Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Benjamin Discovery Rifle & Pump reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Neal from USA on 2009-09-11 17:02:24

    Things I liked:Reasonable cost, light, and PCP. Easy to shoot accurately and a couple of modifications make it even more fun to shoot.
    Things I would have changed:Modifications that I did were: the 3 screw trigger mod., TKO muzzle brake, power adjuster ($1.50 at Lowe's) and a "custom" stock. The muzzle brake and the trigger mod. were the most significant improvements. I prefer to do these things myself and keep the original cost of the gun low.
    What others should know:With the power adjuster, I tuned the gun to 910 fps with Crosman Premier 10.5 grain pellets where it shoots 3/4 inch groups at 50 yards. I can get 20 shots in the same velocity spread before having to refill. This makes the gun very shootable out to 60 yards. You can also switch to Benjamin Discovery hollowpoints with very little if any change in POI. I added a Crosman Centerpoint 16X scope. I have taken several squirrels and blackbirds out to 60 yards with this set-up.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By yuno from USA on 2011-01-22 23:09:59

    Things I liked:The stock was ok
    Things I would have changed:A barrel that doesn't flex with every viberation. An air storage system that doesn't leak. This one holds air for less than an hour. Not what was advertised. Sent an e-mail as per manufacturers instructions and never received an answer.
    What others should know:I will never buy another product from this manufacturer for myself or for my grandchildren. If the bad product was unusual the company would not have ignored my e-mail.
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 89 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lyle from USA on 2014-07-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate
      Things I would have changed:Make it easier to load
      What others should know:Easy to pump up if you do not let it get too low - keep it around 1500 psi for best accuracy. It is loud, had to get the TKO "silencer" muzzle brake - good product.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By william from USA on 2014-06-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love the ability to shot 20+ times after charging the rifle. Very light, small women can use easily. Very accurate, loads of fun when plinking.
      Things I would have changed:The rifle is small for a me, I am 6 foot with large hands so inserting those pellets into the breech is no fun. The dimensions need to be larger.
      What others should know:This rifle is very fun, I have discovered that this rifle is perfect for shooting with my daughters. I would have spent thousands to have discovered this rifle when they were 10 so that I could shoot with them everyday. This is a stealth rifle for spending time with your family, buy it for yourself but have your family use it. I can't stress this enough, perfect rifle for youth and women, excellent family rifle. I will not part with this rifle for anything now. Best to use the Skenco plastic jacketed rounds, even daughters have trouble maneuvering smaller pellets into the breech. Smaller ones still work but be prepared to drop some.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lionel from USA on 2014-06-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The ability to fill with the hand pump. Filling to 2000 psi i.e. not hard at all. My nearest fill shop is at least 50 miles away, so having the pump is necessary. The ability to use CO2 is a plus. I haven't used CO2 yet but will for just plinking around the yard giving me more shots per fill. Firing sound is not bad at all. I shoot in the shop a lot and sound isn't any worse than my Sheridan at 8 pumps, but may annoy your next door neighbors in the city.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger needs some work. Not too heavy, but at 4+ pounds, could use some tuning. Wish that the package of air gun and pump included a small tank that would allow filling from the pump and give 3 or 4 refills in the field when using the air gun for hunting.
      What others should know:Accuracy is good. Not saying what I get because others may very well shoot much better than I. I get 20 to 23 shots from 2000 down to 1000 psi before I refill. Takes between 50 to 60 pumps to refill back to 2000 psi from 1000 psi. I think even a small woman or high school level teenager would be able to refill the air gun without to much effort.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2014-06-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Gun shoots great once you fix the barrel band to hold the barrel parallel to the reservoir instead of making the barrel droop. Its nice and light, easy to load with a scope as long as you use high rings
      Things I would have changed:Put a lighter factory trigger spring in, change the barrel band set screws to hold the barrel and to not pinch it tward the reservoir.
      What others should know:Concider a muzzle brake because it its a little loud. Other than that this Disco Rocks
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By charles from USA on 2014-05-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great air rifle stock out of the box shot very well with the Benjamin Discovery pellets provided in the kit.
