Beeman P17 reviews - page 9

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By A Reasonable Person from USA on 2012-12-18 02:43:29

Things I liked: The Beeman P17 is an excellent value for someone interested in a 4.5 mm (.177 cal) target air pistol. Before you buy, think about what it is that you intend to use an airgun for. If you wish to shoot 10 meter air pistol targets and stay in the black at very low cost, this pistol is definitely worth three times what it is sold for. If you want rapidly to make many tiny dents in a barn door from 5 meters or otherwise blast away promiscuously, then skip the P17 and buy the CO2 BB gun which will do that job for you. If you want to hunt, skip pistols and go to a pellet rifle with enough power and accuracy to allow you reliably to achieve first round kills; then make yourself some rat, rabbit or pigeon stew, or at least supplement your cat's diet with your take. Is this an Olympic 10 meter target pistol? No, but it is surprisingly accurate for 10% of the cost of a basic match target pistol such as the Baikal 46. It has good balance, points very naturally and has a splendidly light trigger and servicable open sights. The P17 is a Beeman-licensed Chinese manufactured copy of the Beeman P3/Weihrauch HW40 manufactured in Germany. Except for the post and vee sights (very satisfactory for target shooting, the rear being adjustable for both elevation and windage,) it follows the P3/HW40 design very faithfully for less than 20% of the cost. I have found that Beeman model 1235 7.7 grain coated wadcutters work very well for target shooting in my P17, and are very economical.

Things I would have changed: Loading seems awkward at first, but will soon become easier, especially if you start with pointed pellets, then switch to wads when you are used to the loading. Beeman Model 1239 8.5 grain coated pointed pellets will serve that purpose. With these products, you can find out whether you enjoy the sport without having to spend serious money on it. While the design is very good, the level of quality assurance in assembly seems, from the sample of user reviews I have read elsewhere, sometimes to fall below that standard. Most are assembled well, but some are less well assembled. While the manufacturer should improve quality control, the P17 is warranted for a year, and is not difficult to work on when the warranty has expired. There is plenty of help for diagnosing and fixing problems on the Web. After about 2,000 rounds, I started to have trouble with pressure loss. Since the pistol was then still under warranty, I spent $12 on sending it to Beeman for repairs. After a month, it came back in good order. Now that it is out of warranty, I work on it myself. A Google search for P17 overhaul led me to a number of useful sources of information, including Derrick's overhaul part 1 and finale, which are step by step guides with very good color photo illustrations (Thank you, Derrick.)

What others should know: Cocking this device is too difficult for a child, but within the abilities of most mid-late teens and adults. Anyway, it is not a toy and is not suitable for children. The safe handling considerations for firearms apply to pellet guns. The top of the receiver incorporates dove tail grooves between the front and rear iron sights for mounting accessory sights. Some offers of P17s bundle them with an open style red dot sight. If you are, or think that you may be, interested in target shooting, then the P17 is worth your consideration. If you do not enter formal competition, it may be all that you need. In any event, it is a fine pistol for developing pistol marksmanship and maintaining proficiency economically and at home, rather than driving to a firearms range and firing ball ammunition frequently. I know of no other target as good for so llittle money.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:4.0

By scott from USA on 2014-09-20 14:54:04

Things I liked: Accuracy was great. Trigger was fantastic for a $40 pellet pistol.

Things I would have changed: Some of the components are the cheapest quality imaginable. I fired 4 shots fired before the compression chamber started leaking. It would lose gas on the compression stroke. At first I thought it was a seal, which would be real easy to replace, but I disassembled the gun and tested the chamber under water to find the seam at the rear of the chamber had failed. It is a pressed joint that has no business as part of a compression chamber. Unbelievable that it is built like this.

What others should know: Waste of $40. Should have bought something else.

Sort by:
  • Previous 12 ... 89101112 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Hellhound from USA on 2011-10-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Single pump, good weight and balance with a smooth trigger pull, low recoil and very accurate. This is the right gun for my basement shooting range.

    Things I would have changed: move the safety to the right side or make it ambidextrous.

    What others should know: A little difficult to load especially if you have big fingers. Easier to load with pointed or domed pellets.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dano from USA on 2011-09-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The accuracy , lack of much noise , power , feel , fit and finish ( can't believe it's made in China ! )safety ,weight , options and price . You need at least one of these .

    Things I would have changed: I'm not sure how you could do it but make it easy for guys with big hands to load easier or offer a loader like they make for ball and cap guns ( i'm making my own ), find someway to keep the rear seal in position and again I don't know how you could do it but try and make it easier to cock so I can spend more time shooting mine and less time cocking my girlfriends .

    What others should know: If you want the best bargain on an air pistol anywhere order one or two of these and retire most of your others and by from the guys at Pyramyd Air -they know air guns .

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tracey from USA on 2011-09-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I like the one pump one shot and it is very very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: The o-rings lasted about 300 shots and then started leaking air to the point that it would not hold air or shoot.

