Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Daisy Model 840 Grizzly B reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By mark from USA on 2008-12-29 06:52:20

    Things I liked:only had it a week now but it seems to be perfect for my son lightweight and a great starter gun
    Things I would have changed:the cover for the bb's comes open somtime but that is a minor inconvience that was corrected by a small piece of tape
    What others should know:so far its a great gun cannot complain
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Mike from USA on 2011-11-19 14:09:55

    Things I liked:I like the looks and it holds several BB's
    Things I would have changed:give it some more power, accuracy is good for the first 15 feet then BB's start dropping, gosh I could see them coming out the end of the barrel, plastic is a little too light maybe add some weight to the stock
    What others should know:poor shooting gun, I was very disappointed with it, needless to say I am not giving anymore money to Daisy after this one, I still have my first Daisy BB gun (45 years ago) and it still works, but I have bought 5 Daisys in the last 4 years and only 1 was worth keeping (so far) a Daisy No 25 pump. The Daisy Model 840 Grizzly is going to be sold the first chance I get, another waste of my time and money
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Mike from USA on 2011-11-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the looks and it holds several BB's
      Things I would have changed:give it some more power, accuracy is good for the first 15 feet then BB's start dropping, gosh I could see them coming out the end of the barrel, plastic is a little too light maybe add some weight to the stock
      What others should know:poor shooting gun, I was very disappointed with it, needless to say I am not giving anymore money to Daisy after this one, I still have my first Daisy BB gun (45 years ago) and it still works, but I have bought 5 Daisys in the last 4 years and only 1 was worth keeping (so far) a Daisy No 25 pump. The Daisy Model 840 Grizzly is going to be sold the first chance I get, another waste of my time and money
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Bob from USA on 2011-07-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've had mine since 1986 - well actually it's my daughter's but she's all grown up and gone, didn't want to take the 840 with her at least yet. So I plink with it and it's amazingly accurate with a Tasco 4x20 scope, a simple Walmart number. I can shoot nickel-sized groups at 10 yards with BBs or pellets. It's light, accurate enough, and I love that I can load a zillion BBs in it and shots go "pump cock shoot - pump cock shoot - pump cock shoot..." I can rattle them off one every couple of seconds as opposed to the task of loading and cocking say a springer or pump-up. I like my pump-up too but this is pure fun, not for competition or precision, but yes a World Class plinker. This is the "Fun Gun." As a bonus, it's quiet. Cocking is louder that firing so you won't draw any attention with this.
      Things I would have changed:Zip. For the price, it's a bargain.
      What others should know:I think the sound is over-rated at 2-Low-Medium. It's literally quieter than a sneeze. You could fake-cough and almost cover up the sound of the 840 firing. Should probably be rated at 1. Point is, it's a great stealth target/plinking rifle. Oh and I've seen other reviews referring to "varmints." Please don't shoot anything living with this. It'll only inflict pain. This one measures 240 fps with 8.4 gr Beeman Silver Jets, 257 fps with BBs. Maybe that's because it's 25 years old, maybe it's because airgun specs are usually listed with lightweight lead-free pellets. Still at 350 fps you won't put anything out of its misery. Just shoot cans, targets, etc. and be very careful not to point it at anything that breathes, ever, for any reason.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jeremy from USA on 2011-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I just bought the Grizzly for my son as a birthday present. To be honest, I wasn't expecting much for the price, but was pleasantly surprised with how accurate this gun is for a smooth bore. At 5 meters, this gun can shoot some amazingly tight groups with BB's, and Crosman Destroyer pellets. I really like the fiber optic front sight as well.
      Things I would have changed:It's pretty much all plastic, but for the price what can you expect? My only issue with the gun is that the loading port is a bit tiny for adult fingers when loading pellets.
      What others should know:Surprising performance for such a low cost gun. It's certainly much more accurate than my beloved Red Ryder. I may have to get a Grizzly for myself for pure plinking enjoyment.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Larry from USA on 2011-03-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I run a camp for Cub Scouts where we teach roughly 300 kids per summer about gun safety and use. We've been using the Grizzly for this for the past 10 years. I need to order our third batch. Yep, 300 kids/summer. 18 guns, 10 years. Answer your questions about durability? Accuracy: quarter sized groups at 20 feet from 50 year old eyes; 10 year olds get dimes.
      Things I would have changed:Elevation ramp can get lost; preferred if it was captured.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By neil from USA on 2010-11-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:my second gun i ever owned, very dependable, been with sense i was 10, re-vened in shooting, seen my childhood, how at 57, right on with open sites, you don't need a scope to start with. perfect for young shooter, my 1st one was $24 something. should get 10,000 out it, easy to pump. BB;s are not acc. learn where your gun shoots, have fun make sure of your target. .
