Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Beeman P17 reviews - page 7

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18 02:43:29

    Things I liked:The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.
    Things I would have changed:Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)
    What others should know:Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By scott from USA on 2014-09-20 14:54:04

    Things I liked:Accuracy was great. Trigger was fantastic for a $40 pellet pistol.
    Things I would have changed:Some of the components are the cheapest quality imaginable. I fired 4 shots fired before the compression chamber started leaking. It would lose gas on the compression stroke. At first I thought it was a seal, which would be real easy to replace, but I disassembled the gun and tested the chamber under water to find the seam at the rear of the chamber had failed. It is a pressed joint that has no business as part of a compression chamber. Unbelievable that it is built like this.
    What others should know:Waste of $40. Should have bought something else.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12 ... 678910 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dennis from USA on 2012-02-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Single stroke and fairley easy to load you can shoot this pretty fast, 435 FPS is enough to make a tin can jump. I did research on Google and pyramydair has the best price.
      Things I would have changed:Fine as is.
      What others should know:On Utube there are vidios Beeman P-17 that show how to deburr the hole in the cylinder that has a sharp edge and maybe a burr from the factory and will wear the O ring there. Also how to polish the end of the barrel where you load a pellet as it closes against a O ring and if you smooth it the O ring will last longer. This is easy to do. I did it before I shot mine.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By Barry from USA on 2012-01-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nothing
      Things I would have changed:return spring in trigger broke after 100 shots
      What others should know:don't buy
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Allan from USA on 2012-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent finish. Great feel and heft in the hand. Great accuracy. Very good trigger. Very consistent velocity It's like getting a $200 gun for under $40
      Things I would have changed:Poor quality control. A bit hard to cock.
      What others should know:First the bad news. After reading the reviews, there seemed that there was a good chance of early failure on some guns. When I received my first gun, the sight had fallen apart in the package. It failed to hold pressure after about 20 shots. Pyramyd's customer service is excellent, and my new gun was on it's way in a few days. What a fun little gun. It feels like quality, despite my first experience. Very natural hold, the right weight, a very natural sight picture. More accurate than I am. The trigger is smooth. A fair amount of creep in the second stage, but very light and goes off very cleanly and predictably. Common problems appear to have easy fixes, and plenty of information on the web
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Dave from USA on 2012-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good power
      Things I would have changed:Make it easier to load. Very difficult to cock. Gun quit working after six shots.
      What others should know:Not recommended for young teens as it is difficult to cock.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Matt from USA on 2011-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:One pump, no co2 expense or temperature related power loss. Nice trigger and very accurate. Great value for power and accuracy. Beefy gun.
      Things I would have changed:More than one pump for more power. But hey, its not a webley alectro, this is under $40!
      What others should know:Chrony results 5 shot average FPS... H&N FT trophy lead-free= 454, H&N barracuda green 6.48gr= 415, Skenco blue arrow= 449, jsb exact RS 7.33gr= 415, jsb exact 8.44gr= 396. This gun does take some effort to pump.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Francisco Lopez from USA on 2011-12-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy is at the top.The gun is the right size and lite.
      What others should know:Need to sand air intake in cylinder or oring will be cut.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Rodney from USA on 2011-11-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Material and heft of the gun is good. Good quality for the price. I haven't had it long enough to tell if it will hold up. Other reviews state that the seals break after shooting for awhile.Can not say. Right now it is a good buy and I love the gun.
      Things I would have changed:Kind of hard to cock, but it is new, maybe it will be easier after being used for awhile. Hard but not impossible.
      What others should know:Must be lubed before first shot and keep well lubed after it looks like it needs it. Lithium grease on the piston and pellgun oil on the seal where you put the pellet. Guy on youtube explains it all. 1942nuclear.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By David from USA on 2011-11-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid construction, easy to cock, reasonably accurate. The heft of the gun makes it feel much more expensive than it is. The cocking effort is acceptable and smooth, with no roughness apparent. Solid thunk when fired. Great design.
      Things I would have changed:Design a pellet loader for the pistol, and include it with the gun.
      What others should know:The P17 is the Chinese version of the German made P3. It is an astonishing value - it is hard to believe this gun can be sold for $35. I own over 40 air guns and this one is the best bang for the buck by far. Honest 400 fps and an accurate plinker, but the velocity is too low to hunt with. I must admit I've never handled a P3 but I can't imagine that it is worth 6 times the price of the P17. Every air gun enthusiast should have this in their collection.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rick from USA on 2011-11-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Vey well made. Zero recoil when shot. I was amazed that when you shoot , the gun has no shake at all. Very cool.
      Things I would have changed:a little tough to cock
      What others should know:Shoots pellets only
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2011-11-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this is a great pistol, especially for the money. The trigger is really smooth, one of the best triggers I've found. I cant believe this gun sells for so little money!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing for the money.
      What others should know:Buy it, You'll love it!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jonathan from USA on 2011-11-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Realism, weight and feel, accuracy is excellent.
      Things I would have changed:The one thing is that it is really hard to cock.
      What others should know:Very good pellet pistol. Beware, you cannot shoot BBs from this gun: pellets only.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By berkfire from USA on 2011-11-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, trigger, decent power for target shooting ... Need some fixations but worth it ...
