Date: 26/7/2016 7:6
0

Benjamin 392 pump air rifle reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Stephen from USA on 2014-12-29 23:17:47

Things I liked: Buying the Benjamin 392 is like buying a working piece of history. As I read the posts of others on this site, it is very clear that nostalgia is driving the sales of the 392 and 397. I never had a pellet gun this nice, but enjoyed plinking with my old Daisy lever action BB gun in the late 50s and early 60s. When I opened the box and took out my Benjamin, it was love at first sight, what with the classic design and real wood stock and for-end. After installing and zeroing the Williams 64 sight, the gun proved to be highly accurate, shooting the core out of the bulls eye at 24 feet, and consistently hitting the innermost circle of the target. I had none of the troubles some reviewers had with their peep sights due to insufficient adjustment downward for elevation. I had to raise my peep sight four click marks and a nudge to the right and I was zeroed. Heaven help the rat that passes through my back yard. This gun is so much fun. I would give it seven stars, but five was the limit!

Things I would have changed: The box staples in the gun carton were punched in but not closed. This caused some cosmetic damage to the wood for-end. I cleaned it up with a dark brown furniture stick, and used a favorite polish to add some luster and sheen to the wood stock and for-end. I don't know why Crosman does not engrave the word "Benjamin" on the barrel, or add the words "Made in USA." These are points that were important for me in passing over the German, Turkish, and other foreign manufacturers.

What others should know: I am a left-handed shooter, but the right-handed bolt was no game breaker at all. I pump the gun with both arms, point the muzzle safely to the right, open the bolt with my left hand, insert the pellet near the breech with my right hand, close the bolt with my left hand, adjust the safety with my right hand, and I am ready for business. Also, letting the bolt physically insert the pellet in the breech means much less handling of the lead pellet by you, which can only be a good thing. I had excellent success with the Crosman 14.3 grain Premiere Magnum domed pellets, and they are about three bucks cheaper at Pyramid than similar stuff at my local sporting goods stores!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Terry from USA on 2015-10-22 18:34:36

Things I liked: Not as well made now as when Sheridan was still making Silver/Blue Streaks prior to 1990--I have a 1985 Silver Streak that is an absolute tack driver at 30 yds. Trying out several pellets, the Crosman Premiers 14 gr. are acceptable, but the JSB Match Diabolo Jumbo Heavy 18 gr. shoot 5-shot one ragged hole groups at 30 yds. H&N Barracuda's do just as good. The feel of this rifle is not as solid as my older Sheridan, which makes me wish I had hunted longer in the used market instead of giving up and buying a new one. I wanted a .22 for the pellet selection/availability, but my trusty .20 cal Silver Streak is going to remain my go-to rifle for tree rat hunting.

Things I would have changed: Benjamin NEEDS to rework the trigger group for this rifle. For this pricepoint and tradition, having a junk trigger that either needs professional level gunsmithing/kitching or another $30-50 of parts to fix, that is not acceptable. I understand the kitching/smithing fun in the shooting hobby, but not everyone has the tools or ability to do that and after paying $160 for a "tradionally" solid great rifle, this new version is an embarrassment to the Benjamin name. Shame on the beancounters for trashing a legend in the airgun industry. The barrels are no longer the hardened red bronze, they are bright gold brass which is softer and more prone to flex and wear.

What others should know: If you are willing and able to do some basic trigger work this could be a decent tree rat getter, but I don't forsee this rifle lasting 30 plus years like my old Sheridan has. The right pellet in this rifle can produce great accuracy, but the trigger hinders this gun from being an awesome purchase.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 78 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john from USA on 2016-06-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: good old pump up air rifle accuracy and I got the raccoon in my house

    Things I would have changed: not a thing

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-06-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I was impressed by the wood stock and the overall fit and finish.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger and plastic trigger guard.

    What others should know: I really like the quality of the wood stock and the overall look and feel of the gun. I'm still working on getting the gun sighted in and finding the best pellets to shoot.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Frank from USA on 2016-05-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything !

    Things I would have changed: Need some kind of pad or something ,were the pump lever closes against the cylinder.Leaves a mark and taking off the finish.

    What others should know: But it ! Best air gun I ever bought !

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Keith from USA on 2016-05-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The weight and balance makes for accurate off hand shooting hitting targets out to 27 yrds with no problem. (Ground Squirrels) This rifle is easy a 40 yard rifle.

    Things I would have changed: The manual needs more information on how to adjust the wind age. I had to go back a few years on reviews to find out how. Also how to oil the pump head.

    What others should know: The wind age screws are firm to turn but that is what holds zero. Example: to move P.O.I. to the right, loosen right screw just a little and then turn the left screw till it is snug. Also the gun was hard to pump until I read a couple year old review which stated to put a couple of pellgunoil on the pump head not in the air hole. Now I can put all day even with my left arm. This is the most accurate and fun to shoot rifle. It is a must to have in your gun collection. I got the 10 for 10, always get it. Another great Tom"s Pick! I use the 22 cal Crosman hollow point 14.3 grain. Dead on accurate.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By chad from USA on 2016-05-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Simple design with loads of fun.

