Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Crosman Doomsday Bug Out Air Rifle Kit reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By afastman from USA on 2013-12-26 00:17:01

    Things I liked:I bought 2 of these for my boys for Christmas. Of course the surprise was worth the effort, but the product lived up to its reviews and reputation. Although the backpack water bottle and firs aid kit are "take it or leave it," the gun and the stock are well worth the investment. The fact that it comes with a starter pack of pellets pushes the total value over the top. By noon we had set up a small target range and the boys were shooting with HUGE smiles on their faces. It was a great afternoon of learning safety, technique and by the end of the session, hitting targets with fairly consistent results from 20 yards out. Right out of the box, the accuracy is impressive. The ease of use made it fun for my brother and I as well as the 7 and 9 year olds. The small-ish stock is a good stater platform for the smaller ones as well.
    Things I would have changed:So far, not much. I do see the usefulness of several of the modifications that are popular on this gun and would hope that Crosman would incorporate several of them in subsequent offerings.
    What others should know:Airgunners beware, this is definitely a gateway into a deep (probably $$$) black hole. I already have plans to dial these in and make them better for the monkeys, but I highly recommend this kit.
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3

    Value for money:3

    Accuracy:3

    By Forest from USA on 2012-10-07 20:06:56

    Things I liked:Only way of getting the 2289 nowadays. Fun concept. However, this really isn't a hunting rifle like they claim. Definitely not enough FPE for anything besides a squirrel, and you better be making head shots then.
    Things I would have changed:For the price there really should be more included. Maybe the 3/8" intermounts to scope up the 2289 since the accuracy isn't fantastic.
    What others should know:The stock feels a bit chintzy, but it's serviceable.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Philip from USA on 2014-04-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Extremely accurate, easy to pump, not too loud. I wanted a .22 pumper that I could shoot indoors. I thought about the benji 392 but the finish and stock sights/scope setup left a lot to be desired and it seemed to take MUCH more effort to pump, granted its more powerful on fewer pumps but it seemed like pumping would get tiresome with the long stroke on the benji, not so on this carbine. It feels good and handles very well, likes pretty much any pellet you put in it. I have been shooting some horribly inconsistent gamo masterpoints and it really doesn't affect the accuracy, the gun just eats them up. Definitely feels powerful enough to put down a squirrel/rabbit/bird @ 50 ft. Much more fun to plink cans with the .22 cal vs. .177. I would only get the .177 version if I was shooting exclusively at paper targets.
      Things I would have changed:Steel Breech should be standard. Out of the box my rear sight was so far off, even fully adjusted that the gun shot 6'' off target. I think it was because the plastic breech was crooked or mounted slightly off. I had to unscrew the entire rear sight and move it over so that it was hanging off the left side of the gun but once it was sighted in with the peep sight it was extremely accurate. I added the steel breech and a cheap scope after a few weeks with the stock sights and its even more accurate now. There is a little wobble in the pump arm but the design is solid and proven. I had to add some electrical tape inside the stock grooves to keep it from wobbling while pumping and now its totally tight without having to put a screw through the stock. At $75 I would much rather have a steel breech than the backpack and other accessories. Adding the almost mandatory steel breech increases the cost by $35 and makes this just an ok value instead of a great one.
      What others should know:This is a classic and just plain fun to shoot. I always want to take "just one more" shot. I shot through the included tin of 175 pellets in less than 48 hours.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2014-03-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice pellet gun.
      Things I would have changed:The back sight is not easily adjusted.
      What others should know:nothing
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By chris from USA on 2014-03-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:breaks down into two pieces,fits into bag nicely.Range is accurate to 50 feet,
      Things I would have changed:add a scope feature
      What others should know:not for kids,asit has power
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By DavidS from USA on 2014-02-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a great little kit. The Gun a Crosman 2289g Backpacker is an excellent little .22 cal pumper, and I would recommend it to any one. It is extremely accurate, easy to maintain, and likes inexpensive pellets. And of course it is a Crosman. For its price it is probably the best gun you can get.
      Things I would have changed:Perhaps make the Steel Breach standard.
      What others should know:I would recommend adding the Steel Breech and a cheep Scope or Dot Sight, both available from Pyramyd Air. Also spend the 10 dollars on the 10 for 10 test, I have seen one gun that had a couple of issues. Though most come with out issue.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By 4TFORCE7 from USA on 2013-12-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:All around Great gun. Very accurate w/variable power. These things last forever. I've already modified w/steel breech and 18" barrel. Even more accurate and more power. I can't put it down, too much fun!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:When you do a mod,the gun feels more personal. It's worth the effort.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By afastman from USA on 2013-12-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:I bought 2 of these for my boys for Christmas. Of course the surprise was worth the effort, but the product lived up to its reviews and reputation. Although the backpack water bottle and firs aid kit are "take it or leave it," the gun and the stock are well worth the investment. The fact that it comes with a starter pack of pellets pushes the total value over the top. By noon we had set up a small target range and the boys were shooting with HUGE smiles on their faces. It was a great afternoon of learning safety, technique and by the end of the session, hitting targets with fairly consistent results from 20 yards out. Right out of the box, the accuracy is impressive. The ease of use made it fun for my brother and I as well as the 7 and 9 year olds. The small-ish stock is a good stater platform for the smaller ones as well.
      Things I would have changed:So far, not much. I do see the usefulness of several of the modifications that are popular on this gun and would hope that Crosman would incorporate several of them in subsequent offerings.
      What others should know:Airgunners beware, this is definitely a gateway into a deep (probably $$$) black hole. I already have plans to dial these in and make them better for the monkeys, but I highly recommend this kit.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Harry from USA on 2013-12-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The concept is nice, but the quality of the other components could be better (first aid kit, water bottle and pack). But I didn't buy it for that. The accuracy was surprising, so much so that I'm second guessing installing the steel breach I bought at the same time with the intention of putting either a red dot or scope on it. Compared to the only other MSP I have, this is a piece of cake.
      Things I would have changed:Make the 2289 available without all the extras. The targets are one of the better extras, but the tin of pellets were a chore to get open.
      What others should know:Great starting point, or could be the end. So happy with the accuracy I may have to get a 1322 just to use that steel breech on.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Bill from Canada on 2013-12-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      41 rating
       
