Benjamin Discovery Rifle & Pump reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Dan from USA on 2009-10-19 16:36:02

Things I liked: This gun is by far the best I have purchased to date. Extremely smooth to shoot, easy to pump up. I got the 22 cal. version, and so far it is very accurate.

Things I would have changed: Would like it to be a little longer gun, but no way is it a problem the length that it is.

What others should know: If You are considering your first pcp gun, You will not be disappointed with this one. If You mount a scope You will be driving tacs!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By george from USA on 2015-03-22 02:27:45

Things I liked: nothing

Things I would have changed: crosman changed to a heavier hammer spring in about 2012. they scaraficed shot count and accuarcy for power. these now get under 20 shots per fill with many people including myself under reporting under 12 shots per fill.

What others should know: i get only 9 shots per fill with a acceptable extreme spread (under 3%) and out of the box the accuarcy was measured in several inch groups (5 to 6 inch groups at 35 yards) i called crosman and asked the about the shot count and the rep stated that it should be getting 35 and then there was silence, i soon realized they didnt want to rectify the problem so i called pyramid air and they never bothered calling me back. i wish now i returned it but i decided to work it myself so i fixed the transfer port (accuracy problem) and now shoot using co2 around the house and still only get about 20 shots at about 600 to 650 fps.i use air when hunting, 12 powerfull accurate shots are enough for me when i go hunting, but that should be advertised and backed up.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 910 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2015-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy, ease of loading.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Had to cock it before I could get it to hold air the first time I filled it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jack from USA on 2015-07-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Weight, balance and accuracy in addition to service from Pyramyd Air.

    Things I would have changed: Add sling to discovery package

    What others should know: It took only 10 shots to sight in. Five shots for adjustment and five shots for a grouping the size of a nickel at 20 yards. The first six pest bird shots at 30 to 40 yards dropped 5 instantly and wounded one, probably the shooter's fault. I refill after 7-10 shots to keep accuracy for on the moment pest shots.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sterin from USA on 2015-06-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: First of all I got the .22 caliber and I like the weight easy to hold and shoot pcp is a easy gun to shot.I like the fact that about everything is medal.The hard wood stock is beautiful.I also like it is dual fuel.You can target practice with co2 and hunt with HPA.

    Things I would have changed: Only one thing I would change is the trigger all plastic kinda takes away from the gun.

    What others should know: Despite the trigger this gun is very accurate just got mind about six weeks ago. I finely got the chance to zero the scope hitting 3/4 inch groups at 25 yds.This gun is a must have if you want to get into pcp thought I wouldn't like it but I love it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By RONALD from USA on 2015-05-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: IT IS LIGHT WEIGHT EVEN WITH THE SCOPE THAT CAME WITH IT. IT IS PROBABLY MORE ACCURATE THAN I CAN GET AT THE MOMENT SINCE I'M STILL WORKING WITH THE SCOPE. THE PUMP DOES THE JOB, BUT PLANS ARE TO GET A SCUBA TANK AND ORDER THE NECESSARY ATTACHMENT FOR THE PCP.

    Things I would have changed: ADD A SUPPRESSOR AND MAGAZINE LIKE THE MARAUDER, BUT KEEP IT DUAL FUEL AND MAX 2000 PSI.

    What others should know: WHEN USING THE PUMP MAKE SURE THE AIR ON THE PUMP IS OFF. ALSO, PUMP SLOW AND STEADY. IT WILL BE EASY AT FIRST AND THEN IT GETS PRETTY TOUGH...USE YOUR WEIGHT TO HELP.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lloyd from USA on 2015-04-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy! Repeatable performance was what I was looking for and this rifle delivers. I recently got into air rifles as a way to keep practicing my shooting skills. Well it is hard to practice with inaccurate guns. I went through 6 guns not including this one. It gets it done! My brother and I have been successfully shooting at 1/2 inch circles @ 50yds using a one piece scope mount with a bushnell 6x24x40 mil dot scope. Man yhis is so much fun!

