Colt 1911 A1 CO2 pellet gun reviews - page 1

Add to Cart


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Gunner from USA on 2008-02-16 16:56:57

Things I liked:This colt is made completely of metal which makes it feel like the real deal classic colt. It's amazing accuracy and power make for a gun that you'll be glad you bought. I love this gun!
Things I would have changed:Only the safety on the butt of the gun because you have to grasp the handle pretty firmly.
What others should know:Don't have too much fun!
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Randal from USA on 2010-07-10 18:17:25

Things I liked:Look and feel. I use a 45 ACP 1911 and purchased this pistol because it feel simalar
Things I would have changed:Include sight adjustment for elevation as the pellets strike about an inch high at 20 yards.
What others should know:The grip safety transmitted a very gritty feeling when depressing it. My pistol failed to fire any more after a total of approximately 80 shots. The pistol was sent to Umarex for repair and when it was returned it still would not fire a pellet. I am preparing to return it for repair again and will reserve judgment until I get it back. Howver, at this time I am not at all satisfied either with the quality of the pistol or the quality of Umarex repairs.
Sort by:
  • 12 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Kent from USA on 2015-06-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The appearance and weight are the same as a real 1911. accuracy is great, 1.5 inch group at 7 yards with no problem. Really like how the co2 cylinder loads.
    Things I would have changed:Adjustable rear sight.
    What others should know:the price is a little high, but the gun is all metal. It is a great training gun. Also cheaper to shoot than a 45 1911.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Keith from USA on 2015-05-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Weight, look, and feel of this airgun is outstanding. It's impressive in your hand and feels like a real firearm. The gips are rubber rather than plastic. The DA trigger is ok - much better than other Umarex mini revolvers that I have tried. I like the cartridge loading system. It takes the guesswork out of tightening the cartridge screw.
    Things I would have changed:I found the SA trigger to be clunky, long, and unpredictable. I tried two and both had the same issue. Although the trigger is very light (perfect pull weight for me), the second stage is mushy and did not break crisply. On both guns, but more so on the one I had to return, the trigger would bottom out in the trigger guard before the release. I prefer to squeeze the trigger slowly when target shooting, but my finger would contact the trigger guard before the release, which would alter the pressure required to fire the gun. Of course all accuracy was lost. I could only get reasonable groupings by pulling (almost yanking) the trigger quickly. This is probably proper technique, but just not the way I shoot best. Both guns shot high to very high. This would be ok for a $50 airgun, but this is the Umarex flagship - come on! I have more than a dozen air pistols and none of them shoot so far off point - even the $50 ones. Nothing else I would change.
    What others should know:I had to return the first one and Pyramydair was awesome. The grip safety was misalligned and would catch when fired left handed. The trigger was a mess on that one, and the gun fired about 8" high at 20 ft. I'm keeping the second one because it only fires about 4" high at 20 ft,and I think it will imrpove my technique. Once you figure out how high or low to aim, you can consistently hit a can at 30 yrds, so the gun fires true.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Eric from USA on 2015-05-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:At the right range this AP is very accurate, but because the rear sight is not adjustable for elevation, this may not be all that obvious. After a bit of experimentation, I discovered that the elevation was spot on at 7M, so that when I shot a 10M ISSF target at 7M, I got a group centered in the black with an aggregate score of 89% using a 6 o'clock hold. This was on my first cartridge before I really got comfortable with the gun, so I suspect that I can get even better. I'm 72 shots into my first cartridge and it is still shooting that accurate, but suspect that I am near the end of the useful range based on earlier reviews. The trigger is not as nice as my real 1911A1, but the overall feel and grip angle should help with in home 1911 practice.
    Things I would have changed:Incorporate fully adjustable rear sight either as an add on or as a target model. Trigger pull is a bit rough, and a bit on the long side. The double action trigger pull on this should match the regulation 1911A1 competition weight so you can better simulate timed (5 shots 20 seconds) and rapid fire (5 shots 10 seconds).
    What others should know:You really need to grip tight for the grip safety to work properly, which while odd for AP, is good practice for shooting a real 1911. While a real 1911 does not "require" this tight of a grip, I get better accuracy on my real 1911 when I grip it this tight.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Maurice from USA on 2014-09-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The workmanship, weight and obvious quality. To me, comparing this to my Tanfoglio Witness and KWC Blackwater 1911 really tells the difference in materials, etc. Accuracy is excellent. You're definitely rewarded for utilizing proper grip, breath control and trigger pull. The grips, to me at least, feel like rubber and they're excellent. I get a solid 80-88 shots before I stop so as not to cause a jam.
    Things I would have changed:The grip safety could work just a bit better in my opinion; not that it's bad or doesn't work mind you, just that it could operate smoother. Perhaps a white dot on the front sight would have been nice as well. I would have loved the wooden grips but I couldn't justify the difference in price.
