Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Beeman R7 Air Rifle, No Sights reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Batman from USA on 2007-10-18 21:37:44

    Things I liked:Great quality. Very accurate and easy to cock.
    Things I would have changed:Nada..
    What others should know:Great quality when compared to other rifles in its class. But nothing is classier than the R7. You will be impressed.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By william from USA on 2014-10-15 14:34:49

    Things I liked:This is not an accurate rifle. I bought it for indoor Shiloette shooting. It will not be useful for this. I contacted pyramid air and received no reply.
    Things I would have changed:Accuracy.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Giovanni from USA on 2014-10-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:ACCURACY ACCURACY ACCURACY , FIT&FINISH EXCELLENT TRIGGER
      Things I would have changed:LESS MONEY
      What others should know:GERMAN QUALITY
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By william from USA on 2014-10-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is not an accurate rifle. I bought it for indoor Shiloette shooting. It will not be useful for this. I contacted pyramid air and received no reply.
      Things I would have changed:Accuracy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By G.Austin from USA on 2014-08-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fit and finish are excellent. Trigger is 1st class. Easy to cock. Very accurate. Not hold sensitive and can shoot from a rest. Why did I not get this gun before!
      Things I would have changed:Not a darn thing!
      What others should know:I shot 150 rounds for break-in without the scope mounted to give the gun time to settle down. I used a "Leapers Accushot 1-Pc Mount (medium)" to mount a 32mm objective scope. I added a "BlackHawk Hawktex Tactical Ambidextrous Rifle Cheek Rest Fixed Stock Rifle Nylon Black" to raise my line of sight... guns shoot more accurately with a "cheek" weld instead of a "chin" weld :-) Now for pellets... I purchased the "H&N Field Target Sampler Pack, .177 Cal" and shot the Field Target Trophy pellets until I found the head size it liked. Mine preferred the 4.51mm head. Chronograph -> 555fps for Field Target Trophy 8.64gr producing 5.9 ft/lbs, 8 joules, of kinetic energy. First zero at about 12 yards I can shoot one hole groups at 25 yards with only 1/2" to 3/4" of drop.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Randall from USA on 2013-06-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:In the world of springer rifles, the R-7 is certainly among the finest made. They're manufactured by Weihrauch of Germany, and boasts Weihrauch's typical high quality. The handling and accuracy are superb, what some would call legendary. You can't go wrong with this carbine sized shooter with its fully adjustable Rekord trigger, especially if you're looking for repeatable accuracy, shot after shot.
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kenneth from USA on 2013-06-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like quality and I have found it here. Great little rifle. Accurate, smooth to shoot, easy to cock, just a pleasure to shoot. The Record trigger is outstanding.
      Things I would have changed:One thing I would like to see is a resettable safety, but I am nit picking.
      What others should know:This gun is not pellet picky, I have at least 6 different pellets that shoot very accurately and a couple that shoot extremely so. It is quiet and back yard friendly. It may not be high power, but I guarantee that you will shoot this rifle more than any of the magnums. Just buy it and enjoy!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dana from USA on 2013-03-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Wood finish, machining quality, size, ease of use and quiet sound level. Packaging. Accuracy. Included scope mounts. Likes a light handed artillery hold but is forgiving if you grip it firmly like a regular rifle. More accurate with different types of pellets than others would make you believe. Perfect step up for those that loved their Red Ryder Daisy or Crossman pumpers.
      Things I would have changed:Instructions could be better. Ability to turn safety off and then back on would be nice rather than just off. If moving up to a scope versus iron sights you will have some reading to do on how to properly set up.
      What others should know:Remember all the fun you got out of the Crosman 760 Pumpmaster? Well I wanted a similar sized and medium power plinker and sparrow taker outer but in a professional finish with incredible accuracy. I also wanted a quiet gun in a pick up and go form factor. You get that with the Beeman R7. Lastly, I don't understand why this gun is the highest rated gun with the most users. A well made gun that is the perfect size and form factor for everyday .177 backyard shooting.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By john from USA on 2012-11-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Boy this may be the best plinker ever. I have always loved my RWS 34 for its accuracy and quality feel but boy is it heavy and large to carry around. I really have not shot it that much over the years. The R7 is just a lot of fun to handle and shoot. I put a Leapers 4 power Bug Buster scope on it and that increased the fun factor also. That scope will focus down to 3 yards so you can use it indoors as well as out. This R7 is a shooter !! Very accurate ! I love it.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:You can buy a sling swivel set that mounts to a .177 barrel and to the butt of the rifle. A sling is nice for extra stability for some shots and for carrying of course.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ron from USA on 2012-10-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun is light,and well ballanced. Shoots smooth as silk,right out of the box! Fit and finnish is excellent,and the accuracy is amazing!Record trigger is adjustable,and excellent. The scope rings are included with this gun,though not listed in the specs.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing!
