Date: 25/7/2016 16:21
0

Daisy Match Grade Avanti 717 Triumph Match reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (24 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Thomas from USA on 2013-03-31 07:42:03

Things I liked: This gun is great! I own several air pistols, but this is my favorite because of its accuracy, easy one pump operation, and balance. The grips also just feel very comfortable for my right-handed shooting.

Things I would have changed: Nothing

What others should know: The Air Venturi AV-07900 rail fits the barrel for adding weaver-mounted scopes and dot sights.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Mark from USA on 2016-07-19 09:56:35

Things I liked: comfortable grip,easy pump, accurate

Things I would have changed: plastic bolt mechanism seems out of place on a air gun like this, time will tell

What others should know: don't get me wrong, I am very happy with this purchase, the 747 price is not out of line for the adjustable trigger and upgraded barrel

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2016-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: comfortable grip,easy pump, accurate

    Things I would have changed: plastic bolt mechanism seems out of place on a air gun like this, time will tell

    What others should know: don't get me wrong, I am very happy with this purchase, the 747 price is not out of line for the adjustable trigger and upgraded barrel

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Moses from USA on 2016-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy is excellent from 10 meters or less. Power is good. Cocking the pistol is very easy.

    Things I would have changed: The price point for this pistol is quite high, and for the money, sights could be better, the bolt system should be metal, the grips should be of better quality, and a sight/scope mount should've been incorporated into the pistol.

    What others should know: Zero this thing in with one particular pellet (Beeman Silver Sting in my case) and it will shoot a variety of other pellets fairly accurate without readjusting the rear sight. Read manual before shooting the pistol.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2016-03-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I've shot at least 500rnds of a very wide range of pellets through this pistol. I must admit, it isn't picky. It shoots just about any pellet very respectable. The best pellet so far is the H&N Match Pistol, 7.56g and RWS Superdomes. Wow, it is impressive with both of those. It's POA was consistent across the board. It didn't matter what pellet, the first shot or the 100th shot, or what temperature it was, it put every pellet in the same place on the target. One of the best characteristics of this pistol is that it also did well with cheaper pellets as well. C.Destroyers, Cosman Field point, C.P Lite, RWS H-Point were some of the best performers. The sights are a bit blockie but are easily micro adjustable for elevation and windage. I really like this pistol. I don't know how much more accurate the 747 is. I kinda wish I shelled out this extra $ to find out. Nevertheless, It's hard to imagine how much more accurate can a low velocity pistol be.

    Things I would have changed: The back sight is a bit wide for my liking. Not the notch in the sight but the entire width of the sight. It's probably a 10m competition thing but the sight extends to the sides way beyond the notch. I'm nitpicking it at this point.

    What others should know: Very quite, low velocity. Accurate out to 25y but with a bit of holdover. Too low velocity to hunt with, target pistol only. A lot of "air space" between the notch in the back sight and the front post. The trigger is respectable, not perfect, but good. An ideal training tool that can carry over to rimfire or centerfire pistols. This pistol has made me a much better pistol marksman.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2016-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fairly accurate and feels good in the hand. Appears to be well made.

    Things I would have changed: Make the rear sights out of metal. Offer wooden grips for it in place of the plastic and charge accordingly.

    What others should know: The first linkage pin or bushing nearest the muzzle on the cocking arm moves up and down a little bit and at times can impede or obstruct the closing of the cocking arm (if your not careful). Also the windage adjustment on the rear sight has about a 64th of an inch of slop or movement that you need to be aware of. My Beeman P-3 is more accurate then this pistol is but considering the cost of this Powerline 717 it is a worth while investment for the money.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Pawpawsailor from USA on 2016-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The feel and weight of this gun is excellent. It shoots very consistent and exceeds what I expected for the price.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger and sights could be improved, though they are adequate to do the job well.

