Date: 30/3/2017 20:44
0

Benjamin 392 pump air rifle reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Stephen from USA on 2014-12-29 22:17:47

Things I liked: Buying the Benjamin 392 is like buying a working piece of history. As I read the posts of others on this site, it is very clear that nostalgia is driving the sales of the 392 and 397. I never had a pellet gun this nice, but enjoyed plinking with my old Daisy lever action BB gun in the late 50s and early 60s. When I opened the box and took out my Benjamin, it was love at first sight, what with the classic design and real wood stock and for-end. After installing and zeroing the Williams 64 sight, the gun proved to be highly accurate, shooting the core out of the bulls eye at 24 feet, and consistently hitting the innermost circle of the target. I had none of the troubles some reviewers had with their peep sights due to insufficient adjustment downward for elevation. I had to raise my peep sight four click marks and a nudge to the right and I was zeroed. Heaven help the rat that passes through my back yard. This gun is so much fun. I would give it seven stars, but five was the limit!

Things I would have changed: The box staples in the gun carton were punched in but not closed. This caused some cosmetic damage to the wood for-end. I cleaned it up with a dark brown furniture stick, and used a favorite polish to add some luster and sheen to the wood stock and for-end. I don't know why Crosman does not engrave the word "Benjamin" on the barrel, or add the words "Made in USA." These are points that were important for me in passing over the German, Turkish, and other foreign manufacturers.

What others should know: I am a left-handed shooter, but the right-handed bolt was no game breaker at all. I pump the gun with both arms, point the muzzle safely to the right, open the bolt with my left hand, insert the pellet near the breech with my right hand, close the bolt with my left hand, adjust the safety with my right hand, and I am ready for business. Also, letting the bolt physically insert the pellet in the breech means much less handling of the lead pellet by you, which can only be a good thing. I had excellent success with the Crosman 14.3 grain Premiere Magnum domed pellets, and they are about three bucks cheaper at Pyramid than similar stuff at my local sporting goods stores!

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By mark from USA on 2016-11-22 14:47:15

Things I liked: There was actually nothing I liked about the rifle. I've had several of the "old" benjamins before Crosman took them over and there is no comparison in quality.

Things I would have changed: Well, if I could change it, I would walk through the Crosman plant and shake some pride into the production workers and clean house with the supervision/production managers and quality folks....they need to go!

What others should know: Here's what you need to know: If you purchase a Benjamin 392 or 397, what you will most likely get is a sub-standard product that is far surpassed by the air rifles produced overseas and you know where I mean. The quality issues with the one I received were as follows: 1. The front blade sight was so canted to the left I ran out of windage adjustment to sight in at even 10 yards. Of course these are soldered on so there is no fixing that. 2. The inletting for the action allowed the trigger group to not sit even close to the bottom of the stock...trigger group was about 3/8" from being flush with the bottom of the stock. 3. Inside the compression tube was dirty, greasy gunk from the manufacturing process. Imagine that getting pumped into the valve and allowing the check valve and exhaust valve to not seat properly. So, I called Pyramyd Air and they made it right so this is in no way a review of them, but rather of Crosman. Ended up with a 397 because a decent 392 couldn't be found.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 78 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By randy from USA on 2017-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Like many other reviewers this was similar to the gun I had as a kid, my Dad had the silver streak and I had the blue streak. Some great memories hunting cotton tails and doves, quail and pheasants with these guns. I also currently have several of the break barrel designs by Gamo and Beeman. These 392 Benjamin's seem like a very high quality gun. Even better than my old Sheridan. I still have an old 1974 Sheridan that fell off of a shelf from one of our Calif earthquakes but still operates. This Benjamin is a hard hitting gun & accurate too. I like the extra knock down power of the 22 cal. I now wished I wud have ordered the scope version as my eyesight is lacking. So I will now have to order the scope and special brackets. I didn't need this gun, but I wanted it, and I will enjoy it. I'm not shooting my supper anymore, but plinking targets is fun. I say to buy one, you will luv it.

    Things I would have changed: The hardwood stock is beautiful, but kind of heavy and I'm worried about scratches and such. I wonder how a plastic stock wud do? I'm going to have to buy a case to protect the wood finish.

    What others should know: I luv how there is absolutely no recoil. I was shocked when I first shot a break barrel. Loud as all get out and some recoil. I also have several Co2 powered airguns. At some point I may jump to a pre filled tank set up and a larger bore. I have several firearms that are much less expensive, but I somehow enjoy the old school technology of using compressed air to fire a projectile.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Paul from USA on 2017-01-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The stock is more comfortable than the original Sheridan style. Modern version of a classic air rifle. In a common caliber, you can get pellets anywhere. Good quality of materials, better than most air rifles being made today. Light weight. Decent power.

