Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Beeman P17 reviews - page 6

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18 02:43:29

    Things I liked:The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.
    Things I would have changed:Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)
    What others should know:Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By scott from USA on 2014-09-20 14:54:04

    Things I liked:Accuracy was great. Trigger was fantastic for a $40 pellet pistol.
    Things I would have changed:Some of the components are the cheapest quality imaginable. I fired 4 shots fired before the compression chamber started leaking. It would lose gas on the compression stroke. At first I thought it was a seal, which would be real easy to replace, but I disassembled the gun and tested the chamber under water to find the seam at the rear of the chamber had failed. It is a pressed joint that has no business as part of a compression chamber. Unbelievable that it is built like this.
    What others should know:Waste of $40. Should have bought something else.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12 ... 567 ... 910 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lars from USA on 2012-08-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I read many of the reviews before making this purchase. It went against my nature to buy a gun this "cheap". I typically live by the philosophy that you get what you pay for. I kept looking for an excuse to buy something "better" (i.e. more expensive). Finally I broke down and added this gun to my cart. After half an hour with this gun, I have to admit that I think this gun is an exception to the rule in that you get way more than you paid for. It took me a couple shots to get used to the trigger which is not match grade by any stretch of the imagination. It's a little creepy but perfectly serviceable. I used those shots to get the sights adjusted to my range. By the 10th shot I was ready for a clean target. Shooting off-hand from 5 yards, the next shot left me wondering where it had hit. Upon examination, it had cleanly removed the bullseye from my target. The next 3 pellets literally went through the same hole. I don't think I have ever done this with another pistol. I am shocked at the accuracy that this pistol is capable of. If anyone cares, I was using RWS Hobbys. The experience left me wanting to write this review.
      Things I would have changed:For the price, I don't think could complain about anything. I don't know how well it will hold up over time but it seems solid enough.
      What others should know:The gun makes a little more noise than I had expected but I wouldn't call it loud. Cocking takes a little effort but with a little practice, it becomes second nature. Buy this gun. You won't regret it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By brian from USA on 2012-07-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, trigger feel, price, and over all design? Despite my comments which appear in later sections this is a fun air gun with impressive accuracy and overall performace. I would recommend this air gun to others- and the price is a feature that makes it so nice.
      Things I would have changed:The top of the gun, which would be the gas driven slide if it were a center fire firearm should be composed of metal or considerably more rigid to ease pumping of airgun, increse stability and durability of lever joint, and increase safety of operating lever.
      What others should know:The top of the gun, which would be the gas driven slide if it were a center fire firearm, is a poly/plastic material. This portion of gun lifts upwards from the back with a hinge joint at the muzzle end and considerable effort is required to close (pump) the gun, I am concerned about long term stability of joint. Additionally, the material used for this part of the gun flexes considerably which makes for difficult pumping of the gun and increases the posibility of finger pinch.. Due to these issues I would not let, nor physically could, a 10 year old child operate the gun. Younger folks would need maximal assist in opperating the mechanism in addion to necessary supervision of airgun use.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By erwin from Belgium on 2012-07-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This pistol is worth every dollar, it's quiet accurate and it "feels good" while shooting. It is also a safe gun (auto-safety) and the grip is just wonderful. It has a smooth trigger. I own a lot of airguns and this one is one of the better guns for target practice (I own Gamo, Daisy, Weihrauch,....). I put a red-dot scope on the gun and it is just very accurate at a distance of 10-15 meters.
      Things I would have changed:The loading system is a bit of a nuisance.
      What others should know:No CO2 cartridges, no spring problems, no recoil, just plain fun wit a lot of accuracy.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Sean from USA on 2012-07-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:For $40 this is a 10 star pistol really... When I bought my tempest 20 years ago this one would have cost 300-400 bucks. Accuracy is insane with a red dot on top - and so far that has been with (really) cheap ammo!
      Things I would have changed:The rear sight moves/floats when I charge the gun. I actually put a piece of duct tape over the screw to "lock" it in when it was set. But really for the price nothing else. Just be aware that it is somewhat difficult to charge....no big deal but I'm considering a glove for the cocking hand since I LOVE to shoot this thing so much! I would also consider changing the form factor...I mean who cares if it looks like a *real* pistol (I got plenty of those!) so go for the ergonomics and enhance the cocking comfort!
      What others should know:Enjoy. Not sure why anyone would buy anything else...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jonathan from USA on 2012-07-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is very accurate, has nice adjustable sights, and has a good weight and feel to it.
