Diana RWS 34P Pro Compact reviews - page 1

Add to Cart


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Henry from USA on 2009-08-30 03:06:14

Things I liked:Superb RWS (German) quality. Fit and finish is excellent, tight tolerances are impressive and exacting. 99.5% metal on this rifle. All weather high quality synthetic stock has a very nice feel. Muzzle break feels so nice when cocking, and shorter barrel makes handling easier, and seems to help accuracy (pellet exits barrel before recoil affects it). Excellent trigger. Didnt try this scope, but it seems very nice. Lockdown mount from RWS is included-has 4 screws and never budged (also 2 stop pins that fit the rifle perfectly.) Scope rail is also great. Loudness is medium at first, but really settles down to a quiet discharge after about a tin of pellets. A little proper lubrication also helps. Functions smoothly with not too much recoil-and dead accurate out of the box!
Things I would have changed:The rifle is quite heavy due to muzzle break and scope, but this is also a sign of the high quality and surely helps accuracy. Feels close to ten pounds when you have it all together. Advertised weight must be without scope & muzzle break-which is heavy and metal. Im a pretty skinny vegan tho, so might be fine for some. For me it was best kneeling or with a rest, but after using it awhile it made me stronger and got easier (I did exercises with this thing to get up to the task .) Had holes for rear sight, but no place for front sight, should you want to add one later (this deserves a good scope though anyway.) I would like to have had the option-though buying sights separately were pretty expensive from RWS/Umarex USA. Also, butt pad is hard/thin plastic. I also wish this were available in .22 cal. Spring was dry and a little crunchy initially (typical RWS) but it was sipmple to apply a little lube ( I used a little moly and lithium grease mix) to spring without disassembly. I also applied a few drops of pure silicone oil through transfer port into compression chamber-no problem. [get the RWS maintenence kit-highly recommended for superior tools and lubes.]
What others should know:I wish Umarex/RWS would offer a medium power springer (600-800fps) which was lighter (under 7 lbs), with a good or adjustable (pull weight) trigger. This would make it bearable with a scope on it, shooting freehand. Currently they have the schutze (youth model), but I hear the power is in the low to mid 500's and the trigger is a bit heavy (5-6lbs direct trigger). Still I may have to try this schutze. RWS should also offer a model with a suppressor, like the Gamo whisper. RWS has the best warranty of all airguns-Lifetime Limited Warranty-and there is a reason: they make superbly engineered products that will last generations if properly cared for. It occurs to me that the muzzle break on this model could easily be modified to be an airgun-appropriate-only noise suppressor by someone who knows what they are doing. Sounds like a fun project. And, of course, Pyramyd Air has fast and excellent customer service and policies.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Paul from USA on 2013-10-11 16:53:40

Things I liked:Seems to be built well inside. Average accuracy. The only thing I can say good about this rifle is that it has a nice trigger.
Things I would have changed:Should have returned it and ordered something else. Don't like the plastic butt pad, scope went in 2 days, and the muzzle brake is a joke!
What others should know:Returned the scope to Umarex, still nothing after few months. Buy thread locker in large amounts, better yet just throw the brake away or weld it on.
Sort by:
  • 123 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Trent from USA on 2015-03-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is an accurate and powerful air rifle. I use it for field target and pest removal and the rifle performs well at each task. I like the shorter length as I find it fits me very well. This is my second 34, I own the Classic version in .22 which I enjoyed so much I felt I needed another RWS 34 rifle. The flat shooting characteristics of this .177 yields a consistent POI out to 50+ yards. Muzzle energies are near identical for both calibers. Some have complained about the scope, I would disagree as the unit on my rifle has performed well. I'm very happy with this purchase.
    Things I would have changed:I will eventually change out the stock spring with a PG2 from Vortek. I did this on my .22 caliber 34 and much prefer the shot cycle with this system. The spring oscillation that accompanies each shot is inherent in this model. However, the performance in terms of power and accuracy is excellent with the stock spring. I would like to see rubber cushion on the butt of the stock.