    Things I would have changed: Better sights would be nice but this is how I remember this gun growing up.

    What others should know: Great multi use gun that will not let you down. It does take some effort to pump up.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By walter from USA on 2016-05-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I ordered this 2weeks ago. Had to send the 1st one back. Do to a malfunction of the air chamber. Got the 2nd today had it spot on in no time. Was very happy with the service I got. Was hitting a bud light can at 34 yards open sights 3 for 3 had to range finder it to make sure. Can we say nutters watch out this fall. I got the scoped one but was so happy with the open sights think I will hold off on putting it on. Till my eyes get older. I'm only 40 now so I have time.

    Things I would have changed: The stock doesn't line up right on the forearm. The 1st one I got was perfect tho. But I can live with it

    What others should know: Don't waste your time with getting other rifles. I did.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Harold from USA on 2016-04-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The gun is light weight, shoots hard and has an excellent trigger. After approx. 200 rounds the gun is getting broke in and shoots better all the time. I have a 4X scope and with 8 pumps I can shoot 1 inch groups at 40 yards from a rest. Its great on Squirrels and fun as well. I shoot RWS Superpoint Extra Field line 14.5 gr pellets and they make great penetration and are the most accurate for this gun that I have found. My gun is .22 Cal. There is no recoil at all and it doesn't wear you out pacing it in the woods.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to have a little high cheek piece for scope use, and, Sling swivels for a sling.

    What others should know: I can shoot wasps from the wall of my wood shed @ 20 yards with this set up or shoot a Squirrel in the eye at the same distance.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2016-03-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is the only pump gun I own that I take seriously for hunting. Shoots straight in .22 cal. It hits hard, seems to like my metalmags which I really like for hunting. Easy to load and cock, but pumping it is rather noisy and a bit rough. I have to do something about that wood to metal clacking. But gun appears to be rather well made. Not great but good. I wish 6the pump grip and stock fit together a bit better than they do. That part seems to me like they didn't spend much time making the fit as good as they can. I've seen older 392's with much better fitted wood that I wish I had kept.

    Things I would have changed: Fit of the stock and pump grip. Seems like it was put together in a hurry by a person that didn't really care about quality as much as they should. I see a full 3/8 gap between the two pieces and pump grip sits lower than the stock which I think could have been fitted much better if Crosman cared about quality still.

    What others should know: Fairly decent survival air gun. I'll need to correct a bit of the wood fit and finish if I can, but if needed for a survival reason it seems like a good gun to have in my gun racks.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Amber from USA on 2016-03-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The POWER and Accuracy this is a tack driver also made to last

    Things I would have changed: The front sight needs to be brighter and needs a better way to mount a scope but it is very accurate in its present configuration

    What others should know: It is very hard to pump at first it is starting to get easier have fired about 50 and I'm a big guy not for weak ppl

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By michael from USA on 2016-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: What a well built rifle. Shoulders nice and it is very comfortable to shoot. It is nice to see the grain of the wood for a change. Very pretty, much better than the picture. The accuracy will improve with a better rear sight.

    Things I would have changed: The only change I would make is the rear sight. It is way too fine. I will be ordering a peep for it. The forearm makes an awlful slap when pumping...a fine strip of weather stripping will dampen the blow. Nothing to worry about there.

    What others should know: This is how I learned as a young boy and reinforced later in the service how to judge if a gun has potential for accuracy. Right out of the box I fired 3 shots. It was a nice 2" group at 76.5 ft. off a rest. It is winter here in northern nys so I hung a target on a tree outside my bedroom window. Then I fired another 5 shots. That was a 4 inch group, had trouble finding the rear sight. It only takes 3 shots to see how accurate a gun will be. Prone is the best way, but a good rest is ok. 5 shots will tell about the shooter and 10 is just practicing. Just shoot in multiples of threes off a good rest and take your time. If it wasn't for me having trouble with the rear sight the 4" group would have most likely dropped to 3". I'll seriously sight in when I get the peep. This rifle will be very accurate, you won't be disappointed. Oh and I was firing at about 30 degrees into a crossword.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stanley from USA on 2016-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A wide range of ability to vary power, from a two-pump "stinger" to serious pest control "thump." Lightweight, accurate and sturdily built. An excellent value for the money.

    Things I would have changed: Add some sling swivels so you can hang it on your shoulder for extended carry. Not much else.

    What others should know: It's a good workout to pump, especially if you're shooting repeatedly at high power, but it's worth the effort. It's really a big boy air gun anyway.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great quality. This rifle is built to be handed down to my grandkids! Pretty decent accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: I need a special adapter to mount a scope. It would be nice if a weaver style mount was included.

