Date: 14/2/2016 16:18

Diana RWS 34P air rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Jason from USA on 2008-07-22 17:13:58

Things I liked: (.22 cal) - This has to be THE most accurate rifle I've ever owned (out of box performance) in its price range. I own a bunch of Gamos, Crosmans and have owned a few others and while they're decent, it takes a bit of work (tuning, trigger, etc) to get them to stack pellets. This .22 Panther shot like a dream from day 1, is quieter than my other rifles, doesn't have a loud springy noise from the powerplant, is a bit more forgiving when it comes to hold sensitivity and has a nice out of box factory trigger (clean and crisp).

Things I would have changed: The scope stop hole needs to be deeper, but Leapers now has an inexpensive adapter that'll help lock your scope in place for good.

What others should know: Pellets - Mine loves Benjamin Domes. Next would be Predators and Gamo Hunters. The Predators and Hunters group extremely well, however the rifle seems to be a bit more hold sensitive with them. With the Benji Domes however, the rifle is much more forgiving when it comes to hold and I can consistently stay within 1/2" at 30 yards (offhand). It wasn't super hard to cock (just a little slap on the barrel) at first, but it did ease up a bit after about 50 rounds.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Christopher from India on 2009-04-27 10:54:07

Things I liked: Definitely a Good Gun

Things I would have changed: Nothing for the Rifle..... Probably change the way packing is done....

What others should know: My rear sight was broken when I received the Air rifle. So I was mad at Pyramyd Air

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 56 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bill from USA on 2015-12-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Gun is smooth and very accurate already. Less than 200 .22 Crosman Premier hollow points and I am stacking one on top of another at 10 yds off sandbag. No special hold, love the trigger. Will put report chronograph results later.

    Things I would have changed: Sharp edges on synthetic stock. Would like stock a little shorter on barrel end as could pinch hand when closing if you do not grasp barrel further out. Had to shim about .035 on back end of scope to compensate for barrel droop.

    What others should know: Package arrived 2 days after back order received with 10 for 10 done and was well packaged in a nondescript outer box. Faster than expected.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Luis from USA on 2015-12-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well made, nice finish, well machined parts, open sights are nice, I added a scope and am happy with the combo. The polymer stock is a flat black color and looks good. I have only shot it about 200 times so far, so I cannot tell you much about the accuracy since it is still so new.

    Things I would have changed: Move the rear sight forward on the barrel to remove a pinch point between it and the back half of the rifle. When I first got it, cocking was very difficult. I contacted tech support twice about this, the second time they suggested loosening the pivot bolt and this took care of the stiffness. I am glad this fixed it but it should not have been so stiff when shipped.I was ready to return the rifle and had started the process when this solution was found.

    What others should know: This is a heavy to carry rifle and I will be looking for a wide sling, now that the scope has made it even heavier. .

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Luis from USA on 2015-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The quality of the machining and build is evident. The standard sights are easy to adjust. The polymer stock is well made and of solid construction. The trigger pull is adjustable, but I have not changed it because it feels good now. I like the polymer stock finish, which is a matte black. The safety is easy to use.

    Things I would have changed: So far, I have shot about 50 times with the Diana. I found this rifle is very difficult to cock. It seems very stiff, especially on the down stroke & even on the return stroke to put the barrel back in line ready to shoot, it feels very tight - more than I would have expected. I called tech support, they said it may take a while to break it in and suggested to try adding some spring lube - which I did and also carefully oiled the pivot points on the cocking mechanism. I am hoping this problem goes away soon, by way of comparison, my Gamo rifle, though not as sturdy or heavy, is much easier to cock and the return stroke has almost no resistance - easy to put the barrel back in line ready to shoot. The Gamo was very noisy at first, but I do not remember it being nearly as difficult to cock and make ready to fire.

    What others should know: Even with the polymer stock, and before adding a scope, this is a heavy rifle to carry in the woods. The butt end does not have a rubber pad on it, which I may add later, as this rifle is difficult to cock - I hope this gets better with time. The safety sets itself each time the rifle is cocked, so you have to manually put it ready to fire every shot.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pa.oldman from USA on 2015-09-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Open sights, accuracy, T06 trigger, Synthetic stock, fit and finish, cocking ease, power.