    What others should know: The o-rings failed and after an email to pyramyd air they gave me a printout to ship the gun back free of charge and could choose refund or replace the gun. I decided to try another one just because it was fun to shoot and so accurate. I hope the next one lasts longer but somehow I do not expect it to. Pyramyd was great.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dano from USA on 2011-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Every thing but maybe the loading of the pellet ( I have large hands ) . The sweetest trigger around , great sights , great power , solid well finished hand gun and more accurate than my old eyes are . Nice low soft sound when fired .I love this gun .

    Things I would have changed: The only thing would maybe offer a pellet pen that is like the percusion cap tool that is made for black powdered pistols . I tried a pellet pen but it dosen't have an angle to get it to feed in this gun .

    What others should know: Buy one or two and have a blast , shoots 10 shots that can be covered with a dime at 25 feet , with 52 year old eyes .Get some white lithium grease , some pelgun oil , pellets and have a blast ,

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By barry from USA on 2011-09-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Super accurate and very light short trigger pull. No CO2 required. Has a nice weight in the hand. Mine chronographed at the advertised FPS.

    Things I would have changed: Make it a little easier to load the pellet in and maybe a warning to keep people from catching their shirt in the frame while cocking it. Every person who has shot mine has done this.

    What others should know: The cocking effort is not easy but how else are they going to get 400 fps from such a small pistol. You honestly can not get a better deal in a single shot pellet pistol.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tito from USA on 2011-08-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Adjustable sites and accuracy!!!!!! This may be the funnest purchase that I have made this year!

    Things I would have changed: I would make the pellet loading entry JUST A TAD bit bigger

    What others should know: Its kinda of quite for 410 fps!!!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By george.enoob from USA on 2011-08-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The gun looks large, but through the use of composite plastics, it weighs in at only 26 ounces. The trigger pull is light, at 2 lbs 7 oz. The German made version (P-3) will usually have a trigger pull of slightly over 1 lb, but I'm happy with 2.5 lbs, as this matches most of my cartridge pistols. Rear sight adjusts easily, but doesn't feel like it would hold zero under recoil. This may not matter however, since the gun has no recoil. Front sight is too wide for fine precision in aiming, and since the front sight is plastic, cast as part of the frame of the gun, you can't remove or adjust it. Accuracy capability of the gun is greater than my ability to hold the gun steady. Single stroke charging is not too difficult, but loading the barrel with wadcutter pellets is awkward and hard. Pointed pellets or domes are much easier to load, especially if you have large hands. I'm a leftie, so the safety is perfect for me. I cock the pistol and can push the safety to fire with my trigger finger as I'm bringing the muzzle on target; pretty much effortless. This is not a powerful pistol, but it is very accurate. You might be able to kill a mouse, but I think a rat would just be seriously annoyed if hit by it. On the other hand, if you only want to train for accuracy without the expensive cost of buying cartridges and using a real firearm, or if you are only interested in target shooting, this is certainly the pistol for you. For $35, you can't beat it.

    Things I would have changed: Narrower front sight, about half the width of the current blade.

    What others should know: Beeman/Marksman is never going to provide parts for this gun. You may be able to get parts from Weihrauch for the HW-40 (same gun) or the Beeman P-3 (also the same gun), but this Chinese version is basically a gun that is intended to be used until it malfunctions, then be thrown away and another purchased. And unlike the Germans, the Chinese are not big on quality control issues. I read up on reviews of the gun and I'm fairly certain I can repair any problems that develop if it malfunctions, but if you can't do this, you might want to consider a P-3 or an HW-40. The gun is an excellent air pistol, and is unbeatable for the money. It is an exact copy of the P-3/HW-40, but the finishing of the P-17 is not up to the standards of the Germans, and it will not last as long before developing problems. Also, I'm getting about .8" groups at 10 meters using Air Arms Falcon domes, but with a better sight system, I think I could improve on this. My experience has been that contrary to expectations, wadcutters don't produce better accuracy in this gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rey from USA on 2011-07-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The quality construction, finish and feel of the this pistol is exceptional. One couldn't tell it only costs $35. Very accurate at around 10 yards, I had about 3/4" groupings with a scope.

    Things I would have changed: The rear sight gets pressed on when the pump is in a down-stroke. Some owners have complained about the O-ring seals, but if you call Beeman, they'd send you a set of seals at no charge.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2011-07-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: accuracy is great till the seals pop

    Things I would have changed: seals

    What others should know: save your money get a p23

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2011-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to cock and very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Need to correct looseness of rear sight screw. Comes loose very easily.

    What others should know: The nut which is inside the gun for the Rear Sight adjustment screw, needs to be glued to the frame to ensure tightness. Rear sight screw can fallout. Watch out for the tiny spring.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2011-06-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: accuracy weight and balance

    Things I would have changed: seals blow

    What others should know: I loved this gun had it a week and the seals blew . When you cocked it the air would rush out with no shot. Trashed it due to the fact that the shipping and trouble would not be worth the 35.00 paid

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By george from USA on 2011-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: great trigger and accuurate

    Things I would have changed: fat fingers makes it hard to dut the more you shoot it you get better at it. dome pellets are easier.

