Crosman Vantage Air Rifle With Nitro Piston reviews - page 1

Pre-order


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Chevota from USA on 2012-06-10 18:38:53

Things I liked:The stock style is my favorite of the bunch and the main reason I bought this model. The color is better too, it's darker like the Benjamin. The name Remington looks and sounds cooler than Crosman too. The Nitro spring is the coolest part, a must have for most anyone. It's like buying a tuned gun, not only much smoother and much quieter, it's also more powerful :) So ignore the "4" in the Loudness Specs they show here, an obvious misprint. The regular Vantage is a misprint as well, the regular version should be a 3 like all the other coil spring Crosmans, and this Nitro version should be a 2 just like the Benj Titan and Crosman Nitro Venom. Anyone remember the claims of those guns being 70% quieter? Well they are that quiet and this is the exact same power plant and it is just as quiet (I own the Titan too), they're even quieter than the Stoeger X20 Suppressor. Both the plain Vantage and the Nitro version are great looking and performing guns and the best choice possible for the money, especially the Nitro which is a steal at this price.
Things I would have changed:I wish it came with the steel muzzle brake like the G1 or Titan. The brake makes it easier to cock and feels better in your hand when you do. It also helps balance the gun better and helps steady the barrel for better accuracy. That and it looks sooo much better than the open sight.
What others should know:The trigger is the same as most all the other Crosman guns, and like the others you can do a trigger job (at your own risk which PA does not condone) to make it much nicer, or if you choose to spend the big $ you can buy an aftermarket trigger... Other things you might need to fix (and this goes for most all airguns) is the scope. This 4x is not a bad scope at all, in fact I love it, it just needs a couple adjustments. First off; check the parallax to be sure it's set for your preferred shooting distance, if not adjust accordingly because if it's off it will ruin accuracy which makes people think the scope is junk when it's not. Second; shim the scope to match the barrel by adding thin sheet metal or layers of paper etc under the scope tube at the rear mount. With the scope body lined true with the barrel this means the internal lens are straight vs adjusting them drastically to compensate. The straighter the lens the better everything else will be and the less distortion you'll have. Like the parallax it's such an easy fix and makes all difference. Third; the rear scope mount has a set screw that fits into a hole in the scope rail, USE IT! And be sure the set screw is set deep and the mounts and all screws are tight! Also be sure the three stock screws holding the gun together are tight and check them periodically. Mine prefers ~8.4gr pellets, heavier and it loses power, lighter it loses accuracy, so the RWS Superdome and JSB 8.4gr are idea choices for this gun.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:3.0