    Things I would have changed: Barrel Droop

    What others should know: My RWS 34P is a .22 caliber, I have just about 1000 rounds through it at this point. The rifle is shooting at at an average 14.39 ft lbs. It develops peak power with pellets in the 14 gr to 16 gr range with RWS 14.5 gr Superdome producing maxium power of 15.92 ft lbs of energy. They however are not the most accurate in my rifle. Best accuracy so far has been in the .5" range @ 25 yds with 15.89 gr JSB Exact Jumbos. The T06 trigger is excellent breaking cleanly at 1.5 lb average. Droop is still something that needs to be dealt with and for that I mounted my scope using an RWS Lock Down 1-Pc mount. I lined the rings with the special tape from a set of unused UTG rings and thers is no movement of the scope at all. My rifle shooting very smoothly at this point as well. The synthetic stock is really much nicer then I expected very solid, not at all like the Gamo synthetic stocks have experence with. I would highly recomend this rifle over any Gamo, Crosman or even the Walther Terrus.

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By chad from USA on 2015-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: very solid platform. Good Iron sights. Accurate right out of the box-super accurate after about 1000 shots. Light, easy to shoulder very slight hold sensitivity you may not even notice. FPS measured in lead 7 grain hobbies so the power package is real.

    Things I would have changed: the only changes I would make are cosmetic and that is a huge statement. I really have pushed this gun to perform and it delivers. When you can only say, gee it would be nice if the stock were darker or lighter-you have a real winner.

    What others should know: Try not to take it apart. I think this is why so many owners complain about the gun coming loose. I have not taken mine apart and all is still firm. 1200+ shots later. Could be a good message for all of you who tear your stuff apart as soon as you get it. This is a German engineered gun, its already good. I you just can't help yourself and have to tear it apart, I'm betting you will need to loctite it. The thread length is very small on airguns and this one too. Lastly, clean the barrel. Mine was loaded with a rust preventive and needed 3 cleans by 500 shots to stay on target.The first clean, I used a solvent to pull out the lube. It took time for the gun top regain accuracy after that clean. all others with just a patch and it shoots great after.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By charles from USA on 2015-09-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The fiber optic sights,great stock, easy cocking,very nice trigger.

    Things I would have changed: I wish it had a rubber recoil pad.

    What others should know: I went in search of a woods walker air rifle and have found it,plenty of power,great accuracy,and perfect weight,about 500 rounds so far keeps getting better. Thank You, Pyramyd Air!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brad from USA on 2015-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Trigger is Awesome! Weight, balance and general feel is excellent. The open sights work great. I sighted them in first before putting the scope on. They are easy to see. So far it shoots heavy 10.5 and 13.4 grain .177 pellets very well. Very happy with accuracy and haven't really experimented much let.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. I still wonder if I should have gotten a wood stock, but that is just a matter of preference.

    What others should know: Clean the barrel first. The front sight was canted to the left and had to adjust the rear sight all the way over. But it was easily fixed by loosening the set screw on the front sight and rotating it a little. No big deal. Highly recommend this gun. This is the 4th gun after returning two to the local store and one to Pyramyd. The people at Pyramyd Air are great folks to work with. No wonder the RWS 34 gets high reviews. It is a keeper.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By kenneth from USA on 2015-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: At first I didn't like the looks of the rifle. It has grown on me. Love the weight of it, heavy and well balanced. It shoulders well and sights quickly. I enjoy how the funky fore grip, and thin pistol grip, help with consistent hand placement and hold for accurate off hand shooting. Great open sights. The front true glow is the perfect size, and is thin enough to fit the rear notch with light on both sides. The size of the true glow rod is also fine enough for precise shooting. The trigger is the best out of the box trigger I have shot. Actually, it is the best air rifle trigger I have shot. It makes target shooting fun. The thing that amazed me about this rifle was its ability to shoot accurately off hand,and the bench, without much fuss. Great all around rifle. Ready to shoot right out of the box.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: This rifle is worth every penny. For the price it is a steal. And, if you look around for coupons and specials you can even get a better deal. I didn't believe it at first, and tried to find a rifle that was cheaper and just as good. Those rifles are gone. This rifle is a keeper.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2015-03-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I put a UTG 4-16x40 scope (TRUE HUNTER)on mine while sighting in scope shots of 3 pellets were all touching each other at 20 yards.

