Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Benjamin Trail NP Nitro Piston Hardwood air rifle reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:4

    Accuracy:5

    By cher from USA on 2010-06-26 14:53:13

    Things I liked:the weight of the gun is decent cocking is easier, the gun will shoot as well as the person shooting, for the price you pay its very good deal
    Things I would have changed:i highly recommend changing the trigger to a GRT 111, the original trigger has to much play, which will make you kinda second think about the gun once i upgraded the trigger i was able to do guaranteed 50-80 yard shots perfect
    What others should know:the gun comes with a excellent scope and weaver rail ,and is welded on so even better for stability, the gun does have a kick to it, similar as any other rim fire or center fire .22s, great gun i would put this gun in similar classes of a PCP
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1

    Value for money:1

    Accuracy:1

    By Fred from USA on 2014-02-24 21:16:22

    Things I liked:Things I Like about Pyramid Air - great outfit. Things I like about the Benji Trail NP - NOTHING. Sorry to write a bad review but I got a bad gun (22 cal). The trigger was notoriously poor and the barrel was filthy out of the box. I had continuous excessive dieseling and could never get the gun to group well at any distance. After repeated cleaning and doing the recommended trigger job (GRT III) I shot it and shot it hoping for thing to break in, smooth out and generally improve but after about 500 rounds the seals gave out and dropped the power down to about 300 FPS. So now I have a gun with a voided warranty that never did shoot right with no recourse. Bummer.
    Things I would have changed:Trigger. Better quality control. Better seals.
    What others should know:This gun is advertised as quiet and I found that to not be the case. I also found it to be very "jumpy" as in powerful but hard to control. Buyer beware. I know there are a lot of good reviews on this gun but you never know if you will be the one to get the next lemon. I have some spring guns I love. This was my first venture into the gas ram power plants. Can't say I'll be rushing down that path again any time soon.
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 67 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Matt from USA on 2014-04-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Rail for scope mount barrel stock
      Things I would have changed:Trigger Include a sling with the gun
      What others should know:This is a great reliable and durable gun. I got it in .22 cal It packs a great punch and is great for small game. Good pellets for it are crosman premier domes and beeman crow magnums 18grain
    • Overall rating:1 1.0

