Date: 23/5/2017 17:41
0

Daisy Model 25 Pump-Action BB Gun reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Rick from USA on 2010-11-13 17:32:05

Things I liked: I opened the box and wrapped my fingers around this gun. When I did it took me back to when I was 12-years old; that was 49-years ago. I never owned one but I met a kid living nearby that owned one, and I shot his. It was a great experience. That all came back to me as I proudly held my own. I took the advice of another reviewer and put some oil on the threads of the screw-in barrel loader. I also oiled the other vital areas before shooting. It worked great.

Things I would have changed: Nothing.

What others should know: When you unscrew the loading port from the barrel be sure to oil the threads before puting it back in. The sights are off somewhat but with some adjustments they will be fine.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:2.0

By ShopShooter from USA on 2010-03-07 10:26:00

Things I liked: The overall cosmetic appearance is great out of the box. Brought a BIG smile from my 9 yr old daughter which changed to TEARS when she thought she had broke it after about 10 shots and it wouldn't cock or shoot. Back to Daisy this one goes.

Things I would have changed: Better Quality control from the factory in China.

What others should know: Since its made in China, make the trigger group from metal like the originals were.

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Willard from USA on 2016-12-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: All wood and metal makes for a solid bb rifle! Long enough for this 6' 2" guy to hold comfortably and weighty enough to hold steady for accuracy. Really like the classic look overall. And is powerful for a plinker.

    Things I would have changed: None. Got what I had hoped for. Already have a 225, but wanted the classic 25 with the wood and original shot tube loading.

    What others should know: Fun to shoot and shoots strong. Something about a Daisy that brings back memories of my youth for this 66 year old. Thanks!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randal from USA on 2016-11-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: An absolute hoot to shoot! I had one when I was a kid and I can say it is even more fun to shoot now. I'm impressed with the accuracy and power. Both seem odd to mention for an inexpensive BB gun. At 7 yards I can hit the bottom of a cat food can (about 3 inches) as fast as I can cock and shoot-every shot. Also, about half of the shots easily penetrate the bottom of the can. That seems pretty good as these cans are stout. I have a 1377 and an MK-177 that I really like, but I find that this is the air gun I tend to reach for first. Seems very solidly built.

    Things I would have changed: For the price, absolutely nothing.

    What others should know: Pyramyd Air service is great. Whatever you do, purchase the 10 for 10 service. It eliminates getting the rare defective unit and tells you how fast your gun is shooting versus what is claimed by the manufacturer.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By STEPHEN from USA on 2016-08-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy. I can't believe how accurate this model 25 is. It exceeded my expectations. I can easily hit a soda can from across my back yard just about every time (between 35 - 60 feet depending on where I stand). The materials (wood and metal) as well as the pump action are what intrigued me the most about this bb gun initially. But the wonderful accuracy makes this model extremely fun. For the price, I am very happy. The fit and finish is pretty good, not perfect, but again for the price my expectations were not extremely high. I find both the notch and the peep sights usable. The pump action works well and is fun. It's a little stiff out of the box but my feeling is that it will loosen up with time and use. I also really like the 50 round spring load magazine. No annoying rattling sound from the ammunition inside the gun. I also like that this gun has some heft to it due to being almost completely wood and metal (the trigger is plastic). This gun is also extremely quiet.

    Things I would have changed: The quality of the wood stock seems a little cheap. I wish the wood stock felt a little more sturdy or robust, but I won't be throwing this thing around, just plinking in my back yard. Should hold up fine. I'll take wood over plastic any day!

    What others should know: This gun is a bit large for younger shooters and the action probably too difficult. I takes a little muscle to cycle it. Would recommend for ages 12 and up. As a 5 foot 8 inch tall adult, I find the action easy to cycle and the size of the gun is not too small. If your expectations are reasonable I think you'll be satisfied with this cool little back yard plinker. This is not a $200 adult air rifle, and as such is not manufactured to the same specs. But it seems to be made fairly well, is made of real wood and metal, and most important it is accurate and FUN!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randy from USA on 2016-06-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Back in the 50's my cousin had one and I would look forward to visiting him to shoot his model 25. The new ones are just as I remember that old gun. Still easy to cock and really quite accurate. Love the 50 round capacity, shoot until your arm gets tried pumping, LOL. The wooden pump handle and stock are great, so much better than plastic. As far as I can see this gun is all metal and wood, even the trigger that I thought was plastic is metal! Fun, Fun, Fun, gun to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: The rear sight needs attention. The peep site, is way too small a hole. Maybe it's my old eyes, but I had to enlarge the hole to 5/64 so I could see anything through it. Now I can keep all my shots within 3" at 25 '. The "vee" notch sight is too shallow a "vee". It should have been a notch. I like the peep site better now anyway.

