Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Crosman Vantage Air Rifle With Nitro Piston reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Chevota from USA on 2012-06-10 18:38:53

    Things I liked:The stock style is my favorite of the bunch and the main reason I bought this model. The color is better too, it's darker like the Benjamin. The name Remington looks and sounds cooler than Crosman too. The Nitro spring is the coolest part, a must have for most anyone. It's like buying a tuned gun, not only much smoother and much quieter, it's also more powerful :) So ignore the "4" in the Loudness Specs they show here, an obvious misprint. The regular Vantage is a misprint as well, the regular version should be a 3 like all the other coil spring Crosmans, and this Nitro version should be a 2 just like the Benj Titan and Crosman Nitro Venom. Anyone remember the claims of those guns being 70% quieter? Well they are that quiet and this is the exact same power plant and it is just as quiet (I own the Titan too), they're even quieter than the Stoeger X20 Suppressor. Both the plain Vantage and the Nitro version are great looking and performing guns and the best choice possible for the money, especially the Nitro which is a steal at this price.
    Things I would have changed:I wish it came with the steel muzzle brake like the G1 or Titan. The brake makes it easier to cock and feels better in your hand when you do. It also helps balance the gun better and helps steady the barrel for better accuracy. That and it looks sooo much better than the open sight.
    What others should know:The trigger is the same as most all the other Crosman guns, and like the others you can do a trigger job (at your own risk which PA does not condone) to make it much nicer, or if you choose to spend the big $ you can buy an aftermarket trigger... Other things you might need to fix (and this goes for most all airguns) is the scope. This 4x is not a bad scope at all, in fact I love it, it just needs a couple adjustments. First off; check the parallax to be sure it's set for your preferred shooting distance, if not adjust accordingly because if it's off it will ruin accuracy which makes people think the scope is junk when it's not. Second; shim the scope to match the barrel by adding thin sheet metal or layers of paper etc under the scope tube at the rear mount. With the scope body lined true with the barrel this means the internal lens are straight vs adjusting them drastically to compensate. The straighter the lens the better everything else will be and the less distortion you'll have. Like the parallax it's such an easy fix and makes all difference. Third; the rear scope mount has a set screw that fits into a hole in the scope rail, USE IT! And be sure the set screw is set deep and the mounts and all screws are tight! Also be sure the three stock screws holding the gun together are tight and check them periodically. Mine prefers ~8.4gr pellets, heavier and it loses power, lighter it loses accuracy, so the RWS Superdome and JSB 8.4gr are idea choices for this gun.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By joe from USA on 2013-02-06 18:26:59

    Things I liked:easy to cock
    Things I would have changed: mine must have been defective because i could literally cock it with just my index finger. crosman was very understanding and had me send it back and they sent me the crosman fury np because they told me they no longer made the remington vantage NP. the fury on the other hand is amazing!i bet it could kill a deer.
    What others should know:get the crosman fury NP instead
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Timothy from USA on 2014-06-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:SUPER open sights.
      Things I would have changed:Safety is a little awkward.
      What others should know:As suggested shoot a hundred or so shots through it and experiment with different brand and shaped pellets to get the most accuracy out of the rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By richard from USA on 2013-12-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great gun love the open sights and is very accurate out of the box before even being broken in.
      Things I would have changed:better scope mounts my one mount was lacking threads on one side like it had been stripped from the factory but i dont mind i like the sights so much i dont plan on using a scope
      What others should know:this is an amazing air rifle ive been shooting crosman all my life and have never had any problems with them accuracy wise or in reliability.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Douglas from USA on 2013-12-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Open sights big plus! Not a bad shooter for the money
      Things I would have changed:When you get your package open the box and throw the scope out cause its useless. Leave the scope out and drop the price
      What others should know:Not a bad shooter
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kendo from USA on 2013-10-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is another one of those rifles that are good for target shooting and very small game hunting. The Crossman Vantage gives you both a joy to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:no
      What others should know:no
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Sean from USA on 2013-04-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very simple but comfortable wooden stock. It feels really solid when you lock the barrel into place after cocking/loading. Nice power.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, so far. I'm hoping I don't encounter severe barrel droop like I have on a G1 Extreme I purchased four years ago when I mount the scope.
