Date: 10/12/2016 12:32
0

Daisy Match Grade Avanti 747 Triumph Match reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By cory from USA on 2014-09-10 22:49:25

Things I liked: accuracy, metal construction mostly, good heft, easy one pump, quite enough for a library LOL, this 747 will make even cheap pellets accurate, or better then your experience with bad pellets in other guns, the best cheapest pellet was rws basics 7.0gr, rws hobby 7.0gr, beeman pointed 8.53gr, crosman pointed 7.4gr, crosman heavies 10.5gr but may be a bit to tight for the bolt to push in, use gamo ts 10.5gr smaller head and skirt. most energy being about 2.7 ft/lbs with gamo ts, so it loves heavy pellets that fit good, they are good to 15 yards, so go lighter pellets for 25 yards if tin can shooting

Things I would have changed: maybe make cross bolt of metal, but plastic one works good any way, other then that it is made for competition

What others should know: the 747, 717 are hall of fame air pistols, i have used them for decades. 717 is a standard rifled barrel and non adjustable two stage trigger, 747 is a lothar walther barrel and single stage adjustable trigger and ouning both i can shoot them just as good, maybe its a slight advantage for the 747 for some but not to much, but depends on the persons trigger control. sand bag bench for shure 1/2 inch groups and 1/4 inch group potential at 10 meters, this gun can litteraly pick off flies at 10 meters (33ft) riffled barrel is tight and mostly for wad cutter pellets so be careful not to force tight pellets into breach and test the fit, some fit good and some will be a problem. h and n competition 5.25gr pellets do around 460 fps, crosman ssp hollow point 4.0gr do 500 fps, rws hobby 7.0gr do about 400 fps, gamo ts 10.5gr pellets fit very well and do 335 fps, i tryed kodiaks and barracuda pellets wich are premium quality but are a bit to tight for this barrel.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Craig from USA on 2016-06-03 07:13:08

Things I liked: This pistol was pretty accurate for the 20-some shots that it actually worked. It blew out a seal rendering it unable to hold pressure

Things I would have changed: Hmmm. Better seals. Change riot on changing lever so it doesn't snag on frame

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Peter from USA on 2016-11-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy. I can shoot groups at 10m in the basement that are as good as the ones with an IZH-46 at the range. (caveat - that's only after adding the palm shelf described below) For the price it's pretty phenomenal. It's also quiet, and easy to cock and load.

    Things I would have changed: 1: the grips - if they would just add a simple palm shelf it would be a much better target pistol. 2: the rear plastic sight. After a few weeks of use it's slightly loose, which is easily fixed (lift it up, score a few *very* fine lines on the side with something hot) but shouldn't happen on a gun as accurate as this one.

    What others should know: You can add a cheesy palm shelf to the stock grips really easily - drill a couple of holes into the bottom of the right-hand grip, screw a piece of thin plywood it, then build up C-shaped sections of wood or plastic above it. Also, even though it's easy to cock, be forewarned that it's heavy and long - that makes it more accurate if your arm is strong enough, but not if it isn't...

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2016-06-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The Avanti 747 lived up to my expectations based on other reviews, the cocking effort is so minimal and the side lever is easy to use, perhaps the easiest of all of my air pistols to operate. I purchased on Amazon via Pyramid air since I had been given some Amazon coupons. Still had the same speedy delivery and the pistol is very well engineered, the barrel is fantastic, the trigger pull was so light and crisp and I was getting dime sized groups at 25 ft and Quarter sized groups at 33 Ft right out of the box with no adjustment to the trigger or the fully adjustable sights. SO now weeks later, The barrel is well worn in with about 2000 rounds of shooting and it just keeps getting more and more accurate. I this this gun is fantastic.Well worth the extra money for the barrel. It shoots very well with plain Crossman Competition Wadcutters in the box of 500 for $5.99... so it is also economical. Can't wait to see it perform with pro grade pellets. Highly recommend this gun.

    Things I would have changed: The bolt / breach are plastic and it it worried me at first, but once it is broken in, it functions nicely and shows no sign of breaking. The weight and size of gun and the feel of the grip are very nice fitting, comfortable to shoot.

