Date: 13/2/2016 5:27

Beeman Sweet 17 Bundle (Beeman P17 Air Pistol) reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Mike from USA on 2013-02-20 19:11:05

Things I liked: The Beeman P17 is one of the most accurate, easy to shoot, air pistols I have used at any price. The trigger pull is crisp and light and the included pellets group well in this gun. The grip has a nice feel to it, and overall, the pistol balances very well. It gives a low report when fired indoors and is a very consistent shooter.

Things I would have changed: Loading the pellet into the barrel is a little tight and may be difficult for someone with limited finger dexterity.

What others should know: The P17 is similar in design to the Beeman P3 Pneumatic Pistol at a quarter of the price. The hammer shown is not functional; it actually releases the the top half of the pistol which is the single stroke pumping mechanism.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:4.0

By David from USA on 2015-11-21 20:14:44

Things I liked: Great trigger. Very good accuracy. Good feel in your hand. Love the fiber optic sights. When it's shooting as designed it's a great fun gun.

Things I would have changed: Put just a little more champher in the end of the barrel to aid loading pellets. Increase the reliability.

What others should know: I have had my gun for about 3 weeks and have put about 200+ shots through it. I wanted something I could use at the range at our once a month 25 YD Bullseye fun match ( OK choice ) and our once a month Silhouette match ( not a good choice ) As stated in many reviews loading can be a challenge especially when trying to shoot 5 little metal critters off a stand in 2.5 min. At todays meet ( Silhouette ) my gun mal-functioned ! THE TRIGGER PULLED BUT WOULD NOT FIRE THE PELLET ! Either the gun is jammed or there is a safety built in to prevent opening the top so the pellet can be removed. I ended up transporting home a CHARGED gun with a pellet in the chamber. NOT GOOD ! It has been 8 hours and I thought the air charge may have bled off, NO JOY ! I will contact Pyramyd Air on monday and discuss returning this gun and upgrading to a better one. I read MANY reviews , pro and con and decided to "roll the dice" I got a bad one. I can't live with a gun that forces you into unsafe conditions.

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By charles from USA on 2015-12-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: handling and feel

    Things I would have changed: change the loading Not easy to load the pellet into the barrell

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brandon from USA on 2015-12-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I combined this with a little CenterPoint laser for a friend's son, and it was a huge hit. It's just for fun, but what fun!

    Things I would have changed: I feel like this is more of a laser type gun, rather than a dot sight, so I'd make a package combo with a laser instead.

    What others should know: So far it's been nothing but awesome. Or so I hear...

  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2015-11-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great trigger. Very good accuracy. Good feel in your hand. Love the fiber optic sights. When it's shooting as designed it's a great fun gun.

    Things I would have changed: Put just a little more champher in the end of the barrel to aid loading pellets. Increase the reliability.

    What others should know: I have had my gun for about 3 weeks and have put about 200+ shots through it. I wanted something I could use at the range at our once a month 25 YD Bullseye fun match ( OK choice ) and our once a month Silhouette match ( not a good choice ) As stated in many reviews loading can be a challenge especially when trying to shoot 5 little metal critters off a stand in 2.5 min. At todays meet ( Silhouette ) my gun mal-functioned ! THE TRIGGER PULLED BUT WOULD NOT FIRE THE PELLET ! Either the gun is jammed or there is a safety built in to prevent opening the top so the pellet can be removed. I ended up transporting home a CHARGED gun with a pellet in the chamber. NOT GOOD ! It has been 8 hours and I thought the air charge may have bled off, NO JOY ! I will contact Pyramyd Air on monday and discuss returning this gun and upgrading to a better one. I read MANY reviews , pro and con and decided to "roll the dice" I got a bad one. I can't live with a gun that forces you into unsafe conditions.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By david from USA on 2015-10-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Really like the trigger, light and crisp. sights are ok for a plinker.

    Things I would have changed: It is a handful to cock and loading pellets is a little fiddly.

    What others should know: I ran a few pellets over my chrony and the extreme spread of velocities was huge. Will try breaking it in some more then try again.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kurt from USA on 2015-10-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The weight feels great in my hands. It automatically puts the safety on when the top is opened for loading.

    Things I would have changed: The wadcutter pellets suck to load, so I have switched them out for Pointed Crosman Field Hunting pellets (CR-7-P577-510). The problem is that the breech can be difficult to get to with flat nosed pellets. I have used the Beeman Wadcutters in other guns with great success.