    What others should know: This is a solid fun to shoot gun that will bring you lots of pleasure plinking or target shooting. Keep the barrel clean! I run a few Q-Tips down the barrel pushed by a bamboo Bar-B-Q skewer. You'd be surprised what dirt comes out. I think a dry barrel works best. Just oil the gun in the "Oil Here" hole on top of the barrel. I've tried the "Match Grade" BB's and regular BB's. I don't see a lot of difference in my shooting. Maybe it just me. I really like this gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Martin from USA on 2016-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I had one of the originals back in the late 1950's and this one is pretty much the same other for the safety. I wanted my grand kids to have one too. I think I will have to order more later on as other grand kids come of age. As a young kid growing up in rural Nebraska I had tons of fun with my 25. I also like the fact that the 25 can be used with the copper plated lead bbs because it doesn't rely on a magnet to hold the bb. The plated lead bbs are less prone to bounce back.

    Things I would have changed: Slightly more distinct front sight; maybe a spot of brass on rear end of front blade.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Lynn from USA on 2016-02-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Excellent BB gun. Shoots as expected for a standard bb gun, and very fun. I like the pump action a lot, it's very easy to cock while still shouldered for rapid repeat shots. The accuracy is good for what it is, I'm getting 1" groups at 6 yards, and around 2" grips at 10 yards, which is good enough for knocking down pop cans and other small objects. Fun to shoot targets too, great practice. I use a 6 yard range for that.

    Things I would have changed: I removed the rear sight and drilled the peep site larger, then moved it forward to barrel, just in front of the receiver joint. Centered and re-tacked the sight assembly in place. Much easier to use in that position. Added a butt pad to increase pull to shoulder. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. Once broken in, trigger improves greatly.

    What others should know: Great for target practicing at short range and plinking cans and whatever else. Power is pretty good for this type of bb gun. Requires a few hundred shots for break-in, then the trigger will improve greatly. Also accuracy will improve. Keep it oiled and the piston won't wear out as fast. Overall this is an excellent product.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Lee from USA on 2016-02-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fun, fun, fun! I have accurate air rifles and powerful air rifles; this is for something else--fun, easy, fast, low-power shooting. And it's great for that stuff. No, not really accurate, but not crazily inaccurate...just...inaccurate. Easy, fun cocking mechanism. Auto-feed of BBs. 50 shots of fun.

    Things I would have changed: In magic world, more accuracy. In real world, at this price point, nothing.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Kelly A from USA on 2016-01-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love the looks , the smooth reliable action , and the length of time in production .

    Things I would have changed: Nothing for the price .

    What others should know: A little silicone non petro base will do wonders on this gem .

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By James from USA on 2016-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Remember seeing this Daisy as a kid. My friends would let me shoot theirs. Always wanted one, finally at 64 I decided to buy it. Accuracy leaves something to be desired. At 25 feet it will group 10 shots in a 3 1/2" circle with an occasional flyer or two. Some reviews state better accuracy and I've come to realize that not all of these rifles shoot the same. I will admit that the more this rifle is shot and broken in the better it seems to group. Crosman BBs seem to have a slight edge over Daisys.

    Things I would have changed: A little more power would be nice and make the trigger metal instead of plastic.

    What others should know: Over all it seems fairly well made. Like the wood stock and forearm, would not have bought it if they were still made of plastic. It's a fun gun to shoot and works well. Pump action is a blast. I'm hoping that accuracy improves with use which seems to be the case. If you want to relive your youth and or just have fun then go ahead and buy it.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By benjamin k from USA on 2015-11-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: wood and metal frame , nice art work

    Things I would have changed: longer stock

    What others should know: very good shooter/plinker

  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Charles Barnett from USA on 2015-11-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is very much like the one I had when I was 10 years old in 1964. There has been the "Politically Correct" addition of a safety, which is a good thing but kind of detracts from the authenticity.

    Things I would have changed: I was really bummed out when I saw that Daisy's are now made in China...like everything else.

    What others should know: Right out of the box, I hit the first coke can I shot at about 40 ft. Brought back lots of memories. I like it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Denny from USA on 2015-07-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This was the MOST powerful air rifle in its day, and was the original of today high powered air rifles. The price is still almost what it was years ago, and its a great gun for the back yard. Easy to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: At this price, you can not complain about anything, as its a bargain

    What others should know: This is airgun history!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By richard from USA on 2015-06-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the way that it feels,

    Things I would have changed: I wouldn't change anything,

    What others should know: I would expect many hours of shooting enjoyment,

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alan from USA on 2015-01-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: ease of operation: rifle does not need to leave your shoulder to cock fire and shoot. : ease of loading the b.bs into the tube,also the power and excellent accuracy

    Things I would have changed: since this is a replica I would change nothing but if it was just another air gun I would change both sights

    What others should know: just be careful handling this air gun (it shoots harder than you might think). it is a joy to shoot and to handle and I am proud to own it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jerry from USA on 2015-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is the BB gun I grew up with. The nostalgia alone makes this an incredible find

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: nope

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Arpad from USA on 2014-11-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice design, looks great, cocking and firing action smooth.

