Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Benjamin NP Limited Edition Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Matt from USA on 2014-01-26 23:04:10

    Things I liked:This is an NPSS power plant on a Crosman Fury stock. Very little break in time needed for mine. I cleaned the barrel until patches pushed through until they came through clean. I was ready to sight the scope in by 20 shots. I mounted the scope and was shooting well and getting great groups within less than 50 to 60 shots. The AO scope is adjustable down to 10 yards. Below that it gets fuzzy. The scope and mounts have held zero and have not needed adjustment due to recoil. The first stage of the trigger is medium long but easy. The trigger breaks predictably at 3#6oz. The rifle is long and very easy to cock. The balance is one hand ahead of the trigger guard. Very little recoil compared to other NPs I own. The rifle is relatively lightweight. Overall, this is a nice "all in the box" package. This could be the perfect entry level youth NP hunter.
    Things I would have changed:Some may prefer an automatic safety. Sling swivels, a sling, and a tin of pellets matched to the rifle would be the perfect entry package.
    What others should know:I'm using Crosman Premier Hollow points and getting repeatable, one big ragged hole at ten yards that can be covered by a dime shooting off of a rest. I haven't had a chance to test other rounds for best accuracy. Waiting until I can go outdoors for a 20 yard range. I expect this to be a fine squirrel and rabbit rifle.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Bart from USA on 2014-06-29 00:28:54

    Things I liked:Velocity, balance, looks
    Things I would have changed:Barrel pivot bolt design. Scope rail instead of dovetail.
    What others should know:I have put about 200+ pellets through this gun. Itsinconsistent accuracy puzzled me until further examination revealed that the bolt used in the barrel pivot was loose, resulting in "wiggle" in the barrel. I retightened, but it again loosened after about 30 pellets. I have gone through this cycle 2-3 times, and even used a spot of Loctite when I last re-tightened the bolt...but it again eventually loosened up. Ocassionaly I can feel and hear a tightness and a roughness during the cocking operation, and I believe that is when the bolt is being loosened. Not sure why that happens, but I am surprised the engineers did not design the threads on the bolt so that cocking the barrel puts a "tightening" torgue on the bolt, rather than a loosening one. Regardless, I am not going to fight this anymore. It is going back.
    Sort by:
    • 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By joe wilson from USA on 2014-09-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:these are the only pellets i have used. they are consistant. if it works dont ghange.
      Things I would have changed:nothing i am shooting 1.1/2" groupes at 50yards
      What others should know:these pellets kill pidgeons 1st shot every time
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By joe wilson from USA on 2014-09-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this rifle shoots good. the cocking gets a bit toughbut i am 61 years old. the scope works great it is very accurate. now i want to try a pcp gun i think recoil will be less
      Things I would have changed:the trigger is a little stiff even adjusted but you get by with it.
      What others should know:it is a great gun to start with. well worth the money it costs
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joe Rhea from USA on 2014-08-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The accuracy !!!! With the H&N barracudas it is truly spooky accurate !!! Quiet and easy to cock. Took a bit to break in and settle down(200) or so shots . Light weight pellets spray like a leaky water hose . Love the fact it DOES NOT come with iron sights ,,, I hate the open sights ..they only cut up your hands
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is ........Like a rusty car door . 12 dollars on eBay and it's now a target trigger . Grooved receiver for scope rings worthless . Plan on buying a quality picitinny rail . And torque it TIGHT . Others cry about the stock, but it's not a big deal
      What others should know:Don't hesitate to buy this rifle , but plan on a better scope and 50 or so bucks on rings, base , trigger and it's a winner !
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ed from USA on 2014-08-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate and also very quiet. I found the included scope to nice. Cocking effort is light.