    Things I would have changed: Mounting a scope would be nice but with this design it won't work for me. I will just enjoy it for what it is. Maybe I will add a peep sight in the future..

    What others should know: Accuracy with iron sights is as good as I can do with any other air rifle using only iron sights .Accuracy is better than many air rifles than I shoot with iron sights.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2016-12-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Been wanting this gun for years. Finally got one! I am totally satisfied with it. I know it will last, because it is a quality product. Accurate, fun to shoot, easy to pump, reliable.

    Things I would have changed: I installed a Williams peep sight, now i can hit whatever I see in range!

    What others should know: Keep it lubricated and it will last a lifetime.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By thomas from USA on 2016-12-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A well made american classic, over the years some manufacturers drifted away from quality, but not benjamin, Good power and decent accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: Only manufacturer that uses brass barrel, not sure why, would steel be better?

    What others should know: A little difficult to pump compared to crossman guns,

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By mark from USA on 2016-11-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: There was actually nothing I liked about the rifle. I've had several of the "old" benjamins before Crosman took them over and there is no comparison in quality.

    Things I would have changed: Well, if I could change it, I would walk through the Crosman plant and shake some pride into the production workers and clean house with the supervision/production managers and quality folks....they need to go!

    What others should know: Here's what you need to know: If you purchase a Benjamin 392 or 397, what you will most likely get is a sub-standard product that is far surpassed by the air rifles produced overseas and you know where I mean. The quality issues with the one I received were as follows: 1. The front blade sight was so canted to the left I ran out of windage adjustment to sight in at even 10 yards. Of course these are soldered on so there is no fixing that. 2. The inletting for the action allowed the trigger group to not sit even close to the bottom of the stock...trigger group was about 3/8" from being flush with the bottom of the stock. 3. Inside the compression tube was dirty, greasy gunk from the manufacturing process. Imagine that getting pumped into the valve and allowing the check valve and exhaust valve to not seat properly. So, I called Pyramyd Air and they made it right so this is in no way a review of them, but rather of Crosman. Ended up with a 397 because a decent 392 couldn't be found.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2016-10-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate, solid sturdy construction, well balanced

    Things I would have changed: Make it easier to pump...I know it's possible, the Daisy 880 & 901 are both relatively easy to pump and don't get more difficult for each pump

    What others should know: The 10 for 10 deal offered by Pyramyd Air is well worth the extra $10, I knew I was not receiving a lemon or a new gun with any defects. I had purchased the same gun from another online store a few weeks prior and it was defective, the POI (point of impact) at 5 meters was over 1 1/2" to the right of center. With the 10 for 10 tests, that defective gun never would've passed inspection.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2016-09-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great product!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cliff from USA on 2016-09-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun is a classic it's very nice

    Things I would have changed: The rear sight is hard to adjust for windage

    What others should know: If you don't have one you might want to consider one I choose the 392 Benjamin over my marader for plinking because the marader is heavy and don't have open sights

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john from USA on 2016-06-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: good old pump up air rifle accuracy and I got the raccoon in my house

    Things I would have changed: not a thing

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-06-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I was impressed by the wood stock and the overall fit and finish.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger and plastic trigger guard.

    What others should know: I really like the quality of the wood stock and the overall look and feel of the gun. I'm still working on getting the gun sighted in and finding the best pellets to shoot.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Frank from USA on 2016-05-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything !

    Things I would have changed: Need some kind of pad or something ,were the pump lever closes against the cylinder.Leaves a mark and taking off the finish.

    What others should know: But it ! Best air gun I ever bought !

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Keith from USA on 2016-05-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The weight and balance makes for accurate off hand shooting hitting targets out to 27 yrds with no problem. (Ground Squirrels) This rifle is easy a 40 yard rifle.

    Things I would have changed: The manual needs more information on how to adjust the wind age. I had to go back a few years on reviews to find out how. Also how to oil the pump head.

    What others should know: The wind age screws are firm to turn but that is what holds zero. Example: to move P.O.I. to the right, loosen right screw just a little and then turn the left screw till it is snug. Also the gun was hard to pump until I read a couple year old review which stated to put a couple of pellgunoil on the pump head not in the air hole. Now I can put all day even with my left arm. This is the most accurate and fun to shoot rifle. It is a must to have in your gun collection. I got the 10 for 10, always get it. Another great Tom"s Pick! I use the 22 cal Crosman hollow point 14.3 grain. Dead on accurate.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By chad from USA on 2016-05-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Simple design with loads of fun.

    Things I would have changed: Better sights would be nice but this is how I remember this gun growing up.

