Beeman RS2 Dual-Caliber Air Rifle Combo reviews - page 1

Add to Cart


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Frances from USA on 2012-05-29 11:07:52

Things I liked:I like to be able to shoot .17 or .22 pellets with the same rifle. It states that if you change barrels you will have to resight it. I have switched barrels half a dozen times and did not have to resight it. Have not had a barrel loosen up while shooting. It hits really hard. Penatrates a half inch pine board at thirty feet plus. I am using the open sights. I just don't care for scopes. Packaged very well. Like the carrying case. I have not had any problems with the rifle like I have read.
Things I would have changed:Somehow make it easier to cock. I am 75 years old and do not have the strength that I had in the good ole days. I have to bring the barrel down to where it is ready to cock then give it another pull with the help of my other hand. Oh well, I need the exercise anyway.
What others should know:When you tighten the set screw that holds the barrel in don't be a woose and put some man into it. You will not strip the screw unless you are a gorilla. My name is Bill. Frances is my wife and I use her PayPal account. That's why her name is on the review.
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Andrew from USA on 2013-03-25 19:06:17

Things I liked:Barrels and scope are easy to mount and change.
Things I would have changed:Terrible accuracy. At 25 yards, the .177 barrel averaged 6.5" with 5-shot groups. The .22 barrel average 3.25" with 5-shot groups.... and I'm subtracting 1/4" for approximate aiming error, which I think is the maximum possible for the worst shot I made while testing. The .177 muzzle velocity averaged about 870 FPS w/ 8.2 grain pellets, standard deviation of 25-30 FPS. The .22 muzzle velocity averaged about 650 FPS with 15.4 grain pellets, standard deviation of about 15 FPS. Dieseling was so bad that the rifle is smokier than a .22 long rifle. Point of impact shift between barrels was 6 inches horizontally and not much vertically.
What others should know:While this rifle functions, it is so inconsistent that I consider it defective. Typical Made in China junk. Don't waste your time with it.
Sort by:
  • 123 ... 78 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2015-06-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I love this airgun. I found it to be well made with beautiful wood, not just plastic and it feels nice when hefted to my shoulder. With the dual barrel configuration I can choose .177 or.22 caliber ammo and that's a big plus. I chose the .22 to start. It is also very accurate after I sighted in the scope. I also added the 10 test shot garranty performed by Christy, it was well worth it.
    Things I would have changed:I changed out the original Beeman 4x30 scope for a Leapers 4x30 with AO adjustment and better scope mounts since spring air guns have more kick. Wish it had an adjustable 2 stage trigger but hay, I'm getting used to it. Also there isn't any place to easily mount a sling. Allen makes a swivel set but it needs an offset chain link to attach it to the front cocking arm. For a little more money I would have ordered it with these attachments added. (something to think about).
    What others should know:You can't beat the quality, versatility and craftmenship of this rifle for this price any where. Even though it was out of stock when I ordered it everyone at Pyramid Air has been very supportive with great customer service all around. You are my 'go-to guys for product and accessories.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Scott from USA on 2015-03-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Excellent accuracy. Awesome power. Being able to switch between .22 and .177 easily. Beautiful wood stock. Great safety placement (in front of trigger). Included scope works well.
    Things I would have changed:After a few dozen shots, the cocking force starts to wear on my arm. Typical springer recoil.
    What others should know:I've had this gun about a year and a half and have easily put well over 1K rounds through it. It's one of my favorite air rifles. Like most springers, it did require a "wear in" period, and I did run through a few different pellets to see which ones it liked more (the RWS Superdomes, in my case). But now, it is one sweet shooter. Just earlier today, I was shooting some Coke cans from about 30 yards away. My neighbor would call out an area on the can, and I had no problem hitting it. My neighbor was amazed that this little airgun was that accurate. And that's with enough power to send a pellet straight through a 1/2" wood target (next to the Coke cans), too. When I want to do some distance shooting in the backyard, this is the gun I grab. Power + Accuracy + Beeman = Great Gun!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Carlton from USA on 2015-01-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Likes. . . .wood stock, dual cal, nice solid feel & weight, cocking effort, decent trigger, overall performance.
    Things I would have changed:Less recoil and a bit more quiet.
    What others should know:Decent rifle with unique dual caliber feature. Pretty accurate once the right pellet(s) are chosen. May decide a scope upgrade for enhanced performance. My second air rifle purchased a year ago 2013 and still enjoying shooting. Limited use in backyard certain times of day due to loudness factor however does not affect the rating. . .knew this when purchased.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Dale from USA on 2014-12-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:As a new air gunner I don't have much to compare with. This gun feels as solid as my Henry rimfire .22 but I feel safe practicing in the basement.
