Colt 1911 Special Combat Classic BB Pistol reviews - page 3

Add to Cart


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Christhetrainguy from USA on 2012-08-17 22:29:00

Things I liked:Striking pistol, right out of the box! After testing for function, I switched this out with a REAl Colt Custom Shop 1911,in a French fitted velvet&glass walnut display case! I think I am gonna' have to buy a second one for shooting.
Things I would have changed:This pistol can't be beat for a hundred bucks!
What others should know:Order a second magazine to keep the fun going.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Timothy from USA on 2014-09-19 16:54:48

Things I liked:The look and feel is pretty close to an M1911 with exception of the trigger.
Things I would have changed:Because this is a non-blowback pistol the trigger is both single and double action. The pull in double-action mode is very heavy so I prefer to slide cock the gun before each shot or just manually cock the hammer. A blowback pistol like the Colt Commander more accurately reflects the operation of a real M1911.
What others should know:I should have read the reviews for this gun more carefully before purchasing this pistol. It functions fine for what it is and shoots accurately but I ended up also purchasing a Colt Commander and that is by far the better replica weapon.
Sort by:
  • « Previous 1234 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By akum from USA on 2013-02-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Amazing handling. Great bb velocity and good accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:Add functional safety on the grip
    What others should know:Overall a good buy. Bit high on the muzzle noise but it adds to the authenticity.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By LONGSPIDER from USA on 2013-01-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:EXCELLENT PRACTICE FOR MY CCW .. feels right doesn't hurt hand
    Things I would have changed:GRIPS. TRIGGER..
    What others should know:I got extra mag convience and collector appeal
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Airgun Papa from USA on 2013-01-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I expected an authentic looking version of a Colt 1911 and although it is not an exact copy of any particular variation, it did not disappoint me. Without looking closely, you might at first assume this was a 1911. If the trigger/sear/hammer and springs hold up, this is otherwise going to be a very easy pistol to repair when the seals go out since all the components of the valve are housed in the upper magazine. The only other seal is simply a face gasket that prevents gas from escaping between the valve face and breech at firing. This seal is going to have very little stress placed upon it and should last a very long time. The velocity delivered was above what I expected even though it was only 65 degrees when I chronographed it. I first measured it slow-fire with at least one minute between shots. The first 35 shots held a fairly consistent velocity and average of 427 fps. Velocity gradually dropped with each shot from there until the velocity was down to 408 fps at shot 45. It remained above 400 fps until shot 50 with an average velocity of 422 fps for these first 50 shots! On the second test with a fresh CO2 cartridge fired at the rate of about one shot every 5 seconds, velocity began at 428 fps and dropped below 400 fps after the 8th shot. It leveled off somewhat in the upper 300's just gradually dropping off until I would reload the magazine. The first several shots after reloading had increased velocity again showing that it was the cooling effect of rapid fire.
    Things I would have changed:I tried to fit a pair of Colt walnut grip panels for the Commander and the hole spacing is just a little more than 1/8" different with a slight difference in grip angle also. I would like to fit these Colt grips to this pistol.
    What others should know:I did not find the double-action trigger to be as heavy as I anticipated and was pleased that it was as workable as I found it to be. The single action is really nice. Accuracy with this pistol is pleasantly consistent with frequent hits out to 15 yards on targets about 2-1/2" in diameter. My pistol has a preference for the Umarex precision steel BB's. These were a little better than the premium Daisy Avanti and noticeably better than the standard Daisy steel. I had also found that the H&N 4.45mm 8.2g lead round balls worked flawlessly in my Daisy Model 25 so I had to try them in my Colt. The sixth shot jammed in the barrel and I discontinued using them. This Colt 1911 Special Combat surpassed my expectations in every category.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Phillip from USA on 2013-01-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the realistic look and feel. It is all metal except for the grips. The CO2 cartrige is right in the clip. The safety works very well and is easy to use. I got about 100 rounds from one CO2 cartrige
    Things I would have changed:I wonder why they didn't make the trigger like the real weapon, but it's no big deal.
    What others should know:I think this is a must have gun for any serious collector'
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Airgun Papa from USA on 2013-01-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Colt 1911 Special Combat by Umarex surpassed my expectations in every category. It looks authentic and very good. I did not find the trigger as heavy as I presumed in double action, and in single action it is really good. Accuracy with this pistol is also pleasingly consistent with frequent hits out to 15 yards on targets about 2-1/2” in size. My pistol has a preference for the Umarex Precision Steel BB’s and gives noticeably better accuracy with them over all others I tried. (Daisy and Avanti.) I refrained from even trying the Crosman Copperheads due to the obvious defects in the surface of those.
    Things I would have changed:For the benefit of other curious experimenters, I also tried to fit a set of Colt wooden grips for the Commander on this pistol but they had a different hole spacing and slightly different grip angle and therefore do not fit. This is the only change I would like to see.
