Daisy Avanti Champion 499 reviews - page 2

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Tom from USA on 2008-05-23 10:10:45

Things I liked: The 499 is the world's most accurate BB gun, and has been so since it was introduced in 1976. There is no better training airgun for young children than this one.

Things I would have changed: I wish the peep sight had more precision in the adjustments. Even the replacement sight lacks precision.

What others should know: This is a muzzle-loading single-shot. It is not a conventional BB gun - it is for target shooting. Everyone in the vicinity must wear safety glasses because steel BBs rebound like crazy. Be sure to also buy Avanti Precision Ground Shot to use in the gun.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By mark from USA on 2009-12-23 22:33:12

Things I liked: nothing/ we have yet to shoot but the trigger pull is awful!

Things I would have changed: I am not sure who daisy is paying to write wonderful reviews on this gun but I am aprehensive about this gun Ok maybe it can shoot a bb. I have yet to fire it being it is a xmas gift for my 10 year old. What I can comment on is the cheap workman ship and overall quality for $115 bb gun Come on are you kidding me! Cheap trigger and cocking mech and cheap sites. I will say i am disapointed at the least. I would personally return the thing if it werent for the fact that this is the programs required gun. Shame on daisy for soaking groups for this gun. FYI the bbs load down the barrel not such a great idea when you are trying to teach kids not to look down the barrel of the gun.

What others should know: For the same money you can by much better quality and have a gun that might last more than a year. If you arent shooting with a progam that requires this gun shop around.

Sort by:
  • Previous 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2012-07-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: If you want to go through the NRA 4 Position Rifle Qualification using a BB Gun, this is the gun you must have and the only one I'm aware of that complies with the NRA regs and has the needed accuracy in this category. Without question, the most accurate smooth bore BB Gun available. Very good Sights, even if a few plastic pieces. Cocking and Trigger smooth as silk. Good robust stock, added weight for added stability and better ergonomics.

    Things I would have changed: It's a little pricy at $125 for a spring smooth bore bb gun, but then again, the accuracy improvement over the Red Ryder is dramatic...the Red Ryder does not have the accuracy to Qualify Distinguished Expert (or even Expert)on NRA 4 Position but the Daisy Avanti 499 absolutely does. Out the box I'm hitting all black all the time on NRA reg 5 meter targets. Daisy should include instructions on mounting sling (sling is included).

    What others should know: The First 499 arrived with a severly bent barrel. No fault of Pyramid, gun was inside factory box with no impact marks...must have left factory that way. Called Pyramid, they immediately stood behind the product and quickly sent me a replacement, and they tested the replacement prior to sending to insure was not a lemon. I WAS NOT AWARE BUT PYRAMID WILL TEST GUN PRIOR TO SHIPPING FOR A VERY REASONABLE FEE OF $10...I WILL USE THIS FEATURE EVERYTIME GOING FORWARD. Excellent customer service and selection, I will return to Pyramid for my next purchase (coming soon as soon as I complete Distinguished Expert!...will move on to Air Pistol).

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2012-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice craftmanship, Wood is clean and finished well. Accuracy is very good once you get the sights adjusted. This is a fun gun to shoot even for an adult. Included sling is a great bonus.

    Things I would have changed: I wish the included medallions were pre-installed.

    What others should know: Using Avanti precision BB's will greatly improve the accuracy of this gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2012-03-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate, good sights

    Things I would have changed: Pre-install the good sights. Offer the ability to install the larger (shipped) aperture in the better sights. Offer plastic inserts for the front sight. Add a butt pad or round the edges.

