Date: 9/2/2016 18:27

Crosman Vantage Air Rifle With Nitro Piston reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Chevota from USA on 2012-06-10 18:38:53

Things I liked: The stock style is my favorite of the bunch and the main reason I bought this model. The color is better too, it's darker like the Benjamin. The name Remington looks and sounds cooler than Crosman too. The Nitro spring is the coolest part, a must have for most anyone. It's like buying a tuned gun, not only much smoother and much quieter, it's also more powerful :) So ignore the "4" in the Loudness Specs they show here, an obvious misprint. The regular Vantage is a misprint as well, the regular version should be a 3 like all the other coil spring Crosmans, and this Nitro version should be a 2 just like the Benj Titan and Crosman Nitro Venom. Anyone remember the claims of those guns being 70% quieter? Well they are that quiet and this is the exact same power plant and it is just as quiet (I own the Titan too), they're even quieter than the Stoeger X20 Suppressor. Both the plain Vantage and the Nitro version are great looking and performing guns and the best choice possible for the money, especially the Nitro which is a steal at this price.

Things I would have changed: I wish it came with the steel muzzle brake like the G1 or Titan. The brake makes it easier to cock and feels better in your hand when you do. It also helps balance the gun better and helps steady the barrel for better accuracy. That and it looks sooo much better than the open sight.

What others should know: The trigger is the same as most all the other Crosman guns, and like the others you can do a trigger job (at your own risk which PA does not condone) to make it much nicer, or if you choose to spend the big $ you can buy an aftermarket trigger... Other things you might need to fix (and this goes for most all airguns) is the scope. This 4x is not a bad scope at all, in fact I love it, it just needs a couple adjustments. First off; check the parallax to be sure it's set for your preferred shooting distance, if not adjust accordingly because if it's off it will ruin accuracy which makes people think the scope is junk when it's not. Second; shim the scope to match the barrel by adding thin sheet metal or layers of paper etc under the scope tube at the rear mount. With the scope body lined true with the barrel this means the internal lens are straight vs adjusting them drastically to compensate. The straighter the lens the better everything else will be and the less distortion you'll have. Like the parallax it's such an easy fix and makes all difference. Third; the rear scope mount has a set screw that fits into a hole in the scope rail, USE IT! And be sure the set screw is set deep and the mounts and all screws are tight! Also be sure the three stock screws holding the gun together are tight and check them periodically. Mine prefers ~8.4gr pellets, heavier and it loses power, lighter it loses accuracy, so the RWS Superdome and JSB 8.4gr are idea choices for this gun.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:3.0

By joe from USA on 2013-02-06 18:26:59

Things I liked: easy to cock

Things I would have changed: mine must have been defective because i could literally cock it with just my index finger. crosman was very understanding and had me send it back and they sent me the crosman fury np because they told me they no longer made the remington vantage NP. the fury on the other hand is amazing!i bet it could kill a deer.

What others should know: get the crosman fury NP instead

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Vern from USA on 2016-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks and feel.

    Things I would have changed: Lower the price and take off the scope.

    What others should know: I would not buy this product again. I could not get it sighted in, Returned it and waiting for a response from Pyramydair.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By john john from USA on 2016-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: decent scope, good penetration, nice stopping power up to coon size animals

    Things I would have changed: too heavy, bulky

    What others should know: crosman destroyers and gamo red fires work best. they have the most consistent grouping

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Buford from USA on 2015-12-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The accuracy is excellent.not too heavy.

    Things I would have changed: Slightly longer would suit me better because of my long arms.

  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2015-12-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Open sights on air rifles are a must far as I am concerned, while many seem to find the trigger hard or rough I found no real concern here. The Vantage NP is a fairly solid gun and I've enjoyed using it, I even took out 2 coons a couple of rabbit and squirrel and a lot of target shooting. Now I have the Vantage and my son has the Prowler and we went through about ten or twelve different pellets the Gamo Red Fire appear to put both these rifles in good shooting accuracy. The value is great while the Nitro Piston is such a great improvement that I'll never buy another old type coil spring. These gun are well balanced and feel close to a real gun.

    Things I would have changed: There is one Fault with many of these rifles and that's the metal on metal contact of the plunger on the inner casing and after a while the plunger seal will began setting lower and lower on the bottom of the housing and loose pressure because the seal is no longer staying center. In my Vantage I corrected this metal on metal drag and the dropping of the seal by adding Teflon guides area(s) where the extra support in needed, much like the Nitro Piston 2 they figured this out by using Teflon or like guides that stop the metal to metal damage to the guns. I added a Teflon guide to the top rear of the plunger and the front bottom, this stopped the metal damage and keeps the seal centered in the housing providing as much free flowing power as possible. So what I am suggesting is Crosman should design a Nitro 2 plunger for these older guns where easy and quick repair can be made and you won't need to buy a new gun and go through the break in process again.

