Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Beeman R1 Supermagnum Air Rifle, No Sights reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (15 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    6 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2009-02-24 06:57:26

    Things I liked:I should have rated the R1 a long time ago, since I wrote the book on it! A lot of new air rifles have come since the R1 was new back in the 1980s, but it is still a rifle to consider when you want the best! The size is quite large, and it fits me better than a lot of the newer rifles. The stock is very wide and hand-filling, yet the pistol grip feels just right. The wood is finished with a dull matte finish that can be hand-rubbed to a brilliant shine over time. The bluing is deep and even. The scope-mounting platform is a classic among spring rifles. The power is good, but the rifle is easy to tune and I wrote a 13-part blog report on how to tune it. The Rekord trigger is a marvel of precision and easy to adjust to perfection.
    Things I would have changed:I would change nothing about the R1. The fact that it is so easy to tune makes it one of the most adaptable air rifles on the market. It can go from 13 foot-pounds to 22 foot-pounds in just a few hours of careful work.
    What others should know:This is a large air rifle that is harder to cock than most adults will prefer. The effort is over 40 pounds when new and about 36-38 pounds after 1,000 shots. It can be tuned down to cock with less force, but will also shoot with less energy. Due to the size and power potential of the rifle, I recommend getting it in .22 caliber.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Domingo from USA on 2013-05-31 21:37:02

    Things I liked:The way it is put together - it oozes quality from every angle - and the way it performs.
    Things I would have changed:The stock - I wish they went back to the more expensive but more appropriate Monte Carlo stock design.
    What others should know:This gun is an example of workmanship and quality. It is superbly accurate, enough that you can use it in target competition. In 22 it delivers more power than the HW90, but with much greater accuracy, less noise, and more reliability. The trigger is superb. The barrel lock is extremely solid. The cocking effort is very reasonable. If only the stock comb were higher.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Leon from USA on 2014-08-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle is extremely accurate. With a .177 caliber, and blue ribbon SS1 2.5x7 scope, I was able to shoot approximately 200 feet accurately. I was shooting quarter size steel targets. I had no idea this rifle was that accurate. Incredible.
      Things I would have changed:The rifle is a bit heavy but what do you expect with a wooden stock. Not good for some kids... I hunted with a Diana RWS as an adolescent so these are still useable for older children.
      What others should know:Yeah. Buy this firearm(AIRGUN) and you wont need another.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2013-12-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This well made precision German rifle is very accurate and sufficiently powerful. Not at all too difficult to cock, and hold while shooting.
      Things I would have changed:The only issue I experienced was the metal trigger guard loosened up relatively soon after finishing firing only 200 rounds of pellets. I had to use some Loc-Tite to keep the trigger guard firmly secure.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Domingo from USA on 2013-05-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The way it is put together - it oozes quality from every angle - and the way it performs.
      Things I would have changed:The stock - I wish they went back to the more expensive but more appropriate Monte Carlo stock design.
      What others should know:This gun is an example of workmanship and quality. It is superbly accurate, enough that you can use it in target competition. In 22 it delivers more power than the HW90, but with much greater accuracy, less noise, and more reliability. The trigger is superb. The barrel lock is extremely solid. The cocking effort is very reasonable. If only the stock comb were higher.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark 611 from USA on 2009-11-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I got my R1 in .22cal today its beautiful right out of the box tipical HW/beeman quality, this one seems well lubed already no spring noise, it is not at all hold sensitive, very mild recoil. I had it zeroed at 12yds in 6 shots and rezeroed at 30yds in less than 20 with a leepers 3x9x40ao mildot scope and an RWS lock down mount.It is already shooting a ragged hole with cphp's at 30yds and I've only fired 30rnds thru the rifle so the best is yet to come with this one. Mark 611
      Things I would have changed:this is a very solid rifle but alittle heavy my HW95 has spoiled me on that.
      What others should know:This is a great air rifle alittle expensive but well worth it for the quality you get, this is a gun for a life time smooth cocking very accurate and well made. These HW/Beeman airguns are the top of the mountian in my book I have several of them and ya can't beat 'em
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By roy from USA on 2009-05-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought my R1 in 1987. I was managing a facility that had hundreds of nesting pigeons. The pigeon removal contractors wanted ~$500 and the R1 was ~$300, so I got the R1 and cleared out the roosting birds. Since then it has kept the rabbits from over-running the garden, reduced the squirrel population and once, in a shot I will always remember, killed a woodchuck with a single headshot at almost 75 yards. (an anomaly, most woodchucks seemed to shrug off the pellet) In all that time accuracy has been great. I keep waiting for seals to dry up or something, but it just keeps ticking. One of my favorite 'firearms' of any type.
