Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Daisy Avanti Champion 499 reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2008-05-23 10:10:45

    Things I liked:The 499 is the world's most accurate BB gun, and has been so since it was introduced in 1976. There is no better training airgun for young children than this one.
    Things I would have changed:I wish the peep sight had more precision in the adjustments. Even the replacement sight lacks precision.
    What others should know:This is a muzzle-loading single-shot. It is not a conventional BB gun - it is for target shooting. Everyone in the vicinity must wear safety glasses because steel BBs rebound like crazy. Be sure to also buy Avanti Precision Ground Shot to use in the gun.
    1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By mark from USA on 2009-12-23 22:33:12

    Things I liked:nothing/ we have yet to shoot but the trigger pull is awful!
    Things I would have changed:I am not sure who daisy is paying to write wonderful reviews on this gun but I am aprehensive about this gun Ok maybe it can shoot a bb. I have yet to fire it being it is a xmas gift for my 10 year old. What I can comment on is the cheap workman ship and overall quality for $115 bb gun Come on are you kidding me! Cheap trigger and cocking mech and cheap sites. I will say i am disapointed at the least. I would personally return the thing if it werent for the fact that this is the programs required gun. Shame on daisy for soaking groups for this gun. FYI the bbs load down the barrel not such a great idea when you are trying to teach kids not to look down the barrel of the gun.
    What others should know:For the same money you can by much better quality and have a gun that might last more than a year. If you arent shooting with a progam that requires this gun shop around.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Tony from USA on 2014-09-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This little gun is insanely accurate. All of the sudden I think I am a trick shooter. I hit a 10mm wide washer at 30 feet, not once but every time. I can hit a 6mm airsoft bb at 20 feet. I cannot imagine being able to outshoot the gun. At 20 feet a 10 shot group bigger than 10mm is hugely disappointing.
      Things I would have changed:The forearm has a couple of tiny holes for "weights". They should be much larger to allow enough weight to matter.
      What others should know:This is not an upgraded Red Ryder. This is a handmade, specialized gun. That said, it is a great backyard shooter as well as target gun. It is far more accurate than you would ever believe a bb gun can be. I balked, like most people would at spending $130.00 on a bb gun. It has been worth every penny. Last, pay the small premium and buy the Avanti Precision Ground Shot. It is vastly superior to Crpsman and RWS BBS and noticeably better than regular Daisy BBS.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2014-08-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is one fantastic, accurate BB gun. It's like an Olympic 10 meter rifle, nearly. If ACCURACY is what you want (and who doesn't?) then get this for yourself or your kids. It's a wonderful gun for teaching good shooting habits, and it's SO REWARDING because you can hit what you aim at! This is a TARGET gun; not one to bounce cans around or break bottles...
      Things I would have changed:Not much. The wood is really nice. The sights are like Olympic rifles - diopter rear and hooded front with insert. Oh, the cocking lever is plastic, but the rest is metal and wood. The lever is no big deal, and if you didn't inspect it real close you'd never know. That's really the only thing I'd like changed, make the lever all metal.
      What others should know:I tell you, in the house, when you get the urge to just shoot and it's not possible to go outside, tape a target on an old phone book, or cardboard box with layers of paper behind it (be safe and sensible) and drop a BB down the barrel and get the satisfaction of putting a little hole in what you aimed at... I only had 20 ft distance to test inside my trailer.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Larry from USA on 2014-02-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The fit and finish were much better than I had expected. I purchased this rifle to be used as a gun safety and training rifle for my grandchildren. I received yesterday, installed the pip site and started shooting a 5 meters onto a one bull target designed for 5 meters. I first shot 5 shots all ended up between 6 and 9 oclock in the 7 and 8 ring. Not bad. I made a few minor adjustments and the rifle began shooting in the 9 and 10 ring unless I would pull a shot out a bit. I am 65 years old and I wear bifocals. I have not shot a pip site in years. After sighting the rifle in I moved to a 12 bull 5 meter target. The two bottom center targets are for sighting. I shot 10 targets, 100 shots, one shot to each bull. Out of the 100 shots there were only six that I pulled outside the black bull which is about the size of a penny. I felt that was pretty good for an old guy with bad eyes. I am looking forward to more shooting this afternoon. This is not your average bb gun. I can see that I'll need more of these in the future for the rest of the family. My granddaughter is now four and my grandson is 1, so I do have a couple of years before I'll have to share this with them.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:This is really a fun gun to shoot. I'm sure the gun shoots better than I can shoot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Angie from USA on 2014-01-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Most Accurate BB gun on the market. Easy to repair if something goes amiss. Excellent product for the money.