      Things I would have changed:I can not think of anything to change
      What others should know:the heavier pellets like the 27.01 Rabbit Magnums did not group well at all. I probably wouldn't recommend pellets on the heavier side
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By michael from USA on 2014-05-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Pump keeps me in some kinda shape getting 15-18 rds per fill followed by 35-40 pump strokes. Fairly accurate, still trying different ammo @ 50yds 2"-3" patterns.
      Things I would have changed:Stock. Figured I'd use iron sights for a while. No can do stock comb was way too high. I was forced to scope it b4 I could use it. I had planned on putting a scope on it anyway but did not like the fact I didn't have a choice.
      What others should know:For the price this is a fine pcp to start with. Be aware of the fact it is made in China. Mine seems to hold air just fine & pump works as it should. YMMV. I had PA 10 for 10 & believe it was a good investment. PA treated me very well & will shop w/ them again.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bruce from USA on 2014-05-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Has the feel of a true rifle. Consistent accurate shooting. Easy to pump. Has a built in psi gauge. This rifle has plenty of power for small game hunting.
      Things I would have changed:Could have a better bluing on the barrel. Should have an adjustable metal trigger.
      What others should know:I found the trigger to have too long a stroke on the pull. I had to modify the trigger to my liking. Overall this is an excellent rifle for the price.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By matt from USA on 2014-04-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price, Accuracy,power,size,Trigger,easy to get parts for. LOTS of mods. very simple made. makes it easy to repair if needed.
      Things I would have changed:it would be nice if the hand pump filled the gun with fewer pumps. but it is easy to fill with the pump that comes with it.
      What others should know:This is a no brainer. If you want a PCP you wont find any other with this quality at this price. i have read other reviews that the trigger could be better but mine is light and breaks like glass.mine likes the CPHP and jsb 18.13 gr. pellets. At 25 yds i can get 1/4 inch groups off the bench fairly easy. at 50 yards groups can be covered with a quater. clean the bore before you shoot it for the frist time.BUY IT ! YOU CANT BEAT IT FOR THE BUCKS!!!!! As always P.A Great to deal with...
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dan from USA on 2014-04-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:super light weight extreamly accurate for the price with the eunjin 28.5 domes after washing them!! I get .35 inch groups at 30 yards
      Things I would have changed:a lil bigger air resivor for more shots per fill and a lighter trigger
      What others should know:take your time when checking for the right pellet for the gun test your choices at the same fill psi I get 8 vary accurate shots from 1950 to 1500psi witch I get 1 inch groups at 102 yards with the 28.5 eunjins the disco also liked the 18gr jsbs and the 14gr jsbs and lastly te the preditor polys
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Trumpet Will Travel from USA on 2014-03-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Since I got this "Discovery" my spring and gas-piston rifles are display items. VERY accurate for this price level. It is "Henry-rifle" size & lightweight. However, please see "I would change" below
      Things I would have changed:Why isn't the barrel braced closer to the front sight? The reservoir is very rigid, yet the barrel is free to be deflected side to side past the mid-brace. I am tooling a small brace for the barrel and yes; I know NOT to clamp onto the air-tank (reservoir) too tightly, don't want to compromise a 2,000 psi tube.
      What others should know:See "change" above and I can't help wondering why Crosman/Benjamin didn't address this; the barrel ahead of the mid-brace could get bent fairly easily. This is a top-notch .22 and I hate to nit-pick, it is perfect for the money otherwise.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By RAYMOND from USA on 2014-03-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle is very lite and handles real well. Very accurate and powerful.
      Things I would have changed:The loading process with a scope and tall rings are slow and cumbersome.
      What others should know:Overall pretty decent setup
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ATMG68 from USA on 2014-03-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I LOVE this gun. I have set aside all the rest of my guns to shoot this one. Well worth the money. Everyone shout have one.
      Things I would have changed:I wish it had a pellet magazine. and make the loading area a little bigger for shooting longer lead-free pellets. I have not complains.
      What others should know:in my shooting it have a 2-3 inch drop at 5 -8 yards. This is my first PCP gun. I know now what the hype is all about.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ATMG68 from USA on 2014-03-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I totally LOVE this gun !! I collect airguns this one by far is my favorite.I have not put a scope on it yet but I already know this is a great gun.It's my first PCP gun.
      Things I would have changed:nothing to change.