      Things I would have changed:As some others have mentioned, the stock is a bit short. I put a Limbsaver recoil pad on it. Not because of any great recoil but to extend the pull length a good inch. I didn't care much for the trigger. The pull seemed excessive to me and it was "notchy". Replaced it with a CBR from Charlie da tuna and now it's perfect. I try to make a habit of engaging the safety after every shot but wish it had an automatic safety.
      What others should know:Even though I used locktite when I installed the scope, the stop managed to back out resulting in it sliding back after a few hundred rounds. Removed it and reapplied locktite paying attention to getting it on the treads in the scope mount. If it happens again I think I'll drill and tap both the mount and the action for a larger stop. Overall, I'm very pleased with it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Charles from USA on 2014-08-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate, decent scope with the package, quiet compared to springers I have tried.
      Things I would have changed:As stated before, this stock is a bear for people with small hands when benched. I have had to come up with a completely different hold just to get my finger appropriately onto the trigger face. I have Tiny hands though...
      What others should know:Awesome shooter after 150-200 pellets through it, for me. My NP specifically digests H&N Terminator HP's, putting 5 shots in just under 3/4" @ 25 yards. Took a ground squirrel with this combo at 38 yards on a laser rangefinder. Devastating combo of gun and pellet for Squirrels!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2014-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun shoots accurately and is powerful. I formerly had a Mendoza, a highly priced piece of junk! Metal was not hardened and pieces (e.g., sights) started to fall off from the jarring. The Benjamin is solid as a rock! It is also very quiet - especially considering how powerful it is. You will not be disappointed with this gun for the money!
      Things I would have changed:As many reviewers have already said, the stock is a bit cheap. However, it IS durable. Biggest issue I have is that the safety doesn't engage automatically when it is cocked - instead, you have to do it manually.
      What others should know:The barrel is heavy, but it does help to stabilize when shooting. I popped a varmint instantly at well over a hundred yards!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By GEORGE from USA on 2014-08-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very low noise! Shoots great!!! Scope is a nice starter scope!!! Very well put together for the price!!
      Things I would have changed:Mount is too high, and the stop screw is to big for the stop hole!! Adjustable cheek rest would be great!!
      What others should know:I think it is a good air gun for someone that wants to take out the unwelcome critters & it is fun to shoot!!! I did change out the trigger (CBR)!!! NOW 2 LB.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Stanley from USA on 2014-08-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Lightweight , all weather stock , power , nice scope and mount. I ve done extensive research in choosing this rifle , watched all the videos, read all the reviews. I have about 65 rounds through it so far and found it to be very accurate. It is about 3 pounds lighter than my gamo hunter extreme. I choose it because of the lighter weight , all weather plastic stock (DONT HAVE TO WORRY ABUOT SCRATCHES) , 22 cal. ,and being the best choice among the others . The others have a wood stocks and a crappy scopes this one has the most bang for the buck. Purchased at 150.00 its definitely the best value and the best choice for me. I was looking for a lightweight 22 cal. with a good included scope and found it . This way i don't have to put out extra money for replacement scope. No spring noise very quiet overall .
      Things I would have changed:For money i can't fault anything on this rifle it is very usable as is .
      What others should know:If you remove the stock for any reason beware the two forearm screws they can cross thread easily mine did so i had to retap the threads. I used a dremel tool to make extra clearance because the stock was rubbing on the barrel , also the scope screws loosened up so you will need to put loctite on all 8 scope screws , and also the scope mount screws. This rifle has considerable recoil so things do loosen up. This rifle comes with a centerpoint 3x9x40 AO scope, nicer than most. I used 320 grit sand paper on the stock to smooth out the rough spots from the molds , nice and smooth now.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By joan from USA on 2014-07-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Powerful, not to hard to cock and mine is VERY accurate when set up properly (see below) to the point that it shoots better then I do. Even with the scope mounting issues i was able to ping a 4 inch target at 50 yards. Priced in an affordable range i think you could hunt pretty well with this gun, as well as target shoot and plink. I like the trigger,which feels somewhat heavy out of the box. I like the synthetic stock (wood would have been nicer but for the price the money is better spent on the actual air gun mechanism) with its raised stippeling which provides a good grip (not as nice as checkering would have been but OK) Recoil feels about as much as my pals .22 rimfire. Scope is pretty decent for this rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Better scope rings. Sling would be nice too. I dont like the safety being right infrount of the trigger- if it were automatic i might like it better.
