Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Benjamin Discovery Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Jerry from USA on 2009-11-19 18:51:01

    Things I liked:Just got my 22 discovery today, I have both Marauders and both discoveries. This 22 seems to shoot very fast, I only get from 10 to 15 shots on a fill up, compared to the 17 calibers 25 shots. This gun is very powerful I put a 16 power scope on it and as fast as I pull the trigger the pellet hits the target, I use the 14.5 grain Crossman pellets. This guns power supply would easily handle a 25 caliber. It is definitely an Air hog, it seems to have a sweet spot at about 1500 PSI above that it throws flyers,something the other guns don't do. But that is because of the speed of the pellet IMHO,. Speed in excess of about 1100 FPS seems to do that and from what I can Judge, this is the fastest gun of all the other three. I don't have a way of testing the speed , but it is obvious that this is by far the most powerful of all the New rifles Benjamin made. It is light, and a breezy to carry, and I have also done installed sling swivels. The gun might settle down when it is shot a lot, but for now it is a screamer. I'd like for it to shoot the 900 advertised speed, it for sure is faster than mu Marauder 17 and 22 and the Discovery 17. So maybe it is because it is throwing out more air Not for sure, time will tell. My other 3 Benjamin's will take the lid off of a plastic soda bottle pointing towards me at 30 yards consistant from my bench, I hope this one does the same after a few more break in shots,.
    Things I would have changed:Well it seems like it's all intact, some sling swivels would be nice, But I done put mine on..
    What others should know:This gun is powerful, if it is bought for one of your youngsters, by all means coach him or her before turning them loose with this gun, it definitely isn't a toy, it is by far more powerful than a CB cap,,. It will probably take down a Raccoon real easy, at least mine will I have no doubt about it..
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2013-11-20 09:01:49

    Things I liked:Inexpensive. Crosman customer service. Pyramyd's return policy.
    Things I would have changed:Quality control. This rifle was missing the stock mounting screw and the lower set screw for the barrel band. It also leaked badly. Crosman needs to step it up with the quality control, this is unacceptable for a brand new rifle even an inexpensive one.
    What others should know:Pyramyd was easy to deal with and I returned this rifle. I would caution the buyer to spend the extra 10 dollars to assure you get a complete and working rifle. Sadly these day's you never know what you will get sight unseen. I have been purchasing Crosman products for over 40 years. Lately it seems to be hit or miss with them. As a company they are prompt to respond and help with any issue. I only wish they would take more time inspecting what they sell. I do own quite a few of their PCP rifles now and up to this point I had no problems. Just a lemon I'm sure but be aware that you too could end up with something that left the factory incomplete and leaking.
    Sort by:
    • 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Pedro from Canada on 2014-08-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Gun is light, trigger is decent for amount paid. Lots of power. Like that only needs 2000 psi to operate so gun is easy to fill by hand pump. Very good accuracy. Like that its made in USA!
      Things I would have changed:Not much but maybe quiet it down some.
      What others should know:Gun is kind of load, not back yard friendly but TKO makes silencer that seems to do good job of quieting it down. In .22 cal gun shoots AIr Arms 16 grain pellets in 925 fps range producing 25 fpe. Recommend this gun for people on budget who want pcp air gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2014-07-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate. Light weight (especially compared to the Marauder). Easy to pump up to 2000 psi (again compared to the Marauder's 3000 psi). I enjoy shooting both my Marauder .25cal and this Discovery .22cal, I find they are both excellent hunting rifles. I plan to use the Discovery for pest control at 50 yds. and under, and the Marauder for farther ranges though I think the Discovery is more than capable of longer range accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:I would change the way the stock mounts to the pressure tube. Though it has a beefy screw on the outside, that only attaches to a weak 8-32 Lug. I found mine to be nearly stripped and unable to be tightened. Rather than return the rifle and get who knows what back I chose to machine a new Lug out of better quality materials and have had no trouble since. This was the only flaw I found to be a problem. I would also like regular iron sights as fiber optic sights are not accurate for me, but that's just me. While the trigger is not match grade it is a comfortable pull (and remember the price it is selling for). Cocking the gun is harder than the Marauder but a little lube helps with that.
