Date: 20/8/2017 16:59
0

Browning 800 Express reviews - page 1

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Christopher from USA on 2010-07-02 02:30:53

Things I liked: Has a very solid quality feel to it. Well made for the price.

Things I would have changed: Wood grips would have been a great touch.

What others should know: It shoots very consistently . Has more recoil then I thought it would have. Highly recommend.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Peter from USA on 2011-12-03 11:48:40

Things I liked: I have owned this gun for a month and struggled to get it to shoot consistently. It is extremely heavy for a pellet pistol and cumbersome. I ordered the pistol/red-dot combo. As others have stated, regardless of how tight the red-dot is mounted, it creeps backwards on the rail and loosens. Using the pellets recommended in the combo deal, I am unable to get a consistent grouping at 40 feet. I have much better results with my $39 Crossman pump. I'm done with this one.

Things I would have changed: To a different pistol.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 89 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Frank from USA on 2017-05-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Powerful air gun, decent sights

    Things I would have changed: Trigger is terrible, supposed to be able to adjust length of pull with a screw that's in front of the trigger. I guess they mean the Phillips head that's in front. Tried turning it and it will not move. Been on line and people have stated that if you remove the stock there's a set screw that can be turned. Not true. Carefully removed stock and found that during assembly at the plant, one screw was stripped and therefore would not go back in. I made another from stock I had and all is fine. Trigger needs to be replaced badly. Other than that, not a bad buy. Oh forgot to mention, pretty accurate.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Douglas from USA on 2017-02-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Cocking, it's not that bad. I have O.A. and I was a bit nervous, I was going to make a new, longer muzzle brake....no need. It's fine.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger l. o. p. seems excessive to me.

    What others should know: I have only gotten maybe 50 pellets through it so far, and the gun seems fine to me. It is long and heavy, and being that long it's definitely awkward. I'm learning my hold as I've never really shot pistols of any type before. I'm also using a UTG cqb red/green dot "scope" with a single dot. Wish I had-had more experience with them, I would have gotten something with a more stationary view. I read the reviews, cleaned the gun very thoroughly, and it shoots well. I have no regrets.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lawrence from USA on 2017-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is accurate. I have the .177 caliber and it has good power. Shot it at least 50 times and everything is fine. A very good solid handgun.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I would do if it were possible would be to make it lighter. my personal preference would be to be able to leave the break barrel aid on all the time.

    What others should know: Be careful and have fun.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dan from USA on 2017-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Powerful and accurate

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Worth the money

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2016-10-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Opened the new Box read the instructions . loaded and hit the bulls eye target first shot, no adjustment needed for this. I was amazed at the power this pistol has for a .22 caliber .

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: this pistol will get better the more you use it , the first 100 shots are just break in shots , it get easier better and more powerful as you use it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2016-10-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Hard hitting .22 cal. pellet pistol. Very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Make the cocking require less effort, if possible.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2016-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: just out of the box the first target shot was right on . I was very impressed at the weight ad sites ,and the power unreal for a pistol.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ray from USA on 2016-06-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Simple basic well built pistol. Great for a beginner air pistol owner like myself.

    Things I would have changed: Had for about six months, would not change anything at this point.

    What others should know: Don,t wait until your 56 before you buy your first air pistol. Great way to defend your property from the squirrel invasion!

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By james from USA on 2016-06-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Powerful and fairly accurate

    What others should know: On this pistol the rear sight is improperly installed. It is mounted on top of gun over to the right side many degrees off center. The fiber optic sights are totally unuseable. Good thing I purchased an scope setup. Can't understand how this gun left the factory or Pyramid air in this condition!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Chris from USA on 2016-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is a BIG Pistol with a lot of power. After cleaning and shooting 50 rounds to site-in the scope it is accurate enough at 10 yards and consistently hit quarter size targets. The primary purpose for this gun for me is close range rat and squirrel elimination and plinking. Beyond that its just target shooting. Possibly made by Hatsan for licensed logo of Browning distributed by UmarexUSA, and more powerful than the Hatsan Model. The trigger was gritty and clunky at first but after 30 rounds it was like silk very smooth. The anti recoil works really well. the on-board sites took a bit of work but do the job. I like the Cocking aide, as it is really needed. safety breaks in like the trigger, nice and easy. So far for the power and not going PCP it fits the bill.