By joe from USA on 2013-02-06 18:26:59

Things I liked:easy to cock
Things I would have changed: mine must have been defective because i could literally cock it with just my index finger. crosman was very understanding and had me send it back and they sent me the crosman fury np because they told me they no longer made the remington vantage NP. the fury on the other hand is amazing!i bet it could kill a deer.
What others should know:get the crosman fury NP instead
Sort by:
  • 123 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By cody from USA on 2015-05-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I really like the hard wood stock on this rifle. It's hard-hitting and very accurate. I also liked the bright front and rear sights.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing, this gun is great. It is hard-hitting and very accurate.
    What others should know:This gun is great for target shooting.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Mark from USA on 2015-04-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Wood stock, solid feel, ease of breakdown. Not picky as to pellet types, although have not tried any heavy pellets. No issues with trigger if steady long pull is used.
    Things I would have changed:Crossman QC - rear fiber sight was not correctly welded to barrel. Had to set windage as far left as it would go to hit straight at 30 feet. Adding the scope that came with this rifle took care of the issue, but Crossman could have done a better job on assembly.
    What others should know:Nice and powerful for the money. Bought this to replace my son's Daisy 901 and he loves the Crossman (and the cheap scope in comparison with the cheaper scope that came with the Daisy).
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Keith from USA on 2015-03-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Mine is more accurate than I can shoot it and was that way straight out of the box. Usually about 1-2" groups at 30 yards from a knee using the included scope. No problem hitting an empty CO2 cartridge at that range. Rifle is not overly particular about the type of pellet (can even shoot the cheap Daisy pellets). Mine has pretty good trigger. Probably have a couple thousand rounds through the rifle and the scope is hanging in there.
    Things I would have changed:For the price do not have to change anything. The rifle is a little light in the butt for my taste. It would probably not be hard to add weight, but the butt of the stock is also short and very narrow, which makes is harder to hold and makes it look toyish. The clasping mechanism that locks the barrel after it is cocked on mine will not hold the barrel securely and it wobbles quite a bit. Surprisingly it still shoots straight. Would be nice if the parallax setting of the scope could be adjusted out beyond 10 yards or so.
    What others should know:I have a Crosman Nitro Venom in .22 and Benjamin Regal in .177 which have similar power plants. These rifles both have awesome stocks, much better balance, and are both much more attractive than the Vantage. Both of those rifles cost twice as much as the Vantage, but in power and accuracy, all three perform more or less equally with good pellets. My Vantage has a trigger that is lighter and breaks cleaner than that of the other two rifles, but I believe the triggers are all the same, and this one just came out better. My Vantage shoots poor quality pellets better than my Regal, probably due to the trigger, but the barrel design is slightly different. I use a one piece scope mount instead of the mounts that came with the rifle, which may be overkill. The included ones are not top of the line but appear to be medium duty and may be adequate. For $89 you get a lot of rifle with this package.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Carlton from USA on 2015-02-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:While I don't remember if I purchased this rifle from PA, I did want to comment to the high level of performance it delivers. Solid feel & weight, very accurate, easy cocking, hard hitting, decent trigger, Nitro Piston is a huge plus. A very straight shooter at an excellent price from PA.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing. . .but just for kicks, I did upgrade to a 3-12x50 scope, dovetail to weaver rail, and taller rings to rise above the fixed front sight. Wasn't necessary but does allow for longer distance shots maintaining tight groups.
    What others should know:Try different pellets. What works for one rifle may not for another. That includes the identical rifle. . . This rifle get a high recommendation . . .price/value story is hard to beat.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jon from USA on 2015-01-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Second one I bought works so far...Accurate and has a straight trajectory up to 50 or so yards
    Things I would have changed:The first one worked up until the point where a friend of mine dry fired it. After about 200 shots after the dry fire, the airgun stopped working entirely. However, I did purchase a second rifle while it was on sale and it works seamlessly so far
    What others should know:Don't EVER dry fire a springer/gas ram. Not good for the gun. Also, replace the scope if you can or use the iron sights.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By vasil from USA on 2014-12-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:i LIKE POWER, I DO NOT LIKE SOMETHING WAS DAMAGED IN TRIGGER
    Things I would have changed:I WOULD CHANGE SCOPE,AND TRIGGER
    What others should know:SOMETHING WAS DAMAGED IN TRIGGER
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By jakecrank99 from USA on 2014-12-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Good solid gun. Shoot good with plenty of power.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Ralph from USA on 2014-09-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The rifle handles well, it seems to shoot very strong , accuracy with open sights was good. I have not shot it with scope yet, well built and powerful
    Things I would have changed:I would probably make it cock easier, it seems to be getting better but first shots were very hard to cock I oiled the action and that seemed to help.
    What others should know:The reason I put the scope on is because the rear sight had to be so far to the left it actually covered one of the fiber optics on the rear sight in order to bring it on target That's way I gave it overall rating of four stars
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jere39 from USA on 2014-07-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Open sights Nitro Piston Quiet Accurate
    Things I would have changed:Safety is awkward to use
    What others should know:I shot about 100 pellets with the open sights and was very impressed. But, these old eyes could use an assist, so I installed the included 4x32 scope. I was shooting about an inch high and right, dialed it in easily, and can easily group in a 2" bull at 25 yards shooting free hand. I am very happy with the quality of the air gun, the scope. I am also impressed with the ease of ordering, the promptness of delivery, the quality of the product, and the tracking. Thanks
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Timothy from USA on 2014-06-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:SUPER open sights.
    Things I would have changed:Safety is a little awkward.