      Value for money:1 1.0

      Accuracy:1 1.0

        By Fred from USA on 2014-02-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Things I Like about Pyramid Air - great outfit. Things I like about the Benji Trail NP - NOTHING. Sorry to write a bad review but I got a bad gun (22 cal). The trigger was notoriously poor and the barrel was filthy out of the box. I had continuous excessive dieseling and could never get the gun to group well at any distance. After repeated cleaning and doing the recommended trigger job (GRT III) I shot it and shot it hoping for thing to break in, smooth out and generally improve but after about 500 rounds the seals gave out and dropped the power down to about 300 FPS. So now I have a gun with a voided warranty that never did shoot right with no recourse. Bummer.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger. Better quality control. Better seals.
      What others should know:This gun is advertised as quiet and I found that to not be the case. I also found it to be very "jumpy" as in powerful but hard to control. Buyer beware. I know there are a lot of good reviews on this gun but you never know if you will be the one to get the next lemon. I have some spring guns I love. This was my first venture into the gas ram power plants. Can't say I'll be rushing down that path again any time soon.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By PAUL from USA on 2014-02-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a great gun for the money. Plenty of power, accurate, and a really nice fit and finish. The trigger could be better. It has a long, heavy pull, but personally I found it to be manageable. At 64yrs old I'm able to hit plastic golf balls at 45 yards. That is a testament to the gun, not to me. So the trigger isn't that bad.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger.
      What others should know:Soon Crosman will be coming out with the Benjamin Trail NP2 ( see 2014 shot show). It will have many improvements over the current model including the trigger.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Steven from USA on 2013-12-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:I think the nitro pistons really are better than springs. The recoil effect is easier to work with for me using the artillary hold.
      Things I would have changed:Pyramyd needs to update this page with the correct pictures and verbage. The stock is not a "Hardwood" stained finish as shown. Production quality would probably improve if it were made here in the States.
      What others should know:These rifles have the potential to be accurate and fun to shoot once you fix the trigger and get some heavy pellets.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Darrell from USA on 2013-11-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power, balance, ergonomics.
      Things I would have changed:I did not like the wood finish. It appeared to be some kind of spray on product which looks cheap. A decent stain couldn't cost that much more and it would look so much more attractive.
      What others should know:This was my first spring gun. I have always used pump and co2 before but wanted to try my hand at a sprigger. This gun had decent accuracy out of the box but I could not get what I have come to expect from my pump and co2 guns, even after 400 pellets. I'm sure a spring gunner will have better results that me and I'm sure accuracy would improve with a tune job and better trigger.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By james from USA on 2013-10-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:scope is good.
      Things I would have changed:the stock is not like the pictures. Looks almost plastic. and very light in color. and more like a plastic or nylon stock. trigger safety is not easy to use.
    • Overall rating:2 2.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By Dale from USA on 2013-10-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent fit and finish, very nice ergonomics, cocking effort moderate (wouldn't be a prob for smaller/younger shooters), beautiful gun appearance-wise, EXCELLENT Customer Service from PA (above and beyond what I had ever expected)
      Things I would have changed:Quality Control. Trigger. Accuracy. Did I mention Quality Control?
      What others should know:I picked this up on a whim, decided to look for a nice PCP rifle but wanted something to shoot in the interim while I tracked down the SCBA gear, etc and decided on this gun. Having shot Springers before and also having REALLY liked my buddies NP, I figured "what the heck" regardless of the mixed reviews ... And go figure, I got a Lemon. Within about 30 shots the reticle busted loose in the scope and rotated, a couple of fast phone calls and it was on its' way to Crosman for Warranty replacement. I mounted up a buddies UTG and ran a couple of hundred rounds through it to get things all together, tightened up the barrel bolt and started to get it dialed in - which has been impossible. While my buddies XP is great and I can routinely group at well under .75" at 30m, this gun was plagued with at LEAST a 50/50 ratio of flyers, some off the entire paper. Without a Chrony, I can't give exact velocities but the delay between trigger and target was actually MORE than noticeable and varied wildly - I suspect a bad seal but figured it wasn't worth chasing the trouble down for what could be weeks, etc (done this before, LOL). PA was GREAT and issued me a delayed RMA while I wait for the scope to be returned from Crosman, and in the interim I found a great deal on a used .25 Marauder, tank, etc which only proves to me that Crosman/Benji CAN make a dead-accurate, beautiful gun - it just wasn't this one. Using the credit and a few bucks to grab a Hatsan AT44-10 so no harm, happy customer.