Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Beeman P17 reviews - page 9

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18 02:43:29

    Things I liked:The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.
    Things I would have changed:Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)
    What others should know:Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2014-06-17 14:47:33

    Things I liked:Looks and feel.
    Things I would have changed:Cocking effort is so great it takes all I have to accomplish it! Takes all the fun out of shooting. My son-in-law, much younger and stronger than I, also had a very hard time getting it cocked. I've noticed in the specifications that the cocking effort is not listed, now I know why! This actually could be quite dangerous if care is not applied during the process.
    What others should know:I can rate the gun on everything but the accuracy. By the time I finally got it ready to shoot I was too tired to hold it steady! I have a Beeman P17 w/kit for sale. Gun is like new, only fired twice!
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12 ... 8910 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By william from USA on 2010-05-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks good, feels good, nice trigger (adjustable) easy to hold (i have small hands) easy to shoot offhand, good 'iron' sights (adjustable) has a rail for scope or red-dot sight. pretty quiet, absolutely the best price for anything even remotely calling itself an air pistol.
      Things I would have changed:Just a little more attention to the o-rings used in manufacturing, and the design of the parts made to hold the o-rings (they need a little shimming). I put black 'gaffer' tape over the sharp edges of the rail to save my hand while cocking this. children will not be able to cock this gun.
      What others should know:many people have had problems with this gun losing pressure, leaking, etc. the fixes are remarkable simple (i'm no airgun mechanic and i took care of mine just fine with a few very simple tools. lots of blogs online with complete instructions, diagrams - look for one by 'derrick.' it's not a perfect gun, but if it has problems, you can either return it or fix it yourself. very easy. I love mine and even though it falied (leaked) two different times in the first 1000 pellets, it was easy to fix and i wouldn't give it up for twice the price. If you're not a tinkerer, buy the German-made version (the Beeman P3) for about six times the price.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Henry from USA on 2010-05-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Lightweight, great feel in the hand, extremely accurate!!!, good power, super simple to service, excellent trigger, auto safety, unbelievable price, good with a variety of ammo, 11mm rail, pretty good sights, recoilless, inner frame is metal at all important points... This is a keeper and a super value. I consider this pistol perhaps the BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK among airguns. I rarely write reviews, but I had to stop and write this one due to the super value!
      Things I would have changed:The plastic used seems like it might be a little different than the p3 or hw40, but it's holding up fine. Original o-rings are low quality, or just compressed/aged from storage. You will probably need to recondition(soak in silicone oil)/replace them sooner than later. However these o-rings are very cheap and easy to find at any hardware store, and the repair is easy enough for anyone. Drift one pin out, no special tools needed, to take it all apart. When you do it, you realize just how easy this gun is to maintain forever. A super bargain.
      What others should know:Use lighter pistol pellets for best results at longer ranges. Shoots just under/about 400fps, so they drop off as range increases. Uses a variety of pellets accurately. I was shooting RWS Hobbys, RWS R-10 pistol, 5.4 gr Hyper Velocity (strings in rifling), Superdomes, Beeman Lasers, and others...all with excellent results. You will be amazed at the accuracy and sweet trigger! Under 1" groups at 15 yards easy freehand. Put a little locktite/threadlocker on the sight screws to keep them from moving while cocking and carrying. Use a light coat of silicone oil (chamber oil type), silicone grease, or lithium grease on the tube once in a while and when servicing. Get a few thicknesses of o-ring and find the one that fits just right so its not too hard to cock, nor underpowered. You can also shim the o-ring with plumbers tape if you like. Thicker=little more power/harder to compress. Replace the small breech o-ring too for an even better seal if you like (easy). If you want a P3 or Weihrauch HW40 but find them a little expensive for your budget then this is the way to go. You wont be disappointed. It's almost the same in every way...except the o-rings might need an initial change or reconditioning (soak them in silicone oil etc). Everything else is just about the same. German engineering and super accuracy. If youre a collector or want perfection and have the extra money to spend, then go with the Weihrauch hw40, or hw75. This p17 is a gun you wont fuss over, and will last 4ever.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2010-03-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Trigger, sights, accuracy, price, price, price... Not that sighting in a new pistol is that big of a deal, but somehow this thing showed up with it's sights already set. We began shooting GatorAid bottle caps at 20' right out of the box.
