Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Benjamin 392 pump air rifle reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By joey from USA on 2008-04-27 08:14:57

    Things I liked:It is easy to pump for kids. Very accurate [for good shooters] . Bearly need to sight it in out of the box. Very VERY good sights. It has very power
    Things I would have changed:I would of made the front sight thinner, for better shots. And that is pretty much it.
    What others should know:This gun shoots at 50 yards with very little drop! I am just a 9 year old kid and I can hit a soup can at 50 yards with this gun. This gun is a very VERY good gun. if you just like shooting in the backyard , buy this gun!!!!!
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By Colli from USA on 2014-07-02 18:44:38

    Things I liked:Simplicity, caliber, "real" parts (wood and metal), little recoil and size. I can keep groups inside 1/2" at 10yds and I'm not a good shot. (But grouping is no good if the group is not on the target. Read on...)
    Things I would have changed:Front sight (like many others), I'd like a cheek rest on the stock, add a OEM pump lever damper to reduce the slam of the wood against steel. (I'm afraid the wood will crack with time) Not a fan of the triger.
    What others should know:This is a good gun. Scubbing $20 off the price would make it much better. The pump action is a pro and a con. Pro is that it allows for variation in power, con in that it is not convenient or easy to pump after ~5. My sample has what appears to be a "regular" quality issue. The rear sight will not adjust enough to hit a target 10yd out. It is always left. At 10yds groups are ~1" left of center. I have ideas on how to make it right. The front blade is a "invisible" in some settings. A bright colored edge could help (fiber-optic?) I mostly use for target shooting. Have taken a rabbit with it. I think the trigger is, at best, average. Very little stage 1 and to deliver the pellet, takes a good deal of effort.
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2014-10-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Not a break barrel. Accuracy improves with practice. 3 or 4 pumps plenty for practice. 8 pumps for hunting. I use it to rid pond of unwanted turtles. It is better than I expected.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Everybody should have one. Fun to shoot,accurate, and quality built.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Julian from USA on 2014-10-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Iron sights, simple and reliable
      Things I would have changed:Might add a sling if one were available
      What others should know:I adjusted the iron sights for elevation and was able to shoot a good group at 50 feet. Very pleased with the accuracy.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Cameron from USA on 2014-09-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quality, metal and wood construction, good tolerances on the metal parts, bolt handle, etc. Plenty of power for small game hunting and plinks well with only a few pumps. Very accurate with Williams peep and paint removed from barrel, hitting 1/2" bull at 10m every shot with JSB's.
      Things I would have changed:Stock rear sight is horrible. Needs the Williams peep from the factory - in my opinion, this gun isn't meant to be scoped, although I know plenty do. Removed the stock sight before shooting a single shot and put the peep on. Barrel needs paint overspray removed from the the last couple inches for best accuracy. Forearm doesn't line up perfectly with the rest of the stock and the clack is really loud - installed a piece of foam weatherstripping underneath to quiet it down.
      What others should know:With a few small tweaks that I have outlined above and recommended all over the net, this is a solid gun and will last a long time. Clean the paint overspray out of the barrel, swab the barrel until clean, oil your hinges regularly and shoot to your heart's content. Lots of room left for performance gains if you want to go the Steroid route. Awesome performance on squirrel, have taken 9 squirrels that were ruining my tomatoes in the last 3 weeks and every one has been a clean one shot takedown, whether head or vital shot. Mine shoots best with JSB domes, and 8 pump head shots with them are devastating. Will be doing a lot of squirrel hunting this fall and will update on experiences with hollow point terminal performance on the nutters later in the season. Overall a lot of gun for the money here.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By bart from USA on 2014-08-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the accuracy, reliability, durability, trigger and weight of this rifle. I originally tried a Benjamin Titan rifle but I could not get consistent shots and it was too heavy / bulky. I didn't like having to convert to the "artillery position" to shoot the Titan because of weird recoil issues with the Titan. I switched to the 392 and have been extremely pleased with it's accuracy and consistency. I also like that it's compact and does not weigh too much. I added a BSA pistol scope to it and it's a great combination. I've had the 392 for over a year now and I love it.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Grant from USA on 2014-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Made in USA, metal and wood construction, quiet, little recoil, and accurate. I only have shot a few dozen times but this is a fun and accurate shooter right out of the box.
      Things I would have changed:The sights are not great. I would agree the sights are lackluster and would advise perhaps a peep sight upgrade. Oddly enough, the packaging was minimal and the front of mine was slightly scratched due to moving around during shipment.
      What others should know:This is a phenomenal pump action air gun. I love the balance and feel as well as the accuracy. This gun is one of the best I have ever shot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By krunchnik from USA on 2014-07-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Wood stock,all metal construction including the trigger and guard.A very solid feeling air rifle.Accuracy is top notch-quarter size groups at 15 yards.
      Things I would have changed:Possibly quality of the rear sights could be better-perhaps being sold with Williams type sight from the factory.
