Crosman M4-177 Multi-Pump Air Rifle, Adj. Stock reviews - page 1



Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2011-11-04 10:28:11

Things I liked:When I first saw this I thought "this is the coolest thing I have seen in a long time". I just got mine and gave it a thougough going over. Finish is nice. Barrel is plastic with metal inner barrel. In cact most of it is plastic. It's a bit lighter than a real m4. Looks enough like an ar platform that it could very easily be mistaken for one. Loved the ajustable butstock. Sights do requirw tools but are ajustable.nice that magazine holds 4 pellet holder and front sight tool. And plenty of places for lasers, sights, flashlights, and can also hold a pistol bayonette. Easy to pump up too.
Things I would have changed:I would prefer the barrel be all metal and the sights are just a touch cheesy but can be replaced by anumber of optics or aftermarket sights. Other than that, well done crosman!
What others should know:If you are in the market for a pump gun, this should be the one. Far superior to the nightstalker in quality. I have a feeling this one will be a very deireable gun for a long time and perhaps a collectable like the crosman air 17 from the 1980's.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Arpad from USA on 2014-12-22 19:17:11

Things I liked:The ergonomics of the gun are fantastic. Size, weight, Picatinny rail for sights and the sights themselves are neat. (Yes, lots of plastic but that's OK). Accuracy with pellets is good.
Things I would have changed:Accuracy with bbs is not good. Also, the bb gravity feed system is sometimes troublesome, it needs to have the muzzle pointed down to load but even so, I have had a few failures to feed a bb into the chamber. The location and configuration of the bb feed opening is troublesome, and can result in spilled bbs. Perhaps a small indentation here would help. BB accuracy definitely needs to be improved, see below.
What others should know:The reviews on this gun are generally very good, many praise its accuracy. I think these folks are using pellets. If you are looking for a gun that performs well with both bbs and pellets, this is not the one. We use our guns for back yard target practice and plinking so we often use bbs when shooting soda cans and informal targets. Our Red Rider and the Umarex NXG give far tighter bb groups (and yes, we used the copper coated crosman bbs with the M4-177 as recommended by Crosman, the results were still terrible). Supported, at 30 ft the RR and NXG can yield bb impact circles about 2-2.5 inch in diameter, with the NXG generally tighter. The M4-177 under identical conditions yielded impact circles of about 6-8 inches, (shot groups of 5 to 10). With pellets the M4-177 did as well as the NXG. For all around performance with bbs and pellets, my vote is for the NXG. Because of its ergonomics, with better bb accuracy the M4 would be a serious competitor.
Sort by:
  • 123 ... 67 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Derek from USA on 2015-05-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Repeating action. Peep and post sights. Accuracy. Lightweight. It looks pretty sharp. The sight adjuster and clip fit in the fake magazine.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger is awful. Make it auto-indexing. It needs more power. I wish they had built this on the 2100 power plant instead of the 760. The clacking during pumping is pretty obnoxious.
    What others should know:This little rifle is an excellent first airgun for a smaller, newer shooter. The adjustable stock ensures that it will fit the smallest shooters and be adjusted to fit as they grow. The peep sights are a bit crude, but they provide an excellent sight picture. It will let you use bb's or pellets, and can easily be scoped. It is very light, and mine has been very accurate for the price. I get groups of 1-3/4" at 25 yards for 10 shots.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2015-04-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I purchased the refurbished gun for $40 expecting something used with dings, nicks, etc. To my surprise it looked brand new in every way except for the 30 day warranty. In no way does the gun appear cheap or too plastic except for its overly glossy appearance which can easily be toned down with a matte overcoat. The detail molding is first class, the rails work, the heft is solid at 4 lbs, and the iron sights work fine despite what some reviewers have stated. In fact it is so realistic you have to think twice about taking this outside where the neighbors can see it and mistake it for the real thing. Pumping is firm but not excessive, the trigger is smooth if not overly long--at least it is not crunchy like Crosman's 13xx pistols out of the box. Accuracy is dime size groups. Even at full retail price its an amazing value, get one and I think you will agree. At $40 they're almost giving it away!
