Date: 4/12/2016 11:46
0

Diana RWS 34P Pro Compact reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Henry from USA on 2009-08-30 03:06:14

Things I liked: Superb RWS (German) quality. Fit and finish is excellent, tight tolerances are impressive and exacting. 99.5% metal on this rifle. All weather high quality synthetic stock has a very nice feel. Muzzle break feels so nice when cocking, and shorter barrel makes handling easier, and seems to help accuracy (pellet exits barrel before recoil affects it). Excellent trigger. Didnt try this scope, but it seems very nice. Lockdown mount from RWS is included-has 4 screws and never budged (also 2 stop pins that fit the rifle perfectly.) Scope rail is also great. Loudness is medium at first, but really settles down to a quiet discharge after about a tin of pellets. A little proper lubrication also helps. Functions smoothly with not too much recoil-and dead accurate out of the box!

Things I would have changed: The rifle is quite heavy due to muzzle break and scope, but this is also a sign of the high quality and surely helps accuracy. Feels close to ten pounds when you have it all together. Advertised weight must be without scope & muzzle break-which is heavy and metal. Im a pretty skinny vegan tho, so might be fine for some. For me it was best kneeling or with a rest, but after using it awhile it made me stronger and got easier (I did exercises with this thing to get up to the task .) Had holes for rear sight, but no place for front sight, should you want to add one later (this deserves a good scope though anyway.) I would like to have had the option-though buying sights separately were pretty expensive from RWS/Umarex USA. Also, butt pad is hard/thin plastic. I also wish this were available in .22 cal. Spring was dry and a little crunchy initially (typical RWS) but it was sipmple to apply a little lube ( I used a little moly and lithium grease mix) to spring without disassembly. I also applied a few drops of pure silicone oil through transfer port into compression chamber-no problem. [get the RWS maintenence kit-highly recommended for superior tools and lubes.]

What others should know: I wish Umarex/RWS would offer a medium power springer (600-800fps) which was lighter (under 7 lbs), with a good or adjustable (pull weight) trigger. This would make it bearable with a scope on it, shooting freehand. Currently they have the schutze (youth model), but I hear the power is in the low to mid 500's and the trigger is a bit heavy (5-6lbs direct trigger). Still I may have to try this schutze. RWS should also offer a model with a suppressor, like the Gamo whisper. RWS has the best warranty of all airguns-Lifetime Limited Warranty-and there is a reason: they make superbly engineered products that will last generations if properly cared for. It occurs to me that the muzzle break on this model could easily be modified to be an airgun-appropriate-only noise suppressor by someone who knows what they are doing. Sounds like a fun project. And, of course, Pyramyd Air has fast and excellent customer service and policies.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Thomas from USA on 2016-07-26 19:32:21

Things I liked: I like the high precision, high accuracy, and ease of calibration. Out of the box, I mounted the 3-9X40 scope on the 34P Pro Compact 0.177 caliber. I set up a 20 meter outdoor range. The first three shots using meisterkugeln pellets were just off the 9.8 cm square paper RWS target, but clustered close enough to cover with a dime. I was amazed. I made some arbitrary scope adjustments, then took one more shot. From that shot I calculated a horizontal movement of 3mm per 1 scope click and a vertical movement of 1 mm per click. I adjusted the scope, and took three shots. I was breathless. All three shots were in the black in a cluster that could be covered with a dime and all were touching, one being just 5mm from target center. With a 30 meter range and RWS Super-H-point pellets, I took five shots. Three of the five shots were in a tight cluster that could be covered with a dime with two shots touching the center bullseye. The precision and accuracy of the RWS 34P is phenomenal.

Things I would have changed: More information could be provided on how to adjust the T06 tigger; although, out of the box, I had no problem with this very soft trigger and its very large amount of play.

