Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Crosman 2240 reviews - page 10

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By William Davis from USA on 2011-07-26 06:25:57

    Things I liked:This is an update. Since I last wrote I installed a 1377 butt stock and the Crossman intermounts to fit a Beeman 30mm 4x scope. It shoots like a rifle now! Will shoot one hole groups at 20 yards, around one inch at 30. I will post photos as soon as I figure out how.
    Things I would have changed:na
    What others should know:This past spring while at the river my gear got soaked, including this gun. It suffered no ill effects. Ofcourse I blew all the water out as soon as we made camp, but was unable to properly clean it until I got back home. This gun has been shot a lot! I value reliability and have not been dissappointed. Pyramyd still #1!!!!!!!!!
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3

    Value for money:3

    Accuracy:3

    By Doug from USA on 2013-01-13 01:29:32

    Things I liked:This does seem to be a nice gun as the reviews indicate. However, mine came with the front site off center. I opened the 2 allen screws on the bracket that holds the barrel in place and tried to rotate the barrel to get the site back on top. It didn't rotate very far. Maybe there are more screws up front somewhere or else the site itself needs to be repositioned on the barrel. I guess it will be workable for now - hate to go through the hassle of exchanging it. Not sure how many stars to rate it based on this. (No, it wasn't a matter of adjusting the windage, the site really wasn't mounted top dead center.)
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12 ... 91011 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By M from USA on 2009-02-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      11 rating
       
      Things I liked:Inexpensive, easy to use, and accurate!
      Things I would have changed:Add a grooved steel receiver for scope mounting and/or fiber optic sights.
      What others should know:This pistol is a real value at the price. Quite a few improvements could be made, but that would mean a higher price and it is still very functional without modification. The trigger pull was much better than I expected and even with the cold weather (it was only 45F when I tested it) it still had decent power and accuracy.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:2 2.0

