Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Beeman P17 reviews - page 9

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18 02:43:29

    Things I liked:The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.
    Things I would have changed:Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)
    What others should know:Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1

    Value for money:1

    Accuracy:1

    By allen from USA on 2013-12-25 03:24:31

    Things I liked:fast shipping
    Things I would have changed:the plastic package it comes in.
    What others should know:bought for a christmas present .son opened it a on the very first pump it broke an o-ring. didnt get to shoot it yet. very disappointed at this time.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12 ... 789
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Norman from USA on 2008-11-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Look, feel, trigger, accuracy, price.
      Things I would have changed:The o ring at the tip of the valve buried deep inside. This was the source of the leaks in both of my guns.
      What others should know:If you can work on things, these are a great bargain. If not, avoid the hassles. Both of mine leaked within a couple of hundred rounds. I replaced the valve o ring with a no. 006 and the pump o ring with a 116 and both guns have been happy since. Trigger problems seem to be caused by the springs inside the grip together with burrs on parts in there that can actually cut through the springs. Again, if you don't like working on mechanical stuff, avoid this gun!!
    • Overall rating:2 2.0

      Value for money:2 2.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Jeffrey from USA on 2008-11-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun flat out feels good in my hand. I like the heft and solid feel of the gun. Works great with a red dot scope (don't buy the Beeman red dot package deal, that scope is horrible, I replaced it day 1)
      Things I would have changed:I would like to Beeman, or whoever actually owns the Beeman name these days, to take a little interest in quality control. I bought 2 of these 3 weeks ago. 1 is on the way back for a MAJOR air leak and intermittent trigger problem (like not firing the gun properly)! The other was supposed to be my fathers but I started shooting it 2 days ago to make sure it was okay.... Guess what..... Major air leak after only ~ 150 shots.
      What others should know:I like this gun. I'm thinking of keeping the 2nd one and learning to work on it myself. I can live with a $50 loss but I SHOULDN"T HAVE TOO. If you but this gun and have ANY issues - make sure your retailer or the manufacturer know about it. It's up the the consumer to make sure that folks know we want quality products. I've been shooting a crappy CO2 pistols for 15 years. I need to shoot at 6 inch targets instead of half inchers, but the gun still WORKS.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Vincent from USA on 2008-10-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, nice trigger, easy to shoot, good power for a pistol (400fps with 7.9gr Crosman Premiers).
      Things I would have changed:Do something to lock the pins in place, some of them tend to start working their way out.
      What others should know:I have the Marksman 2004, which is what the gun was called before it was rebadged as the Beeman P17. It is a bit hard to cock and loading a pellet can be a bit tricky, but the gun shoots so well for under $50 that I cannot give it anything less than top marks.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2008-07-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fantastic accuracy. Put the airgun in a vice and sighted in the red dot. 1 inch grouping at 50 yards. Lightweight and very comfortable to hold. Ambidextrous grip is quite handy when shooting with others. FAST reload time. No need for multiple pumps makes it quite a pleasure to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:A little bulky and look out when cocking it. You could get pinched. A bit tricky to load the pellets, but it becomes very easy once your used to it. I do not like the auto safety. I find it to be more of a nuisance than a help, but I have never had a misfire so that says something. Also, there were tiny burrs on the plastic, but nothing a minute or two with a razor blade couldn't fix.
      What others should know:Crossman pellets are not that great for this gun. I find that my grouping expands three to four times when I use them. RWS pellets are preferred. They slide in easy and are very accurate. Wadcutters are kind of a hassle to load, so pointed pellets are better for this gun. Overall I would say this is one of the best air cheap air pistols I have seen. A real joy to shoot.
    • Overall rating:2 2.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By Vick from USA on 2008-06-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Light weight and balance. Good trigger. Direct, into chamber, loading. Solid feel. Reasonable accuracy most of the time. See "Things I would change."
      Things I would have changed:1. Air charge is somewhat inconsistent, leading to poor accuracy in some shots. 2. Cocking effort is heavy.
      What others should know:1. This came with the Beeman label instead of Marksman. Same gun. 2. Maintenance information - especially in regard to lubrication - was inadequate.
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Clint from USA on 2008-01-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate!!!! Good trigger for a cheap pistol.
      Things I would have changed:Finish work. Needs beburred. Mine had burs that caused the seal to leaks. After replacement O-Ring hold air great.
      What others should know:Why can't other cheap air guns be this accurate?
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By mkelley from USA on 2008-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a really nice pistol. It is easy to shoot. The sights are good. Cocking takes a bit of getting used to, becomes automatic after a while. Trigger is great., really easy to get a smooth shot off. Grip is very comfortable.