      What others should know:as others have said, this is a grown-up adult airgun, with significant cocking force, and it's heavy, even more so with scope. But when you shoot from a rest the weight becomes a positive. I just sighted in a new scope last weekend and zeroed it at 25 yards. At 50 yards it drops about 3"
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

         By Tom from USA on 2009-02-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.4285697937011727 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I should have rated the R1 a long time ago, since I wrote the book on it! A lot of new air rifles have come since the R1 was new back in the 1980s, but it is still a rifle to consider when you want the best! The size is quite large, and it fits me better than a lot of the newer rifles. The stock is very wide and hand-filling, yet the pistol grip feels just right. The wood is finished with a dull matte finish that can be hand-rubbed to a brilliant shine over time. The bluing is deep and even. The scope-mounting platform is a classic among spring rifles. The power is good, but the rifle is easy to tune and I wrote a 13-part blog report on how to tune it. The Rekord trigger is a marvel of precision and easy to adjust to perfection.
      Things I would have changed:I would change nothing about the R1. The fact that it is so easy to tune makes it one of the most adaptable air rifles on the market. It can go from 13 foot-pounds to 22 foot-pounds in just a few hours of careful work.
      What others should know:This is a large air rifle that is harder to cock than most adults will prefer. The effort is over 40 pounds when new and about 36-38 pounds after 1,000 shots. It can be tuned down to cock with less force, but will also shoot with less energy. Due to the size and power potential of the rifle, I recommend getting it in .22 caliber.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joel from USA on 2009-02-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Powerful, accurate, beautiful. Great trigger. Very smooth firing action. Classic.
      Things I would have changed:If anything at all, just to make it a little lighter :) This is one heavy monster!
      What others should know:I waited for 25 years before I finally got one of these, kept running away from the price. I wish I had just saved my money from a few other guns that I bought instead and bought this earlier! I will NEVER sell this gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2008-09-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I have had mine (.177) for 23 years now and it still looks brand new. The firing action smoothed out after firing a few tins. It is also easy to cock once you get used to the motion. Very accurate with the Ram Jet pellets. The stock also has a nice color and form. Bluing and metal work is beautiful. The trigger is nice and smooth (I prefer two-stage triggers.) Definitely a gun that will outlast you when taken care of.
      Things I would have changed:Rear trigger guard screw loosens occasionally; no other problems.
      What others should know:This gun is not cheap but you get the quality you pay for. When properly taken care of this gun will last YEARS and thousands of rounds. Not necessarily the best first-time gun or for smaller people (young teenagers.)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ken from USA on 2008-09-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Where to begin.....My father took me to a gun store when I was young and bought me a beeman r7. It was the most amazing airgun I have ever owned. About 8 years ago I made a huge mistake and sold it at a yard sale. Little did I know that I would ever get back into air guns. I started my quest about a month ago and finally settled on a R1 .22. This thing is awsome. Im not the best at range estimating, but I would say that the coke can targets that were back in the woods had to be at least 75 yards out. The outstanding accuracy with the R1 is amazing. You really get what you pay for with this gun. I have only had it for one week and have shot about 1000 rounds through it. I have found that the crossman premier hollow points work very well and the beeman crow magnums really spread out to a much larger caliper on impact. You will have to make scope adjustments to remain accurate with a heavier pellet though.
      Things I would have changed:Not a single thing.......
      What others should know:If you are looking for a good small game hunting rifle, this is the one for you. I dont know about the perfermance of the .177 or the .20, but the .22 really hits hard. I have taken 4 squirrels with this gun at about 50 yards and they did not know what hit them. These were all tree shots, they were pretty high up making a mess of my roof. You will not be dissapointed!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jay from USA on 2008-08-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Best Air Rifle ever I think. Quality construction great trigger and super accurate. I routinely take squirells at 60-70- yards with mine in .22. Beautiful finish.
      Things I would have changed:ummmmm...could be lighter but you expect a big rifle after all it is an R1
      What others should know:once mine settles on a pellet weight I keep it there. otherwise accuracy is compromised for a few rounds. I use beeman kodiacs and it shoots them just fine, awesome groups and great knockdown power.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dr from USA on 2008-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent gun. Great take-down power w/in 20 y range. Accurate w open sights. With a scope I think it would be a serious hunting gun. Caliber 20 is more than enough to eliminate rodents & other organisms of similar weight & size. German mechanical craftmanship is as outstanding as always.
