Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Benjamin Discovery Rifle & Pump reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Dan from USA on 2009-10-19 16:36:02

    Things I liked:This gun is by far the best I have purchased to date. Extremely smooth to shoot, easy to pump up. I got the 22 cal. version, and so far it is very accurate.
    Things I would have changed:Would like it to be a little longer gun, but no way is it a problem the length that it is.
    What others should know:If You are considering your first pcp gun, You will not be disappointed with this one. If You mount a scope You will be driving tacs!
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By yuno from USA on 2011-01-22 23:09:59

    Things I liked:The stock was ok
    Things I would have changed:A barrel that doesn't flex with every viberation. An air storage system that doesn't leak. This one holds air for less than an hour. Not what was advertised. Sent an e-mail as per manufacturers instructions and never received an answer.
    What others should know:I will never buy another product from this manufacturer for myself or for my grandchildren. If the bad product was unusual the company would not have ignored my e-mail.
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 910 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By william from USA on 2015-01-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this is a well balanced package after owning a few springers im really liking the discovery my neighbor after shooting mine bought one as well i know this is supposed to be an entry level pcp rifle i put a 4-16 power centerpoint scope on it that works good but am looking into a scope that dont have as many bells & whistles possibly a bug buster compact scope i think my disco has about the same handling charactaristics as a 10/22 ruger my favorite ammo so far is meisterklugen clsely followed by crossman premiers & the rws super h point it doesnt like the hobbys or the stoeger 17.13 gr. stoegers which i hear are made by h&n in germany all in all this is not a fussy air rifle & ive taken many groundsquirrels & crows as well as pigeons most of my shooting is done as 30-50 yards i have a 30 yard shooting range in my back yard & friends come over & shoot with me as well everyone likes the discovery including one m-rod owner ive gotta say the m-rod is quieter which i like
      Things I would have changed:i must of got lucky with my trigger because it is smooth with no creep however i dont like its shape i think im gonna try one of those trigger boots double-action pistol shooters use i think its alliance hobby that has a metal trigger kit that includes an extra barrell band about $65.00
      What others should know:all in all im pretty happy with my discovery i wish they offered it in .25 cal
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Skirmich from USA on 2015-01-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:1" Shot groups @ 50 Yards. Build Quality vs Price is Hands Down the BEST out there. Stock is nice with a very elegant finish. The bluing of the metal is top quality and the Plastics ironically don't feel cheap.
      Things I would have changed:Stock sights (Not really a con since I scope it day 1). Add a second barrel band for the price (Free floating barrels are good with shorter barrels or at least a shroud, this isn't one of them and the single barrel band isn't enough to stop the barrel from flexing if it hits something). Make the breach a little bigger cuz is not easy to load pellets with big fingers (This is specific to me though yours might be fine).
      What others should know:The stocks sights are pretty basic and hard to adjust. If you want to buy this rifle to use open sights don't even bother!! This rifle was BORN to be scoped it literally begs for it once you see the open sights. The Trigger is completely predictable and not squishy at all as some say, The pull is heavy only if you have used lighter triggers before on some High-End Rifles, If you come from break barrels this trigger will feel lightweight in comparison. The Hand Pump is pretty much the heaviest thing on the package, the build quality is amazing. I require around 43 pumps to bring it up from 1000PSI to 2000ish PSI this gave me around 18-20 powerful shots (.22 Cal version) the PSI Gauge on the Pump matches perfectly the one on the gun. If you want to start on the PCP world or just want an incredibly accurate 50yrd Rifle this is for you!! 399 bucks is a Steal for Gun and Pump!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By keelan from USA on 2015-01-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:POWER! This gun is very powerful out of the box. It's my first PCP, and I'm sold! NO recoil or special holds to account for. I get 20 to 25 consistent POI shots at moderate range, and another 5 or so for short range work. The quality of the build is a strong 9 of 10, its very solid and refined looking, with only a couple sub par areas. The pump that comes with the gun is solid and pumps to 2000 psi with ease, although it is a bit labor intensive at the higher end of the fill. The stock is a nice solid hardwood, and overall it is an awesome hunting rifle for the money. Mine seems to like JSB Exact 15.89 grain pellets. I can't say enough for its power, if you have used springers and multi pump pneumatics, especially .177 like me all your life, this thing is comparing a sligshot to a cannon! NO comparison, and I have a 1200 fps .177 springer. This .22 is a squirrels worst nightmare! I had said my next gun would be a Marauder .25, after shooting this .22, a .25 will be absolutely beastly!