    What others should know:Pellet performance from 10 shot groups across the chronograph; JSB RS (7.3 g) Avg Vel=919.8; Stdev=4.66; 13.8 FPE. RWS Superdomes (8.3 g) FPS=935.8; Stdev=14.56; FPE=16.1. FTT (8.64g) FPS=882.4; Stdev=5.17; FPE=14.9. The H&N FTT are very accurate in my Pro Compact. In light wind conditions using FTT pellets, I routinely drop Feral Pigeons out to 55 yards. This rifle will help make a person a confident shot.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By edward from USA on 2015-01-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is my favorite air rifle of all times. A friend of mine purchased one, and recommended it to me with H&N 8.64 ounce domed pellets. I've never gotten the consistent accuracy out of any pellet rifle before. We put a Hawke scope on the rifles, right out of the box, and didn't mess with the starter scope that was included. Good idea if you ask me. I called the RWS plant in Ft. Smith Arkansas, and they told me that the scope included was merely meant to be a starter scope, and not intended as a premium scope. I'm glad to know that, and to automatically go ahead and get a premium scope for my future purchases. I bought two of these rifles, just to have one in the closet. I think it has something to do with insecurity I had as a child or something.
    Things I would have changed:Wouldn't change a thing.
    What others should know:Don't buy this rifle if you like your $200.00 rifles. It will sour you for life on the lesser expensive purchases. I took all of my current rifles and sold them, or better yet, almost gave them away. I didn't even want them in the house any more.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By edward from USA on 2015-01-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Wonderful little hefty piece. Stacks them all in one hole at 15 yards, and keeps them inside a 2 inch circle at 50 yards. I love it.
    Things I would have changed:It's all good.
    What others should know:Pretty bad at shaking the screws loose. I've gotten them all doped up with Loktite, so maybe that phase is over for a while.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By John from USA on 2014-12-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Gun shot very well out of the box. I liked the mat finish on the barrel. Overall feel of the gun was very good
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:I bought this gun for my 14 year old son to use primarily for squirrel hunting. First time out he had no trouble shooting a squirrel off of a limb at 30 yards.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Charles from USA on 2014-12-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I researched this item for well over one year prior to purchasing. I am not disappointed! The rifle feels substantial and delivers the accuracy that I envisioned. It likes a variety of pellets, some delivering pellet on pellet accuracy at twenty yards! Extending to my maximum range of 43 yards, the groups open slightly to 1/2" & 3/4", depending on which pellet is used. This rifle is hold sensitive. make sure to find the "sweet spot" for excellent accuracy results!
    Things I would have changed:Nothing. RWS Diana got it right!
    What others should know:Do yourself a great favor and purchase a variety pack of pellets in the appropriate caliber. Finding the "right" pellet(s) for your particular gun will be made so much easier(and cheaper). Once you determine which one(s) work the best for your application, stock up on it(them).The RWS 3 x 9 scope with duplex reticle was ok. I didn't use it as I already had an Airforce 4 x 16 on hand to take full advantage of the accuracy potential.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By pedro from Canada on 2014-08-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Well built, accurate, very good value for amount of money paid. Good power in .177. Trigger is new T06. Very nice improvement over T05. Scope that comes with it is not the best, but works well enough, (no mil dots btw).
    Things I would have changed:Gun sounds dry, needs to be oiled up some.
    What others should know:Bought this for my 10 year old nephew who is small for his age. It's a chore to cock, but with effort he can do it. Gun is front heavy, just have to get used to feel, it's different. Gun is very accurate with RWS Super Dome pellets (.177). 1/2 groups at 25 yards are easy with proper hold technique. Guns needs to be oiled to quiet it down some and muzzle break needs Lock Tite to keep screws from coming loose every 30 shots or so.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By roger from USA on 2014-01-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:best trigger for a springer there is. short break in period. very nice finish.
    Things I would have changed:sell without a scope for a little lower price. most folks want to choose their own scope. scope that comes with the gun is pretty nice though.
    What others should know:this is a pretty heavy rifle. not for kids.
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Paul from USA on 2013-10-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Seems to be built well inside. Average accuracy. The only thing I can say good about this rifle is that it has a nice trigger.