    What others should know: Seems to do well with all kinds of pellets. The gun will out shoot you and help you to steady your aim as the barrel will hit whatever you are pointing at and the consistency of accuracy is fantastic for this price.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Don from USA on 2016-06-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate, easy to cock and very well made; A keeper! 5 star Overall, Money, and accuracy!.

    Things I would have changed: Plastic trigger,sights and bolt.

    What others should know: A little hard to load; plastic tweezers work well!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Win52D from USA on 2016-06-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I wanted an inexpensive accurate pistol and boy does the 747 deliver. Accurate, comfortable to shoot, easy to cock and it has a nice heft to it. As I broke it in I started marveling at the mechanical heart of the 747. It isn't fussy about which pellet you use. Most that I have tried shoot well although I have been very surprised at its preference for a tin of 25 year old RWS Hobby pellets. At 5 meters it will group them into a .30 hole (using a rest and laser pointer of course). Pellet velocity is right at spec, 365 fps with 7gr pellets. I picked this up at the same time I got the AA T200. As beautiful and fun to shoot as the T200 is I find myself reaching for the 747 most of the time to do some evening shooting. Eventually I will upgrade to a higher end pistol but this one is a keeper. I plan on teaching my grandkids how to shoot with this.

    Things I would have changed: I was disappointed the first week. It looked rather cheap with the plastic sights and black plastic grips. Come on Daisy...offer some nice wooden grips...this pistol deserves them. As for the sights, they are plastic and get the job done but a precision set would be welcome. The trigger is adjustable and though I can't get quite light enough for my personal taste it is still pretty good. The safety is easy to set but a bit awkward to disengage

    What others should know: Sun Optics makes a 2 piece mount for the Izh 46m that will work on the 747...spend some time with a file and you can get a perfect fit. I mounted a laser sight to mine and will eventually mount a scope to it just for accuracy testing at 10m.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Craig from USA on 2016-06-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This pistol was pretty accurate for the 20-some shots that it actually worked. It blew out a seal rendering it unable to hold pressure

    Things I would have changed: Hmmm. Better seals. Change riot on changing lever so it doesn't snag on frame

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2016-04-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have about 8 or 9 airpistols that have just been defeated and exited the basement armory -- probably forever. I'm a writer, I use the airguns to blow off steam, shift focus, meditate. I have a 30 foot makeshift range indoors with a trap box and a selection of faces I've printed out on my printer. Accuracy IS pretty important and "flyer" .177 pellets are not appreciated. Enter the Avanti 747. One pump (NO CO2's or damaged rings.) Easy leverage. The Walther Barrel is instantly recognizable and WORTH THE PRICE. My groups can frequently be covered by a dime. The noise sounds like a James Bond silencer from Dr. No. (My daughter sleeps through it.) I've already saved the price of this gun just in CO2 cartridges I haven't bought. (I sometimes would go through 1000 shots in a day. That is a LOT of CO2, not so much in .177 pellets -- even match grade. Unbelievable training tool for use where shooting would otherwise be impossible. FIve starts all the way.

    Things I would have changed: The bolt action is freaking PLASTIC! I'd make it brass or other metal. PLASTIC?? For a MATCH AIRPISTOL?

    What others should know: I clocked the pellet at a consistant 357 ft. sec. using a Ballistic Chronograph. I understand this varies a bit from gun to gun. Do yourself a favor and do the physics and figure out that at short indoor ranges the variances generated by this slow moving pellet is miniscule -- something the group bears out nicely. The one pump one shot keeps the airflow standard. This is a terrific "finger training solution" that is well made and very very sweet!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-04-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate for the price range. Pumping lever is well designed and easy to pump for anyone responsible enough to be using it. Overall just a joy to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: The safety shroud makes it difficult to move safety to the off position. The risk of touching the trigger may be greater fumbling with the safety unless you have very small fingers.

    What others should know: Try several different pellets for accuracy. Mine likes JBS Match Diablo 7.33 gr. head diameter 4.53 mm sorted with a Pelletgage.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jiaqi from USA on 2016-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate, mainly metal constructed, feel solid, light and crisp trigger feeling, very quiet!