    Things I would have changed: Don't have any thoughts to change anything yet.

    What others should know: Just remember German craftsmanship pay little more now lasts forever.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stuart from USA on 2015-03-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent air rifle. I'm not an air gun guy per se. My main interest in air rifles lies in small game hunting. I won't brag about the tight groups I can get with this rifle on the range. I'll just say that last fall hunting season I was not disappointed with the results that this rifle can produce. The rifle is light, handles well in the field after installing swivel studs with epoxy. Accuracy within 25 yrds is outstanding with open sights (which I prefer) beyond that I would use a scope. I have a Leapers Bug-Buster and a Leapers 3-9x40AO Tru-Hunter scope but I like the light weight of the unscoped 34P and the fast sight acquisition of the tru-glo open sights for hunting the areas where I live which is mainly thick underbrush and hedge rows. The .22 packs a wallop and is my preferred hunting caliber. Accuracy with Crossman 14.3gr premiers is excellent; so good I haven't felt the need to try more expensive pellets. The T06 trigger is very smooth and light. Highly recommended.

    Things I would have changed: Make the globe around the front sight out of metal. Add swivel studs for us hunters.

    What others should know: Don't start out with a cheap air rifle. Save up and buy a quality springer and you'll probably save money in the long run. If you hunt with an air rifle go with a .22. JMHO

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Garrett from USA on 2015-02-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This gun is SOOOOO accurate. Beware it takes about 100 shots to get it to be dead on accurate, but with a few hours it can be achieved. The trigger is really smooth, so good job on that Diana. The stock is really comfortable, and this gun has a nice metal barrel. The stock sites on it are excellent, and are really bright.

    Things I would have changed: The gun is a little heavy but you get used to it. Thats the only think really "bad" about this gun.

    What others should know: Why don't you have one yet??

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Billy from USA on 2015-02-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: I have both the .22 and the .177 version. The .177 is the most accurate airgun I own.

    Things I would have changed: Lower the sights so they don't interfere with scope mounting, (you may have to remove the rear sight in order to fit a large scope). Also the sights sit up too high to see them through see-through mounts.

    What others should know: The .22 is very accurate, it shot 1/2 inch groups at 20 yds (off a bench) out of the box. This could probably be improved with higher power optics and a short break-in period. The .177 is already broken in and the performance is outstanding! It will consistantly hit a "bb" at 20 yds (off a bench rest). The .22 has no barrel droop, so I put a standard UTG 1 piece mount and an Accushot 3-12x44 30mm SWAT scope on it. The .177 does have barrel droop so I put a UTG droop compensating piccatiny rail for the T06, with a UTG 1 piece mount on it, combined with an Accushot 4-16x56 30mm SWAT scope. All fasteners have blue Loctite installed. Both rifles prefer RWS Superdomes and require a very gentle touch too achieve maximum accuracy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Edward from USA on 2015-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Feels like a real gun. Nice fit and finish.

    Things I would have changed: Not much.

    What others should know: I can hit a Crossman empty pellet tin at 35 yards with open sites standing! You need to take some time to learn how to hold and aim. But after that the fun begins.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Clifton from USA on 2015-01-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I'm 6',stock length of pull fits me correctly.Supplied open sights are very good,easy to see in dim light.Trigger is very good.Accuracy is outstanding 1/4" groups @25 yards.Pyramyd Air shipped fast and double boxed to insure no damage.Would highly recommend.

    Things I would have changed: nothing.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2014-11-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Synthetic stock has texture for great grip, weight, fit and finish. This feels like a quality gun in .22 unlike the Gammo and Benjamin Trail. It is powerful, accurate and is easy to carry! I love the low profile on this wonderful piece.

    Things I would have changed: I would have a solid stock if possible. I'm not a fan of the hollow synthetic thing going on.

    What others should know: Please stay with German engineering. I own a gammo, Benjamin trail and even with comparable price ranges... RWS is hands down the best! I own an RWS 350 Magnum .22 and I am so glad I have his little brother now! I can't emphasize it enough, don't buy anything other than German or English!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2014-11-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: High quality air rifle; great trigger and sights (I did not get a scope with mine, but added one later). Great synthetic stock.