    Things I would have changed:It is nose heavy. Crosman added weights inside the pistol grip but that is not enough to balance it. It needs weight in the shoulder stock. The 5 shot clips are rough when new and indexing is therefore clumsy, but they do get better as they wear in, they could be crisper in the detents.
    What others should know:Great to fondle and even better to shoot. There is no reason to wait, just get one now.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Virgil from USA on 2015-04-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the option of using either BB's or pellets, along with the multi stroke pump option, it is a good shooting replica, giving group shots of less than a dime in diameter
    Things I would have changed:I would also show the carry handle rear sight option which crossman offers.
    What others should know:Would make a good training piece for a SUPERVISED kid. I have found it a good air gun to maintain rifle marksmanship shooting indoors since I can no longer make it to an out door range away from home....I wish every young person had an opportunity to learn to shoot with a gun like this.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Virgil from USA on 2015-04-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is a replica gun that you can actually shoot in your back yard. It is amazingly accurate for me at 25 feet I can keep a group dime sized with 4 pumps. Simple to operate and you can get a lot of practice for pennies. Great Marksmanship trainer for 10 and up...
    Things I would have changed:I have ordered a carry handle with rear sight to see how it works and it would be a good idea to have the accessory offered for this gun.
    What others should know:Be safe shoot straight
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Arpad from USA on 2014-12-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The ergonomics of the gun are fantastic. Size, weight, Picatinny rail for sights and the sights themselves are neat. (Yes, lots of plastic but that's OK). Accuracy with pellets is good.
    Things I would have changed:Accuracy with bbs is not good. Also, the bb gravity feed system is sometimes troublesome, it needs to have the muzzle pointed down to load but even so, I have had a few failures to feed a bb into the chamber. The location and configuration of the bb feed opening is troublesome, and can result in spilled bbs. Perhaps a small indentation here would help. BB accuracy definitely needs to be improved, see below.
    What others should know:The reviews on this gun are generally very good, many praise its accuracy. I think these folks are using pellets. If you are looking for a gun that performs well with both bbs and pellets, this is not the one. We use our guns for back yard target practice and plinking so we often use bbs when shooting soda cans and informal targets. Our Red Rider and the Umarex NXG give far tighter bb groups (and yes, we used the copper coated crosman bbs with the M4-177 as recommended by Crosman, the results were still terrible). Supported, at 30 ft the RR and NXG can yield bb impact circles about 2-2.5 inch in diameter, with the NXG generally tighter. The M4-177 under identical conditions yielded impact circles of about 6-8 inches, (shot groups of 5 to 10). With pellets the M4-177 did as well as the NXG. For all around performance with bbs and pellets, my vote is for the NXG. Because of its ergonomics, with better bb accuracy the M4 would be a serious competitor.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By MrHunter from USA on 2014-10-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:accuracy is good
    Things I would have changed:trigger
    What others should know:you can't put anything on the under rail on the barrel because it would get in the way of the pump.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Monte from USA on 2014-10-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This rifle is very accurate and fun to shoot. Dialed it in at 15 yds and my 5 shot grouping was the size of a nickle. This is a fun gun to shoot. The sight was very easy adjust.
    Things I would have changed:CO2 version would be good for those that find the pump action difficult.
    What others should know:Definitely get the additional pellet clips with the purchase. Makes it easier to just change clips and continue having fun.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Arman from USA on 2014-09-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I just can say that this one is a keeper. I had mine for quite some time now but the accuracy and performance is still the same. Actually it got better because the pump is lot easier now because it is more loose. I just bought a new one to give to my nephew but the pump is just to hard for a 12 year old to work on right now. He just ask for my old one instead. The iron sights are just right on coming straight out the box. 1/2 groupings and nothing but bullseye from 30 ft. It gets addictive if you are getting it nailed like that everytime.
    Things I would have changed:I wish they come out with a revised version that requires less pumps and a more powerful version that has to be in the 700-800 range. MK-177 does say it on paper but I think it is just almost in the 650 range ( I also didnt like how they move the pellet loader position to the other side in the MK-177 ) If Crosman keep it on the same side, like in what they have it in the M4-177, I might buy one. I wouldnt mind paying $100 or more. I also wish that they could add up more metal in the build to make it more realistic and handle like a real M4,
    What others should know:It is a 10 pump- 1 shot rifle, so expect a lot of pumping. ( It is a lot cheaper to operate, saving you from buying c02 canisters) Ten pumps everytime for me, give me the same shot and fps quality everytime, I think that is why it remains consist in accuracy too. For me It is a good exercise for the arms, just alternately use right and left hand.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By P.Finnegan from USA on 2014-09-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I find this rifle to be very accurate and fun to shoot. It is very useful for pest control and small game hunting.
