Date: 25/9/2016 5:32
0

Diana RWS 34P air rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Jason from USA on 2008-07-22 17:13:58

Things I liked: (.22 cal) - This has to be THE most accurate rifle I've ever owned (out of box performance) in its price range. I own a bunch of Gamos, Crosmans and have owned a few others and while they're decent, it takes a bit of work (tuning, trigger, etc) to get them to stack pellets. This .22 Panther shot like a dream from day 1, is quieter than my other rifles, doesn't have a loud springy noise from the powerplant, is a bit more forgiving when it comes to hold sensitivity and has a nice out of box factory trigger (clean and crisp).

Things I would have changed: The scope stop hole needs to be deeper, but Leapers now has an inexpensive adapter that'll help lock your scope in place for good.

What others should know: Pellets - Mine loves Benjamin Domes. Next would be Predators and Gamo Hunters. The Predators and Hunters group extremely well, however the rifle seems to be a bit more hold sensitive with them. With the Benji Domes however, the rifle is much more forgiving when it comes to hold and I can consistently stay within 1/2" at 30 yards (offhand). It wasn't super hard to cock (just a little slap on the barrel) at first, but it did ease up a bit after about 50 rounds.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Christopher from India on 2009-04-27 10:54:07

Things I liked: Definitely a Good Gun

Things I would have changed: Nothing for the Rifle..... Probably change the way packing is done....

What others should know: My rear sight was broken when I received the Air rifle. So I was mad at Pyramyd Air

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 56 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By glen from USA on 2016-09-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have only been shooting springers since 8/4, but I've sent 2000 rounds downrange with 3 different rifles. By every measure the D34 Panther is far and away the finest rifle. The rifle is obviously well machined and the design/quality has stood the test of time. Already, I can manage dime-sized-5-shot groups at 25 yds. I am only a novice shooter! I am tracking and recording every shot. I'm still testing different pellets and thus far my best 2 group average was with JSB Diablos 8.44 at .50" center to center. This is an old-school quality rifle and PA provided a great service.

    Things I would have changed: Amazingly.... nothing. Like most folks, I've hit that "submit for purchase button" many times and been disappointed. Not this time.

    What others should know: Do yourself a favor. Talk to the folks at PA. Do all of the research that you can stand. If you are serious about shooting you should consider this rifle. There are several magnum springers on the market touting high numbers for fps, but don't be fooled. It's accuracy that counts. If you can do your part, this rifle will not let you down.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By joseph from USA on 2016-02-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Synthetic stock is very nice. Bluing on the steel is deep and rich. Easy to cock. Fiber optic sights are very crisp and easy to see. The TO6 trigger is amazing. This is the most accurate air rifle I've ever owned! Consistent one inch groups at 25 yards with out a scope. Very powerful. Recently dispatched a starling at 48 yards with the fiber optic sight!

    Things I would have changed: I would prefer a rubber recoil pad on the stock instead of the soft plastic one by factory. But this is not a deal breaker.

    What others should know: try the artillery hold and let the TO6 trigger do it's job. You will be amazed at how accurate this rifle is. I have no problem consistently hitting cans at 40 yards with the sights. Just ordered a Leapers 3x9 40mm scope for it. Anxious to see how well this does. Have tried RWS Superdomes and Super hollow points. Also Ruger 15.9 gr super point. Dime size groups with all these pellets at my 10 meter indoor range. This is a fantastic air rifle for this price point!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By lance from USA on 2016-02-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Once more I purchased an RWS Diana pellet rifle, and I have to admit that I must be a German kind of guy. Maybe it has something to do with a German surname? The fit, finish and engineering of RWS arms is second to none save for one issue I'll relate in a few moments. The stock seemed to be full thermoplastic and was devoid of flashings. The ridges on the fore stock was quite well relieves and provides for a sure grip, even with gloves should one be wearing them for some reason. The rifle seemed very well balanced and this was not negatively affected by the installation of a scope. The fiber optic tube was well protected by the globe-style front sight. The rear notch was provided with fiber optic tubes and all where well illuminated in natural light. The TO6 Trigger is better, new and out of the box, than many of my well-used triggers. I needed to make NO adjustments to it at all. It shoots like a dream.

    Things I would have changed: As much as I really like my growing collection of RWS arms, one thing remains that is a vexation; the pronounced barrel droop. The 34-P has a marked degree of droop that even a droop compensating 11mm-to-Picatinny rail adapter could not overcome. The UTG adapter rail was designed with droop compensation and I STILL had to shim the scope! And, yes, I oriented the adapter properly! RWS really needs to look at their geometry and regrind the breech block to raise the barrel and get in line with the axis of the whole rifle. I guess I really don't understand why scope mounts are designed for barrel droop compensation and RWS can get the barrel manufactured to eliminate the need for such adapters. I also thin it is time for RWS to install Picatinny rails on their rifles instead of the traditional 11mm rails. Mounting scopes is so much more secure with these than the older rail system.

