:The front site is so large that it does not allow light in to distinguish it from the front site. That's why I'm writing, I used a razor and 1) notched the center, then 2)shaved the sides of the front site. Be very careful doing this, but if done correctly it will allow mug Ch more light in and targets can be acquired and pin pointed much easier. A great fix! Try it out.
      What others should know:Accuracy is great...for a short gun. Even modified, I do better with my longer barreled pistols even though their triggers are not so good. If you want real accuracy, stick with a long barrel. If you want good accuracy, try my mod and improve this gun tremendously.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By roger from USA on 2012-09-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:no co2 to mess with. very accurate 10m pistol with almost no recoil. super price.
      Things I would have changed:a little hard to load but you get used to it.
      What others should know:this gun is a really good value and should last a long time. easy to maintain also. buy this pistol.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Scott from USA on 2012-09-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:For a $35 airgun, I didn't expect much. Yes it's a Beeman, but not one of the German made (I don't think). But it was astoundingly accurate. I was hitting tin cans at 10 meters, no bags. Awesome!
      Things I would have changed:I know this can't be changed, but this is the first over lever I've never owned, let alone a pistol. Yes, leverage is the issue. But this was just too hard for my old body to cock. I don't know if there is anything they could do about it, but that would be it. It ended up going to my son. :-)
      What others should know:Aside from being hard to cock, watch your palm. I've heard it's easy to get it pinched when closing the gun. I only managed to continually catch my shirt. The other issue is that getting pellets into the barrel is hard. Tiny fingers. I think a pellet seater would help and have picked one up to see if it helps.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lars from USA on 2012-08-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I read many of the reviews before making this purchase. It went against my nature to buy a gun this "cheap". I typically live by the philosophy that you get what you pay for. I kept looking for an excuse to buy something "better" (i.e. more expensive). Finally I broke down and added this gun to my cart. After half an hour with this gun, I have to admit that I think this gun is an exception to the rule in that you get way more than you paid for. It took me a couple shots to get used to the trigger which is not match grade by any stretch of the imagination. It's a little creepy but perfectly serviceable. I used those shots to get the sights adjusted to my range. By the 10th shot I was ready for a clean target. Shooting off-hand from 5 yards, the next shot left me wondering where it had hit. Upon examination, it had cleanly removed the bullseye from my target. The next 3 pellets literally went through the same hole. I don't think I have ever done this with another pistol. I am shocked at the accuracy that this pistol is capable of. If anyone cares, I was using RWS Hobbys. The experience left me wanting to write this review.
      Things I would have changed:For the price, I don't think could complain about anything. I don't know how well it will hold up over time but it seems solid enough.
      What others should know:The gun makes a little more noise than I had expected but I wouldn't call it loud. Cocking takes a little effort but with a little practice, it becomes second nature. Buy this gun. You won't regret it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By brian from USA on 2012-07-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, trigger feel, price, and over all design? Despite my comments which appear in later sections this is a fun air gun with impressive accuracy and overall performace. I would recommend this air gun to others- and the price is a feature that makes it so nice.
      Things I would have changed:The top of the gun, which would be the gas driven slide if it were a center fire firearm should be composed of metal or considerably more rigid to ease pumping of airgun, increse stability and durability of lever joint, and increase safety of operating lever.
      What others should know:The top of the gun, which would be the gas driven slide if it were a center fire firearm, is a poly/plastic material. This portion of gun lifts upwards from the back with a hinge joint at the muzzle end and considerable effort is required to close (pump) the gun, I am concerned about long term stability of joint. Additionally, the material used for this part of the gun flexes considerably which makes for difficult pumping of the gun and increases the posibility of finger pinch.. Due to these issues I would not let, nor physically could, a 10 year old child operate the gun. Younger folks would need maximal assist in opperating the mechanism in addion to necessary supervision of airgun use.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By erwin from Belgium on 2012-07-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This pistol is worth every dollar, it's quiet accurate and it "feels good" while shooting. It is also a safe gun (auto-safety) and the grip is just wonderful. It has a smooth trigger. I own a lot of airguns and this one is one of the better guns for target practice (I own Gamo, Daisy, Weihrauch,....). I put a red-dot scope on the gun and it is just very accurate at a distance of 10-15 meters.
      Things I would have changed:The loading system is a bit of a nuisance.
      What others should know:No CO2 cartridges, no spring problems, no recoil, just plain fun wit a lot of accuracy.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Sean from USA on 2012-07-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:For $40 this is a 10 star pistol really... When I bought my tempest 20 years ago this one would have cost 300-400 bucks. Accuracy is insane with a red dot on top - and so far that has been with (really) cheap ammo!
      Things I would have changed:The rear sight moves/floats when I charge the gun. I actually put a piece of duct tape over the screw to "lock" it in when it was set. But really for the price nothing else. Just be aware that it is somewhat difficult to charge....no big deal but I'm considering a glove for the cocking hand since I LOVE to shoot this thing so much! I would also consider changing the form factor...I mean who cares if it looks like a *real* pistol (I got plenty of those!) so go for the ergonomics and enhance the cocking comfort!