    Things I would have changed:The crown of the barrel is recessed, making it much harder to check or work on. The trigger mechanism will get a polish job as soon as I decide the new is worn off.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jason from USA on 2014-11-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Value,power,stock configuration
    Things I would have changed:A more secure front site,better scope
    What others should know:Front site had to be super glued in place,scope broke (internal glass),but with a "Jerry" Springer,you have to jerry -rig these things from a powerful piston power plant
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jason from USA on 2014-10-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The wood stock is nice. I prefer this over composite stocks of other models. The scope is decent seems to be holding zero well even after over 600 shots. The trigger is nice only a very minor adjustment of tension to get it to my likings.
    Things I would have changed:The barrel site is a in view with the included scope. doesn't interfere with targeting but does draw attention to it.
    What others should know:give this air rifle a chance. mine was all over when I first got it. it takes around 300-500 shots to break it in and for it to stop dieseling from the factory grease.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Orlando from USA on 2014-05-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Power, dual caliber, nice wood stock. Deadly accurate within 40 yards.
    Things I would have changed:Trigger is mushy and heavy, Scope is not built to last or survive heavy use with this recoil heavy gun. Note: I bought mine several years ago and doubt I have the RS2 trigger. Otherwise a good gun.
    What others should know:Careful not to lean the front sight onto anything. After several hours/months/years of leaning this gun against the wall the fiber optic sights on BOTH barrels broke. The Beeman scope provided also does not hold zero after 5ish years of ownership. Now, I must buy a new barrel from archer airguns dot com. BUT I will gladly buy new barrels to keep running this powerful airgun with open sights.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Robert from USA on 2014-05-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Nice for the money. quite powerful, decent scope, solid wood stock. so far the .22 is accurate out to 35 yards, shoots flat out that far and hits 8" steel every time.
    Things I would have changed:make it lighter! e-gad its a heavy rifle. Install the real RS-2 trigger. The trigger is NOT as advertised, it does NOT have the adjustments that make the RS-2 well known.
    What others should know:There are a couple threads o the interwebs about the awesome RS-2 trigger, this rifle does not have that awesome trigger. Its long, creepy, mushy with lots of pre and over travel and no adjustments can be made. There is one adjustment screw on the trigger itself, that is supposed to adjust the pre-travel. It does very little. There is a second "adjustment" for a second return spring, behind the trigger, and adjusting it also does very little. I may just try to find the old trigger group and install it.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By BOB from USA on 2014-04-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:GOOD VALUE
    Things I would have changed:BETTER WORKMANSHIP
    What others should know:SCOPE MOUNTED TOO FAR TO THE LEFT, WOULD NOT ZERO IN.... HAD TO RETURN
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By William from USA on 2014-04-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Price and overall quality appears good. Accuracy seems to be decent if you can get past the trigger. It will easilly take out garden and orchard pests ad 35 yards or so. Again the trigger seems to be the only real negative point.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger. I found the trigger very poor.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Stephen from USA on 2014-02-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:the best pellet gun for your money.
    Things I would have changed:softer trigger pull
    What others should know:very accurate
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Milton from USA on 2014-01-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This gun is well made and has a nice wood stock. The ability to change from .177 to .22 caliber is handy. The ability to adjust the trigger pull is nice. The gun is powerful in both the .177 and .22 caliber. I was able to penetrate 3/4" laminated plywood at 25 yards using Gamo rocket pellets. Using several different types of .22 caliber pellets I was able to penetrate a 5/8" hardwood board. This gun is definitely suitable for small game hunting, pest control and target shooting/plinking.
    Things I would have changed:Accuracy could be a little better. I shot a total of 30 shots at a 6" diameter target from a distance of 25 yards, 15 Gamo raptors and 15 Gamo long range, and placed all 30 shots inside the target area within a 4" diameter circle. Of course I did this with the fiber optic sights mounted on the gun. I didn't mount the scope that came with the gun. Although, the scope seemed adequate I felt that the recoil from this springer would eventually damage it. I plan on getting a scope that can handle recoil from a springer and see if it improves my accuracy.
    What others should know:My wife bought this for me on my birthday in September of 2009 and this gun is still going strong. I have placed over a 1,000 rounds through it. The only problem I had was the breech seal came loose while testing some Predator polymags but it was easy to put back in place. Power wise depending on the pellet used I get 18 to 20 fpe. Velocities range from a high of 927 fps with Gamo Raptor Gold PBA pellets and a low of 604 fps using Gamo TS22 Long distance pellets. Similarly, using other pellets the velocities held at an average of about 730 fps. Overall, this is a good, solid gun and I would recommend it to anyone wishing to purchase a good spring piston airgun.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By nik from USA on 2013-12-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:177cal or 22cal. Very powerful. You choose caliber. Made in china, but high quality. package with box is neat, bought for a friend hope he likes it.