      Things I liked:I bought this pellet gun because of the compactness, versatility, and customization. It is pretty accurate, pretty powerful out of the box (but can be made more powerful) and I like the rifle to handgun option. The included backpack is child sized and the water bottle is so small it's pretty useless. Decent little first aid kit, free pellets, The targets are very nice! The stock is great and adds very little weight to the gun. Rifled barrel makes the accuracy quite good even with just the stock iron sights. All in all it is a good little package for $75 and I would not hesitate to buy this item again or recommend it. Crosman quality could be better, but they are o.k. Better than a Daisy for the same money.
      Things I would have changed:Less plastic parts.
      What others should know:You can tighten up the barrel band to almost remove barrel twist. All screws should be tightened down on the rear sight, inside breach and barrel band. They are kinda loose from the factory.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By James from USA on 2013-12-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice carbine, accurate, cool factor. Bought a couple for my sons, we had a blast in the basement range when it was too cold to go outside.
      Things I would have changed:Bandaids? Water bottle? Really? How bout more ammo instead?
      What others should know:Great platform for modding.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2013-12-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is FUN, the .22 pellet wallops the target, very accurate right out of the box I bought the backpacker set up because I wanted the nice pump handle and the rifle stock, this alone makes this package a great deal + the pellets, the first aid kit, targets, back pack & water bottle make it that much better. Even if you don't use the extras you can't go wrong with this set up. This gun far exceeded my expectations, it pumps easy, very light easy to carry and hold on target, has a great feel and a decent trigger... best of all it is accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Sights are a little hard to see with my bad eyes so I'm going to put a cheap Tasco 3x9x20 scope on it to help me reach out to 30 yards.
      What others should know:This gun is highly customizable and upgrade parts are availble everywhere. check out the upgrades people have done on youtube. Also the crosman 1377 1322 & 2289 many parts are interchangeable.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Garth from Canada on 2013-12-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well made accurate gun that's fun to shoot. What could be better fun shooting plus a workout with this pumper.
      Things I would have changed:Plastic breech and sight aren't the best but work well enough. It would be nice if there was a scope mount on it.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Mike@NoDakSpud from USA on 2013-10-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Love just about everything about this airgun. The size, weight, and accuracy are perfect for a "take anywhere" plinker.
      Things I would have changed:The stock sights are the only weak point. The front can rotate on you and change the windage. Most people will add a steel breach and scope it, so that's not much of a factor. I'm going to make some quality iron sights for mine on my mill. It just seems more appropriate to have irons on such a small, light gun.
      What others should know:Out to 25 yards my gun will keep all it shots inside a nickle. What more do you want from a $75 airgun?
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Michael from USA on 2013-10-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Affordable price, .22 cal, easy to pump
      Things I would have changed:Go back to the 14.5" barrel
      What others should know:Out of the box it doesn't have very much power, however, after a few mods, the gun shoots at approx 750 fps
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Phillip from USA on 2013-10-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The quality, the feel, the look.
      Things I would have changed:It would be nice if it came with some pistol grips. Other than than that I would not change a thing.
      What others should know:I put a red dot scope on mime and I Really like it.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2013-09-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Short, easily deployed and very accurate! Very pleased with accuracy and speed, my chrono shows a average of 480 FPS with 10 pumps and a 14.3 grain pellet. Quite impressive with such a small package!
      Things I would have changed:Trigger is heavy but very easily fixed. Back pack is so small it is pretty much worthless, meant for a very small child.