    What others should know: This has quickly become my favorite gun to shoot.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Keith from USA on 2015-09-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This pistol is very accurate. Light weight and nice solid feel. Automatic safety for me is a big plus. I can hit a Power Aid bottle cap at twelve yards awesome!

    Things I would have changed: Should be a little easier to cock or make the top of the pistol smooth where you put your hand to cock. As a lot of reviews stated loading of pellets is not a fast process still trying to find the best way. The pistol needs just a small bevel under the barrel that the pellet could sit on as you push the pellet in.

    What others should know: I mounted a Gamo Laser sight on the front which left plenty of room to cock the pistol. I also checked for leaks by cocking the pistol and letting it sit in a safe area for over an hour and it did not leak. The shot was as powerful as if I cocked and shot right away. Wow this is a real neat pistol to shoot. I tried Gamo PBA gold pellets but they will not fit, the air cup is to wide. Due to the cocking and loading of pellets I can only give this great little pistol a four rating. The Beeman Wadcutter pellets that came with the combo kit work very well.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2015-09-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought this pistol about 3 weeks ago, and am pleasantly surprised with it. I shot very well straight out of the box, although only fair with the beeman wadcutter shipped with it. The pellet that is very accurate is the Crosman premier wadcutter,easily grouping 3/8 inch 5 shot groups in the bullseye at 10 meters after about 6-8 pellets at initial sight-in. For fun, accuracy and value far beyond the 40 dollar price, it is an amazing deal.

    Things I would have changed: The "slide" and dovetail edges are quite sharp and require the use of a work glove to cock the gun, the effort required is pretty stiff but manageable. I would also have liked a more accessible loading port, and room to use a pellet pen and seater. Smoother edges and some type of cocking assist would also be nice.

    What others should know: Buy this pistol, for 40 dollars you cannot go wrong, it is accurate and fun to shoot,even if you do have to wear a glove on one hand.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By DENVER from USA on 2015-07-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I think it is well made. It is sturdy and better than I expected. The feel is good in the hand. It was very accurate, The first day I had it I got my moneys worth. Lots of fun plinking. I should have bought two. Some have complained about the sights and color issue. I had no problem with that, it worked for me.

    Things I would have changed: The cocking was a little tough at first but I already knew this from others reviews. After a bit you will find your own method and the issue is over. Same way with loading the pellet. No big deal. There is nothing else to change I could see.

    What others should know: Personally and this is just me, if you put a scope on it, cocking just got complicated. Not much room then for the hand and that hard cocking just got harder. And I haven t pinched my hand yet but you can do that easily. Pros outweighs the Cons. You will be glad you bought it. Cheap price but great pistol. Go for it!

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dana from USA on 2014-11-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate, no recoil, ergonomic feel, looks cool and realistic. Seems to be rugged (so far).

    Things I would have changed: Very hard to load, especially with large adult fingers, or in low light conditions. I would add some sort of funnel, or feed ramp. If not for loading difficulties, I would have given five stars all around.

    What others should know: Not very powerful, but I knew that by the FPS in the description: 410 feet per second. That is OK, because I just wanted an accurate low priced target pistol. If you are planning on hunting or shooting long range, get a .22 rifle or an air rifle with at least 1000 FPS rating.

  • 2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By richard from USA on 2014-10-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks like a real gun, feels like a real gun.

    Things I would have changed: quality

    What others should know: This would be a great gun if the quality was their, but then what can you expect out of a 50 dollar gun. The gun broke after a dozen shots. seal gave up. out another 13 bucks shipping to send it back to get a 50 dollar refund.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2013-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Light weight, accurate, quiet, great air pistol for money

    Things I would have changed: Upgrade o ring on piston

    What others should know: If pistol begins losing compression, replace o ring(Lowes plumbing dept o ring set #0547), sand down intake hole, use 600 or lighter wet sand paper, also use "buzzy's slick honey grease(bike shop)on piston and o ring and squirt some in to discharge hole(found my release valve appeared to be sticking)

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2013-02-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: The Beeman P17 is one of the most accurate, easy to shoot, air pistols I have used at any price. The trigger pull is crisp and light and the included pellets group well in this gun. The grip has a nice feel to it, and overall, the pistol balances very well. It gives a low report when fired indoors and is a very consistent shooter.

    Things I would have changed: Loading the pellet into the barrel is a little tight and may be difficult for someone with limited finger dexterity.

    What others should know: The P17 is similar in design to the Beeman P3 Pneumatic Pistol at a quarter of the price. The hammer shown is not functional; it actually releases the the top half of the pistol which is the single stroke pumping mechanism.

Navigation