    Things I would have changed:I would certainly have made a C02 variation of this rifle as pumping it up after every shot can get very time consuming.
    What others should know:This rifle is awesome in combination with the Crosman Penetrator pellets. Very accurate and deadly even for pests and small game.This would make for a great rabbit or squirrel gun for beginning shooters.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Frank Wendling from United States on 2014-09-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Light weight have had this since the start of summer shoot it everyday accurate with the right pellet I've tried a few my favorite is the wad cutter second hollow point easy to pump shoot and maintain LOVE IT??
    Things I would have changed:Nothing that I can think of.i I have read here of other air gunners wanting it to be co2 , I think that would really work and sell
    What others should know:Plan on having fun playing with your new M4 ????
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By worknoextra from USA on 2014-06-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I loved the solid build quality and the realism. Haven't really had a chance to evaluate its overall performance because it was a gift. Haven't heard any complaints thus far.
    What others should know:Please don't go out in public without knowing your local laws. This can easily pass for the real McCoy to the untrained eye from a distance.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By mark from USA on 2014-01-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very nice heft, structurally pretty sound. Good feel, nice trigger, good sights. Pump lever cleverly incorporated, works well, easy to use.
    Things I would have changed:Loose the rail on the bottom of the pump handle. Not useable anyways.
    What others should know:With a simple 3x scope, this is a very accurate rifle with the right pellet. Can shoot inside a dime at 10M. Occasional flyer, but that may be due to pellets, and not mechanism.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jerod from USA on 2014-01-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The weight of the gun and the ease of pumping for your shots. The pellet magazine is a classic and works flawlessly (and are inexpensive). I also like the internal BB reservoir for shooting. The gun actually cycles the BBs really well. I am a fan of the iron sights on the gun as well--I could add a scope or red dot...but the gun just plain shoots well and is backyard friendly to boot. It's a nice spin on the pumpmaster type powerplant.
    Things I would have changed:Not a thing--it is just a really fun gun to shoot and should last years!!
    What others should know:Buy extra magazines and have a blast plinking in the backyard or at the range
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Rick from USA on 2014-01-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked: I got the remanufactured model for $50.00, and am very impressed with the accuracy for this price point. Shooting with a 6x42 scope mounted, from a bench rest. I can get 5 shot groups using RWS hobby pellets at 20yds. under 1", about 75% of the time. I've also put 25 shots in under a 1" hole at 50', using the same pellets. With RWS diabolo basics I can get close to the same results with the spreads opening up another 1/4" or so. Not a bad trade off considering RWS basics are a couple $$$ cheaper per tin than RWS hobby. It all depends on how accurate you want be. There are plenty other ammo options for me to try yet, but these two pellets were the most accurate so far. I know this gun is capable of even better accuracy to even further distances. (SO MUCH AMMO SO LITTLE TIME!) Three pumps shooting in the basement up to ten out on the range. What's not love about a multi pump! All in all a really cool, fun gun to own, and shoot. Get a lot comments on this one, at the range.
    Things I would have changed: I would like to see a little more metal parts on this one. Being that I paid $50.00 for a refurb, I'm not upset at all, but if I bought a new one for $75 I'd be a little upset. The trigger pull is long and creepy, but again your not gonna get a match trigger on a gun this cheap! You get used to it, I've had worse triggers on higher priced guns.