      What others should know:Scope mount SUCKS- Make sure the set screw goes into the hole (mine didnt fit properly) POI would change after every few shots... eventually I realized that the scope mount had bounced HALF OFF THE GUN - pretty annoying as I was in the woods on vacation. The verticle set screw had gouged a trail as it bounced backwards on every shot. When I got home I got a tap and die set and enlarged the hole to take the set screw (which did not fit properly before) and now the gun is a tackdriver at 15 yards (not taken it out again)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Brad from USA on 2014-07-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This review is based on my replacement rifle as the first was defective. Overall this gun is a tremendous value. I'd say it easily competes with break barrels in the $250-$300. The internals are the same as the Benjamin NPS or discontinued Remington NPSS which are a notch above those found in the Trail NP. It's a very smooth cocking gun with the lightest cocking of any gun in its class (my guess is low 30# range). The gun is light yet the recoil is very manageable. The shrouded barrel does make this a backyard friendly air rifle. The 40mm AO scope is very nice for an included scope and is well suited for this rifle. The trigger pull length can be adjusted and the break is reasonably clean and consistent. The stock is light and a good fit for smaller to medium shooters (more on these last 2 points in things I would change). Accuracy is as good as any breakbarrel I've shot but I did do a tune on mine before shooting. Rested 10 shot groups of 1/4" at 10yd and 1/2" at 20yd.
      Things I would have changed:The stock geometry needs to be improved. The trigger is too far forward for comfortable shooting in all positions. Some positions are better than others but there is definitely room for improvement. I'd also increase the height of the cheek rest a bit and smooth out the under side foregrip section. The fit is just a touch tight at the breech which causes a slight rub during cocking. The trigger, while far superior to what comes on the Trail NP is in need of some work too. It's 1st stage pull is too long and the pull was close to 6 pounds! It actually hurt my hand after firing 200 pellets. The scope rail needs to be a weaver rail because the dovetail mount with vertical set screw is not able to handle the recoil properly. I realize this gun offers a ton for the money at its price but I would gladly pay 40 or 50 bucks more for these issues fixed. The trigger is the only thing I was able to fix using an $11 trigger kit that included a 2 pound spring, bushings and screw.
      What others should know:It likes CP HollowPoints and domes, and Diabolo exact jumbo heavies (best groups). Predator Polymags do about as good as the CPs. Gun benefits from a tune and barrel cleaning as there seemed do be some grime in the barrel. Unlike most break barrels this barrel freely pivots when cocked and tightening the breech pivot bolt won't prevent this. This probably contributes to its light cocking effort. Check ebay for the NPSS trigger kit. I did get occasional flyers out of my groups until I tightened the barrel pivot bolt a bit. As for mounting the scope, make sure you tighten the vertical set pin so it seats fully and then fully tighten and loctite (medium red or blue)all the screws. The monoblock scope mount is nice but the vertical set pin isn't up to the job of limiting rear slide and proper mounting is essential to get the scope to hold zero. Even with this my scope slid 1mm rearward before it settled into it's place. It could really benefit from a weaver mount.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Pete from USA on 2014-07-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is far more powerful than I thought it would be. Very nice! I was able to quickly sight it in and took my first rabbit with a head shot. It was done before it could fall over. I am very impressed with that. The trigger is far better than the one I had experienced on the Fury II and the nitro piston is such a huge improvement over the typical springer that I don't think the springers have a place anymore. I wouldn't even consider using a cheaper scope than this one and might end up replacing it even though it's better than most that come on these. The trigger isn't as good as I would like, but it's definitely adequate for my uses.
