Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Daisy Avanti 747 Triumph Match reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By cory from USA on 2014-09-10 22:49:25

    Things I liked:accuracy, metal construction mostly, good heft, easy one pump, quite enough for a library LOL, this 747 will make even cheap pellets accurate, or better then your experience with bad pellets in other guns, the best cheapest pellet was rws basics 7.0gr, rws hobby 7.0gr, beeman pointed 8.53gr, crosman pointed 7.4gr, crosman heavies 10.5gr but may be a bit to tight for the bolt to push in, use gamo ts 10.5gr smaller head and skirt. most energy being about 2.7 ft/lbs with gamo ts, so it loves heavy pellets that fit good, they are good to 15 yards, so go lighter pellets for 25 yards if tin can shooting
    Things I would have changed:maybe make cross bolt of metal, but plastic one works good any way, other then that it is made for competition
    What others should know:the 747, 717 are hall of fame air pistols, i have used them for decades. 717 is a standard rifled barrel and non adjustable two stage trigger, 747 is a lothar walther barrel and single stage adjustable trigger and ouning both i can shoot them just as good, maybe its a slight advantage for the 747 for some but not to much, but depends on the persons trigger control. sand bag bench for shure 1/2 inch groups and 1/4 inch group potential at 10 meters, this gun can litteraly pick off flies at 10 meters (33ft) riffled barrel is tight and mostly for wad cutter pellets so be careful not to force tight pellets into breach and test the fit, some fit good and some will be a problem. h and n competition 5.25gr pellets do around 460 fps, crosman ssp hollow point 4.0gr do 500 fps, rws hobby 7.0gr do about 400 fps, gamo ts 10.5gr pellets fit very well and do 335 fps, i tryed kodiaks and barracuda pellets wich are premium quality but are a bit to tight for this barrel.
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2013-10-14 10:25:14

    Things I liked:Sights are good, accuracy is excellent. Balance and feel in the hand are good.
    Things I would have changed:Have had experience with 3 of these within the last year. All three started to leak before the end of the first tin of pellets. Sending them back to Daisy would result in a gun that worked for a short while, then begin to leak again. Daisy needs to redesign the valve on these guns.
    What others should know:Based on my experience, I cannot recommend this pistol.
    Sort by:
    • 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By cory from USA on 2014-09-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:accuracy, metal construction mostly, good heft, easy one pump, quite enough for a library LOL, this 747 will make even cheap pellets accurate, or better then your experience with bad pellets in other guns, the best cheapest pellet was rws basics 7.0gr, rws hobby 7.0gr, beeman pointed 8.53gr, crosman pointed 7.4gr, crosman heavies 10.5gr but may be a bit to tight for the bolt to push in, use gamo ts 10.5gr smaller head and skirt. most energy being about 2.7 ft/lbs with gamo ts, so it loves heavy pellets that fit good, they are good to 15 yards, so go lighter pellets for 25 yards if tin can shooting
      Things I would have changed:maybe make cross bolt of metal, but plastic one works good any way, other then that it is made for competition
      What others should know:the 747, 717 are hall of fame air pistols, i have used them for decades. 717 is a standard rifled barrel and non adjustable two stage trigger, 747 is a lothar walther barrel and single stage adjustable trigger and ouning both i can shoot them just as good, maybe its a slight advantage for the 747 for some but not to much, but depends on the persons trigger control. sand bag bench for shure 1/2 inch groups and 1/4 inch group potential at 10 meters, this gun can litteraly pick off flies at 10 meters (33ft) riffled barrel is tight and mostly for wad cutter pellets so be careful not to force tight pellets into breach and test the fit, some fit good and some will be a problem. h and n competition 5.25gr pellets do around 460 fps, crosman ssp hollow point 4.0gr do 500 fps, rws hobby 7.0gr do about 400 fps, gamo ts 10.5gr pellets fit very well and do 335 fps, i tryed kodiaks and barracuda pellets wich are premium quality but are a bit to tight for this barrel.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2014-07-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Great quality. Easy to adjust sights. Shoots consistent once the sights are aligned. Affordable price point.
      Things I would have changed:Needs to be offered with left hand grips already on the airgun. Having to spend about $12 extra does not break the bank, but there is always a premium with guns and left handed persons.
      What others should know:Great gun, great price, and Pyramyd Air got it to me in a very short time frame. Very happy with purchase, will work with Pyramyd Air again.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2014-06-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I am a 72 year old with arthritic hands. The side lever is easy to cock versus the amount of effort it takes to cock normal breakbarrel pistols. It's easy to load the pellets and very accurate once the pistol is sighted in. The rear sight is adjustable for wind age and elevation. The trigger is adjustable down to 1 pound, which is where I have adjusted it. The target grip is nice and makes targeting easier.
