Beeman P17 reviews - page 6

Add to Cart


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18 02:43:29

Things I liked:The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.
Things I would have changed:Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)
What others should know:Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:4.0

By scott from USA on 2014-09-20 14:54:04

Things I liked:Accuracy was great. Trigger was fantastic for a $40 pellet pistol.
Things I would have changed:Some of the components are the cheapest quality imaginable. I fired 4 shots fired before the compression chamber started leaking. It would lose gas on the compression stroke. At first I thought it was a seal, which would be real easy to replace, but I disassembled the gun and tested the chamber under water to find the seam at the rear of the chamber had failed. It is a pressed joint that has no business as part of a compression chamber. Unbelievable that it is built like this.
What others should know:Waste of $40. Should have bought something else.
Sort by:
  • « Previous 12 ... 567 ... 1112 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By WalterE. from USA on 2013-04-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Good looking gun; looks like a gun; feels like a gun; no cheap plastic look or feel here; great weight and balance; excellent sights (rear finely adjustable, fiber-optic front and rear); I'd be happy if this trigger were on all my guns; extreeeeemely accurate and consistent shooter. I bought three of these: one for my wife, one for myself, and one for visitors. After I tuned in the sights, and lubed the piston seal, I can consistently shoot 1" hickory nuts off a tree fifty-feet from my back door. I hung a plastic Easter egg by a length of fishing line from that same tree. My wife hit it six out of six shots, and started bragging, so I said "That's nothing, watch this.", and I shot the string off just below the branch. If I had seen this gun, and had a chance to handle and shoot it before I had known anything about it, I wouldn't have balked a heartbeat to have given double the price for it.
    Things I would have changed:It is a bit difficult to insert pellets at first, but in a very short time I was loading without looking or even thinking about it. It seems that everybody wants everything to be easy these days. Heck when something is too easy the fun goes out of it.
    What others should know:This is not a woosies gun. It takes a bit of muscle—and technique—to cock it. My wife couldn't cock it until I showed her how I had figured to do it, and now she can cock hers by herself. I push down on the upper with my open palm until I can catch the frame with my fingers, then squeeze till it latches shut. You build up some muscle pretty quick, then it's easy. Oh yeah, don't let your thumb or free fingers—or any other sensitive body parts—get between the frame and the upper as you close them together since, as the piston reaches the end of the stroke, the upper slams very hard into lock. I'm not being a wise-guy here, but I highly recommend you—especially ladies—don't hold the P17 against your—ummmm—chest while cocking it. I still have a blood-blister on the fleshy bit below my thumb from the first time I cocked mine two-weeks ago. You should check for burrs around the air-intake hole at the bottom of the cylinder, and grease the piston and breach seal before shooting it. Other than that, this is one gem of a target pistol. Also, I can attest that gray squirrels go down, and don't get back up with head-shots at 40-50 feet. ;-)
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Clay from USA on 2013-03-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Power, accuracy, balance, aesthetics, price
    Things I would have changed:Add a device to aid in cocking, possibly a sliding lever in the same nature of an extendable shoulder stock, or just a tool that increases leverage--I guess I'm saying, "The darn thing needs a lever" Also, inserting the pellet can be a challenge. A molded plastic guide aligned with the breach would improve loading, but how the gun is currently designed it would have to be positioned to the right or left side of the breach, and be allowed to be pushed into a recess when the breach is closed--more effort than I can manage in my hobby-sized workshop.
    What others should know:Know the difference between single-stroke pneumatic power and break-barrel spring/piston power, look at the price, and you should be able to make an informed choice on this airgun. I recommend it.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2013-03-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Ok, I bought this gun a about two or three years ago when a lot of guys on my forum were getting it for Christmas. All reviews were great. I have been shooting this gun like crazy since. This morning I did a chrony check OVER 400 fps with RWS Hobby's. Just a really good gun even if the price was not unbelievably low. Great accuracy, and just fun to shoot.
    Things I would have changed:Would love a fiber optic site on it.
    What others should know:Be sure to keep it lubed with "White Lithium grease" on the forward cylinder and pellgun oil on the rear seal. Put the grease on as soon as you get the gun, so you can protect the main seal.Mine has never lost any power.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By M from USA on 2013-03-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Easy to cock. Super accurate at 10M. Great value.
    Things I would have changed:Difficult to load. Quality Control not so great. Rear sight adjustment needs locknut or Loctite.
    What others should know:O-rings don't last, so, expect to rebuild at any time, could last 100 shots or 1000, no way to know. Not too difficult to rebuild for the mechanically inclined. There are 4 O-rings: Breech & Upper chamber are the same size: #008 Lower chamber is: #006 Piston seal is: #116
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Mark from USA on 2013-03-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Fun gun to shot. Not a big dollar gun but you can have lots of fun with this one.
    Things I would have changed:Good value and can't think of anything I would change.
    What others should know:I would purchase the 10-for-$10. Also when you buy from PyramydAir you will be taken care of after the sale if you need anything.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By michael from USA on 2013-03-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Looks good. The Red Dot that came with it looks good.
    Things I would have changed:I would not have bought it. Waste of money should have saved up and bought a better gun. I didn't buy it from PA so it may have been a referb.
    What others should know:Weak has no power. At 10 feet the pellet bounces off ply wood.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2013-01-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Good accuracy, good power, the trigger is not bad for a $35 gun.
    Things I would have changed:Loading pellets is a little tricky, but practice is helping there. This is never going to be a cowboy action type gun, but loading the pellets is the limiting factor in terms of shots per minute.
