Crosman 2240 reviews - page 10

Add to Cart


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By robert from USA on 2013-11-20 20:39:15

Things I liked:as soon as my 2240 arrived I cleaned the bore and its the first gun ive bought new that wasn't real dirty inside. first few shots were bad, new gun , new to me. after 2 powerjets ans several pellets, a few sight adjustments I was getting dime size groups at 15 yards, stepped out to 20 and still good. fine gun right out of the package. it hits with power too. need to break the crony out.
Things I would have changed:mabe the plastic breech and a touch lighter trigger pull but not a deal breaker
What others should know:its a quality pistol for the money. I got a new gamo pt-80 and it worked for 2 days . I got the 2240 to take its place. the difference was like night and day. id say if your wanting power and accuracy in a low priced pistol, id have to tell you buy a 2240. like always pyramid air was courteous on the phone and delivery time was fast too. I prefer p.a. when I order a gun online p.a. gives me fast service and explains what I ask very well
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Dudley from USA on 2015-01-03 08:30:01

Things I liked:you do not have to cock the lever this is my own experience
Things I would have changed:The front sight must be extended and there must be a weak seal.
What others should know:the pistol shoots 4" high. it will give a tight pattern but I cannot lower the back sight any more than the factory setting has it. Also the pistol will not hold a charge over 15" even if I do not shoot it once the CO2 cylinder is charged.
Sort by:
  • « Previous 12 ... 91011 ... 1314 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By lcarradini from USA on 2011-03-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Balance. Accuracy. Power. Chamber design allows easy pellet insertion. Trigger has nice feel to it. Propels 22 cal better than a good number of air guns rated similarly propel 177s. Phenominal value at price point.
    Things I would have changed:Rear sight could benefit from more secure fastening mechanism.
    What others should know:Properly sized screwdrivers and a little loctite prove servicable. Dot sight helpful.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Ron from USA on 2011-03-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Great hard-hitting gun. After about 35 shots, I change the CO2 cylinder. It has more shots left, but they become weak. When I was a kid back in the 50's I had a Crosman 22 pump air pistol. I really liked that better than the CO2 version, but it appears not to be manufactured anymore. Pyramid is a great place to make your purchase. Quick response, and I liked the idea of paying them to pre-shoot the gun, to make sure it worked before I got it.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing. The plastic stocks don't bother me.
    What others should know:It would be nice if the trigger required less pressure to pull. Sounds like an owner can make that adjustment with a little mechanical know-how.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Dean from USA on 2011-03-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This gun was extreemly accurate from day one. It replaced a Benjaman EB22 that no longer held air for only a little more than replacing the EB22 seals. I am beginning to consider customizing. This could get expensive. Wish Pyramyd Air did this, as I live within ten miles of them.
    Things I would have changed:Wish it came with a metal breech and wood grips. But then cost would go up.
    What others should know:Paying $10 for a ten-shot test is cheap for eliminating buyers remorse and assuring a good product.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By lcarradini from USA on 2011-03-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy. Pyramyd's on line add is no hype. Light weight. Sufficient power. Trigger mechanism. These latter three partially contributing to the accuracy. Handsome aesthetics. Comfortable grip.
    Things I would have changed:Rear sight. Adequate and price grouping appropriate but a disservice to the overall quality of the product.
    What others should know:I may be incorrect, however, I suspect that some manufacturers rate muzzle velocity using lighter weight pellets and highest recorded chrony readings. My experience with Crosman leads me to beleive that they use medium weight pellets and average chrony readings. That is, one gets a reliable power rating.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Bryan from USA on 2011-03-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This pistol is nothing short of incredible! Very accurate right out of the box. Lots of mods and upgrade options. You will be giggling like a schoolgirl after shooting the 2240, it's that much fun!!!! Shoots very close to advertised FPS out of the box, with a few mods it can easily be made to shoot over 500 FPS.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:Almost endless upgrade and modification potential. DO NOT HESITATE TO BUY THIS! YOU WILL BE GLAD YOU DID!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By william from USA on 2011-02-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This air pistol is very accurate. Although the pressure drops as the CO2 depletes from the cartridge, the power drops, but the accuracy remains rather well, surprisingly. Very well made despite the use of plastics for some components. Although I like the power of the Browning 800, but I like to enjoy the shoot without the work of breaking a springer pistol. A springer pistol is much more difficult to break than a springer air rifle.