    What others should know: The sales staff proved very helpful.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2015-10-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Straight up tack driver. Using a rest, I can put them one on top of the other. The trigger was decent right out of the box, so I never bothered adjusting it. It's much more accurate thn my 1377. Only thing that needs to be upgraded is the shooter. It's so much fun I ran out of pellets.

    Things I would have changed: The bolt handle feels a little flimsy being made out of plastic. It's a little bit hard to cock the bolt. If you close it slowly, the pellet might hang up going into the chamber.

    What others should know: Go for it. I love shooting in my basement after a long, stressful day. I don't see the point in getting the one with the better barrel given the current accuracy I'm getting. Definitely no regrets.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Armando from USA on 2015-04-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love the weight of the gun and the fact that it is a single lever pump, which is very easy on the arm. Loading the pellets is real easy compared to some guns....they just drop right in and then you close the bolt. The length of the barrel makes it easy to rest it on my rifle rest and therefore my accuracy is unbelievable.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing!

    What others should know: I was going to spend an extra $50.00 for the Avanti 747 but in speaking to experts, they said that unless I was going to get into competition shooting, this gun's accuracy would be more than acceptable. Boy, am I glad that I didn't spend the extra money because I can hit a 1/4" bulls eye from over 22 feet. The expert had said that this gun would "outshoot me" and he was right. I think if I had bought the more expensive gun and it was more accurate, I would get bored hitting the same hole with each and every shot.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By tempest from USA on 2014-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Still made in the USA, pleasant shooting accurate air pistol. Nice adjustable trigger and sights. Quiet, recoil free, easy to use and reliable. Surprisingly long lived with minimal maintenance. Perfect for indoor practice.

    Things I would have changed: The changes that I wanted back in the day were made by Daisy already!

    What others should know: The Daisy 717 pistol has been around for a long time for good reason. Always a great value for the money spent, I had one back in the early 80's that I gave to a friend (who still uses it BTW). I never really found another air pistol to be so user friendly, so I purchased a new one. A pleasant surprise! Unlike so many products, this one has been improved over the years, now with an adjustable trigger made of metal (the 80's version was non adjustable and plastic). I am also pleased that the grips are now darker brown.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ray from USA on 2014-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have a FWB 65 match gun and this Daisy can shoot one hole groups all day for a fraction of what the FWB cost me years ago.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I don't see the need to spend the extra on the 747 with Walther barrel, this gun is super accurate.Dont be fooled into thinking because its a Daisy match accuracy isn't there...it is.Great value.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By edward from USA on 2014-05-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Bought this along with a 747. I like them both about the same. Right hand grips on the 717 and left hand grips on the 747 so I can do PPC type one hand practice, to maintain muscle tone for that type of shooting. These guns are perfect for that. I don't care what they say, these guns do not require expensive pellets. They shoot a variety of pellets with great accuracy at 15 yards.

    Things I would have changed: Can't think of anything I would change. I like the heafty weight of these guns, and ease of cocking.

    What others should know: The 717 had a defect from the factory and would not shoot consistent velocity. I sent it back to Daisy, and it was returned within about a week, with the defect repaired. Good Show Daisy!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mark from USA on 2014-04-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Bought mine 20+ yrs. ago and only this winter did I have to change some O-rings!!!!! Free-air by the way. A damn-fine entry target pistol, with pretty good sights

    Things I would have changed: Made target grips out of cherry years ago, plastic grips on this pistol?

    What others should know: Years of dependability! Accurate as the day I bought it-my receipt says $69.95 w/ pellets! But, I would buy this again, easily.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2014-03-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Received my 717 today and right out of the box 25ft offhand two hand hold,sub half in five shot group's for under $160. Woo Hoo.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

    What others should know: Grab them up before Daisy figures out they can sell this competitor for much more.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2013-03-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun is great! I own several air pistols, but this is my favorite because of its accuracy, easy one pump operation, and balance. The grips also just feel very comfortable for my right-handed shooting.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The Air Venturi AV-07900 rail fits the barrel for adding weaver-mounted scopes and dot sights.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2013-03-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun is very easy to pump. The adjustable trigger is fantastic, adjust to your prefered pull weight, no take up, right there when you squeeze. Amazingly accurate. Sights are adjustable. AV-07900 Air Venturi Picatinny/Weaver scope base fits perfectly allowing you to add optics that make the gun even more fun and accectuates the guns accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: It tends to be nose heavy and gets worse with the addition of optics but not too bad. The bolt being plastic is ok but would match the rest of the quality of the gun if it was light weight metal. The black plastic sights are very hard to see.

