Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Beeman P17 reviews - page 6

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18 02:43:29

    Things I liked:The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.
    Things I would have changed:Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)
    What others should know:Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2014-06-17 14:47:33

    Things I liked:Looks and feel.
    Things I would have changed:Cocking effort is so great it takes all I have to accomplish it! Takes all the fun out of shooting. My son-in-law, much younger and stronger than I, also had a very hard time getting it cocked. I've noticed in the specifications that the cocking effort is not listed, now I know why! This actually could be quite dangerous if care is not applied during the process.
    What others should know:I can rate the gun on everything but the accuracy. By the time I finally got it ready to shoot I was too tired to hold it steady! I have a Beeman P17 w/kit for sale. Gun is like new, only fired twice!
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12 ... 567 ... 910 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dwight from USA on 2012-06-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The price,the trigger and can nail dragon flys at 20ft all day long
      Things I would have changed:easier way to load
      What others should know:for the price i'm more than impressed ...mine don't like the german pellets she likes crosman premire super match
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2012-05-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Whats not to like abbout this pistol. Besides the price, the adjustable sights are easy to adjust and get the accuracy you are looking for. Lots of power for the money. Can knock a squirrel out of a tree at 30 yards and drop it nearly 2 flights down. Has a great feel and the safety is in a great location to fire quickly once target is aquired.
      Things I would have changed:A better way to load this single pellet pistol. Can be a struggle till you get use to it and even then can be tough.
      What others should know:Just a real good pistol for the money. You'll really like the feel of this pistol.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By sniper7 from USA on 2012-05-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Just came in from shooting and had to write this review. I tested this gun at 33' and was super surprised! I hit the bullseye 6-8 times taking about 12 shots! Very accurate. Also set up some tin cans at 35' and shots were blowing right through. Really nice piece!
      Things I would have changed:Maybe a rougher grip. It's a little slippery fresh out the box.
      What others should know:Match grade pellets really make a difference with the accuracy of this gun!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By dan from USA on 2012-05-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate! solid construction. Great feel in hand.
      Things I would have changed:Could be easier to load.
      What others should know:This is bar-none, the best gun for the price I have ever owned. I hope it last!!! Rear sight had wiggled loose during delivery, watch out when you open the package. Makes me wonder... how much better can the German version be?
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Alan from USA on 2012-05-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:PROs: Solid feel. Good looks. Nice trigger pull. Great accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:CONs: A bit difficult to insert pellet unless you have very small fingers. Somewhat difficult to cock.
      What others should know:So far my P17 has been working perfectly with approximately 1000 pellets through it so far. I would like to mention that after the pellet has been inserted into the tube it must be pushed in about a quarter of an inch to lock it into place. If you are fortunate enough to get one that is trouble free, it is an excellent target pistol, especially for the price
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By hunter from USA on 2012-04-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i really liked how simple it was to cock and load no need for co2 and its also really accurate most pistols ive had in the past you are restricted to shooting at like 10 or 15 yards with this pistol i can nail pop cans all the way out to 40 yards with open sights no problem
      Things I would have changed:when you get the gun no matter how much you want it take apart the piston and there will be a small hole where the air comes in and it has a bur on it that will tear the seal up in no time so just take either really light sand paper or a dishwashing green pad thing and work it until smooth then put some white grease back on the piston and your good to go this should only take about 10 minutes max it all comes aprt very easily you just open the gun up like your gonna cock it and there is a little pin holding the piston in place just pop that out and pull the piston out and repeat the process above and you should be set
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Charles from USA on 2012-04-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is the 2nd one I have purchased, but it was unusable out of the box! Lower frame was visably "bowed".. I cocked the gun, then could not take the "safty" off & it would not fire! I returned it!
      Things I would have changed:Something has to be done at the Beeman factory.. The quality control is OUT OF CONTROL!! Note: I would hve kept this gun had the Frame not been warped.. I rebuild them!
      What others should know:This Gun is a really good design, as proven by the excellent P3 Model! (it's German made twin) Note: IF you have the mechanical skills to do a little rebuild on it, you will have a great pistol! SEE the many internet blogs!
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By jonathan from USA on 2012-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The price was cheap. It is pretty accurate.
      Things I would have changed:It only worked for about 3 days before the O-rings started leaking and the next day it wouldnt work at all. The rear sight design is also very bad. It is adjustable but there is nothing to keep the nut from backing off once you adjust it. I stuck folded paper under the rear sight and the tightened it down ontop of that and so far it has held, but it looks red-neck that way.
      What others should know:I changed out all of the O-rings and sanded the rough edges on the barrel and the inside of the air cylinder with emery cloth and It has been working fine since.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By james from USA on 2012-04-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:accurate ,well balanced,
      Things I would have changed:craftsmanship and quality control..to many manufacturing defects,orings fail,broken springs and valves,rough metal parts in side
      What others should know:had 3 of these guns all failed with different problems...it is a shame because this gun is good when it works. for those who do not tinker with your guns do not buy ..also cocking requires a little muscle
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By sniper7 from USA on 2012-04-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is very interesting. At first it seems like a simple airgun for kids but once you take it out the package and hold it you'll be impressed! It has a nice heft to it and is well balanced.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Accuracy and power are great for a pistol you only have to cock once! Recoil is tiny!