    What others should know: Great multi use gun that will not let you down. It does take some effort to pump up.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By walter from USA on 2016-05-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I ordered this 2weeks ago. Had to send the 1st one back. Do to a malfunction of the air chamber. Got the 2nd today had it spot on in no time. Was very happy with the service I got. Was hitting a bud light can at 34 yards open sights 3 for 3 had to range finder it to make sure. Can we say nutters watch out this fall. I got the scoped one but was so happy with the open sights think I will hold off on putting it on. Till my eyes get older. I'm only 40 now so I have time.

    Things I would have changed: The stock doesn't line up right on the forearm. The 1st one I got was perfect tho. But I can live with it

    What others should know: Don't waste your time with getting other rifles. I did.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Harold from USA on 2016-04-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The gun is light weight, shoots hard and has an excellent trigger. After approx. 200 rounds the gun is getting broke in and shoots better all the time. I have a 4X scope and with 8 pumps I can shoot 1 inch groups at 40 yards from a rest. Its great on Squirrels and fun as well. I shoot RWS Superpoint Extra Field line 14.5 gr pellets and they make great penetration and are the most accurate for this gun that I have found. My gun is .22 Cal. There is no recoil at all and it doesn't wear you out pacing it in the woods.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to have a little high cheek piece for scope use, and, Sling swivels for a sling.

    What others should know: I can shoot wasps from the wall of my wood shed @ 20 yards with this set up or shoot a Squirrel in the eye at the same distance.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2016-03-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is the only pump gun I own that I take seriously for hunting. Shoots straight in .22 cal. It hits hard, seems to like my metalmags which I really like for hunting. Easy to load and cock, but pumping it is rather noisy and a bit rough. I have to do something about that wood to metal clacking. But gun appears to be rather well made. Not great but good. I wish 6the pump grip and stock fit together a bit better than they do. That part seems to me like they didn't spend much time making the fit as good as they can. I've seen older 392's with much better fitted wood that I wish I had kept.

    Things I would have changed: Fit of the stock and pump grip. Seems like it was put together in a hurry by a person that didn't really care about quality as much as they should. I see a full 3/8 gap between the two pieces and pump grip sits lower than the stock which I think could have been fitted much better if Crosman cared about quality still.

    What others should know: Fairly decent survival air gun. I'll need to correct a bit of the wood fit and finish if I can, but if needed for a survival reason it seems like a good gun to have in my gun racks.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Amber from USA on 2016-03-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The POWER and Accuracy this is a tack driver also made to last

    Things I would have changed: The front sight needs to be brighter and needs a better way to mount a scope but it is very accurate in its present configuration

    What others should know: It is very hard to pump at first it is starting to get easier have fired about 50 and I'm a big guy not for weak ppl

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By michael from USA on 2016-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: What a well built rifle. Shoulders nice and it is very comfortable to shoot. It is nice to see the grain of the wood for a change. Very pretty, much better than the picture. The accuracy will improve with a better rear sight.

    Things I would have changed: The only change I would make is the rear sight. It is way too fine. I will be ordering a peep for it. The forearm makes an awlful slap when pumping...a fine strip of weather stripping will dampen the blow. Nothing to worry about there.

    What others should know: This is how I learned as a young boy and reinforced later in the service how to judge if a gun has potential for accuracy. Right out of the box I fired 3 shots. It was a nice 2" group at 76.5 ft. off a rest. It is winter here in northern nys so I hung a target on a tree outside my bedroom window. Then I fired another 5 shots. That was a 4 inch group, had trouble finding the rear sight. It only takes 3 shots to see how accurate a gun will be. Prone is the best way, but a good rest is ok. 5 shots will tell about the shooter and 10 is just practicing. Just shoot in multiples of threes off a good rest and take your time. If it wasn't for me having trouble with the rear sight the 4" group would have most likely dropped to 3". I'll seriously sight in when I get the peep. This rifle will be very accurate, you won't be disappointed. Oh and I was firing at about 30 degrees into a crossword.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stanley from USA on 2016-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A wide range of ability to vary power, from a two-pump "stinger" to serious pest control "thump." Lightweight, accurate and sturdily built. An excellent value for the money.

    Things I would have changed: Add some sling swivels so you can hang it on your shoulder for extended carry. Not much else.

    What others should know: It's a good workout to pump, especially if you're shooting repeatedly at high power, but it's worth the effort. It's really a big boy air gun anyway.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great quality. This rifle is built to be handed down to my grandkids! Pretty decent accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: I need a special adapter to mount a scope. It would be nice if a weaver style mount was included.

    What others should know: An Airgun Classic!

  • 123 ... 78 Next
Navigation