      What others should know:I mounted the Williams peep sight on my rifle right away and am very happy with the setup.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Colli from USA on 2014-07-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Simplicity, caliber, "real" parts (wood and metal), little recoil and size. I can keep groups inside 1/2" at 10yds and I'm not a good shot. (But grouping is no good if the group is not on the target. Read on...)
      Things I would have changed:Front sight (like many others), I'd like a cheek rest on the stock, add a OEM pump lever damper to reduce the slam of the wood against steel. (I'm afraid the wood will crack with time) Not a fan of the triger.
      What others should know:This is a good gun. Scubbing $20 off the price would make it much better. The pump action is a pro and a con. Pro is that it allows for variation in power, con in that it is not convenient or easy to pump after ~5. My sample has what appears to be a "regular" quality issue. The rear sight will not adjust enough to hit a target 10yd out. It is always left. At 10yds groups are ~1" left of center. I have ideas on how to make it right. The front blade is a "invisible" in some settings. A bright colored edge could help (fiber-optic?) I mostly use for target shooting. Have taken a rabbit with it. I think the trigger is, at best, average. Very little stage 1 and to deliver the pellet, takes a good deal of effort.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2014-06-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Rear sight, great inexpensive design to adjust windage and elevation, well done. Adjustments fine enough to sight the rifle in well, with respect to it's accuracy potential. Accurate. I did my sighting in with 4 pumps, one hole accuracy at 10yds, 10 rounds. Feels like the one I shot when I was a kid. Every other updated model out there now feels like a toy that I'll break the plastic receiver if I man handle it just the wrong way. This feels like a rifle. Wood is well done, not some pressboard laminate fake imitation.
      Things I would have changed:Better front sight, I'll Paint the front sight... gotta get my day glow orange / red out. Directions for windage adjustment missing from the manual.... The two screws that seemingly hold in the rear sight to it's mount are used to adjust the rear sight for windage. Loosen both about half way out and look, and you'll see that when the screws are loose, you than can use one screw to move the rear sight over in one direction within the mount one way, and the other screw to move it the other way (make sure the opposite screw is backed out more than enough for the distance the sight needs to travel). If you went too far one way, you'll have to loosen that last screw up/have it away from the mount, and than turn in the opposite screw till it makes contact and starts to move the rear sight. Once sighted in, leave the screw you last adjusted alone (since it's already against the mount), and tighten up the opposite screw. Hope that makes sense.
      What others should know:Others say no windage adjustment, not so, there is. The problem is , the manual says there is, but doesn't tell you how to. Was running out of room in this section, see above in "Things I would change". I did find it to be very accurate at 4 pumps, can always get single hole groups with 10rnds at 10 yds (indoors). But at 7 pumps, groups opened up, and shots started to group to the left 1" (at 10 yds), very consistent. Thought maybe it was me, after pump 7x, and than firing. So alternated, 2 sets of 10 at 4 pumps, than 2 sets of 10 at 7 pumps. Did that a few times. Same results. I found it easier and easier to get the 4 pumps, got use to it. 7 never got easier. But results stayed the same, GREAT accuracy with 4pumps. Good accuracy, and to the left 1" with 7 pumps. Average Elevation was the same ( taking into consideration that the groups opened up ) between 4 and 7 pumps.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bryan from USA on 2014-06-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I'm not a fan of plastic in firearms, so most of the airguns that are on the market do not appeal to me. I feel that plastic, while lightening weight, just feels cheap when handled. I like to shoot regularly and I don't want to shoot something that feels like a kids toy or has seams from being injection molded.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:I have put 2000 pellets through my rifle since I received it. I installed the Air Venturi intermount and a Leapers "Bug Buster" scope a few days after I got it and have been picking grasshoppers of of fence posts at 40-50 feet with no problems and few misses.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Stanley from USA on 2014-04-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Knock down energy,light weight. I bought the model 392 for a friend of mine 2 years ago he really likes it very much.I have 2 model 342 circa 1975, they still function very well store them with two pumps and still hold air to this day.
      Things I would have changed:I wouldn't change anything on these guns they are what they are.
      What others should know:To loud for backyard shooting neighbors might complain. Make sure to keep them oiled and store with at least 1 to 2 pumps
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Glen from USA on 2014-04-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Its a traditional old school design.
      Things I would have changed:worst feature is the pump handle ergonomics. Pump handle comes off the very end of the rifle, and has about a 140 degree action - a long ways and not easy to do, especially for a kid. There are much better designs out there now.
      What others should know:If you had one before and really liked it, get one. Spring guns are much faster to operate, easier to load, etc..
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Norm from USA on 2014-02-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great action and knock down power perfect for the tree rats in my area!!!!! Easy to pump but gets you the power to know them out of the tree+++++ all the way
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Paul from USA on 2013-12-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fun old design shoots well after lots of effort.
      Things I would have changed:Crosman needs to step it up on the QC. I've got a 397, HB22 and a 392. None were straight (front sight canted and barrel to pump tube weld off center) and all had lots of paint in the barrel. Rifling doesn't cut as deep into the pellets as I'd like. Cut the stock further back for better leverage on the pump. I'd really like to see an update to this design pumpers are cool.
