Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Benjamin NP Limited Edition Air Rifle reviews - page 2



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Matt from USA on 2014-01-26 23:04:10

    Things I liked:This is an NPSS power plant on a Crosman Fury stock. Very little break in time needed for mine. I cleaned the barrel until patches pushed through until they came through clean. I was ready to sight the scope in by 20 shots. I mounted the scope and was shooting well and getting great groups within less than 50 to 60 shots. The AO scope is adjustable down to 10 yards. Below that it gets fuzzy. The scope and mounts have held zero and have not needed adjustment due to recoil. The first stage of the trigger is medium long but easy. The trigger breaks predictably at 3#6oz. The rifle is long and very easy to cock. The balance is one hand ahead of the trigger guard. Very little recoil compared to other NPs I own. The rifle is relatively lightweight. Overall, this is a nice "all in the box" package. This could be the perfect entry level youth NP hunter.
    Things I would have changed:Some may prefer an automatic safety. Sling swivels, a sling, and a tin of pellets matched to the rifle would be the perfect entry package.
    What others should know:I'm using Crosman Premier Hollow points and getting repeatable, one big ragged hole at ten yards that can be covered by a dime shooting off of a rest. I haven't had a chance to test other rounds for best accuracy. Waiting until I can go outdoors for a 20 yard range. I expect this to be a fine squirrel and rabbit rifle.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Bart from USA on 2014-06-29 00:28:54

    Things I liked:Velocity, balance, looks
    Things I would have changed:Barrel pivot bolt design. Scope rail instead of dovetail.
    What others should know:I have put about 200+ pellets through this gun. Itsinconsistent accuracy puzzled me until further examination revealed that the bolt used in the barrel pivot was loose, resulting in "wiggle" in the barrel. I retightened, but it again loosened after about 30 pellets. I have gone through this cycle 2-3 times, and even used a spot of Loctite when I last re-tightened the bolt...but it again eventually loosened up. Ocassionaly I can feel and hear a tightness and a roughness during the cocking operation, and I believe that is when the bolt is being loosened. Not sure why that happens, but I am surprised the engineers did not design the threads on the bolt so that cocking the barrel puts a "tightening" torgue on the bolt, rather than a loosening one. Regardless, I am not going to fight this anymore. It is going back.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ben from USA on 2014-06-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've been very impressed with the power and accuracy of this gun. Great knockdown power. Sighted in pretty quickly and has been very easy to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:A cheek rest on the stock.
      What others should know:A lot of reviews have talked about the trigger, but I haven't found it to be an issue once you get used to it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ernie Robinson from USA on 2014-06-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Out of the box, I attached the scope and sighted the gun in with five shots. The second five were in a 2" group freehand at 20 yards. Nice scope with clear optics. I enjoy shooting and with the rising cost of ammo, this pellet rifle allows me to shoot as much as I like. The power of this gun will allow me to keep the yard rid of varmints in a neighborhood setting.
      Things I would have changed:The gun is heavy, even heavier than my .243 that I hunt with. The trigger seems like a stretch to reach and stiff. I am hoping with more shots being fired through it and adjustment will loosen it up.
      What others should know:This is not a child's gun. This is a question that will bring down small animals without any problem. for the price of this gun, it's a great value which features of higher price gun. This air rifle will replace my .22 out in the field.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Gifford from USA on 2014-06-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I purchased this gun in February. I also have two NPS rifles which are the same gun except for the stock. I reviewed them on 2013-11-13. Despite the problems I have encountered, This rifle still seems like a great deal. I have not missed a single squirrel in the bird feeder at 60 ft. Power is more than adequate with the pellet buried 1/4 in wood after passing thru the rodent. I continue to think that the scope is the best I have received packaged with an air rifle. Out-of-the-box velocity was 745 fps with Crosman Premier Hollow Points.