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Gene from USA on 2013-09-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything for the price. Would I like a nicer trigger? Sure but this one works very well. VERY quiet shooter even right out of the box. No recoil and smooth Nitro Piston cocking. And Weaver scope mounts. The Center Point scope is pretty good and stays put on the Weaver mounts. Manufactured in China, this is a great example of what can be made there. I use CROSMAN domed pellets for targeting and accuracy is certainly good enough for satisfying targeting and small game. I chose the .22 caliber for a little easier finger pickup and loading. Also because I like a quieter gun and the lower but fine velocity meets my needs. It buries pellets into some very solid wood at 110 feet which is where I have my farthest regular target. Fascinating to have very little noise from the rifle and mainly the sound delayed report that comes back from the target.
      Things I would have changed:I do wish that it was manufactured by CROSMAN here in the USA but a fine result with great price point from across the water.
      What others should know:My wife has trouble cocking the rifle and this one has an easier mechanism than most. I think the difference is most guys will start with stronger force and ease off through the stroke. Some females I think start with a gentler and perhaps more linear stroke which lacks the necessary initial force to get things going. That didn't last long with my wife; she got the stroke down and loved shooting this rifle. She was drilling consistent results quickly and did about 100 rounds in her first go at it. We may have to buy another Trail NP just for her.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Joshua from USA on 2013-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Have put about 1000 shots through my .22 cal NP Trail now and I absolutely love it. Some have spoke about a long break in period where accuracy is erratic for a good deal of time until shes broken in. Not the case with mine. After about 250 shots it's stacking pellets in the same hole over and over and over again at 25 yards. Awesome.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger could be better. It is 2 stage and I found out a trick that helps alot, If I pull the trigger ever so slightly but not enough to fire the gun and then release it, and then start over, the trigger is set up in the 2nd stage and fires crisply and predictably.
      What others should know:Have tried about 6 different pellets including JSB diablo and Predators and the pellets she likes best is the Benjamin discovery pellets. Makes sense I guess! Love This Gun!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By DanAir from USA on 2013-07-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Overall, given the price point for this gun I was very satisfied with what I received and how well it has performed: 1) Barrel, piston, stock, etc. had solid build, 2) Scope has AO and performs fine for plinking and hunting, 3) Smooth barrel break, cock and reset without a painful workout, 4) Very powerful for gas piston air discharged .22 with great knock-down power and flat trajectory (ammo dependent of course), 5) Very consistent and accurate after break-in period (about 150 shots for mine), 6) Not ammo picky compared to many air rifles, 7) Hardwood stock is solid and looks great, 8) Gas piston is much quieter and less "bouncy" than my springers, 9) Weaver/Pic rail system is great and allows for solid scope position without any shift/drift, 10) Sling mounts very convenient for hunting or just for hanging gun while changing out targets, etc.
      Things I would have changed:Again, for the price point, there is very little I feel should be changed. With that said, I do agree with most others in saying the trigger pull is not the smoothest or easiest to learn. BUT, with a little time I did get used to it enough to keep 1" groups @ 30 yards... works for my needs.
      What others should know:Definitely need to remove, clean, and blue Loctite all hardware because vibration WILL loosen them otherwise. But once done, everything has remained tight for over 1,000 shots now.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Steven from USA on 2013-06-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      11 rating
       