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is by far the worst point of the gun, plastic blade with way too much creep. A brass trigger blade with adjustment screws and a good polish job should be top priority. Also, the bolt likes to lock and unlock when the gun is loaded, it hasn't opened so far, but it will go up and down if you are carrying it on a sling. Other than that, it is LOUD!! My .22 rimfire is barely louder, and I have had some pest birds "jump the shot" at longer range, presumedly they hear the report before the pellet arrives. So keep this in mind as well as your neighbors! And the placement of the barrel band/ lack of a second barrel band (see anything else to know).
      What others should know: I gave it a 4 star for accuracy due to two things, one a big deal and one an easy fix. Good news first, the barrel band. In its factory location, it allows the muzzle to flex a good amount with little persuasion. No big deal, I simply moved the band to about a half inch behind the front sight. Presto, problem solved, just make sure it doesn't clamp the barrel off to either side. Now the bad news, the muzzle. At 20 yards, I can shoot .25 inch jagged holes. Go to 50 and that opens to 1.75 to 2 inches. An internet search yielded some light on this issue. The last 1/2 inch or so of the rifling at the muzzle is "off" for lack of a better term. The rifling lands in that half inch are about half as wide as the remainder of their length. I found numerous instances of this online. My personal decision is to wait and get a BNM barrel when I get the BNM breech and shroud kit. It does OK in the meantime, just watch out for this issue.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Matthew from USA on 2015-01-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything, the sights, the trigger, the weight, price, you just can't say any thing bad about it
      Things I would have changed:(My opinion) put a little friction at the part where the bolt closes to keep it close more snug because sometime when I'm not paying attention I touch the bolt and it stays up and then I shoot and the bolt it blown because I shot with it open
      What others should know:You need to put a mil dot scope on it because this thing is so accurate
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Morris from USA on 2014-12-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is my first pcp air gun so I do not have a depth of knowledge, but I can tell you I got a dandy. I paired the Discovery with a Leapers 3x9x40 AO scope. Perfect fit. I am short 5'8" the gun is a perfect fit for youth and small build shooters. The gun is light weight and the pump is really not that hard to use and I'm 63 years old. This is a hard hitting accurate air gun. It's a blast to shoot!
      Things I would have changed:The pressure gauge on the Discovery needs upgrading. Pretty cheap and way off from the pump pressure gauge reading, but for $10.00 it can be easily replaced.
      What others should know:I know and have read of Discovery problems and I was reluctant to take the risk because even at a so called low end pcp, that is still a lot of money for some of us. I am so glad I did. I love this gun, My springers will probably collect more dust now. This is a great air gun. Take the risk if you are ready to enter the air gun world. We all know Pyramyd Air will stand by any defects that might come with yours. I was blessed to have a great shooter right out of the box. Even the trigger is fine for now and I shoot Gene's upgrade in all my other rifles.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rrrrr from USA on 2014-12-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent accuracy, light weight, easy to operate, easy to pump up. No more break barrel springer artillery holds, no light stock holds, no holding stock in exact same position, no special trigger pull, no more broken scopes, no more recoil shock. This gun has it all over springers for accuracy. The pump works great too and is not hard to pump at all. Believe you me this is a one shot one kill pest buster.
      Things I would have changed:Additional barrel band and maybe a lighter hammer spring.
