Date: 23/7/2016 22:14
0

Crosman 1720T PCP Target Air Pistol reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (9 reviews)
Add to Cart

Only 1 left in stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Brett from USA on 2012-11-04 01:32:07

Things I liked: Just out of the box… Accuracy is great. Marksmanship is almost effortless with a very good trigger. More accurate than my 2300S clone and it hits with a lot more power, and it is not as loud… Wow. I have a shoulder stock and it worked great with the pistol converting it a single shot carbine. Accuracy beats power in my book. Recharging air from the Crosman hand pump is fine. A Great first impression, and it is worth the extra money.

Things I would have changed: None noted yet.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Michael from USA on 2016-05-20 18:42:34

Things I liked: The barrel is decent, I was expecting a less pellet picky gun but it's possible my expectations were a bit high. I have a gun that will only shoot 3 pellets very well (Beeman Kodiak Match, Baracuda Green, Baracuda Hunter Extreme) and maybe if I changed the fps, some of the lighter pellets would perform well. The psi gauge is accurate. The gun is quite but not silent, air from the muzzle still creates an audible crack. The trigger is decent but worse than a Wiehrauch, I'm not a fan of the aggressive C curve on the trigger blade. The gun is very lightweight so once I mount my scope + nightvision equipment the weight is still manageable.

Things I would have changed: The trigger overtravel screw needs to be reworked or they need to offer different size screws so they don't stick out. I'm either going to have to turn the screw down on a lathe or find a shorter option because right now, it cuts into my finger. The beavertail area is rather uncomfortable when using the crossman shoulder stock, either the shoulder stock grip needs to be modified to cover the square edges of the beavertail area or the beavertail area needs to be reworked. The breech is not level with pellet tray so the pellet will get hung up before entering the barrel chamber, I fixed it with some shims under the loading tray but that's an absurd manufacturing issue to have when .100 tolerances are easy to come by. I also wish crosman would include the degassing tool with the price of the gun, instead you have to pay $20 more for a $2 part. The finish on my bolt handle is just a spotty mess. I wish the breech block had a rotary mag option.

What others should know: Overall I enjoy this airgun and there are few out there that offer similar features. The cause of the problems I had with this gun might be due to the lack of competition in this category of airgun, you get some designs or parts that are "good enough" because no other company is out there to show you otherwise.

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-05-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The barrel is decent, I was expecting a less pellet picky gun but it's possible my expectations were a bit high. I have a gun that will only shoot 3 pellets very well (Beeman Kodiak Match, Baracuda Green, Baracuda Hunter Extreme) and maybe if I changed the fps, some of the lighter pellets would perform well. The psi gauge is accurate. The gun is quite but not silent, air from the muzzle still creates an audible crack. The trigger is decent but worse than a Wiehrauch, I'm not a fan of the aggressive C curve on the trigger blade. The gun is very lightweight so once I mount my scope + nightvision equipment the weight is still manageable.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger overtravel screw needs to be reworked or they need to offer different size screws so they don't stick out. I'm either going to have to turn the screw down on a lathe or find a shorter option because right now, it cuts into my finger. The beavertail area is rather uncomfortable when using the crossman shoulder stock, either the shoulder stock grip needs to be modified to cover the square edges of the beavertail area or the beavertail area needs to be reworked. The breech is not level with pellet tray so the pellet will get hung up before entering the barrel chamber, I fixed it with some shims under the loading tray but that's an absurd manufacturing issue to have when .100 tolerances are easy to come by. I also wish crosman would include the degassing tool with the price of the gun, instead you have to pay $20 more for a $2 part. The finish on my bolt handle is just a spotty mess. I wish the breech block had a rotary mag option.

    What others should know: Overall I enjoy this airgun and there are few out there that offer similar features. The cause of the problems I had with this gun might be due to the lack of competition in this category of airgun, you get some designs or parts that are "good enough" because no other company is out there to show you otherwise.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gerald from USA on 2014-05-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Like the look and the balance and the trigger works well without further adjustment.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger stop screw could be shorter or have sharp edges rounded. Scope dovetail could be a little longer on barrel.

    What others should know: Gun comes with large orifice installed could have choice when ordering of small or large orifice.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andy from USA on 2014-04-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Super accurate! Shoots 1/4" groups at 25 yards easily with several different brands of pellets. Gives at least 40 shots within 25fps! Simply awesome out of the box!