      What others should know:I have recently been bitten by the airgun bug, and this was my first "bug" purchase. The cocking effort is pretty hefty, but I'm assuming it will lessen as the rifle get broken in. I'm still working on getting an entire tin of pellets through before mounting the scope. Through a combination of luck/skill/weapon system, I did make an open sight instant kill from a measured distance of 41 yards on a bird trying to eat the plums on my trees.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2013-03-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice looking gun I can shot quarter size groups with cheap pellets. I'll start shooting the better ones next hope it will be even better with them. I'm very happy with it put fun back in target shooting. I did a lot of research thought I wanted open sights they were ok my eyes have changed since I got older so put the scope on it's great maybe 100 rounds through it and bulls eye almost every time 10 yards. I'll move out to 20 yards and readjust the scope. It is light years ahead of what I shot as a kid now i'm 58 and this is so much fun.
      Things I would have changed:Really probable would have tryed a .22 but thought I needed the 1200 FPS now I know you don't need that I find heavier slower pellets are harder hitting and more accurate. But for targets maybe .177 is better I don't really know.
      What others should know:I don't regret this gun at all great value for the money great service from Pyramyd Air watched many online reviews and feel like this is a great gun the start this hobby with.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By david from USA on 2013-03-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: Good solid rifle, with the nitro piston, it's a real gem. Much quieter than my Quest, with more consistant power. Deadly out to 35 yards.
      Things I would have changed: This rifle could use a better trigger, and I plan to install a GRT after full break-in(1 year) The scope included was only adequite, I replaced with a straight 4 power mil dot with A.O.
      What others should know: This is an excellent beginning rifle for adults, and is inexpensive enough to allow some upgrades as you get more experience.ie scope and trigger. This rifle lends itself to hunting and pest control, as you can leave it cocked without taking a set. It's also considerably quieter than comparable spring guns.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lee A. from USA on 2013-02-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The overall qualitly of the construction of the rifle was very impressive. The wood stock was very well machined and fit to the metal of the barrel and trigger, etc. very well. the rifle performed well, and was very accurate with the oopen sights. For the price the rifle is a very good value, even if the scope wasn't included.
      Things I would have changed:the rifle is a little hard to cock. Definately not for kids. The finish on the stock could be a little better, especially around the recessed screw holes and the end where the cocking linkage is.
      What others should know:I didn't use the supplied scope because I couldn't get it to keep any kind of a grouping. I purchased a Hammers 3x9x332 scope and haven't had any trouble getting it zeroed in. Overall I would highly recommend this rifle.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By joe from USA on 2013-02-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:easy to cock
      Things I would have changed: mine must have been defective because i could literally cock it with just my index finger. crosman was very understanding and had me send it back and they sent me the crosman fury np because they told me they no longer made the remington vantage NP. the fury on the other hand is amazing!i bet it could kill a deer.
      What others should know:get the crosman fury NP instead
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2013-01-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i bought this gun because of the price and the nitro piston. the gun itself is real nice and fairly quiet. the shooter hears a crack, let someone else shoot it and you hear how quiet it really is! the lines are smooth and i like the option of open sights even though i use the scope.
      Things I would have changed:the only thing i would change is offer it in .22 cal, and put swivel studs for a strap and or a bipod.
      What others should know:ive read other reviews and have to say that the scope is not that bad. i personally will only purchase airguns from pyramyd air. i have bought 3 guns from them and every time i have had excellent customer service, i highly recommend them above others.they have always helped me with my questions, even when im not purchasing.the gun like all others, is only as accurate as the shooter is!i had found the consistency comes with pushing the pellet into the breech a bit further.the gun is powerful and shoots a good 40-50 yards without dropping. im shooting steel targets at 50 yds. going to set them out to 60 the next day off i have.pyramyd air is a great place to shop and do research.overall the gun is worth every penny.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By david from USA on 2013-01-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: The firing cycle is very,very, smooth. I'm totally impressed with with the nitro piston power plant
      Things I would have changed: The trigger leaves a little to be desired, and will be replaced with a CDT model. The scope is barely adequit and could use an AO, I've already replaced it with a Leapers 4X.