      Things I would have changed:The stock has some really sharp edges on it which is pretty annoying. The trigger reach is considerable. I'm not a small guy and I'm stretching my hands pretty far.
      What others should know:I don't know if it's just a part of airgunning or not, but it seems that I need to re zero nearly every outing in order to get back where I want to be. This could be because of wind, humidity, temp, and such. I honestly don't know, but so far I can't just depend on the scope to be perfectly zeroed every time I take it out ( and I did locktite it down). I highly recommend the nitro piston set up unless you are going to go PCP. The NP2 is what I wish would have been out when I bought this!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2014-07-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Just got this gun about a week ago and tried it out for the 1st time at the property today. This gun is very accurate and powerful so far (120 shots fired) groups very well with Beeman FTS 14 grain pellets at 25-30 yards. Took me 8-10 shots to dial this gun in and after that I was killing the bullseye at 30 yards! I also like the dovetail scope rail because the weaver welded on scope rail fell off of my Benjamin XL 1100 after 50-60 shots, so I returned it and bought this gun. The XL 1100 seemed to have way more power but i had to return 2 of them already! I even killed 2 pest ground squirrels that were tearing up the Property with my new gun. I'm gonna try the Beeman Kodiak 21 grain pellets next and see how well they group and how much harder they hit??
      Things I would have changed:The stock! It needs a nice wood stock! but it's well worth the $149.99 + 10% off!!!! Does anybody know of a better stock for this gun? (wood stock?) this gun is kinda like the Benjamin Regal only a couple company's sale them! But this gun seems to be more powerful than my uncles .22 Benjamin Regal. The scope it came with is nice but it's now my back up scope. I put on a nicer Center Point 4-16x40mm scope.
      What others should know:Great gun so far, hopefully this gun holds up. I also read in some reviews that the NP2 weaver welded on scope rails are falling off just like my XL 1100's did and there having cracks on the barrel. I'm gonna wait til Crosman gets it right to order the new USA NP2
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Bill from USA on 2014-07-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is my first air rifle, or gun of any style since shooting M-16 in the military. I did not initially use the 'artillery hold' and the shots would not consistently group. Since reviewing the PA Videos I am getting better. FYSA- I originally bought the NP2 and its scope fell off, Pyramyd Air refunded the cost w/o question. So I tried this rifle. Only 120 shots into break-in, so I'm not sure if the inaccuracy is me or the gun. The PA Academy is a great source of help!
      Things I would have changed:Less weight would be nice.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By james from USA on 2014-07-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Every thing put a bsa 3/9/40 scope on it out of the box and it was hitting the bulleye at 25 too 30 yards 8 out 10 times, I like the looks, the weight,and the feel of the gun
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing
      What others should know:It is a hard hitting gun so air gunners go to Pyramyd air and get one before there all gone, don't miss out price is cheap so happy shooting zinger z from H Kansas
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gregory from USA on 2014-07-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I have had this rifle a week and have only been able to sight in the scope and put about 70 pellets down range. For the price this is an excellent rifle. Everyone has different experiences with pellet rifles and I have little enough experience with air guns that I don't come to the bench with any particular expectations. Here is a novice air-gunner take on this rifle. Out of the box the scope was very easy to mount and seems to be very good quality given the price point; better than I expected for sure. Dialing in the scope was interesting since after pre-setting and putting a pellet down range at 22 yards I was about 12" low and 15" right. Lots of cranking to get zeroed in but since then it has stayed dead on. The trigger has a very long pull before it engages the second stage but the sear breaks crisp and with very reasonable pressure. I also found it to be very consistent. Maybe I got lucky with this gun. No creep or the rough pull that others have complained about.