    Things I would have changed: Pumping lever will hit the screw on the side when you try to pump the gun. Plastic cocking bolt, and not very easy to close at sometimes. Not very easy to load.

    What others should know: Be careful when closing the pumping lever, it may hurt hand and also hit the screw heavily. Also be careful while loading, the pellet may flip.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2015-12-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: As a young man I bought a pair of daisy 717 airguns for my wife and I, we loved them and they still work great. After I retired I got back into Airguns and wanted to try the "747". Great is my only word for it.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing.

    What others should know: Great Gun for the price.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2015-12-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good looking, feels good in hand, easy to cock, great trigger (have not adjusted from factory setting yet) quiet. Straight from box I set up my range at 33 ft (25 yd pistol target, 1 3/8" dia X ring) gun shot 4" low and 1" right. Before I lost daylight I fired 25 shots and adj. the sights and walked the shots right into the X ring. (last 6 shots all Xs) Standing two handed no bench rest. Owners manual says it takes 100-300+ shots to work all the oil out of the gun and settle in to max grouping. Can't wait for our match next weekend shooting little metal animals off a shelf. Gun is a "piece of the preverbial pastry" to load and cock. You just open bolt, drop the pellet in the breach and it slides right into the barrel, pump, close bolt aim and fire.

    Things I would have changed: I liked the fiber optic sights better on the P-17 I sent back because it failed. Sights should be better in Full daylight. I will most likely purchase or fabricate some wood target grips but stock grips are very good.

    What others should know: This is a fine gun with a competition barrel. Well worth the $$$. Beeman P-17 shot good but was HARD to load and cock. My Beeman froze up after only 100-150 ? shots. Spend the $$$ and get the 747, you will be glad you did.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gerald from USA on 2015-12-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A very good target pellet pistol. Trigger adjustable for poundage is an excellent feature. Good rear sight windage and elevation adjustments. Easy-to-pull-and-cock side lever. Only one pull needed to cock pistol. Good grip with thumb rest. Good balance in hand. An accurate pistol.

    Things I would have changed: Mechanism to push pellet into barrel not as smooth as it should be, and does not have the conventional, easy-to-use ball at end of lever that pushes pellet into barrel. I painted the back end of the front sight a bright red to give me a much better sight picture.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Liang from USA on 2015-12-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy is as good as many much more expensive air pistols. Adjustable trigger pull is a delight. Single-stroke is easy to pump the air, and no hassle to refill CO2 or compressed air. Easy to fix, parts are cheap from Daisy.

    Things I would have changed: Adding competition grips will be a huge improvement. Even adding a plastic palm shelf to the current grips will be a big change. For plastic sights, I think it is ok, not as important as the grips. The paint is easy to be scratched off. The bolt is plastic, but looks like not easy to break.

    What others should know: This is my 2nd 747. The first one was leaking air from the valve right from the box was opened, and exchanged for the current one. So the Daisy QC is not very good. But the customer service from PyramydAir is super. If not for this experience, I would have given it 5-star instead of 4. I noticed the two new 747s weigh about 1200 grams, my old Daisy 717 weighs 1300 grams. I heard that they are using aluminum compression tube instead of steel tube now. I like the reduced weight, but the tube doesn't look very strong. Although you may get a defected one, I still strongly recommend this pistol, its accuracy is super, and it is affordable. Adjustable trigger and Lothar-Walther barrel make 747 worth the extra money comparing to 717. I don't know if current 717 has adjustable trigger, if it has, then I recommend to buy a 747 barrel and install on it. Changing barrel is very easy comparing to modifying the trigger.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ben from USA on 2015-09-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate. Easy to cock. Adjustable sights are very accurate. Nice, light trigger. Despite the size, it is an easy gun to handle. I've only had the gun for a month, but it looks like it will last a long time.