    What others should know:This is a very well made, high quality product. It really does feel like a product that will last many years and well beyond its less expensive counterparts. I not only highly recommend this pistol, I also highly recommend getting extra magazines because you'll be shooting this a lot.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Douglas from USA on 2014-06-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Beautiful workmanship on this pistol, very accurate & rifled barrel, efficient on CO2, easy to operate, uses same cartridge as my other UAREX pistols. I wanted double or single action trigger, this has it but manual pull back for trigger.
    Things I would have changed:This is not a blow-back, the grip safety is not very smooth (can result in failure to fire if your grip not firm enough to engage), sights are basic - would prefer white dot to improve visibility.
    What others should know:I bought this as I wanted very accurate, realistic 1911 style pistol with rifled barrels. It is more expensive than alternative, but delivers on quality and accuracy.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Charles A from USA on 2014-06-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I purchased this pellet pistol (before, and did not get/purchase the ten shot for $10 service), it did not operate as advertised but, I notified Pyramyd Air within the 30 days after purchase period, and Pyramyd Air honored their stated return policy, and sent me another Colt 1911A. I did purchase the ten shots for $10 service for this pistol. Since purchase, I usually shoot 200 rounds, once a week (sometimes twice a week). I usually get approx. 100 rounds per CO2 cylinder, before the accuracy falls off. I have had no issues with the 'new' Colt 1911. I really like this pellet pistol and enjoy it each time I shoot it. Buy many magazines (8 rounds per magazine). Thank you Pyramyd Air.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Malcolm from USA on 2013-12-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Very realistic feel and weight, I have a Springfield Armory 1911 A-1 .45ACP and this is very similar. Best accuracy is achieved shooting single action.
    Things I would have changed:Shoots about 2 inches high at 30ft. While I appreciate the stock sights in keeping with the Gov't issue 1911, an adjustable rear sight would be useful.
    What others should know:I get about 90 shots, the last 10 drop pretty quickly.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Triggerhappy from USA on 2013-12-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy, In Both shooting and in build. FPS is adequate, better than most. Quality fit & finish far surpasses any airgun manufacturer.
    Things I would have changed:Price of course.
    What others should know:Although the rubberized feeling plastic grips are better than plastic feeling of the CP88's plastic grips If I had it to do all over again I'd buy them both with the wood grips to begin with. They really make a great looking pistol a Beautiful Showpiece.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Triggerhappy from USA on 2013-12-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:All metal extreme quality gun. The Walther style metal magazines fit many of my other guns. Realistic feel (heavy) and vy accurate out to 15 yards. Put in a friends hand they'll think its a powder gun..
    Things I would have changed:Maybe rubberized grips. The plastic ones feel cheap and are the only glaring drawback to its esthetics. At close to $200 they should be rubber if not wood.
    What others should know:I bought the wood grips and have noticed a better feel and of course look. Really long pellets can be too long. Seems to accept alloys without to much fuss, some better than others. No Crosman alloy pellets work good. As always you get what you pay for.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Andrew from USA on 2013-09-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Metal construction. Pretty good feel compared to the real thing. Accuracy is pretty good, given the shorter barrel.
    Things I would have changed:personally, I'd give it a 6" slide and contoured rubber grips to match my real thing, but that's just me.
    What others should know:Stock plenty of pellets and clips, because you're gonna go through them at an alarming rate.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By P.Smith from USA on 2013-09-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Handles great, same size and weight as a Colt, inexpensive way to keep in practice.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger is so-so. It works fine for single action, but is way too stiff for double action to have any kind of accuracy. I would rate 5 stars if the trigger was smoother.
    What others should know:If you want a replica of a Colt 1911 high-quality .177 caliber pellet pistol to practice with, it's worth the money. This is not a cheap plastic air soft pistol, but a full metal replica of an original Colt.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Charles M from USA on 2013-09-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:WOW! This Umarex Colt Government 1911 A1 is an incredible airgun replica! Except for the white labeling, it looks very much like the actual firearm. Everything on this gun is metal with the exception being the grips which feel like rubber. The weight feels good when the gun is held, not too heavy, not too light. All of the mechanical parts work very well. Total shot count on the first Umarex CO2 was 118, but after several CO2 cartridges, the average total shot count has settled in at 88 using either Umarex or Crosman CO2. This gun's best feature is its accuracy. The accuracy is exceptional! Once I adjusted the rear sight for windage and compensated my aim for elevation, I was consistently hitting the center of two inch shot spots from a bench rested position 18 feet away. The single action bench rested groupings ranged from 1/2 x 1/2 inch (H&N Match Pistol) to 1 1/2 x 1 inch (Crosman Premier Super Point). The double action bench rested groupings ranged from 1/2 x 3/8 inch (H&N Baracuda) to 1 1/4 x 3/4 inch (RWS Super Point).
    Things I would have changed:I would give this gun a rear sight fully adjustable for windage and elevation. Right now the rear sight is adjustable only for windage. My gun shoots about 1 inch high so I aim about 1 inch low. I would like to see a blowback version of this gun that retains all of the current mechanical functions and uses the same stick magazine that is used in the Beretta PX4 Storm.