      Things I would have changed:I have a Beeman p17 with fiber optic sights. I don't mind the fact that the sights on the Daisy are plastic , but it has taken me a while to get use to them. First, the sights are black-- no dots. Second, the rear sight has a wide notch which makes sighting more difficult for me. The Beeman with the fiber optic sights give me a much better sight picture and sight acquisition. I am beginning to shoot similar groups with each pistol. It takes practice. The price seem high. The Beeman P17 was $40.00 and the pistol was $200.00. I have as good results with the Beeman as I do with the Daisy. I still like this pistol and was willing to spend the extra money because of its uniqueness.
      What others should know:For me, the pistol is a bit heavy. because of the weight and large target grip. It takes a certain size hand to be able to handle it in a freestanding stance. People with smaller hands may need to use a shooting bag to be able to gain the best accuracy. Of course, that takes the "competition" element out of shooting the pistol.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By edward from USA on 2014-05-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice and hefty piece, perfect for 10 meter or 15 meter shooting in my back yard, using Gamo trap. Perfect combo for a great time, for an old cuss like me. Great sights, great trigger, great accuracy. What else could you want?
      Things I would have changed:I hate those silly thumb rests that some pistols have, such as this one. I took them off and replaced them with smooth stocks, so I can shoot left or right handed. Those thumb rests, obviously are for people who don't practice with but one hand. My forty four years background in law enforcement has led to the habit of shooting with both hands, so I ordered a pair of left handed grips and replaced the thumb rest side with the smooth grip.
      What others should know:I have the 717 and 747. I can't tell any difference in the accuracy of these two pistols. Probably just my level of skill.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2014-05-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate and quiet. I set up a 10 meter range in my attic and can regularly hit empty 44 Magnum case "silhouettes", without waking my kids up. I also like the simple 1 pump operation.
      Things I would have changed:I would feel better if the sights were not plastic. The plastic grips feel cheap...because they are. I plan on making wood grip panels.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Neil from USA on 2014-05-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Seems to be accurate and dependable.
      Things I would have changed:A little large and bulky for small hands.
      What others should know:I bought this for my 11 year old grand daughters birthday. She uses it for target and competition. She loves it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ronald Wilkin from USA on 2014-04-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:extremely accurate great vtrigger
      Things I would have changed:the plastic bolt
      What others should know:You will have a hard time finding a scope mount for this pistol.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Stuart from USA on 2014-04-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I found this pistol to be easy to sight in. It's heft and feel are great. It's very accurate and consistent. It arrived from Pyramid several days earlier than when they predicted it would be back in stock. It is remarkably quiet.
      Things I would have changed:A metal bolt would have been a nicer touch but the plastic bolt works just fine. For such an accurate and well designed pistol, it would benefit from some higher quality parts to enhance its finish and feel. These are cosmetic things and not functional deficiencies.
      What others should know:If you want an accurate pistol at a good price, I'd recommend this one. Since getting it, I have found it hard to put down. It is a real pleasure to shoot. Get one!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By DOUGLAS from USA on 2013-12-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate right out of the box. Ease of use. A great pistol for the price.
      Things I would have changed:Lighten up the trigger even more. Trigger pull is the reason that people bite the bullet and go with a $6-700 Baikal or better.
      What others should know:You may need to apply Loc-Tite to the threads of the cocking arm adjusting nut to keep it from backing off and affecting the arm adjustment. I did so and it has stayed where it belongs ever since.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jacob from USA on 2013-11-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the simple design, balance, low price, low noise, and great accuracy that this pistol offers. Incredible value for the money.
      Things I would have changed:The plastic rear sight is a little awkward to adjust windage--seemed to get to a certain spot and wiggle a little bit. After fooling with it for a while, the problem seemed to disappear. The sight is not moving anymore, but I think Daisy should have put on a better rear sight.
      What others should know:This pistol is addictive! It's just what I wanted: an entry level 10 meter pistol that is super accurate and fun to shoot without breaking the bank. I also like the fact that I don't have to mess with shaping the grips like higher-priced pistols require. I'm in the basement with this pistol almost every night. It seems to especially like JSB Match Diablo light weight 7.72 gr. 4.5 mm pellets. I made the mistake of buying a bunch of cheaper Gamo pellets that shot all over the place, but then again maybe it's just this particular gun... This pistol will make you smile! Thanks Pyramyd Air!
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jim from USA on 2013-10-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Sights are good, accuracy is excellent. Balance and feel in the hand are good.
      Things I would have changed:Have had experience with 3 of these within the last year. All three started to leak before the end of the first tin of pellets. Sending them back to Daisy would result in a gun that worked for a short while, then begin to leak again. Daisy needs to redesign the valve on these guns.