      Things I would have changed:I wish the manufacturer cared half as much about their customers as Pyramyd Air does. Don't bother wasting your time attempting to contact Beeman / Marksman for any information regading this pistol, they won't return your phone calls or e-mails. They're pretty much worthless when it comes to customer service. Pyramyd Air's employees however are extremely helpful & knowledgeable.
      What others should know:This has got to be the best deal in air pistols out there. This is the third one I've bought in the last 3 years (all 3 have been gifts for other people) & it appears the quality is improving.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Roberto from USA on 2010-03-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:El peso es ideal y da la sensacion de ser de metal
      Things I would have changed:Es un poco dificil insertar el pellet
      What others should know:Tiene gran potencia para ser una pistola pero necesita un buen esfuerzo para cargarla
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ron from USA on 2010-03-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Adjustable rear sight and very good trigger release. High velocity in a single pump pistol. Super accurate. What else could be expected from a pistol in this price range ?
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:A great buy. You won't find any other gun in this price range loaded with so many features.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Art from USA on 2010-03-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought two of these so we could have family matches while camping or picnicking or just sitting on the patio. They are accurate and fun. Will put 'em in the same hole @ twenty feet all day long. Pop cans at thirty yards not a problem. They are inexpensive and easy to replace o rings if needed. I did with one, not the other yet but haven't shot it much yet.
      Things I would have changed:Put a white dot of enamel or something on the front sight so you can see it.
      What others should know:It you start missing low, pull the rear sight back up. It gets pushed down when you close it and sometimes doesn't pop all the way back up.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2009-12-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy !!. Straight out of the box. I shot six shots @ 50 yrds in a 2" circle WITHOUT the scope and no sdjustments to the sights, fairly quiet, can be shot inside without disturbing the neighbors
      Things I would have changed:I think an amidexterous saftey would have been a plus, and it's just a touch too much for my daughter to pugh the pump back down other than the battery being dead for the reddot (not really a problem-easy to find cr2030 lithium is popular)...besides that its a very well built pistol, similar to a Glock 17. shoots well right out of the package, I'm sure with a little tweaking on the red dot, I was Highly impressed !
      What others should know:It's kinda tough to pump for a younger child, but I do like that it was a single shot...makes you be a little more careful about aiming to do well, instead of the "spray and pray" like some of the CO2 multi shot + the power is the same every time unlike charge loss of a CO2.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By kastein from USA on 2009-11-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:* Solid, I've dropped it multiple times and it is still accurate and only slightly scuffed, no real damage * very well contoured grip * surface finish is good, it doesn't have any checkering or significant reeding to collect dirt. Easy to keep clean and good looking * price! * very durable, I've pumped at least 2500 rounds through mine so far, will probably be up past 3000 by next week
      Things I would have changed:* rear sight adjustment mechanism, as others noted. * the pivot pin for the pump lever likes to slide out the side slightly after a few hundred shots. Should be retained a little better.
      What others should know:Great introductory air pistol, I would buy it again in an instant.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Customer from USA on 2009-08-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Powerful, strongly made shell, nice trigger, satisfying overall in feel, hackable to some extent.
      Things I would have changed:I've already cut a secondary 'backup' O-ring seat in the main compressor piston, as per the anotherairgunblog posting on this gun. Time to go O-ring shopping. That, and a couple of other O-ring related changes and general cleaning and proper lubrication should make this quite a reliable pistol. I've filled the area behind the barrel with metal-filled epoxy putty to make a better 'funnel' shape, considerably improving loading ease. Got to be careful there to leave room for the breach block, but that's not too hard. Also polished the ends of the barrel and slightly counter-sunk, at the front for kicks, but at the rear to extend O-ring life and improve the seal. Adjusting the barrel position relative to the breach seal is easy enough, through trial and error, and does wonders for that fit.
