Beeman R9 Air Rifle, No Sights reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Bill C. from USA on 2009-08-13 23:13:27

Things I liked: This is one of the best shooting air rifles that I've ever owned. It's accurate, powerful, and easy to cock and load. It has a nice feel and is easy to hold. It's ambidextrous and I really like the adjustable two stage trigger.

Things I would have changed: I would use a standard front sight instead of the peep sight. I would like to see less of a recoil and perhaps a compensatore at the end of the barrell to expel some of the air thaT causes some shots to tumble. All of these aren't reasons to not buy the gun.

What others should know: Weight wise this is a heavy gun so don't try to hold it for a long time before shooting. Also you might like using a scope instead of the regular sight. I do.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:1.0

By Pro* from USA on 2013-01-11 17:46:35

Things I liked: Size, just right. Very lightweight. Re

Things I would have changed: The stock finish was really bad, with horrendous over spray and totally washed out checkering. The example I received was not a 500 dollar gun. The stock on my 2008 Gamo Hunter Elite was significantly better.

What others should know: German quality is not what it used to be. There have been several changes to the Weihrauchs lately, some new internals and the new star breech. My example came with these new 'features'.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2015-08-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love this gun! I have a lot of experience w air guns and this is one of my favorites! Extremely nice lines and well built. The quality is excellent! And accurate right out of the box...I'm hitting nickle size groups at 40 yards. Trigger is crisp and consistent..you know when it's going to fire. I shoot this everyday and its such a pleasure. And it just plain badass to look at. It's a serious air gun. I got the .22 cal. (I have a Marauder in the .25 LOVE that thing!). The f0lks at PA are the best...I tried the Diana R34 and it was fine but for the extra $200, I decided on the R9. So glad I did...so worth the extra $. You will NOT be disappointed with this gun.

    Things I would have changed: Not really anything...the barrel is a little tough to break but it may get easier with time. Seems like I have to re-sight it in every time I use it..gets off a little. Only takes a few shots but not sure why...may be a scope issue. Working on that.

    What others should know: This gun is very hold sensitive...once you figure that out, it will give you consistent shots. I hold mine about 3" aft of the front of the wood stock (about where the screws are) and get great results. And mine likes the Exact Diabolo pellets (I use the Jumbo Heavy 18,13gr) The artillery hold they talk about is needed on this rifle. Clean the barrel (just run a rag thru it now and then) and get good pellets (experiment here) and you'll be in good shape.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ron from USA on 2015-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: fit and finish,accuracy and don't forget the rekord trigger

    Things I would have changed: change the dovetail rail to weaver

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2015-05-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Light weight, ease of use, accuracy, consistency,looks, feel, cost, prompt service.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: If you, like I, love to just "shoot", then you will really enjoy owning this rifle. I live in the city limits but back in the woods, and can shoot this gun(.177) all around my house. With a Hawke 3-9x40 scope on a solid mount, I can consistently hit golf ball size objects out to 50 yds. I use a Bogg tripod most of the time. After trying 6 different kinds of pellets, my gun shoots the Crossman Premier Lites(7.9g) best.I am going to try some new H&N Field Target Trophys(8.64g), next. With some help from a sip or two of a little Makers Mark, I'm hoping to beat the Crossmans! (You know, to settle the nerves.) I, like many of you, have shot all kind of guns all my life(70 years!). I guess I've come full circle from my first Red Ryder BB gun around 6 years of age. You'll not go wrong with the Beeman R9 and the great service from Pyramyd Air. Joe Bost, Lenoir, NC

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2015-04-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The best thing is that Weirauch continues their reputation for overall finish and build quality. Power is even better than expected. Trigger would be difficult to improve on. Checkering on forend and grip is excellent for a mass-produced unit.

    Things I would have changed: Install delrin guides internally to eliminate the jangle, and lube with moly grease. Use picatinny scope mounting, instead of the old rimfire grooves. Include grooved or textured muzzle brake to give better grip.