      What others should know:Targets and pellets provided are a nice bonus to a already very well priced package. Bought two more after the first because of all the mods you can do to this pellet gun.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Harold from USA on 2013-08-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the overall size & weight, and the Accuracy. I added the Steel Breech & a scope and can shoot one hole groups with Meisterkugeln .22 wadcutter pellets at 15 yards. Technique is very important -- the light weight + heavy trigger pull will throw the shot if you rush the trigger pull.
      Things I would have changed:The Pump Arm is a bit short - it requires a lot of strength from a woman to pump it up, and she can get pinched. Crosman should drop all the "BugOut" kit stuff and instead put the Steel Breech on the carbine from the start. I would go back to the 14" barrel length and make the pump arm longer, & use the steel breech. Also, Crosman should go ahead and put the pistol grip screws in the carbine stock - the stock loosens up quickly, and the grip screws are needed. If I really need to remove the stock, having to use a screwdriver is better than having a loose stock -- I don't plan to be removing the stock -- the gun is extremely short as is.
      What others should know:The Steel Breech is NICE. The bolt feels much better, & there is a lock screw that locks the breech to the barrel (in addition to the tight fit). The stock can be tightened up by installing the correct length of 6-32 screws -- just drill holes where Crosman has molded circles in the stock, and the part underneath is already threaded. If you find the right pellet and use good shooting technique, this little carbine can be extremely accurate. We got to eat more figs and blueberries this summer thanks to the extreme accuracy of this inexpensive little carbine.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By JON from USA on 2013-07-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like ANY permutation of the 13xx line, and this is no exception, sturdy,easy to mod, powerful,accurate great new forearm, takes down and assembles well..I have had none of the "shaky stock" syndrome that some reviewers have mentioned.
      Things I would have changed:Ummm, nothing really, it is at a fair price, and the backpack and other geegaws are cheap, but they work and can easily be upgraded --- especially the first aid kit and backpack. You probably have an old bookbag or laptop case laying around - use that to store the rifle and stock, either will give better protection to the sights and thinner parts of the stock casting, Add a couple of pellet pouches with your favorite pellets in 'em, add some military surplus hardware to the first aid, a couple of cliff bars and transfer whatever gear that is likely to get dragged through the mud to the Crosman pack and you're off to the races.
      What others should know:In our headlong dash to buy expensive PCP gear, we often forget that virtually any springer or multi-pump gun can be modded for very reasonable money to exact humane kills on some pretty tough medium game, especially if we quit overlooking .20, .25 and .30 --- yes .30, PCP only at the moment, but, who knows. I myself will gladly leap into PCP when: the power goes up, the price goes down and somebody comes up with a 20 or 28 Gauge PCP shotgun, even a muzzleloading light steel shot trap gun.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Lee from USA on 2013-06-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This was my first .22 cal,I can stop shooting this gun. The kit is nice, I have used the bag to travel. The gun is quite, how the pump has a bit of a bang to it. I have put over 1000s rounds though it. The crosman pellets that come with are a good match. I can hit a pop can at 130 feet, if miss the pellet still has enough power to stick in to my wood target board.
      Things I would have changed:I think that the pistol grips should come with or at least the bolts for the grips.A 500 round tin, instead of 175.
      What others should know:The sights are not the best but still good enough, the stock does get a little lose, neither of these complaints are bad enough to keep me from buy another soon. I feel for the price I got a good deal.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Christopher from USA on 2013-06-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love this rig. Accurate, stout enough for most small game and handy sized.
      Things I would have changed:I would have the Crosman steel breech and Williams peep sight mounted on it.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2013-04-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fun black out powerful backyard critter eliminator. The kit contains a few extras like the backpack, a tin of pellets and first aid kit. This class of Crosman air gun has a who underworld of accessories. Simple easy fun air tool for the money.
      Things I would have changed:It does take ten pumps to get critter knock down power for critters. Always flip the rear sights for aperture. Much better for target acquisition.
      What others should know:It does take time to pump up for second shots on critters. It is important to make the first shot count.
    • 12 Next »
    Over
    ammo packs sold