    Things I would have changed: Precision and accuracy. The gun shot consistently high and the rear sight assembly could not be adjusted to compensate. The points of impact were all over the map. This gun was a huge disappointment, is being returned. As others have said, Pyramyd was reasonable throughout.

    What others should know: I compared the model 25 to my Red Rider at 30 feet. With the Red Rider I could get shot groups of five within a two to two and a half inch diameter circle. With the Model 25 it was more like a 5-6 inch circle. In addition, the centers of the points of impact circles were about 6-8 inches above the point of aim. All shots with both guns were done using Avanti bbs and supported the same way. This gun may just have been a lemon, ...?

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By JAMES from USA on 2014-08-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great air gun......my two grandsons had been using my old Daisy just like this one......I got it around 1952. It was great to see that you had some and at a very fair price.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: Cust service was very good...I put the wrong ship to address on my order...when I called, it had already shipped. Service rep. was nice enough to waive normal charges. He had gun returned to them and reshipped to me at no cost. I plan on buying a Beeman from them in the very near future....nice company,good prices, and great service. Thanks...........James M. Price

  • 4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Nathaniel from USA on 2014-05-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fit and finish is good for the price, and I dig the classic styling and feel. The sights are very unique, even if they are hard to adjust and relatively flimsy. The gun is an absolute blast to shoot, easily the most enjoyable BB launcher I've ever used. Although difficult to load (for me at least) the shot tube works well and, if you don't mind a break the action, allows you to keep track of how many bb's you have left on tap. In my experience, Daisy's customer service is also excellent. I'm on my second Model 25 - returned my first one b/c of a badly out of spec rear sight - and received my replacement free or charge. I got a return shipping label for my first gun, and asked for my replacement to be checked out before shipping; I received a very thorough test and inspection report that included accuracy, velocity and quality control data. I did not expect that kind of effort on a $30-$40 imported airgun. So, if you have any issues with your 25, I would think Daisy will make it right.

    Things I would have changed: The sights are neat, but are very thinly built and hard to adjust (even my replacement gun has less-than-perfect rear apertures that are nowhere near straight). As some have said, the rear peep is too small and the rear notch too coarse - for plinking I have had better luck with the notch. Daisy should really improve the design and function of the rear sight assembly in my opinion, as they are a major sore point. I also think the pump handle could be made a bit longer to give more purchase and mitigate the rather long reach. The trigger is ok, but could always be lighter and of course who wouldn't want a bit more capacity and higher velocity to improve useable range and 'fun factor' ? A higher visibility front sight and a pad or plate to protect the butt of the stock wouldn't hurt things either. My second rifle appears to less accurate than my first, despite testing, and past ten yards or so, doesn't seem to be very useful. Using match-grade ammo may help, but I'd like more accuracy.

    What others should know: This gun is more complicated to load and operate than, say a Red Ryder. It's very fun, but also somewhat tiring, to shoot for long periods, at least for me. Fit and finish are better than the Chinese pellet rifles I started on a decade ago, but those guns offered far more performance, accuracy, and utility. So, on that note, the Model 25 is not a particularly good value, and outside of plinking doesn't have much real practicality. This accounts for my low accuracy and value ratings. Of course, this is primarily a youth-oriented, recreational arm, so you can't expect stellar performance. I like the styling and it's a ton of fun to shoot, even with it's low velocity and spotty accuracy. With some improvements, like those I've outlined, it could be a much better, but probably more costly, 'fun gun.' As is, I have no trouble recommending it, or Daisy, based on my experience so far with their customer service.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Philip from New Zealand on 2013-12-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This took me way back when I was reading comics and these were advertised on the back (50 odd yrs ago). I always wanted one and now I have!! Still metal and wood, wonderful, accurate more so than my eyes now!! Quite, easy to cock all in all a well spent $45.90

    Things I would have changed: Absolutely nothing!!

    What others should know: Buy it and enjoy with your grand children or children.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2013-10-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The model 25 is Daisy Tradition at it's best. All metal with a nice wood stock and pump grip.

    Things I would have changed: nothing at all

    What others should know: The model 25 is a low velocity air rifle ..but is great for backyard shooting.... this is a fine rifle for the kids to learn about safe gun handling plus good marksmanship .....

  • 1234 Next
Navigation