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:wood on stock wood be nice.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Customer from USA on 2010-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to use Cheap Fun Light Reasonably accurate Quick load/fire Easy to pump Holds a lot of BBs Great for a beginner or just for fun
      Things I would have changed:Feels kind of flimsy and plasticky, but it is Not very powerful
      What others should know:Overall an excellent and fun toy, mostly good for children or just for fun with simple targets.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By shooter4350 from USA on 2010-05-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun honestly is the most accurate and reliable bb gun i have ever shot. BB's are very stable and consistant @ around 350 fps, and I have never had it break. Also a great price!
      Things I would have changed:the gun feels a little cheap in the hands... but it is lol. I would make the reciver and stock out of higher quality materials.
      What others should know:The power of this gun is a little dissapointing @ only around 300fps. Overall a very accuratre and reliable, confortable to shoot gun. great first bb gun and I would highly recommend it for all shooters.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2010-03-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The fact that I still have mine from over 35 YEARS ago. It still works, but the pressure bleeds off quickly. I just bought the Grizzly B for my ten year old son, and he seems to have just as quickly acclimated himself to his version as I did mine. The fiber optic front sight is a wonderful improvement and a great aid for teaching proper [open] sight alignment. You automatically focus on the front sight.
      Things I would have changed:In truth....nothing. This rifle has been a proven air gun in my family for over 35 years. The design is sound and established. Very adaptable too. I'm 6'3" and my son is 4' 10" and we can both shoot it. Not many designs allow that as easily as this one. IF I could change two things, I'd add windage adjustment to the rear sight (although both of the rifles we own do not need windage tweaks), and I would make the BB reservoir loading gate a bit bigger.
      What others should know:A time-tested design that I fully endorse, and I am a firearms enthusiast, Army veteran, and a police officer. This is an excellent model to teach the fundamentals with, and being my 35+ year old model still works, it will last a long time with proper care. The one pump action is perfect ,as is the bolt manipulation for each shot. Reservoir of BB's allows plenty of time to shoot between loadings. Power is adequate, and accuracy is very good with remarkable consistency, shot after shot. I cannot think of a better model for a young shooter to learn with. I'm 44 now own up to and including .50 BMG rifles, and I still love to shoot mine. I fully recommend this model!!! John D. - Huntersville, NC
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Rolf from USA on 2009-12-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Simplicity of design, easy to cock, single cock, holds lots of bbs, bbs feed with muzzle pointed up, Trigger easy to modify. good quality plastic parts throughout.. good steel parts: machined where necessary. I shoot about 100 bbs a day. I consider this an upgrade to my red rider bb gun. Fairly easy to take down and get back together.
      Things I would have changed:Barrel had a slight bend in it. The barrel by it's self was straight but the center barrel support was low (off center) which caused the barrel to bend. I filed the support in order to straighten the barrel some. It shot just as good a groups with the bend, as without, perhaps the bend was intentional, but it bugged me.
      What others should know:I also epoxy bedded the barrel and receiver to keep the barrel from flexing due to the force of the pressurized cylinder when cocked. I extended the pull of stock with a carved wood butt pad, for adult sized shooting, added a peep sight, and extended the barrel by a foot, increasing the sight radius. Added a linkage that load the bb automatically while cocking.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mark from USA on 2008-12-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:only had it a week now but it seems to be perfect for my son lightweight and a great starter gun
      Things I would have changed:the cover for the bb's comes open somtime but that is a minor inconvience that was corrected by a small piece of tape
      What others should know:so far its a great gun cannot complain
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Deborah from USA on 2008-11-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nothing since it only worked for one week.
      Things I would have changed:I wouldn't buy such poor quality again.
      What others should know:This rifle broke the second week we had it . It was of a very poor quality. The part the broke apart was the pump. It wouldn't pump , then peices starting falling out. It is very cheaply made.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2008-09-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It is lightweight, easy to pump and accurate.
      Things I would have changed:The cover on the BB magazine is not very secure and opens during rapid fire pumping.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Alvin from USA on 2008-09-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The light weight and easy cocking makes introduction to the girls in my family very easy. Mine has 100,000 BBs through - it with great reliability. Best gun deal I ever made.
      Things I would have changed:Too close to perfection as a BB gun. The right velocity, adequate sights, and will do rapid fire to hold back an invading force of "marching" beer cans.
      What others should know:BBs are critical to velocity. Unfortunately velocities above 300 fps act more like a wild pitch, whereas the lower velocity 840 will consistently hit Pepsi cans at 50 feet, shoot a dime size group at 15 feet, making it quite a BB gunner's dream.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By CUSTOMCAB from USA on 2008-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:LASTS FOREVER, I GOT MINE IN 1980 AND IT STILL WORKS WELL THE SIGHTS WORK PERFECTLY IT CAN BE QUICKLY PUMPED AND RELOADED FOR RAPID FIRE
      What others should know:THIS IS A EASY TO USE SATISFYING COKE CAN PERFERATOR (sic?) PLENTY ACCURATE TOO.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2007-08-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Air Gun is an excelent product and is easily loaded and fired.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top