    What others should know: The 34-P has proven to be exceedingly accurate within a few dozen rounds. Like my other RWS arms, it only seems to get better with each round! Lacking a chronograph, I can not give precise data about speed, but from the sounds that the Champion Trap makes, the 18 grain H&N Sniper Magnums are hitting with authority and are being completely flattened on impact. This suggests that the rifle is producing very respectable energy down range. This will only get better with time and increased use. I one is looking for a pest elimination rifle that can be used in inclement conditions, this may well be the pest rifle of choice. Properly cared for, it should last for decades (like my RWS Model 36).

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By joseph from USA on 2016-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent craftsmanship.Deep, rich bluing on the steel.Absolutely no blemishes on the synthetic stock. Only a few Crosman Premier HP run through it out of the box to set the fiber optic sight. This rifle is a tack driving hammer! Only will be better once UTG droop compensator and scope installed. The cocking cycle is very smooth.And the TO6 trigger is marvelous. This brings out the accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: Would prefer a rubber butt pad. So we will see how the soft plastic one holds up. But it is not a deal breaker.

    What others should know: Use the artillery hold with this rifle and let the TO6 trigger do it's job. As with any air rifle experiment with different ones to see which shoots best. Will be trying RWS superdomes, JSB, and H-N in the future. But the Crosman Premiers were impressive.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By lance from USA on 2016-01-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The fit and finish on the 34-P are, as usual for RWS Diana, excellent. These things tend to get better with time as they self polish as evidenced by my '89 M-36. The polymer stock will make this an excellent all-weather pest eliminator when the garden is in full production.

    Things I would have changed: RWS, as much as I am an aficionado and owner of your products, can't you figure out a compensation for barrel droop? Droop compensating mounts are available now generally, but it begs the question of why the SOURCE of the issue isn't dealt with, namely the machining of the breech block angles. Additionally, it seems time for RWS to rivet a Picatinny Rail on their rifles instead of the traditional 11mm rail. Even the Chinese are doing this. One purchases an heirloom quality rifle and it has slippery old rails. The only other thing I'd change at RWS Diana would be a return to the stamped Diana compression tube. I'm sure that RWS got away from the stamping of the tube due to cost, but modern painted Diana logo and print just lacks that classic attention to detail. Find a way to put the fiber optics inside the older globed front site with multiple inserts. Maybe it is impossible, but my older RWS with the steel globes will likely outlast the polymer and fiber optic fronts.

    What others should know: I have noted a number of comments about cocking difficulty. This is a bit specious. This is a magnum springer pushing back a heavy spring. Look at it as a fitness challenge and get in better shape, people! Actually, as a springer guy I think the pull is moderate; especially in comparison to my Hatsan M-135 in .25 caliber (that thing IS a beast). I had to shim my iron sight UP 1/8" to get enough elevation to put the POA and POI in the bull. Droop is severe on this one. I flat out ran out of elevation on the dial screw and it "exploded" and I had to find all the parts. With the shim, all is well. One will love the T06 trigger. RWS gets better and better!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bill from USA on 2015-12-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Gun is smooth and very accurate already. Less than 200 .22 Crosman Premier hollow points and I am stacking one on top of another at 10 yds off sandbag. No special hold, love the trigger. Will put report chronograph results later.

    Things I would have changed: Sharp edges on synthetic stock. Would like stock a little shorter on barrel end as could pinch hand when closing if you do not grasp barrel further out. Had to shim about .035 on back end of scope to compensate for barrel droop.

    What others should know: Package arrived 2 days after back order received with 10 for 10 done and was well packaged in a nondescript outer box. Faster than expected.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Luis from USA on 2015-12-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well made, nice finish, well machined parts, open sights are nice, I added a scope and am happy with the combo. The polymer stock is a flat black color and looks good. I have only shot it about 200 times so far, so I cannot tell you much about the accuracy since it is still so new.

    Things I would have changed: Move the rear sight forward on the barrel to remove a pinch point between it and the back half of the rifle. When I first got it, cocking was very difficult. I contacted tech support twice about this, the second time they suggested loosening the pivot bolt and this took care of the stiffness. I am glad this fixed it but it should not have been so stiff when shipped.I was ready to return the rifle and had started the process when this solution was found.

    What others should know: This is a heavy to carry rifle and I will be looking for a wide sling, now that the scope has made it even heavier. .

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Luis from USA on 2015-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The quality of the machining and build is evident. The standard sights are easy to adjust. The polymer stock is well made and of solid construction. The trigger pull is adjustable, but I have not changed it because it feels good now. I like the polymer stock finish, which is a matte black. The safety is easy to use.