      What others should know:You hear alot about getting this rifle tuned! I'd sugest you shoot it a long time stock,before getting it tuned! I can't think of how it could shoot any smoother. This is ONE "springer" that I can shoot off a rest without POI changes,due to recoil. You can actually leave the scope crosshairs on the bullseye,and see the pellet hit after the shot!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By William R from USA on 2012-09-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well, It's built by Weihrauch to begin with. The quality of material, workmanship and finish are outstanding. Just a beautiful little German carbine. The power-plant is like tuned from the factory and is perfectly matched to the size of the rifle. Of course there's the Rekord trigger which is top shelf. It breaks very cleanly, crisply and predictably. This R-7 is capable of extreme accuracy if you do your part. I have shot 5 shot groups at 10 meters off a shooting bag measuring 3/16 of an inch ctc. You will have to use good hold technique to get the absolute best accuracy but it's not difficult at all. I would say pleasingly challenging. I love the light weight and ease of cocking for hours of serious target practice.
      Things I would have changed:Not one thing !
      What others should know:Other than my TX 200, This is the most accurate spring piston rifle I have ever shot. The R-7 is very quite for backyard shooting and has NO vibration at all. additionally, recoil is almost non existent. If you want a beautifully built German air rifle with extreme accuracy potential, This is the one !
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jerry from USA on 2012-09-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Superb! Excellent build quality. Great size. Very accurate. Mild shooting.
      Things I would have changed:Reduce price of .20 cal to bring it inline with .177 and .22.
      What others should know:I have a .177 HW30S and this .20 R7. Both are great but if you're going to mount a scope the R7 with checkered stock and muzzle brake is the way to go. What a pleasure to shoot!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Antonio from USA on 2012-07-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy (.57 inch groups at 25 yards ctc, see 5 shot group notes below) SizeWeight (small-light) Cocking effort (light) Noise level (quiet) Stock design & checkering Trigger (allows amazing trigger control)
      Things I would have changed:add open sites
      What others should know:I have been shooting air guns for approximately one year on a casual basis, not a great marksman but improving. I purchased a Bushnell Banner 4-12X40 from another internet merchandiser. Being left handed I preferred the ambi R7 vs the right handed HW30S with open sights. (really liked the idea of open sights tho). ....... I highly recommend this gun for casual target and plinking. Very smooth, easy to cock and accurate. I enjoy shooting this gun all day. ........ Not pellet particular. See 5 hot grouping notes below. Groups shot sitting, resting rifle on front hand. This rifle is definitely more accurate than I am. ........ 15 yards, 5 shot groups.. Beeman hollowpoint 7.2 gr .323 inches ctc.. RWS Superdomes 8.3 gr .323 inches ctc.. CP hollowpoint 7.9 gr .573 inches ctc.. Air Arms Diabolo Field 8.4 gr .198 inches ctc.. Air Arms Falcon 7.33 gr .448 inches ctc.. ........ 20 yards, 5 shot groups.. Beeman hollowpoint 7.2 gr .698 inches ctc.. RWS Superdomes 8.3 gr .698 inches ctc.. CP hollowpoint 7.9 gr .823 inches ctc.. Air Arms Diabolo Field 8.4 gr .448 inches ctc.. Air Arms Falcon 7.33 gr .511 inches ctc.. ...... 25 yards, 5 shot groups.. Beeman hollowpoint 7.2 gr .761 inches ctc.. RWS Superdomes 8.3 gr .948 inches ctc.. CP hollowpoint 7.9 gr .823 inches ctc.. Air Arms Diabolo Field 8.4 gr .636 inches ctc.. Air Arms Falcon 7.33 gr .573 inches ctc..
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2012-07-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The smooth cocking cycle, the blueing of the metal, the stock runs out of room but shoots nicely anyway. Mine is a .20 caliber version w/Hammers 3-9X32AO scope, and a one piece mount for longevity. For simplicity all screws on the scope are the same allen tool. I love the extra attention they give the action and trigger mounting screws, very solid.
      Things I would have changed:the trigger refinement vision.
