Date: 30/6/2016 17:39
0

Crosman Silhouette PCP Air Pistol reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (28 reviews)
Add to Cart

Only 4 left in stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By 19 Turkeys from USA on 2010-04-29 14:49:54

Things I liked: This is an excellent pistol for the money! It will shoot along side the $2,000 PCP pistols. I placed it in a vice and shot 5 shot groups at 18 yards (I shoot IHMSA silhouettes & that is the ram distance). The best group was under .07". The second best was under .17". Getting sight settings, I fired a 39x40 at the first match I entered it in. After that, I hit 4x5 1/20th scale chickens at 18 yards. Using the pump, it took 72 strokes to fill from zero and 30 to fill after 70 good shots. I have since purchased a used scuba tank & DIN to Foster adaptor.

Things I would have changed: A better trigger, but a good trigger job can make it very acceptable.

What others should know: I added a set of RB grips and a LPA mim rear sight. The notch is a bit wide but much better than the narrow Williams notch. (We shoot indoors & the light is not perfect plus being older I need a Merit aperture on my shooting glasses that reduces the amount of light entering my eye.)

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By mje from USA on 2016-01-25 09:57:16

Things I liked: This is the least expensive, quality, PCP pistol available, and it's capable of great accuracy. It's great for silhouette or any sort of shooting where the gun is supported by two hands or placed on a test.

Things I would have changed: While the trigger is a huge improvement over most Crosman under-$200 pistols, it's nowhere near match quality. It's not even as good as a 2400 with an after-market sear lever. It lacks the crisp, positive, release you're looking for in a match pistol. The grips are too small and don't fill the hand. Serious use of this pistol requires custom grips for best accuracy.

What others should know: While not powerful enough for hunting or accurate enough for bullseye shooting, this is a gun with a lot of potential. A set of aftermarket grips or stock will help it achieve its full potential. I only with a better trigger was available, too.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mje from USA on 2016-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is the least expensive, quality, PCP pistol available, and it's capable of great accuracy. It's great for silhouette or any sort of shooting where the gun is supported by two hands or placed on a test.

    Things I would have changed: While the trigger is a huge improvement over most Crosman under-$200 pistols, it's nowhere near match quality. It's not even as good as a 2400 with an after-market sear lever. It lacks the crisp, positive, release you're looking for in a match pistol. The grips are too small and don't fill the hand. Serious use of this pistol requires custom grips for best accuracy.

    What others should know: While not powerful enough for hunting or accurate enough for bullseye shooting, this is a gun with a lot of potential. A set of aftermarket grips or stock will help it achieve its full potential. I only with a better trigger was available, too.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2016-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Many shots per fill. Easy operation. Cocking and loading a breeze! It is as accurate as you can shoot.

    Things I would have changed: Seems to be a little heavy. The grips move a little bit, no matter how tight the mounting screw is.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By james from USA on 2015-12-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: great accuracy, the two stage trigger is very smooth and adjust to individual liking, well built pistol

    Things I would have changed: the grips really are lacking everything that a grip on this good of a gun should have,

    What others should know: after getting the sights you like...invest in some target grips, good grips make this gun almost perfect!! I spent some time and made some from wood that fit my hand and it made this good gun great!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By glen from USA on 2015-12-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very accurate ( more accurate than you are ) easy to shoot, great trigger.

    Things I would have changed: NOTHING !!!

    What others should know: This is a very accurate air pistol. I put a stock on it with a 4 power scope and my 7 year old Grand Son can hit just about any target to 20 yards.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael J from USA on 2015-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: No recoil. Accurate. Over 50 shots from a single fill at longer ranges, more at shorter ranges, such as in your garage.

    Things I would have changed: The grips. This is a good pistol that deserves more than plastic grips.

    What others should know: PCP air guns can spoil you.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2015-02-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The overall workmanship is quite impressive. The pistol is a little heavy, but it balances very well. I have only shoot twenty rounds so far as the weather here, in Maine, has been cold and a lot of snow. The accuracy is outstanding. Quarter inch group at ten yards out of the box. Got to love it.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

    What others should know: This is a replacement unit. The first one I received did not hold an air charge for more then a couple of hours. The customer service at Pyramyd Air was super. I received a new pistol in one week. The 10 for 10 service is the way to go.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jason from USA on 2015-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very well balanced, accurate, shoots a wide variety of pellets well. So far have been limited to shooting indoors at 12 yards. The gun is a lot more accurate than I am. Would highly recommend this pistol. Pyramyd air did a great job in packing and shipping A++

    Things I would have changed: Grips could be tighter, seem to get a little loose after couple hundred rounds had to re tighten them . Not a big deal.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2014-11-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Wonderful trigger, no adjustments needed. Very accurate! Great shot count from each air fill, I have not counted but I'm getting at least 50 shots. Velosity does not drop off until below 1500 psi.