    What others should know: The butt edges are pretty sharp. I added a pad to make it more comfortable. Targets are difficult to score -- I have not tried all paper types but even really old commercial target paper will not have very good holes for hits. 60# paper is not better for BBs. For good scoring, limit hits to one-per-bullseye. Otherwise, lots of fun to shoot!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By lentil from USA on 2011-08-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I purchased this smooth-bore long-arm to teach my son and daughter the finer points of rifle marksmanship and I believe it is well suited for the task. From field positions, accuracy is tremendous. One hole groupings at 10 yards; about 1-1.5 inches at 25 yards shooting prone w/sling and match BBs. Its probably a 4MOA gun under the best of conditions. I mounted a 6-24x scope on mine via a RWS one piece mount available here at Pyramyd. Mount clamps firmly to rear sight base plate. A Dremel tool or round file can be used to create clearance for the rear sight plate screw, further increasing stability. My trigger breaks at 3.5 lbs on my timney scale. The basic red-ryder BB gun triggers break around 5.5 lbs. Other than that, they feel identical. Its a long, heavy, poor feeling pull in comparison to other match triggers. Forearm is broad and well shaped for my adult male hands offering tremendous stability. I mounted the included sling and sling studs further increasing this gun's stability. I added a grind to fit recoil pad to increase the length of pull by an inch. The rubber pad also prevents the stock from slipping off the shoulder. A leather cheek pad laced to the stock provides me with consistent cheek weld using the raised scope mount. With all the bells and whistles Ive increased my guns weight to a balanced 5lbs 11oz. It feels like a .22 and shoots a whole lot better than most .22s at close range.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger pull weight. Add a nonslip but-plate.

    What others should know: Can be mounted with a scope using rim-fire/airgun 11mm or 3/8" rings and mounts.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By J. from USA on 2011-06-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Bought this for my son's 8th B-day. He is an experienced shooter with his custom Beeman R9, and a highly custom Ruger 1022 built with Tactical Solutions and Volquartsen components. We have a precision rifle range at our home and he typically shoots 200 - 400 rnds per day. He also shoots bows competitively. However, this birthday, he asked for this gun specifically because it is simple like his favorite old red ryder, but more accurate. I was skeptical of the accuracy potential of a smooth bore BB slinger. But, I must admit, it has exceeded my expectations. We set up 5m and 10m targets and shot around 400 times between to two of us. This rifle is very accurate and a lot of fun to shoot. Don't expect a world class trigger or handmade quality craftsmanship, but for what it is, it is exceptional. We set up a printed dart board target at 10 meters and had a great time playing cricket. I may have to get another for myself now. If you are on the fence, go for it...you won't regret the purchase.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see a better trigger with less creep. Also, the trigger and cocking lever should be made of metal. The only other suggestion I have would be sizing spacers for L.O.P. adjustment. I believe for the price, these are reasonable features to request.

    What others should know: If you are looking at getting your kid his/her first BB gun, this would be perfect. Don't be put off by the price. It may be expensive compared to a Red Ryder, but you are getting a much better built rifle that will help your young shooter develop better skills. Nothing is more frustrating or embarrassing to a kid than missing a target because your rifle will not shoot consistently. The result can mean the difference between a youngster who learns to love shooting, or one who despises it because he/she "can't shoot well".

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Larry from USA on 2010-12-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: As accurate as others have described. Easy to cock. Fun and comfortable to shoot. Trigger is great.

    Things I would have changed: I think this could sell for $70 and still allow for plenty of profit for the manufacturer and retailer. It probably sells for a premium because it's the only super accurate BB gun made, as far as I know.

    What others should know: I was one of a handful of customers who didn't receive a rear sight with my gun. Neither the standard rear sight, nor the upgraded 5899. Pyramyd Air worked hard to get me a rear sight from Daisy, even though they were out of stock at the time. I am very impressed with Pyramyd's customer service, and appreciate their help. 10 stars to Pyramyd Air. I don't want to disparage Daisy here. Mistakes happen, I did have to wait a while, but Daisy would have resolved my problem. However Pyramyd helped resolve it quicker.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By neverminditsfine from USA on 2010-07-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy, price point, low noise levels, ease and comfort of use, and again accuracy!

    Things I would have changed: A little on the light side for my taste, and i wish the lever was in the style of "The Rifleman." Also i wish it didn't have that emblem on the side.