      Things I would have changed:I agree with a few reviewers who have noted that the stock is a bit short and has a clumsy grip for shooting from the bench. I had to experiment a bit with hand position to find a comfortable bench grip. Off-hand is no problem but I do intend to lengthen the stock and add a cheek rest. Otherwise I like everything about this gun.
      What others should know:Pyramyd Air was out of stock on the JSB Jumbo Exact pellets that are consistently reported to be the best out of this gun. I settled on Beeman FTS domed 14.6gr pellets for the testing and break-in. Less than 100 shots thru this rifle and at 22 yards (happens to be where the easiest set is in my shop)I have put down range 5 shot groups consistently 3/8" or less c-t-c. My last group took out the dime sized center of the target without a single pellet outside the center ring. If the JSB pellets are more accurate, single hole groups at 20 yards should be the rule. I also sent 5 Newboy 20gr hollow points into the target and as expected got some drop (didn't bother to dial in the scope because I like the Beemans)but a nice clean cloverleaf. I do think the Newboy pellets are a bit too tight in the breech but they hit like a hammer. Great rifle. You cannot possibly go wrong with this gun.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Bart from USA on 2014-06-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Velocity, balance, looks
      Things I would have changed:Barrel pivot bolt design. Scope rail instead of dovetail.
      What others should know:I have put about 200+ pellets through this gun. Itsinconsistent accuracy puzzled me until further examination revealed that the bolt used in the barrel pivot was loose, resulting in "wiggle" in the barrel. I retightened, but it again loosened after about 30 pellets. I have gone through this cycle 2-3 times, and even used a spot of Loctite when I last re-tightened the bolt...but it again eventually loosened up. Ocassionaly I can feel and hear a tightness and a roughness during the cocking operation, and I believe that is when the bolt is being loosened. Not sure why that happens, but I am surprised the engineers did not design the threads on the bolt so that cocking the barrel puts a "tightening" torgue on the bolt, rather than a loosening one. Regardless, I am not going to fight this anymore. It is going back.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Ralph from USA on 2014-06-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:powerful accurate
      Things I would have changed:Some way to keep the scope from moving rearward with every shot. Tightened properly according to Pyramyd Air's instructions, it still moves. Mounting screws do not loosen.
      What others should know:you may have the same trouble I did, with the scope creeping rearward with every shot. You will have to modify the scope mounting area to create a stop that will lock it in place.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Michael from USA on 2014-06-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Decently accurate, can stack pellets on top of one another at 15 yards. The gun itself has potential to be a decent shooter, and the provided scope is not bad quality.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger, just like everyone else says. The factory trigger is long and somewhat heavy. Fine for shooting tin cans, but not for shooting small groups. Add studs to mount a sling on. I used a Blackhawk 2-point sling wrapped around the stock and forearm, and it greatly helps accuracy for me. The action is somewhat noisy (metal to metal clank sound when firing). The action is more noisy than the muzzle report from shooting the pellet. It should be easy for Crossman/Benjamin to put a rubber washer or shock absorber in the action to reduce this noise.
      What others should know:Overall I was pretty happy with the quality of this gun and package, especially on sale for $150 here at Pyramyd Air.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Larry from USA on 2014-06-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Quieter than most springers I've heard.
      Things I would have changed:Elongate the stock access hole in the bottom of the trigger guard so the trigger adjusment screw can be reached without going in from the side. I had to remove the stock to adust.
      What others should know:I takes pratice to get accuracy, like everything I read. This is my first springer and I guess I'm spoiled with my tack driver Maurader. My Disco isn't bad either. With the heavy trigger pull, I doubt if this NP will ever compete with my other Benjamin's, but I hope to be confident enough someday to take it hunting.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By stoney from USA on 2014-06-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:GREAT WEAPON; VERY ACCURATE RIGHT OUT OF BOX. NEEDED TO OF COURSE ADJUST THE SCOPE.
      Things I would have changed:MAY REPLACE THE TRIGGER. VERY UNUSUAL PULL.
    • 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top