Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Beeman P17 reviews - page 7

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18 02:43:29

    Things I liked:The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.
    Things I would have changed:Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)
    What others should know:Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2014-06-17 14:47:33

    Things I liked:Looks and feel.
    Things I would have changed:Cocking effort is so great it takes all I have to accomplish it! Takes all the fun out of shooting. My son-in-law, much younger and stronger than I, also had a very hard time getting it cocked. I've noticed in the specifications that the cocking effort is not listed, now I know why! This actually could be quite dangerous if care is not applied during the process.
    What others should know:I can rate the gun on everything but the accuracy. By the time I finally got it ready to shoot I was too tired to hold it steady! I have a Beeman P17 w/kit for sale. Gun is like new, only fired twice!
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12 ... 678910 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Christopher from USA on 2011-11-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Realism, weight and feel, accuracy is excellent.
      Things I would have changed:The one thing is that it is really hard to cock.
      What others should know:Very good pellet pistol. Beware, you cannot shoot BBs from this gun: pellets only.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By berkfire from USA on 2011-11-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, trigger, decent power for target shooting ... Need some fixations but worth it ...
      Things I would have changed:Actually I changed a lot on this gun. 1) I changed all of the o-rings to be sure. O-rings are cheap so this operation was inexpensive. You'll need 2 #006 hnbr70 o-rings for valve system and 1 #116 hnbr70 o-ring between compression chamber and piston.I'm not recommending changing breech o-ring because it's thicker then hnbr70's and you'll lose power if you can't find a thick o-ring. 2) I bend right outer rod slightly outside(right when you are holding the gun) in order to keep contact with hammer. If you have a leak closing the gun the reason is the slide of hammer over right outer rod. You can examine this removing right grip and cocking the gun. After bending it, I shot 300+ pellets. No problem ... 3. The rear elevation screw had a problem. It didn't stand still. So, I changed screw and nut with longer M4 70mm bolt and a corresponding nylock nut. I used loctite medium strength on them to hold it's place.
      What others should know:Mine leaks after 20 shot but you can fix them all with a decent internet search. I found all of this solutions from internet and I used all of them on my gun. I didn't have any problems for 300 or more shots ... Now, it's a perfect gun for the money. I gave 4 star for overall rating because I couldn't use it out of the box.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By B from USA on 2011-10-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is a copy of the wonderful HW40 which Beeman also had made for them as the Beeman P3. The design of this gun renders great accuracy in a single pump pistol. This cheaper chinese copy is every bit as accurate as the more expensive models it is a copy of (even as accurate as the Webley Alecto) but made with slightly cheaper materials.
      Things I would have changed:Make the gun with higher quality o-rings, otherwise this chinese copy of a great german design is a real airgun bargain.
      What others should know:The rubber oring seals in the gun arent the best and the air inlet hole should be checked for roughness/burr on the inside of the compression tube because any roughness can/will damage the o-ring. You should learn to work on these guns (which is very easy will all the how-to info on the net about P17's) in order to get full enjoyment out of this gun. At about $35.00 this pistol is one of the great bargains in airgunning as long as you don't mind a little maintenance and geting to know the gun on a personal level.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Roger from USA on 2011-10-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The price is awesome
      Things I would have changed:Flanges on handgrips were a little rough, had to file them down til they were smooth and even. Would have changed the pellet loading method to an easier one.
      What others should know:This little pistol is an awesome and fun gun for the price. The single stroke pneumatic is fast, but you must be strong to handle the overlever. Have had the gun two weeks and no failures yet with 500 rounds fired as of yesterday (2 tins of Crosman destroyers). Accuracy is good and most problems are becuase I haven't gotten my "gun legs" back after 30 years of not having shot any pistol or rifle. I am hooked on this pistol.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Hellhound from USA on 2011-10-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Single pump, good weight and balance with a smooth trigger pull, low recoil and very accurate. This is the right gun for my basement shooting range.
      Things I would have changed:move the safety to the right side or make it ambidextrous.
      What others should know:A little difficult to load especially if you have big fingers. Easier to load with pointed or domed pellets.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dano from USA on 2011-09-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The accuracy , lack of much noise , power , feel , fit and finish ( can't believe it's made in China ! )safety ,weight , options and price . You need at least one of these .