      What others should know: even with the obvious flaws, the rifle was and is a bargain.It shoots hard and accurately. It would still be a bargain without the scope.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Steve from USA on 2013-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is my first air rifle in a very long time. My previous was a Crosman 140 that I received when I was 7 years old. I was interested in a break barrel for backyard plinking/target shooting and the occasional tree rat extermination. The nitro piston intrigued me, as I had read that springers had funky recoil/jump so when PA had this unit on sale for Christmas, I sprang for it (no pun intended). I think this gun represents a fair value for the money. It is not a high end gun, but fit and finish were about what I expected. I find it easy enough to cock, but my 5' 27 yr old daughter finds it pretty challenging - and she's no wimp. Fiber optic sites are nice and bright, but I had to crank the windage way left to get on target - this might be a problem with how I hold the gun. I subsequently mounted BSA RD30 red dot, but wasn't happy with the accuracy. I then mounted the included Centerpoint scope and I'm happier with the accuracy. I've shot a few 3 shot groups that a dime would cover at about 40'. I get fliers and I'm trying to decide if it's me, the pellets or the gun.
      Things I would have changed:Prior to this, I mostly shot rimfire and centerfire pistols. The first thing that surprised me on this gun was the trigger - it really stinks and feels a mile and a half long. Research quickly pointed me to the GRT III trigger which I ordered and installed - it makes a WORLD of difference. I know some think it's crazy to put a $30 trigger in a $130 gun, but to me it was worthwhile. There are guides around to modify the stock trigger, but I wasn't really up to tearing down the trigger group. The GRT III is completely reversible to stock. I was surprised that the rear sight assembly was essentially all plastic and mine appears canted to the left from horizontal (maybe that's part of the "shoots to the right" issue). Since I was mounting optics, this wasn't all that big of a deal for me. The breech seems to be pretty sharp and some pellets take a little more effort to load. I may polish this some - again, there are guides on the internet. A nicer finish on the stock would be nice. The stain is OK, but the clear coat seems pretty thin.
      What others should know:I tried a variety of pellets in the gun - JSB Exact match, RWS Superdome, Crosman Premium Hollow Point and Crosman EX Destroyers. Best accuracy so far seems to come from the RWS Superdomes. Make a cleaning pull through from string trimmer line. The barrel is amazingly dirty, I assume from the manufacturing process. I believe the gun is not too loud. However my current backstop is 1/2" plywood and it makes a substantial "whack" when hit... so hard to distinguish between that and the gun. I plan on making a "silent" pellet trap. Pellets out of this gun will blow through 3/8" cypress fence boards (oops). I read one account of shooting through 3/4" plywood - I don't believe it, unless maybe it was shot from an inch away. Regardless, there seems to be very good power from the gun. No critters have been shot (yet). I bought this gun for backyard shooting in an urban environment and it fits the bill. Accuracy is mostly good, discounting any fliers. I plan on tinkering with this gun - so it's both a project and a fun gun. I'm finding it quite enjoyable. If you're looking for a decent entry gun with included optics and a nitro piston, this is a good deal!
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Chester from USA on 2012-12-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:acuracy, scope is better than most at this price, light
      Things I would have changed:trigger has an extremely long pull, can't seem to get it adjusted? stock is plain looking but ok; LOW velocity, even my lightest pellets would not go supersonic like all the rest of my guns will, so I doubt the 1200 pfm claim.
