Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Daisy Avanti 853 reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Customer from USA on 2007-12-20 21:36:05

    Things I liked:Very simple to use, very reliable. This is my gun of choice for anyone who competes in 10 meter air rifle competitions. Gas powered rifles have a tendency to have mechanical errors, which can cause you to lose a competition. With the Avanti 853, you don't have to worry about anything.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing. One pump, one shot, it's great.
    What others should know:This rifle will definately get you medals in a competition, but I wouldnt recommend it for shooting small game.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By JOSEPH from USA on 2013-05-18 18:59:27

    Things I liked:GOOD FEEL, NO RECOIL
    Things I would have changed:THIS GUN NEEDS MORE POWER. AT 30 FT. IT BEARLY PENETRATES CARD STOCK PAPER. NOT AS ACCURATE AS THE MANUF. WOULD LIKE YOU TO BELIEVE. I HAVE OLD EYES. EQUIP WITH A CP SCOPE. MAYBE THAT'S MY PROBLEM
    What others should know:OLD EYES CANNOT SEE THRU THE PEEP SIGHTS, HAD HOPED TO HAVE A GUN THAT WAS RIGHT ON ACCURATE.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Aaron from USA on 2014-03-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought two of these for my 9 and 11 year old daughters to shoot 10 meter. They are consistently in the top of their class. The guns are very accurate. They are a little hard for them to cock but they are getting used to it. The sights are good for 10 meter, and the sling is adequate. Overall they are good guns. Though smallbore rifles would be cheaper to purchase, try finding ammo for those right now.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jeff from USA on 2014-01-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Just about everything! It's a perfect rifle to shoot at 10m indoors.
      Things I would have changed:I'm might have to tweak the trigger after it's all broken in. So far it's still stiff and creepy, but off a rest @ 10m it will shoot 1/4" groups.
      What others should know:The rifle is not hold sensitive like a lot of springers. There's no co2 cartridges to deal with. Obviously there's none of the filling hassles of a pcp. You don't need an airgun rated scope if you decide to put glass on it. I'm currently running a Simmons 22 Mag 3x9x32AO from an old rimfire I had sitting around, and it's perfect! I was looking at several other models and the CS rep @ PA said for what I do, the Avanti 853 would be perfect. He was right. I'm really happy with my purchase from PA.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dennis from USA on 2013-12-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate,light weight,adjustable stock, Lothar Walther barrel,easy to rebuild,parts are cheap from Daisy,changeable front sight inserts,modifiable trigger and zero recoil.
      Things I would have changed:A smaller diameter hole for the rear diopter sight. That's it.
      What others should know:If you really want to teach your kids the fine art of target shooting,this is it. Kids get frustrated very easily with a springer rifle. They won't with this.After the first ten shots,you'll see a big smile.I'm shooting 47 years and this thing is highly,highly accurate.This is my go to gun.I own more expensive match rifles but I grab this to keep the wear off the others.I bought mine used.It didn't need a rebuild but did it anyway.Called Daisy,bought the rebuild kit and the trigger group from the 753.You won't have to go crazy trying to modify the original trigger if you buy the 753 group.Everything was cheap.The rifle shoots 510-515 FPS with 7.0 grain pellets.If you give it 2 or 3 half pumps before closing the pump arm you'll get an extra 40-50 FPS.Good rifle.I like it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By george from USA on 2013-12-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:accuracy, value for the money and reliability
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:no
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By JOSEPH from USA on 2013-05-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:GOOD FEEL, NO RECOIL
      Things I would have changed:THIS GUN NEEDS MORE POWER. AT 30 FT. IT BEARLY PENETRATES CARD STOCK PAPER. NOT AS ACCURATE AS THE MANUF. WOULD LIKE YOU TO BELIEVE. I HAVE OLD EYES. EQUIP WITH A CP SCOPE. MAYBE THAT'S MY PROBLEM
      What others should know:OLD EYES CANNOT SEE THRU THE PEEP SIGHTS, HAD HOPED TO HAVE A GUN THAT WAS RIGHT ON ACCURATE.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Hellhound from USA on 2013-01-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Extremely accurate! Single stroke pneumatic with no recoil. Long pump lever with a handle for a good grip just like the Daisy 880 I had in 1972. easy to load. Almost all metal and wood with few plastic parts. Doesn't look or feel like a toy. Great for an indoor shooting range.
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing.
      What others should know:This is my favorite rifle for target shooting in the basement. It's accuracy never fails to impress. I did replace the original front sight with the fiber optic sight and barrel weight from the Daisy Powerline 953 for better visibility indoors. This is an excellent target gun, it was never designed for hunting or pest control, it isn't powerful enough for that unless the pest is a large spider crawling across the basement floor. The accuracy of this rifle does make it a good bug buster!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By david from USA on 2012-12-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The price. The gun is very straight forward in its functioning. It is very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:It really needs a better trigger. I have been able to live with the trigger but at times must be very patient because it does not produce consistent results. A crisp, light trigger would make this a world class target gun.
      What others should know:An adult shooter should consider the 753.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2012-11-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Incredible accuracy, light weight, quiet, and easy to shoot and cock allowing you to shoot for as long as you want without fatigue.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing that I can think of.
      What others should know:This rifle is incredbly accurate at its designed range. I literally shot 4 pellets through the same hole at 10 meters. At first I thought I was hallucinating, so I deliberately shot the fifth shot a bit higher, to prove to myself that I was shooting through the same hole. Unbelievable. Even at 10 meters, an expensive break barrel can't come close to this. My Marauder can't do this either. I love this gun!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kris from USA on 2012-10-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Light, easy to charge, freakishly accurate with stock sights, consistent and reliable shot cycle. Seals are available at the hardware store. All other parts are very reasonably priced from Daisy.