      What others should know:My trigger developed slop and eventually was almost completely loose! the adjusting screw had come loose inside the gun. i was able to find and replace it too proper adjustment thank goodness after reading about the design and its bent tab method of binding the screws adjustment. not to mention the star tool nessesary for it.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By GLEN from USA on 2012-05-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:GREAT LITTLE GUN. WELL WORTH THE MONEY.EVERYTHING WAS JUST AS I EXPECTED EXCEPT THE TRIGGER. IT CAME SET AT FOUR POUNDS AND HAS A LOT OF CREEP IN IT. I HAVE HEARD NOTHING BUT GOOD ABOUT THE TRIGGERS ON ALL THESE GUNS. I GUESS I GOT ONE OF THE VERY FEW BAD ONES.I ADJUSTED THE WEIGHT OF PULL DOWN TO TWO POUNDS. I COULDN'T GO ANYMORE WITHOUT THE SCREW FALLING OUT. SO I STOPPED THERE.I CAN LIVE WITH THIS BUT I CAN'T LIVE WITH ALL THE CREEP.SO NOW I HAVE TO FIGURE OUT WHAT TO DO ABOUT THAT.I WOULD HAVE GIVEN IT FIVE STARS IF IT WAS NOT FOR THE BAD TRIGGER.
      Things I would have changed:NOTHING EXCEPT JUST A BETTER TRIGGER
      What others should know:BUY A LOT OF PELLETS . YOUR GOING TO NEED THEM. THIS GUN IS MORE FUN THAN A BARELL OF MONKEYS.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Tellico Tom from USA on 2011-06-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Bought mine many yrs ago from AirGun Express (before they were acquired by Pyramid) based on so many favorable reviews. I'm 6'5" & thought it might be too small, but it was quite handy & a joy to shoot. I soon realized it was more accurate than I with open sights, so I removed them, installed a muzzle weight & an inexpensive scope. I shoot all kinds of airguns every week (range up to 60 yds), and the R7 quickly became my "go to" gun. 5/8" groups at 40 yds w/ Beeman Silver Bears (not much point in going beyond that as it runs out of steam pretty quick). It quickly became one of my favorites, and I put several thousand rounds through it. I never touched the factory set trigger. I chronographed over a dozen different pellets with it using 10-shot groups. Many gave deviations under 5 fps. Remarkably consistent. It just loves target pellets, both pistol & rifle. From the beginning, the R7 was smooth, & it just kept getting better. Like any spring gun breaking in, there was a small shift in impact points at first, then it settled in. After that, once I got it sighted in, I never changed the scope settings unless I changed pellets. It's excellent accuracy made it easy to "dope" hold-over/under for various distances, & its consistent velocities made it easier to judge windage in a variety of conditions. With head shots, it's deadly on small game & pests at reasonable ranges. I loved the gun so much that when I heard of Paul Watts, it was the first gun I sent to him.
      Things I would have changed:I couldn't imagine anything that would make the little R7 a better gun, but I heard so many good things about Paul Watts (www.springgunning.com), that I just had to see what he recommended. If there's a better spring airgunsmith out there, I haven't been able to find him/her. If you love spring guns, & you haven't been to his website, you are among the under-privileged. I told Paul I had many airguns, & I was a shooter, not a collector. I asked him to do what he thought best to make the R7 a handy gun that I could shoot every day. He put his tune on it, including the trigger. He installed a new spring & seal with his special lubrication process. He put a shroud on the barrel. And he found a special piece of American walnut which he used to carve out a "classic" stock with impeccable hand cut checkering finished in a satin polyurethane for protection.. I asked him to sign it, which he did on the bottom of the pistol grip. A friend of his stopped by his shop & told him if I ever wanted to sell the little R7, to please let him know. While Paul was working his magic, I ordered a Leupold 3 X 9 Adjestable Objective scope that looked like it would be just right for the little beauty. Needless to say, it now shoots one-hole groups, and with that bright & sharp little scope mounted on it, I can pick the wings off a fly at 20 paces. I've lost track of the many thousands of pellets I've run through it over the years. with no maintenance required I shoot it almost every day
      What others should know:The R7 is truly a gun for everyone. It's small enough, handy enough and easy enough to cock for anyone old enough to be responsible with such a precision instrument, and it's fun enough for all ages beyond. Unlike many more powerful spring guns, the R7 is not very "hold sensitive", but it's always a good idea to hold any gun consistently the same way. It's as reliable as an anvil, yet as precise as a Swiss watch. Words can't describe the quality "feel" of this little masterpiece - it just has to be felt. I've trained men, women, boys and girls to shoot with this lovely little gun, and even though I have dozens of guns, it's the one they always reach for when it's time to do some fun shooting. It is certainly not the cheapest spring gun out there, but it is certainly one of the best in its category. It is a terrific example of the finest production quality in real wood & real steel spring air guns. It has the precision & accuracy for a lifetime of teaching the fine art of marksmanship. Mine continues to shoot better than I can. Most folks who own one say it would be the last air gun they would sell. One thing's for sure - you almost never see a used one for sale. If you can afford it, it's worth it. If you can't afford it, it's worth saving up for it.. You definitely get what you pay for with the R7. It's an heirloom quality treasure that will outlast you, no matter how young you are. Your heirs will thank you for buying it long after you're gone.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Art from USA on 2011-06-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Small, light, well proportioned. Good balance, even with a scope installed. Very good looking. Smooth and quiet shooting. Very accurate. Rekord trigger is smooth and light.