What others should know: Squeeze the trigger very very very slowly until you get the feel of it.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2016-07-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the high precision, high accuracy, and ease of calibration. Out of the box, I mounted the 3-9X40 scope on the 34P Pro Compact 0.177 caliber. I set up a 20 meter outdoor range. The first three shots using meisterkugeln pellets were just off the 9.8 cm square paper RWS target, but clustered close enough to cover with a dime. I was amazed. I made some arbitrary scope adjustments, then took one more shot. From that shot I calculated a horizontal movement of 3mm per 1 scope click and a vertical movement of 1 mm per click. I adjusted the scope, and took three shots. I was breathless. All three shots were in the black in a cluster that could be covered with a dime and all were touching, one being just 5mm from target center. With a 30 meter range and RWS Super-H-point pellets, I took five shots. Three of the five shots were in a tight cluster that could be covered with a dime with two shots touching the center bullseye. The precision and accuracy of the RWS 34P is phenomenal.

    Things I would have changed: More information could be provided on how to adjust the T06 tigger; although, out of the box, I had no problem with this very soft trigger and its very large amount of play.

    What others should know: Squeeze the trigger very very very slowly until you get the feel of it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Berto from USA on 2016-07-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The RWS Rifle was packaged a bit like the cheaper units. However, the quality right out of the box was noticeable. Like everyone else, the rifle was a bit dry, but once oiled up and a few shots fired, she was spot on. The scope is high quality for an included A/R scope. It was dead accurate for L/R adjustment out of the box and needed some height adjustment. Once dialed in, this rifle is awesome. So glad I spend the money...I'd do so again 10/10.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2016-06-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I was amazed at the accuracy out of the box. The fit and feel are excellent. This rifle is well built. Its quickly becoming one of my favorites.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eric from USA on 2016-05-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought my RWS model 34 from Amazon and received out-of-the-box accuracy that blew my mind. Although this pellet gun doesn't have open sights, the very clear scope with the one piece mount created less than a quarter inch of accuracy at 12 yards. I tested this gun with the given scope on many pellets and saw surprisingly accurate 5 shot groups all under a dime at 12 yards! The best was a 5 shot group with 10.34 grain H&N pellets that was the size of a .22 caliber pellet! I love the scope they gave me because it provides the 3-9x40AO clarity from the adjustable paralax and focus. The once piece mount is very solid and provides a perfect match for the scope. The barrel is very short and convenient for packing and shooting, and has the seal placed on the barrel instead of the usual placing on the breech; I think this contributes to the consistent accuracy. The ergonomic stock is very nice and the muzzle break is a good handle for cocking, although it doesn't dampen the noise.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, but the gun is a little front heavy even with the scope.

    What others should know: Buy this gun, you will be pleased with the accuracy, durability and German made quality of this gun!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By matt from USA on 2016-04-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The trigger on this rifle is outstanding. This is the first air gun trigger I've felt That actually feels like a quality trigger should. Accuracy of the gun is also very good but I changed the scope and mount before I ever shot it. I'm very happy with the purchase and very happy with PyramidAir for shipping speed And price. No complaints at all with the rifle Or service.

    Things I would have changed: I changed the scope and mount which I put on a cheaper rifle. This rifle deserved A vortex scope and the UTG compensator Mount with warne rings. Doubled the price Of the gun but a quality rifle deserves quality Glass. Also took the 20 lb weight off the barrel.

    What others should know: Rifle is able to stack the Walmart crossman Premier 7.9 gr hollow points from 20 yards All day. Great rifle and service.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2016-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This thing is a tank compared to other builds. Definitely not a toy. VERY hard hitting for .177. What is referred to here at PA as recoils is the spring being released. I don't consider this recoil... just a function of the gun. Although it is very noticeable I don't see any issues. Very well built. I have yet had the time to sight this in; I only just mounted the scope this morning and took a few shots... wasn't certain how to rate "accuracy".

    Things I would have changed: So far.... nothing.