      Things I would have changed:The scope mount was missing from the box but I planned on using the Leapers medium 2-piece as on my other guns. The barrel droop exceeded the adjustment range of the scope. Instead of a droop compensating mount, I removed .012 from the barrel stop to bring the aim up near the center of the scope adjustment. The barrel detent also was modified to protrude .015 farther to lock the barrel in the firing position. When disassembled, I found this rifle to be much cleaner inside then the previous two. Crosman must have cleaned up their assembly area. As with my .22 NPS, I opened the transfer port to .156 and added a scope stop hole to match the mount. Velocity remained the same so now I would conclude that the original .120 port is fine as-is.
      What others should know:The trigger pull measured 5# 4oz. My two other NPS rifles measured 5# 1oz and 5# 15oz. It was hard to stay on target and after a couple dozen shots my trigger finger was tired and sore. I modified all three with kits on eBay that include a softer trigger spring and some bits to make it smoother. The trigger pulls now measure 2# 1oz, 1# 14oz and 2#. This change has greatly improved my accuracy. A replacement trigger would probably do the same but cost about 3 times as much.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Neil from USA on 2014-06-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun out of the box is VERY quiet for a "springer". The NP system works!!! Accuracy is top notch, and I suspect it will improve as the gun breaks in, and if I find a better suited pellet...my gun LOVES the Beeman Crow Magnum. The scope is decent for being a freebie, but I will eventually upgrade and see what this gun can really do. Trigger pull is not topnotch, but one cannot expect that at this price, HOWEVER, it breaks clean, is consistent, and is the best of the few springer type guns I own. This gun rocks!
      Things I would have changed:The stock...or at least it's shape as per reaching the trigger. I have to still get used to getting the pad of my finger to consistantly place on the trigger. Once there, though, and it's lights out for bad birdies!! For a few bucks more, I am sure a pistol type stock, or thumbhole stock could be done for this rifle. Trigger pull could be a bit better, but again, for the price it is very consistent.
      What others should know:Easy cocking, decent scope, decent trigger for the money. A really good value for a pesting air rifle. Ultra quiet, and velocity is VERY consistent!! Find your "magic" pellet, and you are good to go!!! I recommend this gun for a first "springer" gun! Or, buy the NPS version which is this gun and a better stock. Either way, this gun works!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Alan from USA on 2014-06-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The overall feel and balance of this gun just fit naturally to my personal touch. Once in a while you heft a rifle and it just seems right to you. This is one of those rifles to me. After a short break in period, say 60-70 shots I am shooting 1" groups at 35 yards. I really like this air rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Not much. The supplied scope is OK for the price. The quality of the gun far exceeds the quality of the scope.
      What others should know:I ordered the new NP2 Trail and had to return it. This, in my humble opinion, is a better gun. I am certain that Crosman will work out the bugs in the NP2 and it will be a great gun. Meanwhile I am very satisfied with my new NPS with the Crosman Fury stock AKA Benjamin NP Limited Edition.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By richard from USA on 2014-06-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The overall package. Beautiful fit and finish. Felt broke in after 50 rounds. Very accurate 30yrds groups of less than 1" from a gun rest. Love the fact it is made in America. Bought one for my wife. Also recommended to al my friends.
      Things I would have changed:Love the shape and size of stock, But would add sling mounts.
      What others should know:It shoots better than I can.Best deal the USA
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Matthew from USA on 2014-05-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I just purchased the middle package during the Memorial Day sale and it was by the front door when I got home from work. I have to say, I am impressed! After mounting up the scope, it only took 15 shots to net a spot on nickel-sized group at roughly 40 feet. I can't wait to see what it can do after it breaks in! At $180 to my door with the sale price, the value on this thing is unreal!
