Crosman Optimus Breakbarrel Air Rifle Combo reviews - page 2



Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Average Customer Review

4.5 (35 reviews)
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By karlo from USA on 2011-06-03 18:03:59

Things I liked:shoots very nice and on target
Things I would have changed:nothing maby more power
What others should know:very very nice for the money
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Bill from USA on 2015-05-04 12:37:17

Things I liked:Liked this gun right out of the box. Right from the first shot. Gun is light and cocks easy considering it's velocity. I bought it as a second gun to leave out back with the garden tools to take a few shots whenever I go out there. Not a tack driver but it's accuracy is good enough to keep me interested in shooting it.
Things I would have changed:Didn't like the scope. It's functional and will improve your accuracy but the sight picture is blurry around the edges. Replaced it with a Leapers 4X32 A.O. scope. It's the scope that knocked down my value rating. Would have liked to see the .22 version offered along side the .177 version without the scope.
What others should know:Had to adjust the open sight to it's max setting left to center my shots. I ran out of adjustment range to raise the shot to my liking. Not an issue for me because I had planned all along to mount a scope.
Sort by:
  • « Previous 12
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Peter Evans from USA on 2012-02-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Breakbarrel, 1200 fps with lead free pellets. This pellet rifle is the exact same as the Remington Vantage. But cheaper! I got mine on a black friday deal for 80 bucks, My first breakbarrel and definitely glad I bought it.
    Things I would have changed:The scope while nice. Does not zoom. it's preset isn't bad if you're wanting to target something closer, but I prefer to use the sights with it instead.
    What others should know:Mine was loud when I first got it, my first shot sounded like a rifle crack and it spouted a white cloud out of the end. It's break-in period this little bugger is LOUD. however once it settles down it's not bad, on average it's about par with my C11 in range of noise.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Mike from USA on 2011-12-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked: "Everything.. I am addicted to air rifles, very picky what i like and buy. 109.00 with mount and scope what a deal!! I love the rifle its very accurate , mine is a .22, front and rear sights always a plus! very good power, the trigger was actually pretty good considering i always replace mine from charlie dad tuna. I am going to keep this trigger !! the rifle is built very well, under 7 lb yet feels very solid the scope is very good too I already sanded my stock down and refinished mine now i like it even better. I took it all apart to tune, I always do! was surprised to see it was lube properly highly recommend the rifle! f y i my other rifles are rws 350 .22 magnum, rws Dianna 34 - .22, stoegerX20 - .22, now this little beauty Crossman optimist
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.. I am so glad i bought it, I am glad I had the 109.00 left to spend happy to score another cool air rifle yes!
    What others should know: Always clean out the barrels first on any new air rifle because the barrels are always full of junk .. then after shooting it around 50 times I will clean it again, then properly lube the barrel again and running the bore snake to remove any excess lube. Usually there so much junk in the barrel i cant use the bore snake at first , I wind up using the rod and patches , then the bore snake Read reviews, read about air rifles in general there's a lot to learn and there's a lot of great info and videos out there learn all about your scope too! Some people don't even realize they can adjust the rec tile to sharpen the cross hairs. learn, learn as much as you can, its a great hobby
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By BCseacow83 from USA on 2011-12-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The weight makes it feel great to hold. Well made with little minor imperfections only on the inside of the woodwork. Nice balance and comes with open sights that are a must for me. I for one will not purchase a gun without open sights. One drop and a scope can be shot. If you have no open sights your gun is now shot as well so sights are a must.
    Things I would have changed:There is no checkering which would be a nice touch. Gun is loud out of the box but that should calm down a bit after break in. I did not clean the barrel so dieseling was in full effect. Make it easier to cock as my wife has trouble with it but I am hoping that it breaks in and eases up.
    What others should know:Great rifle and a wonderful piece for the price. It is quite loud and not ideal for apartment shooting but that might not be avoidable with the power level. Penetrated about 450 pages of the phone book with a 10g dome pellet. Bought this for the misses and as soon as she held it she loved it but the magic was when she pulled the trigger for the first time. Boy did her eyes light up! Great rifle.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By wcwills from USA on 2011-10-31
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Never having had a gun like this, I was amazed at how accurate it is. I have a range set up in my backyard--coffee cans on sticks at 25, 50, 75 and 100yds. Using Crosman pointed pellets, hitting a can at 75 and below is a given. Hitting a can at 100yds is about a 75% proposition. Mostly, any gust of air can blow the light pellet off target. In still air, I'm confident it would be 4/4 instead of 3/4. It has no power at 100yds, of course, but it is the same skills required from a firearm and keeps you in practice. I even like the recoil for that reason. I shoot this at least 100x / day--I'm addicted to the nearly free cost of shooting an airgun. It's the only way to stay sharp if Uncle Sam isn't buying the ammo.
    Things I would have changed:The scope mounts are rubbish. The spring release knocks the mount set screw out of the hole and drags it down the receiver. It took me a while to figure out why the gun wouldn't stay sighted. I used Loc-tite on the screws and the problem is solved. Another issue is that the stock doesn't feel quite right--even after thousands of rounds, my hand doesn't seem natural on it. It works, but it's a little wrong. Lastly, I use a loop sling so I had to add sling swivels. This should come with at least the studs. Also, I like to take it with me on walks around the place and unless you hump it across your shoulders like an M60, it's uncomfortably heavy and needs a sling.
    What others should know:You can't go wrong for the price. It's perfectly serviceable, plain but attractive, and surprisingly accurate with consistency. One thing that you should note, though. When sighting the scope, do it at 25 yards, shoot five good shot and then use the 1/16th per click as the instructions tell you. This setting, with the pointed pellets, will be good for 50 yards, but do it again at 50 anyway. The errors magnify themselves as the distance grows. By 75, it's about 3/8" per click on left-to-right, but the pellet has lost so much velocity it's no longer valid. With the gun zero'd at 25, I use the second mil line down for 75 yards and the 4th (where the line gets thick) for 100 yds. It's an area weapon after that.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Christopher from USA on 2011-10-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Nice finish on the wood stock. Easy to charge. Very little kick. The scope was very clear, much better than I thought it would be.