      What others should know:Paint in the barrel is horrible! It's a very hard paint that will cause fouling and ruin accuracy. I chased this problem for months before realizing that I'd missed a spot about an inch before the crown. Acetone and a q-tip will get it with some effort. I re-crowned it with a brass pan head screw, valve lapping compound then polished with rouge. The blade sight works OK but the Williams 64 will make it perform. Best accuracy pellets for me were Crosman HPs and JSB Exact Jumbo Heavy 18.13gr.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By CHARLES E from USA on 2013-12-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy. I wish I shot as good as this rifle does. Perhaps with some hard work and new eyes I may be able to.
      Things I would have changed:I can't think of a thing. The kids enjoy the no recoil and the low noise. Did I mention that it is extremely accurate. It allows me to describe for them what they are doing wrong. They can't blame it on the gun.
      What others should know:This is definitely not a gun for little kids. My grandson is no wimp. He is on the track team at school and works out with weights and he had a hard time pumping it to eight pumps. There were some occasions during our shooting session where he quit because he didn't think he could pump one more pump. We haven't fired the requisite 250 shots through it yet. Hope that with more shooting the pumping gets easier. At 76 I am not counting on getting any younger. With old age comes cunning. I have figured out how to cheat on pumping the rifle and can reach the max, but it took some figuring. Not enough space to describe how to cheat.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By Orlo from USA on 2013-11-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very fast velocity compared to a lead pellet.
      Things I would have changed:They are a bit on the pricey side.
      What others should know:I was shooting these in a Benjamin NPS .177 - Just about 1000fps with lead, claimed 1200fps with alloys (I haven't chrono'ed them yet). If you are in the same boat where lead will be less than the speed of sound and alloy faster be prepared for a LOT louder report. The .177 with 9-11gr lead pellets is fairly quiet but I need ear muffs when shooting the alloys in my barn. Kind of a novelty but pretty cool.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By John from USA on 2013-08-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Overall fit and finish is nice. Variable pressures.
      Things I would have changed:Rear sight, the sight radius could be longer as with a Williams sight. Quality control, most reviews are favorable that is why I purchased the 392. However I must have gotten an exception. I have read of a couple of others having the same problem.
      What others should know:I had to send it to the manufacturer because I couldn't get the sights aligned. The rear sight was adjusted to it's limits and needed more. I read two other reviews, one here and another at Crosman's website of others having the same problem. I used a straight edge along the barrel and could get a .025 feeler gauge between the barrel and straight edge at the front sight. At first I thought it was the OE rear sight and purchased a Williams peep sight to remedy the problem, however the same held true with the new sight, leading me to see if the barrel was true as best that I could determine. I will try to update this review when I get the results from the manufacturer.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-08-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I've had my 392 for about 3 months and have been very pleased. It is not picky about pellets. Shoots all very well, especially after I installed the Williams peep sight. Weight of gun is just right. Not heavy but enough weight to keep steady when shooting offhand. Wood stock is nicely finished. Has plenty of power to take small game at reasonable ranges.
      Things I would have changed:Factory rear sight is the only "weak" point of the rifle. Difficult to quickly aquire correct sight picture. Sight radius very short, which doesn't help with accuracy. Definitely recommend getting Williams Peep sight.
      What others should know:Great rifle for the price. While you can get scope mounts for this rifle, I wouldn't recomment it. Pumping rifle to full power would be difficult with a scope mounted. This isn't a long range rifle, and with peep sights, accuracy is very good. I limit my range to 30 yards, and I can consistly get 1 1/2 inch groups at this range with my peep sights.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Mike from USA on 2013-07-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A very good reliable air rifle. I have no need to carry any extra gear except for pellets.
      Things I would have changed:This rifle needs a better sight. The "Buckhorn" is just terrible [in my honest opinion] I put on a Williams 64 Peep sight & am getting nickle sized groups at 40 yards.
      What others should know:This is just the rifle you should be looking at for a survival rifle,small game,pest control, & good old plinking fun. Yes, you are gonna have to pump it up for each shot, but it is a reliable all around fun gun to shoot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Steve from USA on 2013-07-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Look, its a beautiful rifle. Fit, it all fits solid, even when pumping it up. The size, like having a high speed pistol. Open Sights work just fine (I am not a fan of scopes on air guns- maybe if it were a high power PCP, then a scope).
      Things I would have changed:Price, but it wasn't too much or i wouldn't have bought it.
      What others should know:It will shoot close range at 3 pumps just fine. It is a lot more effort for each "Cock"of the 392 than it is for a pump up pistol ) like my 1322; but it is less effort for each pump than you'll find in a high power break barrel. If it holds up long term (like a lot of reviews say it will it will be a favorite of mine...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joshua from USA on 2013-06-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:If your going to buy a multi pump, this is the one. I've had one for ten years and it's been kicked, dropped, stored, and abused and still is a tack driver. My front blade sight broke off halfway and so I glued a pellet upside down to what was left and iotstill is deadly accurate. Love this gun.
      Things I would have changed:not much, maybe easier windage adjustment.
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top