    Things I would have changed: If they had a additional butt stock that would be great. Even with the anti-recoil, that is only for the grip and stock not for the scope or mount, and in "Hatsan" style this gun needs a heavy mount that will hold up and keep the scope in place. An video review is helpful watch prior to buying to save you the headache of the scope and mount issues. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b0DCTCi13DQ I wish it had weaver mounts instead it just makes sense with this type of gun. Maybe a Vortex piston to save weight and less fatigue.

    What others should know: I'm a big fan of Hatsan and UX's RWS, this Browning pistol has been called "Unwielding" but if you take the time and concentrate on hitting your target it will make you a better marksman. An Airgun Pistol Rated scope in my opinion is mandatory, but the on-board sites do the job just a lot slower. Don't cheap out on the scope/site mount, get the UTG/Leapers Accushot RGPM-30M4 or similar that will bolt down hard to the dovetail. Otherwise your scope much sooner than later will fall off. For the money under $180.00 it's a good setup and without having to go to PCP

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power with accuracy. Trigger was excellent after replacing adjustment screw with one long enough and a thin enough head to make the proper setting and still not interfere with the safety. Automatic safety setting on cocking is good to have! Pyramid Air was very good and quick in both approving replacement and then sending a new one to replace the first one I received which was defective.(see later comments)

    Things I would have changed: The trigger adjustment screw isn't long enough to properly set the trigger. And the replacement cannot be just a longer one--the head has to be thin such that when set properly, it does not interfere with cocking and setting the safety. The scope mount grooves are too shallow to hold anything against the massive double recoil (maybe triple recoil given the recoil spring). I could not get anything to hold on, even a very light red dot. And there is no recoil set hole in rail for proper airgun mounts that would prevent slippage--it doesn't matter since the scope, mounts, red-dot or whatever will be knocked off anyhow. Maybe they should weld a Weaver or Picatinny rail on top instead of cutting mounting grooves that are too shallow. Eventually, I ended up drilling 2 (insufficient), then 3 holes and tapping for a Ruger Mark III scope rail which has the right curvature to match the barrel, but the metal depth is very thin--had to increase screw diameter to 8 from std 6 to get strength.

    What others should know: The recoil reduction spring set-up works from your hand's standpoint, but I suspect it adds a 3rd (maybe 4th) jolt to anything mounted on the moving action: (1) the spring release (2) then the piston stops moving (3) the action moves back and stops (4) action returns with the recoil spring and stops again. See my change suggestions for ideas, since mounting alternative sights is REALLY hard to do. The first one I received had a horrible trigger that somehow got very good after only a dozen shots; then all of a sudden, when cocking and returning the action, it fired by itself on closing with the safety set. Checked with no pellet and holding barrel to prevent bad snapping action and it did it again. Tried a third time and this time it would not cock at all. Called Pyramid Air, explained situation and they set me the RMA, etc. for replacement. Total turnaround was less than 2 weeks and new one had no cocking, self-firing issues.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Abdullah from USA on 2016-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: I originally bought this gun in .22 for its power in a pistol. and after firing about 1ooo rounds trough it the trigger smoothed out tremendously almost a perfect trigger. The accuracy is perfect, but mounting a scope for me was crutial But after securely mounting a 3x9x40AO Center Point scope on it the gun was a dream to shoot. And when that happened, I bought another one in .177 cal. the same thing with it, after 1000 rounds everything is perfect, except this time I mounted a Tru-Glo red dot scope on it, and even now although I have many pellet pistols, I really only shoot these two pistols, and they are equally just as accurate, and powerful, and I shoot both of them with the cocking assist left on, for me it helps with the military hold I use to shoot the pistol, but it doesn't interfere with the gun. For me there is no other pellet pistol any more powerful, more fun to shoot, or more accurate than this pistol. And that's true in either caliber. GO BUY ONE OR BOTH, YOU'LL LOVE IT!