      What others should know:Price was reduced on the day I recieved the gun; I called before I got it and asked to be included in the 12% reduced price but was refused?? Most companies will honor their reduced prices on customers that have just order a product but not this company ... WAIT for their real sale price of $106 for this gun so you don't feel cheated like I do.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By joe from USA on 2012-12-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:nothing
      Things I would have changed:better quality control
      What others should know:i got this gun and the first few shots were really powerfull but then it was like someone drained the nitrogen from it because it wasnt even powerful enough to shoot the pellet gun out of the barrel. i emailed crosman and they said to return it to them and they will decide to replace it or if it is still good.crosman emailed me back and said that they would replace the gun but they discontinued, so they sent me the crosman fury np which i know love.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bob from USA on 2012-11-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This an excellent rifle for price range. Is a bit heavy but still manageable. I really the Nitro Piston instead of the Spring. Minimal vibration. I like the fiber optic sights.
      Things I would have changed:Stock is little to dark for my taste but what the heck. I was very stiff initially but 25 rounds it loosened up.
      What others should know:I invested in $20.00 for Pyramid Ayr to mount the scope and zero it. It worth the money. Scope needed just a tweak to zero out to 25 yards. The rifle loves RWS Misterklugen pellets
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Steve from USA on 2012-11-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Wood stock, gas piston, scope (but not the mounting rings), power, ease in cocking. This feels like a real rifle, no artificial stock here. Also good price and fast same day shipping from Pyramyd Air.
      Things I would have changed:Would include a tube of the recommended RMCOIL lubricating oil. You have to add a drop after 200 shots and you can't find it in local stores. I called Crosman and complained and asked if there was anything else I could use. They said I could use Mobil 1 synthetic oil instead. A quart for $5 will last a hundred years!
      What others should know:I love this rifle. You won't find a better rifle for the money and it's just perfect for my needs. I nailed my first squirrel yesterday, a 90 ft. head shot with a Premier Hollow Point pellet. My son-in-law has a Gammo Big Cat and he's jealous of my new rifle.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By mike from USA on 2012-10-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Fit and finish, over all nice rifle. Kinda heavy.
      Things I would have changed:TRIGGER! GRTlll please!!
      What others should know:Had to send mine back due to leaking seal? After break in 500 shots accuracy got better but it would just puff with pellet going I don't know where every 15 or 20 shots using 8.8 H&N grade pellets or crossman lighter cheaper ones! Sent back exchanged for benjamin regal that rocks so far.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2012-10-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I liked the option to use open sites or a scope. I have never been a fan of scope only rifles since it limits your shooting to daylight only. I would have probably looked at the more expensive rifles but chose this one for the sight option.Have been shooting springers for many years and am impressed with the NP. It cocks smoother and is much quieter. I had no problem with the trigger it is smooth and I will not replace it.I have just over 200 Crossman Premier Pointed pellets through it. Becoming much more accurate now. I was able to hit 8 out of 12 targets the size of a quarter from 30yds. Now that it's broken in, I plan to try some other pellets.
      Things I would have changed:I think a tube of RMC oil should be included from Crossman. The manual recommends this as the only oil to use and it's hard to find in stores locally.
      What others should know:If you purchase any break barrel, research the type of oil is recommended and order some with the gun to save on shipping. A .25oz on the web is a little over $5 but the shipping brings it to $10. Seems expensive for something that could be put in an envelope and mailed USPS. I have read all types of info from never oil to use what is recommended. Guess I'll go with what the factory recommends. A good gun for the money.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jeffrey from USA on 2012-10-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:fit and finish is nice. Great scope for the price but not a top quality scope. I have trouble getting things in focus at times. Fairly accurate but still in break in period.
      Things I would have changed:stock could be nicer as it looks nothing like the photo. Make it quieter as its not less quiet then any other airgun I had.
      What others should know:This is not as quiet as you may expect with all the nitro piston ads saying 70% less noisy than springers. Its a bit heavy on the force needed to break the barrel but not too bad for an adult. Service was excellent from pyramid air and very fast shipping.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jeffrey from USA on 2012-09-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Got it dialed in with iron sites in about 15 shots. nice feel, decent finish but a bit bland
      Things I would have changed:make it quieter. Its loud and the whole reason I got this was because the piston system was supposed to be quieter.
    • 12 Next »
    Back to Top