        By robert from USA on 2009-01-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:First , I want to say I'm judging my 2240 against my Mark 1 that I bought around 1980,and I have to say the power in the 2240 is much more than the original Mark 1, but as far as accuracy the Mark 1 smokes the 2240 so far,the sites are way off out of the box, can;t seem to zero in with them
      Things I would have changed:sites,grips,plastic parts
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Richard from USA on 2009-01-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good feel and weight. has good power. Many upgrades available if desired. 40 to 50 shots per CO2 cartridge. Fun to shoot and easy to load.
      Things I would have changed:I would like to see a red or green blade on the front sight
      What others should know:If you load and shoot rapidly the co2 cools the gun and you will get fewer shots per cartridge. Space the shots out and let the gun warm up and you will gain 10 to 20 shots.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Gary from USA on 2008-12-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:GOOD SOLID FEEL, SEEMS TO HAVE GOOD POWER
      Things I would have changed:WOOD GRIPS, METAL BREECH INSTEAD OF PLASTIC.
      What others should know:FOR THE MONEY IT SEEMS TO BE WORTH IT. IT WAS A GIFT FOR MY SON HE LOVES IT.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By The_Reverend from USA on 2008-11-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:First off: I like the ease & convenience of the co2 carts! I have and have had several Crosman 1377 'pumpers'. These are all well & good for a broad range of shooting; from indoor (low power plinking) to full max pumps for hunting small game. However, I prefer the 2240 for it's compactness, it's ease of operation and it's accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:The rear sight - I would change the rear sight to a more traditional 'target type' sight with R/L & U/D 1/4 MOA adjustments - AND, I would offer an 'UPGRADE KIT' to tune the trigger & sear. I would also offer a leather holster for the hunters -
      What others should know:Out of the blister pack this thing shoots HARD & STRAIGHT! I have used Daisy Flat nosed pellets, Crosman Pointer Premiers & JSB Predators in my 2240 - I have the best performance AND penetration with the JSB Predators! And that is what I have tuned the AG to accomodate - Additionally, this AG has unlimited modding potentials - Thank you Pyramid Air - for affording me an opportunity to share my opinion.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Chuck from USA on 2008-10-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very well balanced gun. Smooth loading. Smooth trigger. Definately made for target shooting.
      Things I would have changed:Seems loud with a new Powerlet.
      What others should know:All around I am very pleased with gun. Straight down the barrel feel shooting at targets. Loads like a dream. The CO2 seems to run out quick but it does shoot a heavier pellet. I'm going to try a lighter pellet next to see what happens. Loads of after market items you can add also. Nothing fancey about this gun but the balance and feel is perfect as a targe pistol.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By James from USA on 2008-10-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Powerful CO2 @ .22 Cal. Feels well balanced in either hand. .22 pellets easy to load.
      Things I would have changed:TOO much plastic, metal breech would improve the look & the ability to stand the test of time.
      What others should know:LOTS of upgrades avaliable for this & the 1377. You can customize thie pistol into something one of a kind. Gotta love those BIG holes the .22 pellets make too!
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Alvin from USA on 2008-10-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:The size and weight is similar to my Ruger bull barrel 22 target pistol. The larger 22 pellets are easy to load. It is a great plinker.
      Things I would have changed:Crosman Quality control is poor. It took one month to get the problems of assembly ironed out (almost). Barrel sight alignment has 1 to 2 degree twist error (2 pistols received). First pistol had the rear sight also twisted 5 degrees for a total of 7 degree miss-alignment; and was returned to Crosman. Second pistol is usable but rear sight notch depth should be reduced to minimize angulation error visualized.
      What others should know:Noise is comparable to 22 inch barreled 22 rifle firing BB or CB caps. This "pop" makes it a bit rough for backyard shooting in the city. So far no good citizens are complaining about perception of a siege! The Crosman 1377 considerably quieter.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By james from USA on 2008-09-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:everything this pistol does what they claim and more
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:buy pleanty of co2 and pellets if you purchase this gun you will need it . you will spend hours shooting
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Arnold from USA on 2008-08-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good balance. Smooth bolt action. Easy loading. Clear sights. Crisp trigger pull. Metal grip frame. The 2240 was accurate with groups inside 1/2 inch at 5 meters, which may be due to my hold. At Pyramyd's price, this is one of life's great values!
      Things I would have changed:As other reviewers have already pointed out, numerous aftermarket parts are available for this base pistol, from a steel breech and different sights to longer barrels. But one caution is that if you do change the breech, you will need to use a scope or add a different rear sight - which may or may not be compatible with the height of the standard front sight. I plan to leave mine as is for now.
      What others should know:Testing over a chronograph at 68 degrees F, Crosman HPs gave an average velocity of 440 FPS. RWS Hobby pellets registered an average of 470 FPS. Velocities for both types of pellets were consistent within 3 FPS.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By David from USA on 2008-07-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great basic platform so much can be done to this gun to improve it and make it unique. Keep it simple or load it up with options. It is an accurate pistol with decent velocity. Add a longer barrel and get more punch. Dress it up with wood grips. Crosman's Custom Shop can add the upgrades or get them from many other sources, the aftermarket support this gun has is unequaled.
      Things I would have changed:I bought mine with the Williams notched rear sight and the pin on the muzzle brake was much smaller than the notch when sighting it. I would have liked a closer tolerance. I got used to it but it could be done better. Get it with the longer steel breech so you can mount a scope.
      What others should know:I bought my first one in .177 liked it so much I'm getting another in .22. Just a sweet little pistol.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2008-07-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Powerful and Accurate. Great for small game at close range. Actually I had Crosman build mine with the 10 inch barrel and it does have power! I kind of wish I had just got the basic 2240 version for size and weight balance.
      Things I would have changed:I wish someone would come out with a .22 CO2 multi-shot air pistol. Daisy had one but it was discontinued.
      What others should know:This is a great pistol. Bottom line: Buy it!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Timothy from USA on 2008-07-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate, nice clean holes with most wad cutter pellets. Super crisp trigger for any pistol. For this price though a complete steal. Nice wieght and balance. Sights are dead on once adjusted. The quality far exceeds the price.
