Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Benjamin NPS Air Rifle reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Bonsai Guy from USA on 2009-12-14 15:28:08

    Things I liked:IT'S LIGHT!!! Perfect for trekking through the woods on a little hunt. Accurate as it can be! And QUIET!! I live IN a MAJOR city where you are literally 10-20 feet from your neighbors!! Scope is pretty good too.
    Things I would have changed:Not much. It's pretty cool the way it comes.
    What others should know:Shooting less than 1/4" groups at 35-40 yards with the Beeman Silver Arrow, and less than that with Predators! SUPER nice accuracy with this gun! I have a beard and the cheek pad is a bear! LOL!! It has to pull about 100 hairs out every time I shoot it! I'm going bald on one side of my face! I have a Super Streak and LOVE it, but have trouble shooting it in the city cause it's pretty loud compared to this gun. I love being able to go grab this thing and shot till my hearts content! NEVER had a neighbor try to peep over to see what I was up to while shooting this gun (unlike the Super Streak!). If you like hunting and being quiet; GET IT!!!! It's a great addition to my air gun collection. Just get it already! Pyramid Air is the best! ALWAYS on top of their game!
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Brian from USA on 2014-02-26 12:44:56

    Things I liked:the NPS aspect and ergonomics
    Things I would have changed:the trigger is horrible and the barrel or what ever is killing accuracy needs to change.
    What others should know:this is a very in accurate pellet gun. its been frustrating even attempting to hold a 5" group at 20 yards on a bench using multiple shooters(no one could hold grouping with this gun)(different pellets used as well). now i have to figure out what to do with it?
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ahkell from USA on 2014-11-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power, accuracy, decent scope, quiet. I like a pistol grip. Stock is a good length. Balance is good. Adjustable comb is nice, but a bit slippery. Slap some duck tape on it and you're all set.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger staging is not the smoothest, BUT-- I have only put 200-250 pellets through it, so never mind.
      What others should know:I really like this combo. 4 starlings, >20 degree + angle, all headshots at 30 yards. That's is an awfully good rifle for $170.00.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ahkell from USA on 2014-10-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.6666700839996343 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I think this is a really good little air rifle, especially at the price. Surprisingly, it also comes with an honestly decent mil-dot scope and not the usual 4x crossed wire reticle junk which one removes and replaces first thing out of the box. I have had the NPS for about two weeks. Today I did headshots on three starlings at 75 feet, so it is a indeed very accurate air rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing much. Perhaps a third level of comb adjustment.
      What others should know:Mine needed a film of oil to take the grind out of the cocking. Problem solved without drama. It's not a very pretty air rifle. Certainly not the Belle of the Ball as far as finish is concerned. However, it is a heck of an accurate piece. It has plenty of velocity so heavy pellets are an option. Comes with a pretty good scope. For $170? It's a steal.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Aaron from USA on 2014-09-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great scope, super accurate, light weight, packs a punch, and it just looks cool.
      Things I would have changed:It was a extremely long break in period for this rifle. I put 2000 round though my rifle, before it started shooting consistently. That's why it gets 4 stars.
      What others should know:I tried lots and lots of different types of pellets in my rifle, the Crosman hollow points shot a distance second to the benjamin pellets. I use my rifle to keep a few pest "birds" in check.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By Alexander from USA on 2014-07-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:price was good with the coupon. Scope seemed decent.
      Things I would have changed:This rifle made a horrible grinding noise when cocking. The noise just seemed to get worse, so I returned it.
      What others should know:I returned the rifle to PA and it was a very smooth and hassle free process. Went with a different gun altogether.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Conrad from USA on 2014-03-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Overall, a very good little gun at a very good price.
      Things I would have changed:The edges of the stock could be smoother or rounded a little for a more finished look but it is not functional and is a small detail in the big picture.
      What others should know:We have only had this rifle for a short while but it shoots exactly where you aim it, it has power for a .177, easy to cock, has a nice trigger, and the scope is a big step above what you would normally get with a gun of this price. I don't think you could beat this gun for the price.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Brian from USA on 2014-02-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the NPS aspect and ergonomics
      Things I would have changed:the trigger is horrible and the barrel or what ever is killing accuracy needs to change.
      What others should know:this is a very in accurate pellet gun. its been frustrating even attempting to hold a 5" group at 20 yards on a bench using multiple shooters(no one could hold grouping with this gun)(different pellets used as well). now i have to figure out what to do with it?
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By George from USA on 2014-01-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is difficult to express things I like when I was expecting better.