      What others should know:Based on my experience, I cannot recommend this pistol.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By scolest from USA on 2013-10-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Overall feel in the hand is great. Very substantial. Trigger was great out of the box for me.
      Things I would have changed:Plastic bolt and bolt slide seems out of place. The plastic area behind the breech looked like it was beginning to split. This whole part of the gun needs to be higher quality.
      What others should know:Despite applying all the standard fixes mentioned on the internet quite carefully, mine wouldn't hold air. It was intermittent, but after a week I decided it wasn't going to get better so I returned it. I didn't replace due to issues above. I was disappointed though - this was a gun I really wanted to love.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2013-07-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy is very good right out of the box! Nice feel to the hand when gripping the pistol. It is not heavy so easy to stay on target for a while if need be. Side handle operates fine.
      Things I would have changed:The stock barrel sights are weak. That is, it is black on black. No white dot system or even a white front sight. The sights could use an improvement BIG time. They work yes, but fast acquisition of sights is slow especially at dusk. The grip does feel a little plastic, so, if I were going to improve this pistol, I would install better sights and a better grip.
      What others should know:The noise level is minimal when fired. So, if you are shooting it in the city limits this is one model to consider.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dan from USA on 2013-07-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Such an a great & affordable target pistol, what's not to like? Amazing accuracy & consistency, crisp & predictable trigger, good target sights & excellent overall build quality.
      Things I would have changed:I'd have to nit pick to find something to change because everything is functional & more than adequate(many things are excellent)for the price point. With that said I'd love to have a metal rear sight, metal bolt & wood grips(if they included the thumb shelf).
      What others should know:Clean the barrel before you start shooting & again after a couple hundred shots. If your 747 is like mine was, it will take couple of hundred shots for the excess lube to blow out of the valve.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By iantm from USA on 2013-07-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Really accurate, this gun doesn't lie. If you're missing the target it isn't the gun, just keep practicing. Nice heft and balance. Easy & fun to use. I like the single-pump action vs. a multi pump — keeps it simple and consistent.
      Things I would have changed:The plastic grips are fine. But I am still getting wood grips because I like the look and feel better. They are also a bit big.
      What others should know:You'll probably need to adjust the sights. It's not a really "powerful" gun (with wadcutters it often doesn't puncture a plastic water bottle @ 30m — maybe with pointed heads it would) but if that's what you're looking for this isn't the gun you want. If you just want to hit targets, you won't be disappointed.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2013-07-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Mega quiet. Trigger is nice. Easy to cock.
      Things I would have changed:Grips, although comfortable really should be wood for the price point. The gun needs to be blued rather an powder coated. Plastic bolt needs to go more then anything else. The price needs to be reeled back a bit. Although I do think the price is OK, they would have a real winner if they just improved a few things.
      What others should know:Upon getting the 747, I immediately cleaned the barrel per Daisy's recommendation and then proceeded to run about 75 pellets through it. I tried four pellets; H&N match and finale match pistol, RWS R-10 match and Crosman premiers. All were fairly accurate but the HN finale match was the only consistant pellet followed by the Crosman Premiers. The bolt was really fiddly and stiff but worked in by about the 50th shot. The plastic sights really aren't as bad as people complain. Really they just need be more visible, maybe a tru-glow or white dot would be fine. They need to bump the FPS by about 50 so that wadcutters punch a clean hole. Overall I really do like this gun, its easy to loose hours shooting this gun. I have shot it indoors with a silent trap and it is the perfect indoor gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dennis from USA on 2013-06-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate Easy to use
      Things I would have changed:Grip , I could not find a comfortable hold ,To big and chunky for small hands
      What others should know:I like this pistol ,just could not get comfortable with the grip Its a little nose heavy
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Charles from USA on 2013-06-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fantastic gun for the $...nothing touches it in this price range.I have shot several 48's with it at 10m,a 50 is just around the corner!smooth and accurate,you will be impressed.this gun actually out shoots my rim fire target pistols at 10m.it likes light pellets 7-7.5 grains.the cross man match and mysterklugen work great.
      Things I would have changed:The plastic rear sight is my only gripe...it works just fine btw.just wish it was metal.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Val from USA on 2013-05-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, ease of operation, heft and feel, good trigger.
      Things I would have changed:Adjustable sights are plastic but work o.k.
      What others should know:Capable of very good accuracy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2013-04-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Insane Accuracy. Shoot this from a bench rest and you'll discover the true beauty of this pistol. Loading is very quick and easy. I love the bolt action paired with the smooth, easy to operate side pump. You can shoot it all day.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger definitely isn't the best for a match pistol, but it is adjustable and on the lowest setting its ok.
      What others should know:yes it has some plastic parts, but mine has held up just fine for 2000+ shots so far. You will need to lubricate and make adjustments down the line which are easy and in the manual. Makes a great first target air pistol.
    • 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top