      What others should know:For a tinkerer/hacker this is a lot of fun, as the basic quality is sufficient as a platform to work from and the price low enough that there's little at risk. It's a big pistol, kind of a handful even in my large hands, but workable. Accuracy isn't all that, but usable enough at short range. Loud pop, but hey, there isn't a spring piston version in this price range. I'd suggest reading all the blog postings with pictures about the P-17 on anotherairgunblog - loads to be gleaned there.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ryan from USA on 2009-08-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This pistol has a solid feel to it. The pumping action is ok, but make sure you don't don't the rear sight when pumping. The nut inside holding the position of the rear sight sometimes gets out of place.
      Things I would have changed:Make the trigger set screw adjustable without having to take the gun apart. Use a locking nut for the rear sight.
      What others should know:At first, my gun was flaky on firing. Sometimes it would fire, and sometimes it wouldn't. I fixed this by remaking the trigger set screw. I wouldn't recommend this gun for a person who just wants to shoot without taking some time to smith up this gun. You have to take care of it, and modify it a bit before it is really rugged. Once you do though (such as nylock nut on rear sight, adjust trigger set screw, polish up some rods inside, etc.) this performs like a dream.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2009-07-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy
      Things I would have changed:Reliability
      What others should know:Not a reliable gun. Died after 150 Shots
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gregory from USA on 2009-07-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:For the price, an excellent gun. After 200 rounds, no seal leak problems, no pin creep problems. Feels like a real gun in terms of balance and grip. Mostly plastic but of good quality. Nice power for a one pump (400fps +). Accuracy quite good. Adjustable rear sight for both dimensions. Still can't believe what you get for under 40 bucks - waiting for the downside but potentially disposable if something wears out at this price. Nice trigger feel for an inexpensive gun.
      Things I would have changed:Fake hammer latch looks like it will be the first thing to wear out. Smaller front sight width would be nice for target. (No daylight on either side of front post in sight picture.)
      What others should know:Hard to pump. Average kid won't be able to do it. Be careful of sharp edges of sight when doing so to avoid cuts or pinches. Takes almost 30 lbs of pressure to do the single pump. A little tricky for loading the pellet if you have big fingers. Medium quiet.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2009-01-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: Solid feel, weight, trigger and design of the gun.
      Things I would have changed: The people that put the gun together.
      What others should know: These guns are well worth the money if you can work on them a little bit. The first thing I did was put some Teflon tape on the screw which holds the sight in place to keep it from creeping. Also I took the O-ring out where the barrel meets the air chamber and made a gasket out of typing paper the same size as the O-ring. Then I put it in place then I put the O-ring back in. Also the barrel can be loosened up and slid forward to help tighten up the O-ring. The pins in the gun have a problem of wanting to come out so I have put some set screws where there are holes all ready drilled out. Be careful if you do this the set screws have to be tiny. On the air chamber it self there is a set screw on the end of piston shaft. Before you pull the piston mark it so it goes in the same way it came out. Loosen the set screw and slide the pin out now the piston is ready to come out. Once the piston is out clean it up and take the O-ring off and clean out the grove. Next clean out the shaft. Once everything is cleaned out I take Valvoline sae 30 moter oil dip my in it and oil the shaft, it takes very little oil to do this, Then with the piston I will lube the grove and put the O-ring back on giving it a twist, then lightly lube the piston and slide it back in the same way it came out. Now you are in business. It is easy to pull the piston to clean so I will do this every 1500 pellets. A good hardware store sells the O-rings. I hope this helps some of you out Since I have done these things I have shot several thousand pellets through the gun with out any problem. The gun will blow your mind when you see how accurate it is. Go to the blog on the P 3 to get more info.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ken Bedroske from USA on 2008-11-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solidly built,nicely priced,no need for c02 cartridges.