      What others should know:Shooting this gun as compared to a springer is like night and day with repeatable, I say repeatable 1 hole groups at 25yds., 1/2" groups at 50yds., and 1" groups at 70yds. with 15.89 JSB's. Pretty hard to do that repeatedly with a springer. This gun will only get about 12 good shots between 1000 and 2000 psi before having to pump back up(about 45 easy pumps). But if you lighten the hammer spring to reduce the velocity slightly you can get around 20 good shots(.22 cal.), get better groups and still hit hard. For the money this is a good deal to get into a PCP rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By PETER from USA on 2014-11-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Out of the box accuracy is great ONCE YOU FIND THE RIGHT PELLET. I have found that this gun DOES NOT like the Crosman Premier domed or hollow points, but LOVES the JSB 15.9g domed.
      Things I would have changed:The Benjamin Marauder and the Marauder pistol both have magazines...I really wish that they would come out with a magazine that fit the Discovery too!! The only other thing I can think of is possibly being able to buy an aftermarket synthetic thumbhole stock but that's really nit picking
      What others should know:I have used this gun with both CO2 and HPA and I personally like the CO2 much better. I get way more shots per fill and its not as loud compared to HPA. Pyramyd air has been nothing but helpful with all of my purchases and they are a wealth of knowledge when it comes to advice!
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By pedro from USA on 2014-11-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:it light and i got a return number fast!
      Things I would have changed:i paid for 10 for $10 service so i would not have to send a leaking air rifle back. they charge and fire it but do not really check it for leaks so beware... so 1 week waiting for a leaky rifle and another week sending it back.
      What others should know:call them and have them charge and check it the next day
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By valente from USA on 2014-11-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price, pump, and feel
      Things I would have changed:For the price nothing
      What others should know: Buy it!!!! Shoot it!!!! Don't complain about the small stuff. Use the darn thing! It's a very accurate gun and pump is well made. Not hard to fill to 2000 psi. .22 cal loves JSB 18.13 grain pellets. Small groups out to 70 yds. Gives my Mrod and Condor a run for their money.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dave from USA on 2014-10-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a great way to start with PCP. Love this gun!
      Things I would have changed:If you buy the package with scope, option it with a little better scope.
      What others should know:The CO2 option produces far less velocity.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Dennis from USA on 2014-10-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this is a very great rifle , light easy to shoot , the pump works great
      Things I would have changed:its loud but i like it
      What others should know:the pump is hard if your not 150lbs i have to put all my weight on it when im close to 2,000 psi and i cant pump my dads syn rod to full capacity of 3,000psi
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By holl0918 from USA on 2014-10-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate, Easy to fill with the hand pump, lightweight. Good pump, holds up very well
      Things I would have changed:Trigger, it is about as bad as a trigger can get. Your groups will be quite large until u master it.
      What others should know:Move the barrel band up to about 4 inches from the muzzle brake. It helps groups a lot. Get the Trigger mod from Alliance Hobby, it is so much better than the stock trigger.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Martin from USA on 2014-09-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Light weight, multiple shoots one one fill, not to difficult to fill with hand pump.
      Things I would have changed:Quality control. 1st rifle had reamer chatter, open sights were not usable, would not group at 15'. 2nd shoot better groups but still unacceptable. 3rd rifle shoot 1" group @ 35yds with the JSB 18.13gr pellet. As stated in the review, trigger pull is poor and you will have to struggle with it to get decent groups.
      What others should know:The Pyramid tech (Stacey) was very patient and helpful. She contacted Crosman who sent me the second rifle which I returned for the third. Open sight unusable, strike 1. Trigger strike 2. Multiple range trips, 2 exchanges, strike 3. The only reason I'm giving 3 stars is because support from pyramid is great and manufacturing quality is beyond their control.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Brandon from USA on 2014-09-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Pretty accurate right out of the box.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger obviously but that can be fixed for relatively cheap. Degasser tool should come with it.