      Things I would have changed:Actually I changed a lot on this gun. 1) I changed all of the o-rings to be sure. O-rings are cheap so this operation was inexpensive. You'll need 2 #006 hnbr70 o-rings for valve system and 1 #116 hnbr70 o-ring between compression chamber and piston.I'm not recommending changing breech o-ring because it's thicker then hnbr70's and you'll lose power if you can't find a thick o-ring. 2) I bend right outer rod slightly outside(right when you are holding the gun) in order to keep contact with hammer. If you have a leak closing the gun the reason is the slide of hammer over right outer rod. You can examine this removing right grip and cocking the gun. After bending it, I shot 300+ pellets. No problem ... 3. The rear elevation screw had a problem. It didn't stand still. So, I changed screw and nut with longer M4 70mm bolt and a corresponding nylock nut. I used loctite medium strength on them to hold it's place.
      What others should know:Mine leaks after 20 shot but you can fix them all with a decent internet search. I found all of this solutions from internet and I used all of them on my gun. I didn't have any problems for 300 or more shots ... Now, it's a perfect gun for the money. I gave 4 star for overall rating because I couldn't use it out of the box.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Blair from USA on 2011-10-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is a copy of the wonderful HW40 which Beeman also had made for them as the Beeman P3. The design of this gun renders great accuracy in a single pump pistol. This cheaper chinese copy is every bit as accurate as the more expensive models it is a copy of (even as accurate as the Webley Alecto) but made with slightly cheaper materials.
      Things I would have changed:Make the gun with higher quality o-rings, otherwise this chinese copy of a great german design is a real airgun bargain.
      What others should know:The rubber oring seals in the gun arent the best and the air inlet hole should be checked for roughness/burr on the inside of the compression tube because any roughness can/will damage the o-ring. You should learn to work on these guns (which is very easy will all the how-to info on the net about P17's) in order to get full enjoyment out of this gun. At about $35.00 this pistol is one of the great bargains in airgunning as long as you don't mind a little maintenance and geting to know the gun on a personal level.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Roger from USA on 2011-10-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The price is awesome
      Things I would have changed:Flanges on handgrips were a little rough, had to file them down til they were smooth and even. Would have changed the pellet loading method to an easier one.
      What others should know:This little pistol is an awesome and fun gun for the price. The single stroke pneumatic is fast, but you must be strong to handle the overlever. Have had the gun two weeks and no failures yet with 500 rounds fired as of yesterday (2 tins of Crosman destroyers). Accuracy is good and most problems are becuase I haven't gotten my "gun legs" back after 30 years of not having shot any pistol or rifle. I am hooked on this pistol.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Hellhound from USA on 2011-10-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Single pump, good weight and balance with a smooth trigger pull, low recoil and very accurate. This is the right gun for my basement shooting range.
      Things I would have changed:move the safety to the right side or make it ambidextrous.
      What others should know:A little difficult to load especially if you have big fingers. Easier to load with pointed or domed pellets.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dano from USA on 2011-09-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The accuracy , lack of much noise , power , feel , fit and finish ( can't believe it's made in China ! )safety ,weight , options and price . You need at least one of these .
      Things I would have changed:I'm not sure how you could do it but make it easy for guys with big hands to load easier or offer a loader like they make for ball and cap guns ( i'm making my own ), find someway to keep the rear seal in position and again I don't know how you could do it but try and make it easier to cock so I can spend more time shooting mine and less time cocking my girlfriends .
      What others should know:If you want the best bargain on an air pistol anywhere order one or two of these and retire most of your others and by from the guys at Pyramyd Air -they know air guns .
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Tracey from USA on 2011-09-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the one pump one shot and it is very very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:The o-rings lasted about 300 shots and then started leaking air to the point that it would not hold air or shoot.
      What others should know:The o-rings failed and after an email to pyramyd air they gave me a printout to ship the gun back free of charge and could choose refund or replace the gun. I decided to try another one just because it was fun to shoot and so accurate. I hope the next one lasts longer but somehow I do not expect it to. Pyramyd was great.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dano from USA on 2011-09-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Every thing but maybe the loading of the pellet ( I have large hands ) . The sweetest trigger around , great sights , great power , solid well finished hand gun and more accurate than my old eyes are . Nice low soft sound when fired .I love this gun .
      Things I would have changed:The only thing would maybe offer a pellet pen that is like the percusion cap tool that is made for black powdered pistols . I tried a pellet pen but it dosen't have an angle to get it to feed in this gun .
      What others should know:Buy one or two and have a blast , shoots 10 shots that can be covered with a dime at 25 feet , with 52 year old eyes .Get some white lithium grease , some pelgun oil , pellets and have a blast ,
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mrcollins76 from USA on 2011-09-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Super accurate and very light short trigger pull. No CO2 required. Has a nice weight in the hand. Mine chronographed at the advertised FPS.
      Things I would have changed:Make it a little easier to load the pellet in and maybe a warning to keep people from catching their shirt in the frame while cocking it. Every person who has shot mine has done this.
      What others should know:The cocking effort is not easy but how else are they going to get 400 fps from such a small pistol. You honestly can not get a better deal in a single shot pellet pistol.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Tito from USA on 2011-08-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Adjustable sites and accuracy!!!!!! This may be the funnest purchase that I have made this year!
      Things I would have changed:I would make the pellet loading entry JUST A TAD bit bigger
      What others should know:Its kinda of quite for 410 fps!!!
    • « Previous 12 ... 678910 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top