      Things I would have changed:I'm not sure how you could do it but make it easy for guys with big hands to load easier or offer a loader like they make for ball and cap guns ( i'm making my own ), find someway to keep the rear seal in position and again I don't know how you could do it but try and make it easier to cock so I can spend more time shooting mine and less time cocking my girlfriends .
      What others should know:If you want the best bargain on an air pistol anywhere order one or two of these and retire most of your others and by from the guys at Pyramyd Air -they know air guns .
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Tracey from USA on 2011-09-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the one pump one shot and it is very very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:The o-rings lasted about 300 shots and then started leaking air to the point that it would not hold air or shoot.
      What others should know:The o-rings failed and after an email to pyramyd air they gave me a printout to ship the gun back free of charge and could choose refund or replace the gun. I decided to try another one just because it was fun to shoot and so accurate. I hope the next one lasts longer but somehow I do not expect it to. Pyramyd was great.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dano from USA on 2011-09-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Every thing but maybe the loading of the pellet ( I have large hands ) . The sweetest trigger around , great sights , great power , solid well finished hand gun and more accurate than my old eyes are . Nice low soft sound when fired .I love this gun .
      Things I would have changed:The only thing would maybe offer a pellet pen that is like the percusion cap tool that is made for black powdered pistols . I tried a pellet pen but it dosen't have an angle to get it to feed in this gun .
      What others should know:Buy one or two and have a blast , shoots 10 shots that can be covered with a dime at 25 feet , with 52 year old eyes .Get some white lithium grease , some pelgun oil , pellets and have a blast ,
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-09-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Super accurate and very light short trigger pull. No CO2 required. Has a nice weight in the hand. Mine chronographed at the advertised FPS.
      Things I would have changed:Make it a little easier to load the pellet in and maybe a warning to keep people from catching their shirt in the frame while cocking it. Every person who has shot mine has done this.
      What others should know:The cocking effort is not easy but how else are they going to get 400 fps from such a small pistol. You honestly can not get a better deal in a single shot pellet pistol.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Tito from USA on 2011-08-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Adjustable sites and accuracy!!!!!! This may be the funnest purchase that I have made this year!
      Things I would have changed:I would make the pellet loading entry JUST A TAD bit bigger
      What others should know:Its kinda of quite for 410 fps!!!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-08-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun looks large, but through the use of composite plastics, it weighs in at only 26 ounces. The trigger pull is light, at 2 lbs 7 oz. The German made version (P-3) will usually have a trigger pull of slightly over 1 lb, but I'm happy with 2.5 lbs, as this matches most of my cartridge pistols. Rear sight adjusts easily, but doesn't feel like it would hold zero under recoil. This may not matter however, since the gun has no recoil. Front sight is too wide for fine precision in aiming, and since the front sight is plastic, cast as part of the frame of the gun, you can't remove or adjust it. Accuracy capability of the gun is greater than my ability to hold the gun steady. Single stroke charging is not too difficult, but loading the barrel with wadcutter pellets is awkward and hard. Pointed pellets or domes are much easier to load, especially if you have large hands. I'm a leftie, so the safety is perfect for me. I cock the pistol and can push the safety to fire with my trigger finger as I'm bringing the muzzle on target; pretty much effortless. This is not a powerful pistol, but it is very accurate. You might be able to kill a mouse, but I think a rat would just be seriously annoyed if hit by it. On the other hand, if you only want to train for accuracy without the expensive cost of buying cartridges and using a real firearm, or if you are only interested in target shooting, this is certainly the pistol for you. For $35, you can't beat it.
      Things I would have changed:Narrower front sight, about half the width of the current blade.
      What others should know:Beeman/Marksman is never going to provide parts for this gun. You may be able to get parts from Weihrauch for the HW-40 (same gun) or the Beeman P-3 (also the same gun), but this Chinese version is basically a gun that is intended to be used until it malfunctions, then be thrown away and another purchased. And unlike the Germans, the Chinese are not big on quality control issues. I read up on reviews of the gun and I'm fairly certain I can repair any problems that develop if it malfunctions, but if you can't do this, you might want to consider a P-3 or an HW-40. The gun is an excellent air pistol, and is unbeatable for the money. It is an exact copy of the P-3/HW-40, but the finishing of the P-17 is not up to the standards of the Germans, and it will not last as long before developing problems. Also, I'm getting about .8" groups at 10 meters using Air Arms Falcon domes, but with a better sight system, I think I could improve on this. My experience has been that contrary to expectations, wadcutters don't produce better accuracy in this gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rey from USA on 2011-07-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The quality construction, finish and feel of the this pistol is exceptional. One couldn't tell it only costs $35. Very accurate at around 10 yards, I had about 3/4" groupings with a scope.