    What others should know:As suggested shoot a hundred or so shots through it and experiment with different brand and shaped pellets to get the most accuracy out of the rifle.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By richard from USA on 2013-12-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:great gun love the open sights and is very accurate out of the box before even being broken in.
    Things I would have changed:better scope mounts my one mount was lacking threads on one side like it had been stripped from the factory but i dont mind i like the sights so much i dont plan on using a scope
    What others should know:this is an amazing air rifle ive been shooting crosman all my life and have never had any problems with them accuracy wise or in reliability.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Douglas from USA on 2013-12-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Open sights big plus! Not a bad shooter for the money
    Things I would have changed:When you get your package open the box and throw the scope out cause its useless. Leave the scope out and drop the price
    What others should know:Not a bad shooter
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Kendo from USA on 2013-10-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is another one of those rifles that are good for target shooting and very small game hunting. The Crossman Vantage gives you both a joy to shoot.
    Things I would have changed:no
    What others should know:no
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Sean from USA on 2013-04-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very simple but comfortable wooden stock. It feels really solid when you lock the barrel into place after cocking/loading. Nice power.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing, so far. I'm hoping I don't encounter severe barrel droop like I have on a G1 Extreme I purchased four years ago when I mount the scope.
    What others should know:I have recently been bitten by the airgun bug, and this was my first "bug" purchase. The cocking effort is pretty hefty, but I'm assuming it will lessen as the rifle get broken in. I'm still working on getting an entire tin of pellets through before mounting the scope. Through a combination of luck/skill/weapon system, I did make an open sight instant kill from a measured distance of 41 yards on a bird trying to eat the plums on my trees.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Mike from USA on 2013-03-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Nice looking gun I can shot quarter size groups with cheap pellets. I'll start shooting the better ones next hope it will be even better with them. I'm very happy with it put fun back in target shooting. I did a lot of research thought I wanted open sights they were ok my eyes have changed since I got older so put the scope on it's great maybe 100 rounds through it and bulls eye almost every time 10 yards. I'll move out to 20 yards and readjust the scope. It is light years ahead of what I shot as a kid now i'm 58 and this is so much fun.
    Things I would have changed:Really probable would have tryed a .22 but thought I needed the 1200 FPS now I know you don't need that I find heavier slower pellets are harder hitting and more accurate. But for targets maybe .177 is better I don't really know.
    What others should know:I don't regret this gun at all great value for the money great service from Pyramyd Air watched many online reviews and feel like this is a great gun the start this hobby with.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By david from USA on 2013-03-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked: Good solid rifle, with the nitro piston, it's a real gem. Much quieter than my Quest, with more consistant power. Deadly out to 35 yards.
    Things I would have changed: This rifle could use a better trigger, and I plan to install a GRT after full break-in(1 year) The scope included was only adequite, I replaced with a straight 4 power mil dot with A.O.
    What others should know: This is an excellent beginning rifle for adults, and is inexpensive enough to allow some upgrades as you get more experience.ie scope and trigger. This rifle lends itself to hunting and pest control, as you can leave it cocked without taking a set. It's also considerably quieter than comparable spring guns.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Lee A. from USA on 2013-02-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The overall qualitly of the construction of the rifle was very impressive. The wood stock was very well machined and fit to the metal of the barrel and trigger, etc. very well. the rifle performed well, and was very accurate with the oopen sights. For the price the rifle is a very good value, even if the scope wasn't included.
    Things I would have changed:the rifle is a little hard to cock. Definately not for kids. The finish on the stock could be a little better, especially around the recessed screw holes and the end where the cocking linkage is.
    What others should know:I didn't use the supplied scope because I couldn't get it to keep any kind of a grouping. I purchased a Hammers 3x9x332 scope and haven't had any trouble getting it zeroed in. Overall I would highly recommend this rifle.
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By joe from USA on 2013-02-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:easy to cock
    Things I would have changed: mine must have been defective because i could literally cock it with just my index finger. crosman was very understanding and had me send it back and they sent me the crosman fury np because they told me they no longer made the remington vantage NP. the fury on the other hand is amazing!i bet it could kill a deer.
    What others should know:get the crosman fury NP instead
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Brian from USA on 2013-01-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:i bought this gun because of the price and the nitro piston. the gun itself is real nice and fairly quiet. the shooter hears a crack, let someone else shoot it and you hear how quiet it really is! the lines are smooth and i like the option of open sights even though i use the scope.
    Things I would have changed:the only thing i would change is offer it in .22 cal, and put swivel studs for a strap and or a bipod.
    What others should know:ive read other reviews and have to say that the scope is not that bad. i personally will only purchase airguns from pyramyd air. i have bought 3 guns from them and every time i have had excellent customer service, i highly recommend them above others.they have always helped me with my questions, even when im not purchasing.the gun like all others, is only as accurate as the shooter is!i had found the consistency comes with pushing the pellet into the breech a bit further.the gun is powerful and shoots a good 40-50 yards without dropping. im shooting steel targets at 50 yds. going to set them out to 60 the next day off i have.pyramyd air is a great place to shop and do research.overall the gun is worth every penny.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By david from USA on 2013-01-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked: The firing cycle is very,very, smooth. I'm totally impressed with with the nitro piston power plant
    Things I would have changed: The trigger leaves a little to be desired, and will be replaced with a CDT model. The scope is barely adequit and could use an AO, I've already replaced it with a Leapers 4X.
    What others should know: even with the obvious flaws, the rifle was and is a bargain.It shoots hard and accurately. It would still be a bargain without the scope.
  • 123 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top