    What others should know: Accuracy is exactly what I expected from a Weirauch: Excellent. At 25 yards it groups about 0.5 inch. The velocity with H&N Field Target Trophy pellets was 730fps after about 200 rounds. Please note that out of the box, all stock screws were not tightened enough. Be sure to tighten all of them before firing.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jaime from USA on 2015-04-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Pyramyd Air 's discounted price of $399 shipped. On a good day I get jagged hole at 25 meters with JSB exact and JSB Heavy, half an inch with RWS Meisterkugeln. This rifle of mine doesn't like the RWS Superdome

    Things I would have changed: The price. I'll buy a .22 version if I can get another $399 deal

    What others should know: After unpacking the rifle I cleaned the barrel, blue locktight the screws and topped it with UTG 1 piece scope mount and HAWKE IR 4x12 "perfect combination". It was gritty and buzzy at first, however after shooting over 600 pellets through the rifle the grittiness is almost gone and still a little twangy. Hold sensitive at stock form. I ordered the full power Vortek kit to make the firing cycle better.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeremy from USA on 2015-04-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is my first spring air rifle. I have over 1000 rounds through it with no issues. I have the RWS lockdown mount on it with the Weaver V-24 and it is a deadly combination. At 25 yards, the average 5 shot group is .400" with H&N Baracuda Match 10.65 grains in .177 caliber. My rifle prefers 10.65 grain pellets. That is with me holding the rifle propped up on sand bags. It is not very hold sensitive that I have noticed. It will shoot better than I can. The fit and finish is very good. This is a really nice rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: I am new to the game but I can consistently kill birds at 40-50 yards.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Airgun Papa from USA on 2015-04-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything. Beautifully finished metal and stock. Solid, vault-like and smooth operation of the action. The impulse at the shot is not so severe as to make you loose the sight picture. Most of the time I see the pellet impact the target. I have never had another break-barrel that would allow that, not even a gas-piston gun. The rifle is tolerant of variation in the hold. At the bench you can use the military hold, but in the field you have to make do with the circumstance. My point of impact has not changed due to a different hold. The rifle shoots the same zero from one day to the next despite changes in temperature. I rarely miss even out to 35 yards. The trigger is so reliable and predictable, I know exactly when it will break which makes letting the shot go when the sight picture is correct much easier. The accuracy and grouping of shots is as good as any style of airgun, even my easy to handle PCP guns. The velocity is as claimed and maybe slightly better.

    Things I would have changed: There is nothing on this at the price point offered, I would change. I would pay more for fine walnut but the stock I did get was nice but nothing compares to real well-finished walnut.

    What others should know: I tested eleven pellets for velocity, point of impact and grouping ability at 25 yards. Of those eleven, eight had the same point of impact at that yardage. The five best grouping pellets gave, center to center average spreads for 5 shots at 25 yards, of: .410", .550", .580", .692" and .715". I did not pick and choose my 5-shot groups to compile averages. The smallest overall group was .340" and some of the 5 shot groups contained four pellets of a much smaller cluster than the overall group. (4 shots in .272" in one instance, 4 in .375", and 4 in .405" in others.) The break-in period is not nearly complete. These are initial groups. I also tested grouping at 50 yards with the best pellet putting 10 shots as such: Shots 1 and 2 high out of main group, (frequent occurrence when switching from one pellet to another). Shots 3-10 in a 1.316" C to C spread. Discounting shot 3 the last 7 shot into less than 1-1/4" with 6 of those in .715" and 5 into .515". It was windy with a 10 mph x-wind.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2015-03-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Pretty much the entire rifle, there really isn't anything not to like. Mine is in 20 caliber and the accuracy is unbelievable. It has ample power (15 FPE in mine),isn't pellet fussy, and the Rekord trigger is outstanding. The fit and finish is perfect, cocking is butter smooth, and it is reasonably quiet for it's power output. It might be a little bit expensive but when you consider the quality it may even qualify as a bargain and it's something that can be passed along just like a quality firearm.

    Things I would have changed: If it's not broken don't fix it.

    What others should know: It is a springer so it's a little hold sensitive but not that bad and I find it easier to shoot well than my 350 Magnum 22 (another fine rifle). Hitting pop tops from aluminum cans and bottle caps at 40 yards has become mundane. I've put just over 1000 pellets through it without a hiccup and it's become my favorite rifle, for shooting enjoyment I would even take it over my PCP .25 Cal. Mine prefers JSB 13.73 grain Exacts at longer ranges but Out to 30 yards or so any of the 13 grain range pellets hit pretty much in the same place. PA had my rifle to my door within 4 days even with the 10 for 10 test and I couldn't be happier with my purchase.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Winfred from USA on 2014-11-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I pestered several people for a week on what rifle to buy. I have never fired a spring gun before. Light hold with shooting sticks the first three shots at 35 yards was a one hole clover leaf. Nuff said!!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing as far as I can tell.