      Things I would have changed:Loudness
      What others should know:Rodent was hit at approximately 20 yards distance in its dorsal pelvic girdle region & the exit wound was in upper abdomen twice the diameter of entrance wound. It dropped in "situ". Beeman Crow-magnun was the pellet. I rank this rifle 2nd to the HW97K & AA Prosport.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2008-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a beautifully made German airgun. The stock although made of hardwood looks like walnut to me, nicely checkered grip and forearm. The gun is relatively heavy but not as much as my RWS 52 sidelever. I'm still breaking it in so the rifle is learning which pellets it likes. Mine is .20 cal which is a nice compromise as it shoots flat but has more punch than .177. The cocking effort is much much smoother than the Turkish built Winchester 1000X but you would expect that for the extra $$$.
      Things I would have changed:I'd like to have the option to get a walnut stock although the hardwood stock on mine almost eliminates this concern.
      What others should know:This is probably the best all-around hunting air rifle on the market. Simple single lever cocking, powerful, no CO2 or air pumps to worry about. This rifle if properly cared for will last forever.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By chrismel3816 from USA on 2008-05-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Beeman guns made by HW will spoil you. My R-1 was crafted well over 20 years ago and served faithfully longer that any other airgun I have owned. You cannot help but be imprested any time you take an "R" out of the box. No plastic will be found, and the feel is impressive.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing on mine.
      What others should know:The power level of this gun requires the size to be robust. This is an airgun for long range shooting and \ or hunting. It is most useful in .22 caliber if you decide to hunt with it. It will be capable of the advertised velocity. After market products for it abound, if you are so inclined. I recently sight in and tested another brand of airgun for my nephew and with an average lead pellet in .177 it shot at 770fps, not the 1000 advertised at. So keep this in mind as you comparison shop.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jaymo from USA on 2008-04-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything about this air rifle. I bought mine lightly used for a ridiculously low price. If you've ever held and shot one of these, you know why this is the standard by which ALL other springers are judged. German made air guns WILL spoil you. Once you shoot one, you won't want anything but. This is a powerful and accurate rifle. The Rekord trigger is the best there is. This is the one air rifle that I will absolutely NOT part with. This one stays with me until I die. My next 2 purchases are going to be an R9 Goldfinger and an R7 Double gold. You can not go wrong with the Beeman R- series. These are air rifles that instill great pride of ownership.
      Things I would have changed:Absolutely nothing!!!!!!!!! The Beeman R-series are break-barrel perfection. I can't believe I lived 37 years without one.
      What others should know:I use mine for plinking and target shooting. 20 yard shooting gets boring after a while because this rifle is SO accurate. It shoots so well that it's hard to believe it's as powerful as it is. Seems that Beeman/Weihrauch airguns are the only springers out there that actually achieve their rated velocities. Mine exceeds the posted velocity. If you want a powerful springer that you will be thrilled with, look no further. This is the one you want. BTW, I also use mine for squirrel hunting, even though it's a .177 caliber, and it drops squirrels better and faster with Crosman Premier Hollowpoints and Beeman Crow Magnums than a .22 lr solid. I own 18 air rifles, and this is my go to springer.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ogilvytom from USA on 2007-08-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The first thing that struck me was how beautiful the R1 is. The wood is nicely shaped and stained. The lines and proportions are classic. It hits hard (mine is .20 caliber) with pleasing accuracy. I've dropped many a rat with it and it only seems to be getting smoother. The trigger is crisp and adjustable and the cocking effort is well within reason for the power. I installed the Beeman professional scope stop on mine and the scope hasn't budged yet. I also have the sling swivels installed and the slung rifle is much easier to carry, and just a really handsome gun. It'll be getting a work out on squirrel this Fall.
      Things I would have changed:I wish you could manually set and reset the safety. Once that safety goes off, you've got to shoot. On live targets, that isn't always as easy as it sounds.
      What others should know:This is a heavy rifle -- that's not a bad thing, just be aware. It's not unwieldy or uncomfortable, but I think you'll feel it if you carry one around in the field all day (go for the sling!). But that heft helps dampen the recoil which is pronounced. In order to get the best accuracy out of this gun, you've got to work on nailing your hold and shooting technique. The hours you put in practicing with it will really pay you back. If you are looking for magnum performance, and have the budget, you will be pleased with your R1. This is a gun to enjoy, take into the woods, cherish and pass down.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top