    What others should know: We had a terrible time breaking ours in using the Crosman pellets, the two guns we have just don't like em however the Ruger wad cutter / flat head did well and the Gamo Red Fire with the plastic tops did very well on accuracy and is what I grab for shooting at live animals within 120 feet. I would not use the lite weight non lead pellets while it will sound out like a 22 rim fire I couldn't hit anything. Very important things (1) Never dry fire (2) don't diesel, putting oil on the pellets. (3) Buy a tube of the chamber oil that Crosman states should be used on the Nitro Piston ram (Chamber Oil) , Do not use the pellgunoil that stores generally have in stock it will burn your seals and gum your gun up BAD. The Chamber oil Crosman states to use cost about 8 bucks but one drop like every 300-500 shots will last for years so put it in a place where it's easy to find and the tube tip upright where it won't leak out. (4) Don't clean your gun much after the first cleaning new.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Jon from USA on 2015-11-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It worked for the first 1000 rounds. Alright accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: I must've had two lemons. The first one stopped working after one unintentional dry fire. The second one would not break after shooting in the rain.

    What others should know: Don't shoot breakbarrels in the rain, and definitely shy away from dry firing.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Clay from USA on 2015-09-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I purchased this air gun for my son to help protect are small farm from vermin ! I seems to do the job Well! we live in a lead free area so I had to buy non lead pellets for him to shoot to keep us on the good side of the game wardens! and I was nervous spending so much more on the non lead pellets worried that they wouldn't perform but I was Happily Wrong! so if you live in Jerk water California and want to keep the law on your side and need a good gun this works well!

    Things I would have changed: I feel the trigger is Way heavy but to be expected. scope is good enough to get the job done, but I plan on adding a bit nicer one for him to use, as well as upgrading the trigger at some point.

    What others should know: Lead free ammo works well in these guns! My 8 yr old is a dead eye on vermin with this heavy thing! I think if you have a son and on property this is a great gun! Lots of power for a .177 not a toy!!!!! heavy enough for him to grow some muscles and the weight helps with the very little recoil from the gun! I Highly recommend the nitro piston!I will never own a springer with a spring again! GO NITRO PISTON!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2015-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice gun, very accurate right out of the box. Well made rifle; scope is appropriate for the gun.

    Things I would have changed: I do not like the finish...not nearly as nice as the pictures indicate. Wish it were made in Canada or the United States (okay...that's in most of my reviews).

    What others should know: Nice gun, but since buying Beeman and Remington .22s, I've not shot it once. The .22s are just better, and their hitting power much greater.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Dale from USA on 2015-08-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Out of the box I was surprised that it was such a substantial rifle. More than I expected for the price. Doesn't feel like a toy. Fixed sights are good; fully adjustable for windage and elevation.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger is terrible. I let my 10 year old son shoot it and he said, "I thought it wasn't going to go off!" If I did it again, I'd buy the rifle itself and spring for a better scope and an aftermarket trigger. That would still be less than a mid-range springer; and still a good shooter. Windage turret failed when I tried to center the scope.

    What others should know: If you're new to air gunning, you should know this thing shoots hard. I felt like I had the rings tight and followed my normal procedure for mounting a scope on a firearm. This thing zeroed quickly, but after one shooting session it was all over the paper. Turns out the rings had shot loose.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carlton from USA on 2015-06-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy, knock down power, wood finish, moderate cocking effort (backyard friendly) & loudness, gas piston, weight, predictable trigger, .177.

    Things I would have changed: All things in proper perspective. . . .nothing. I did add a 3-12x50 scope with a low rise

    What others should know: In this price category, it is difficult to beat the performance of this rifle. Owning several popular brands in both .22 & .177, this rifle is as dependable as thy come. Paired with the H&N Baracuda Hunter Exreme .177 9.57gr pellet, Nothing. . .i mean nothing is safe within 45yd rang. . .nothing! This is my go to rifle 99% of the time. . .over and above all others (costing much more). The accuracy with the H&N pellet is impressive . I highly, highly recommend this rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By cody from USA on 2015-05-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I really like the hard wood stock on this rifle. It's hard-hitting and very accurate. I also liked the bright front and rear sights.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, this gun is great. It is hard-hitting and very accurate.

    What others should know: This gun is great for target shooting.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Mark from USA on 2015-04-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Wood stock, solid feel, ease of breakdown. Not picky as to pellet types, although have not tried any heavy pellets. No issues with trigger if steady long pull is used.

    Things I would have changed: Crossman QC - rear fiber sight was not correctly welded to barrel. Had to set windage as far left as it would go to hit straight at 30 feet. Adding the scope that came with this rifle took care of the issue, but Crossman could have done a better job on assembly.

    What others should know: Nice and powerful for the money. Bought this to replace my son's Daisy 901 and he loves the Crossman (and the cheap scope in comparison with the cheaper scope that came with the Daisy).