      What others should know:For $35.00 you'll be amazed at the power and accuracy of this pistol and it's pretty durable too.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By sniper7 from USA on 2012-03-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is surprising! When I first received it I was not very impressed. I thought it would shoot poorly. For the money this gun is great! You have to get used to the cocking effort but after about 50 rounds it seems to become pretty easy. Good power for 1 stroke and accurate. After you get the feel you'll love this gun!
      Things I would have changed:Not much, however it would be nice for a bit more power but you won't be disappointed.
      What others should know:The cocking effort takes some getting used to but after about 50 rounds you'll get the hang of it and the gun will suddenly become a lot of fun!
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Douglas from USA on 2012-03-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price, good trigger, accuracy
      Things I would have changed:Lifespan...should last a wee bit longer than 20 days. Also the hole in the middle of the trigger for the set screw has sharp edges and interfers with making a smooth squeeze
      What others should know:I bought this gun knowing about the problems others have had but the fixes looked simple enough so for the price I didn't think I could go wrong. Unfortunately what broke on mine is not something that can be replaced without cannibalizing another P17. The roll pin issue has been addressed with captured pins (tiny e clips)and I did not experience the leakage others have, even after purposely leaving it cocked overnight. I may have gotten lucky but my example shot extremely well, regardless of pellet type. Offhand at 25' I was able to put 18 rounds (cheapo destroyers) into one ragged hole roughly 3/8" ctc and frankly I am not normally much of a marksman. The trigger was a bit gritty but let off was predictable and, until it broke, I was pleasantly surprised at how good a trigger on a $36 gun could be. Cocking does take a bit of effort-my wife couldn't do it-but I didn't find it overly difficult. Mine lasted exactly 184 rounds. On round 185 it cocked as usual but wouldn't fire, and upon removing the grip it looks like the part that actuates the valve had broken in half. The entire trigger mechanism is made from thin-ish stamped steel of unknown quality, and if replacement parts had been available I would have simply repaired it...it shoots THAT well!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dennis from USA on 2012-02-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Single stroke and fairley easy to load you can shoot this pretty fast, 435 FPS is enough to make a tin can jump. I did research on Google and pyramydair has the best price.
      Things I would have changed:Fine as is.
      What others should know:On Utube there are vidios Beeman P-17 that show how to deburr the hole in the cylinder that has a sharp edge and maybe a burr from the factory and will wear the O ring there. Also how to polish the end of the barrel where you load a pellet as it closes against a O ring and if you smooth it the O ring will last longer. This is easy to do. I did it before I shot mine.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By Barry from USA on 2012-01-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nothing
      Things I would have changed:return spring in trigger broke after 100 shots
      What others should know:don't buy
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Allan from USA on 2012-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent finish. Great feel and heft in the hand. Great accuracy. Very good trigger. Very consistent velocity It's like getting a $200 gun for under $40
      Things I would have changed:Poor quality control. A bit hard to cock.
      What others should know:First the bad news. After reading the reviews, there seemed that there was a good chance of early failure on some guns. When I received my first gun, the sight had fallen apart in the package. It failed to hold pressure after about 20 shots. Pyramyd's customer service is excellent, and my new gun was on it's way in a few days. What a fun little gun. It feels like quality, despite my first experience. Very natural hold, the right weight, a very natural sight picture. More accurate than I am. The trigger is smooth. A fair amount of creep in the second stage, but very light and goes off very cleanly and predictably. Common problems appear to have easy fixes, and plenty of information on the web
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Dave from USA on 2012-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good power
      Things I would have changed:Make it easier to load. Very difficult to cock. Gun quit working after six shots.
      What others should know:Not recommended for young teens as it is difficult to cock.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Matt from USA on 2011-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:One pump, no co2 expense or temperature related power loss. Nice trigger and very accurate. Great value for power and accuracy. Beefy gun.
      Things I would have changed:More than one pump for more power. But hey, its not a webley alectro, this is under $40!
      What others should know:Chrony results 5 shot average FPS... H&N FT trophy lead-free= 454, H&N barracuda green 6.48gr= 415, Skenco blue arrow= 449, jsb exact RS 7.33gr= 415, jsb exact 8.44gr= 396. This gun does take some effort to pump.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Francisco Lopez from USA on 2011-12-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy is at the top.The gun is the right size and lite.
      What others should know:Need to sand air intake in cylinder or oring will be cut.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Rodney from USA on 2011-11-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Material and heft of the gun is good. Good quality for the price. I haven't had it long enough to tell if it will hold up. Other reviews state that the seals break after shooting for awhile.Can not say. Right now it is a good buy and I love the gun.
      Things I would have changed:Kind of hard to cock, but it is new, maybe it will be easier after being used for awhile. Hard but not impossible.
      What others should know:Must be lubed before first shot and keep well lubed after it looks like it needs it. Lithium grease on the piston and pellgun oil on the seal where you put the pellet. Guy on youtube explains it all. 1942nuclear.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By David from USA on 2011-11-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid construction, easy to cock, reasonably accurate. The heft of the gun makes it feel much more expensive than it is. The cocking effort is acceptable and smooth, with no roughness apparent. Solid thunk when fired. Great design.
      Things I would have changed:Design a pellet loader for the pistol, and include it with the gun.
      What others should know:The P17 is the Chinese version of the German made P3. It is an astonishing value - it is hard to believe this gun can be sold for $35. I own over 40 air guns and this one is the best bang for the buck by far. Honest 400 fps and an accurate plinker, but the velocity is too low to hunt with. I must admit I've never handled a P3 but I can't imagine that it is worth 6 times the price of the P17. Every air gun enthusiast should have this in their collection.
    • « Previous 12 ... 567 ... 910 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top