Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Benjamin 392 pump air rifle reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By joey from USA on 2008-04-27 08:14:57

    Things I liked:It is easy to pump for kids. Very accurate [for good shooters] . Bearly need to sight it in out of the box. Very VERY good sights. It has very power
    Things I would have changed:I would of made the front sight thinner, for better shots. And that is pretty much it.
    What others should know:This gun shoots at 50 yards with very little drop! I am just a 9 year old kid and I can hit a soup can at 50 yards with this gun. This gun is a very VERY good gun. if you just like shooting in the backyard , buy this gun!!!!!
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3

    Value for money:2

    Accuracy:4

    By Glen from USA on 2014-04-12 11:06:38

    Things I liked:Its a traditional old school design.
    Things I would have changed:worst feature is the pump handle ergonomics. Pump handle comes off the very end of the rifle, and has about a 140 degree action - a long ways and not easy to do, especially for a kid. There are much better designs out there now.
    What others should know:If you had one before and really liked it, get one. Spring guns are much faster to operate, easier to load, etc..
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Stanley from USA on 2014-04-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Knock down energy,light weight. I bought the model 392 for a friend of mine 2 years ago he really likes it very much.I have 2 model 342 circa 1975, they still function very well store them with two pumps and still hold air to this day.
      Things I would have changed:I wouldn't change anything on these guns they are what they are.
      What others should know:To loud for backyard shooting neighbors might complain. Make sure to keep them oiled and store with at least 1 to 2 pumps
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:2 2.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Glen from USA on 2014-04-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Its a traditional old school design.
      Things I would have changed:worst feature is the pump handle ergonomics. Pump handle comes off the very end of the rifle, and has about a 140 degree action - a long ways and not easy to do, especially for a kid. There are much better designs out there now.
      What others should know:If you had one before and really liked it, get one. Spring guns are much faster to operate, easier to load, etc..
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Norm from USA on 2014-02-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great action and knock down power perfect for the tree rats in my area!!!!! Easy to pump but gets you the power to know them out of the tree+++++ all the way
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By Paul from USA on 2013-12-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fun old design shoots well after lots of effort.
      Things I would have changed:Crosman needs to step it up on the QC. I've got a 397, HB22 and a 392. None were straight (front sight canted and barrel to pump tube weld off center) and all had lots of paint in the barrel. Rifling doesn't cut as deep into the pellets as I'd like. Cut the stock further back for better leverage on the pump. I'd really like to see an update to this design pumpers are cool.
      What others should know:Paint in the barrel is horrible! It's a very hard paint that will cause fouling and ruin accuracy. I chased this problem for months before realizing that I'd missed a spot about an inch before the crown. Acetone and a q-tip will get it with some effort. I re-crowned it with a brass pan head screw, valve lapping compound then polished with rouge. The blade sight works OK but the Williams 64 will make it perform. Best accuracy pellets for me were Crosman HPs and JSB Exact Jumbo Heavy 18.13gr.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By CHARLES E from USA on 2013-12-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy. I wish I shot as good as this rifle does. Perhaps with some hard work and new eyes I may be able to.
      Things I would have changed:I can't think of a thing. The kids enjoy the no recoil and the low noise. Did I mention that it is extremely accurate. It allows me to describe for them what they are doing wrong. They can't blame it on the gun.
      What others should know:This is definitely not a gun for little kids. My grandson is no wimp. He is on the track team at school and works out with weights and he had a hard time pumping it to eight pumps. There were some occasions during our shooting session where he quit because he didn't think he could pump one more pump. We haven't fired the requisite 250 shots through it yet. Hope that with more shooting the pumping gets easier. At 76 I am not counting on getting any younger. With old age comes cunning. I have figured out how to cheat on pumping the rifle and can reach the max, but it took some figuring. Not enough space to describe how to cheat.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:2 2.0

        By Orlo from USA on 2013-11-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very fast velocity compared to a lead pellet.
      Things I would have changed:They are a bit on the pricey side.
      What others should know:I was shooting these in a Benjamin NPS .177 - Just about 1000fps with lead, claimed 1200fps with alloys (I haven't chrono'ed them yet). If you are in the same boat where lead will be less than the speed of sound and alloy faster be prepared for a LOT louder report. The .177 with 9-11gr lead pellets is fairly quiet but I need ear muffs when shooting the alloys in my barn. Kind of a novelty but pretty cool.
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:2 2.0

        By John from USA on 2013-08-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Overall fit and finish is nice. Variable pressures.
      Things I would have changed:Rear sight, the sight radius could be longer as with a Williams sight. Quality control, most reviews are favorable that is why I purchased the 392. However I must have gotten an exception. I have read of a couple of others having the same problem.
      What others should know:I had to send it to the manufacturer because I couldn't get the sights aligned. The rear sight was adjusted to it's limits and needed more. I read two other reviews, one here and another at Crosman's website of others having the same problem. I used a straight edge along the barrel and could get a .025 feeler gauge between the barrel and straight edge at the front sight. At first I thought it was the OE rear sight and purchased a Williams peep sight to remedy the problem, however the same held true with the new sight, leading me to see if the barrel was true as best that I could determine. I will try to update this review when I get the results from the manufacturer.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-08-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      41 rating
       