    What others should know: I had the older model crosman M16 when I was a kid, and it was definitely built a lot better, (more metal) but hey "the times are a changing." This M4 model is however just as accurate with pellets as the older model. BB's in this one though don't even bother, if you want to be accurate anyway. Also this is a really good looking replica of "the real deal". So all you shooters out there PLEASE, PLEASE use good commen sense when transporting, and shooting this rifle. I would recommend a good carry case for this gun. We don't need to freak out the gun grabbers more than they already are! Happy and safe shooting. DON'T TREAD ON ME!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By shane from USA on 2013-12-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:well i got this today fisst off the package was a little big but thats ok i unboxed the rifle and said this is awesome i was so excited to shoot it i loaded the pellet mag and went out back looking both ways before i went outside it looks verry verry real then i loaded a pellet and shot without adjusting the sights and the thing went through a picket in my fence all in all its a verry good gun and plan on using it alot
    Things I would have changed:nothing its great
    What others should know:its really powerfull not recomended for children
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Isaac from USA on 2013-12-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:For my first multi pump air rifle I wasn't disappointed one bit. The material, the feel, and the rate of fire was fantastic. I also like the ability of being able to shoot both BB's and Pellets from the gun.
    Things I would have changed:The mini clips that are used to feed the pellets into the gun. There are 5 holes in clip to fit pellets in and for some strange reason only 3 of them work. A tad bit disappointing but you'd better off firing with BB's.
    What others should know:Whatever you do don't bother getting any optics for this gun. No matter what optic I used my bb still went either too far to the left or too far to the right. Also don't bother with any fore grips as they'll just affect the pumping mechanism.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By JOSE from USA on 2013-10-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It is real light
    Things I would have changed:It would be great if it could use Co2, something like the daisy M14 rifle it uses 2ea 12 gram premium CO2 and its semi-auto
    What others should know:Its a very good rifle for the price
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By DonC1140 from USA on 2013-10-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like it! Mounted the front stock iron sites on the barrel and mounted my Leopers red/green reticle sight and it lined up perfect with the front sight. First shot was just 3/4" from bulls eye. A few small adjustments and it's right on!! Gun looks good and is comfortable to shoot.
    Things I would have changed:I Wish they had moved the bottom picitiney rail on the barrel forward a bit. I got a flashlight mounted to it, but if the rail was farther forward it would be easier to mount the light so it would not hit the pump handle when pumping it up. They should remove the picitiney rail on the bottom of the pump handle, which, cannot be used, and replace it with 2 rails one on each side of the pump handle. It should come with three mags instead of just one.
    What others should know:All in all it is a very nice gun, looks good, and shoots good. I would recommend it, but purchase several more magazines just for the fun of it!! Don ;o)
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Kendo from USA on 2013-10-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:multi-pump rifles are for fun not serious hunting or getting tight target groups. I just enjoy firing this weapon reminds me of my M16 days decades ago!
    Things I would have changed:no
    What others should know:no
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By klein444 from USA on 2013-08-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The details in the molding are nice. It is what it is meaning it is a pellet/BB rifle. So no I do not plan on trying to fool someone into thinking it is a real firearm, however, be alert in your yard as you do not know what the neighbors might think it is. It shoots very accurate , on mine, with the Wallyworld Crossman .177 hollow point pellets. Have not shot BBs - but bought the Crossman Copperheads to shoot out of it when I am ready. I like shooting for plinking at 5-6 pumps. Will order a scope soon and sight it in at about 20 yards on ten pumps. Fun to shoot with the supplied open sights. Will porbable get another one to have one as an open sight and one as a scoped rifle. I do not like the looks of the MK-177 myself. To each his/her own.
    Things I would have changed:The indexing of the magazine. It needs to be more of a positive "click" when moving from one slot to the next. I have accidentaloly skipped a slot on more than one instance. No problem - just put back into the rifle and indexed it over and loaded it up.
    What others should know:This is a fun rifle when you want to take a break from your $1k springer/scope combo and when you want to shoot somewhere other than off a bench. It also looks nice which is a plus of you like that. You do not need a scope to appreciate the rifles potential - and consider this with the price point of the rifle so low you will probably spend more on a scope. So maybe look for an extra scope you have laying around that needs a new home. Or look right here at pyramid Air and get a new scope with your next purchase of pellets. I would reccomend the extra clips. You can remove the material in the "clip" and store all your accesories in there. I do like being able to drop the "clip" or storage. Also the adjustable stock is easy to remove by holding back on an adjustment knob and puylling the stock "up" off the rifle. Just be careful the first time you remove it as it comes off fast once you hit that sweet spot and you can hit yourself with your hand or the stock. Just guess how I know that : )
  • 123 ... 67 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top