Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Benjamin Trail NP XL Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By espn1990 from USA on 2010-04-23 21:39:46

    Things I liked:Powerful and quiet! Love the scope and the scope rail.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger! It's horrible. I just installed a GRTIII, made an incredible difference! I have seen a lot of complaints about the trigger on all of the comments. You guys need to order this trigger from charliedatuna.com. $32, shipping included. Money well spent. Also, they need to offer a composite/synthetic stock in the XL series.
    What others should know:Not for kids. This is a heavy gun that is hard to cock. I like the weight, seems to help me steady the shot.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By brian from USA on 2014-08-07 09:02:41

    Things I liked:I bought rife 6 months ago, feels good to shot. The problem is up pellet move up and down, a good foot at times. Have called PA and tried shimming scope. that did not work. Took scope off and did the same thing. I will call to see if I can return.
    Things I would have changed:right the rifle
    What others should know:look for a better rifle
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 1213 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jason from USA on 2014-12-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a well-built full size rifle. The picatinny rail allows you to install a variety of full size scope mounts. I initially sighted my rifle in at 25 yds. I then tuned the trigger because of two reasons. There was too much travel in the first stage. Secondly, the trigger was at an 8 lb pull. There was also wobble and side to side play in the actual trigger stem. Next step was to set up on a 75 yd target. While shooting from a bench rest I was able to shoot 1.5 groups using Crosmans Premier Hollow Points (14.3 grain) at the 75 yd range. There was no wind on a 60 degree day. The factory scope has mil-dots that are a great help in hold over shots. Some suggest a GRT trigger if you're not able to do the trigger work yourself. Needless to say, it is up to you on how you would like your rifle to perform. I am still giving this rifle 5 stars because the stock trigger will work for the shooter with some practice. I hope this review helps.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger has a long pull and side to side play. Would strongly suggest upgrading the trigger.
      What others should know:Please clean your barrel thoroughly prior to shooting. This rifle is a little on the heavy side if you're not use to it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Zach from USA on 2014-11-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great gun, had it for about three weeks and it was stolen from me after someone broke into my truck so now back to the Diana before I can afford the marauder bundle
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Always keep an eye on your stuff because there's always someone who will take it
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Marc from USA on 2014-11-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Surpassed my wildest dreams in accuracy after all the bad reviews I read. Easily does 1" 5 shot groups and the occasional dime size group with Crosman premier HP 14.3s @ 30 yards with factory trigger. I'm sure a better trigger would make this rifle a consistent dime sizer. Hefty and sturdy feels like my Remington 700 sendero. Positive safety though not automatic. Easy to cock as my ruger air hawk. Don't let the magnum moniker scare you. I'm 6ft 170lbs and I consistently can cock and shoot 50-75+ pellets a sitting. Much quieter and softer shooting than my ruger air hawk. No harsh vibes and twang in stock that stings cheek. Love the nitro piston. Can shoot this in the backyard and neighbors don't notice. Stock screws and shroud have not loosened as of yet.
      Things I would have changed:Terrible trigger has no discernible break is creepy and stacks. Needs work out of the box. More robust scope needed. Reticle broke loose and canted 30 degrees in tube just under 100 shots. Still shoots accurately but I hear rattling in scope now. Time to send it to centerpoint. Otherwise beautiful stock has horrible flat polyurethane finish. Kinda wish it had backup iron sights.
      What others should know:Barrel was filthy from factory. Shroud cap removal and cleaning is a must. Both had caked black grease in them. Spent atleast an hour cleaning it all out. Difficult rifle to shoot well. MUST use artillery hold. Terrified this gun is gonna eat another scope. Really temped to tear into this thing and replace the piston seal as I hear most of them are damaged from the factory and this bad seal reduces scope life due to rifle recoiling more violently. Still smokes and diesels occasionally and I'm between 200-300 pellets in now. Do not over torque your shroud! Finger tight plus quarter turn! Shroud uses 1/4" allen scope rings are metric. If your not willing to tinker pass this one by. If you're willing to show this thing some TLC you'll never look back.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Harry from USA on 2014-10-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Total feel and look of the gun. The power is outstanding as when using 19-21 grain pellets the velocity chrony'd falls within as advertised for lead pellets. The fpe is outstanding out to 70 yards with the 17 different pellets I tested and no doubt could take varmits with little effort. I have other 25 caliber springers so I purchased this gun for its nitro piston as I hunt in the field for long hours. As of this point I have only put through about 250 pellets so the gun is still breaking in. At this point the groups at 25 yards with nearly all pellets have been between 1-1 1/2 inch. However I have noticed the gun likes 3 pellets better than the rest. Another gun will show different results. This was the first rifle I purchased that the company actually took the time to put Loctite on the barrel screws. The scope is a decent scope given that few that come in a package have tactical turrets for quick moa adjustment like this one.