    Things I would have changed:It would be nice to buy an adapter that is 90 degree for using a larger CO2 tank.
    What others should know:I own a Beeman Tempest, which is a pretty good springer pistol. I find this cheaper CO2 air pistol having similar accuracy, which is a surprise. I am also surprise that I can get 40 good shots in 25 yards. Due the lost of power from pressure drop, I have to use a binocular to check the point of impact on the target.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2011-02-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:great little gun, this is an awesome gun for the $$
    Things I would have changed:polish trigger mechanism
    What others should know:this is a bargain, shoots very well round 40 good shots per 12g CO2
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Dan from USA on 2011-02-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Solid gun to start with, feels right, shoots well, and 22 pellets are easer to handle than 177's for me
    Things I would have changed:Better Factory prep. . My gun came with the barrel rolled over to the left pretty badly. It is a simple job to loosen up the barrel bans and adjust to get it right, but it should have been much closer from the factory.
    What others should know:This is a good gun and with a few minor adjustments shoots better than the price point. Also, you do not need to tighten the co2 screw with a screw driver, it just seems that way. You have to shoot it and cycle the bolt again to get a new charge in the gun, just cycle the bolt 2 times , if it is still low on co2 then tighten
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By JOHN from USA on 2011-01-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Well built, made in America, compact, fun to shoot, easy operation, egronomics,and plenty of power.
    Things I would have changed:Maybe put a steel receiver on it.
    What others should know:Great pistol for the money!
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Richard from USA on 2010-12-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Quite accurate out of box and required only minor tweaking of rear sight. Cocking it could not be easier. Loading a pellet is easy-squeezy even with left hand. Get the correct end of the pellet pointed where it is supposed to be and drop it into breech and shake a little and you are good to go. I am getting 51 shots out of a CO2 cartridge. It is easy to tell from the sound when it starts losing uumph. Plenty fast enough for basement target shooting.
    Things I would have changed:Trigger is uncomfortable. I rounded off the edge and that helped. Of course the plastic is not neat but if they made all the plastic metal you are looking at a higher price. As is, I have already ordered a breech and longer barrel and trigger upgrade. So the $60 pistol is now closer to $205.
    What others should know:Good bargain for the money and if you are ok with plastic you have made a good deal.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Rich from USA on 2010-12-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:First off KUDOS to PA for a few of things, 1st: Quick Easy Online Shopping. 2nd: Fast Shipping, 3rd: Packageing - it was Bomb Proof and I really did not expect that for a 60 buck pistol. Right out of the pack, I could smell the gun oil which is good. It was well oiled and a few wipes took off the excess. I ran a patch down the barrel and not to awful bad. Fairly clean as I have heard bad stories about dirty Crosman barrels from the factory. Not being able to contain myself, I removed the plastic breech and replaced it with a Crooked Barn Ultimate breech and MellonAir Bolt and Handle. Once I was satisfied, I broke out the pellgun oil and a cart and charged it up. 2 shots to get the gas flowing, Went outside and put 10 shots down range. Big smile on my face! What's the old saying? "You couldn't slap the smile off my face!" Just like I was 12 years old again. The most modded gun in the world, due to the user friendly design. Crosman has a winner with this one and with a little of this and a bit of that, it will be a keeper! The 2240 is Well Balanced, Nice Grip Feel even with plastic grips, fairly Powerful for a 12 gram short barreled pistol, Well made for the price with nice dark coloring.
    Things I would have changed:OK Crosman, we need to get back to old school as far as packageing. Clam Packs may be cost effective for you, but they suck for us! Go back to a cardboard box and pass the few dollars on to the purchaser. We'll all be happier in the long run! Offer the gun two ways; 1st as it is with the plastic breech and 2nd an upraded model with a steel breech and maybe the fiber optic sites (and no I'm not talking about the 2300's) Keep it just under 100 bucks and it will sell, I promise you. Give people a choice. I'm used to my 1322 and even at 10 pumps it is much more quiet than the 2240. I am going to have to figure something out to hush it up a bit as to not disturb the neighbors. Crosman could do this for us, but then we would be taking a great priced gun and making it a lot more expensive. The noise bothers me, but don't let it put you off because there are things you can do to quiet it down. Maybe this is not the best place to discuss, but just do a search on the web for that answer. So if there is anyway you can quuiet it down at the factory, that would be the ticket.