      Things I would have changed:The rear sight gets pressed on when the pump is in a down-stroke. Some owners have complained about the O-ring seals, but if you call Beeman, they'd send you a set of seals at no charge.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2011-07-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:accuracy is great till the seals pop
      Things I would have changed:seals
      What others should know:save your money get a p23
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2011-07-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to cock and very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Need to correct looseness of rear sight screw. Comes loose very easily.
      What others should know:The nut which is inside the gun for the Rear Sight adjustment screw, needs to be glued to the frame to ensure tightness. Rear sight screw can fallout. Watch out for the tiny spring.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2011-06-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:accuracy weight and balance
      Things I would have changed:seals blow
      What others should know:I loved this gun had it a week and the seals blew . When you cocked it the air would rush out with no shot. Trashed it due to the fact that the shipping and trouble would not be worth the 35.00 paid
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By george from USA on 2011-06-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great trigger and accuurate
      Things I would have changed:fat fingers makes it hard to dut the more you shoot it you get better at it. dome pellets are easier.
      What others should know:about 500 rounds through it and no problems.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-05-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Shoots a nice tight grouping
      Things I would have changed:It's a little difficult to load.
      What others should know:Received with the sight in pieces, so I called Beeman and they sent me a replacement in 2 days.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Ray from USA on 2011-05-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good velocity for casual plinking and very accurate. Fits my hand well and has a pretty light trigger. Good weight. Well made. I think it's a great pistol.
      Things I would have changed:Not much at the price. I'm pretty amazed they can produce a pistol as good as this, sell it and make a profit at the current price.
      What others should know:When new, it's a booger bear to cock. For awhile, I wrapped a strip of wood with some layers of old denim, turned the pistol upside down on the denimed strip and put my weight into cocking the thing. Maybe I'm just too old but it was tough in the beginning. Now, after a few hundred rounds, I can cock it normally so long as the grip butt is resting on something. I haven't had the nerve to try cocking it only in my hands because of the fear of pinching myself bloody. When it snaps shut, it snaps!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rob from USA on 2011-04-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This gun is solid. It's heavy for a 'cheap' gun and that helps the accuracy (never understood why--buy a slightly heavy gun tends to steady my hands). The noise of firing the gun is lower than the pellet hitting the target. Love to shoot inside my apartment--albeit out the window. The trigger on mine is wonderful. It's very light, smooth, and crisp in the release. Mine is wonderfully accurate at the short range of about 15 yards--I haven't had the time/space to try it out at greater distances. But in a short space it will load one pellet on top of another--a real surprise and I can't wait to shoot flies and wasps. Cocking the gun is not difficult for an adult, but it is very hard for a child under the age of about 13. This has been advantage for me. I like the automatic safety.
      Things I would have changed:There is a tiny and awkwardly placed hole to insert the pellet. Forget your 'big fingers', you'd need small squid tentacles to get the pellet in accurately and quickly. The best you can say is that you can 'get used to it'--get used to it being difficult.
      What others should know:For the price--I read the same thing from other gunners--you'll get a heck of fun gun. Last thing, this is an accurate gun, but it is NOT for hunting unless you really hate insects. It shoots fast, but the pellets don't have the mass to kill anything with a heart.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-04-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy. Feel. For a pistol of this length, it is so well balanced, it is very easy to point and shoot. Comfortable grip. Both hands fall into place readily. Price and quality at price point.
      Things I would have changed:I understand that in order to get the power, the piston requires substantial lb compression, however, it is difficult to pump. Ones hands can get sore or pinched. Rail is adequately finished with no burrs. The answer I imagine lies in the piston design, but I do not have any suggestions as to a fix. Also, as noticed by other reviewers, getting ammo into firing chamber is a bit awkward.
      What others should know:Another great deal and well founded product assessment offered by Pyramyd. I've already run quite a few rounds of different pellets and find that the Daisy yellow and green tin, pointed tip, (good pistol pellet - with rifles, not so much) marginally offers the tightest groupings,though the Crosman hunting and Gamo hunting are not far behind. Of these three ammo choices, I also found the Daisy to be the easiest to handle and place into the firing chamber.
    • « Previous 12 ... 678910 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top