      Things I would have changed:To say the trigger is sub-par is to say the least. I tested my trigger when I got it and is showed 6.2 pounds not the 3.5 pounds as advertised. After adjusting the trigger is did reduce the pull weight to 6 pounds....really!!!!! This is a great gun, get with it Benjamin and adjust the triggers to the correct weight before they leave the factory.
      What others should know:I am making these comments given that this rifle is still new. WIth all that being said, I really like this rifle. However, once should be prepared to buy better scope rings, shim the scope, or perhaps a better scope. The MOA adjustments at 25 yards almost run out the evelation turret which might cause reticle drift in some scopes. The tactical turrets though great are somewhat difficult to reset to zero. If you enjoy armoring like I do this will be a fun gun to work on and bring up to its potential.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Travis from USA on 2014-10-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good power and nice scope combo.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger pull is bad and pulls you off target. Only shot crossman premiers to get good groups. JSB don't group well with this gun.
      What others should know:My piston stuck after cocking it for the 20th shot. It went off randomly later that day so still waiting on pyramid air support to get back with me on a replacement gun. It's been about 2 weeks and still waiting for a response.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By TheWeekendPlinker from USA on 2014-10-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power -- from the thump on your shoulder to the smack in your target. Delivers high energy down range. Solid placement from 30 yards. Cocking requires effort, but at 6'2'' 230 lbs...you should be able to manage the 45 lbs pull needed to arm the rifle. My arm got pretty tired after 65-80 rounds back-to-back. Use of a stake will certainly improve shot placement. Great for outdoor shooting because you can see the location of placed shots (i.e. kick up 2-3X more dirt than a 22. caliber air rifle). Impressive penetration power...be careful where you shoot... 25-28 lbs. take-down-power is deadly.
      Things I would have changed:Better factory welding of the weaver rail onto the rifle -- I placed no more than approximately 125 total hunks of lead (H&N Spitzkugel .25 Cal, 24.85 Grains, Pointed) into the rifle. Loved every squeeze. Then during my final shot, the weaver rail snapped cleanly off the back of the rifle. My girlfriend was shooting with me, and I immediately got embarrassed because I thought that I didn't tighten the scope mounts enough. Nope. The break was 100% clean and the scope did a perfect 720-degree snowboarding flip with the weaver rail and fell in the dirt -- indicating a bad wielding job. The bottom of the weaver rail and top of the rifle were smooth to the touch. Crossman seems to have had this issue in the past...from researching the issue, it seems like this was documented 2-3 years back. For this reason, I can only give three out of two stars because when it worked...it was five stars for the price, hands down. But, given this event...no more than two can be given.
      What others should know:This gun is not a joke, except for the weaver rail. I got the rifle shipped to me on Thursday, and this happened on Sunday...after shooting the rifle no more than two separate occasions -- again, 125 shots total and this happened. Believe that this gun is a beast, and I am very sure that based on a manufacturer's POV, I just got the lemon out of the batch. However, as said before, this has happened a couple years back. To me, I am not sure why this is still occurring because even though I am only spending just about $300 for a rifle, I would expect that it should last for a couple of years. I know Pyramid Air will be able to swap out my gun, but I have to still decided whether I will get a replacement or I will get my money back and put it towards another entry-level break barrel .25. Just a few thoughts from a work-from-home-shoot-on-the-weekends guy. Cheers!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Stanley from USA on 2014-10-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've had my .25 for more than a year now and have put more than 1,000 rounds through it. It's a beast! VERY hard-hitting and, now that I have a BSA 3x12 scope on it, it's very accurate, even at longer ranges (50 yards plus). It takes some getting used to, but I'm growing to like this gun very much.
      Things I would have changed:Needs a better trigger. Pull, though adjustable, is a bit too long. Somewhat on the heavy side, and the finish on the walnut stock isn't the best.
      What others should know:Overall, a powerful hunting/plinking air gun in .25 caliber. Tin cans only last about six shots before they're totally mangled.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By eric from USA on 2014-09-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:owned mine a few years in .22, like the wood thumbhole stock, after breaking it in, it shoots a consistant 910 fps with Crossman hollowpoint pellets. at 20 yards, the groups are one ragged hole, took a tin of pellets to break in.
      Things I would have changed:better finish on stock, I ened up painting mine camo
      What others should know:the gun has to break in, make sure you clean the barrel properly when you get it
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rrrrr from USA on 2014-08-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice looking stock and metal. Very quiet, not as loud as my Vantage NP or Gamo BigCat. Lots of power plus. Accuracy is improving with use. It likes JSB 18.13 Exact Domes the best, 1/2"@ 30 yds. and then Crosman H/P's at about 3/4 to 1" @ 30yds.
