Crosman Vantage Breakbarrel Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By jim from USA on 2010-02-08 21:26:37

Things I liked: This gun is awesome! It shoots great groups. Especially with Crosman Destroyers and Crosman Pointed pellets. Cocking the break barrel action takes some effort at first but gets easier after for a while of shooting. The scope is great for what I use it for.

Things I would have changed: I wouldn't change a thing. The trigger has a fairly long pull but nothing I can't get used to.

What others should know: This is a great gun for the money. You would expect a gun this well made to be 300 or 500 dollars. Good gun for hunting.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Mike from USA on 2014-09-16 09:21:27

Things I liked: The Vantage is heavy enough to do well as a bludgeon, or maybe as ballast for smaller marine craft.

Things I would have changed: Crosman should engineer and manufacture this model so that it shoots straight and predictably. Or maybe there are quality control issues for individual items coming off the line in China? Either way, there are so many good reviews for the Vantage that I can't believe they're all inaccurate; but I wouldn't buy another.

What others should know: I tried for two days to sight in this rifle with a bench rest, starting around 25 yards and eventually reducing expectations in stages down to 10 yards, using both the scope and the plastic sights mounted on the barrel. It never worked: there was no consistency to the shots. Pyramyd's return process is easy and friendly, so I would buy from them with confidence.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Preston from USA on 2015-07-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My first air rifle, there not much I can compare it to. Out of the box teh break barrel action was hard to cock, but it has loosened up by now (I'm halfway through a tin of 500 JSB's). I bought it to introduce the younger son to shooting, and we're getting a lot of smiles out of pinging targets in the back yard. Some of the comments complain about a lack of accuracy. Once I figured out which way to turn the knob, the adjustable iron sights work very well. Still ahead is starting to use the bundled scope - it's said to be low end, but it's probably a lot more accurate than I am....

    Things I would have changed: Cripes, why didn't I buy two?

    What others should know: Contact chevota @ hotmail for a tuning guide applicable to a wide range of spring piston rifles. I'll start working through that process after the initial break-in.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Steve from USA on 2015-07-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great air rifle and plenty of power for a springer. Mine likes the H&N hunting pellets. The wood is very nice and has a nice solid feel.

    Things I would have changed: Metal front sight, the plastic is too fragile.

    What others should know: Accuracy is pretty good with right pellets and since I got it on sale and even better value. PA is great to deal with and has awesome service!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Coleman from USA on 2015-07-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Low cost, well made, accurate, fun and inexpensive to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: For the price I paid there isn't much to change.

    What others should know: The rifle I bought was pretty accurate out of the box. it only got better after the first 100 pellets ran through it. I bought this to compliment my .22 caliber Vantage NP. though not a NP, it give smooth quiet performance. I would buy another if I had to, but these are so reliable I doubt I will have to. Great rifle at a great price.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Larry from USA on 2015-07-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Company very good to buy from. Good prices and shipping was the same day as ordered

    Things I would have changed: Change nothing I know of. Could handle blank ammo.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By dave from USA on 2015-06-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great rifle.fit and finish are really nice for a gun this price.scope works fine for 25 yd shots.take your time mounting and it will work great.a little double sided scotch tape under the scope ring halves and lock tite on the screws and it won't budge. 500 plus shots I have never had to rezero and gun is finally breaking in. Seems to work best with cheap Crosman or daisy wadcutters. Shooting quarter size groups at 30yds. My diana 34 doesn't group any better. And for 79 bucks? Really, every airgunner should have one of these in their collection.

    Things I would have changed: Not much.solid basic rifle

    What others should know: Clean your barrels often. 2 drops of silicone oil in the chamber every 200 shots. And take barrel out of the stock and smooth and polish and oil the trigger seer really helps the Crosman trigger break more consistently. And finally the folks at pyramidair are the bomb!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Nathan from USA on 2015-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I love the real wood and the tru glo sights. Right out of the box it's very accurate. This is basically a $200 gun that only cost half that.

    Things I would have changed: I would change. The scope the comes with it. The one that comes with it is just terrible but most of them are with break barrel rifles.

    What others should know: This gun is great for small game hunting, will drop them like nothing

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By DMichael from USA on 2014-12-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The workmanship on this rifle is excellent. The minute I picked it up the feel of this piece was serious rifle. The scope was easy to zero in and started getting good groups after 50 pellets.

    Things I would have changed: I would not change a thing this is a great addition to my collection.

    What others should know: Ideal for small game hunting, plinking, spinners. Awesome Air Rifle. Having a lot of fun with this rifle.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Steven from USA on 2014-12-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Over all, buying this rifle for my nephew was worth it. It has very good power, a typical Crosman trigger,which you can get used to. I have been trying to find the best pellet to shoot and it semes like the wad cutter pellet and Crosman's round nose pellets work the best so far. And accuracy is very good after a slight break-in of the rifle. I haven't tried the more expensive pellets in the rifle.

