Date: 26/9/2016 10:44
0

Benjamin Discovery Rifle & Pump reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By JDS from USA on 2009-09-23 16:30:35

Things I liked: Accuracy is very good with right pellets. The rifle feels good to hold. Stock looked good and was nicely finished. I find the trigger to be fine as well. I really enjoy this rifle.

Things I would have changed: The bluing of the barrel was less then average. Very uneven and spotty.

What others should know: I am shooting from a bench rest at 10 meters. Beeman Laser did not perform well. RWS R10 and H&N High Speed performed well. RWS Meisterkugln, at a much lower cost, wasn’t quite as accurate but pretty close for the money.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:2.0

By yuno from USA on 2011-01-22 23:09:59

Things I liked: The stock was ok

Things I would have changed: A barrel that doesn't flex with every viberation. An air storage system that doesn't leak. This one holds air for less than an hour. Not what was advertised. Sent an e-mail as per manufacturers instructions and never received an answer.

What others should know: I will never buy another product from this manufacturer for myself or for my grandchildren. If the bad product was unusual the company would not have ignored my e-mail.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 1011 Next
  • Showitems
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-08-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Powerful when fully charged. Multiple shot feature an asset when hunting

    Things I would have changed: That said,I'm afraid it goes downhill from there. It is what it is but in my opinion, not what its said to be. I am a competition shooter in other disciplines and there is no way to get good groups with a cheap harsh plastic trigger like the one on this rifle. I have ordered an upgraded one from Alliance Hobby, but haven't received it yet. The bolt tries to open when you fire and you get a small blast of air in your face. I put a rubber band around it which helps but do I need to tell you what that looks like. The stock is completely functional but somewhat crude by my standards. I can see sanding marks where it wasn't properly finish sanded. An airgun in this class I test out to 50 yards. Contrary to what I had read before purchasing, (inch and sub inch groups at 50 yards) I haven't come close. I have tried JBS, H and N, RWS, Beeman, and Crosman. Groups at 50 yards are well over 2 inches. I have springers that can shoot close to an inch.

    What others should know: The number of shots from a charge is misleading. You may get 15 or 20 at close range but only 7 or 8 at 50 yards before your pellet begins to drop. From a full charge, fire 10 shots it takes about 35 pumps to recharge. 20 shots takes about 75. The Benjamin pump is not overly hard to use however as one well known writer said, he could pump it up one hand while sitting (I don't think so) another exaggeration. I know this is supposed to be an entry level PCP. So far I have invested over $600 to outfit this airgun and don't see it. Maybe I should have invested it in another nice springer. I have a sizeable airgun collection however, this is my first PCP and perhaps my last. What I have told you are the FACTS, not some writers B.S.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2016-05-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: one hole at 26 yards using 14.3 jsb and air arms 16 gr ..... chronograph results are crosman 14.3 902 fps jsb 14.3 890 fps air arms 16 gr 862 fps

    Things I would have changed: not a thing

    What others should know: pump works well and gets better with use !! it brakes in not out i get 15 very accurate shots going from 2000 down to 1500 psi

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Chris from USA on 2016-04-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love the fact that this gun has a pressure gauge on it. That way i know before shooting as mine will sit from time to time before using.

    Things I would have changed: Bolt action is pretty loose and slips open pretty easily.

    What others should know: When i first received this gun i tried to pump it up and just heard air leaking from the barrel. I was originally disappointed and thought i would have to send it in for repair, but after reading some blogs, I found when it has no pressure in it you need to cock it for it to pressurize. The instructions state to make sure gun is not cocked or loaded before pressurizing.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Darren from USA on 2016-03-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Light weight PCP. Accuracy is good enough for a hunter/ plinker, probably not going to win bench rest competitions with it though. It has open sights and a wood stock. Add a pump and some pellets a few minutes sighting in and it's ready to hunt. Easy to add optics. Mine shoots 14.3 grain well and likes CP (inexpensive and common) better than most that I have tried.

    Things I would have changed: I would like a power adjuster. Better quality control....seems barrel band is often misaligned from factory? A bit tricky to get pellet loaded with scope....not sure how to improve. Some way to keep the bolt handle down so blow back doesn't occur....I use a rubber band or my thumb.