    Things I would have changed:cocking is rough. not sure if it is reliable.
    What others should know:loud in 177cal
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By eugene from USA on 2013-12-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Great gun for the money
    Things I would have changed:Include replacement O ring and Locktight
    What others should know:Scope is junk. Screws work loose fast. Kicks like a mule so plant it firmly against your shoulder.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By William Davis from USA on 2013-10-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Another update here ... A few weeks ago I got sidetracked while shooting, put my Beeman on the rack still cocked and forgot about it until the next day. You can imagine my surprise when I went to cock it and discovered it was already cocked! This worried me but after extensive testing I have deternined it still shooots the same, much to my relief. I still pratice not leaving it cocked for any longer than I need to.
    Things I would have changed:NA
    What others should know:I have owned two of these fine rifles. The first one I sold to a friend who still shoots it alot after I shot it to death. The one I kept has been shot 1,000's of times and still functions perfectly. I have been very satisfied with this gun!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By kris from USA on 2013-09-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I liked that it is two cals in one.The 22 cal is the one that I have the most time shooting.I have a 177 can in other rifles.
    Things I would have changed:I wish it was not so heavy.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By andrew from USA on 2013-09-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the dual caliber and it has a nice finish
    Things I would have changed:the set screw on the barrel comes lose have to keep checking it to make sure its still tight
    What others should know:great fun gun comes in a cool carrying case nice one for the collection
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By William Davis from USA on 2013-09-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Another update here. I have had this RS-2 for almost 3 years. It gets shot alot! Several thousand times and still functions perfectly. As much as I shoot durability is a big thing with me. The Beeman has not let me down.
    Things I would have changed:I never leave mine cocked for over 30 minutes or an hour. I check the barrel set screw from time to time. And I never dry fire it.
    What others should know:Just a day or two ago I shot a 3/8" group at 30 yards. This was with the .177 barrel and Kodiak Match 10.65 grn. pellets. Since I got a Benjamin Titan (.22) the .177 barrel just stays on the Beeman. Super for busting those furry tailed rats we have.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Bryan from USA on 2013-09-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This was a 25th Wedding Anniversary for my Wife. The OVER-ALL package just can't be beat for the term "IMPRESSIVE!". The only problem I encountered was she saw the cheaper package at the local Wal-Mart with the Chrome Plated Barrels & receiver with the Synthetic Stock.. for less of course. Keeping her from an immediate purchase was a chore worthy of a Covert Operation of the CIA. Do NOT go for the Cheap Wally-World version. This set from Pyramyd Air is Truly "TOP OF THE LINE", well worth the few extra bucks for excellent Wood Stock and Carry Case! Excellent Hard Sights with Fiber-Optic inserts, Scope is Good. Weight, balance, Power & Accuracy along with the choice of TWO popular, easy to acquire calibers of ammunition, Quality wood stock and impressive case package will get you "HONEY POINTS" on the target line and "elsewhere". ;)
    Things I would have changed:Checkering on the stock would be a nice touch.
    What others should know:Perfect "First Pellet Rifle" for old or new Air-Rifle shooters. Excellent choice for the experienced too! Just can't go wrong with this package from Beeman and PyramydAir's price!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Mike from USA on 2013-07-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Dual Caliber...obviously. Fit & finish are very nice. Good weight & balance. Trigger, though not as crisp as some, smooths out after several hundred (or so) shots and becomes smoother and more predictable. Cocking isn't bad; if you put some 'anxt' into it. Once the trigger and mainspring settle down, it's very accurate. Capable of 1-inchers at 30 yds (More-so than I am at times!) The scope, while far from top-notch, actually isn't too awful when used within its firm adjustment range...otherwise, fuggetaboutit. Good power...22 packs a wallop!
    Things I would have changed:The case. It's cool & all, but I prefer (and use) a full-size case that doesn't require disassembling the gun to put it away. Otherwise, the gun does what I bought it to do and it does it well.
    What others should know:Both barrels are super-droopers. Until that's compensated for, keeping any scope zeroed will be difficult. In lieu of constantly keeping Allen wrenches at the ready, Loctite the mount, barrel and stock screws...done deal. This gun, not unlike many others, seems a little finicky about how it's held and what pellet it likes best. Once that's resolved, she's a great 30 to 40 yard gun...likely even beyond! ...And, as always, Pyramyd Air is the best 'Gettin Place' in the biz!
  • 123 ... 78 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top