    Things I would have changed: I wish I could upgrade the grip. It feels a little cheap and plasticky. If I could change it to wood, it would be awesome. I wish the bolt was made of metal or that there was an option to change to metal. It just feels like over time it would break. Right now, it feels like something gets caught somewhat, so I feel like I have to use more pressure than I would like to get the bolt to open/close. I also wish the charging handle was just a tad thicker.

    What others should know: Great gun and accuracy for the price. The gun is quite long. I obtained a cheap red dot sight for it. I used a mount for IZH46 to get picatinny rails on the Avanti ($25.99)... works beautifully. Great fun as a plinker as well as target shooting. It is on the low side of power if that is your 'thang' though. Pro's definitely outweigh the Con's. I would definitely buy this gun again in a heartbeat. Hard to find a trigger this good at this price point.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jonathan from USA on 2015-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything. Adjustable trigger is very crisp with no creep. Very accurate when I do my part. I upgraded from a Beeman P17 which I really liked but there is no comparison between the 2 pistols.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice if the rear sight had interchangeable blades with different widths to suit different shooters but the one on it works fine.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2015-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The superior accuracy, the perfect trigger and it can be dry fired.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I didn't know I could shoot so good until I bought this gun. Well balanced and the sight goes automatically to the bulls eye.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2015-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the feel and balance, the sights are automatically on the bulls eye. I like the adjustable trigger and most of all being able to dry fire the gun, either pumping the gun or just cocking it with the bolt. Shoots great right out of the box.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: First of all, I didn't know I could shoot so good, It's not me, it's the gun, it's almost boring because the pellet always goes in the 1 1/4 " bull at 7 yards.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Armando from USA on 2015-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the accuracy of this gun...I just opened the box, cleaned the barrel like was suggested, and after a couple of adjustments to the windage and elevation, I shot 4 pellets into a 3/4" diameter bulls eye from 22 feet. The Walther barrel on this gun makes it much more accurate than the 717 pistol which I have experience with and is therefore worth the extra money.

    Things I would have changed: Metal bolt would be great but the plastic works fine.

    What others should know: Cannot think of anything except buy it and enjoy!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2015-06-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A lot of airgun for the money. Good weight and balance. A very adequate training tool for my firearm shooting. Lots of practice with no drives to the range and using expensive ammo. This is my third Daisy. I started with a 717 many years ago and this is my second 747. The first 747 is still in operation. It has to be more than 15 years old. I like the sights very much. There is no detent in the sight mechanism but they hold aim well.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see a non-thumbrest grip panel option. I am a practical shooter so two hands on the grips when I shoot. It is a BIG thumbrest.

    What others should know: Plastic is incorporated in the design. The bolt might look and feel fragile but with over 20 years of experience with the 717/747 I have seen nothing break. There is leakage over time. But in my experience the seals last a pretty good length of time. A few years back I had my original 747 back to Arkansas for service. Turnaround was quick.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2015-02-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This pellet pistol is comfortable to aim, has a very good trigger when set at its minimum trigger pull. It has the best rear sight design of all my dozen pellet pistols for elevation and windage adjustments, and mine was very accuerate at short distances, ~10 meters, right out of the box.

    Things I would have changed: Replace the plastic bolt and plastic rear sight with metel ones. Offer custom grips to fit this excellent pistol.

    What others should know: Read your operating directions and follow them carefully. This gun must be cocked BEFORE it is pumped, unlike other pellet pistols. Once pumped, THEN it should be loaded to fire. If this proceedure is NOT followed, pumped air escapes and the gun is not ready to fire.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carl from USA on 2015-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I spent additional money to get a high quality rifled barrel, and I am very happy with it. I wanted a target pistol that would shoot tighter groups that I was capable of holding. I think this is it. I am quite pleased with the one-pump charging of the air chamber.

    Things I would have changed: The bolt action is sometimes difficult to close. The cross bolt safety is quite difficult to move off of safe without changing your grip on the pistol due to a built-in ridge on the body of the pistol, included for that purpose. I could do without that.

    What others should know: It can sometimes be a little difficult to get the pellet into the barrel. Overall I am very happy with the pistol, which seems to be very well built and has a nice appearance and feel.

  • 1234 Next
Navigation