      Things I would have changed:The stock was very rough and the slide that compresses the nitrogen cylinder was dry. Dry metal rubbing together makes a sound no mechanic wants to hear.
      What others should know:When the scope crashes, and they always do, there is no other way to aim. (sights)
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Christopher from USA on 2014-01-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun and scope combo is nice enough for plinking, etc. The gun shoots well, but mine had a defective nitro piston.
      Things I would have changed:My nitro piston made a grinding noise when cocking the rifle after the first few shots, which got louder and louder as time went on. PA told me it would go away, which it didn't... and it actually got harder and harder to cycle the rifle.
      What others should know:I gave up with finding a cheap and reliable springer and bought a Marauder after returning the NPS.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Charles from USA on 2013-11-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The rifle is very light, compared to my RWS model 470, and should be a real joy to carry all day. It is quiet! I have already taken a few pigeons with it and the neighbors of the intended targets, located at 41 yards, never knew where I was!
      Things I would have changed:The trigger! It is one of the very worst that I have ever encountered. Even after adjusting it as far as I could, there was a lot of creep in the first stage. Let off was around five pounds, rough but controlable after a lot of practice.
      What others should know:This rifle is hold sensitive. If you are not willing to put in the time to develope a proper artillery hold and find the "sweet spot" on the stock, buy a PCP. Once mastered, thnis rifle delivered very acceptable groups at my measured 43 yard range!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Gifford from USA on 2013-11-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked: The “SS” is said to stand for “short stroke”. They could have called it “big bore” since it has a piston area about 35% larger than their B18 based rifles (Optimus, Titan, Trail, Venom ...), but ”BB” might give the wrong impression. The short stoke allows for greater mechanical advantage while cocking. I measured 26 lb. The parts quality of these “Made in USA with some foreign components” guns was much better than I have found in Chinese products. One interesting feature is the set screw used to prevent the barrel pivot bolt from loosening. I don’t know why but the bolt inserts from the left side like every other breakbarrel I have worked on. If it inserted from the right, it would have less tendency to loosen. The scope is the best I’ve encountered in a package deal. I used medium Leapers instead of the included high mount. The clearance is too small to completely fit the objective lens cap but otherwise I like the lower location. Barrel alignment was good as both scopes zeroed within the center quarter of the adjustment range.
      Things I would have changed: I own both the .177 and .22 faux carbon fiber stock versions. Out-of-the-box, I measured 945 and 728 fps with Crosman Premier Hollow Points. ( CPHPs worked best of the dozen pellets I tested ) Both guns sounded a bit “crunchy” while cocking. After 30 shots, the .177 gun’s spring loaded barrel detent jammed retracted. Since the barrel would not stay in the firing position, I decided to disassemble both guns. I know this voids the warranty but as an engineer, its just something I am compelled to do. The jam was caused by a metal chip. Both NPS guns plus two Chinese guns, a Titan and an Optimus I worked on this year, had chips throughout. Note to Crosman; parts should be clean and chip free before entering an assembly area. The cushion at the base of the gas spring required trimming to fit. The chosen rubber appears to swell in contact with oil. The trigger is a bit heavy but reasonably smooth. I’ll install a softer trigger spring when I find one.
      What others should know: This gun has a bit of an identity issue. First released as Crosman NPSS ( ELS77, ELS22 ). then badged as Remington NPSS ( RNP77, RNP22 ). and just this year as Benjamin NPS ( BNP77, BNP22 ) and currently under a new product numbering system ( 32040, 32050 ). The only machining I did was to add scope stop holes to match my preferred mounts and increase the transfer port from .120 to .156 on the .22 rifle. Reassembled, the velocity of the .177 rifle rose only 5 fps to 950 but with smoother cocking. ( no metal chips ) After a couple hundred shots, velocity has stabilized at 930. Energy is 15.2 ft-lb. The .22 rifle improved 32 fps to 760 which I attribute to opening up the transfer port. Pellet energy increased from 16.8 to 18.3 ft-lb. Out-of-the-box accuracy was almost twice as good for the .22 compared to the .177 and accuracy is improving for both with break-in.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jack from USA on 2013-11-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quiet. Smooth trigger. Scope is accurate and easy to adjust. Stock with thumb hole is comfortable and well balanced.
      Things I would have changed:Overall, I would have given it 5 stars except the finish on the stock had a couple of minor flaws. On an air gun this price more detail should be given to the quality of the finish.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By LLOYD from USA on 2013-10-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:THE WEIGHT,THE STOCK,THE SCOPE.THIS IS A VERY ACCURATE WEAPON.POWER IS AWESOME.
