Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Crosman Challenger PCP & CO2 Rifle, Open Sights reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Delwin from USA on 2010-01-21 03:11:49

    Things I liked:Extremely accurate. Reasonably priced. Adjustable ergonomics to fit a variety of youths to adults. Good balance. The best trigger in the competition sporter air rifle category.
    Things I would have changed:A better standard rear sight. A better selection of front sight aperture inserts.
    What others should know:The new Challenger 2009 is miles better than Crosman's first effort with the Challenger 2000. It keeps the earlier rifle's adjustable ergonomics but adds a first rate trigger (for the category) and the highly accurate, German made Lothar-Walther barrel. While the trigger cannot be compared to a German Olympic level rifle, you would have to pay at least three times the price of this air rifle to get a better trigger. From a sand bag rest at ten meters, I've shot five pellet groups that look like only one pellet was fired at the target. This rifle likes premium German made ammo. I've gotten the best results with RWS Meisterkugeln and R-10s in the heavy, 8.2 grain weight. With compressed air, I can get 100-110 consistent shots. On CO2, I've gotten a bit more, 130-140 shots with a fill of 1.5 ounces. This rifle action can be taken apart from the stock with just one screw. The rifle will then fit in a short takedown shotgun case for easy storage and transport. This rifle will be competitive in Sporter competitions.
    0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By Carlos from USA on 2011-12-13 15:40:26

    Things I liked:Light weight, decent trigger.
    Things I would have changed:Quality control from crosman. This is the second rifle of ten I have bought from crosman than comes with a leak. I can't believe that a Rifle of US $600 doesn´t have the minimum quality control. Quality control of crosman. This is the second rifle of ten I have bought from crosman than comes with a leak. I can't believe that a Rifle of US$600 doesn´t have the minimum quality control. The firs thing I did after unboxing was trying to fill the rifle with the benjamin air pump and for the second time with a crosman rifle the air leaks through the barrel, I am very disappointed. Tha firs thing I did after unboxing was tring to fill the rifle with the benjamin air pump and for the second with a crosman rifle the air leaks through the barrel, I am very disapointed.
    What others should know:You should buy the 10 for $10 test service from pyramydair if you are going to buy a crosman rifle. A few months ago I bought a benjamin discovery with this same problem.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rhonda from USA on 2014-12-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A quality rifle to meet any target shooting requirement you may want to pursue.
      Things I would have changed:Better sight rails.
      What others should know:Great value and well worth looking at for any aspiring competitive shooter.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Alan from USA on 2014-07-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good value, accurate.
      Things I would have changed:More range of adjustment on comb height - I need to make it a bit taller. The trigger could be adjusted better at the factory; it came with a LOT of creep, but is quite crisp after adjustment.
      What others should know:This rifle has a micrometer rear sight, not a diopter as described. If you need a diopter, it will have to be added separately.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jason from USA on 2014-07-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The stock,shoot count,trigger,weight,accurate,price.
      Things I would have changed:The sight and dove tail could be better.(I am nit pricking)
      What others should know:Worth more than its price tag,shoot great,loads of fun. Hard to say more about it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Peter from USA on 2014-04-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I received mine on Monday March 31, 2014. It's just like my original Crosman Challenger 2000. Except the barrel is a few inches longer (longer sight radius is good). It's easy to pump using the Benjamin hand pump. I never will worry again about running out of CO2 like I do with my original Crosman Challenger 2000. I do not worry about a scuba tank and refilling in nor lugging it around.
      Things I would have changed:I wish it was easier to cock the charging handle back. But that's a nit pick, no worries it's acceptable to me.
      What others should know:This is a very accurate air rifle and it's a good starting platform for you if you are serious about competition. Later on you can get a $1200-$3700 German Olympic Air Rifle. One thing, mine sends a puff of air into my nose after each shot. A little distracting at first. I ended up covering the spring adjuster with a piece of scotch tape and that put an end to that. I do recommend this air rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Keith from USA on 2014-01-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Adjustable stock, weight and balance
      Things I would have changed:A trouble shooting guide in the manual. Mine leaked air out of the barrel when I first tried to pump it up. Customer service (when they opened) quickly told me it's a simple problem to fix: Fill with high pressure air from a tank. Not having one, I slapped the buttstock and pumped some air with the gun cocked. Gun works fine now.
      What others should know:I sighted the challenger in by locking it in a gun vise, firing 4 pellets and moving the sites to that spot. The problem I had was the pellets all went in the same hole, so I had to mark the 'grouping' with a sticker in order to see where I hit. Love it so far.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Andre from USA on 2012-08-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a great Sporter class rifle, you will hit the 10 ring, only if you can! This rifle will shoot an inch group at 50 yards in wind, and a 5shot group will look like you only took one shot. And this rifle only needs 2000 psi so it can be easily pumped with a hand pump, or it will extend the life of your tank because it does not use as much air. And this is a very quiet air rifle, not like the AAs200 which was killing my ear every time someone next to me shot it...challenger has a wonderful, crisp triger that is fully adjustable down to a half a pound.
      Things I would have changed:A better rear sight.
      What others should know:I went to competition with this rifle, in my first year of shooting. I shot a 479 and got 9th in the state. now I am shooting 490-511.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By AKSHAY from India on 2012-07-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This seems like a perfect Sporter rifle. Got it shipped a couple of days back.By the looks of it, seems pretty light-weight and good value for money. The accuracy needs to be tested though and will post the results soon
      Things I would have changed:1. Service was pretty poor. Though we had spoken to the sales rep-Mr Eric on more than one occasion, regarding attachment of some import papers to the carton, this was completely ignored and I'd had to cough up $300 as customs duty which could have been avoided since I had all necessary legal documentation. 2. Address mentioned on carton was wrong and mis-spelt. 3. Packaging was shoddy. Pellets from one box were strewn all over and I eventually lost about 30 of them .