      What others should know:The benjamin discovery is a great gun. I'm glad I purchased it!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lyle from USA on 2014-09-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Benjamin Discovery is one sweet PCP air rifle. This is my third Discovery. Two 22 cal and one 177 caliber. With a little pellet testing they all have shot one ragged hole groups. This is my second pump. They also have worked flawlessly. Very good combination. Free air is neat.
      Things I would have changed:The only thing I would change is I would change is add a higher grade trigger with less pull. The factory trigger works but is not as good as my Marauder trigger.
      What others should know:This rifle is a bit loud if the sound of the report of the rifle is an issue. Not as much as a powder gun but it can be heard.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jim from USA on 2014-09-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:EVERYTHING !! For starters,you cannot beat the price point of this little PCP.. a GREAT entry level rifle for those not sure if a PCP is really what they want. I ordered this as a combo with the Benjamin Pump[which works great]for my wife who wanted to shoot, but was having difficulty with the weight, cocking effort and recoil of my high end magnum springers (all German). I fitted a Hawke 3-9x40 AO scope to it and sighted it in at 35yds and handed it to her..23 shots with .627" ctc for her first time with it! At only about 6.2lbs w/scope & NO recoil, she thoroughly enjoys this rifle. It would be a Great "starter" Air Gun in any class, especially for women & young folks, due to the aforementioned light weight, total lack of recoil,and also, the accuracy. It's NO fun for beginners with heavy air rifles,that are bulky, hard cocking, heavy recoil and/or, non-accurate..that's a fast way to turn them off from what should be a fun & enjoyable sport. The Discovery is Very aptly named.
      Things I would have changed:The ONLY two(2)things I would request of Benjamin on the Discovery to make design changes on, are 1)PLEASE, change the trigger group, or at the very least, change the "curl" of the trigger itself and straighten it somewhat.. it "fits" smaller hands (ie:my wifes hand) and fingers "ok".. but for folks with Large hands & fingers(ie:myself)..the "curl" of the trigger digs directly into the middle of my trigger finger...VERY Uncomfortable!! SO..I changed it out myself, with an "updated" Brass unit from Alliance Hobbies, also from Ohio. I "finessed" it a bit and completely polished it & then color buffed it out (I do custom metal polishing & buffing)before installing it.. it works GREAT and horrendously more comfortable and Smooth to shoot,now. The only other thing I would ask for, would be to be able to get this great little pcp in .25 cal!! I realize that for more expenditure, they can be "built" into a .25cal with aftermarket parts, but then you may as well buy an Mrod..which I also have.
      What others should know:If your either "new" to air gunning, or perhaps have been at it for a period of time and have only been associated with springers or, multi-pumps(ie:Benji 397's etc) and wondering what shooting with a PCP would be like.. the Discovery is a Fantastic little rifle to start with,and without "breaking the bank" to do it..but,be careful.. it "could" spoil you. The ONLY "downside" to PCP's.. is the ever present NEED for "life support"..ie:either a pump or HPA (High Pressure Air) Bottles..just the nature of the "beast". "IF" hunting with heavier weight pellets down-range with some authority is your game,then PCP's are the way to go.. that's what the main purpose in their design is..HUNTING, NOT "punching paper targets" ..though the Disco does lend itself equally well to that also,& due to it's small capacity air reservoir, & 2000lb max working air pressure,makes refilling it,quite effortless even with a manual air pump. However,the larger capacity PCP's (Mrod is borderline) mandate bottles.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jim from USA on 2014-09-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:EVERYTHING !! For starters,you cannot beat the price point of this little PCP.. a GREAT entry level rifle for those not sure if a PCP is really what they want. I ordered this as a combo with the Benjamin Pump(which works great) for my wife who wanted to shoot, but was having difficulty with the weight, cocking effort and recoil of my high end magnum springers (all German). I fitted a Hawke 3-9x40 AO scope to it and sighted it in at 35yds and handed it to her..23 shots with a .627" ctc for her first time with it!! At only about 6.2lbs w/scope & NO recoil, she thoroughly enjoys this rifle.. and would be a Great "starter" Air Gun in any class, especially for women & young folks, due to the aforementioned light weight, total lack of recoil.. and also, the accuracy. It's NO fun for beginners with heavy air rifles,that are bulky, hard cocking, heavy recoil and/or, non-accurate..that's a fast way to turn them off from what should be a fun & enjoyable sport. The Discovery is aptly named.
