Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Daisy Avanti 747 Triumph Match reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2009-12-08 11:39:24

    Things I liked:Accurate, easy to load, easy to cock. I could shoot this gun all day. It's fun to use. It's a gun with few faults that doesn't ask you to make up for it's problems. If you are considering the gun, buy it, you will not be sorry. You have to spend a lot more to get a better target pistol.
    Things I would have changed:The back side of the grip is smooth and very slick. Some people might want to use a loose hold where this slickness would cause the gun to be unstable. It should be possible to checker this area of the grip. Anything else I would change would add to the price, like a better trigger, grip, sights or a metal bolt. At this price all these parts work. There's nothing functionally wrong with any of this. All are perfectly fine and you can shoot the center out of your targets.
    What others should know:It's a single stroke with little power. It's perfect for 10 meter target or accurate plinking. As a package I like it better than the Gamo. I hate the overlever cocking on the Gamo, but YMMV. The Gamo has a much better grip and rear sight. The triggers are very different. The Gamo has a lot of creep that I don't feel in the 747. Bolt loading on the 747 is more convenient.
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2013-10-14 10:25:14

    Things I liked:Sights are good, accuracy is excellent. Balance and feel in the hand are good.
    Things I would have changed:Have had experience with 3 of these within the last year. All three started to leak before the end of the first tin of pellets. Sending them back to Daisy would result in a gun that worked for a short while, then begin to leak again. Daisy needs to redesign the valve on these guns.
    What others should know:Based on my experience, I cannot recommend this pistol.
    Sort by:
    • 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2014-06-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I am a 72 year old with arthritic hands. The side lever is easy to cock versus the amount of effort it takes to cock normal breakbarrel pistols. It's easy to load the pellets and very accurate once the pistol is sighted in. The rear sight is adjustable for wind age and elevation. The trigger is adjustable down to 1 pound, which is where I have adjusted it. The target grip is nice and makes targeting easier.
      Things I would have changed:I have a Beeman p17 with fiber optic sights. I don't mind the fact that the sights on the Daisy are plastic , but it has taken me a while to get use to them. First, the sights are black-- no dots. Second, the rear sight has a wide notch which makes sighting more difficult for me. The Beeman with the fiber optic sights give me a much better sight picture and sight acquisition. I am beginning to shoot similar groups with each pistol. It takes practice. The price seem high. The Beeman P17 was $40.00 and the pistol was $200.00. I have as good results with the Beeman as I do with the Daisy. I still like this pistol and was willing to spend the extra money because of its uniqueness.
      What others should know:For me, the pistol is a bit heavy. because of the weight and large target grip. It takes a certain size hand to be able to handle it in a freestanding stance. People with smaller hands may need to use a shooting bag to be able to gain the best accuracy. Of course, that takes the "competition" element out of shooting the pistol.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By edward from USA on 2014-05-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice and hefty piece, perfect for 10 meter or 15 meter shooting in my back yard, using Gamo trap. Perfect combo for a great time, for an old cuss like me. Great sights, great trigger, great accuracy. What else could you want?
      Things I would have changed:I hate those silly thumb rests that some pistols have, such as this one. I took them off and replaced them with smooth stocks, so I can shoot left or right handed. Those thumb rests, obviously are for people who don't practice with but one hand. My forty four years background in law enforcement has led to the habit of shooting with both hands, so I ordered a pair of left handed grips and replaced the thumb rest side with the smooth grip.
      What others should know:I have the 717 and 747. I can't tell any difference in the accuracy of these two pistols. Probably just my level of skill.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2014-05-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate and quiet. I set up a 10 meter range in my attic and can regularly hit empty 44 Magnum case "silhouettes", without waking my kids up. I also like the simple 1 pump operation.
      Things I would have changed:I would feel better if the sights were not plastic. The plastic grips feel cheap...because they are. I plan on making wood grip panels.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Neil from USA on 2014-05-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Seems to be accurate and dependable.
      Things I would have changed:A little large and bulky for small hands.
