Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Beeman R9 Air Rifle, No Sights reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Bill C. from USA on 2009-08-13 23:13:27

    Things I liked:This is one of the best shooting air rifles that I've ever owned. It's accurate, powerful, and easy to cock and load. It has a nice feel and is easy to hold. It's ambidextrous and I really like the adjustable two stage trigger.
    Things I would have changed:I would use a standard front sight instead of the peep sight. I would like to see less of a recoil and perhaps a compensatore at the end of the barrell to expel some of the air thaT causes some shots to tumble. All of these aren't reasons to not buy the gun.
    What others should know:Weight wise this is a heavy gun so don't try to hold it for a long time before shooting. Also you might like using a scope instead of the regular sight. I do.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Pro* from USA on 2013-01-11 17:46:35

    Things I liked:Size, just right. Very lightweight. Re
    Things I would have changed:The stock finish was really bad, with horrendous over spray and totally washed out checkering. The example I received was not a 500 dollar gun. The stock on my 2008 Gamo Hunter Elite was significantly better.
    What others should know:German quality is not what it used to be. There have been several changes to the Weihrauchs lately, some new internals and the new star breech. My example came with these new 'features'.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Winfred from USA on 2014-11-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I pestered several people for a week on what rifle to buy. I have never fired a spring gun before. Light hold with shooting sticks the first three shots at 35 yards was a one hole clover leaf. Nuff said!!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing as far as I can tell.
      What others should know:When someone tells you this one is accurate, well it is. Accurate enough to use one shot at a time and sight it in. Then hit a nickel size group at 53 yards having fired it only a dozen times. Very accurate rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2014-05-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:smooth, easy to cock, accurate. I put a new Bug Buster scope on it and it is a great combo. My all time favorite air rifle.
      Things I would have changed:can't think of one thing. I love this Beeman R9
      What others should know:I have tried many-many air rifles over the last couple years, and to me this is the best. I just ordered a 22 cal to go along with my wonderful 177 cal.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ryan from USA on 2014-03-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Three locations for rear scope mount, adjustable trigger, and accurate and repeatable shots.
      Things I would have changed:Allow safety to be re-engaged after being taken off.
      What others should know:most accurate with Beeman Kodiak Heavy pellets 10.65 gr.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By pedro from Canada on 2013-11-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Build quality is excellent. Solid tight feel. Gun is not too big, good for smaller shooters. Accuracy is awesome. Trigger is exceptional also, nice and crisp. I got mine is .20 cal. and feel it is good overall pellet choice. Mine shots Beeman H&N Match wad cutters @ 820 fps.
      Things I would have changed:Nada
      What others should know:Check your stock screws, mine were loose after 30 shots. If you don't, accuracy will suffer. Also military hold is recommended for best accuracy. JSB Diabolo shot most accurate in my gun.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Empoweryou from USA on 2013-07-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The build quality is of course, excellent. I also like the fact that it's not a heavy rifle. The blueing is 5 stars! The record trigger is the best I've found.
      Things I would have changed:I found the beech stock to be unattractive. No real grain detail. My biggest disappointment was the firing cycle. My .20 cal version exhibited a very pronounced recoil and very noticeable spring twang!I began to get annoyed just shooting it, so I boxed it up and sent it to get tuned by Paul Watts. It was sent back to me as a completely different rifle! Very smooth shot cycle,absolutely no spring twang. The trigger even better! Night and day difference. It's now one of my favorite rifles.
      What others should know:I was expecting a better shot cycle from such an otherwise great gun. It seems to like the JSB exacts.(13.5gr.) The gun is hold sensitive so the artillery hold is necessary.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Eric from USA on 2013-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Repeatable accuracy. This thing is an absolute tack driver right out of the box. From the bench I can consistently shoot sub dime size groups at 25 yards all day long. The rifle is beautiful. Very solid mechanical feel. I love the muzzle brake. It helps with cocking and I believe it adds to the accuracy. I like that mine is not terribly hold sensitive. I can rest the forestock on a sand bag and shoot groups that just blow my mind and hold sensitive guns are not supposed to be shot that way. The trigger is simply AMAZING! Better than my Marauder by a long shot and that is saying something. I could go on and on but pretty much I like everything about this gun.
      Things I would have changed:Not wild about the automatic safety. Would prefer to be able to put the gun on and off safe as I feel the need, but that is about all I can find to complain about. The gun can be de-cocked and safety can be re-engaged though so I can live with it.