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is a bit gritty but predictable.

    What others should know: To max it out get an Adjustable objective scope like mine or similar to take away optical errors and stay on target. It does make a difference at close range. Most non adjustables are set at 100yds or for 22 rimfire 50yds on. I could not get the consistency needed with fixed lense. My brother is having good practices with benjamin 392 as well. He is also going with an adjustable objective scope.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By george from USA on 2015-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: nothing

    Things I would have changed: crosman changed to a heavier hammer spring in about 2012. they scaraficed shot count and accuarcy for power. these now get under 20 shots per fill with many people including myself under reporting under 12 shots per fill.

    What others should know: i get only 9 shots per fill with a acceptable extreme spread (under 3%) and out of the box the accuarcy was measured in several inch groups (5 to 6 inch groups at 35 yards) i called crosman and asked the about the shot count and the rep stated that it should be getting 35 and then there was silence, i soon realized they didnt want to rectify the problem so i called pyramid air and they never bothered calling me back. i wish now i returned it but i decided to work it myself so i fixed the transfer port (accuracy problem) and now shoot using co2 around the house and still only get about 20 shots at about 600 to 650 fps.i use air when hunting, 12 powerfull accurate shots are enough for me when i go hunting, but that should be advertised and backed up.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Martin from USA on 2015-03-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great entry level product.

    Things I would have changed: For this price the metal finish should be better. Most 22 lr's have better quality regarding their finish.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Don from USA on 2015-02-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Got it in 22 cal and it is real easy to fill with the Benjamin pump and very accurate

    Things I would have changed: Got the combo. Pump really needs a longer hose so you don't have to lay the gun down to fill. Trigger could be a better design

    What others should know: Worth every penny can shoot 1/2 inch groups with jsb 15.89 grains at 30 yards have already taken several rabbits with it. You do need to move the barrel band up closer the front sight. Gets about 12 good accurate shots from about 1800 psi to 1200 psi plenty for hunting only takes about 45 or 50 pumps to top off.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Allen from USA on 2015-02-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: My 1st PCP, I TREAT it roughly , shoot it almost daily and it has held up well. I installed a gamo scope on it. I use it for pest control , for the money it is right on the mark.i have had my Discovery for about 5 years now.

    Things I would have changed: Stock seems short to me.

    What others should know: I Love This Rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By william from USA on 2015-01-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: this is a well balanced package after owning a few springers im really liking the discovery my neighbor after shooting mine bought one as well i know this is supposed to be an entry level pcp rifle i put a 4-16 power centerpoint scope on it that works good but am looking into a scope that dont have as many bells & whistles possibly a bug buster compact scope i think my disco has about the same handling charactaristics as a 10/22 ruger my favorite ammo so far is meisterklugen clsely followed by crossman premiers & the rws super h point it doesnt like the hobbys or the stoeger 17.13 gr. stoegers which i hear are made by h&n in germany all in all this is not a fussy air rifle & ive taken many groundsquirrels & crows as well as pigeons most of my shooting is done as 30-50 yards i have a 30 yard shooting range in my back yard & friends come over & shoot with me as well everyone likes the discovery including one m-rod owner ive gotta say the m-rod is quieter which i like

    Things I would have changed: i must of got lucky with my trigger because it is smooth with no creep however i dont like its shape i think im gonna try one of those trigger boots double-action pistol shooters use i think its alliance hobby that has a metal trigger kit that includes an extra barrell band about $65.00

    What others should know: all in all im pretty happy with my discovery i wish they offered it in .25 cal

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Skirmich from USA on 2015-01-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: 1" Shot groups @ 50 Yards. Build Quality vs Price is Hands Down the BEST out there. Stock is nice with a very elegant finish. The bluing of the metal is top quality and the Plastics ironically don't feel cheap.