      Things I would have changed:Make the PilkGun trigger mod a factory option.
      What others should know:My club bought a dozen of these for a veterans shooting league. I got two for my kids...but I use them more often. I did the PilkGun trigger mod on all the units. Vets and kids can cock them. The LOP is a little long for kid-sized off-hand shooting. For paper punching or light knock down targets this is the most fun you can have at the least cost. Rifles can be scoped, but the factory open sights are superb even for my eyes out to 35 yards.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Susan from USA on 2012-07-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:light weight, accurate, no kick, wood stock
      Things I would have changed:The lever could be easier to cock
      What others should know:Thus far, the adults in the family have been the only ones to shoot the gun. Our grand-son will practice will shoot it and use it in 4-H competitions. The adults like the feel and accuracy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2012-07-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is the most accurate air rifle I've shot to date. It is easy to dial-in and use, and the target sights are a real treat for someone like me who is new to bullseye-specific shooting. It's quiet, and the velocity is just right to cut nice holes in target paper, but stops cold on my ballistic nylon backstop in my 10M attic range.
      Things I would have changed:Finishing details could use improvement; I'm going to have to file off some sharp edges here and there. That should have been done at the factory. A crisp target-worthy trigger would be nice, but I realize that would place this gun well above its current price point.
      What others should know:So far I've only shot the RWS Basic Diabolo at NRA TQ-3 targets at 25 feet, and consistently punch out the 10-ring with cloverleaf-shaped holes from three-shot groups from a sandbag rest. I used 2 of the stock spacers to lengthen the pull to 13.5 inches, which works well for me, a 6'3" man with long arms. The non-spaced 12" LOP would work well for young and small framed shooters as well. So far, I am very happy with this gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ahkell from USA on 2012-05-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Extreme accuracy. Stock inserts lets me aim and fire without any problem, and I am not a small guy. Easy cocking, good trigger, great choice of front sight inserts. Quiet as can be. I made a 10 meter range in my basement. It is that quiet.
      Things I would have changed:Nuttin
      What others should know:I've fired over 4500 pellets with this rifle, and I still reach for it every day. It is really is a wonderful rifle. I can't recommend it enough.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ahkell from USA on 2012-05-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate, adjustable stock, good sights, sling for military shooting.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. I like it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ahkell from USA on 2012-04-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A superbly accurate target rifle. If you miss, it's either adjust the sight or adjust your shooting technique.
      Things I would have changed:A hood on the rear sight.
      What others should know:I bore sighted with my handy fiber optic bore sighter and then dialed in at 10 m secured in a gun vise. Hand picked 10 good H&N wadcutters. The rifle cut center on every shot. That's pretty darn good...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ahkell from USA on 2012-04-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I can shoot this gun all day long. It is light,powerful and extremely accurate. I shoot the 853 as much as a Winchester 94.
      Things I would have changed:Loading could be a little easier, but then I have big fingers.
      What others should know:853 is a tight, rock solid little target gun that won't cost an arm and a leg. It's a really great gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By GitRdun from USA on 2012-02-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Weight, accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:Make an adult size gun.
      What others should know:Very accurate. I got this for CMP shooting and it was exactly what I needed. The low velocity kept the noise down for indoor shooting without sacrificing any accuracy. Great for young shooters as well since it is small framed and light weight. Also the peep sights are very crisp and easy to adjust.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-05-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate
      Things I would have changed:Sling is useless, different style stock
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By rangerfire from USA on 2011-04-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very pleased so far, accurate and easy to use
      Things I would have changed:Lighter trigger
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2010-11-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Upon arrival, fired several Beeman quick cleaning pellets through the bore. At 10 Meters off a bench, fired 3 (three) pellets in a group that would be covered with a Quarter. After firing a couple more Beeman cleaning pellets, I fired for a group. Fired 5 rounds that could be covered with a Nickle. After 30 total pellets, 5 round group could be covered with a dime. All other pellets were hitting 10s and 9s. Targets were NRA AR-5/10, 10 Meter targets.
      Things I would have changed:Early on, the trigger was dodgy, and very rough. It did smooth out after a while. Still not very smooth, breaking at varying trigger pull pressures. The front sight Globes included with the M853, upon closer inspection, were very CRUDE in manufacture! Inside globe used for sight picture was NOT round, but kind of an oval bearing left and right. Immediately get rid of the front sight globes. Insert precision replacements. The included Globe front sights are CRUDE in manufacture. Use available information to clean up trigger action function.
      What others should know:Use Beeman or other quick cleaning pellets, firing them through bore PRIOR to firing Match Pellets. Seems there was much oil in bore and inside pump compression chamber. Given the past history of the M853, and with the one I bought, I highly recommend this Air Rifle. Being a former Marine, and later joining another Military branch, with which having been on their National Service Rifle Team, earning Bronze 6 point medal towards Distinguished, and before that involved in Army J.R.O.T.C. Small Bore Rifle Teams, I really like this Air Rifle. Thank you to Pyramyd Air for a smooth transaction.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2010-10-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this gun is very accurate. i shoot thumb tacks from 10m/33ft all the time. its the best air rifle you can get for the money. its a shame that there are not many other companies that make a rifle this good in this price range.
      Things I would have changed:the trigger pull is heavy and not very smooth. it took me a little while to get used to the stiff trigger but when i did, it shot like a champ. there are a few trigger modifications that you can find online. i modified my trigger and it shoots much better
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top