      Things I would have changed:Quality control needs to be improved. Better trigger would be a big improvement. If the owner has to clean and scrub the barrel for an hour before it can be shot then why doesn't Crosman provide a cleaning kit or clean the filthy barrel before they ship it? If the gun requires 500 pellets shot through it to get broken in to be any where near accurate then why doesn't Crosman include 500 pellets or shoot it 500 times before they sell it. This air rifle and all others in its price range need to be more user ready out of the box!
      What others should know:I gave this gun 5 stars only because its a nice looking rifle and is getting more accurate the more I shoot and tinker with it but not without some issues. I've never had and air rifle that shot good right out of the box, this gun included, and it needs a lot of attention to get it to shoot accurately and is very hold sensitive. The 3-9 C/P scope that was included(lemon) didn't last 100 shots and it was replaced by Crosman. Then after firing the rifle(another lemon) about 800-900 times the scope rail and scope fell off and Crosman sent me a new rifle. Accuracy with the first rifle was horrible, it never improved with any pellet. The replacement rifle is not as nice looking as the first one but it is becoming very accurate now after about 600 shots and that's all that matters. A gun isn't worth spit if it isn't accurate! Crosman and PyramydAir are good companies to deal with and I am happy (NOW) with my XL 1100, a real monster of a gun like my old M1 Garand.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By brian from USA on 2014-08-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought rife 6 months ago, feels good to shot. The problem is up pellet move up and down, a good foot at times. Have called PA and tried shimming scope. that did not work. Took scope off and did the same thing. I will call to see if I can return.
      Things I would have changed:right the rifle
      What others should know:look for a better rifle
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2014-07-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Powerful and accurate!
      Things I would have changed:Trigger pull
      What others should know:Great gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Terry Terry from USA on 2014-07-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It has power, it's accurate and it's reliable. Well made. I got this one in .22. Probably the best choice all-around. I also have it in .177, which is nice (flat shooting with 8-10 g pellets). I'm using JSBs 18.1 g and Polymags for my .22. I put a REDFIELD Revenge scope on for quick acquisition, also since the pellets I use have a difference of 2 grains.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing but keep the model and up the power. Maybe make a carbine model or a scout model for marauding and discretely dispatching pests. This gun separates the boys from the men.
      What others should know:This probably would take down a wolverine (gulo-gulo) confidently, but nothing I would want to contest to. THERE's SO MANY REVIEWS, NUMBERS SO MUCH INCREASED. Love the baffle. This is a hunting (sniper's) rifle with practicality. Take down power in the .22. My .177 just doesn't drop as much. Both awesome calibers, but my new .22 you can't go wrong in they caliber for air rifles.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Taylan from USA on 2014-06-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The rifle is great! Hits hard and is accurate with a little bit of practice! I'm on to about 250 shots and i can see it is shaping up nicely. About quarter sized groups at 30yd and I'mm not past the 500 pellet break in point yet.
      Things I would have changed:The scope!!! The scope that came with this is garbage!! Maybe I got a fluke and mine is bad but the scope worked perfect until about 100 shots and then the cross hairs started to rotate clockwise after every shot.
      What others should know:The scope is fine if you are lucky enough to get one that works. Mine was a hunk of junk.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Walter from USA on 2014-06-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks, balance, accuracy, quiet, back yard friendly, (so long as it is a big back yard),will knock over a big ground hog or other large pest with one well placed shot
      Things I would have changed:It is heavy, cocking is tough but managable,trigger pull is firm but easy to get used to.
      What others should know:This is a serious weapon. not a toy. easily penatrates (and keeps going) a 3/4 inch hard, dry pine board at 30 feet.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Graeme from USA on 2014-05-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Smooth Cocking, adjustable trigger, nicely made for the money. In the recommended pellets - skip the Crosman Premier Hollow Points - except for something to break the rifle in with. The Polymags are VERY good in the gun giving me 21ft/lb at an average speed of 770ft/sec. But those Polymags are not ALL as well made as they might be. Lot of zingers going adrift at wild sppeds. My favored Beeman Kodiak 21.14 grain was giving me 24.7ft/lb at an average of 726ft/sec. I'll probably shoot the Kodiak as my standard pellet for game with this.
      Things I would have changed:No autosafety on cock? Or mine doesn't.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jim from USA on 2014-04-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The accuracy and power amazing. I have this gun In .22 and I am incredibly happy with it. It is my first .22 and I will not be going back to my .177 for small game or larger again. This gun will drop anything form rabbit to fox.