      Things I would have changed:I WOULD PUT A BETTER TRIGGER ON IT.
      What others should know:IF YOU PLAN ON PLINKING A 177CAL IS FINE.IF YOU PLAN ON HUNTING GET THE 22CAL.HAS GREAT POWER
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chester from USA on 2013-10-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.3333299160003663 ratings
       
      Things I liked:scope is the best I've seen with a gun that cost less than $200. Thumb hole makes holding rifle so much easier. Great balance. Superior accuracy; dime size 10 shot pattern at 35'. Trigger is also the best I've seen, no need to replace, pull is perfect. Cocking is easy and smooth.
      Things I would have changed:nothing I can think of.
      What others should know:I got my .22 cal for $179 with free shipping. Great buy. The .177 goes on sale for $149; wait for the deals.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chester from USA on 2013-09-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Everything about this .22 air rifle is superior to what I am use to in the Chinese products. Made in USA, this gun was within 2" right out of the box. the trigger is just right, the thumb hole stock is easier to hold, cocking is smooth, SCOPE is the best one ever offered on a gun that only cost $199. It is identical to the NPSS except that it has a regular size nitro piston where the NPSS has a shorter stroke piston. Same velocities and accuracy. This gun is so accurate that it is a real pleasure to watch the bull disapear while shotting it.
      Things I would have changed:While I am not an expert shooter, I have owned 4 pellet guns from PyrimidAir and this is by far the best one yet for less than $200 ... I can't offer any suggestions on how you might improve this fine weapon.
      What others should know:I did find 13 defective .22 pellets in the Crosman Premier can ... they were not hollow pointed like the rest and they fell through or hung up near the end of the barrel like they were about .20 cal. Be on the lookout for this ... Crosman will send you a replacement can for reporting contaminated product like this.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2012-05-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The scope is awesome! The rifle is quiet and accurate. Installing the scope was no problem since the required tools and instructions were supplied. This rifle is heads above my Gamo Varmint Hunter. I get consistant groupings at 25 yards using Beeman Kodiak Match pellets. Pyramyd did a fantastic job of processing my order promptly.
      Things I would have changed:I cannot think of anything.
      What others should know:This rifle is a bit on the heavy side. but it didn't take long to get comfortable with it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Martin from USA on 2012-03-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Made in the USA. This rifle shoot very well. Time will tell on scope and mounts. Like so far.
      Things I would have changed:Rifle needs a better stock. The plastic just does not do justice to this rifle. Better quality control. I have plastic on my Rem 700s so I know a good stock can come from Remington. Better trigger, spend the money get Charlies trigger, make all the difference.
      What others should know:First rifle sent went straight back, Pyramyd Air are GREAT to work with. Second rifle is a keeper, I just wish the quality in stock was better. Everyone I talked with at PA were eager to listen and help resolve problems.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Varmint Control from USA on 2012-03-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Both .22 Carbon & .177 Digital Camo versions (I own both.) seem to have a rugged, durable made design, like they can take a beating some. The .22 has been capable of putting shots on top of each other at maybe 25-30 yds., estimating. I've owned the .22 for longer & it's pretty quiet now that it's broken in. It is the pellet impact that is considerably louder than the actual shot. I'm just breaking in the .177 now, but it's looking like it's going to be a smoker, also.
      Things I would have changed:Both versions have a rough & hard trigger. It's a lousy design, even if the rifles still can be accurate. Your shots can mess up because of a nudging rifle due to a too hard trigger pull. I'm going to do something about those. Also, the instructions should tell you more about oiling the nitro piston. My .22 was grinding during barrel cocking well after break in period. I couldn't figure out why, so I took the stock off the gun. I found another couple holes that Crosman Spring/Cylinder oil can be used above the trigger area where the piston is housed. I used a few drops of that oil in those holes & the cocking got real smooth. The rifle's accuracy came back also. Why can't they tell us about that stuff instead of grinding the piston all that time expecting that to go away? Good thing these rifles are durable. I will be keeping an eye out for that on my other rifle, also.