      What others should know:When I bought my Discovery .22cal I also bought several sample packs of pellets to test accuracy and used a chronograph for performance testing. I found My gun favors the Crosman Premier hollow points 14.3 gr (3/4" groups at 35 yds.) I also found that my rifle has fewer usable shot depending on range ( 10 at 60 yds. / 15 at under 35 yds.) This does not sound like a good count however, Those ten shots are sending 14.3 grains at an average of 891 fps or 25+ foot-pounds of energy out of the box. Others results may vary but for a single shot rifle this light, 10 high powered shots that can hit a one inch target at over 60 yds. without changing my point of aim (between shots) works for me. This is with a BSA 4X32 AO scope that was packaged with a spring piston rifle. Final thoughts-After using the Marauder and now the Discovery I think they are both great rifles. If on a tight budget the Discovery will perform very well. If you have a bigger budget the Marauder is just more refined.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jesse from USA on 2014-07-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: Almost everything about this air rifle. The bluing and wood stock excellent. It has a lot of features for the money. Fiber optic sights are great.
      Things I would have changed:I would like a metal trigger and trigger guard...otherwise great.
      What others should know:Even if you have scuba tank fill station invest in the hand pump. The hand pump makes a great only more versatile. It takes some effort to hand pump this gun but not really bad. It moderately loud but not bad for a .22.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2014-07-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Don't know what to say good that has not been said already. Accurate, easy to pump, lite weight, just a nice rifle. Oh put a TKO brake on it.
      Things I would have changed:Make it in .20.
      What others should know:Best buy in air guns.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By kyle from USA on 2014-04-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Overall the gun is great. The stock is very solid with a great finish. I had no problem mounting sling studs. The gun has a great feel and is super light and can be carried I. The field all day with no issues. The gun is quite accurate it was able to maintain sub inch groups out to 40 yds and 1 1/2 out to 65 yds. I found that it really liked the Crossman Premier brown box heavy 10.4 gr pellets. I tried all the RWS pellets and they would not group as well. With no modification the gun was able to give 28 full power shots before accuracy started to drop off.
      Things I would have changed:I know it would change the price a little bit but it would be awesome, to have adjustable power without having to buy extra accessories. That would also allow more shots per fill. The trigger is a little rough. But better than my 397.
      What others should know:Make sure if you buy Air Venturi scuba adapter. Also buy the female fitting to go with the adapter it. It does not come with it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By craig from USA on 2014-04-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is a nice looking rifle. Light weight.
      Things I would have changed:Make it quieter. Make it a repeater, but keep it at the same price. LOL.
      What others should know:I had a Marauder first and it spoiled me. I sent the Discovery back because I was disappointed after comparing it to the Marauder. It is hard to load with a scope installed. Also, it is loud. I think if this one was my first PCP I would have loved it. It is light and accurate. The trigger is pretty good too. Buy it as your first PCP not your second. For the money it is a good buy. By the way PA was very good to deal with when I sent it back. No problems at all.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Trumpet Will Travel from USA on 2014-02-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Size, my other guns are 2-3 lbs. heavier and 43"-47" long. This is 39.5" and really light-weight. Very user-friendly particularly for a first AND ONLY PCP. A lot of barrel-length as a PCP: "break-barrel" rifles have that awkward joint in the middle and weigh a ton.
      Things I would have changed:Would be nice if the barrel was braced at the front, the first thing I noticed is that the reservoir seems very rigid; the barrel is not attached anywhere past the brace midway. You can flex the barrel at the sight with your thumb: a brace would make a nice aftermarket item, I am tooling a "one-of" for myself.