    Things I would have changed: I can't think of anything; it is a great rifle as it is.

    What others should know: I had a little difficulty getting it to group well even after a lot of pellets, but it finally did. I am currently very pleased with the rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By George from USA on 2014-09-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Build quality, power, and accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: I wish it was lighter and that the 22 was offered in a shorter version like the 177.

    What others should know: My initial gun shot way left and low. I was very disappointed! I called Pyramyd and and talked to Bob who was very helpful.. He assured me the P34 was an outstanding gun but mine was defective. He offered to pay for it's return and personally test the replacement gun before shipping it to me. The service was fast and my new gun shoots incredibly well. Thanks Bob!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Andy Mattson from USA on 2014-08-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I have been in the business of rebuilding mechanical things for 40 years and gunsmith work. Just to look at this it reminds me of a Mercedes Unimog. Quality material and assembly.

    Things I would have changed: I wish it had swivels for a sling, I may yet figure out a way. I am going to install the Vortek Spring and Seal kit, turn it into a $400 gun,,,Hard to improve on this.

    What others should know: Gamo, Beaman, Crossman,,all fine, but this is a step up, 3 things. Just looks cleaner built. Screws don't fall out as bad as the others I owned. and accuracy is noticeably more consistent. All for not much more $$$$

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By LawrenceBerns from USA on 2014-07-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy was excellent right out of the box over a wide range of pellet types and brands. After over 500 shots, accuracy has not changed. Barrel droop was not excessive but still needed a droop mount. The firing cycle has smoothed out and no more rough cocking and honking. Very satisfied with this purchase.

    Things I would have changed: I don't like drooping air rifle barrels but appears to be a way of life with the RWS brand. Seems like this issue could be solved with some creative engineering. The RWS 34P out of the box had a honking piston seal and a grinding main spring. The lube from the factory appears to very thin. A coating of moly on the piston and spring solved the grinding and honking. The 34P was very accurate even while grinding and honking.

    What others should know: Buy a droop mount when you order the air rifle. Barrel droop is the rule not the exception. I now have two RWS 34P air rifles and both have been grinders and honkers. Both air rifles have smoothed out with use and moly. Don't think moly is absolutely necessary but appears to be a quick fix. Shoot the 34P and the noise will eventually stop when broken in.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2014-07-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The rifle arrived quickly in fine condition, with no dings or defects. Took the stock off to inspect the mechanism and see if it needed any lubrication. Surprisingly, everything was lubed generously from the factory. Enough so that I needed to wipe the inside of the stock with a cloth because of excess oil collecting on it. Cocking from the beginning was smooth, with no odd noises. No noticeable twang or sprong sounds. After about a 100 rounds I was able to put 5 rounds on target that cover a dime; shooting at about 15 paces out. I shoot left-handed and the poly stock fits me fine (6'0" tall; average build guy). The stock is finished well, with very little of the mold seams showing. The T06 trigger is absolutely fantastic, and it's why I picked the RWS in the first place. Consistent with no gritty or rough pull. I left the factory settings for the trigger as is.

    Things I would have changed: The butt pad isn't soft rubber, but it is a soft type plastic (like a nylon plastic) and does give a little when I push my finger-nail into it. Definitely is not any brittle type of plastic. Should last a long time. It wouldn't hurt if RWS would just go ahead and put a rubber pad on this anyway. I'm really nit-picking here folks.

    What others should know: I mounted a UTG droop-compensating weaver rail designed for the newer T06 RWS rifles. On top of that I put a 4x32 UTG AO scope. The whole thing went together smooth and easy. Having the Adjustable Objective (AO) is an absolute must. I have other 22 LR rimfire rifles with fixed 50 yard parallax scopes and it sucks if you want to target shoot closer; like at the 25 yard line. For this RWS air rifle (.177 cal), I plan on staying in the 10-35 yard range. The scope allows me to dial everything in perfectly. Totally happy with this RWS 34p. It's my first real air rifle. I would definitely order the same setup if I had to do it over again.

  • 123 ... 56 Next
Navigation