    What others should know: Accuracy is better than I can shoot with open sights so I added a scope. This rifle needs a challenge, plinking at normal targets at 25 yards can get tedious. My son and I hit a 6 oz tin can (smaller) dangling on a fence at 65 yards with a decent crosswind fairly consistently with this rifle. The rifle deserves much of credit since we are average at best marksmen. This isn't a fancy gun but it sure is fun. It's light weight and accuracy make it my go to for sparrow and starling pest control.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Clay from USA on 2016-01-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun is very accurate, I tried out 16 different types of pellets and they all shot very well, only about 4 of them had a group larger than a quarter at 15 yards, and there were a few with groups inside a dime. If you are used to a regular firearm then this gun won't seem loud, every one says it is really loud but I didn't really notice. If you get this gun I would really recommend finding a lot of pellets to try out, I thought the JSB jumbo rs were the best with a group a little smaller than a dime, then I shot the copper coated H&N barracuda pellets and the group was less then the size of a dime.

    Things I would have changed: Make the trigger adjustable

    What others should know: The gun seems hard the cock but I figured out that the easiest way to cock it is to put your thumb on the part that sticks up to hold the scope and pull back with your thumb and other fingers to load it a lot easier, also, there are no instructions on how to connect the includ d air pump to the gun, so what you do is you pull the ring on the tip of the nozzle of the pump back and slide it on the gun then push it forward to lock it in place, hope this helps.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By carl from USA on 2015-12-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: THE BENJAMIN DISCOVERY IS A LIGHT RIFFLE I GIVE IT A PLUS IN THIS CATAGORY IT;S VERY POWERFUL IT IS ACCURATE FOR WHAT I AM GOING TO USE IT FOR IS HUNTING I LIKE THE 22 CAL.YOU DON;T HAVE TO PUMP THE RIFFLE TO HIGH IN PRESSURE WITH THE HAND PUMP I WISH I HAD THIS RIFFLE 30 YEARS AGO.

    Things I would have changed: THE CROSSMAN CORPORATION IS NOT GOING TO CHANGE NOTHING ON THIS GUN THAT WHAT I HEARD FROM THEM THE ONE THING I WOULD LIKE TO CHANGE IS BOLT ACTION SHOULD GO BACK A QUARTER OF AN INCH SO I CAN PUT THE PELLET IN EASERY

    What others should know: THE BENJAMIN DISCOVERY IS VERY LOUD THE TRIGGER NEEDS WORK ON BUT THE REST IS UP TO YOU YOU ARE NOT SPENDING A LOT HARD EARNED CASH AND IF THIS IS YOUR VERY FIRST RIFFLE BUY IT YOU WOUN;T BE SORY I LIKE IT WITH A FEW MODIFCATIONS IT;S JOY TO SHOOT

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Richard from USA on 2015-12-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Look, this rifle is probably one of the most customizable, personalizable, modifiable air rifles in existence. If you can find more fun for $200.00 get it. I don't count the pump which you must have as part of the purchase price, just like I don't count the cost of batteries in the price of electronics. This little gem has changed my shooting world. Prior to buying it after much reading and investigating what to get I cant say one bad thing about it. I have recently discovered that it loves JSB Exact Jumbo Heavy 18.13 Gr. pellets. Before I found this out the rifle was fun, now it's a freaking blast to pull out. I'm not able to shoot at great distances yet but the dime sized groupings at 15 yd's is great fun. When I can place a target or object I feel like punching holes into, inside my pellet trap and go to town on it knowing all pellets will end up in the trap because of the accuracy of this rifle that makes for hours of worry free fun in the back yard.

    Things I would have changed: Nothin'

    What others should know: Some will review this as sounding like a .22 rifle going off. That simply isn't even close to the case. Although it may be kind of noisy ( like a hammer hitting wood) it is nothing like a real fire arm going off. I can fire it in the back yard and my wife says from the front yard it sounds very reasonable, barely audible at times. That would not be the case with a .22 rifle being fired in a neighborhood. Make no mistake this thing has power, it is not a toy. Don't put this in the hands of kids used to playing with their Daisy and think that they are safe to handle it alone.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Matt from USA on 2015-10-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Price Accuracy Ease of fill with hand pump

    Things I would have changed: Muzzle report is a bit much with no barrel shroud - TKO muzzle break is a necessity for garden pests in the back yard. With a decent fixed power scope and a TKO brake you can put together a complete PCP setup for under $500 when the sales come up.