      What others should know:This is the most accurate of all the airgun types due to no recoil. My spring and gas-piston rifles are no match (technique?). All you need to shoot more consistently is to buy a pump and this rifle. It can be had for roughly $230 with the discounts Pyramyd offers from time to time. I am all-in with the Discovery plus a soft case and requisite pump sourced from Amazon. Total outlay less than $400. All the gun anyone needs, so treat yourself / worth every cent.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By CHRISTIAN from USA on 2014-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:My 13 year old bugged me for this gun for months and he was blessed enough to get for Christmas. Thanks to Pyramid taking paypal where I had some $. He loves it! Isn't that all that matters? Now, I am bugged about a scope. This is all good, no girls on his mind yet!
      What others should know:For a good, basic, PCP it cannot be beat! I have had a stable of airguns. For a first airgun or first PCP do not hesitate.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By James from USA on 2013-12-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Modest size and weight, price. It was my introduction to PCP.
      Things I would have changed:Cannot quite adjust the rear sight high enough. Scope OK. Sight screws also are just a tad smaller than the smallest gunsmith screwdriver bit I have.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2013-11-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Inexpensive. Crosman customer service. Pyramyd's return policy.
      Things I would have changed:Quality control. This rifle was missing the stock mounting screw and the lower set screw for the barrel band. It also leaked badly. Crosman needs to step it up with the quality control, this is unacceptable for a brand new rifle even an inexpensive one.
      What others should know:Pyramyd was easy to deal with and I returned this rifle. I would caution the buyer to spend the extra 10 dollars to assure you get a complete and working rifle. Sadly these day's you never know what you will get sight unseen. I have been purchasing Crosman products for over 40 years. Lately it seems to be hit or miss with them. As a company they are prompt to respond and help with any issue. I only wish they would take more time inspecting what they sell. I do own quite a few of their PCP rifles now and up to this point I had no problems. Just a lemon I'm sure but be aware that you too could end up with something that left the factory incomplete and leaking.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2013-10-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It looks Great, has a great bluing job on the metal and the stock is perfect in color and smoothness. I have a Marauder 25 cal and it is sweet to shoot, but I wanted something light weight and not so hard to pump up with a hand pump. I fell in love with this gun (Discovery) the second I touched it. I have a tank of High Pressure air, but, I chose to pump it up by hand the very first time to see what it was like and to compare it to the Marauder. Well, it only took approx. 95 pumps from dead empty to full (2000 PSI). The Marauder took over twice that when it was empty. I then took it out and shot 20 shots and that brought the pressure down to about 1100 PSI or so. Well I pumped it back up by hand with only 40 pumps "give or take a couple", This thing is easy to pump back up with hardly any effort, you wont say that about the Marauder that's for sure! Today, I mounted my UTG 3-9x 40mm scope and shot 20 rounds through my chronograph, FPS is from 855 to 867 FPS Straight out of the box with 14.33 grain pellets. I then sited it in at 25 yards to see what group it would shoot. All 5 shot groups were inside a dime at 25 yards. More pellet types will show me what shoots the best later on. As soon as i get a chance I will video some shot groups and do another review. I want to zero it a 40 yards. and see what groups best.
      Things I would have changed:The Bolt needs to come back further to enable easier pellet loading. Rear site Fiber Optic is not fine enough, needs to be smaller diameter.
      What others should know:1. My Disco shot 12" low so.. this is what i did... If you install your scope on this rifle or any rifle for that matter and it shoots 10 to 12 inches low, at 25 yards, do not adjust it up with the turret on the scope. If you do you may run out of adjustment. When you raise impact to much it leaves the parts inside the scope under less tension and it may not hold POI. You need to shim up the scope in the back so as to raise the POI as much as possible, then use your scope turrets to fine tune it, 10 inches will be compensated using a shim the thickness of a credit card, it is best to buy an adjustable set of mounts from Pyramyd Air for this correction. Call PA and they will help you solve this if its needed, Most PCP bolt guns will need 2 piece mounts for this. My Titan GP shoots High, so I bought a 1 piece mounting rail and installed it in reverse to make up the difference of shooting to high. This is what i used on my Titan GP (UTG Drooper Scope Rail), this is a break barrel gun so a one piece Droop rail works great and holds scope in place better. Your bolt action guns need 2 piece mounts made for this type of situation, or just shim it for correction. Search the net for more advice! 2. This gun is loud so do not attempt to shoot to much if you have neighbors in close proximity. There are ways to solve this but, you will have to do some research.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By wayne from USA on 2013-10-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this is my second disco,this one gets chopped down for my grand daughter.Great little rifle without the big price tag,light,accurate,simple.