      Things I would have changed:There is something funcky with the barrels/muzzles or a possible increase in air pressure put out by the guns manufactured in the past few years as we are having a high frequency of breakage.
      What others should know:If you have a consistent shooter who all of a sudden has a "flyer" every once in a while. Remove the muzzle and barrel and check the black plastic very carefully for hairline cracks or breakage.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By john from USA on 2014-01-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have thoroughly enjoyed this purchase! My avanti champion is the most accurate bb gun I've ever had. It shoots better than I can. The peep sight seemed a little flimsy at first, but after several weeks of daily use, it seems up to the task well enough. I was pleased with the general fit And finish. The accuracy is amazing for a bb gun. After some concentration on my basic rifle skills, I was steadily busting aspirin tablets at 5 meters. With my average skills and 63 year old eyes, I was stunned with that improvement in marksmanship.
      Things I would have changed:The users manual could certainly be improved and expanded.. It would be nice if the sights were installed. Mine came with extra front sights, but they were all the same size. Different sizes would be nice.
      What others should know:I would recommend this purchase to my friends. Ammo wise, the copperheads were the worst. Daisy preimium zinc plated did well, but the avanti ground precision bb's were the best and well worth the difference. Eye protection is a must for shooters and bystanders, those bb's can bounce hard.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By 103David from USA on 2014-01-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I finally decided to heed Tom & Edith (because they know a lot) and ordered the 499B. Turns out they were right and it's a lot of fun, plus you don't have to completely rearrange the basement just to pop a few off while taking a break from "computer-work-at-home" land. (Put the terriers away first and don't forget the safety glasses.) From the prior reviews, there was some uncertainty on a few points; The cocking lever IS now made of metal, and I was happy to find the included adjustable target sight was also more metal than plastic. It has been reviewed as "plasticky" and I was worried it might be too delicate to take out...wherever "out" might be. But while it does have a fair amount of plastic to it, the actual metal mounting seems to be adequately durable. I do wish they had included the original "L" shaped peep sight just in case I did want to take it to the field. The enclosed (but not mounted, thank goodness) stamped-tin medallion is kind of laughable, but I save things like that to glue onto my car to confuse meter-maids. Oh, and by the way, yes, it's really, really accurate. Every bit as good as they say and a better shot than I am, and a really good trainer for basic rifle technique. Tom and Edith are right.
      Things I would have changed:After I wring it out some more, I'll try update this review, but the trigger still remains plastic and I'd rather they go all the way and replace this 2-cent plastic part with a ten-cent metal one. A previous review mentioned the wooden forearm being a bit too thick, which is true and thusly is spreading the sheet-metal "receiver" farther apart than it should be. In my opinion, while these problems should decidedly be corrected, they aren't serious enough to lower my rating. While I understand the 499B was designed for youth (smaller) shooters, I'd like to see butt extensions for adults and/or some sort of non-skid butt-pad to keep it from sliding off the shoulder or across the floor, should you lean it up someplace. Minor problems, But please, Daisy/Avanti, do correct them.
      What others should know:This is the kind of item that really addresses any obsessive-compulsive tendencies you may have. Don't even consider using anything else than the plated Avanti BBs. This is not a Copperhead friendly piece. A single 1040 count Avanti package of BBs is not enough...go for at least their "4 for 3" deal. I'm surprised at how fast I'm going through the single pack I got. By the way, the polished silver BBs are like little tracers (with a rainbow trajectory) going down range if you happen to take it to the backyard and combine sunlight with say, 30 meters instead of 5 or 10. Puts a different and more challenging meaning on the "Artillery Hold" concept. And really, don't forget the terriers AND the glasses. Them BBs really do come back quick, quick, quick.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Greg from USA on 2013-08-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I really like the accuracy of this one. I'm a horrible shot but with the rear peep site I almost feel like it's cheating! Since this is so low powered I'm using bright orange stick on targets on a Winchester target cube so I can see them clearly through the rear site. But once you get the sights aligned to the target center after about 7 shots you'll start to get BB's ricocheting back at you because of the BB's are all ready so close in the foam cube that they cause new shots to hit off of them. I bought this one because of Tom's recommendation for accurate guns and it was on the affordable end compared to most of the others. I really like this one! It's cheap, solidedly built, and fun to shoot! I never thought that I would buy a Daisy but times have changed and it's a great little gun. I've been so used to pump guns lately that for about the first fifty shots I'd always grab the for arm to pump it. But I finally got used to the lever action which was easy and nice for a change. I'm shooting dime size patterns and using just the standard Daisy zinc coated bb's.