    Things I would have changed: The scope is almost useless. I ordered another one to use. It also may be my 66 year old eyes that could not focus a clear picture of the target through the scope. I do have other air rifles, 13 to be exact that have nice scopes on them.

    What others should know: For the money, you do get a nice rifle. Well worth the money so far.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2014-11-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice weight, easy to use, exactly what I was looking for in a break barrel weapon.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: This is a very nice package purchase for a novice or beginner.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Mike from USA on 2014-09-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Vantage is heavy enough to do well as a bludgeon, or maybe as ballast for smaller marine craft.

    Things I would have changed: Crosman should engineer and manufacture this model so that it shoots straight and predictably. Or maybe there are quality control issues for individual items coming off the line in China? Either way, there are so many good reviews for the Vantage that I can't believe they're all inaccurate; but I wouldn't buy another.

    What others should know: I tried for two days to sight in this rifle with a bench rest, starting around 25 yards and eventually reducing expectations in stages down to 10 yards, using both the scope and the plastic sights mounted on the barrel. It never worked: there was no consistency to the shots. Pyramyd's return process is easy and friendly, so I would buy from them with confidence.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dan from USA on 2014-09-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: great rifle

    Things I would have changed: trigger pull not so good, long and heavy.

    What others should know: fast shipping, well packaged, would buy this rifle and from this company again

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Marty from USA on 2014-08-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent gun for the price

    Things I would have changed: nothing

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2014-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This feels like a real real air rifle and at a great price! A must for anyone's collection. Very accurate..

    Things I would have changed: The scope feels a bit cheap.

    What others should know: Extremely accurate, very smooth break-barrel action. Enjoy!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2014-08-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is a great rifle for the price. It is accurate and powerful. I really like the piston spring power plant. I own a much more expensive and higher quality air rifle but this one is just too fun to shoot to ignore. Great rifle for beginning airgunners. Pyramyd Air is a top notch company. They take care of their customers.

    Things I would have changed: Given the price and what you get....not a thing.

    What others should know: I recommend getting the 10 for 10 service option.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Forrest from USA on 2014-02-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the accuracy of the gun and the feel of the gun

    Things I would have changed: I would change the weight and make the cocking a bit easier

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2013-09-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Stock and feel of the gun are great. I took it out and shooting a basic crosman pointed pellet after adjustment hit a penny sized cap 2/3 shots from 30 yards. Even at 50 yards if you can see, it will have no problem killing varmint. Bottom line it shoots like a 300$ gun.

    Things I would have changed: Not much, the scope isn't top grade, but your not paying for it. Sling mounts would be cool.

    What others should know: It's worth each penny, I bagged 3 squirrel thus far...on three shots. You can't beat the challenge and feeling of accomplishment hunting with an air rifle gives.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Robert from USA on 2013-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Got this rifle for the price not expecting much but it turned out to be a nice springer I used for plinking on my targets and I just used the iron sights but it does come with a scope but it's a very weak scope but for shooting out to 35 yards it would work fine.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing for the price

    What others should know: Good value as I got it on sale for 99.00 dollars and it's got a nice wood stock, it's a great rifle for plinking or small vermin shooting but I gave it to my Grandson as I felt it was a great starter rifle for him to learn on and he will use it with just the metal sights as I want him to learn with out a scope first. Great rifle for the price and if I see it on sale again I'll buy myself another one. Buy it you can't beat the price.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    1.0 1.0

    By WILEY from USA on 2012-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Heavy weapon at 7.78 lbs. Excellent FPS but still a bit loud - only half way through the recommended 200 rounds to achieve minimum sound - my base reason for purchasing a pellet gun. We'll see.

    Things I would have changed: Center Point scope is crap. I have been hunting for over 50 years and have yet to use a scope with worse optics and accuracy. About to remove it and go with open sights. Can't be any less accurate!!

    What others should know: Cocking spring is Extremely stout. Found I had to plant the butt on the ground to fully cock the action after several shots. I know the spring is stout to achieve the FPS, so there are trade offs. Solid gun basically; barrel etc is nicely finished; stock has hair/fiber inclusions in finish, but hey, it's a $100 gun!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Zack from USA on 2012-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: For a gun that costs less than $150, I couldn't ask for more. The stock is gorgeous. The accuracy is great once you adapt to the crossman trigger. The included scope has proved accurate. Surprisingly, Ive only had to sight it in once. I have had mine for two years and it still shoots consistently. This gun represents an excellent value for the money.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger, that's it.

    What others should know: Of course the advertised 1200 fps is only achieved with light weight, lead-free pellets.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2012-06-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: It is a solid air gun in every sense. It is accurate and durable. I have had no problems with it. While the price for this gun is very low, It still preforms very well.

    Things I would have changed: It is a little heavy, but that is the price of a full wood stock. The trigger is sufficient. Sufficient is, however, what one hopes to get when paying this little.

    What others should know: If you are looking for a spring gun that can handle whatever you throw at it, and does not break the bank, this gun will do. Do not expect it to beat a more expensive gun though.

  • 123 Next
Navigation