Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Crosman Optimus Breakbarrel Air Rifle Combo reviews - page 2



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5 (32 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    By karlo from USA on 2011-06-03 18:03:59

    Things I liked:shoots very nice and on target
    Things I would have changed:nothing maby more power
    What others should know:very very nice for the money
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By Jeremiah from USA on 2014-03-17 16:45:50

    Things I liked:I have one in .177 cal. This is a very nice rifle, especially for the money. The weight and feel is very nice and if you modify the trigger, online "youtube" videos for that, or upgrade it, the trigger pull is comfortable enough. Also, the accuracy is exceptionally well in mine. Crosman Premier Hollow Points have been working well for me. I have been able to get 1 in. groups with mine at 35 yds. This was done with the included scope. I am certain with a much better scope, I could get 1/2 in. groups at 35 yds. I shoot 35 yds because that is the range that most of the blackbirds I target are at, in my yard. Also, I had no barrel droop in mine, at least not enough to where I could tell, such as in a different gun I own. Groupings at 20 yds are 1/2 in.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger out of the box is pretty much completely unpredictable, crosman really needs to do something about that, "second stage" way too long. Also, the pull weight is a little to much, but not horrible. The scope is not the best, but for the price, you really cant complain, its enough to get you shooting at some decent ranges. A weaver rail would be nice!
    What others should know:I gave the overall rating four stars because the trigger was undesirable, out of the box. The scope isn't the best, but for the price, your getting what you pay for. So, for value, I gave it a 5, because the gun is worth it. My gun took about 300 pellets before I started to get my accuracy, so be patient. For this reason, after breaking it in and achieving this accuracy, I gave it a 5 for accuracy. Screw down the scope mount screws very well, but don't strip them!!! Also, if you shooting in 15 degree weather, with some wind, your naturally going to have some accuracy issues. I say this because of comments I have read else where!
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-10-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Never having had a gun like this, I was amazed at how accurate it is. I have a range set up in my backyard--coffee cans on sticks at 25, 50, 75 and 100yds. Using Crosman pointed pellets, hitting a can at 75 and below is a given. Hitting a can at 100yds is about a 75% proposition. Mostly, any gust of air can blow the light pellet off target. In still air, I'm confident it would be 4/4 instead of 3/4. It has no power at 100yds, of course, but it is the same skills required from a firearm and keeps you in practice. I even like the recoil for that reason. I shoot this at least 100x / day--I'm addicted to the nearly free cost of shooting an airgun. It's the only way to stay sharp if Uncle Sam isn't buying the ammo.
      Things I would have changed:The scope mounts are rubbish. The spring release knocks the mount set screw out of the hole and drags it down the receiver. It took me a while to figure out why the gun wouldn't stay sighted. I used Loc-tite on the screws and the problem is solved. Another issue is that the stock doesn't feel quite right--even after thousands of rounds, my hand doesn't seem natural on it. It works, but it's a little wrong. Lastly, I use a loop sling so I had to add sling swivels. This should come with at least the studs. Also, I like to take it with me on walks around the place and unless you hump it across your shoulders like an M60, it's uncomfortably heavy and needs a sling.
      What others should know:You can't go wrong for the price. It's perfectly serviceable, plain but attractive, and surprisingly accurate with consistency. One thing that you should note, though. When sighting the scope, do it at 25 yards, shoot five good shot and then use the 1/16th per click as the instructions tell you. This setting, with the pointed pellets, will be good for 50 yards, but do it again at 50 anyway. The errors magnify themselves as the distance grows. By 75, it's about 3/8" per click on left-to-right, but the pellet has lost so much velocity it's no longer valid. With the gun zero'd at 25, I use the second mil line down for 75 yards and the 4th (where the line gets thick) for 100 yds. It's an area weapon after that.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By Christopher from USA on 2011-10-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      32 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice finish on the wood stock. Easy to charge. Very little kick. The scope was very clear, much better than I thought it would be.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger, Trigger, Trigger. Change scope mount to Weaver. The trigger is very rough and hard to pull. It is nothing like my RWS 34, but smoother than the stock Benjamin Trail NP trigger. Swap with a GRT-III and polish the trigger components.
      What others should know:Th fit and finish of the new Optimus is very good. I like this better than than Quest, but is basically the same rifle. On breakin, I used CPHP pellets and from 20yrds, shot through a 1/2" ply backer then through a 1/2 pine privacy fence. Has the typical twang from the spring. Not bad for the price. I still prefer the nitro pistons for the smoothness and lack of twang.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-10-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nice workmanship. Very nice wooden stock. The scope is very nice. I like the function of the safety. The break barrel is not difficult if you get the stock located on your thigh just right. This gun is powerful. After several shots in the same area of a 1/2 sheet of ply wood, the pellet went through the wood and into the fence behind it.
      Things I would have changed:This rifle kicks quite a bit. I think the kick affects the accuracy quite a bit.