    What others should know: The first one I bought from Pyramid Air started leaking pressure at about 150 rounds. I was disappointed since I had it for only a couple of weeks. I called Pyramid Air and was very pleasantly surprised to hear that THEY would take care of the faulty gun. I was given a RMA number and was emailed a prepaid return label. I boxed it up and within a week recieved a new, not refurbished, gun. This is one of the many reasons I have given all my business to Pryamid Air. I would have given this an overall rating of 5 stars but with the failure I feel Daisy has not earned it. I have read other reviews where these guns are still working since they were first marketed in 1980 so I was very disappointed to have the first one fail. I am concerned about the longenvity of the replacement.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2013-03-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Absolutely LOVE the trigger. It is so soft and so smooth that you have a lot of control where you can pull it slowly and not have the gun jerk while shooting. That alone makes the gun worth the money. All triggers should work this smooth. Very accurate on its own, but I purchased the Air Venturi AV-07900 rail and added a red dot sight for even better accuracy. Due to the prescription on my glasses, I have a hard time using the regular sights on all guns, so I have to purchase a red dot or scope to be able to see better. The side lever is very easy to pull too. An overall great gun.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mike Francioli from USA on 2013-01-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: good target pistol pistol

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: great for 10meter practice

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By wally from USA on 2012-08-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Recently got a brand new one & do I love it. It now comes with an adjustable trigger from 1 to 4 lbs & is the exact same gun as the 747 except for the luther walther bbl, and even comes with the 747 manual.

    Things I would have changed: maybe the plastic bolt but have never heard of a problem with it.

    What others should know: It has great plastic rear sight adjustable for windage & elevation with the supplied screw driver. Oh yes it is very low noise, & Daisy's customer service is the very best!!as is Pyramidair's...

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By wally from USA on 2012-08-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: everything, great balance, sights,trigger'great customer service etc etc

    Things I would have changed: As i said on my first review and others is the plastic bolt but Iv'e not heard of any failures

    What others should know: Just received a brand new one and the 717 now has an adjustable trigger, 1 to 4 lbs just like the 747. It's the very same gun now except for the Lothar Walther barrel. The manual for it is the 747 manual...

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jerry from USA on 2012-07-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Mine is 28 years old and has not required any service. I've lubed it regularly and adjusted the pump lever once. It still functions flawlessly. This pistol is very accurate despite it's modest power. It's perfect for indoor shooting, and excels for those of us that have to make do with distances less than the standard 10 meters. Very quiet and not at all picky about pellets. Even the cheapest Daisy wadcutters group well. Nice crisp trigger that has only gotten smoother with age. It's not as light as other 10m pistols but very usable with a nice clean break.

    Things I would have changed: Wood grip panels. The plastic grips offer a good, comfortable hold but the gun deserves better. Of course I realize that would raise the price.

    What others should know: The sights work well and provide a good picture but because they're plastic they're not the blackest of blacks and sometimes they can be a little shiny.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By wally from USA on 2012-03-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: 1 pump,grips with good thumb rest ,accurate, great trigger, fully adjustable rear sight, very low noise.

    Things I would have changed: not much, maybe the bolt from plastic to metal.

    What others should know: DO NOT pump more than once as it will blow the seals & be careful when pomping as you may pinch your hand with the pump lever. bottom line this is a great target pistol but only chronys at about 390 fps with 7g wad cutters....

  • 12 Next
Navigation