      Things I would have changed:It has a bit of droop, and the method used to lock the trigger adjustment screw in place can result in damage to the adjustment screw if you try to force it. The tab that retains the screw needs to be unbent before it can be adjusted.
      What others should know:The one piece six screw compensating mount sold by PA put the pre-centered Bushnell that I used to within just a couple inches of zero at 25 yds. Very little adjustment required. M.V. ran in the mid 600's with 7.3 gr pellets and low 600's with mid 8 gr pellets. E.S. and S.D were very tight with AA Falcon, JSB RS, and the AA 4.52mm pellets. M.E. was best by a small margin with the 7.3 gr pellets. If you want a small, light, nice lower powered shooter for plinking and smaller pest control and you don't mind spending the money, you should love this rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Eric from USA on 2011-02-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A very forgiving shooter. Likes everything I put through it, but seems to love JSB Exacts and H&N Field Target Trophys the best (3/8" groups at 15 yards with the latter after having been shot less than 200 times; I expect those will shrink further once the spring is broken in). That Rekord trigger is a dream. Excellent finish -- beautiful bluing and wood without a trace of plastic. (Who would expect less from those persnickety Germans?)
      Things I would have changed:A bit more power would be nice, but I can't gripe one iota (the reduced power is exactly why it's a forgiving shooter). A slightly longer barrel and/or forearm would also move the center of gravity slightly forward, balancing the weapon better. Again, I realize I'm nitpicking, but you asked.
      What others should know:Buy now before the cheap potmetal-and-plastic toys that masquerade as adult airguns overwhelm the market.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Charles from USA on 2010-01-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Superb accuracy, easy cocking, terrific trigger, quiet, easy to mount a peep sight or scope,
      What others should know:I've had this gun for nearly 10 years. Other than a small nick in the stock that I caused, she's still as pretty as when I first got her. She holds up well. I've used the original iron sights, a Williams peep sight and a Tactedge scope. All work well but this gun deserves a scope. All in all my favorite of all my airguns.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jonpaul from USA on 2009-06-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the return to the older style stock that covers the cocking linkage and barrel breech block. I think it just looks nicer that way. The R7 is fun, light, easy to cock, quiet, and very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing much at all. My R7 has been tuned. That's like adding a cherry to the top of an already delicious sundae. It eliminates the very slight twang from the action. It's pretty much the best lower powered sporter spring rifle out there.
      What others should know:It's expensive when compared to other sporter styled spring piston guns, but it's worth the money. It's no powerhouse, but it's a super-accurate plinker and informal target gun. It's enough rifle for small pest control, but I'd seriously think about stepping up to the R9 if you are interested in a hunting gun rather than a plinking gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By aj_tamez from USA on 2009-06-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Wood stock, bluing, accuracy, low weight. Solid build. Excellent Rekord trigger.
      Things I would have changed:I don't like the automatic safety used on this gun - feels cheap. It has a blued face on one end, and cheap, peeling red paint on the other. I am sure it is a quality piece but feels flimsy.
      What others should know:Don't think this is a beginner's airgun based on low power and small size. It has been used by professionals for its great accuracy and low weight. A must have for the air rifle collector.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Scott from USA on 2008-10-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It is very quiet and does not seem to draw attention of my neighbors, so I can practice in my backyard. Good weight, and a very nice appearance. I chose this rifle based on a website's report that it was the quietest rifle of those they tested. Of course, that means low power, and to be quiet, one must use ammo that does not emerge supersonic.
      Things I would have changed:I had an inexpensive Centerpoint scope mounted on it and this works well, but after a few hundred shots the front sight (which comes with the rifle and was left on, does not interfere with the scope) fell off when I was cocking the gun, indicating that this loosens rather easily, as I have not been banging around in the brush with this rifle.
      What others should know:I believe the HW30S has the same mechanism but a different stock, and costs less, but tends to be sold out even more than this one. The 'S' indicates that it has the reckord trigger, which everyone says is very desirable but I have not used the HW30 which lacks it. so hard for me to say. I can say the trigger action on the R7 seems flawless. I often find the first shot (after not shooting for more than an hour) tends to be off-target. Possibly this will decrease after break-in (of me and the rifle). I have been using Czech BSA Wolverine 8.44 gr domed and though I am not a particularly good marksman, I can keep these within one inch at 50 ft.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top