    What others should know:I Chronographed the first 45 to 50 shots slow fire with at least a full minute between shots to determine what its average maximum velocity would be. It held steady at around 427 fps for the first 35 shots and then dropped gradually down to 408 fps at shot 45. It held above 400 fps till shot 50. The average velocity for these 50 shots was 422 fps. (The temperature was only 65 degrees!) Rapid firing at a rate of about 1 shot every 5 seconds was far different as velocity dropped from a high of 428 fps to less than 400 in about 8 shots. It leveled off at around 365 fps and held around there for 10 shots or so and then gradually dropped off as shooting continued. Each time I reloaded the magazine and resumed shooting it would have increased velocity again for about 3 shots and then drop back to the decreased velocity of the former string of shots. The gun will deliver over 100 shots at respectable velocity per each CO2 cartridge. I had found that H&N 4.45mm, 8.2g lead round balls to be excellently formed and uniformly round and they functioned flawlessly in my Daisy Model 25, so I could not resist trying them in this pistol. The 6th shot jammed in the barrel and I discontinued using them. This pistol is going to be easy to repair if it ever needs work on the valve unit or seals due to the fact that the magazine houses the valve. The only remaining seal is readily accessible by opening the slide. I haven’t checked what its removal may involve but it is not a tight fitting seal anyway and is likely not to need replacing as often. As long as the proper function of trigger, sear, hammer and springs last, then only a magazine replacement would have you up and running again. I suspect rebuilding the magazine unit will be a breeze if replacement parts can be purchased from Umarex. Whether or not that occurs, this pistol could be in operation for a very many years simply based on this design.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Frederick from USA on 2013-01-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very nice gun for the price. like the 20 rd mag. However it was shipped to me missing a hand grip screw. Don't know how that would happen ???
    Things I would have changed:nothing
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Donald from USA on 2012-12-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:For the money, this gun is a good deal. I didn't buy one with the blowback so I would get more shots out of it and it delivers. Aside from little recoil which I expected, the gun feels natural and the weight feels authentic. Would recommend to anyone, experienced or beginner
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Wayne from USA on 2012-12-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I was supprised at how great the pistol looked as I oppened the box! Great finish, great feel and was very pleased with the accuracy. The only thing that I was disappointed with was the back serriated area on the slide was easily scratched by the safty bar when used. Not enough clearence.
    Things I would have changed:Change design so that the slide is not scrateched by the safty. Offer wood grips. Competition grade trigger.
    What others should know:Very accurate gun, realastic look and feel; overall I'm very pleased with this pistol!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Michael from USA on 2012-12-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I have never been a huge 1911 fan and only own a .22 LR version of the weapon. However, when I saw this one, I just couldn't believe how beautiful it was! I read lots of reviews and decided to go ahead and get one. Well...it's even more beautiful in person! Wow! I love the overall looks and feel of the pistol. I shot around 500 rounds of both copperhead BB's and Daisy Premium Zinc plated BB's through it with no jams and not one problem. I took a big box and filled it with styrofoam and old clothes and put a splatter sight in target on it and shot it in the house. I didn't have to adjust the sights at all as it was hitting in the 10 ring at 15 feet with the exception of a couple of flyers. My old eyes are not what they used to be, so I put a splatter zombie target on it and after a few shots at 15 feet, I brought the target into about 10 to 12 feet and really had some fun. I was in the prone (lazy) position. I shot a few cans at 15 feet with no problem hitting them in the middle every time. I am really enjoying this pistol. I am 59 years young and I love it. I have several weapons of all kinds and when it's cold outside, I love shooting my BB and pellet pistols and rifles. I recommend this pistol for some short distance fun!
    Things I would have changed:The double action is challenging and a bit hard to pull, but single action is right on. I'd like to see and easier pull on the double action. Also, the trigger is not like the original 1911 and it would be nice to have a traditional trigger. The magazines are cool, but as has been stated, a little hard to load. I use a little flat head screw driver to assist me in getting the little pull down lever pulled down and locked. Without it, you will soon have a sore finger and fingernail! Also, the little screw tightener on the bottom of the magazine which holds the CO2 cartridge in place sticks out a bit and takes away from the overall appeal of the looks. Would have been nice if this were made flat somehow. Some have mentioned the blow back option, but that doesn't bother me. I like it just the way that it is because the energy goes towards the number of shots that you can make instead of diverting it to the blowback.