      What others should know:Leapers True Strength scopes seem rugged & a good choice for accuracy in these rifles. For ammo I'm using .22 Benjamin hollowpoint & .177 Crosman hollowpoint. Both seem like a good pellet for each rifle, but the .177 Crosman hp has a hard fit sometimes. They still seem to shoot pretty good so far, even though that .177 rifle is just breaking in. I won't use too loose fitting pellets in any break barrel airgun. That probably causes extra nitro piston stress. One last thing: If you're using these rifles for pest control...Please sight in your scopes properly first! These rifles have good power & accuracy, but you still need a kill shot. Hit the head/chest area of the varmint because if you don't, then that wounded pest gets away to die suffering. Not only that... if another animal eats that shot dead pest, it's most likely to die suffering from lead poisoning... should the dead pest still have a pellet in it....Just a thought.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Albert from USA on 2012-03-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Seems I'm going to be limited in what I can say about this rifle. I mounted the scope. First shot,elevation right on at 8 yards. Wind-age was 2.5 inches to the right. Third shot all is well!! My first group of 10 was all in one hole.(crossman premiere) Second group was the same!! I was thinking WOW this baby is going to be a shooter!!! How ever over night things changed. The rifle was shooting all over the place. After about 30 shots it came back in. Same thing over night again it was all over the place. 30 shots and I was back in the same hole!!! I don't know why. But I took it out in the dark and shot it!! SPARKS every where! For those who don't know lead does not spark against steel! So I got a brass 22 cal. cleaning brush! Put some oil on the brush and proceeded to clean the bore. Then I oiled some beeman felt cleaning pellets. Them babies sounded like a 22 going off!! I took another 100 shots or so for this rifle to really start consistently shooting some impressive groups. I'm talking one hole half the size of a dime. I haven't shot out doors with it yet! All I can get indoors is 8 yards! The scope is just fine for this rifle! I read some complaints about it> I don't see it!!! (lol) Its not a 200 dollar scope!! I did have some issues with cocking it. It started out hard and got harder! I read where some one had complained about the same thing the company told him to use silicon spray. I used Teflon spray it has improved! Their was no lube any where
      Things I would have changed:First off I would ask Crossman to tell the TRUTH about this rifle! It will not shoot any where close to 1000 feet per second. In truth with the Crossmen premier 14. what ever grain. It will not shoot close to 800 FPS. about 760 is the reality. On the other hand the gun is quiet!! It shoots well! Crossmen is very close to having an exceptional rifle for the price!! The trigger? SUCKS! As well as this gun shoots I can only imagine how well this rifle would shoot with a good trigger. I mentioned how well this rifle shoot. However that was with a great deal of concentration! I tried adjusting the trigger,not much luck. I'm Never quite sure when the gun was going off!!! What it cost for crossman to put a GOOD trigger on this gun?? 25 dollars? I would be happy to pay 25 dollars more for a decent trigger!! Then the good people at crossman would have a winner in the dollar for dollar market!!! I should have got the 10 for 10 when I bought this rifle! I knew about it but did not see it offered when I was checking out! It may have saved me a few head aches!!! As I tried to say above this gun cocked hard and got harder!!!! Their was NO lube of any sort on this gun! I had read in another review the same complaint. I think I had filings in the barrel. As I mentioned above. Crossman might look into there quality control. I mean HEY this gun is made in the USA!!! That's why I bought IT!!! Make the best or don't make it at ALL!!!
      What others should know:This gun over all is a Winner!! I would buy it again!! However crossman could and should make a few simple changes that would make this gun, the best gun on the market, dollar for dollar. * Dear Crossman*, Look no farther than the RWS daina 34 for a trigger you could be proud of!!!!! Their is a gun that I know exactly when it is going to go OFF! SMOOTH!!!!!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Justin from USA on 2012-03-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The nitro piston is awesome and it is a very quiet gun.
      What others should know:I still am hesitant about the durability of the nitro-piston over a spring. They say the nitro piston will outlast a spring, but it seems to me that a the seals involved would eventually give out. I guess only time will tell.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Hellcrush from USA on 2012-02-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The smooth break barrel action Long dove tail mounting rail Sufficient scope that comes with the package Shoots a variety of pellets well Comfortable stock and check rest
      Things I would have changed:The finish on the synthetic stock is slightly below par. A wood stock option would be nice The trigger adjustment screw is loose and may back out over time. The two stage trigger is prone to sticking causing rough action. (This can be fixed by filing or "polishing" the outside edges of the trigger)
      What others should know:For the price it is the best I have shot. If you want something better you will be in the $700 range. I think its one of the best none pcp break barrel airguns on the market. I have shot the best and allot of the rest. I like this gun and show it to my competition shooting friends, and they are always surprised at the smooth feel of the nitro piston.
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top