      Things I would have changed:Include scope mounts or make it an option.
      What others should know:The plastic breech to me isn't an issue. Believe me when I say I like metal parts. In this case however the entire pistol is metal except for the breech and grips. I do not believe either of these plastic parts would fail due to normal use. The windage adjustment is a bit tricky but holds fast and has stayed accurate. The pistol is pretty loud so be aware of where your shooting. This pistol is by far worth what it costs.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Bob from USA on 2008-07-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Hard hitter, fun gun. This is one great pistol. I would imagine this is the best air pistol made for the money. Hard to put this gun down. It's noisy, but I live out in the country, so no bother to me. I get lots of high power shots out of each cartridge, too. This is the gun to have and start people out with. Can't be beat for value, hard hitting, and getting the job done.
      Things I would have changed:Make it with a steel breech to start with, or at least an option when buying. A great trigger would be helpful, but, you can do most of that yourself, especially by changing out the trigger spring. I have mine very light, indeed.
      What others should know:Get plenty of CO2, and pellets. You are gonna need them. Try as many different pellets you can. I find mine shoots them all very good. It does have some favorites, tho. I'd have to look in my notebook and look at target notes to find the best ones for my guns. I have found one thing, most of the time RWS pellets are superaccurate, and the Diabolo type made by any of the MFG"S are fine and accurate.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Kurt from USA on 2008-06-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Every little detail. This gun is dead on accurate. It takes several types of pellets which is great. I buy tons of Beeman , RWS , and Crosman pellets. I like that no matter what ,wadcutters, H-Points, Predators, Super points and the list goes on , that this pistol fires them well. I'm sick of pellet pistols that can't / won't take various pellets like this gem does. It gives you the advantage of buying MANY types of pellets, thus helping you choose what works best for your likes and dislikes. My Father had me shooting his .22 cal Crosman pistol with him when I was a teen 30 plus years ago. The gun was high quality then , and still is. I wish I knew where his was because I'm sure it's a collectors item even though I wouln't sell it because he is no longer with us.
      Things I would have changed:Not one single thing. Why pay twice as much for one of the other brands that cost twice as much? I wish Crosman would produce 2-3 more styles of .22 cal pistols. .177 are a dime a dozen . 22 are far more fun to shoot.
      What others should know:Put one drop of oil on the tip of every 2nd CO2 cartridge as well as one on the exhaust port and your gun will stay in great condition for years. Also use a Beeman brand silicone cloth to wipe your pistol down with after each use.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Maribel from USA on 2008-06-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent base platform for customizations, lightweight, packs a nice little punch.
      Things I would have changed:Tighter barrel to breech fit.
      What others should know:Most complaints people have about this base model is the plastic breech and grips. Guess what? You can order it from Crosman with the extras added for a price. This particular model is just that - the BASE model. The beauty is that it leaves just about everything open to your imagination and modification needs. If you're already thinking of getting a longer barrel (good idea if you want more power and accuracy), look into getting the 2250 model instead. It's basically the same platform but with a longer barrel, giving it more power and better accuracy. Grips are interchangable as well with the 2240 so you can turn it into a pistol if that's what you're after. I for one don't mind the plastic breech - it does what it's supposed to do. I love using open sights on pistols. If I wanted a steel breech, there's quite a few aftermarket ones available out there, as well as the option to order one from Crosman. She shoots quite well out of box, but barrel to breech fit could be tighter, for better accuracy. I left this one as is and didn't do any major modifications to it. With the short barrel you won't want to add extra power with customized valves, ports, etc; there'd be lots of Co2 waste and it would snow every time you took a shot. The one thing you do want to look in to is how to properly manage the current Co2 output in a more efficient manner so there's less waste and there's quite a few easy ways to do this. All in all, this is an accurate, fun and affordable pistol whether or not you're going to make modifications to it. Spend a little time researching and applying better Co2 management applications and you've got yourself a sweet little plinker capable of taking out paper and small pests within a short range.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2008-06-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have owned one of these great pistols for 15 years and I have never had a bit of problems with it. It's solid accurate and just all around good pistol. I have never went hunting for it, but I have literally shattered the so calle iron targets that came with my crosman pellet trap. It burns through quarter inch plywood backing my targets like it was another piece of paper.
      Things I would have changed:THe front sight can be shifted quite easily, and the platic parts on my gun has all been replaced with parts I have either made or ordered from crosman.
      What others should know:put a drop of pellgun oil on the end of the CO2 cartrige about every 5th one. It will last forever if you do that.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By mmjurczak from USA on 2008-05-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good hefty feel, and very well suited design as a target pistol. Drives RWS hyper velocity pellets into plywood at 10m. Nice loud report makes the pistol feel like an authentic .22 match pistol. Very accurate, can easily be counted on to hit what I'm aiming at around 15m. Great fun to shoot, and couldn't be happier with my purchase, especially considering the price and receiving it next day from Pyramid.
      Things I would have changed:The plastic grips are rather flimsy, grip design is ok but the mounting is weak. Plastic front sight is also not the best, but not a major issue considering the price. Could use a spring to return the bolt, and some sort of magazine would always be a plus...
      What others should know:Pretty loud piece. Went plinking with it in my yard and it drew some attention due to the noise. CO2 will leak after prolonged storage, at least with mine.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Steven from USA on 2008-05-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent pistol.Alot of power.With a Skenco . 22 Hyper-velocity it will go through three metal coffee lids .lined up.And an RWS Extra point .22 pellet is very good velocity at 15-20 feet.Great POWER!!Very good pistol by Crosman.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:Very loud .Almost like my deringer shooting .22 shorts. Use an insulated shed or other indoor shooting area in close neighborhoods.Neighbors might complain.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Blimp01 from USA on 2008-04-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Powerful, Accurate, Fun, Loud, CO2 Lasts 40-60 shots, Metal.
      Things I would have changed:Plastic Grips should be wood or metal. There should be a dot on the front site (or the fiber optic)
      What others should know:You can buy the 459MTC to mount a scope/site/red dot site.
    • « Previous 12 ... 91011 Next »
    Over
    ammo packs sold