    Things I would have changed: Stock sights (Not really a con since I scope it day 1). Add a second barrel band for the price (Free floating barrels are good with shorter barrels or at least a shroud, this isn't one of them and the single barrel band isn't enough to stop the barrel from flexing if it hits something). Make the breach a little bigger cuz is not easy to load pellets with big fingers (This is specific to me though yours might be fine).

    What others should know: The stocks sights are pretty basic and hard to adjust. If you want to buy this rifle to use open sights don't even bother!! This rifle was BORN to be scoped it literally begs for it once you see the open sights. The Trigger is completely predictable and not squishy at all as some say, The pull is heavy only if you have used lighter triggers before on some High-End Rifles, If you come from break barrels this trigger will feel lightweight in comparison. The Hand Pump is pretty much the heaviest thing on the package, the build quality is amazing. I require around 43 pumps to bring it up from 1000PSI to 2000ish PSI this gave me around 18-20 powerful shots (.22 Cal version) the PSI Gauge on the Pump matches perfectly the one on the gun. If you want to start on the PCP world or just want an incredibly accurate 50yrd Rifle this is for you!! 399 bucks is a Steal for Gun and Pump!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By keelan from USA on 2015-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: POWER! This gun is very powerful out of the box. It's my first PCP, and I'm sold! NO recoil or special holds to account for. I get 20 to 25 consistent POI shots at moderate range, and another 5 or so for short range work. The quality of the build is a strong 9 of 10, its very solid and refined looking, with only a couple sub par areas. The pump that comes with the gun is solid and pumps to 2000 psi with ease, although it is a bit labor intensive at the higher end of the fill. The stock is a nice solid hardwood, and overall it is an awesome hunting rifle for the money. Mine seems to like JSB Exact 15.89 grain pellets. I can't say enough for its power, if you have used springers and multi pump pneumatics, especially .177 like me all your life, this thing is comparing a sligshot to a cannon! NO comparison, and I have a 1200 fps .177 springer. This .22 is a squirrels worst nightmare! I had said my next gun would be a Marauder .25, after shooting this .22, a .25 will be absolutely beastly!

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is by far the worst point of the gun, plastic blade with way too much creep. A brass trigger blade with adjustment screws and a good polish job should be top priority. Also, the bolt likes to lock and unlock when the gun is loaded, it hasn't opened so far, but it will go up and down if you are carrying it on a sling. Other than that, it is LOUD!! My .22 rimfire is barely louder, and I have had some pest birds "jump the shot" at longer range, presumedly they hear the report before the pellet arrives. So keep this in mind as well as your neighbors! And the placement of the barrel band/ lack of a second barrel band (see anything else to know).

    What others should know: I gave it a 4 star for accuracy due to two things, one a big deal and one an easy fix. Good news first, the barrel band. In its factory location, it allows the muzzle to flex a good amount with little persuasion. No big deal, I simply moved the band to about a half inch behind the front sight. Presto, problem solved, just make sure it doesn't clamp the barrel off to either side. Now the bad news, the muzzle. At 20 yards, I can shoot .25 inch jagged holes. Go to 50 and that opens to 1.75 to 2 inches. An internet search yielded some light on this issue. The last 1/2 inch or so of the rifling at the muzzle is "off" for lack of a better term. The rifling lands in that half inch are about half as wide as the remainder of their length. I found numerous instances of this online. My personal decision is to wait and get a BNM barrel when I get the BNM breech and shroud kit. It does OK in the meantime, just watch out for this issue.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2015-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything, the sights, the trigger, the weight, price, you just can't say any thing bad about it

    Things I would have changed: (My opinion) put a little friction at the part where the bolt closes to keep it close more snug because sometime when I'm not paying attention I touch the bolt and it stays up and then I shoot and the bolt it blown because I shot with it open

    What others should know: You need to put a mil dot scope on it because this thing is so accurate

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Morris from USA on 2014-12-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is my first pcp air gun so I do not have a depth of knowledge, but I can tell you I got a dandy. I paired the Discovery with a Leapers 3x9x40 AO scope. Perfect fit. I am short 5'8" the gun is a perfect fit for youth and small build shooters. The gun is light weight and the pump is really not that hard to use and I'm 63 years old. This is a hard hitting accurate air gun. It's a blast to shoot!