      Things I would have changed:The barrel rubs the stock as I break it to cock it. I noticed this in someone another review and that person suggested spacing it with dimes when storing it as a cure, so I'll probably give that a shot. I suppose I'd want improved fit and finish...but I'm on a bit of a high with how great this thing is otherwise right now so it does seem that important right now!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2014-05-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Reasonably quiet, great for shooting in the confines of suburbia. Nice and accurate right out of the box. I'm sure it will quiet down more once broken in. This is a considerably light rifle for it's size, I feel that one could carry this in the field for extended periods of time without issue.
      Things I would have changed:The stock, it has some rather sharp edges and rubs on the barrel while cocking, to the point some bluing gets rubbed off. While the trigger is decent, it could stand to shed a pound or two of pull weight. People new to airgunning may have accuracy issues due to the somewhat heavy pull. A better drop-in trigger is available, the CBR trigger from Charlie Da Tuna. I will order one once I have thoroughly tested my replacement rifle. That said, I could easily live with the factory trigger, as it is much better than what comes on most Crosman spring rifles.
      What others should know:This is a very quiet gun in comparison to other spring rifles. It sounds almost like a staple gun. I had to return my first one and exchange it due to the cocking shoe rubbing on the gas strut. This seems to be a somewhat common issue on rifles using this powerplant, such as the Crosman NPS and Remington NPSS. The only pellets I've tested were Crosman Premier Hollowpoint 14.3g and Premier Domed 14.3g, both shot very well with good accuracy. I will try other pellets in the future.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By edward from USA on 2014-04-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Have been shooting from a bench rest at about forty yards, and I am having very good results, even with lower priced pellets. I have just received a shipment of more expensive Crosman 14.3 gr. dome pellets, as Crosman recommended, and am expecting even better results. I have killed several grackles (which birds I hate).
      Things I would have changed: Nothing. Adult gun, exibited by the stout cocking, and weight of the gun. It's nice and heavy, which I like.
      What others should know:Instructions are correct. It takes over one hundred shots to get the piece to settle down and act right. The scope jarred itself loose during break in period, and a little red locktite was needed to keep everything in place.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lynn from USA on 2014-04-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very accuracy
      Things I would have changed:put a check rest on stock
      What others should know: the scope they send with it isn't very good
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By John from USA on 2014-04-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have approximately 500 rounds through this gun, it has smoothed up appreciably, and I am going to say that I think that this a very good value. In my estimation it is quieter, and does cock a bit easier than a standard spring piston gun. Most of my shooting is casual plinking and I find the gun to more than accurate enough for that type of shooting. The gun is a good weight for field carry, I like the all weather stock for that reason as well. The scope and mount that ship with the gun are very nice, very clear optics and a real spring/air gun mount. I would highly recommend this gun to anyone who wants to experience the gas spring technology.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger on this gun could stand a bit more adjustment, with the adjusting screw bottomed out the trigger is still a little heavy.
      What others should know:My bottom line is that this is a great combination, if the trigger was a bit better, my over all and accuracy ratings would have been 5 stars.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By airgun collector from USA on 2014-04-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Power, accuracy, weight, relative easy cocking, scope.
      Things I would have changed:I would have preferred the Nitro Venom Dusk stock because of the high cheek rest but this stock works for me. Other than that, absolutely nothing.
      What others should know:This gun and scope combination work well together. It did not take long to site in the scope even from a standing position. Once it is sighted in it was hard to miss the center of the target at my limited indoor range of 25 feet. Will see how it performs outside at longer distances. I love the gun and I think you will too.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By john from USA on 2014-03-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:hi airgunners , after a close inspection of gun , scope and mount I was impressed . At this price this is a great combo .
      Things I would have changed:The trigger , its not that bad for plinking or hunting , it could be smoother and lighter , I ordered a trigger blade from Charlie da tuna .com . The bottom of the stock at the forearm the edges are sharp , ( area at cocking channel ) . need to be smoothed out .