      Things I would have changed:Quite a few pointy edges on the top, you must be careful not to gouge your self when cocking. A bit much plastic. Hard to load. Domed pellets go in easier than wad cutters.
      What others should know:I had to really work the sights to get them lined up. But when I got it they were quite accurate. For the money this is really worth it. Lots of power. No Co2 and great physical exercise cocking.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Ralph from USA on 2007-11-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Hefty 1" accuracy @ 35 yards with RWS .177 Hobby pellets No flaws good quality plastic
      Things I would have changed:Auto safety is annoying cannot take gun appart to oil, peices are riveted and sealed together The sights could be more precise
      What others should know:Cross-pins wiggle free. The trigger is adjustable, you need a smal 90 degree allen wrench to adjust the grub screw on the bottom of the trigger. My slide is plastic.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By matt from USA on 2007-10-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Inexpensive: Having never owned a gun or airgun before, this was a cheap way to find out if I like the sport. Consistent: Using gamo pellets, after 500 shots, I had no misfires. Accurate: At least more than I am (which honestly isn't saying much).
      Things I would have changed:Loading is not easy, but I generally found it to be acceptable.
      What others should know:Don't use Crosman Lead free Silver Eagle pellets. They are too large for the breech and often got stuck resulting in misfires (1 out of 20 shots). No problems with two other pellet brands. I haven't tried other crosman pellets so I don't know if this is a problem for only the Crosman lead free or all Crosman pellets.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2007-10-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very nice pistol for the money. Accurate, powerful, hefty enough to balance nicely.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe some more metal , especially on the outside of the gun. At least the scope mount rail.
      What others should know:I think you will be pleasantly amazed with this gun for under 50 bucks. I am pretty new to adult airgunning but I can tell the difference between quality and junk and this is definitely not junk. Come on people, its only 50 bucks!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Casey from USA on 2007-09-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a fine pistol for target shooting or just plinking. With a little practice, a good shot can get accuracy equal to a rifle. I use open sights, and can hit targets the size of a half dollar at 100 ft. It does has an 11 mm scope rail if you want optics, so it's customizable. It's a hefty gun, but just so much to aid in stabilizing the shot. I also like the Walther barrel, it has deep rifling, and I am confident that I will not wear it out in my lifetime. I also like the auto reset safety. Every time you cock and load the gun, it resets itself. Very handy as it does come with an adjustable trigger, which can be set VERY crisp and light. No accidental shots with this gun. The overall fit and finish of this pistol is very good. This gun is a high quality, well thought out single pump pistol. If you are looking for one of those rare cases where you get more than you pay for, or expect, this is it. This is an outstanding value, extremely accurate, and very well made. I recomend you buy this gun, I promise you won't regret it.
      Things I would have changed:NOTHING
      What others should know:If you are worried about screws backing out, when you get this gun back the screws almost all the way out and put a drop of Lok-Tite on them and tighten them back down. I would suggest doing this one screw at a time as to avoid misaligning anything. It is easier to load hollow point or pointed pellets than wadcutters. My gun likes Crosman Premier hollow points. After I had the gun a while, I found I was able to load Daisy Precision Max Flat nosed pretty easily. They go faster due to being lighter than the Crosman ammo. Also I put a drop of white paint on the backside of the front blade sight, to help in getting the target lined up faster, it's good too, in low light.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By gary from USA on 2007-09-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Amazingly inexpensive for a gun of such nice quality and feel. It features autosafety, good triggering, and no recoil. Muzzle velocity is good, especially for a single pumper. It easily propelled 7.71gr wadcutters across my backyard target range distance of 60 feet with "coffee can" accuracy. The gun also has good weight and balance and feels comfortable in hand.
      Things I would have changed:A countersink or polishing in the breech might allow easier pellet insertion. Some pellets such as Gamo Master Points would catch on the edge of the breech and require additional wiggling to get them chambered. Also, the gun is single pump, but whadda pump! That last few inches requires considerable force to lock down the cocker.
      What others should know:Keep an eye on cross pins that will work themselves out, such as the one for the lockdown on the cocker. I have 2 "springer" rifles and the pins do the same thing. I don't know why the manufacturers don't recognize and fix this shortcoming? Stick to lighter pellets for this gun and you will get excellent close range penetration. I'd like to try some of the new 5.xx grain alloy pellets, but have not yet done so.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2007-08-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is fun and accurate.
      Things I would have changed:It is hard to load the pellet into the firing position
      What others should know:For the price a fun and easy gun to sight in and shoot.
    • « Previous 12 ... 789
    Over
    ammo packs sold