    What others should know: This is a highly satisfying gun to shoot, especially around 5 meters. Get the good targets or you wont be able to identify individual shots. Awesome gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Beaverman from USA on 2010-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: ACCURACY ACCURACY ACCURACY If Your an accuracy nut like Me You will be happy with what this smoothbore muzzleloading BB gun can do. After seeing the artillary hold video here on Pyramyd Air I shoot a 5 shot one hole group about the size of My little fingernail. Yes I was useing a rest But thats what the Gun is capeable of If that trips Your trigger like Me It will do what they say. After about 250 shots I measured the trigger pull at a hair over two pounds. Which was better than I expected. My 10 shot chronograph ave. was 288.1 FPS And it is far quieter than My Red Ryder is. I'M 57 years old and guess I have come full circle from BB guns back to BB guns. And am happy I did. With the cost of powder burning ammo these days I can't afford to shoot them like I want. But I can afford to do all the close range Accuracy shooting I desire with this and a IZH Biakal 46M, Izzy mp532, and Gamo GTX. Pellets and BBs are dirt cheep in comparison. And being able to shoot center is still the same feeling for Me.

    Things I would have changed: Affix the Medallion to the stock from the factory. But super glue jell fixes that minor problem.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jonpaul from USA on 2010-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very accurate and quite quiet. A far better trigger than I had expected. Not a match quality 10m rifle trigger, but way beyond a Daisy Red Ryder trigger.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice if the buttstock came pre-setup for length adjustment. A series of spacers would be an excellent add-on so it could be sized for adults as well as children without tools and carpentry.

    What others should know: It's designed specifically for the 5 meter BB gun competition, but it's a fine plinker or youth trainer as well. I was impressed by the accuracy. I ordered the Daisy 5899 reciever mounted sight as an upgrade, and then found out that the 499 CAME WITH that reciever sight in the factory 499 package. The image shows a cheaper rear sight and the 5899 is shown as an "upgrade" accessory (which is why I bought it). I wouldn't have bought the extra sight if I'd known that the gun came with it! Goodie for me. I have a few extra airguns where I can use the extra sight.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By lourdes from USA on 2010-01-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy. I was surprised at how accurate it is for a BB gun, even with the cheap Daisy Premium Grade Zinc Plated BBs . I also like the wood and metal construction. It includes a nice shooting sling.

    Things I would have changed: Put a metal cocking lever instead of plastic.

    What others should know: Mine did not include the small peep sight. It came with the 5899 upgrade peep sight though. The medallion does not come attached to the stock.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jado from USA on 2010-01-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Exceedingly accurate. Very clean trigger. Make sure you get the micrometer adjustment sight. Several addtional front sight inserts were included.

    Things I would have changed: I do wish the cocking lever were metal instead of plastic (or whatever it is). I'm sure it's strong enough but it would have a better feel if it were steel. Include some front sigts that are light colored for dark target backgrounds (like the newer "dirty bird" type targets).

    What others should know: Remember this is a shorter range airgun than the standard 10 meter guns. This gun makes for great training and practice; especially if space is limited. My son shoots it in the garage with an appropriate and safe back stop and my supervision of course. It lets us shoot when the weather is bad or we can't get away because we live where the houses are too close to shoot in the yard.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By mark from USA on 2009-12-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.343 ratings

    Things I liked: nothing/ we have yet to shoot but the trigger pull is awful!

    Things I would have changed: I am not sure who daisy is paying to write wonderful reviews on this gun but I am aprehensive about this gun Ok maybe it can shoot a bb. I have yet to fire it being it is a xmas gift for my 10 year old. What I can comment on is the cheap workman ship and overall quality for $115 bb gun Come on are you kidding me! Cheap trigger and cocking mech and cheap sites. I will say i am disapointed at the least. I would personally return the thing if it werent for the fact that this is the programs required gun. Shame on daisy for soaking groups for this gun. FYI the bbs load down the barrel not such a great idea when you are trying to teach kids not to look down the barrel of the gun.