    What others should know:Overall, I am very happy with this shooter. I bought this gun to go mod crazy with, but I have already decided to keep the original barrel instead of changing it out for a longer one (I'll get that 2250XE one of these days). So I'm taking a 180 degree course of action from my original intentions which were simply put "Bulking it for More Power: Now instead of modding the valve for power, I am going to go for efficiency of shots and accuracy. So in the end this is a Great Little Gun that I highly reccomend! I also can now reccomend Pyramid Air with high marks! I'm already to purchase another so I can go with my first intent of MORE POWER ;-)
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Bill from USA on 2010-12-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Excellent balance, very good trigger, and very repeatable accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    What others should know:The CO2 cylinder-piercing, screw-in plug gave me a fit, so I recommend having a large screwdriver on hand when installing a CO2 cylinder.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Kenneth from USA on 2010-12-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I just received my gun today! This is a great little starter gun! Shoots accurately although I haven't tried it from a bench rest. Great gun to modify. Great to train young shooters.
    Things I would have changed:The front sight is hard to see againts a black target bull. Paint the front sight white. After three shots I broke out the Testors White model paint and painted the front sight. Now I can see where I'm aiming.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Dale from USA on 2010-11-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This .22 Cal. pellet gun fits your hand like it is an extension of your hand. The balance is just right. Sights are ok and are almost the same as my 150 from the 50's. gas charge is good .
    Things I would have changed:Power up the gas charge a bit more.
    What others should know:Price is reasonable. I shoot my 2240 (stock) but some users modify theres I prefer stock. I think it is well built.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Sam from USA on 2010-11-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Solid, good-looking, accurate
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:This is a very accurate and well made pistol. I customized mine with a 14.5" barrel, shoulder stock and uprated valve, and I get 500 fps with 14.3 gr Benjamin Discovery pellets. At 20 yards, it's very easy to get nickel-sized groups even with a cheapie red-dot sight. I get 35 - 40 full-power shots per 12 gr cartridge, but remember that I have an uprated valve that uses more CO2. This is an excellent little gun right out of the box or as a base for a custom job.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Greg from USA on 2010-11-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:solid feel, very accurate, price
    Things I would have changed:nothing
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Charles from USA on 2010-11-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the feel of the pistol and once sited in with the red dot scope it was quite accurate. The pistol with lead pellets has a very satisfing "thud" when it hits the target. Definately not your fathers bb gun.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By William Davis from USA on 2010-10-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The feel, the accuracy and the POWER! Oh yes, the price! I can't believe this thing only cost 50 bucks. I see why it has 5 stars with so many reviews. I've only put a few 100 rounds through this gun and I can hit a soda can every squeeze of the trigger at 20 yards. Soon it will be 30. And that is with the stock open sights. No telling what this thing will do with a scope or red dot.. I can't waight to get this thing in the deep woods.
    Things I would have changed:I must be picky as hell here to come up with something... First, Crossman should either offer a model with the alloy reciever or just make it standard with one. I mean, come on, this thing is BEGGING for a scope! Also it would be cool if they offered a few different barrel lenghts in their regular inventory. Maybe an 81/2, 91/2... Jack the price up a few $, I know they would'nt be able to keep them in stock. I know the first 91/2 incher is already sold!!!
    What others should know:This thing is loud! I have'nt counted how many shots I get, been busy shooting, but I estimate at least 50 or 60 full power shots. A surprizing number for as hard as this thing shoots. Once again, Pyramyd's price, selection of products and customer service rules!!!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By carlos from USA on 2010-08-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Shoots perfect out of the box. Good base to start with to do many modifications. I love this gun and will get another one soon.
    Things I would have changed:would like to see more airguns that come in a nice box.
    What others should know:many mods can be done to this model and other crosman models like 1377.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Gordy from USA on 2010-08-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Modular
    Things I would have changed:Grips that shift around. Misaligned sight groove on barrel.
    What others should know:Front sight is crooked by 6-7 degrees. The plastic sight is press on but there is a machined groove that is way off alignment so sight will shift back at an angle. Grips shift around even after re-tightening. Packaging was missing the trigger lock. Would have returned item due to barrel alignment but I plan on changing out the barrel. So the 2240 may be worth it for people who will customize it but stock I don't think it is worth $60, maybe $35 with better quality control.
  • « Previous 12 ... 91011 ... 1314 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top