      What others should know:If you are looking for accuracy, I would probably look for a gun that has an anti-kick device.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By RH from USA on 2011-09-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:great rifle for the money for sure. feels heavy enough to work with, but not too heavy. have an older underlever that is solid wood and it feels just as good. haven't tried accuracy yet, but the scope is more than adequate for small game hunting. I like the option to either use a scope for hunting or the sights for plinking, target practice. very versatile gun for what I was in the market. Price was online with what I had to spend. I feel I got more performance and power for what I spent for sure.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Dave from USA on 2011-09-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:The price is right for ridding my yard of rabbits.
      Things I would have changed:For the money..... nothing.
      What others should know:Very accurate, solid, slightly heavy, and it has all that I needed for and airgun. Thr price is right and the quality is very good.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By Jordan from USA on 2011-08-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:The price. The overall feel.
      Things I would have changed:The scope. The scope is deffinately nothing special by any means, But atleast it does come with it. the rings also fit very weird on my model. Make the front sight removable. It gets in the view of the scope.
      What others should know:Pretty heavy feel. but to me thats a good thing. Get a better scope. and be prepared to break this one in. Ive gone through about 400 pellets till this model would group decently with any pellets.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Peter from USA on 2011-07-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Cheap, more accurate than I am, feels well built considering price, powerful.
      Things I would have changed:A better scope would be nice, but that's just nit-picking since this scope is good for its price.
      What others should know:Can be hard to get objects in scope in focus depending on distance, this gun is not that hard to cock and fairly quiet, still the .22 managed to punch over an inch into a phone book. Once broken and sighted properly this gun is also very accurate, but the trigger isn't the greatest. Still I consider this a great buy and feels like it could last for a lifetime.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By adam from USA on 2011-07-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:For about $110 bucks its about as good as a walther hunter that it was directly compared to, same penetrating power, quiter, easier to use, and much less expensive. The scope is alriright, with the set screw it holds fine but there are better ones out there. Feels solid, and while its nota $400 gun, its fit and finish are very good. Its accurate for what I need it for, and I think youd have to be aPro to notice any diference between this and a $400 gun.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing really, Maybe a Nitro Piston and a better scope, but it wouldnt cost what it costs... Hopefully it lasts a while, and as I dont shoot as often as some, Im sure this thing will be around for a while.
      What others should know:Works great with Beeman Crow Magnums, and I HIGHLY recommend this rifle, for fun, or for hunting, for me its hard to justify anything more expensive because this thing is excellent all around.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Eleuterio from USA on 2011-06-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The feel of the gun is great,its heftyness makes it feel like it will last a very long time, the cocking effort is not at all bad i can cock it with one hand, and im only 14!! the price was awsome, 109$ for a gun this powerful and well made? almost unbeliveble! i would recommend this gun to any shooter both young and old who is intrested in accurate and powerful shooting. Really want to hunt small game with this gun beacuse i feel that the acuracy and power are exeptional.
      Things I would have changed:Only problem i had with this gun was the scope and the acuracy at the beggening, what i mean is that this gun has a break in period, which means that the first 100 or so shots will be inconsistant in acuracy, so calibrating the scope during this time is basically pointless. However affter this period of time the scope was still allitle hard to calibrate, but when i finally set the scope, the gun and scope where right on mark.
      What others should know:This gun the "optimus" is a very well balanced weapon, it is heavy due to the monte carlo wood frame, in my opinion this is good because it feels more like a real gun, another thing i liked is the small recoli or blowback the gun has affter every shot, it is just another factor that makes the gun alittle more realistic in comparison to an actual gun. I recommend this to men of all ages,defenetly better than the phantom and quest i previosly owned. Happy Hunting or Plinking!!!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By karlo from USA on 2011-06-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:shoots very nice and on target
      Things I would have changed:nothing maby more power
      What others should know:very very nice for the money
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2011-05-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like the feel of the gun. It has enough heft to it seem like it would last forever. I am amazed at its accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:It takes two men and a boy just to cock it, maybe some way to reduce this.
      What others should know:Great for getting rid of small garden pest, such as rabbit and squirrel.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:2 2.0

        By Kevin from USA on 2011-05-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      42 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Most accurate with crosman premier and crosman destroyer xe pellets.Also very powerful.
      Things I would have changed:Make the front sight removable,I can see it through my scope.
    • « Previous 12
    Over
    ammo packs sold