    What others should know:The double action trigger is long, but smooth and not too heavy. The single action trigger is really short and easy. The thumb safety works by disengaging the trigger from the hammer mechanism. The grip safety works by preventing the hammer from striking the gas valve pin. The grip safety does this by operating a metal flange. When the grip safety is engaged (not pressed in), the flange is positioned just below the gas valve pin. When the hammer falls, it strikes the flange but not the gas valve pin. When the grip safety is disengaged (pressed in), the flange moves up against the end of the gas valve pin. When the hammer falls, it strikes the flange which in turn activates the gas valve pin and fires the gun. I tested this gun with these pellets: Crosman Premier Super Match wadcutter, Crosman Premier Super Point, Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum domed, RWS Superdome, RWS Meisterkugeln Pistol, RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle, RWS R10 Match, RWS Hobby, RWS Superpoint Extra, RWS Supermag, H&N Sport, H&N Baracuda, H&N Field Target Trophy, H&N Match Pistol, H&N Spitzkugel, H&N Finale Match Pistol, JSB Match Diabolo wadcutter, and JSB Exact Diabolo domed. All of these pellets fit well in the magazines and were shot well without any jams. Over the last week I have fired several hundred shots from this gun and everything has worked well from the very first shot to the last one just an hour ago. I strongly recommend this gun.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2013-02-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I like that this gun look and feels like my "real" 1911s. The build quality is very good and it is accurate.
    Things I would have changed:The slide release scratches the finish and the finish in general scuffs easily.
    What others should know:This is a fun gun to own, especially now that its very hard to get .22 ammo and .45 is so expensive. Good practice gun!
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Mark from Canada on 2012-11-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Almost all medal and looks very realistic.
    Things I would have changed:I would change the way the mag is.
    What others should know:Fun gun for plinking
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By James from USA on 2012-10-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Great looking pistol. Heavy and exudes quality.
    Things I would have changed:Correct problem with the relieable functioning of this pistol. I bought one several years ago and right out of the box it did not shoot at all. I bought another one recently thinking that by now Umarex would have resolved the problem. Not the case! I had to send this one back and I orderd a differant model of the 1911 by Tanfoglio.
    What others should know:Pryamyd Air is a great company to do bussiness with. They exchanged it right away with no problem. I STRONGLY recommend Purchesing (Pyramyd Airs $10.00 for Ten Shots) option on this pistol before purchasing. Good luck.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Frederick from USA on 2012-07-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This gun makes a good replica of the M1911A1
    Things I would have changed:I would change the way you put the co2 in. I find it hard. I also would make a magazine that held both ammo and co2 in the handle. Also to much writting on right side of pistil
    What others should know:If you are looking for a M1911A1 to hang on your wall, this could be the one for you. Very realistic looking.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Mark from USA on 2012-05-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:weight and ergos of the real thing. I use mine as a training aid for beginning shooters and with IDPA courses of fire in my attic.
    Things I would have changed:refine the mechanics to be a bit smoother, and either make the sights adjustable for elevation, or manufacture a gun that doesn't need elevation adjustment out to ~25 yards; mine shoots ~2 inches high at 15 yards.
    What others should know:Crosman Premier 7.9gn hollow points have worked well for me in this gun's cylinder magazine.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Clayton from USA on 2012-03-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very comparable to a .45 1911 in weight, feel, and operation. I think practice will transfer (exc. mag handling and double action). Very accurate in single action. I'm happy with the rounds per CO2 cartridge.
    Things I would have changed:The spring device that retains the thumb safety comes loose easily and is plastic/fragile.
    What others should know:Beware of trying to use grip scales from a Government 45. It looks like they will fit, but they don't work unless you want to do pretty extensive modifications. If you want wood grips, buy the model that has them -- there's a reason it's more expensive.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By David from USA on 2012-03-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Look and feel of the gun. Install of the CO2 is very good, same as the CP88.
    Things I would have changed:Rear sight is not adjustable for height. The gun consistently shoots high and Umarex should send every buyer an upgraded sight. Also the trigger has a very long pull in single-action, which is the most accurate action. Grip safety and trigger need to be smoothed out.
    What others should know:Somebody was right. There should be developed a clip feed for these automatics. Needs to be better trigger and grip safety to improve accuracy and overall performance. A lot of sticking in the mechanism. A $200 gun should shoot like one.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Michael from USA on 2011-11-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Weighs and looks like the real thing. Fairly accurate. Comes with a padded case.
    Things I would have changed:Pellets get jammed in the magazine. I use the recommended wadcutters but it still jams on occasion. I have other pistols that I paid much less for and never jam. Very frustrating, considering I paid a decent amount of cash on this baby.
    What others should know:When changing the magazine, you need to keep the gun perpendicular to the ground otherwise it will fall out and roll away.
  • 12 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top