    Things I would have changed: So far, I have shot about 50 times with the Diana. I found this rifle is very difficult to cock. It seems very stiff, especially on the down stroke & even on the return stroke to put the barrel back in line ready to shoot, it feels very tight - more than I would have expected. I called tech support, they said it may take a while to break it in and suggested to try adding some spring lube - which I did and also carefully oiled the pivot points on the cocking mechanism. I am hoping this problem goes away soon, by way of comparison, my Gamo rifle, though not as sturdy or heavy, is much easier to cock and the return stroke has almost no resistance - easy to put the barrel back in line ready to shoot. The Gamo was very noisy at first, but I do not remember it being nearly as difficult to cock and make ready to fire.

    What others should know: Even with the polymer stock, and before adding a scope, this is a heavy rifle to carry in the woods. The butt end does not have a rubber pad on it, which I may add later, as this rifle is difficult to cock - I hope this gets better with time. The safety sets itself each time the rifle is cocked, so you have to manually put it ready to fire every shot.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pa.oldman from USA on 2015-09-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Open sights, accuracy, T06 trigger, Synthetic stock, fit and finish, cocking ease, power.

    Things I would have changed: Barrel Droop

    What others should know: My RWS 34P is a .22 caliber, I have just about 1000 rounds through it at this point. The rifle is shooting at at an average 14.39 ft lbs. It develops peak power with pellets in the 14 gr to 16 gr range with RWS 14.5 gr Superdome producing maxium power of 15.92 ft lbs of energy. They however are not the most accurate in my rifle. Best accuracy so far has been in the .5" range @ 25 yds with 15.89 gr JSB Exact Jumbos. The T06 trigger is excellent breaking cleanly at 1.5 lb average. Droop is still something that needs to be dealt with and for that I mounted my scope using an RWS Lock Down 1-Pc mount. I lined the rings with the special tape from a set of unused UTG rings and thers is no movement of the scope at all. My rifle shooting very smoothly at this point as well. The synthetic stock is really much nicer then I expected very solid, not at all like the Gamo synthetic stocks have experence with. I would highly recomend this rifle over any Gamo, Crosman or even the Walther Terrus.

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By chad from USA on 2015-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: very solid platform. Good Iron sights. Accurate right out of the box-super accurate after about 1000 shots. Light, easy to shoulder very slight hold sensitivity you may not even notice. FPS measured in lead 7 grain hobbies so the power package is real.

    Things I would have changed: the only changes I would make are cosmetic and that is a huge statement. I really have pushed this gun to perform and it delivers. When you can only say, gee it would be nice if the stock were darker or lighter-you have a real winner.

    What others should know: Try not to take it apart. I think this is why so many owners complain about the gun coming loose. I have not taken mine apart and all is still firm. 1200+ shots later. Could be a good message for all of you who tear your stuff apart as soon as you get it. This is a German engineered gun, its already good. I you just can't help yourself and have to tear it apart, I'm betting you will need to loctite it. The thread length is very small on airguns and this one too. Lastly, clean the barrel. Mine was loaded with a rust preventive and needed 3 cleans by 500 shots to stay on target.The first clean, I used a solvent to pull out the lube. It took time for the gun top regain accuracy after that clean. all others with just a patch and it shoots great after.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By charles from USA on 2015-09-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The fiber optic sights,great stock, easy cocking,very nice trigger.

    Things I would have changed: I wish it had a rubber recoil pad.

    What others should know: I went in search of a woods walker air rifle and have found it,plenty of power,great accuracy,and perfect weight,about 500 rounds so far keeps getting better. Thank You, Pyramyd Air!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brad from USA on 2015-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Trigger is Awesome! Weight, balance and general feel is excellent. The open sights work great. I sighted them in first before putting the scope on. They are easy to see. So far it shoots heavy 10.5 and 13.4 grain .177 pellets very well. Very happy with accuracy and haven't really experimented much let.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. I still wonder if I should have gotten a wood stock, but that is just a matter of preference.

    What others should know: Clean the barrel first. The front sight was canted to the left and had to adjust the rear sight all the way over. But it was easily fixed by loosening the set screw on the front sight and rotating it a little. No big deal. Highly recommend this gun. This is the 4th gun after returning two to the local store and one to Pyramyd. The people at Pyramyd Air are great folks to work with. No wonder the RWS 34 gets high reviews. It is a keeper.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By kenneth from USA on 2015-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: At first I didn't like the looks of the rifle. It has grown on me. Love the weight of it, heavy and well balanced. It shoulders well and sights quickly. I enjoy how the funky fore grip, and thin pistol grip, help with consistent hand placement and hold for accurate off hand shooting. Great open sights. The front true glow is the perfect size, and is thin enough to fit the rear notch with light on both sides. The size of the true glow rod is also fine enough for precise shooting. The trigger is the best out of the box trigger I have shot. Actually, it is the best air rifle trigger I have shot. It makes target shooting fun. The thing that amazed me about this rifle was its ability to shoot accurately off hand,and the bench, without much fuss. Great all around rifle. Ready to shoot right out of the box.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: This rifle is worth every penny. For the price it is a steal. And, if you look around for coupons and specials you can even get a better deal. I didn't believe it at first, and tried to find a rifle that was cheaper and just as good. Those rifles are gone. This rifle is a keeper.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2015-03-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I put a UTG 4-16x40 scope (TRUE HUNTER)on mine while sighting in scope shots of 3 pellets were all touching each other at 20 yards.