    What others should know:It's a fun gun. For $35 I don't think you will regret it. I'm looking forward to some warm weather and doing some varmint shooting (grasshoppers and wasps). It really is darn accurate.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Daniel from USA on 2013-01-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:easy to cock
    Things I would have changed:tricky to load
    What others should know:A little tricky to load with wad cutters. Round nose or pointed easier. Haven't shot it much but like it.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Andrew from Canada on 2012-12-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The weight and feel of the weapon, very accurate, and it's not fussy about the ammo you choose. I've used roughly around 15 brands without any issues, everything from Skenco type 1's to Black Max type 4's, Crosman SuperPoints in lead give great groupings, and for sheer muzzle velocity Crosman SSP's(points) take the cake in the non-lead offerings. I have a Webley Alecto, and the guns are very similar internally, But the Alecto costs nearly 10X as much.
    Things I would have changed:I would beef up the power a little, and offer it in .22, I've seen where some have changed their .177 barrels for .22 without much loss in power.
    What others should know:This gun is very accurate with no recoil to speak of, so you can use it for some small game applications, I've taken a few squirrels at 25ft+ using Skenco Black Max match rounds, all were head shots and dropped the quarry no problem.This little shooter even handles H&N SilverPoints with good power and accuracy. all in all, This is definitely a pistol I would recommend to anyone who loves target shooting and light pest control. I will most definitely be bringing this gun to the Philippines on my next visit. The Rat's won't stand a chance. Cheer's, Andy
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.6666698455810553 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.
    Things I would have changed:Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)
    What others should know:Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By SP4449 from USA on 2012-12-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accuarcy is outstanding.
    Things I would have changed:Quality control. Within 30 days it started to leak and had to be returned to Pyramyd Air.
    What others should know:Pyramyd Air is great to deal with. If you get a P17 that does not leak, you will be very pleased with it.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Alfred from USA on 2012-12-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:First of all Wow this pistol shoots great. Great air pistol, highly recommend. Great trigger at-least 7" long barrel. Amazing power, I am impressed. Adjustable rear sights better than many center fire pistols.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:It is more impressive in person. Has a good weight to it. I think mainly for big kids and adults. It is not hard to cock but don't think small child would like it.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Timothy from USA on 2012-11-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Excellent target pistol for money.
    Things I would have changed:tough to load pellets...need loading tool that works with this pistol.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Bobo from USA on 2012-11-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I really like the FPS on this gun. I also like the solid weight and feel. I can shoot straight through two soup cans with this gun. It is my go-to pistol.
    Things I would have changed:Just one thing, the cocking effort. It is somewhat hard for me and my 22 year old brother can't cock it at all. But he isn't very strong at all, so...
    What others should know:This is a GREAT pistol!!!!
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Camo Man from USA on 2012-11-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Good size and feel--good power-goes through both sides of soda can-one side of thick vegetable can.
    Things I would have changed:kinda hard to load--some say hard to pump-but not that bad
    What others should know:best you can get for the price im painting it camo--lots of videos on youtube-how to paint guns camo
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Casey from USA on 2012-11-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Single-shot cocking mechanism is clever. Simple to use.
    Things I would have changed:Loading port difficult to access. Closing the top cover after cocking can be difficult at first.
    What others should know:Fun for plinking and informal shooting. Great deal and good bang for the buck.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Timothy from USA on 2012-11-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Excellent pistol for price. Very accurate.1 Inch bulls eye 10 shots in and 1 was on top of another shot.
    Things I would have changed:Needs fiber optic sites. Make it higher FPS like P1
    What others should know:Watch loose clothing when cocking. Not for children...
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Ron from USA on 2012-11-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The accuracy!
    Things I would have changed:They should use better O Rings,the ones that come in the pistol don't last long.
    What others should know:Buy one shoot it until it starts leaking,then replace all the o rings,and it will shoot forever.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By marthabillmiller from USA on 2012-10-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:VERY LIGHT EASY TO OPERATE VERY ACCURATE GOOD SIGHTS GOOD TRIGER LOOKS WELL PUT TOGETHER. I WILL GIVE IT A A+
    Things I would have changed:I WOULD NOT CHANGE ANY THING
    What others should know:GET ONE YOU WILL LIKE IT. IT IS FOR ADULTS
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Kris from USA on 2012-10-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Price is right on the mark for taking a chance, so I did. Adjustable sights are very good. Accuracy is great! The trigger is great! This is a SINGLE stroke gun. I like that it is designed so that you cannot pump it twice. When cocked and closed, the lever is locked down so you can't mistakenly over pump the valve. Forget to load? No problem. This is a dry-fire-friendly gun.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing. Even the automatic safety is a good idea.
    What others should know:I ordered one from PA to see what all the hype was about. I was so impressed I ordered two more. Cocking effort is a bit stiff for kids and seniors, but most shooters will finesse the gun to cock it easily. Initially I had trouble with the breech seal popping out. Replaced it with an O-ring from the hardware then shot 500 rounds. Yes, 500 rounds. No problems. I DID manage to pinch my hand towards the end of the shooting. Got tired. Accuracy was best with RWS Super Points and RWS Meisterkugelns. This is one of the truly great values for airgunners at a price that makes it my first choice of gift for shooters.
  • « Previous 12 ... 567 ... 1112 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top