      What others should know:I bought this for my 11 year old grand daughters birthday. She uses it for target and competition. She loves it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ronald Wilkin from USA on 2014-04-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:extremely accurate great vtrigger
      Things I would have changed:the plastic bolt
      What others should know:You will have a hard time finding a scope mount for this pistol.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Stuart from USA on 2014-04-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I found this pistol to be easy to sight in. It's heft and feel are great. It's very accurate and consistent. It arrived from Pyramid several days earlier than when they predicted it would be back in stock. It is remarkably quiet.
      Things I would have changed:A metal bolt would have been a nicer touch but the plastic bolt works just fine. For such an accurate and well designed pistol, it would benefit from some higher quality parts to enhance its finish and feel. These are cosmetic things and not functional deficiencies.
      What others should know:If you want an accurate pistol at a good price, I'd recommend this one. Since getting it, I have found it hard to put down. It is a real pleasure to shoot. Get one!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Douglas from USA on 2013-12-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate right out of the box. Ease of use. A great pistol for the price.
      Things I would have changed:Lighten up the trigger even more. Trigger pull is the reason that people bite the bullet and go with a $6-700 Baikal or better.
      What others should know:You may need to apply Loc-Tite to the threads of the cocking arm adjusting nut to keep it from backing off and affecting the arm adjustment. I did so and it has stayed where it belongs ever since.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jacob from USA on 2013-11-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the simple design, balance, low price, low noise, and great accuracy that this pistol offers. Incredible value for the money.
      Things I would have changed:The plastic rear sight is a little awkward to adjust windage--seemed to get to a certain spot and wiggle a little bit. After fooling with it for a while, the problem seemed to disappear. The sight is not moving anymore, but I think Daisy should have put on a better rear sight.
      What others should know:This pistol is addictive! It's just what I wanted: an entry level 10 meter pistol that is super accurate and fun to shoot without breaking the bank. I also like the fact that I don't have to mess with shaping the grips like higher-priced pistols require. I'm in the basement with this pistol almost every night. It seems to especially like JSB Match Diablo light weight 7.72 gr. 4.5 mm pellets. I made the mistake of buying a bunch of cheaper Gamo pellets that shot all over the place, but then again maybe it's just this particular gun... This pistol will make you smile! Thanks Pyramyd Air!
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jim from USA on 2013-10-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Sights are good, accuracy is excellent. Balance and feel in the hand are good.
      Things I would have changed:Have had experience with 3 of these within the last year. All three started to leak before the end of the first tin of pellets. Sending them back to Daisy would result in a gun that worked for a short while, then begin to leak again. Daisy needs to redesign the valve on these guns.
      What others should know:Based on my experience, I cannot recommend this pistol.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By scolest from USA on 2013-10-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Overall feel in the hand is great. Very substantial. Trigger was great out of the box for me.
      Things I would have changed:Plastic bolt and bolt slide seems out of place. The plastic area behind the breech looked like it was beginning to split. This whole part of the gun needs to be higher quality.
      What others should know:Despite applying all the standard fixes mentioned on the internet quite carefully, mine wouldn't hold air. It was intermittent, but after a week I decided it wasn't going to get better so I returned it. I didn't replace due to issues above. I was disappointed though - this was a gun I really wanted to love.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2013-07-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy is very good right out of the box! Nice feel to the hand when gripping the pistol. It is not heavy so easy to stay on target for a while if need be. Side handle operates fine.
      Things I would have changed:The stock barrel sights are weak. That is, it is black on black. No white dot system or even a white front sight. The sights could use an improvement BIG time. They work yes, but fast acquisition of sights is slow especially at dusk. The grip does feel a little plastic, so, if I were going to improve this pistol, I would install better sights and a better grip.
      What others should know:The noise level is minimal when fired. So, if you are shooting it in the city limits this is one model to consider.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dan from USA on 2013-07-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Such an a great & affordable target pistol, what's not to like? Amazing accuracy & consistency, crisp & predictable trigger, good target sights & excellent overall build quality.
      Things I would have changed:I'd have to nit pick to find something to change because everything is functional & more than adequate(many things are excellent)for the price point. With that said I'd love to have a metal rear sight, metal bolt & wood grips(if they included the thumb shelf).