    Things I would have changed: Don't have any thoughts to change anything yet.

    What others should know: Just remember German craftsmanship pay little more now lasts forever.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stuart from USA on 2015-03-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent air rifle. I'm not an air gun guy per se. My main interest in air rifles lies in small game hunting. I won't brag about the tight groups I can get with this rifle on the range. I'll just say that last fall hunting season I was not disappointed with the results that this rifle can produce. The rifle is light, handles well in the field after installing swivel studs with epoxy. Accuracy within 25 yrds is outstanding with open sights (which I prefer) beyond that I would use a scope. I have a Leapers Bug-Buster and a Leapers 3-9x40AO Tru-Hunter scope but I like the light weight of the unscoped 34P and the fast sight acquisition of the tru-glo open sights for hunting the areas where I live which is mainly thick underbrush and hedge rows. The .22 packs a wallop and is my preferred hunting caliber. Accuracy with Crossman 14.3gr premiers is excellent; so good I haven't felt the need to try more expensive pellets. The T06 trigger is very smooth and light. Highly recommended.

    Things I would have changed: Make the globe around the front sight out of metal. Add swivel studs for us hunters.

    What others should know: Don't start out with a cheap air rifle. Save up and buy a quality springer and you'll probably save money in the long run. If you hunt with an air rifle go with a .22. JMHO

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Garrett from USA on 2015-02-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This gun is SOOOOO accurate. Beware it takes about 100 shots to get it to be dead on accurate, but with a few hours it can be achieved. The trigger is really smooth, so good job on that Diana. The stock is really comfortable, and this gun has a nice metal barrel. The stock sites on it are excellent, and are really bright.

    Things I would have changed: The gun is a little heavy but you get used to it. Thats the only think really "bad" about this gun.

    What others should know: Why don't you have one yet??

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Billy from USA on 2015-02-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: I have both the .22 and the .177 version. The .177 is the most accurate airgun I own.

    Things I would have changed: Lower the sights so they don't interfere with scope mounting, (you may have to remove the rear sight in order to fit a large scope). Also the sights sit up too high to see them through see-through mounts.

    What others should know: The .22 is very accurate, it shot 1/2 inch groups at 20 yds (off a bench) out of the box. This could probably be improved with higher power optics and a short break-in period. The .177 is already broken in and the performance is outstanding! It will consistantly hit a "bb" at 20 yds (off a bench rest). The .22 has no barrel droop, so I put a standard UTG 1 piece mount and an Accushot 3-12x44 30mm SWAT scope on it. The .177 does have barrel droop so I put a UTG droop compensating piccatiny rail for the T06, with a UTG 1 piece mount on it, combined with an Accushot 4-16x56 30mm SWAT scope. All fasteners have blue Loctite installed. Both rifles prefer RWS Superdomes and require a very gentle touch too achieve maximum accuracy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Edward from USA on 2015-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Feels like a real gun. Nice fit and finish.

    Things I would have changed: Not much.

    What others should know: I can hit a Crossman empty pellet tin at 35 yards with open sites standing! You need to take some time to learn how to hold and aim. But after that the fun begins.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Clifton from USA on 2015-01-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I'm 6',stock length of pull fits me correctly.Supplied open sights are very good,easy to see in dim light.Trigger is very good.Accuracy is outstanding 1/4" groups @25 yards.Pyramyd Air shipped fast and double boxed to insure no damage.Would highly recommend.

    Things I would have changed: nothing.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2014-11-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Synthetic stock has texture for great grip, weight, fit and finish. This feels like a quality gun in .22 unlike the Gammo and Benjamin Trail. It is powerful, accurate and is easy to carry! I love the low profile on this wonderful piece.

    Things I would have changed: I would have a solid stock if possible. I'm not a fan of the hollow synthetic thing going on.

    What others should know: Please stay with German engineering. I own a gammo, Benjamin trail and even with comparable price ranges... RWS is hands down the best! I own an RWS 350 Magnum .22 and I am so glad I have his little brother now! I can't emphasize it enough, don't buy anything other than German or English!

  • 123 ... 56 Next
Navigation