      What others should know:If you are pinching pennies I can understand you looking away from this gun. It is not cheap, but it will perform out of the box better than the clones and better than lesser guns even if you spend extra on tuning those other guns. If you want accuracy then save up and buy this gun. I would have saved money if I had bought this gun right from the start. Just some things to note, the first few cocking cycles were a tiny bit rough feeling, but that went away quickly. Many manufacturers will tell you that your break barrel won't be accurate until you have 1000 pellets through it. Actually Beeman says that as well but while it is true with others, this gun is dead accurate and I have less than a couple of hundred shots through it. It was accurate and grouped incredibly well as soon as I had the scope sighted in. Recoil is not terrible, but make sure you get a good scope that is rated for spring piston rifles. Bottom line is the thing other airgunners should know is that they should buy this gun!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By WAYNE from USA on 2013-01-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything about this gun is top notch! First things I noticed was the great fit and finish. Out of the box it looked gorgeous. The bluing is perfect and the stock is pretty nice too. A few things to note. Posted velocities are not really representative of what most people will get from this gun unless you are shooting the lightest possible pellet. Mine is a .22 caliber wearing a Bushnell 4-12x40AO scope and I am shooting a Maccari tune kit and Beeman FTS Gold pellets at 680fps with one hole ten shot groups at 25 yards. Before the tune kit the gun shot with superb accuracy and slightly lower velocity. This rifle is truly an air gun enthusiasts dream. It's everything you wish you had as a kid toting a beat up old Daisy or Crosman pump gun.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. If yuo want better velocity, go for the .20 caliber gun but .22 takes care of any pest or vermin.
      What others should know:The gun needs a few tins of pellets to break in. I ran a thousand or so cheap premier pellets through the gun before I spent a the money on finding a pellet that really shined.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By Pro* from USA on 2013-01-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Size, just right. Very lightweight. Re
      Things I would have changed:The stock finish was really bad, with horrendous over spray and totally washed out checkering. The example I received was not a 500 dollar gun. The stock on my 2008 Gamo Hunter Elite was significantly better.
      What others should know:German quality is not what it used to be. There have been several changes to the Weihrauchs lately, some new internals and the new star breech. My example came with these new 'features'.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By SteveW from USA on 2013-01-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good looking rifle, easy cocking, very smooth and precise operation. Light weight for its power, great for hunting and offhand shooting. Mine is .20 cal. and very accurate using the 14.3 gr Benjamin Diablo pellets I had on hand. Quality, handling and accuracy were primary factors in choosing this gun and I am very pleased on all three counts.
      Things I would have changed:All said, nothing. It would be nice if the safety did not set automatically, and could be simply set and reset, but that's not a big deal - just adjusting my habits. The trigger is excellent and certainly enables accurate shooting, but it is quite different from the single stage triggers I'm accustomed to on centerfire rifles. I prefer the crisp break without take-up on the firearms, but the take-up on the Beeman probably makes me a better shot because it reminds me to hold it like an air rifle.
      What others should know:I mounted a Leupold 3x9x33 EFR scope with Beeman 2-piece medium height mounts, which looks and works great on this gun. The R9 shoots well enough that you're unlikely to realize its capabilities with low quality optics. After shooting about 50 pellets to sight in and then determine trajectory at various ranges, I set up targets to check accuracy. Using a rest, at 25 yards the rifle puts 5 Benjamin pellets into as many 1/2" groups as I care to shoot. From a field sitting position I'm getting 10 shot groups under 1" at 35 yards. I've since cleanly dispatched a half dozen rabbits at ranges from 39 to 53 yards. These pellets are a bit of a loose fit in the breech, so I suspect they may not be the most accurate for this rifle. I just acquired a selection of pellets and will begin testing when the weather warms some. If accuracy improves with break-in or a different pellet or me getting more comfortable with the gun, that will be great. But as it is, I'm completely satisfied with the Beeman.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By GLEN from USA on 2012-09-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:EVERYTHING EXCEPT THAT IT VIBRATES MORE THAN I LIKE.OTHER THAN THAT IT IS A FANTASTIC RIFLE.I WOULD HAVE GIVEN IT FIVE STARS IF IT HAD NOT BEEN FOR THAT. YOU WANT BE DISAPOINTED IF YOU BY THE R9.
      Things I would have changed:I WOULD HAVE TRIED TO GET MORE OF THE VIBRATION OUT OF IT.