    Things I would have changed: nothing, it's perfect, jusif you want the perfect gun!!t take the time to break it in, you've gotta do the work

    What others should know: buy two or three cans of 500 round ammo, and don't stop shooting this gun till they're empty!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By GONZALO from USA on 2016-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is a fine piece....

    Things I would have changed: Loudness

    What others should know: Excellent for target practice and hunting....

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By gary from USA on 2015-12-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: this is the first break barrel pellet pistol I have owned ...so I have no other pistol to compare it to.but overall I have the .22 version and from about ten yards out..i only shoot indoors none of my rifles have ever been outside..is that with the proper weight pellet being a heavier one it does pack a pretty good punch for it size as compared to a rifle.and accuracy is pretty good considering ive recently have problems with my right eye...my aiming eye........so I have to use my left for aiming but I still hold the gun in a right hand manner ..and it still pretty accurate and yes it seems the more it shot out of the box it does just keep getting progressively better until it reaches optimal performance...

    Things I would have changed: someway of making the sight adjustment a bit tighter as it does goe out of adjustment somewhat easy not very bad....but could use improvement....

    What others should know: its a fair price considering the price of a comparable rifle in price.....but the compactness and accuracy well makesup for the slightly bit of lower power as compared.....

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By William from USA on 2015-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: the more I shoot it the better I like it>

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: great value for the price.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dennis from USA on 2015-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Powerful for a pistol. It does serious damage to squirrels.

    Things I would have changed: Make a stock for it. It's almost a rifle.

    What others should know: Very hard to cock. You don't want to shoot it very many times in a row.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-11-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the Fiber Optic sights.

    Things I would have changed: I would change the gun to a Nitro Piston instead of the Spring Piston it has. I believe it would make it much quieter and a lot easier to cock. As it is, it is much louder than a similar gun I have with the nitro piston. I'm a man in my 70's and it is extremely difficult to cock. I have to grab both ends with my hands and put the middle of it against my knee just to break it open. Then it is a horriffic struggle to get it cocked. I don't think it is going to be a lot of fun to shoot this gun. Will it get easier with use??? Don't know...Accuracy? Don't know yet.

    What others should know: Very loud and difficult to cock.

  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Mario from USA on 2015-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Good Power,fairly accurate at forty feet .

    Things I would have changed: So big you should put a folding stock on this " Pistol"? I bought this for my wife and it's way to hard to cock ,even with the added barrel sleeve .

    What others should know: If your buying this for a woman,I would look for something smaller ,and easy to cock.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2015-09-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The power, accuracy and the feel of the gun. When it is working properly.

    Things I would have changed: The entire cocking and trigger assembly. After owning this gun for several months I had to send it back to Umarex twice for repairs because the gun would not cock to fire. After receiving it back a third time, I had the same problem. Each time I received it back it works for a little while then stops cocking. I gave up on it.

    What others should know: I would not buy this gun again or recommend it to anyone.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Tony from USA on 2015-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a really powerful pistol. My .22 version is good enough to hunt small varmints. The auto safe mode helps to prevent accidentally firing, especially during the cocking phase.

    Things I would have changed: A longer cocking aid for more leverage would be helpful. It's a real b**** to cock.

    What others should know: With a little skill and the right tools, it can be modified to shoot Gamo Shot Shells. This adds to its versatility as a hunting and all around fun. It's accuracy is good, but that depends largely upon the shooter and his/her skill.

     
  • 123 ... 89 Next
Navigation