      Things I would have changed:There not much I would have changed. The gun feals really nice when holding and shoulders great
      What others should know:It is fairly heavy but that's good because that means you will have more control or it. Get it in .22!.177 may shoot faster but you will be affected by wind if there is any. .22 will give you way less movement from wind. You MUST decided if your going to be shooting form bench or free hand. Barracuda match grade 21.14 work best for bench and free hand and predator poly mags we just behind it. Thoughts are you top 2 pellets in this gun. Jsb 18.13 were ok the grouped preaty good but not like the others and barracuda hunter extreams did just about the same. All of these pellets will be devistaing and I can't stress it enough get the .22 cal. There is very little pellet drop and you get much grater knockdown power the .177 is still extramly powerful at 24 foot pounds but the .22 delivers 27 to 31 depending on what pellet you use Polly mags gave me the best foot power . Fps doesn't matter as much as foot pounds do and this is one of the top fps for 22 cals at 1100 with alloy and around 1000 with lead. So your getting a top of the line .22 the matches many pcps. You will not be dissapointed in it and you will like the thumbhole stock. Lastly get a better scope. The one it comes with is OK but the crosshairs and really thick. Get a hawke 3-9×50 objective zoom or a good leapers this will be you new favorite pellet gun for small to midium sized game in .22.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Antonio from USA on 2014-03-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very powerful, within 30 yards groups under one inch. And it's just a nice looking rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Thumbnail grip is a little tight on my hands, but didn't bother me too much. My np 22 all weather feels better. Other than that for the price it's a beast.
      What others should know:Break in took me over 500 shots, be patient. Benjamin 27 grain pellets work just fine in mine. Use a strong backstop can punch through 3/4 plywood with ease.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Terry Terry from USA on 2014-03-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I honesty like the weight, because it feels like it has a kick to it. It definitely shocks and rocks my Iscope Iphone recordings. This is what air rifles should be: accurate, dependable and powerful. Mine is the 1500 model, which is the .177.
      Things I would have changed:More power, less noise. More power so I can shoot those heavier pellets closer to the max subsonic velocity.
      What others should know:This thing seems to shoot past the speed of sound shooting standard grain pellets. My NP XL 1500, as of now, seems to shoot the H&N Baracuda Hunter (10.34 grain) best, which is nice. Very accurate, and well, you know it has power. This is a long range delight.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Timothy from USA on 2014-03-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I purchased this rifle in .22 cal a few months ago after previously purchasing a Benjamin Trail NP .22cal synthetic stock. I had to return the first NP XL 1100 right after I received it because of the poor machining fit between the barrel and the compression tube assembly (the barrel had a severely noticeable droop that was so bad the scope ran out of adjustment before it would zero). Pyramyd was great about sending me a replacement in a few days. I have been quite pleased with the replacement.I do wish that Benjamin (Crosman) would also offer the Trail NP XL series rifles in synthetic stock. The wood stock does have some imperfections, but over all it is o.k. I did give it a good application of wax to bring out the finish. You will have to spend some time cleaning the barrel before you shoot it (both rifle bores were filthy upon arrival), but I would clean any rifle before shooting it. The trigger on the Trail NP XL wasn't as bad as the Trail NP, but after shooting it for a while I went ahead and replaced it with a Charlie DaTuna trigger. It was worth the investment on both rifles. Both are sensitive to what pellets you shoot. I have found H&N Baracuda Green alloy pellets work the best in both rifles. I am able to hold a 1/2" to 3/4" grouping at 20 yards. I would also recommend using a VERY light application of gun grease to portions of the bear trap lever, and trigger assembly (you will find that this definitely makes a difference with trigger performance.
      Things I would have changed:The factory triggers are the only problem that I see with either of my rifles. This seems to be the biggest complaint from people who own these rifles. I don't know why Crosman doesn't improve the trigger performance--the only guess I have as to why they don't would be for insurance reasons, as increasing the sensitivity could possibly lead to an inexperienced shooter having an accident. To truly enjoy this rifle go ahead and purchase the aftermarket trigger I promise you that you won't regret it. My only other complaint is that these rifles are made in China. The machining and wood quality isn't as good as they could be, and I would gladly pay another $50 if it was made in the U.S.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Paul from USA on 2014-03-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is a beast,love the way it feels.it is a bit heavy but very comfortable.this gun is not a toy.And I was very pleased at the noise level of this gun,not at all loud...
      Things I would have changed:Nothing...This is a great shooting rifle.After the break in I am sure the group well shrink,not that they were bad.
      What others should know:I shot 2 kinds of Crossman pellets the gun really likes 1 better then the other.I ordered some more today.I have no negative feed back as of yet..
    • 123 ... 1213 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top