    Things I would have changed: Grips. I have large hands with long fingers and the grips just don't fill my hand properly.

    What others should know: Nearly ran out of windage adjustment with standard rings. Had to use Burris Signature rings with .020 inserts to bring horizontal scope alignment parallel to bore. 4 Stars because of this issue.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By William from USA on 2013-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: 710 fps with H&N 7.5 Finale or 680 with JSB 8.4 and very consistent. Shoots good groups at 30 yards, will use it for Piston Field Target. Stock trigger is just OK, although I have not tried adjusting it, that is next. Get about 25 good shots per fill.

    Things I would have changed: Better stock trigger, but that would probably raise the price.

    What others should know: Grip feels cheap and will wiggle sometimes, minor problem.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tammond from USA on 2013-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: accurate,accurate,accurate this fine USA made gun is worth the money.match grade trigger, LW choked match barrel this gun deserves a big buck big wheel FT scope i am saving for one.

    Things I would have changed: screw on fill cap.

    What others should know: like my granpap zeke used to say its the tackdrivers in your gun collection that are the most interesting.trust me buy this gun you will not be sorry!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2013-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I owned the 1700T, still own the 1701T....and now the 1720T....they just keep getting better and better. The trigger is excellent, as I knew it would be. Balance, feel and "operability" are fantastic. This gun just feels good in your hand. I have not bench rested this gun, but my standard targets are empty 12GA hulls scattered on the ground at 25 yards, or a bit farther out. Shooting from off hand, most of them are hit with a resounding "thwok" and a good jump.

    Things I would have changed: The grips are ok, but they don't fit the gun tightly, and wiggle a bit as you shoot. I'll fix this easily as I did on my other two 1700 series. Like the others, I wish the cap on the fill connector was threaded....and mostly, I'd like to see a slightly larger pressure gauge, and that gauge should have the 3000 psi mark on mid scale.....not way up at the top end. Most gauges are most accurate at mid scale, and you do not want to overcharge this neat gun.

    What others should know: If noise is a consideration to you, like it is to me.....rest assured, this is your gun. On the front inch or so of the barrel, there are ports under the shroud. This thing is "mouse fart" quiet. Much quieter than my other two. If you need a quiet target.....Pour an inch deep (or more) of melted lead into a cheap pie pan, and let it go solid. Put a couple of eye screws into your new backstop, and hang it up. Lead pellets hitting the lead backstop are really quiet. They don't bang and they don't bounce....they just hit and fall off.....very quietly. I have put over 1000 pellets through this gun in a couple of weeks.....and I like it better every day.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By M from USA on 2013-02-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Amazingly accurate gun. Shoots just over 750 fps with 7.0 gr RWS pellets. Charging is fast and easy. Using Hill MK III hand pump, takes approximately 40-50 strokes to bring to 3000 psi from 1200. If plinking, you can get just over 60 shots. When shooting FT, you can get approximately 30 usable shots. Shooting 6 shoot groups smaller then a dime is the norm and most often all touching. I like that it comes with a extra transfer port to bring the pistol down to silhouette shooting speeds. Great balance once a scope is attached.

    Things I would have changed: Better stock grips and potential for regular sights.

    What others should know: This is intended primarily for FT or non-competitive silhouette shooting with the lower speed transport. Was contemplating the Silhouette and 2300 series pistols, and am very happy with this gun. I would highly recommend it on accuracy and versatility.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By lynette from USA on 2012-12-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: accurate, accurate, accurate. Twenty yard 10 shot groups are now down to .221 outside to outside spread. The L-W barrel on this pistol loves the jsb 8.44 and you get 30-35 shots per fill. After about 250 shots the crony showed 773 fps average.

    Things I would have changed: Get rid of that push on pull off cap covering the foster fitting and use a threaded one like on the M-rod.

    What others should know: The 1720 has a real potential in field target competition.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brett from USA on 2012-11-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Just out of the box… Accuracy is great. Marksmanship is almost effortless with a very good trigger. More accurate than my 2300S clone and it hits with a lot more power, and it is not as loud… Wow. I have a shoulder stock and it worked great with the pistol converting it a single shot carbine. Accuracy beats power in my book. Recharging air from the Crosman hand pump is fine. A Great first impression, and it is worth the extra money.

    Things I would have changed: None noted yet.

Navigation