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Keith from USA on 2015-03-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Mine is more accurate than I can shoot it and was that way straight out of the box. Usually about 1-2" groups at 30 yards from a knee using the included scope. No problem hitting an empty CO2 cartridge at that range. Rifle is not overly particular about the type of pellet (can even shoot the cheap Daisy pellets). Mine has pretty good trigger. Probably have a couple thousand rounds through the rifle and the scope is hanging in there.

    Things I would have changed: For the price do not have to change anything. The rifle is a little light in the butt for my taste. It would probably not be hard to add weight, but the butt of the stock is also short and very narrow, which makes is harder to hold and makes it look toyish. The clasping mechanism that locks the barrel after it is cocked on mine will not hold the barrel securely and it wobbles quite a bit. Surprisingly it still shoots straight. Would be nice if the parallax setting of the scope could be adjusted out beyond 10 yards or so.

    What others should know: I have a Crosman Nitro Venom in .22 and Benjamin Regal in .177 which have similar power plants. These rifles both have awesome stocks, much better balance, and are both much more attractive than the Vantage. Both of those rifles cost twice as much as the Vantage, but in power and accuracy, all three perform more or less equally with good pellets. My Vantage has a trigger that is lighter and breaks cleaner than that of the other two rifles, but I believe the triggers are all the same, and this one just came out better. My Vantage shoots poor quality pellets better than my Regal, probably due to the trigger, but the barrel design is slightly different. I use a one piece scope mount instead of the mounts that came with the rifle, which may be overkill. The included ones are not top of the line but appear to be medium duty and may be adequate. For $89 you get a lot of rifle with this package.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carlton from USA on 2015-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: While I don't remember if I purchased this rifle from PA, I did want to comment to the high level of performance it delivers. Solid feel & weight, very accurate, easy cocking, hard hitting, decent trigger, Nitro Piston is a huge plus. A very straight shooter at an excellent price from PA.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. . .but just for kicks, I did upgrade to a 3-12x50 scope, dovetail to weaver rail, and taller rings to rise above the fixed front sight. Wasn't necessary but does allow for longer distance shots maintaining tight groups.

    What others should know: Try different pellets. What works for one rifle may not for another. That includes the identical rifle. . . This rifle get a high recommendation . . .price/value story is hard to beat.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jon from USA on 2015-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Second one I bought works so far...Accurate and has a straight trajectory up to 50 or so yards

    Things I would have changed: The first one worked up until the point where a friend of mine dry fired it. After about 200 shots after the dry fire, the airgun stopped working entirely. However, I did purchase a second rifle while it was on sale and it works seamlessly so far

    What others should know: Don't EVER dry fire a springer/gas ram. Not good for the gun. Also, replace the scope if you can or use the iron sights.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By vasil from USA on 2014-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: i LIKE POWER, I DO NOT LIKE SOMETHING WAS DAMAGED IN TRIGGER

    Things I would have changed: I WOULD CHANGE SCOPE,AND TRIGGER

    What others should know: SOMETHING WAS DAMAGED IN TRIGGER

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By jakecrank99 from USA on 2014-12-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good solid gun. Shoot good with plenty of power.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ralph from USA on 2014-09-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The rifle handles well, it seems to shoot very strong , accuracy with open sights was good. I have not shot it with scope yet, well built and powerful

    Things I would have changed: I would probably make it cock easier, it seems to be getting better but first shots were very hard to cock I oiled the action and that seemed to help.

    What others should know: The reason I put the scope on is because the rear sight had to be so far to the left it actually covered one of the fiber optics on the rear sight in order to bring it on target That's way I gave it overall rating of four stars

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jere39 from USA on 2014-07-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Open sights Nitro Piston Quiet Accurate

    Things I would have changed: Safety is awkward to use

    What others should know: I shot about 100 pellets with the open sights and was very impressed. But, these old eyes could use an assist, so I installed the included 4x32 scope. I was shooting about an inch high and right, dialed it in easily, and can easily group in a 2" bull at 25 yards shooting free hand. I am very happy with the quality of the air gun, the scope. I am also impressed with the ease of ordering, the promptness of delivery, the quality of the product, and the tracking. Thanks

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Timothy from USA on 2014-06-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: SUPER open sights.

    Things I would have changed: Safety is a little awkward.

    What others should know: As suggested shoot a hundred or so shots through it and experiment with different brand and shaped pellets to get the most accuracy out of the rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By richard from USA on 2013-12-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: great gun love the open sights and is very accurate out of the box before even being broken in.

    Things I would have changed: better scope mounts my one mount was lacking threads on one side like it had been stripped from the factory but i dont mind i like the sights so much i dont plan on using a scope

    What others should know: this is an amazing air rifle ive been shooting crosman all my life and have never had any problems with them accuracy wise or in reliability.

  • 123 Next
Navigation