    Things I would have changed: I can't think of any thing that could be improved with the gun itself. I bought the bundle deal that included a inexpensive dot sight. I would suggest that PA offer a better sight in the bundle.

    What others should know: Expect to smile a lot!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dennis from USA on 2014-10-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Out of the box pure awesome! Mounted Weaver Red Dot and no problems at 20yd, 40yd, 60yd.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By P.Smith from USA on 2014-09-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Crosman Silhouette PCP Air Pistol is an incredible value for the money. It is extremely accurate, easy to use for indoor target practice, and as a PCP provides lots of shooting before having to refill the tank. Highly recommended!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I bought the Air Venturi Williams rear adjustable target sight. The combo with the Silhouette gives me almost the same sight picture as my Ruger 22/45 Competition. The big difference is that I can practice with the Crosman at home anytime I want!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Harold from USA on 2014-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate, light, and balanced so my wife and I both enjoy shooting it. The moveable front sight works good.

    Things I would have changed: Just tighten up the grips and should come with the Williams sight. I painted the front sight red like I do on all my pistols.

    What others should know: Grips are not that loose, you don't notice it while shooting.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ed from USA on 2014-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun balances quite well and shoots good groups at 10 meters.

    Things I would have changed: The grip should be thicker and the trigger should be much lighter for serious shooting. Plus, it should come with a rear sight.

    What others should know: It could use higher vilocity for silhouettes.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By steve from USA on 2013-02-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: accurate!!. about 100 shots per fill. easy with scuba tank.

    Things I would have changed: bigger grip.rubber grip would be a great option .smoother polished trigger

    What others should know: just get it!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2012-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Ambidextrous so my left handed kids can shoot with right handed dad. Accurate and fun.

    Things I would have changed: Needs better grips or at least grips that are a little tighter. Grips need to be tightened down after a little while of shooting. Nothing bad just kind of an little annoyance.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Earl from USA on 2012-04-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The fit and finish are excellent. The trigger pull is very smooth. With a scope mounted on it, it is dead accurate with 1/4" group at 10 meters

    Things I would have changed: For this price it really should come with a rear sight.

    What others should know: Easy to fill from Scuba tank. Starting at 2800 psi I get about 35 shots

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2012-02-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's a PCP for a very reasonable price. It's accurate and fun to compete with.

    Things I would have changed: Would like to be able to lighten the trigger pull even further.

    What others should know: Custom grips are available from RB grips

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kathleen from USA on 2011-11-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Excellent accuracy at 10 yards (I haven't gone further yet) with several different manufacturer's pellets. Easy to pump up to 2900 psi with a hand pump. Seems very well made. I like the feel of the grips too.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing for the price.

    What others should know: Really glad I bought this gun--no disappointments whatsoever.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2011-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The trigger is superb, the accuracy really great, it fits my hand and points naturally, and it's is esthetically very pleasing. It is also very quiet.

    Things I would have changed: This is a small nit to pick, but the grips move around on the grip frame and you notice this while shooting. A bit of tape, a shim or some bedding compound will fix this quickly.

    What others should know: Mine seems to prefer heavy pellets....

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2011-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This gun is pleasing to the eye, feels "right" in your hand, and shoots very accurately. I am a fanatic on triggers, and this one is pure delight. I sold my 1700P to get this 1701P (specifically for the newly designed trigger) and am very glad that I did. This gun is also amazingly quiet.

    Things I would have changed: The grip panels move on the frame even thought the screws are quite tight. I'll do some bedding on the grips.

    What others should know: Other than the loose grips, there is nothing not to like about this gun. I have been a hand gunner and hand gun hunter for 50 years and I really, really love this pistol.

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mark from USA on 2011-08-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Agree with others, as an entry level PCP 10m & silhouette target pistol its a great gun. I'm a lousy pistol and open sight shot, this pistol with the $60 additional Williams notch sight even allows me to improve my technique in a predictable fashion. The pistol at short range is so good it takes itself out of the variables. The additional inexpensive shoulder stock makes this just a joy to shoot making it a dual use product.

    Things I would have changed: Should add the degassing tool as part of the package. Its strange my Marauder rifle had the degassing tool but not the little plastic single shot shelf. I always feel a bit off about having to spend several extra dollars and place an additional order for accessories that should be included on their +$400 offerings. Since I fill off of a 4500psi bottle and a pistol has a tiny resevour a degassing tool in case of accidental overfill seems necessarily.

    What others should know: They are currently shipping in a well padded plain brown double box. Something tells me that this was a "skunk works" type project at Crosman, in that I expect they don't expect to sell the massive numbers the Discovery/Marauder series generates. Someone at Crosman wanted a competitive affordable pistol in this niche and they did it. Crosman seems serious about offering real world class products affordable, that's what we need to see come back to the USA. Just like Apple they are compelled to offshore their low margin high volume products, but they are retaining machining skills and development and small production in NY, that's critical. If you just turn over everything to BAM you end up like Dell computer where its just another re-branded Asus.

  • 12 Next
Navigation