      What others should know:Clean the barrel before you start shooting & again after a couple hundred shots. If your 747 is like mine was, it will take couple of hundred shots for the excess lube to blow out of the valve.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By iantm from USA on 2013-07-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Really accurate, this gun doesn't lie. If you're missing the target it isn't the gun, just keep practicing. Nice heft and balance. Easy & fun to use. I like the single-pump action vs. a multi pump — keeps it simple and consistent.
      Things I would have changed:The plastic grips are fine. But I am still getting wood grips because I like the look and feel better. They are also a bit big.
      What others should know:You'll probably need to adjust the sights. It's not a really "powerful" gun (with wadcutters it often doesn't puncture a plastic water bottle @ 30m — maybe with pointed heads it would) but if that's what you're looking for this isn't the gun you want. If you just want to hit targets, you won't be disappointed.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2013-07-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Mega quiet. Trigger is nice. Easy to cock.
      Things I would have changed:Grips, although comfortable really should be wood for the price point. The gun needs to be blued rather an powder coated. Plastic bolt needs to go more then anything else. The price needs to be reeled back a bit. Although I do think the price is OK, they would have a real winner if they just improved a few things.
      What others should know:Upon getting the 747, I immediately cleaned the barrel per Daisy's recommendation and then proceeded to run about 75 pellets through it. I tried four pellets; H&N match and finale match pistol, RWS R-10 match and Crosman premiers. All were fairly accurate but the HN finale match was the only consistant pellet followed by the Crosman Premiers. The bolt was really fiddly and stiff but worked in by about the 50th shot. The plastic sights really aren't as bad as people complain. Really they just need be more visible, maybe a tru-glow or white dot would be fine. They need to bump the FPS by about 50 so that wadcutters punch a clean hole. Overall I really do like this gun, its easy to loose hours shooting this gun. I have shot it indoors with a silent trap and it is the perfect indoor gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dennis from USA on 2013-06-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate Easy to use
      Things I would have changed:Grip , I could not find a comfortable hold ,To big and chunky for small hands
      What others should know:I like this pistol ,just could not get comfortable with the grip Its a little nose heavy
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Charles from USA on 2013-06-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fantastic gun for the $...nothing touches it in this price range.I have shot several 48's with it at 10m,a 50 is just around the corner!smooth and accurate,you will be impressed.this gun actually out shoots my rim fire target pistols at 10m.it likes light pellets 7-7.5 grains.the cross man match and mysterklugen work great.
      Things I would have changed:The plastic rear sight is my only gripe...it works just fine btw.just wish it was metal.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Val from USA on 2013-05-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, ease of operation, heft and feel, good trigger.
      Things I would have changed:Adjustable sights are plastic but work o.k.
      What others should know:Capable of very good accuracy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2013-04-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Insane Accuracy. Shoot this from a bench rest and you'll discover the true beauty of this pistol. Loading is very quick and easy. I love the bolt action paired with the smooth, easy to operate side pump. You can shoot it all day.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger definitely isn't the best for a match pistol, but it is adjustable and on the lowest setting its ok.
      What others should know:yes it has some plastic parts, but mine has held up just fine for 2000+ shots so far. You will need to lubricate and make adjustments down the line which are easy and in the manual. Makes a great first target air pistol.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Hellhound from USA on 2013-01-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate, easy to pump the side lever and load. Good gun for an indoor shooting range.
      Things I would have changed:This gun should have wood grips and the sights updated to fiber optic.
      What others should know:Worked good out of the box. Very accurate. Powerful enough for it's intended purpose as a target gun, not powerful enough for hunting or pest control unless the pest is a bug.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Dead eye Vic from USA on 2013-01-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have had this gun for 35 years and it has performed flawlessly. I don't use it a lot, but it is accurate and pretty solidly put together. This is a workhorse and a good practice gun. This gun is quiet and well suited for back yard shooting. I enjoy this gun.
      Things I would have changed:Plastic grips could be wood, but they are comfortable. More metal parts (but would make it cost more).
      What others should know:It looks a l ittle tinny, but it is durable. Just keep the seals oiled and it should last a long time like mine. It shoots tight groups, and it is not fussy for pellets. I shoot Crosman Match and Premiers with good groups and Diablo Basics with good results too.
    • 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top