    What others should know: Don't bother with Polymags or JSBs in the .22. Polymags are accurate enough to hunt with inside 30 yards or so, but are not as accurate as the crosman or JSB Heavy pellets. The cheap tin of Crosman Premier Hollow Points shoots just as well inside of 35 yards as the JSBs. After that the JSB Heavy have a slight advantage. Both the crosman and JSBs will hold dime sized groups at 25 yards, as many times as you pull the trigger (15-20 shot groups) if the fill pressure is maintained.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2015-10-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything. I enjoy seeing each round touch one another. And its not as loud as I had first imagined. I haven't yet found a pellet that it doesn't like. I recently tried the JSB assorted tin expecting to find at least one pellet that did not shoot well, but to my surprise all 4 shot tight groups. Perhaps I just got lucky but I got a "springer" in .22 cal. at the same time and I still cannot find a pellet that it likes. The pump is a bit of a challenge for this 85 year old, but it works as advertised.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see P/A show a recommended "buddy" air bottle for this gun. I believe everyone would consider one if it had a decent price tag. I would not change anything else.

    What others should know: I believe I read where someone inquired about a sling. For what it's worth, years ago I bought an all purpose sling for my shotgun, with loops at each end (one loop adjustable) that you can slide over each end of the rifle. I put it on my Discovery and it works just fine for carrying over the shoulder. Does not look very stylish but I bet the squirrels won't care.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2015-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy, ease of loading.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Had to cock it before I could get it to hold air the first time I filled it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jack from USA on 2015-07-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Weight, balance and accuracy in addition to service from Pyramyd Air.

    Things I would have changed: Add sling to discovery package

    What others should know: It took only 10 shots to sight in. Five shots for adjustment and five shots for a grouping the size of a nickel at 20 yards. The first six pest bird shots at 30 to 40 yards dropped 5 instantly and wounded one, probably the shooter's fault. I refill after 7-10 shots to keep accuracy for on the moment pest shots.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sterin from USA on 2015-06-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: First of all I got the .22 caliber and I like the weight easy to hold and shoot pcp is a easy gun to shot.I like the fact that about everything is medal.The hard wood stock is beautiful.I also like it is dual fuel.You can target practice with co2 and hunt with HPA.

    Things I would have changed: Only one thing I would change is the trigger all plastic kinda takes away from the gun.

    What others should know: Despite the trigger this gun is very accurate just got mind about six weeks ago. I finely got the chance to zero the scope hitting 3/4 inch groups at 25 yds.This gun is a must have if you want to get into pcp thought I wouldn't like it but I love it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By RONALD from USA on 2015-05-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: IT IS LIGHT WEIGHT EVEN WITH THE SCOPE THAT CAME WITH IT. IT IS PROBABLY MORE ACCURATE THAN I CAN GET AT THE MOMENT SINCE I'M STILL WORKING WITH THE SCOPE. THE PUMP DOES THE JOB, BUT PLANS ARE TO GET A SCUBA TANK AND ORDER THE NECESSARY ATTACHMENT FOR THE PCP.

    Things I would have changed: ADD A SUPPRESSOR AND MAGAZINE LIKE THE MARAUDER, BUT KEEP IT DUAL FUEL AND MAX 2000 PSI.

    What others should know: WHEN USING THE PUMP MAKE SURE THE AIR ON THE PUMP IS OFF. ALSO, PUMP SLOW AND STEADY. IT WILL BE EASY AT FIRST AND THEN IT GETS PRETTY TOUGH...USE YOUR WEIGHT TO HELP.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lloyd from USA on 2015-04-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Accuracy! Repeatable performance was what I was looking for and this rifle delivers. I recently got into air rifles as a way to keep practicing my shooting skills. Well it is hard to practice with inaccurate guns. I went through 6 guns not including this one. It gets it done! My brother and I have been successfully shooting at 1/2 inch circles @ 50yds using a one piece scope mount with a bushnell 6x24x40 mil dot scope. Man yhis is so much fun!

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is a bit gritty but predictable.

    What others should know: To max it out get an Adjustable objective scope like mine or similar to take away optical errors and stay on target. It does make a difference at close range. Most non adjustables are set at 100yds or for 22 rimfire 50yds on. I could not get the consistency needed with fixed lense. My brother is having good practices with benjamin 392 as well. He is also going with an adjustable objective scope.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By george from USA on 2015-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: nothing

    Things I would have changed: crosman changed to a heavier hammer spring in about 2012. they scaraficed shot count and accuarcy for power. these now get under 20 shots per fill with many people including myself under reporting under 12 shots per fill.