      Things I would have changed:It is a bit top-heavy, and I would have liked more metal on the gun.
      What others should know:Great gun for the money, get one if you don't have one already!
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2012-07-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Decent quality materials. Very accurate when cleaned. Nice trigger.
      Things I would have changed:Quality control is pretty bad. Loose parts, dirty barrel. Is pretty hard to cock it since the rear sights are sharp.
      What others should know:MUST be disassembled and cleaned / lubed before using. My main valve started leaking after only 40 shots. I had lubed into piston with Pellgunoil but must not have got enuff in there. Seal was nibbled and ruined. Follow a guide on the internet, several good ones out there. After rebuilding valve and lubing, have shot 200 rounds since and it doesn't leak at all. It's now a very nice airgun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2012-06-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I am quite surprised actually. After reading the other reviews and looking up the youtube videos on teardown and service I figured, why not? At the very least I will learn some airgun repair techniques. No need. The fit and finish is very nice, no burrs anywear, tight pumping mechanism, great trigger, which is adjustable but absolutely fine as is. To my surprise the rear sight is adjustable for both windage and elevation, not just windage like I read. Also it seems like Beeman is paying attention to feedback. The windage screw has a retaining clip to prevent it backing out which I saw a lot of comments on.
      Things I would have changed:Although the trigger looks adjustable it takes some effort to do it, as in removal. A port in the trigger guard would fix this. Other than that I can't imagine why anyone would buy the P3.
      What others should know:Buy it and enjoy a very accurate air pistol. It is more accurate than I can make it, and with about ten minutes practice I am grouping within .75 of an inch at 7 yards. For less than forty bucks!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dwight from USA on 2012-06-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The price,the trigger and can nail dragon flys at 20ft all day long
      Things I would have changed:easier way to load
      What others should know:for the price i'm more than impressed ...mine don't like the german pellets she likes crosman premire super match
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2012-05-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Whats not to like abbout this pistol. Besides the price, the adjustable sights are easy to adjust and get the accuracy you are looking for. Lots of power for the money. Can knock a squirrel out of a tree at 30 yards and drop it nearly 2 flights down. Has a great feel and the safety is in a great location to fire quickly once target is aquired.
      Things I would have changed:A better way to load this single pellet pistol. Can be a struggle till you get use to it and even then can be tough.
      What others should know:Just a real good pistol for the money. You'll really like the feel of this pistol.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By sniper7 from USA on 2012-05-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Just came in from shooting and had to write this review. I tested this gun at 33' and was super surprised! I hit the bullseye 6-8 times taking about 12 shots! Very accurate. Also set up some tin cans at 35' and shots were blowing right through. Really nice piece!
      Things I would have changed:Maybe a rougher grip. It's a little slippery fresh out the box.
      What others should know:Match grade pellets really make a difference with the accuracy of this gun!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2012-05-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate! solid construction. Great feel in hand.
      Things I would have changed:Could be easier to load.
      What others should know:This is bar-none, the best gun for the price I have ever owned. I hope it last!!! Rear sight had wiggled loose during delivery, watch out when you open the package. Makes me wonder... how much better can the German version be?
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Alan from USA on 2012-05-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:PROs: Solid feel. Good looks. Nice trigger pull. Great accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:CONs: A bit difficult to insert pellet unless you have very small fingers. Somewhat difficult to cock.
      What others should know:So far my P17 has been working perfectly with approximately 1000 pellets through it so far. I would like to mention that after the pellet has been inserted into the tube it must be pushed in about a quarter of an inch to lock it into place. If you are fortunate enough to get one that is trouble free, it is an excellent target pistol, especially for the price
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By hunter from USA on 2012-04-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i really liked how simple it was to cock and load no need for co2 and its also really accurate most pistols ive had in the past you are restricted to shooting at like 10 or 15 yards with this pistol i can nail pop cans all the way out to 40 yards with open sights no problem
      Things I would have changed:when you get the gun no matter how much you want it take apart the piston and there will be a small hole where the air comes in and it has a bur on it that will tear the seal up in no time so just take either really light sand paper or a dishwashing green pad thing and work it until smooth then put some white grease back on the piston and your good to go this should only take about 10 minutes max it all comes aprt very easily you just open the gun up like your gonna cock it and there is a little pin holding the piston in place just pop that out and pull the piston out and repeat the process above and you should be set
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Charles from USA on 2012-04-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is the 2nd one I have purchased, but it was unusable out of the box! Lower frame was visably "bowed".. I cocked the gun, then could not take the "safty" off & it would not fire! I returned it!