    What others should know: Absolutely not a toy. The air guns that were available to me when I was a kid didn't come close to the power this thing has! Fantastic workmanship. I may alter my review after I have had time to shoot this more.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By george from USA on 2015-08-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: first one recd bad scope very quick rep recd 5 shot sight in seems incredtremely loud close neigbors will try heavy pells hope it calms down again extr loud crack

    Things I would have changed: rubber but plate not so loud

    What others should know: great value 4 money very accurate

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Trent from USA on 2015-03-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is an accurate and powerful air rifle. I use it for field target and pest removal and the rifle performs well at each task. I like the shorter length as I find it fits me very well. This is my second 34, I own the Classic version in .22 which I enjoyed so much I felt I needed another RWS 34 rifle. The flat shooting characteristics of this .177 yields a consistent POI out to 50+ yards. Muzzle energies are near identical for both calibers. Some have complained about the scope, I would disagree as the unit on my rifle has performed well. I'm very happy with this purchase.

    Things I would have changed: I will eventually change out the stock spring with a PG2 from Vortek. I did this on my .22 caliber 34 and much prefer the shot cycle with this system. The spring oscillation that accompanies each shot is inherent in this model. However, the performance in terms of power and accuracy is excellent with the stock spring. I would like to see rubber cushion on the butt of the stock.

    What others should know: Pellet performance from 10 shot groups across the chronograph; JSB RS (7.3 g) Avg Vel=919.8; Stdev=4.66; 13.8 FPE. RWS Superdomes (8.3 g) FPS=935.8; Stdev=14.56; FPE=16.1. FTT (8.64g) FPS=882.4; Stdev=5.17; FPE=14.9. The H&N FTT are very accurate in my Pro Compact. In light wind conditions using FTT pellets, I routinely drop Feral Pigeons out to 55 yards. This rifle will help make a person a confident shot.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By edward from USA on 2015-01-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is my favorite air rifle of all times. A friend of mine purchased one, and recommended it to me with H&N 8.64 ounce domed pellets. I've never gotten the consistent accuracy out of any pellet rifle before. We put a Hawke scope on the rifles, right out of the box, and didn't mess with the starter scope that was included. Good idea if you ask me. I called the RWS plant in Ft. Smith Arkansas, and they told me that the scope included was merely meant to be a starter scope, and not intended as a premium scope. I'm glad to know that, and to automatically go ahead and get a premium scope for my future purchases. I bought two of these rifles, just to have one in the closet. I think it has something to do with insecurity I had as a child or something.

    Things I would have changed: Wouldn't change a thing.

    What others should know: Don't buy this rifle if you like your $200.00 rifles. It will sour you for life on the lesser expensive purchases. I took all of my current rifles and sold them, or better yet, almost gave them away. I didn't even want them in the house any more.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By edward from USA on 2015-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Wonderful little hefty piece. Stacks them all in one hole at 15 yards, and keeps them inside a 2 inch circle at 50 yards. I love it.

    Things I would have changed: It's all good.

    What others should know: Pretty bad at shaking the screws loose. I've gotten them all doped up with Loktite, so maybe that phase is over for a while.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2014-12-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Gun shot very well out of the box. I liked the mat finish on the barrel. Overall feel of the gun was very good

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I bought this gun for my 14 year old son to use primarily for squirrel hunting. First time out he had no trouble shooting a squirrel off of a limb at 30 yards.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2014-12-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I researched this item for well over one year prior to purchasing. I am not disappointed! The rifle feels substantial and delivers the accuracy that I envisioned. It likes a variety of pellets, some delivering pellet on pellet accuracy at twenty yards! Extending to my maximum range of 43 yards, the groups open slightly to 1/2" & 3/4", depending on which pellet is used. This rifle is hold sensitive. make sure to find the "sweet spot" for excellent accuracy results!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. RWS Diana got it right!