      Things I would have changed:The ONLY two(2)things I would request of Benjamin on the Discovery to make design changes on, are 1)PLEASE, change the trigger group, or at the very least, change the "curl" of the trigger itself and straighten it somewhat.. it "fits" smaller hands (ie:my wifes hand) and fingers "ok".. but for folks with Large hands & fingers(ie:myself)..the "curl" of the trigger digs directly into the middle of my trigger finger...VERY Uncomfortable!! SO..I changed it out myself, with an "updated" Brass unit from Alliance Hobbies, also from Ohio. I "finessed" it a bit and completely polished it & then color buffed it out (I do custom metal polishing & buffing)before installing it.. it works GREAT and horrendously more comfortable and Smooth to shoot,now. The only other thing I would ask for, would be to be able to get this great little pcp in .25 cal!! I realize that for a bunch of dollars, they can be "built" into a .25cal with aftermkt parts, but then you may as well buy an Mrod..which I also have.
      What others should know:If your either "new" to air gunning, or perhaps have been at it for a period of time and have only been associated with springers or, multi-pumps(ie:Benji 397's etc) and wondering what shooting with a PCP would be like.. the Discovery is a Fantastic little rifle to start with, and without "breaking the bank" to do it..but, be careful.. it "could" spoil you. The ONLY "downside" to PCP's.. is the ever present NEED for "life support"..ie:either a pump or HPA (High Pressure Air) Bottles..just the nature of the "beast"...but,"IF" slinging heavier weight pellets down-range with some authority is your game,then PCP's are the way to go.. that's what the main purpose in their design is..HUNTING, NOT "punching paper targets" ..though the Disco does lend itself quite well to that also, due to it's small capacity air reservoir, & 2000lb max working air pressure,which makes refilling it,quite effortless even with a manual air pump..However,the larger PCP's (Mrod is borderline) mandate bottles.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mike from USA on 2014-08-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: I was a little hesitate to order this gun because of the price but I'm glad I did. For the money I don't think you'll find a better gun and add in the accuracy this is a very nice well made pellet rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing--If its not broke don't fix it
      What others should know: I've been into pellet rifles for about 25 years and have had some nice springers (RWS350magnum for one) that I thought was one of the best pellet rifles made but they don't come close to this rifle. I'm getting 24 good shots on a fill and 1" groups at 45 yds.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By TunnelEngineer from USA on 2014-08-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought my .177 Disco directly at the Pyramydair headquarters during their moving sale several years ago. It is light and can be used to teach teenagers and some children because of its size. It is very powerful, but that is not something that particularly interests me. Generally good finish but nothing to rave about. Maybe the newer models are better than mine
      Things I would have changed:The pencil barrel it has whips around during firing and kills accuracy. I have tried everything. I tightened the barrel band, loosened it, added a second barrel band, wrapped the barrel and tank together. Remedies worked to varying degrees but not sufficiently. I cannot get a group smaller than 1.5 inch at 20 yd, which may be probably enough to shoot cans. I will sell this rifle as I did not succeed in trying to fix the design issues
      What others should know:My Disco might suffice to shoot cans and maybe for pests at SHORT RANGE.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By matthew from USA on 2014-08-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:light weight and super accurate
      Things I would have changed:maybe the trigger but its not like its terrible
      What others should know:this is an awesome air rifle and im in love
    • 123 ... 910 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top