      Things I would have changed:Something has to be done at the Beeman factory.. The quality control is OUT OF CONTROL!! Note: I would hve kept this gun had the Frame not been warped.. I rebuild them!
      What others should know:This Gun is a really good design, as proven by the excellent P3 Model! (it's German made twin) Note: IF you have the mechanical skills to do a little rebuild on it, you will have a great pistol! SEE the many internet blogs!
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jonathan from USA on 2012-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The price was cheap. It is pretty accurate.
      Things I would have changed:It only worked for about 3 days before the O-rings started leaking and the next day it wouldnt work at all. The rear sight design is also very bad. It is adjustable but there is nothing to keep the nut from backing off once you adjust it. I stuck folded paper under the rear sight and the tightened it down ontop of that and so far it has held, but it looks red-neck that way.
      What others should know:I changed out all of the O-rings and sanded the rough edges on the barrel and the inside of the air cylinder with emery cloth and It has been working fine since.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By james from USA on 2012-04-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:accurate ,well balanced,
      Things I would have changed:craftsmanship and quality control..to many manufacturing defects,orings fail,broken springs and valves,rough metal parts in side
      What others should know:had 3 of these guns all failed with different problems...it is a shame because this gun is good when it works. for those who do not tinker with your guns do not buy ..also cocking requires a little muscle
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By sniper7 from USA on 2012-04-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is very interesting. At first it seems like a simple airgun for kids but once you take it out the package and hold it you'll be impressed! It has a nice heft to it and is well balanced.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Accuracy and power are great for a pistol you only have to cock once! Recoil is tiny!
      What others should know:For $35.00 you'll be amazed at the power and accuracy of this pistol and it's pretty durable too.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By sniper7 from USA on 2012-03-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is surprising! When I first received it I was not very impressed. I thought it would shoot poorly. For the money this gun is great! You have to get used to the cocking effort but after about 50 rounds it seems to become pretty easy. Good power for 1 stroke and accurate. After you get the feel you'll love this gun!
      Things I would have changed:Not much, however it would be nice for a bit more power but you won't be disappointed.
      What others should know:The cocking effort takes some getting used to but after about 50 rounds you'll get the hang of it and the gun will suddenly become a lot of fun!
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Douglas from USA on 2012-03-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price, good trigger, accuracy
      Things I would have changed:Lifespan...should last a wee bit longer than 20 days. Also the hole in the middle of the trigger for the set screw has sharp edges and interfers with making a smooth squeeze
      What others should know:I bought this gun knowing about the problems others have had but the fixes looked simple enough so for the price I didn't think I could go wrong. Unfortunately what broke on mine is not something that can be replaced without cannibalizing another P17. The roll pin issue has been addressed with captured pins (tiny e clips)and I did not experience the leakage others have, even after purposely leaving it cocked overnight. I may have gotten lucky but my example shot extremely well, regardless of pellet type. Offhand at 25' I was able to put 18 rounds (cheapo destroyers) into one ragged hole roughly 3/8" ctc and frankly I am not normally much of a marksman. The trigger was a bit gritty but let off was predictable and, until it broke, I was pleasantly surprised at how good a trigger on a $36 gun could be. Cocking does take a bit of effort-my wife couldn't do it-but I didn't find it overly difficult. Mine lasted exactly 184 rounds. On round 185 it cocked as usual but wouldn't fire, and upon removing the grip it looks like the part that actuates the valve had broken in half. The entire trigger mechanism is made from thin-ish stamped steel of unknown quality, and if replacement parts had been available I would have simply repaired it...it shoots THAT well!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dennis from USA on 2012-02-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Single stroke and fairley easy to load you can shoot this pretty fast, 435 FPS is enough to make a tin can jump. I did research on Google and pyramydair has the best price.
      Things I would have changed:Fine as is.
      What others should know:On Utube there are vidios Beeman P-17 that show how to deburr the hole in the cylinder that has a sharp edge and maybe a burr from the factory and will wear the O ring there. Also how to polish the end of the barrel where you load a pellet as it closes against a O ring and if you smooth it the O ring will last longer. This is easy to do. I did it before I shot mine.
    • « Previous 12 ... 567 ... 910 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top