    What others should know: An Airgun Classic!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2015-12-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice finish on stock and forearm. Powerful and accurate right out of the box. Only made minor adjustments to zero in.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: Get the 10 for $10.00 offer on any gun you purchase.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Terry from USA on 2015-10-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Not as well made now as when Sheridan was still making Silver/Blue Streaks prior to 1990--I have a 1985 Silver Streak that is an absolute tack driver at 30 yds. Trying out several pellets, the Crosman Premiers 14 gr. are acceptable, but the JSB Match Diabolo Jumbo Heavy 18 gr. shoot 5-shot one ragged hole groups at 30 yds. H&N Barracuda's do just as good. The feel of this rifle is not as solid as my older Sheridan, which makes me wish I had hunted longer in the used market instead of giving up and buying a new one. I wanted a .22 for the pellet selection/availability, but my trusty .20 cal Silver Streak is going to remain my go-to rifle for tree rat hunting.

    Things I would have changed: Benjamin NEEDS to rework the trigger group for this rifle. For this pricepoint and tradition, having a junk trigger that either needs professional level gunsmithing/kitching or another $30-50 of parts to fix, that is not acceptable. I understand the kitching/smithing fun in the shooting hobby, but not everyone has the tools or ability to do that and after paying $160 for a "tradionally" solid great rifle, this new version is an embarrassment to the Benjamin name. Shame on the beancounters for trashing a legend in the airgun industry. The barrels are no longer the hardened red bronze, they are bright gold brass which is softer and more prone to flex and wear.

    What others should know: If you are willing and able to do some basic trigger work this could be a decent tree rat getter, but I don't forsee this rifle lasting 30 plus years like my old Sheridan has. The right pellet in this rifle can produce great accuracy, but the trigger hinders this gun from being an awesome purchase.

  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    By JimPysht from USA on 2015-10-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks - and beautiful wood.

    Things I would have changed: Accuracy. And VERY loud slapping noise w/ each pump. One wonders how many strokes the wood fore-stock will take before cracking.

    What others should know: A pity that dove tail grooves were not machined in. Would enable a direct (dove-tail) mount, and lower profile than via an Intermount/Weaver system.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bill from USA on 2015-09-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Bought mine in .20 cal , is pretty accurate, likes Benjamin pellets, very light weight, nice wood stock.

    Things I would have changed: better factory quality control, front site and pump pin was tipped to the left side of gun .

    What others should know: get the 10 for 10 when purchased , mine come with the front site tipped to the left side along with the pump pin drilled to the same side , but is still nice gun, get in .22 cal more pellet selection than .20 cal

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By AirHead from USA on 2015-05-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Beautiful wood stock, open sights, bolt action loading port, nice trigger pull, it's a classic, smooth shooter, no recoil, accurate

    Things I would have changed: Rubber butt pad would be nice.

    What others should know: This is still a must own. Sometimes you don't want the power of a magnum springer or PCP. Sometimes you just want to sting, and not injure. The versatility of a pneumatic pump gives you this option. This is not a good squirrel gun. By the time you get to 8 pumps, the squirrel has moved on. I use mine for European starlings and English house sparrows, both of which are invasive species. First six pumps are easy. Pump 7 and 8 require some manly effort.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Chris from USA on 2015-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I am so glad I bought this gun! I don't have a lot of money, so this gun has been perfect for me. It requires very little maintenance. I keep it wrapped in a plastic bag in the box it came in in my trunk and shoot whenever I have the time. It is very accurate!! I bought a peep sight with this gun and the two go together perfectly. I can hit anything I aim at at a reasonable range. The power isn't overwhelming, but I don't think someone would choose this gun for power anyway. It is a terrific low maintenance, straight shooting, very reasonably priced, well made gun that I will buy again when it eventually wears out (no signs yet after 1 1/2 years).

    Things I would have changed: I think this gun is perfect for what it is meant to be. Some people have complained about the difficulty pumping it for the last few pumps. I have small arms and have no trouble.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Big Steve 244 from USA on 2015-03-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Exactly what I expected. This air rifle fulfills my need for a multi-pump pneumatic rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Zeroing your sights and breaking in the barrel is a weary task. Don't try to do it all in a day or even a weekend. It's a workout that doesn't provide equal strength conditioning to both arms unless you alternate your pumping arm. I often shoot a couple of hundred pellets in a session with my other types of air rifles. Remember that one hundred full power shots with the Benjamin 392 equals 800 pumps. That's a LOT of work. Just saying ...

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Chuck from USA on 2015-03-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's a classic rifle, love the wooden stock and variable power. Plenty for small game and pests. It's as light as my np trail pistol and with reliable accuracy. Just feels great to hold!

    Things I would have changed: Add a little thicker rubber stop to prevent such a loud crack from pumping. I alway clean the barrel so the overspray isn't a big deal. I do wish it had a little more fps, but not a big deal at all.

    What others should know: Definitely hit or miss on the barrel. Some rifle POI are too far left to compensate for. Not sure if cleaning the barrel is considered altering the rifle or not, so caution there. One thing I do know is, DO NOT ATTEMPT TO BEND THE BLADE! Read that in a reply to a post and tried it to compensate for the too far left. Snapped like balsa wood. I was able to make a "trade" to fix that. Also not certain where exctly to oil the seals, I only oil as specified in the owners manual.

  • 123 ... 78 Next
Navigation