    What others should know: When someone tells you this one is accurate, well it is. Accurate enough to use one shot at a time and sight it in. Then hit a nickel size group at 53 yards having fired it only a dozen times. Very accurate rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2014-05-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: smooth, easy to cock, accurate. I put a new Bug Buster scope on it and it is a great combo. My all time favorite air rifle.

    Things I would have changed: can't think of one thing. I love this Beeman R9

    What others should know: I have tried many-many air rifles over the last couple years, and to me this is the best. I just ordered a 22 cal to go along with my wonderful 177 cal.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ryan from USA on 2014-03-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Three locations for rear scope mount, adjustable trigger, and accurate and repeatable shots.

    Things I would have changed: Allow safety to be re-engaged after being taken off.

    What others should know: most accurate with Beeman Kodiak Heavy pellets 10.65 gr.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pedro from Canada on 2013-11-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Build quality is excellent. Solid tight feel. Gun is not too big, good for smaller shooters. Accuracy is awesome. Trigger is exceptional also, nice and crisp. I got mine is .20 cal. and feel it is good overall pellet choice. Mine shots Beeman H&N Match wad cutters @ 820 fps.

    Things I would have changed: Nada

    What others should know: Check your stock screws, mine were loose after 30 shots. If you don't, accuracy will suffer. Also military hold is recommended for best accuracy. JSB Diabolo shot most accurate in my gun.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Empoweryou from USA on 2013-07-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The build quality is of course, excellent. I also like the fact that it's not a heavy rifle. The blueing is 5 stars! The record trigger is the best I've found.

    Things I would have changed: I found the beech stock to be unattractive. No real grain detail. My biggest disappointment was the firing cycle. My .20 cal version exhibited a very pronounced recoil and very noticeable spring twang!I began to get annoyed just shooting it, so I boxed it up and sent it to get tuned by Paul Watts. It was sent back to me as a completely different rifle! Very smooth shot cycle,absolutely no spring twang. The trigger even better! Night and day difference. It's now one of my favorite rifles.

    What others should know: I was expecting a better shot cycle from such an otherwise great gun. It seems to like the JSB exacts.(13.5gr.) The gun is hold sensitive so the artillery hold is necessary.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eric from USA on 2013-03-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Repeatable accuracy. This thing is an absolute tack driver right out of the box. From the bench I can consistently shoot sub dime size groups at 25 yards all day long. The rifle is beautiful. Very solid mechanical feel. I love the muzzle brake. It helps with cocking and I believe it adds to the accuracy. I like that mine is not terribly hold sensitive. I can rest the forestock on a sand bag and shoot groups that just blow my mind and hold sensitive guns are not supposed to be shot that way. The trigger is simply AMAZING! Better than my Marauder by a long shot and that is saying something. I could go on and on but pretty much I like everything about this gun.

    Things I would have changed: Not wild about the automatic safety. Would prefer to be able to put the gun on and off safe as I feel the need, but that is about all I can find to complain about. The gun can be de-cocked and safety can be re-engaged though so I can live with it.

    What others should know: If you are pinching pennies I can understand you looking away from this gun. It is not cheap, but it will perform out of the box better than the clones and better than lesser guns even if you spend extra on tuning those other guns. If you want accuracy then save up and buy this gun. I would have saved money if I had bought this gun right from the start. Just some things to note, the first few cocking cycles were a tiny bit rough feeling, but that went away quickly. Many manufacturers will tell you that your break barrel won't be accurate until you have 1000 pellets through it. Actually Beeman says that as well but while it is true with others, this gun is dead accurate and I have less than a couple of hundred shots through it. It was accurate and grouped incredibly well as soon as I had the scope sighted in. Recoil is not terrible, but make sure you get a good scope that is rated for spring piston rifles. Bottom line is the thing other airgunners should know is that they should buy this gun!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By WAYNE from USA on 2013-01-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything about this gun is top notch! First things I noticed was the great fit and finish. Out of the box it looked gorgeous. The bluing is perfect and the stock is pretty nice too. A few things to note. Posted velocities are not really representative of what most people will get from this gun unless you are shooting the lightest possible pellet. Mine is a .22 caliber wearing a Bushnell 4-12x40AO scope and I am shooting a Maccari tune kit and Beeman FTS Gold pellets at 680fps with one hole ten shot groups at 25 yards. Before the tune kit the gun shot with superb accuracy and slightly lower velocity. This rifle is truly an air gun enthusiasts dream. It's everything you wish you had as a kid toting a beat up old Daisy or Crosman pump gun.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. If yuo want better velocity, go for the .20 caliber gun but .22 takes care of any pest or vermin.