      Things I liked:I've been shooting .177 cal since the 80s and this is my first .22 cal airgun and first nitro piston. This gun zeroed in under 20 shots and has provided consistent nickel sized groups at 30-40 yds. The increase in power in this caliber is amazing when dealing with pests. I find that this rifle takes a bit more effort to cock than the springers I'm used to shooting, but overall I am very pleased with this airgun.
      Things I would have changed:I'd like to see a better trigger provided on the rifle as it comes out of the factory. Almost everyone upgrades anyways so adding the cost into the original would probably not impact sales and would provide a better gun.
      What others should know:I find the stock on this rifle to be a little shorter than I like and the finish is a little rough, but overall this is a very nice NP rifle.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Carson from USA on 2013-06-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      11 rating
       
      Things I liked:Weaver rail and the thumbhole stock. Balance of the rifle. Accuracy of the rifle is pretty solid. I consistently hit the lid of a soup can at 50 yards while standing and shooting free hand. If I am relaxed, I can hit either side, top or bottom, to bounce the lid. From a rest, I can hit electrical knock outs (about the size of a nickel) rather consistently without wind or only a slight breeze. I had mine professionally tuned and installed the GRTIII trigger and it is VERY consistent in it FPS and accuracy. Prior to trigger upgrade it was very difficult to be accurate/consistent while shooting freehand. Afterwards, night and day difference. Tuning made it very consistent. I shoot Crosman Hollowpoints and the gun does just fine. Cover 5 shot groups with a dime easy at 20 yards. This one took about 200 pellets to really settle down.
      Things I would have changed:It is beating a dead horse but the OEM trigger is rough at best. Hard to distinguish between first and second stage and really had to concentrate and focus to get an even trigger pull and not jerk the rifle while firing. Bring it back stateside and manufacture in the US.
      What others should know:I have two of these. One wood and one synthetic stock. They both shoot the same after tuning but for whatever reason, the wood feels better on the balance and in my hands. Shooting off a rest or stick - I do not notice as much but shooting freehand I am more comfortable with the wood stock. Weaver rail is a dramatic improvement for scope shift. I have two Remington NPSS and two Crosman Titan GPs with the dovetails. Even while loctiting down (Loctite Blue)and the scope stop - I still have to zero much more frequently than with the Benjamin's and the weaver mounted scopes. I seem to have solid luck with the Centerpoint scopes. I have never had one go bad and when they are loctited down - they seem to hold true for me other than the occasional drift on the weaver rail.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Will from USA on 2013-06-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      11 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is a high quality, accurate piston gun with a quality, wooden TH stock. Living in a dense neighborhood, the very quiet piston and report is ideal. Utilizing the "artillery hold", which is critical with this high powered piston gun, I achieve consistent head shots on squirrels at 25 yards.
      Things I would have changed:I replaced the fairly sloppy factory trigger with a custom trigger from charliedatuna. It makes a world of difference. Other than that, this is a winner.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Dennis from USA on 2013-05-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the way Pyramid handled the exchange with the first Benjamin trail I ordered which had a big problem with accuracy
      Things I would have changed:nothing
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Mongkol from USA on 2013-05-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I very like it.
      Things I would have changed:tigger this should be soft.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Matt from USA on 2013-05-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Super frustrating to dial it in but well worth it with the accuracy and power its delivering. After remounting scope, trying 3x pellets, changing scopes, changing back and HOURS of shooting I finally have it shooting 1/4" max deviation at 30 yards. Turns out mine loves RWS superdomes and hates the first three types of ammo (crosman premier HP, crosman hunter, beeman penetrator). Super happy now that its delivering on its promise. Suffered through 4-5 inch fliers, now I can nail army men consistently at 50yds. Eats shoots clean through half inch plywood and eats through 3/4" with two close shots. Great hunter, good build quality, good buy. Decent scope...
      Things I would have changed:VERY hold sensitive, VERY pellet sensitive, trigger is horrendous out of the box but good (acceptable) with adjustment and great with light mods. Mounts from barrel to stock shake loose quickly, so red-lochtite right out of the box. Shoots horribly when barrel mounts are loose.
      What others should know:If you have the time and patience, this ones killer!
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Ryan from USA on 2013-04-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Shoots harder than my Marauder I don't have to return and charge the air all the time. I can leave my truck to hunt with a can of pellets and stay out all day. The scope is fine. Don't be afraid to adjust the trigger. After trigger adjustment I was knocking the squirrels dead at long distances.
      Things I would have changed:Sell the rifle with the GRT trigger installed. This rifle deserves a great trigger.
      What others should know:Buy the pellet pen for reloading and the lanyard to hang it from loads fast that way. Order the GRT trigger to go with it. MY NP is the 22 cal and it likes the winchester pellets. I was going to buy the XL but this one shoots great kills squirrels dead.
    • Overall rating:2 2.0

      Value for money:2 2.0

      Accuracy:2 2.0

        By Guy from USA on 2013-04-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      32 ratings
       
      Things I liked:price
      What others should know:gun quit shooting after 20 pellets
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Geoffrey from USA on 2013-04-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The .22 projectile is faster than the way I load my .45ACP. It is very quiet.
      Things I would have changed:I like the traditional stock, this was the first one that I had with the hole in the stock. Reminds me of Slick Willie Clinton's assault rifle decade.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Donald from USA on 2013-04-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I am still "zeroing it in" but the groups are getting tighter, hits hard and the gun and I are on a learning curve!!. Seriously, tho' I am happy...for the most part. See next paragraph!
      Things I would have changed:A lot of pictures show it with Benjamin Sling, and I saw a lot of reviews that said the sling is included, however, mine did not and I cannot find it to buy it separately. What Gives??
      What others should know:Apparently sling is not included so airgunners should be aware of this, as I was not! Mine prefers the premier hollow point pellets.
    • 123 ... 67 Next »
    Over
    ammo packs sold