    Things I would have changed: The pressure gauge on the Discovery needs upgrading. Pretty cheap and way off from the pump pressure gauge reading, but for $10.00 it can be easily replaced.

    What others should know: I know and have read of Discovery problems and I was reluctant to take the risk because even at a so called low end pcp, that is still a lot of money for some of us. I am so glad I did. I love this gun, My springers will probably collect more dust now. This is a great air gun. Take the risk if you are ready to enter the air gun world. We all know Pyramyd Air will stand by any defects that might come with yours. I was blessed to have a great shooter right out of the box. Even the trigger is fine for now and I shoot Gene's upgrade in all my other rifles.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rrrrr from USA on 2014-12-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent accuracy, light weight, easy to operate, easy to pump up. No more break barrel springer artillery holds, no light stock holds, no holding stock in exact same position, no special trigger pull, no more broken scopes, no more recoil shock. This gun has it all over springers for accuracy. The pump works great too and is not hard to pump at all. Believe you me this is a one shot one kill pest buster.

    Things I would have changed: Additional barrel band and maybe a lighter hammer spring.

    What others should know: Shooting this gun as compared to a springer is like night and day with repeatable, I say repeatable 1 hole groups at 25yds., 1/2" groups at 50yds., and 1" groups at 70yds. with 15.89 JSB's. Pretty hard to do that repeatedly with a springer. This gun will only get about 12 good shots between 1000 and 2000 psi before having to pump back up(about 45 easy pumps). But if you lighten the hammer spring to reduce the velocity slightly you can get around 20 good shots(.22 cal.), get better groups and still hit hard. For the money this is a good deal to get into a PCP rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By PETER from USA on 2014-11-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Out of the box accuracy is great ONCE YOU FIND THE RIGHT PELLET. I have found that this gun DOES NOT like the Crosman Premier domed or hollow points, but LOVES the JSB 15.9g domed.

    Things I would have changed: The Benjamin Marauder and the Marauder pistol both have magazines...I really wish that they would come out with a magazine that fit the Discovery too!! The only other thing I can think of is possibly being able to buy an aftermarket synthetic thumbhole stock but that's really nit picking

    What others should know: I have used this gun with both CO2 and HPA and I personally like the CO2 much better. I get way more shots per fill and its not as loud compared to HPA. Pyramyd air has been nothing but helpful with all of my purchases and they are a wealth of knowledge when it comes to advice!

  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By pedro from USA on 2014-11-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: it light and i got a return number fast!

    Things I would have changed: i paid for 10 for $10 service so i would not have to send a leaking air rifle back. they charge and fire it but do not really check it for leaks so beware... so 1 week waiting for a leaky rifle and another week sending it back.

    What others should know: call them and have them charge and check it the next day

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By valente from USA on 2014-11-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Price, pump, and feel

    Things I would have changed: For the price nothing

    What others should know: Buy it!!!! Shoot it!!!! Don't complain about the small stuff. Use the darn thing! It's a very accurate gun and pump is well made. Not hard to fill to 2000 psi. .22 cal loves JSB 18.13 grain pellets. Small groups out to 70 yds. Gives my Mrod and Condor a run for their money.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dave from USA on 2014-10-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a great way to start with PCP. Love this gun!

    Things I would have changed: If you buy the package with scope, option it with a little better scope.

    What others should know: The CO2 option produces far less velocity.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dennis from USA on 2014-10-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: this is a very great rifle , light easy to shoot , the pump works great

    Things I would have changed: its loud but i like it

    What others should know: the pump is hard if your not 150lbs i have to put all my weight on it when im close to 2,000 psi and i cant pump my dads syn rod to full capacity of 3,000psi

  • 123 ... 910 Next
Navigation