    What others should know: For the same money you can by much better quality and have a gun that might last more than a year. If you arent shooting with a progam that requires this gun shop around.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2009-09-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: For $115.00 price tag this is a great value. If you're sitting on the fence [like I was] going back and fourth weather I wanted to buy a this rifle, all I can say is I'm happy I bought it! LOTS OF FUN for a cheap price!

    Things I would have changed: Make the cocking lever out of diecast metal. I wished the Medalion was mounted on the stock as pictured.

    What others should know: The rifle included a nice sling and swivel, upgraded rear sight, front sight inserts, booklet and Medalion. The butt stock on my rifle hasn't loosened as others have comented on their reviews. The barrel insert loosens from viabrations but I put 5 wraps of teflon tape on the threads and now it stays put.The sights are excelent! The trigger sweetened up quickly and the full sized butt stock [LOP 13 3/8'] fit me like a glove. It shoots Crosman Copperhead BBs and can put them into dime sized circle at 5 Meters. But I really like the Daisy Avanti BBs that are zinc coated. They shoot dime sized groups and I can reuse them up to 3 times! I just inspect them before reuse. I've put about 4000 BBs thru the rifle so far and I am still amazed at the accuracy. Three cheers for Pyrmayd Air's Coupon as the $115.00 purchase price included delivery.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rance from USA on 2009-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The accuracy was great for new shooters to the sport . I had 44 cub scouts that shoot this rifle at scout camp this year and 10 of them shoot a perfect score on the NSSF five shot course and they all earned the NSSF 2009 Jr. Shooting Sports Rifle patch.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing great for teaching kids.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2009-08-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This gun (can't call it a rifle) does everything Daisy advertises, maybe more. I challenge anyone to shoot this thing without a smile on their face.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. It's an exceptional value at this price. I'm sorry I waited so long to buy one.

    What others should know: Not enough power to take game. Limit yourself to paper targets, only. Even then, keep in mind it's designed for a range of approximately fifteen to twenty feet. Have fun!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Timothy from USA on 2008-12-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I ran a Cub Scout Day Camp BB gun range for a week last summer using this rifle. We had over 300 boys and about 30 sisters through the range that week and this rifle worked flawlessly. It is as accurate as described and was a great rifle for teaching both gun safety and marksmanship. Between groups and at lunch time I had a great time shooting this rifle. With the adjustable sight mounted it was easy to chew out the bullseyes on the Daisy official 5 meter targets. I had so much fun I bought two of these, one for my boys and another for me.

    Things I would have changed: It would be great if they replaced the plastic cocking lever with a metal one. We didn't have any issues with breakage but it would make a nicer overall package.

    What others should know: Get the adjustable sight, it's not perfect but it works much better than the sights that come on the rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Pete from USA on 2008-09-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Extremely accuate and just the right size for my 10 year old Grandson. I did an online reseach looking for just the air rifle. All the information quoted by Daisy and Pyramyd held up. I'm very pleased with my purchase.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: This particular air rifle is being used for NRA Postal Match for 8 - 15 year olds. It's a great gun and program to teach youngsters gun safety and competative shooting.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2008-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: It's every bit as accurate as published. 1-inch shot groups from 30 feet are quite achieveable if you do your part. Great for teaching my children about shooting. What a blast.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: The Daisy 5899 peep sight comes with the rifle and mounts easily.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2008-05-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.04 ratings

    Things I liked: The 499 is the world's most accurate BB gun, and has been so since it was introduced in 1976. There is no better training airgun for young children than this one.

    Things I would have changed: I wish the peep sight had more precision in the adjustments. Even the replacement sight lacks precision.

    What others should know: This is a muzzle-loading single-shot. It is not a conventional BB gun - it is for target shooting. Everyone in the vicinity must wear safety glasses because steel BBs rebound like crazy. Be sure to also buy Avanti Precision Ground Shot to use in the gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By BB Brain from USA on 2008-04-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Shoots great - very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: The description from the company should include the fact that they pack a Daisy 5899 Receiver Sight (adjustable for windage/elevation) in the box, so that one does not unnecesarily order one.

    What others should know: Great fun picking off things that you would usually only get close to hitting.

  • Previous 123 Next
Navigation