      What others should know:Enjoy. Not sure why anyone would buy anything else...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jonathan from USA on 2012-07-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is very accurate, has nice adjustable sights, and has a good weight and feel to it.
      Things I would have changed:It is a bit top-heavy, and I would have liked more metal on the gun.
      What others should know:Great gun for the money, get one if you don't have one already!
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2012-07-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Decent quality materials. Very accurate when cleaned. Nice trigger.
      Things I would have changed:Quality control is pretty bad. Loose parts, dirty barrel. Is pretty hard to cock it since the rear sights are sharp.
      What others should know:MUST be disassembled and cleaned / lubed before using. My main valve started leaking after only 40 shots. I had lubed into piston with Pellgunoil but must not have got enuff in there. Seal was nibbled and ruined. Follow a guide on the internet, several good ones out there. After rebuilding valve and lubing, have shot 200 rounds since and it doesn't leak at all. It's now a very nice airgun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2012-06-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I am quite surprised actually. After reading the other reviews and looking up the youtube videos on teardown and service I figured, why not? At the very least I will learn some airgun repair techniques. No need. The fit and finish is very nice, no burrs anywear, tight pumping mechanism, great trigger, which is adjustable but absolutely fine as is. To my surprise the rear sight is adjustable for both windage and elevation, not just windage like I read. Also it seems like Beeman is paying attention to feedback. The windage screw has a retaining clip to prevent it backing out which I saw a lot of comments on.
      Things I would have changed:Although the trigger looks adjustable it takes some effort to do it, as in removal. A port in the trigger guard would fix this. Other than that I can't imagine why anyone would buy the P3.
      What others should know:Buy it and enjoy a very accurate air pistol. It is more accurate than I can make it, and with about ten minutes practice I am grouping within .75 of an inch at 7 yards. For less than forty bucks!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dwight from USA on 2012-06-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The price,the trigger and can nail dragon flys at 20ft all day long
      Things I would have changed:easier way to load
      What others should know:for the price i'm more than impressed ...mine don't like the german pellets she likes crosman premire super match
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2012-05-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Whats not to like abbout this pistol. Besides the price, the adjustable sights are easy to adjust and get the accuracy you are looking for. Lots of power for the money. Can knock a squirrel out of a tree at 30 yards and drop it nearly 2 flights down. Has a great feel and the safety is in a great location to fire quickly once target is aquired.
      Things I would have changed:A better way to load this single pellet pistol. Can be a struggle till you get use to it and even then can be tough.
      What others should know:Just a real good pistol for the money. You'll really like the feel of this pistol.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By sniper7 from USA on 2012-05-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Just came in from shooting and had to write this review. I tested this gun at 33' and was super surprised! I hit the bullseye 6-8 times taking about 12 shots! Very accurate. Also set up some tin cans at 35' and shots were blowing right through. Really nice piece!
      Things I would have changed:Maybe a rougher grip. It's a little slippery fresh out the box.
      What others should know:Match grade pellets really make a difference with the accuracy of this gun!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2012-05-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate! solid construction. Great feel in hand.
      Things I would have changed:Could be easier to load.
      What others should know:This is bar-none, the best gun for the price I have ever owned. I hope it last!!! Rear sight had wiggled loose during delivery, watch out when you open the package. Makes me wonder... how much better can the German version be?
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Alan from USA on 2012-05-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:PROs: Solid feel. Good looks. Nice trigger pull. Great accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:CONs: A bit difficult to insert pellet unless you have very small fingers. Somewhat difficult to cock.
      What others should know:So far my P17 has been working perfectly with approximately 1000 pellets through it so far. I would like to mention that after the pellet has been inserted into the tube it must be pushed in about a quarter of an inch to lock it into place. If you are fortunate enough to get one that is trouble free, it is an excellent target pistol, especially for the price
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By hunter from USA on 2012-04-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i really liked how simple it was to cock and load no need for co2 and its also really accurate most pistols ive had in the past you are restricted to shooting at like 10 or 15 yards with this pistol i can nail pop cans all the way out to 40 yards with open sights no problem
      Things I would have changed:when you get the gun no matter how much you want it take apart the piston and there will be a small hole where the air comes in and it has a bur on it that will tear the seal up in no time so just take either really light sand paper or a dishwashing green pad thing and work it until smooth then put some white grease back on the piston and your good to go this should only take about 10 minutes max it all comes aprt very easily you just open the gun up like your gonna cock it and there is a little pin holding the piston in place just pop that out and pull the piston out and repeat the process above and you should be set
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Charles from USA on 2012-04-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is the 2nd one I have purchased, but it was unusable out of the box! Lower frame was visably "bowed".. I cocked the gun, then could not take the "safty" off & it would not fire! I returned it!
      Things I would have changed:Something has to be done at the Beeman factory.. The quality control is OUT OF CONTROL!! Note: I would hve kept this gun had the Frame not been warped.. I rebuild them!
      What others should know:This Gun is a really good design, as proven by the excellent P3 Model! (it's German made twin) Note: IF you have the mechanical skills to do a little rebuild on it, you will have a great pistol! SEE the many internet blogs!
    • « Previous 12 ... 567 ... 1011 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top