    What others should know: The gun needs a few tins of pellets to break in. I ran a thousand or so cheap premier pellets through the gun before I spent a the money on finding a pellet that really shined.

  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Pro* from USA on 2013-01-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Size, just right. Very lightweight. Re

    Things I would have changed: The stock finish was really bad, with horrendous over spray and totally washed out checkering. The example I received was not a 500 dollar gun. The stock on my 2008 Gamo Hunter Elite was significantly better.

    What others should know: German quality is not what it used to be. There have been several changes to the Weihrauchs lately, some new internals and the new star breech. My example came with these new 'features'.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By SteveW from USA on 2013-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good looking rifle, easy cocking, very smooth and precise operation. Light weight for its power, great for hunting and offhand shooting. Mine is .20 cal. and very accurate using the 14.3 gr Benjamin Diablo pellets I had on hand. Quality, handling and accuracy were primary factors in choosing this gun and I am very pleased on all three counts.

    Things I would have changed: All said, nothing. It would be nice if the safety did not set automatically, and could be simply set and reset, but that's not a big deal - just adjusting my habits. The trigger is excellent and certainly enables accurate shooting, but it is quite different from the single stage triggers I'm accustomed to on centerfire rifles. I prefer the crisp break without take-up on the firearms, but the take-up on the Beeman probably makes me a better shot because it reminds me to hold it like an air rifle.

    What others should know: I mounted a Leupold 3x9x33 EFR scope with Beeman 2-piece medium height mounts, which looks and works great on this gun. The R9 shoots well enough that you're unlikely to realize its capabilities with low quality optics. After shooting about 50 pellets to sight in and then determine trajectory at various ranges, I set up targets to check accuracy. Using a rest, at 25 yards the rifle puts 5 Benjamin pellets into as many 1/2" groups as I care to shoot. From a field sitting position I'm getting 10 shot groups under 1" at 35 yards. I've since cleanly dispatched a half dozen rabbits at ranges from 39 to 53 yards. These pellets are a bit of a loose fit in the breech, so I suspect they may not be the most accurate for this rifle. I just acquired a selection of pellets and will begin testing when the weather warms some. If accuracy improves with break-in or a different pellet or me getting more comfortable with the gun, that will be great. But as it is, I'm completely satisfied with the Beeman.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By GLEN from USA on 2012-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: EVERYTHING EXCEPT THAT IT VIBRATES MORE THAN I LIKE.OTHER THAN THAT IT IS A FANTASTIC RIFLE.I WOULD HAVE GIVEN IT FIVE STARS IF IT HAD NOT BEEN FOR THAT. YOU WANT BE DISAPOINTED IF YOU BY THE R9.

    Things I would have changed: I WOULD HAVE TRIED TO GET MORE OF THE VIBRATION OUT OF IT.

    What others should know: I THINK IT'S ALL BEEN SAID EXCEPT THAT PYRAMYD AIR IS THE BEST COMPANY I'VE EVER DELT WITH. IF THE GUN IS NOT RIGHT THEY WILL TAKE CARE OF IT. I AM SPEEKING FROM EXPERIENCE.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eric from USA on 2012-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fit and finish are flawless. Considering the power, it is very easy to cock. Shoots as consistent as my Daystate PCP.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: BUY A QUALITY SCOPE! I cannot say that loud enough. If you can't afford it now, wait! I will NEVER buy another scope that is not mil-dot.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2012-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Can't say enough about the R9. Shoots dime size groups at 25 yards. Great looking rifle. Very easy to cock. Very smooth operating parts. Trigger is the best I've seen. This is a quality rifle all around. Can't be more pleased with this purchase.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing needs changing in this rifle.

    What others should know: The Beeman R9 is my first air rifle. A group of guys that got me into air rifles suggested the R9 for its reputation and quality. They said that the trigger is the best around and I must agree. The trigger is very crisp. This rifle just feels good when you pick it up. The wood is just beautiful and looks great with the Hawke Eclipse scope. Can't go wrong with this setup. I use JSB Exact pellets.

  • 12 Next
Navigation