    Things I would have changed:Trigger, Trigger, Trigger. Change scope mount to Weaver. The trigger is very rough and hard to pull. It is nothing like my RWS 34, but smoother than the stock Benjamin Trail NP trigger. Swap with a GRT-III and polish the trigger components.
    What others should know:Th fit and finish of the new Optimus is very good. I like this better than than Quest, but is basically the same rifle. On breakin, I used CPHP pellets and from 20yrds, shot through a 1/2" ply backer then through a 1/2 pine privacy fence. Has the typical twang from the spring. Not bad for the price. I still prefer the nitro pistons for the smoothness and lack of twang.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By lewisisbell from USA on 2011-10-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Nice workmanship. Very nice wooden stock. The scope is very nice. I like the function of the safety. The break barrel is not difficult if you get the stock located on your thigh just right. This gun is powerful. After several shots in the same area of a 1/2 sheet of ply wood, the pellet went through the wood and into the fence behind it.
    Things I would have changed:This rifle kicks quite a bit. I think the kick affects the accuracy quite a bit.
    What others should know:If you are looking for accuracy, I would probably look for a gun that has an anti-kick device.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Robert from USA on 2011-09-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:great rifle for the money for sure. feels heavy enough to work with, but not too heavy. have an older underlever that is solid wood and it feels just as good. haven't tried accuracy yet, but the scope is more than adequate for small game hunting. I like the option to either use a scope for hunting or the sights for plinking, target practice. very versatile gun for what I was in the market. Price was online with what I had to spend. I feel I got more performance and power for what I spent for sure.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Dave from USA on 2011-09-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The price is right for ridding my yard of rabbits.
    Things I would have changed:For the money..... nothing.
    What others should know:Very accurate, solid, slightly heavy, and it has all that I needed for and airgun. Thr price is right and the quality is very good.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Jordan from USA on 2011-08-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The price. The overall feel.
    Things I would have changed:The scope. The scope is deffinately nothing special by any means, But atleast it does come with it. the rings also fit very weird on my model. Make the front sight removable. It gets in the view of the scope.
    What others should know:Pretty heavy feel. but to me thats a good thing. Get a better scope. and be prepared to break this one in. Ive gone through about 400 pellets till this model would group decently with any pellets.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Peter from USA on 2011-07-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Cheap, more accurate than I am, feels well built considering price, powerful.
    Things I would have changed:A better scope would be nice, but that's just nit-picking since this scope is good for its price.
    What others should know:Can be hard to get objects in scope in focus depending on distance, this gun is not that hard to cock and fairly quiet, still the .22 managed to punch over an inch into a phone book. Once broken and sighted properly this gun is also very accurate, but the trigger isn't the greatest. Still I consider this a great buy and feels like it could last for a lifetime.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Adam from USA on 2011-07-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:For about $110 bucks its about as good as a walther hunter that it was directly compared to, same penetrating power, quiter, easier to use, and much less expensive. The scope is alriright, with the set screw it holds fine but there are better ones out there. Feels solid, and while its nota $400 gun, its fit and finish are very good. Its accurate for what I need it for, and I think youd have to be aPro to notice any diference between this and a $400 gun.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing really, Maybe a Nitro Piston and a better scope, but it wouldnt cost what it costs... Hopefully it lasts a while, and as I dont shoot as often as some, Im sure this thing will be around for a while.
    What others should know:Works great with Beeman Crow Magnums, and I HIGHLY recommend this rifle, for fun, or for hunting, for me its hard to justify anything more expensive because this thing is excellent all around.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Carmen from USA on 2011-06-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The feel of the gun is great,its heftyness makes it feel like it will last a very long time, the cocking effort is not at all bad i can cock it with one hand, and im only 14!! the price was awsome, 109$ for a gun this powerful and well made? almost unbeliveble! i would recommend this gun to any shooter both young and old who is intrested in accurate and powerful shooting. Really want to hunt small game with this gun beacuse i feel that the acuracy and power are exeptional.
    Things I would have changed:Only problem i had with this gun was the scope and the acuracy at the beggening, what i mean is that this gun has a break in period, which means that the first 100 or so shots will be inconsistant in acuracy, so calibrating the scope during this time is basically pointless. However affter this period of time the scope was still allitle hard to calibrate, but when i finally set the scope, the gun and scope where right on mark.
    What others should know:This gun the "optimus" is a very well balanced weapon, it is heavy due to the monte carlo wood frame, in my opinion this is good because it feels more like a real gun, another thing i liked is the small recoli or blowback the gun has affter every shot, it is just another factor that makes the gun alittle more realistic in comparison to an actual gun. I recommend this to men of all ages,defenetly better than the phantom and quest i previosly owned. Happy Hunting or Plinking!!!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By karlo from USA on 2011-06-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:shoots very nice and on target
    Things I would have changed:nothing maby more power
    What others should know:very very nice for the money
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Michael from USA on 2011-05-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I like the feel of the gun. It has enough heft to it seem like it would last forever. I am amazed at its accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:It takes two men and a boy just to cock it, maybe some way to reduce this.
    What others should know:Great for getting rid of small garden pest, such as rabbit and squirrel.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Kevin from USA on 2011-05-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Most accurate with crosman premier and crosman destroyer xe pellets.Also very powerful.
    Things I would have changed:Make the front sight removable,I can see it through my scope.
  • « Previous 12
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top