    What others should know:Overall, I am more than pleased. I love the realistic weight of the gun. Although I don't own a 1911, I have handled a few and this feels realistic. Some complained about the chrome parts, but I find them to be a nice touch. Would I get it again? Absolutely! Can't wait to play with it some more tomorrow. It is awesome to have the splatter targets so you can see right where you hit. The zombie ones are really fun! If you are on the fence about this gun, jump off and just get it. You won't be disappointed.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Mike from USA on 2012-12-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This pistol is well constructed - i.e. all metal except grips. The magazine is metal & contains a fast loadable entry for BBs plus the CO2 container. Therefore if a seal problem evolves just replace the mag! With adjustable rear sites one can modify the aiming to the individual. I've fired some 1500 shots over the last month with consistent accuracy and approximately 110 BBs/ CO2 cartridge.
    Things I would have changed:If it were a "blowback" version, one needn't have to cock it each time for a "single action". However, practicing double action shooting does help with forming a good grip!
    What others should know:With practice I've found that I can consistently fire 70% of my shots within a 4" diameter from 20'.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Edwin from USA on 2012-12-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Right out of the box a great practice firearm for teaching my grandsons safe gun handling and the fun of target shooting.
    Things I would have changed:No negatives.
    What others should know:Need to order the BB Speed Loader at the same time. It is a great aid in loading the magazine.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By nonewjerseymike from USA on 2012-12-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The looks and all around quality,it is really quite nice.you can get a lot of shots from co2,the grips, with the Colt logo.I have tree of them,two for me and on e for my grandson.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger pull is hard and long and not user ajustable,maybe introduce a blow back model.
    What others should know:The trigger pull is quite long for a person with small hands. But it is one of the most beautiful airguns on the market.I think it is made by the same co.that makes the Dan Wesson
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Michael from USA on 2012-12-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy, single or double action operation
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:Right out of the box, this was one of the most accurate BB pistols that I have ever fired. From 30 feet shooting at a 25 ft. qual. target, I cut the bullseye out with the first 7 shots. Then I started hitting outer rings, and the hitting those shots with another...
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Nick from USA on 2012-12-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I loved the grip and the polished finish. It feels realistic down to the fire rate and hammer.
    Things I would have changed:Add a blowback and a real safety grip.
    What others should know:The realism of this gu is a must for any 1911 lovers and deserves a permanent spot in your collection.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Tony from USA on 2012-12-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very realistic look and feel. I like the DA trigger set up. A nice addition to my air gun collection. The co2 cartridge in the mag is very nice and easy to use. Use of a small tool to push the mag spring into lock position I found helpful!! Over a hundred descent shots per cylinder.
    Things I would have changed:Great as is!!
    What others should know:After shooting yesterday for hours with all my co2 pistols (six) the accuracy on this gun was the most challenging. Still very fun to shoot. Made a very nice addition to my air gun collection!!!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Tony from USA on 2012-11-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very nice look. Very realistic. I actually like the double action trigger and operation. Very powerful and accurate. Lots of shooting per powerlet.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    What others should know:I shoot alum. cans at 25 yards and have more hits than misses. Buy this hand gun. You won't regret it.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By John from USA on 2012-11-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very nice gun! Shoots very good. Seems like it shoots forever on one cartridge. At least 100 times! Very good feel and heft. Feels like holding the real thing!!
    Things I would have changed:I would change the color. No Chrome parts. No knob on bottom of mag.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Tom from USA on 2012-10-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Looks like! Feels like my Colt Commander 9mm. Very accuate, the weight and size is right there. Shoots 5 clips dead on, with 1 cartrige.
    Things I would have changed:Optional wood grips would finish this gun off nicely.
    What others should know:Do not let your son have it. He has the gun with him all the time. I would like a shot now and then.(He received it as a present) Good job on this Colt BB gun
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Francois from USA on 2012-10-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Slick looking and solidly built. Working slide is a very nice touch. Love the feel of it. Very accurate out of the box.
    Things I would have changed:Add Blowback?
    What others should know:This is a must have for fans of the 1911.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Josh from USA on 2012-09-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accurate and fun to shoot even without the blowback. Nice feel to and Full drop out mags are always fun.
    Things I would have changed:I was pretty put off at first about the silver metals parts on it, other than the slide. Hammer, trigger , safety and latch all look a little too shiny. Makes them look like plastic to me. But its not so bad now that im used to it, and hopefully I can mod those parts one day. Definitely the hammer goes first, a nice black one will do fine. If I can mod with colt style triggers, all the better. In the end, even as it comes, I think it is the best looking colt for air guns, even over the tangfolio witness 1911,(although I don't own that one, and pictures don't tell all, so I plan on getting that one too :) Also, not a fan of those turn key screws. Give me allen wrench over that if you have too..
    What others should know:Minor gripes aside, I do really like it. And very glad its in my collection , especially for under one hundred bucks. Single action trigger pull definitely stiff if you are shooting slowly and precisely. In which case, cock the hammer, man. Shoot fast ,and that heavier action will feel good. Gives you different shooting experiences which is great to me!
  • « Previous 1234 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top