    What others should know: about 500 rounds through it and no problems.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By lyonmt from USA on 2011-05-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Shoots a nice tight grouping

    Things I would have changed: It's a little difficult to load.

    What others should know: Received with the sight in pieces, so I called Beeman and they sent me a replacement in 2 days.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ray from USA on 2011-05-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Good velocity for casual plinking and very accurate. Fits my hand well and has a pretty light trigger. Good weight. Well made. I think it's a great pistol.

    Things I would have changed: Not much at the price. I'm pretty amazed they can produce a pistol as good as this, sell it and make a profit at the current price.

    What others should know: When new, it's a booger bear to cock. For awhile, I wrapped a strip of wood with some layers of old denim, turned the pistol upside down on the denimed strip and put my weight into cocking the thing. Maybe I'm just too old but it was tough in the beginning. Now, after a few hundred rounds, I can cock it normally so long as the grip butt is resting on something. I haven't had the nerve to try cocking it only in my hands because of the fear of pinching myself bloody. When it snaps shut, it snaps!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rob from USA on 2011-04-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This gun is solid. It's heavy for a 'cheap' gun and that helps the accuracy (never understood why--buy a slightly heavy gun tends to steady my hands). The noise of firing the gun is lower than the pellet hitting the target. Love to shoot inside my apartment--albeit out the window. The trigger on mine is wonderful. It's very light, smooth, and crisp in the release. Mine is wonderfully accurate at the short range of about 15 yards--I haven't had the time/space to try it out at greater distances. But in a short space it will load one pellet on top of another--a real surprise and I can't wait to shoot flies and wasps. Cocking the gun is not difficult for an adult, but it is very hard for a child under the age of about 13. This has been advantage for me. I like the automatic safety.

    Things I would have changed: There is a tiny and awkwardly placed hole to insert the pellet. Forget your 'big fingers', you'd need small squid tentacles to get the pellet in accurately and quickly. The best you can say is that you can 'get used to it'--get used to it being difficult.

    What others should know: For the price--I read the same thing from other gunners--you'll get a heck of fun gun. Last thing, this is an accurate gun, but it is NOT for hunting unless you really hate insects. It shoots fast, but the pellets don't have the mass to kill anything with a heart.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By lcarradini from USA on 2011-04-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy. Feel. For a pistol of this length, it is so well balanced, it is very easy to point and shoot. Comfortable grip. Both hands fall into place readily. Price and quality at price point.

    Things I would have changed: I understand that in order to get the power, the piston requires substantial lb compression, however, it is difficult to pump. Ones hands can get sore or pinched. Rail is adequately finished with no burrs. The answer I imagine lies in the piston design, but I do not have any suggestions as to a fix. Also, as noticed by other reviewers, getting ammo into firing chamber is a bit awkward.

    What others should know: Another great deal and well founded product assessment offered by Pyramyd. I've already run quite a few rounds of different pellets and find that the Daisy yellow and green tin, pointed tip, (good pistol pellet - with rifles, not so much) marginally offers the tightest groupings,though the Crosman hunting and Gamo hunting are not far behind. Of these three ammo choices, I also found the Daisy to be the easiest to handle and place into the firing chamber.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dennis from USA on 2011-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fairly powerful, nice sights adjustable for W and E, shoots pellets, accurate, scopeable, reliable (at least mine is), ambidextrous grip. This gun is peerless at this price.

    Things I would have changed: Minor things: The elevation adjustment screw should be threaded into a molded-in nut, rather than a nut held by friction. It's easy to dislodge the nut when pressing down at the end of a pump.

    What others should know: If you like air pistols that will hit what you aim at, you can't go wrong at this price. Some reviewers have had trouble with seals, but with Pyramyd's 30-day return policy don't let that stop you.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By J. Stag from USA on 2011-01-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The accuracy is astounding! The trigger is rather nice for such an inexpensive pistol. Very comfortable, P99-style grip. The adjustable metal rear sight is very adequate. Great, quiet practice - perfect for the basement.

    Things I would have changed: The return stroke (which compresses the air) is quite difficult at first. I would not expect a child to be able to do it. The elevation adjustment screw on the rear sight is not very positive. That is, you can adjust it with your fingernail. Maybe a stronger spring under the sight would help. The sight works fine, though.

    What others should know: I have only a couple hundred pellets through it, so the jury is still out as to how it holds up over time. But for the price, the deal is incredible.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2011-01-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: 1 pump and you're there. The noise level is acceptable.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see it smaller.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2011-01-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: After adjusting sights this is the most accurate air gun I have fired.No kidding.This is the best deal out there.

    What others should know: Use only domed or pointed pellets and you will have no problem loading this gun

  • Previous 12 ... 89101112 Next
Navigation