    Things I would have changed:Should have returned it and ordered something else. Don't like the plastic butt pad, scope went in 2 days, and the muzzle brake is a joke!
    What others should know:Returned the scope to Umarex, still nothing after few months. Buy thread locker in large amounts, better yet just throw the brake away or weld it on.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Greg from USA on 2013-08-31
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Gun shoots great! the muzzle break comes loose after a few shots so I just removed it and there wasn't any accuracy wasn't affected. The only problem i had was with the scope as the cross hairs canted to the right so I contacted them about a replacement.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Anthony from USA on 2013-07-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:German quality & build are exceptional. Trigger assembly is light and crisp, needed no adjustment out of the box. Nice matte finish on barrel and composite stock has a nice feel. Unbelievably accurate! This gun loves the 8.3gr RWS Superdomes. Here's what I can't believe. Out of the box, attached the mount & scope, tightened everything down and took the gun to the garage for sight in. Put up a airgun sight in target at 15 feet and the first 5 shot group was dead on and dime size. 50 rounds later and it was still holding tight. Dumb Luck??
    Things I would have changed:The gun comes with a RWS 3-9X40 AO scope which is really pretty well made. The only thing that I would change would be to add a mil dot reticle which would help to take the guess work out of changing target distances. I'd like to see this model made in a 22 caliber.
    What others should know:Be forewarned, the gun is front end heavy, probably due to the muzzle brake. No complaints so far. Pyramyd you shipping was right on time as usual!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By mike from USA on 2013-07-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:i have NEVER done one of these review things,,but i HAVE to one this one..i am new to this air gun stuff i was in walmart the other day and seen they had gamo whisper cat on sale,,what the heck,new toy for a 50 yr old,lol..all set up and couldn't hit a barn with it,and im a avid rifle shooter,,300 pellets later i quit,,started research on net and hundreds of reviews,,i decided on the rws 34p,,,OMG,,this is a REAL pellet rifle !! unbelievable quality and craftsmanship went into this rifle,,perfect fit and finish,i like the black satin finish instead of blu,, scope mounted beautifully with eveything blueloctite took about 20 shots to start blowin the center out of a dime size circle and 30 yards with the cheap crossman pellets i got for the gamo !!!! AWSOME !!
    Things I would have changed:just a tad heavy but manageable,other than the PERFECT !!!
    What others should know:this is not a toy !! it was going right through 1\2 pressed board @ 30 yards !!! very powerful .177 rifle !!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jeffrey from USA on 2013-07-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This gun shoots anything . Lite weight or way heavy it doesn't care. cheep or not so cheep, just pop it in and have fun.
    Things I would have changed:Not one thing!
    What others should know:When you first get it the trigger is way soft with a lot of travel till you pull it off. with a small screw driver you can adjust it till it's just how you want it. I love RWS guns . I have three and wouldn't take any thing for them.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Robert from USA on 2013-04-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This thing is very accurate inside 50 yards. I read the reviews and yes it's heavy but doesn't toss the gun around like some cheaper models. Loctite all screws after 50 rounds. Shot another 350 rounds of various ammo. Gets better the more you shoot...
    Things I would have changed:Little tight on the break at first..could use some light grease...
    What others should know:Why dont you own one yet?
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2013-04-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Everything. Overall quality is excellent. Accuracy is awesome!
    Things I would have changed:Put a rubber recoil pad on the stock instead of hard plastic.
    What others should know:You'll need thread locker for the barrel weight and muzzle cap as well as the scope mountings. But other then that there is no concerns.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Bearchaser from USA on 2013-03-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I recived my Pro Compact two weeks ago and love it very nice gun and shoots very accurate
    Things I would have changed:I put a 3-9-50 scope much better than the one that comes with it
    What others should know:I took The Cocking aid boff the end of barrel much nicer to shoot
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2013-02-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Everything. Quality abounds concerning this rifle. Very accurate and powerful.
    Things I would have changed:Not a thing.