      What others should know:After a scope mount and a sight in I was off for a weekend of shooting . 650 + shots and this gun shoots crosman premier 14.3 gr hollow point pellets very well ( tight groups ) . I tried other pellets , jsb 14.3 rws 14.3 superdomes but not as good as the crosmans . Will try hn field target trophy 14.66 in my next outing . I was so impressed with gun I ordered another 1 for my son . I will comment on the trigger mod when its installed and tested. Thanks PA for great service .
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2014-03-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Balance and shouldered feel of the rifle was good for me. Overall (initial) appearance of quality was good. This was only my second air rifle purchase over many years and was very impressed by the quietness of the nitro piston compared to my old GAMO springer. PyramydAir is great to deal with, very accommodating.
      Things I would have changed:My hand is a normal size (I wear large size gloves) yet the pistol grip of this rifle seems fat making a comfortable trigger finger hold "uncomfortable". Also,, the scope mount provided is too high for my liking. Trigger needs upgrading.
      What others should know:After proper cleaning and shooting over 100 CP 14.3 pellets with intermittent cleaning, this gun was still very erratic. Thought it could be the CenterPoint scope. It wasn't ! I tried a higher quality airgun rated scope with the same erratic results. I returned this gun to PA after finding the barrel wobbled side to side causing the erratic shooting. It may have been the pivot bolt needed tightened, but I didn't feel I should have to take things apart to repair a new gun. I chose another brand rifle for replacement fearing the possibility of the same experience with another Benjamin NP. I know from much reading, airgun ownership and shooting can be about "tinkering" with the gun you own to make it shoot good...yet being retired and on a fixed income I didn't spend $200 to have a little fun just to find out I need to repair and replace parts on a new gun which would also void warranty.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2014-03-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The weight and balance are great on this gun , perfect for offhand shooting. The power is impressive, I have not hunted with it yet but I am looking forward to it.The thing I like the most is that this gun has proved to be just what I needed for the shooting that I have in mind .
      Things I would have changed:You cannot expect too many extras on a gun in this price range , so I will say nothing needs to be changed , the gun and the supplied scope work just fine .
      What others should know:I can see why some would not like the stock , but it is slim and light so it works very well in the field , plus I would imagine that you can purchase an upgrade if you wanted to . Once I had it cleaned and oiled it functioned smoothly and I had little or no real break in period , it was sighted in quickly and holds it`s setting .If you are in need of a good field gun of just a good shooting all around gun , this is a bargain . I gave it five stars because of the combination of quality , accuracy , price and useability .I think this is more of a gun for adults and older teens because of it`s size , other than that I recommend it !
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Robert from USA on 2014-03-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:after cleaning the barrel,and installing the scope, I took 5 shots and the gun was sighted in. The gun has alot of power. Crossman Premier pellets.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger never acts the same. The scope is fuzzy at close range.(approx 20-24')
      What others should know:We cannot find a model or serial number on the gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By burl from USA on 2014-03-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is not loud and very accurate and light weight.
      Things I would have changed:The stock not the best feel to it
      What others should know:As accurate as my rws 48 but might not have as much power but close.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Francis from USA on 2014-03-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is going to make a pretty good squirrel gun. The accuracy is good enough to fill your game bag and the cost of shooting won't break you financially.
      Things I would have changed:I would change the trigger design. As it is the pull is heavy enough to keep this gun from being an excellent target gun but the way it is the consistancy just isn't there.
      What others should know:The gun is an excellent choice for general plinking and hunting. For the price it will be hard to beat.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ronald from USA on 2014-03-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great purchase, shoot great
      Things I would have changed:because of my small hands, I would position the triger towards the rear of the opening.
      What others should know:easy to shoot, easy to brake in. groups went from wide to tight in a short time.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Alan from USA on 2014-03-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price,reliability and power
      Things I would have changed:Trigger! Trigger! TRIGGER! NEED I SAY IT AGAIN? TRIGGER!!!
      What others should know:Takes bout 200 shots just to get shooting good and quieted down. Do yourself a favor and get a CBR trigger from charlie da tuna .com!!!
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top