    What others should know: Do yourself a great favor and purchase a variety pack of pellets in the appropriate caliber. Finding the "right" pellet(s) for your particular gun will be made so much easier(and cheaper). Once you determine which one(s) work the best for your application, stock up on it(them).The RWS 3 x 9 scope with duplex reticle was ok. I didn't use it as I already had an Airforce 4 x 16 on hand to take full advantage of the accuracy potential.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pedro from Canada on 2014-08-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well built, accurate, very good value for amount of money paid. Good power in .177. Trigger is new T06. Very nice improvement over T05. Scope that comes with it is not the best, but works well enough, (no mil dots btw).

    Things I would have changed: Gun sounds dry, needs to be oiled up some.

    What others should know: Bought this for my 10 year old nephew who is small for his age. It's a chore to cock, but with effort he can do it. Gun is front heavy, just have to get used to feel, it's different. Gun is very accurate with RWS Super Dome pellets (.177). 1/2 groups at 25 yards are easy with proper hold technique. Guns needs to be oiled to quiet it down some and muzzle break needs Lock Tite to keep screws from coming loose every 30 shots or so.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By roger from USA on 2014-01-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: best trigger for a springer there is. short break in period. very nice finish.

    Things I would have changed: sell without a scope for a little lower price. most folks want to choose their own scope. scope that comes with the gun is pretty nice though.

    What others should know: this is a pretty heavy rifle. not for kids.

  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Paul from USA on 2013-10-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Seems to be built well inside. Average accuracy. The only thing I can say good about this rifle is that it has a nice trigger.

    Things I would have changed: Should have returned it and ordered something else. Don't like the plastic butt pad, scope went in 2 days, and the muzzle brake is a joke!

    What others should know: Returned the scope to Umarex, still nothing after few months. Buy thread locker in large amounts, better yet just throw the brake away or weld it on.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Greg from USA on 2013-08-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Gun shoots great! the muzzle break comes loose after a few shots so I just removed it and there wasn't any accuracy wasn't affected. The only problem i had was with the scope as the cross hairs canted to the right so I contacted them about a replacement.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2013-07-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: German quality & build are exceptional. Trigger assembly is light and crisp, needed no adjustment out of the box. Nice matte finish on barrel and composite stock has a nice feel. Unbelievably accurate! This gun loves the 8.3gr RWS Superdomes. Here's what I can't believe. Out of the box, attached the mount & scope, tightened everything down and took the gun to the garage for sight in. Put up a airgun sight in target at 15 feet and the first 5 shot group was dead on and dime size. 50 rounds later and it was still holding tight. Dumb Luck??

    Things I would have changed: The gun comes with a RWS 3-9X40 AO scope which is really pretty well made. The only thing that I would change would be to add a mil dot reticle which would help to take the guess work out of changing target distances. I'd like to see this model made in a 22 caliber.

    What others should know: Be forewarned, the gun is front end heavy, probably due to the muzzle brake. No complaints so far. Pyramyd you shipping was right on time as usual!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeffrey from USA on 2013-07-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun shoots anything . Lite weight or way heavy it doesn't care. cheep or not so cheep, just pop it in and have fun.

    Things I would have changed: Not one thing!

    What others should know: When you first get it the trigger is way soft with a lot of travel till you pull it off. with a small screw driver you can adjust it till it's just how you want it. I love RWS guns . I have three and wouldn't take any thing for them.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2013-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This thing is very accurate inside 50 yards. I read the reviews and yes it's heavy but doesn't toss the gun around like some cheaper models. Loctite all screws after 50 rounds. Shot another 350 rounds of various ammo. Gets better the more you shoot...

    Things I would have changed: Little tight on the break at first..could use some light grease...

    What others should know: Why dont you own one yet?

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2013-04-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything. Overall quality is excellent. Accuracy is awesome!

    Things I would have changed: Put a rubber recoil pad on the stock instead of hard plastic.

    What others should know: You'll need thread locker for the barrel weight and muzzle cap as well as the scope mountings. But other then that there is no concerns.

  • 123 Next
Navigation