      What others should know:I never let this gun go to low level air, at mid to low green on the gage I pump it back up to full power so it is always ready.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Steve from USA on 2014-03-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is my first PCP air rifle and I find it so much easier to shoot accurately than my Remington Vantage NP gas spring rifle. It's much lighter than the Vantage and certainly doesn't care how you hold it or what you rest it on. The wood stock is pretty nice too.
      Things I would have changed:The overall finish of the gun is good, but not great. There are machining marks of all kinds and the finish on the stock is nothing to brag on. However, in balance with the cost of the gun/pump combo, it represents a good value.
      What others should know:The gun is fairly loud for an air gun. You may want to investigate solutions. Also the breech screws on mine were loose. For one of them you need a .050" hex key. You might want to check them out before getting too frustrated with changing POI. There are quite a few mods you can do to this gun if you are so inclined.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Matthew from USA on 2014-03-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:2000 PSI, I haven't tried 3000 PSI with a pump and I'm glad I don't have to. Pumping from 1000- 2000psi is easily achieved in 5 minutes without much effort. (33 years old fairly active) Similar to the effort of pumping a car tire with a hand pump. Foster fitting is easy to work with. Looks awesome!
      Things I would have changed:There an aftermarket nipple to attach your foster fitting to so your hose isn't blowing in the wind. The only improvement I can see would be including something similar from the factory.
      What others should know:Awesome PCP platform, has all the power and accuracy of guns costing twice, maybe three times as much. You can mod the looks and performance over time.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By jeremy from USA on 2014-02-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:lightweight and easy to pump with hand pump. a lot easier to fill than my marauder
      Things I would have changed:cap to air port make it screw on. make breach easier to load pellet by making slot bigger or make it where you can use magazines
      What others should know:use a good scope and ear plugs if shooting indoors its a little on the loud side but there are plenty of aftermarket parts out there to fix it. mine is just stock with a nice centerpoint scope and I love it just the way it is.it has plenty of power for small game.i use jsb exact jumbo 18.1 grain. ive tried 7 other brands and these are the most accurate out of mine at 50 yds. the rest had wide spread patterns at that distance.also if using hand pump, pump slowly or you will ruin your seals by overheating.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joseph from USA on 2014-02-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very solid. Real wood. Extremely accurate. Amazing quality. If treated right, this gun can last for many many years.
      Things I would have changed:Takes a long time to pump. Not many shots per fill.
      What others should know:If you don't mind a single shot, this is the gun for you.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By colin from USA on 2014-02-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is the one that should be your first air rifle.This gun is very accurate.It has no recoil like the springers and shoots like a 22 rimfire with short ammo.It is very easy to pump up and I get about 25 good shots.It is very light to carryand I mounted a 4x16 center point scope. So far it is holding 1/2 inch groups all day long and every day.I am 53 years old and did not know pellet rifles shot this good. The 22 cal is very good choice for sqirrel even fox sqirrel.I dont just shoot for the head i hit them under the ear with the crossman ultra mags.This gun is just what I needed at my home.Thanks for the great service of Pyrmid Air I have enjoyed great service and great pellet gun fun.
      Things I would have changed:Wish it had metal trigger but the plastic one works ok. Needs sling swivals to mount a sling so remember to order them when you order the gun.
      What others should know:Foget the springers and go straight to the pcp guns. You wont regret this advice!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Ivan from USA on 2014-01-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Great price for introduction into the PCP world
      Things I would have changed:Trigger is not very good. Long creep and very sensitive like springers. If you are doing targets I would suggest moving ahead and starting with something in the higher end.
      What others should know:Great PCP starter rifle.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Skoal from USA on 2014-01-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This gun is very accurate and very well made. Customer service at crosman was quick and and polite and I received the missing parts right away. It's extremely easy to understand and work on. There are numerous after market accessories and upgrades available.
      Things I would have changed:If I wanted a refurb disco I would have bought one. I purchased many a refurb product from a few different sources. When I buy brand new and pay full price I expect a brand new product. I'm gonna have to reconsider buying new product from pyramyd in the future.
      What others should know:When this gun arrived it was obvious that the box had been opened before. The bubble wrapping was not up to crosman standards. It was missing the cross bolt from the safety and the stock was knicked and scratched. I know a refurb, reman, or open box item when I see it. However I did decide to keep it and i enjoy it very much.
    • 123 ... 89 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top