      Things I would have changed:I'm like any other nut out there that wants crazy power! But this gun is what it is! Great accuracy, super quiet! Which makes it even more fun to shoot on my indoor range setup without worrying about my anti anything that shoots a projectile neighbors. The trigger feels like a sponge behind it, but it doesn't keep me from shooting great.
      What others should know:Not much! But when you mount the 5899 rear optics keep in mind that there are little tabs that you have to align it with to secure it down as you slide it over them. Also the paint on the tabs is kind of thick and slippery as you tighten the sights hold down screws. They seem so small that I figure you could easily over tighten them and strip the screws? I can still grap the rear sight and wiggle it off if I wanted to. But it stays on target once adjusted initially and loosened and re tightened.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Stuart from England on 2013-06-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quality build, deadly accurate and has retained that classic 'Daisy' look that appeals to all ages...my daughter is 10 and loves it, I'm 47 and as excited as her! Good feel and well set up and great value for money.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:If you want to return to your childhood and have a whole lot of target fun buy this gun..it's superb!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ejhc1 from USA on 2013-03-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The trigger is so smooth, like 2 lbs, easy to predict shot let off, the aperture sights though not high end does a very good job, cocking is also ultra light 6 lbs a child could work it.
      Things I would have changed:Daisy should apply the Avanti 499 trigger and cocking effort to its other guns, like the Red Ryder its like over 12 lbs or more so younger kids can self cock them.
      What others should know:It is true that the Avanti BBs do group tighter than the regular BBs
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2013-02-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It fits us both naturally and comfortably. The stock fore-end is shaped perfectly for a comfortable grip, and also for cocking. The pull works for both of us (I'm 5'8" and my wife is 5'3"). I'm thinking about adding some weight to the fore-end to make the gun a little barrel-heavy so it's easier to hold steady (I have a natural shake). It's a nice feature that there is a dedicated space in the fore-end stock to add weights. The trigger is light and predictable. The sights are wonderfully adjustable and precise. The fit-and-finish is excellent. It's nice that the stock is wood and is finished so it's easy to grip. Very accurate and consistent! It really helps to build confidence in new shooters, such as us.
      Things I would have changed:It has a hard time taking down big game and penetrating thick steel plates. Be warned!
      What others should know:It has been 40 years since I was last actively shooting. My wife and I decided that we'd like to get back into shooting air guns. We are so glad that our first gun is a 499! Its accuracy, ease of shooting, excellent sights and consistency really help build confidence and to have fun... shooting IS fun when you can hit what you're aiming at. And, right off the bat, we're hitting targets regularly with this gun. When we ordered it, we also bought 4 containers of the special BBs designed for this gun. They do cost more than normal BBs, but why buy such an accurate gun and use less accurate and consistent BBs? This gun is tremendous fun... I can't see how anyone could outgrow its accuracy. Did I mention that it is accurate?
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2013-01-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, easy cocking, light weight, decent sights (not top of the line) but they work well and hold their settings. Adjustable sights are nice because I have two 499's and when friends come over to shoot, we can adjust the sights of the second gun dead-on for their eyes. Oh, did I mention ACCURACY, ACCURACY or ACCURACY?! With a little practice you can hit BB sized targets every time from a rest at 5 meters!
      Things I would have changed:I have an older 499 and where the for-end wood fits into the front of the receiver, the receiver metal comes together perfectly. On the new ones, the fore-end wood is not turned down enough (too big)and this causes the receiver metal Y's open. No negative effect on performance, just unsightly. Daisy needs to adjust their stock turning tool.
      What others should know:1. Trigger has a lot of creep but the overall pull weight is light, and when you get used to it, you can tell just when it's going to break. 2. The barrel worked loose on one of mine from vibration and accuracy suffered until I noticed and tightened it (the tube screws out the end of the gun). I put a bit of releasable lock tite on the threads of both guns tubes and it hasn't happened since! I'm 62, have been all over the world hunting, and this gun is more fun to shoot than any other gun I've shot. Indoors or out! No noise-no kick-almost no expense. Just a hole in the paper exactly where you wanted it to appear. YOU WILL LOVE IT TOO!
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Ron from USA on 2012-12-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The sights were cheaply made but worked well. I loved the trigger. The stock was finished well. Cocking effort was very light and easy. Loading through the muzzle was easy.