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ed from USA on 2012-03-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent 10 meter gun for the money. Will shoot with the germans,, if YOU can.
      Things I would have changed:Needs more front aperture inserts. Would like to be able to adjust the very good trigger to be a little lighter. Got it down to about a pound and a half,, would like to get to 6 ounces.
      What others should know:You have to buy your refilling adapter separatly. It doesn't come with one. You will need to run at least 500 rounds through this barrel to get to it's full potential. Then it will be capable of all tens,, if you are. This is NOT a plinker,, this is a precision air rifle.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Carlos from USA on 2011-12-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Light weight, decent trigger.
      Things I would have changed:Quality control from crosman. This is the second rifle of ten I have bought from crosman than comes with a leak. I can't believe that a Rifle of US $600 doesn´t have the minimum quality control. Quality control of crosman. This is the second rifle of ten I have bought from crosman than comes with a leak. I can't believe that a Rifle of US$600 doesn´t have the minimum quality control. The firs thing I did after unboxing was trying to fill the rifle with the benjamin air pump and for the second time with a crosman rifle the air leaks through the barrel, I am very disappointed. Tha firs thing I did after unboxing was tring to fill the rifle with the benjamin air pump and for the second with a crosman rifle the air leaks through the barrel, I am very disapointed.
      What others should know:You should buy the 10 for $10 test service from pyramydair if you are going to buy a crosman rifle. A few months ago I bought a benjamin discovery with this same problem.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Charles from USA on 2011-10-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:My rifle is very accurate, I mean very accurate. Maybe not as accurate as a $2,000+ rifle but I'm not there, yet. I own several Air rifles, including the Daisy 953 and a .22 Marauder, both of which are very accurate, and this Challenger is my favorite. The trigger, right out of the box, is great for me. The adjustable stock is a great plus.
      Things I would have changed:More front sight options. I had to buy additional front sight inserts to get the one useful to me. I needed smaller apertures. Search the internet.
      What others should know:I have tried 19 different pellets. Best wadcutter (So far) - H&N Finale Match Pistol 7.6gr. Best non-wad (so far) H&N Barracuda 10.65gr. Crosman Premiere in the cardboard Box, not the tin, are great, also. But this is a 10m rifle so you need to search for a wadcutter. I am still searching for better. The rifle has got it, if I can only find the right pellet.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Arlington from USA on 2011-06-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have not been able to determine anything as of now.
      Things I would have changed:The T handle is junk,it does not even give a full description of what is there in the parts manual. It happens that when I first pulled on it it came right off,a little ball berring fell out, apparently this is the rinkydink way it is supposed to stay in place. I am capable of fixing this stupid design, even though the T handle is a poor design. A good locking bolt action would have been much better.
      What others should know:I instantly decided the stock had to go, so I redesigned one that that will work for me, I am still in the process of finising the stock.It will have checkering, a palm swell and a good urathane finish so it can take a beating.All in all I think I will have a winner for the price. It's too bad I did not think of it at the time, I would have just bought the barrel assembly and trigger.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ed from USA on 2011-01-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is absolutely incredible! Out of the box with only minor adjustment to the stock sights. It was shooting groups you could cover with button up to 50 feet. I’m still shocked at this guns performance.
      Things I would have changed:The stock, although it has many adjustments, it could use more.
      What others should know:You will never regret the purchase. This thing rocks!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By PMF from USA on 2010-10-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:VERY Accurate!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Spend a little time with a shooting rest to dial in the sights. Just bolting on the sights provided decent groups in the 8 ring. A few tweaks later and groups were smaller than a dime in the 10 ring. You can spend a lot more and get a more adjustable stock or better sights, but this one will shoot better than most people. Definitely a serious beginner to intermediate competition rifle. I was sweating getting an Edge or other 10 meter rifle and this was very satisfying for less money.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2010-05-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun has alot of versatility. It's great for multiple shooters.
      Things I would have changed:It doesn't come with any accesories to charge the gun. Very disappointing!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Delwin from USA on 2010-01-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Extremely accurate. Reasonably priced. Adjustable ergonomics to fit a variety of youths to adults. Good balance. The best trigger in the competition sporter air rifle category.
      Things I would have changed:A better standard rear sight. A better selection of front sight aperture inserts.
      What others should know:The new Challenger 2009 is miles better than Crosman's first effort with the Challenger 2000. It keeps the earlier rifle's adjustable ergonomics but adds a first rate trigger (for the category) and the highly accurate, German made Lothar-Walther barrel. While the trigger cannot be compared to a German Olympic level rifle, you would have to pay at least three times the price of this air rifle to get a better trigger. From a sand bag rest at ten meters, I've shot five pellet groups that look like only one pellet was fired at the target. This rifle likes premium German made ammo. I've gotten the best results with RWS Meisterkugeln and R-10s in the heavy, 8.2 grain weight. With compressed air, I can get 100-110 consistent shots. On CO2, I've gotten a bit more, 130-140 shots with a fill of 1.5 ounces. This rifle action can be taken apart from the stock with just one screw. The rifle will then fit in a short takedown shotgun case for easy storage and transport. This rifle will be competitive in Sporter competitions.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2009-09-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great price for an entry-level 3-position rifle. Fired tight group straight from the box, easy trigger pull, stock is easy to adjust to the shooter.
      Things I would have changed:Sights come from the factory uninstalled. I decided to locktite front and rear sights in place to maintain accuracy.
      What others should know:CO2 fill is only 1000psi, limits shooting between refills to about 35-40 shots.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top