      What others should know:I THINK IT'S ALL BEEN SAID EXCEPT THAT PYRAMYD AIR IS THE BEST COMPANY I'VE EVER DELT WITH. IF THE GUN IS NOT RIGHT THEY WILL TAKE CARE OF IT. I AM SPEEKING FROM EXPERIENCE.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Eric from USA on 2012-07-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fit and finish are flawless. Considering the power, it is very easy to cock. Shoots as consistent as my Daystate PCP.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:BUY A QUALITY SCOPE! I cannot say that loud enough. If you can't afford it now, wait! I will NEVER buy another scope that is not mil-dot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2012-05-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Can't say enough about the R9. Shoots dime size groups at 25 yards. Great looking rifle. Very easy to cock. Very smooth operating parts. Trigger is the best I've seen. This is a quality rifle all around. Can't be more pleased with this purchase.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing needs changing in this rifle.
      What others should know:The Beeman R9 is my first air rifle. A group of guys that got me into air rifles suggested the R9 for its reputation and quality. They said that the trigger is the best around and I must agree. The trigger is very crisp. This rifle just feels good when you pick it up. The wood is just beautiful and looks great with the Hawke Eclipse scope. Can't go wrong with this setup. I use JSB Exact pellets.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By TerryDunham C/O from USA on 2012-02-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:build quality, weight, accuracy. I own a TX200 and now the R9. These two guns do nothing but compliment each other. The R9 just wants to be shot all day.I now have a hard time deciding which one to pick up. So I take them both everywhere. I am using a Bushnell Trophy XLT 4/12/40.And H&N 14.6 field target pellets are getting my best groups.
      Things I would have changed:nothing! just an awesome gun.
      What others should know:This is an all around fantastic gun that is a bargain for what it does. It will make you smile every time you pick it up to shoot.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By miked1969 from USA on 2011-12-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:i like this airgun a lot it has a nice trigger and has a lot of accuracy i am useing h@n 8.18gr match rifle pellets and i am happy at the accuracy i am geting
      Things I would have changed:not a thing
      What others should know:get one now
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ronald from USA on 2011-07-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Finally got my hands on a real pellet rifle after trying some of the "other" brands. Exudes quality throughout and shoots like it should...a pleasure to use and so much fun!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Don't know why they make a safety that can't be switched on after switching it off...but that's the least of it..
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By ronald from USA on 2011-06-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Ordered the R9 with a Leapers 3-9 mil dot scope and UTG one piece mount. Had it all together about an hour after opening the box then began sighting in the scope. I had to start at 10 yards as the point of impact was rather low...after a few adjustments I was on paper and moved my target out to 25 yards. One 3 shot group was within one inch! Dialed in the scope a bit more and when using a rest, am able to shoot a group that is covered by a dime! What a shooter! I am more than pleased with this rifle and the varmints are shaking in fear of it! I would recommend this rifle all day long....fit, finish and metal are a thing of beauty! I got a particularly, wonderful stock with a lovely grain pattern...
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing!
      What others should know:Can't think of anything...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Beaverman from USA on 2011-05-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The Beeman R9 is a Very Nice all round Adult air Rifle. I got Mine in .177 cal.It shoots many brands of heavy pellets well But Mine prefers JSB Exact lights at 8.4 grains the best. One ragged hole at ten meters all day long. The trigger is good, And the fit and finish was also very nice. One of the biggest pluses for Me was the light weight of this Rifle.It is excellent for offhand shooting. I put an Air Force 4X16 scope on Mine also because of its light weight. If You also decide to do that You will need to get a set of High rings. But it sure makes a great combination.
      Things I would have changed:I would like to say a little easyier to cock At 40 lbs. of effort its a bit much for My ageing body. But I also like its Power 860 FPS with 8.4 grain Jsb exacts, And You can't have Your cake and eat it too.
      What others should know:If Your ready for an Adult Rifle this Beeman R9 is a excellent all round Airgun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By anthony from USA on 2011-04-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:nicely made, both metal and wood nicely machined. accurate! tight one hole groups at 10 m. sub 2 inch groups at 50 yards.
      Things I would have changed:wood i got was not as nice as in the photo. record trigger is ok. not as crisp or as light as i expected. checkering looks pressed in, wished they woudn't have .
      What others should know:this gun loves jsb diablo match.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joseph from USA on 2011-02-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:workmanship is excellent most accurate of any .20 cal. in its class Lite weight and very easy to handle.
      Things I would have changed:I would like to see a good set of fiber optic after market sights as available option
      What others should know:If you want a scope make sure to check eye level down barrel for proper hight of rings
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kingston from USA on 2011-01-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:just a great gun i have a .20 and a .22 also these are great allround cuns
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:a great place to start in airgunning
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top