    What others should know:Use thread locker when mounting the scope. Also should use some on the barrel shroud and threaded end cap.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Derrick from USA on 2012-12-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The easy set up. Straight shooter out of the box! Cant believe this happened to me,yah right, I installed the scope and it was close enough for me! Hit a can at 25yards,crazy but true! These folks are the best when dealing with!! They forgot my pellets,shot an email, no problem, 3 days i had them. No lie these folks will be in business for years to come with service like this. I read all the reviews,and weeded out the nuts who think they know it all, this is my first good quality pellet gun and if your not happy they will make you happy, unless you are my ex-wife. This gun is a keeper, I read a lot of reviews and the happy people that own the gun are right, this is a very good gun for the money. i'm 56 and I might change my mind about a 22 long rifle, very happy with pyramyd air, very happy about this rifle.
    Things I would have changed:The gun is heavy, I new this going in, and I will check the screws and scope mounts, thats just normal maintainance that you will do with any gun,or you should. Will lock tite screws when i've done more shooting, small potatoes. Things I would change,,, the President if I could, I dont think he will come after pellet guns,you never know.
    What others should know:Dont be afraid of buying this gun or doing business with this company!! Its a welcome change to have good service out of a internet store, I've gotten crappy service from dunhams and other store fronts this store is a first class business and that doesnt come easy from my lips,
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By john from USA on 2012-02-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:the fit and finish is wonderful, great quality.shoots very well and fast and powerful.
    Things I would have changed:its a little heavy to carry all dau, provisions for a real sling would be great,not one that fits over the barrel.
    What others should know:great gun, powerful,accurate. first rate.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By james from USA on 2012-01-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Almost everything , About the gun itself. But RWS really needs to do a lot better job at QC. The gun is heavy , I like that . It really helps you hold it steady. The stock really looks nice. The trigger is unreal. It is a lot better that than the older model , which I have also. You take up the slack , apply just a little pressure and it fires. Accuracy ? I almost hate to tell you how accurate this gun is because it is hard even for me to believe. I have had my hands on 4 guns of this newer model . Each one would shoot 1/4“ 5 shot groups at 20yds with Crosman premier 7.9 g hollow points. Not Every group but ½ “ groups are very common . This is provided you can hold the gun motionless on a rest.
    Things I would have changed:Please take the plastic off the gun , except for the stock of Corse . I would rather pay $10 to $15 more for a gun without plastic. The safety is plastic and the cap the safety slides through is plastic and it is normally lose or shaky on each gun. This really takes away from the gun. Replace the screw heads with allen screw heads
    What others should know:I think this is the best air gun you can buy for the money. And it is as accurate as guns that cost twice as much. When you order this gun have some blue and red Permatex ready. You will need the blue for installing the scope. If you have never installed a scope on a spring powered air gun you will need to watch some youtube videos or find some articles on the subject. If you do not do it right you will have nothing but trouble and will damage your scope and gun. You will need red for the suppressor at the end of the barrel. There are two small screws under the bottom that hold it on. If you do not apply red it will come loose. You will also need to put blue on the front scope ring . Take it off apply blue permatex and put it back on. Pay the extra money for the 10 for 10 test , ask them to please check the barrel and the safety. Rws has shipped guns that should never have left the factory in my opinion. I recently returned one of these guns because the barrel was wallowed out too much where you load the pellet. A CP 7.9g should fit tight in the barrel when loading. I have also seen one where the bore was off center. Also the safety was loose , it had too much play in it. The main thing , buy from Pyramyd air. I have been dealing with them for 14 months now . I have had problems but so far they have made everything right in the end .
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jason from USA on 2012-01-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:High quality air gun with quality materials and good accuracy out of the box. I really like the trigger. It is very predictable and quite light compared to others.
    Things I would have changed:The muzzlebrake loosened after only a few shots. Given the frequency of this report, I would like to see the factory improve this element. I would also like to see a better scope at this price point.
    What others should know:This gun is heavy compared to other brands but is still quite comfortable. The velocities also seem a bit understated. While I have not used a chrono on it, lead pellets hit very hard and PBA ammo has consistently been producing the audible crack of supersonic speeds. Overall, a very nice air gun.
  • 123 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top