      Things I would have changed:Daisy's claim that this is the world's most accurate BB gun might very well be true but I found accuracy to be inadequate and was the only reason I returned the gun to Pyramyd.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2012-12-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I already had one AND LOVED IT. So I ordered two more, one more for me so I could lend it out to neighbors when we have informal target shoots (so both of us can shoot at same time)-- one for my grand boys. I LIKE the sights (a bit finicky but once on--they're good), the easy cocking effort, the low power for indoor shooting, the trigger (after it breaks in a bit), and THE ACCURACY, ACCURACY, ACCURACY! Oh and one more thing...the ACCURACY. THESE ARE A MUST HAVE FOR AIR GUNNERS AND FIREARMS RIFLEMEN. They are an any time / anywhere FUN to shoot "toy!". Inside or outside, if you have around 15 feet (5 meters is 16-feet 4-inches) you can shoot and shoot and shoot--ACCURATELY---for just a few cent's. All three of the ones I've tested shoot groups inside the size of the guys head on a dime. THAT'S FUN!
      Things I would have changed:On the two new ones, the forearm wood where it fits into the receiver is milled to large in diameter, causing the lower seam of the receiver to be split open slightly where they join. Although it doesn't affect operation, it sure looks unsightly. Come on Daisy! Also...better instruction manual. Especially for novice shooters
      What others should know:For testing the two new guns, I labeled one "A" and one "B" written on a piece of masking tape. "A" shot beautifully. "B" would throw a wild shot periodically. I noticed the BBL tube was loose so tightened it "really tight" and tried again. It went wild, shots all over the target...no grouping whatsoever. I was about to send it back! Just before I did, I tried loosening the BBL tube then tightening to "secure" but not too tight! Wow! Now gun "B" shoots better groups than the other two. Right at one hole. I put a dab of white paint on the BBL tube and BBL where they join so I can tell the exact "sweet spot!" If the BBL loosens I can put it right back. So, if you get one and it's not shooting to your satisfaction, you might try varying the BBL tightness a bit. It sure cured mine.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Clifford from USA on 2012-12-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Simple. Nostalgic. Accurate. I am a double distinguished marksman, and a long range high master, yet still cannot escape this guns allure. My dad retrieved one from his brothers estate after his passing in February, having heard allll about how well it shot. Dad and I concur, and now I have one too. Dad and I live 1300 miles apart, and are now engaged in "postal match" type competition between our 499's. He and I own well over 100 pellet rifles, some of which are world class machines, yet these little Daisy BB guns make paper punching FUN!!!! AGAIN!!!! Try one and you'll be hooked. It's like having a chihuahua that hunts. Benched 12 out of 15 shots at 10 meters can be covered by a nickel... and dad's shoots BETTER than that! (BTW I'm 48, he's 77)
      Things I would have changed:No complaints. Others mentioned plastic cocking handle, mine (received Dec 2012) is metal, and the oft maligned medallion was in a baggie, letting the user decide if he/she wants it on the stock. The price is very fair for a specialty low volume item. Ordered the Ground Avanti BB's which to my suprise, contained 1050 BB's instead of the stated 500ct.
      What others should know:The actual barrel is firmly mated to a plastic BB-funnel at the muzzle, which fit the barrel shroud loosely allowing the barrel to wobble inside the gun when assembled for use, hindering accuracy. I cleaned the hidden corner where the plastic muzzle/funnel meets the forward edge of the outer barrel shroud, and built up that hidden area of the plastic muzzle piece with a few drops of super-glue, allowing it to fully cure before re-assembly. This eliminated the gap between the funnel and the shroud and now the barrel assembly (still removable) does not wobble, and great grouping became routine. The safety spring's short leg arrived too short to remain against the sear lever, so the trigger pull and re-set were erratic. This spring also holds the safety in either position, so the out of spec spring failed to keep the safety from flopping to and fro on its own. Managed to tweak the spring's geometry until all systems were a "go", and spring stayed where it belonged. Minor details. I have more than a few $1500 plus air guns, none of which could ever be as enjoyable on the same level. Less truly is more! The Daisy Avanti Champion 499 is a hoot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2012-09-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I am tickled with it.
      Things I would have changed:Vary the sizes of the front sight inserts and mark them somehow. Add more detailed instructions about the care and maintenance.
      What others should know:From a former civilian master high power shooter, it is a swell gun to learn and practice with in my opinion. It is very accurate out of the box without match grade bbs.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Renato from USA on 2012-07-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is very accurate as advertised. I bought it for my grandchildren but I have much fun shooting this as my 317 and QB78 ( a Chinese copy of the Crosman 160 CO2 rifle). At 25 ft I can consistently hit #8 and 9 of the Crosman qualification target paper.