    What others should know: i get only 9 shots per fill with a acceptable extreme spread (under 3%) and out of the box the accuarcy was measured in several inch groups (5 to 6 inch groups at 35 yards) i called crosman and asked the about the shot count and the rep stated that it should be getting 35 and then there was silence, i soon realized they didnt want to rectify the problem so i called pyramid air and they never bothered calling me back. i wish now i returned it but i decided to work it myself so i fixed the transfer port (accuracy problem) and now shoot using co2 around the house and still only get about 20 shots at about 600 to 650 fps.i use air when hunting, 12 powerfull accurate shots are enough for me when i go hunting, but that should be advertised and backed up.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Martin from USA on 2015-03-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great entry level product.

    Things I would have changed: For this price the metal finish should be better. Most 22 lr's have better quality regarding their finish.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Don from USA on 2015-02-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Got it in 22 cal and it is real easy to fill with the Benjamin pump and very accurate

    Things I would have changed: Got the combo. Pump really needs a longer hose so you don't have to lay the gun down to fill. Trigger could be a better design

    What others should know: Worth every penny can shoot 1/2 inch groups with jsb 15.89 grains at 30 yards have already taken several rabbits with it. You do need to move the barrel band up closer the front sight. Gets about 12 good accurate shots from about 1800 psi to 1200 psi plenty for hunting only takes about 45 or 50 pumps to top off.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Allen from USA on 2015-02-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: My 1st PCP, I TREAT it roughly , shoot it almost daily and it has held up well. I installed a gamo scope on it. I use it for pest control , for the money it is right on the mark.i have had my Discovery for about 5 years now.

    Things I would have changed: Stock seems short to me.

    What others should know: I Love This Rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By william from USA on 2015-01-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: this is a well balanced package after owning a few springers im really liking the discovery my neighbor after shooting mine bought one as well i know this is supposed to be an entry level pcp rifle i put a 4-16 power centerpoint scope on it that works good but am looking into a scope that dont have as many bells & whistles possibly a bug buster compact scope i think my disco has about the same handling charactaristics as a 10/22 ruger my favorite ammo so far is meisterklugen clsely followed by crossman premiers & the rws super h point it doesnt like the hobbys or the stoeger 17.13 gr. stoegers which i hear are made by h&n in germany all in all this is not a fussy air rifle & ive taken many groundsquirrels & crows as well as pigeons most of my shooting is done as 30-50 yards i have a 30 yard shooting range in my back yard & friends come over & shoot with me as well everyone likes the discovery including one m-rod owner ive gotta say the m-rod is quieter which i like

    Things I would have changed: i must of got lucky with my trigger because it is smooth with no creep however i dont like its shape i think im gonna try one of those trigger boots double-action pistol shooters use i think its alliance hobby that has a metal trigger kit that includes an extra barrell band about $65.00

    What others should know: all in all im pretty happy with my discovery i wish they offered it in .25 cal

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Skirmich from USA on 2015-01-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: 1" Shot groups @ 50 Yards. Build Quality vs Price is Hands Down the BEST out there. Stock is nice with a very elegant finish. The bluing of the metal is top quality and the Plastics ironically don't feel cheap.

    Things I would have changed: Stock sights (Not really a con since I scope it day 1). Add a second barrel band for the price (Free floating barrels are good with shorter barrels or at least a shroud, this isn't one of them and the single barrel band isn't enough to stop the barrel from flexing if it hits something). Make the breach a little bigger cuz is not easy to load pellets with big fingers (This is specific to me though yours might be fine).

    What others should know: The stocks sights are pretty basic and hard to adjust. If you want to buy this rifle to use open sights don't even bother!! This rifle was BORN to be scoped it literally begs for it once you see the open sights. The Trigger is completely predictable and not squishy at all as some say, The pull is heavy only if you have used lighter triggers before on some High-End Rifles, If you come from break barrels this trigger will feel lightweight in comparison. The Hand Pump is pretty much the heaviest thing on the package, the build quality is amazing. I require around 43 pumps to bring it up from 1000PSI to 2000ish PSI this gave me around 18-20 powerful shots (.22 Cal version) the PSI Gauge on the Pump matches perfectly the one on the gun. If you want to start on the PCP world or just want an incredibly accurate 50yrd Rifle this is for you!! 399 bucks is a Steal for Gun and Pump!

  • 123 ... 1011 Next
Navigation