      Things I would have changed:if i could change anything it would be the same thing for all the crosmans of this style including pistols and that would be a more solid breech mount...but then it would end up being twice the price so leave it alone.....could add another barrel band though to help hold the barrel.
      What others should know:a scuba tank on a 3200 psi fill will last most people all summer long.rifle likes crosman pellets,my other one shoots standard crosman hollow points as well as my m-rod shoots jsb's and even likes pointed pellets for range shooting
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2013-10-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Best pcp gun out in my opinion easy to fill and light weight
      Things I would have changed:Plastic plastic plastic no gun should have plastic triger
      What others should know:I have a variety of pcp airguns the discovery is hands down the best one for ease of use and filling
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ken from USA on 2013-10-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very light. Shorter than my springers. Accurrate.
      Things I would have changed:Very loud, not backyard friendly. Trigger is not great but usable.
      What others should know:Spend the extra $$ and get a Marauder pistol with a stock, so much more gun for an extra $135. By the time you mod this to you liking, you could get the Marauder. Or buy a CO2 and convert to HPA with all kinds of accessories.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Donald from USA on 2013-09-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Dual fuel when shooting indoors I use co2 it doesn't enev change poi and is considerably quieter. Accuracy first rate. Fit and finish excellent. Mine is the .22 without pump I have two scba tanks the pump is a waste of money. Shoulders and feels real good.
      Things I would have changed:Rubber but pad is really needed. Trigger could be lighter and crisper but very serviceable.
      What others should know:I have all three Maraufers and they can not hold a candle to the way the Discovery handles or shoots. They are nice this is superiour. Now I am torn between which gun is my best and mot accurate my .177 B50 or my .22 Discovery it is a real toss up. Buy yourself a Discovery you will fall in love with it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Sub1imeManiac from USA on 2013-09-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The discovery is a great rifle its accurate easy to fill fun to shoot and very light for those long days in the field....i love mine and am extremely glad i bought it
      Things I would have changed:It would be nice if it were a repeater like its big brother the marauder but that is just me trying to find something to change.
      What others should know:The discovery is a great rifle to enter the world of the pcp air gun.Get one and try it out you will not be disappointed.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By anthony from USA on 2013-08-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:light weight, well balanced and tack driver accuracy. a joy to shoot! Devastating to my local squirrel population.
      Things I would have changed:wish it was easier to load a pellet into the chamber. Not a huge deal but really slows you down trying to make a follow up shot while hunting.
      What others should know:This is a very well made air rifle that is spot on accurate. once you shoot this you will never want to go back to a springer.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2013-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate, nice finish on the stock.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Alfonso from USA on 2013-07-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Cheap. Light unlike my Marauder .25 Mostly American made. 2000 psi operating pressure.
      Things I would have changed:Why ony dovetail mount ??? I guess that lowers production cost.
      What others should know:I use a 100 cu ft and 80 cu ft steel scuba tank. I used up the air from the scuba from 3442 psi to 2100 psi. That would give me 27 refills of 16 shots or more each refill on the Marauder(400 + shots). Now the remaining pressure on the steel 100 of 2100 psi, I could use it on the Disco. Filling at 2000 then refilling at 1000 gives me 15 refills of 25 shots(375 shots). Now if I only use the steel 100 at 3442 psi just for thr disco I would get 129 refills of 25 shots which is 3000 approx shots. And that at $ 5.00 worth of air at Sport Chalet. Im not buying a pump for now.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2013-03-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The weight, and accuracy!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing...
      What others should know:Very easy shooting gun with iron sights, no scope needed!
    • 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top