      Things I would have changed:There is a small paper insert which says "Attention : When the muzzle cap and the inner barrel assembly are removed, Do not dry fire the gun!". This warning should be in the manual and printed in big bold letters.
      What others should know:The rifle does not come with the standard rear sight but with the Daisy 5899 precision sight. The manual says cock first then load but author B.B. Pelletier says it is safer to load first then cock. I agree with him. If you are planning to buy your kid a Red Ryder or a Model 25 I think a better investment is to buy this rifle. Although its price is more than twice that of a Red Ryder your kid will enjoy it more and he will grow with it through adulthood. The more he shoots accurately the more he will enjoy shooting. If you have an inaccurate rifle shooting just becomes a chore.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2012-07-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:If you want to go through the NRA 4 Position Rifle Qualification using a BB Gun, this is the gun you must have and the only one I'm aware of that complies with the NRA regs and has the needed accuracy in this category. Without question, the most accurate smooth bore BB Gun available. Very good Sights, even if a few plastic pieces. Cocking and Trigger smooth as silk. Good robust stock, added weight for added stability and better ergonomics.
      Things I would have changed:It's a little pricy at $125 for a spring smooth bore bb gun, but then again, the accuracy improvement over the Red Ryder is dramatic...the Red Ryder does not have the accuracy to Qualify Distinguished Expert (or even Expert)on NRA 4 Position but the Daisy Avanti 499 absolutely does. Out the box I'm hitting all black all the time on NRA reg 5 meter targets. Daisy should include instructions on mounting sling (sling is included).
      What others should know:The First 499 arrived with a severly bent barrel. No fault of Pyramid, gun was inside factory box with no impact marks...must have left factory that way. Called Pyramid, they immediately stood behind the product and quickly sent me a replacement, and they tested the replacement prior to sending to insure was not a lemon. I WAS NOT AWARE BUT PYRAMID WILL TEST GUN PRIOR TO SHIPPING FOR A VERY REASONABLE FEE OF $10...I WILL USE THIS FEATURE EVERYTIME GOING FORWARD. Excellent customer service and selection, I will return to Pyramid for my next purchase (coming soon as soon as I complete Distinguished Expert!...will move on to Air Pistol).
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2012-04-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice craftmanship, Wood is clean and finished well. Accuracy is very good once you get the sights adjusted. This is a fun gun to shoot even for an adult. Included sling is a great bonus.
      Things I would have changed:I wish the included medallions were pre-installed.
      What others should know:Using Avanti precision BB's will greatly improve the accuracy of this gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joe from USA on 2012-03-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate, good sights
      Things I would have changed:Pre-install the good sights. Offer the ability to install the larger (shipped) aperture in the better sights. Offer plastic inserts for the front sight. Add a butt pad or round the edges.
      What others should know:The butt edges are pretty sharp. I added a pad to make it more comfortable. Targets are difficult to score -- I have not tried all paper types but even really old commercial target paper will not have very good holes for hits. 60# paper is not better for BBs. For good scoring, limit hits to one-per-bullseye. Otherwise, lots of fun to shoot!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By lentil from USA on 2011-08-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I purchased this smooth-bore long-arm to teach my son and daughter the finer points of rifle marksmanship and I believe it is well suited for the task. From field positions, accuracy is tremendous. One hole groupings at 10 yards; about 1-1.5 inches at 25 yards shooting prone w/sling and match BBs. Its probably a 4MOA gun under the best of conditions. I mounted a 6-24x scope on mine via a RWS one piece mount available here at Pyramyd. Mount clamps firmly to rear sight base plate. A Dremel tool or round file can be used to create clearance for the rear sight plate screw, further increasing stability. My trigger breaks at 3.5 lbs on my timney scale. The basic red-ryder BB gun triggers break around 5.5 lbs. Other than that, they feel identical. Its a long, heavy, poor feeling pull in comparison to other match triggers. Forearm is broad and well shaped for my adult male hands offering tremendous stability. I mounted the included sling and sling studs further increasing this gun's stability. I added a grind to fit recoil pad to increase the length of pull by an inch. The rubber pad also prevents the stock from slipping off the shoulder. A leather cheek pad laced to the stock provides me with consistent cheek weld using the raised scope mount. With all the bells and whistles Ive increased my guns weight to a balanced 5lbs 11oz. It feels like a .22 and shoots a whole lot better than most .22s at close range.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger pull weight. Add a nonslip but-plate.
      What others should know:Can be mounted with a scope using rim-fire/airgun 11mm or 3/8" rings and mounts.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top