      Things I would have changed:Easier loading.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Norman from USA on 2008-11-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Look, feel, trigger, accuracy, price.
      Things I would have changed:The o ring at the tip of the valve buried deep inside. This was the source of the leaks in both of my guns.
      What others should know:If you can work on things, these are a great bargain. If not, avoid the hassles. Both of mine leaked within a couple of hundred rounds. I replaced the valve o ring with a no. 006 and the pump o ring with a 116 and both guns have been happy since. Trigger problems seem to be caused by the springs inside the grip together with burrs on parts in there that can actually cut through the springs. Again, if you don't like working on mechanical stuff, avoid this gun!!
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jeffrey from USA on 2008-11-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun flat out feels good in my hand. I like the heft and solid feel of the gun. Works great with a red dot scope (don't buy the Beeman red dot package deal, that scope is horrible, I replaced it day 1)
      Things I would have changed:I would like to Beeman, or whoever actually owns the Beeman name these days, to take a little interest in quality control. I bought 2 of these 3 weeks ago. 1 is on the way back for a MAJOR air leak and intermittent trigger problem (like not firing the gun properly)! The other was supposed to be my fathers but I started shooting it 2 days ago to make sure it was okay.... Guess what..... Major air leak after only ~ 150 shots.
      What others should know:I like this gun. I'm thinking of keeping the 2nd one and learning to work on it myself. I can live with a $50 loss but I SHOULDN"T HAVE TOO. If you but this gun and have ANY issues - make sure your retailer or the manufacturer know about it. It's up the the consumer to make sure that folks know we want quality products. I've been shooting a crappy CO2 pistols for 15 years. I need to shoot at 6 inch targets instead of half inchers, but the gun still WORKS.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Vincent from USA on 2008-10-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, nice trigger, easy to shoot, good power for a pistol (400fps with 7.9gr Crosman Premiers).
      Things I would have changed:Do something to lock the pins in place, some of them tend to start working their way out.
      What others should know:I have the Marksman 2004, which is what the gun was called before it was rebadged as the Beeman P17. It is a bit hard to cock and loading a pellet can be a bit tricky, but the gun shoots so well for under $50 that I cannot give it anything less than top marks.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2008-07-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fantastic accuracy. Put the airgun in a vice and sighted in the red dot. 1 inch grouping at 50 yards. Lightweight and very comfortable to hold. Ambidextrous grip is quite handy when shooting with others. FAST reload time. No need for multiple pumps makes it quite a pleasure to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:A little bulky and look out when cocking it. You could get pinched. A bit tricky to load the pellets, but it becomes very easy once your used to it. I do not like the auto safety. I find it to be more of a nuisance than a help, but I have never had a misfire so that says something. Also, there were tiny burrs on the plastic, but nothing a minute or two with a razor blade couldn't fix.
      What others should know:Crossman pellets are not that great for this gun. I find that my grouping expands three to four times when I use them. RWS pellets are preferred. They slide in easy and are very accurate. Wadcutters are kind of a hassle to load, so pointed pellets are better for this gun. Overall I would say this is one of the best air cheap air pistols I have seen. A real joy to shoot.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Vick from USA on 2008-06-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Light weight and balance. Good trigger. Direct, into chamber, loading. Solid feel. Reasonable accuracy most of the time. See "Things I would change."
      Things I would have changed:1. Air charge is somewhat inconsistent, leading to poor accuracy in some shots. 2. Cocking effort is heavy.
      What others should know:1. This came with the Beeman label instead of Marksman. Same gun. 2. Maintenance information - especially in regard to lubrication - was inadequate.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Clint from USA on 2008-01-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate!!!! Good trigger for a cheap pistol.
      Things I would have changed:Finish work. Needs beburred. Mine had burs that caused the seal to leaks. After replacement O-Ring hold air great.
      What others should know:Why can't other cheap air guns be this accurate?
    • « Previous 12 ... 8910 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top