      Things I liked:I've had my 392 for about 3 months and have been very pleased. It is not picky about pellets. Shoots all very well, especially after I installed the Williams peep sight. Weight of gun is just right. Not heavy but enough weight to keep steady when shooting offhand. Wood stock is nicely finished. Has plenty of power to take small game at reasonable ranges.
      Things I would have changed:Factory rear sight is the only "weak" point of the rifle. Difficult to quickly aquire correct sight picture. Sight radius very short, which doesn't help with accuracy. Definitely recommend getting Williams Peep sight.
      What others should know:Great rifle for the price. While you can get scope mounts for this rifle, I wouldn't recomment it. Pumping rifle to full power would be difficult with a scope mounted. This isn't a long range rifle, and with peep sights, accuracy is very good. I limit my range to 30 yards, and I can consistly get 1 1/2 inch groups at this range with my peep sights.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Mike from USA on 2013-07-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A very good reliable air rifle. I have no need to carry any extra gear except for pellets.
      Things I would have changed:This rifle needs a better sight. The "Buckhorn" is just terrible [in my honest opinion] I put on a Williams 64 Peep sight & am getting nickle sized groups at 40 yards.
      What others should know:This is just the rifle you should be looking at for a survival rifle,small game,pest control, & good old plinking fun. Yes, you are gonna have to pump it up for each shot, but it is a reliable all around fun gun to shoot.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By steve from USA on 2013-07-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Look, its a beautiful rifle. Fit, it all fits solid, even when pumping it up. The size, like having a high speed pistol. Open Sights work just fine (I am not a fan of scopes on air guns- maybe if it were a high power PCP, then a scope).
      Things I would have changed:Price, but it wasn't too much or i wouldn't have bought it.
      What others should know:It will shoot close range at 3 pumps just fine. It is a lot more effort for each "Cock"of the 392 than it is for a pump up pistol ) like my 1322; but it is less effort for each pump than you'll find in a high power break barrel. If it holds up long term (like a lot of reviews say it will it will be a favorite of mine...
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Joshua from USA on 2013-06-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:If your going to buy a multi pump, this is the one. I've had one for ten years and it's been kicked, dropped, stored, and abused and still is a tack driver. My front blade sight broke off halfway and so I glued a pellet upside down to what was left and iotstill is deadly accurate. Love this gun.
      Things I would have changed:not much, maybe easier windage adjustment.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-06-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A lot of gun for the money. Very accurate. Superdomes at 50 yards 1 inch group offhand all day long.
      Things I would have changed:Stock a little bulky- too much wood. I think I'm gonna reshape it a little and put a nicer finish on it.
      What others should know:I put new/different springs to make valve function better (LIKE OLDER MODELS). Pumps easier and shoots harder. GET THE PEEP SIGHT!!!
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By David from USA on 2013-05-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The 392 is a classic old gun and I bought it for that reason.It is a fun shooter and the pumping is just part of the fun.
      Things I would have changed:Not a lot , maybe a better rear sight.
      What others should know:It likes 14,5 br pellets for most purposes , I have tried 21 gr. and think they are too heavy. This is too much gun for kids as the pumping can be difficult for them , but a great backyard or field gun for older kids and adults .
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-05-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great looking gun! I love the looks of this rifle. Simple to use, able to vary the power output, well made. The trigger is not as bad as some say... I am getting used to it after 1,000 shots. I am able to get nice 5 shot groups at 25 yards well under 1 inch. Should be a great short range ( 20 - 35 yards ) small game gun.
      Things I would have changed:Sights! I put a Williams Peep sight on this gun. Gun still shoots to the left a bit. I thought about a scope, but I do like the clean lines without the scope. At 55 my eyes are not what they used to be, I may try painting the front blade a bit with white out for visibility.
      What others should know:Great gun! Pumping can get tiring at times. Rifle seems to have plenty of power though even at five pumps. I like this gun so much, I just bought a companion for it the Benjamin HB22. The gun is simple.. well put together. I expect to be using this rifle the rest of my life.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Bill from USA on 2013-01-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the accuracy and the weight and the guns fit fit and finish.
      Things I would have changed:I would like to see a true walnut stock.
      What others should know:I owne four pellet guns two spring piston and two multi pump this is my go to gun because my sheridan needs to be rebuit it is over thirty years old. The benjaman 392 is a GREAT GUN !
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By john from USA on 2012-11-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:plenty of power
      Things I would have changed:the sites are a bit tough to use
      What others should know:Its a hard gun to pump to max power once I put a scope on it was a very accurate over all not a bad gun for the money
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Charles from USA on 2012-09-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Almost Everything...Very well built.Good power,I shot through a unopened can of chunky soup..splat!!!
      Things I would have changed:Back ramp sight..its nice but need a very small screwdriver to adjust it..
      What others should know:Not as easy to pump like other pumps : powerline 880s or a crosman 760..repeated shooting can be a workout!
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By keith from USA on 2012-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      11 rating
       
      Things I liked:Bengamin guns have the same quality they did 35 years ago when i used to shoot them.
      Things I would have changed:392 is a little hard to pump without slaming the scope on the last few pumps.
      What others should know:A scope is a must for accuracy! I am considering buying the Marauder instead to replace my 392 pump version.I feel i would be able to keep my scope better aligned with this model.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By melissa from USA on 2012-06-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:very accurate when i added scope mounts and put a scope on it. it worked great
      Things I would have changed:i would make it so you can put a scope on it right when you get it but you cant just spend extra 27 dollars and get one
      What others should know:make sure you oil the gun once in a while with pellgun oil with you can purchase when you get the gun if not the seals will go bad.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By robert from USA on 2012-05-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Everything. Fit and finish as well as accuracy are awsome. If you shoot within what this gun is designed for you will not be dissapointed.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:No need to add a scope because you won't be going to this gun for 100 yard shots. The iron sights are fine. I may possible add a Williams sight.
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    Over
    ammo packs sold