Diana RWS 34P air rifle reviews - page 3

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Jason from USA on 2008-07-22 17:13:58

Things I liked: (.22 cal) - This has to be THE most accurate rifle I've ever owned (out of box performance) in its price range. I own a bunch of Gamos, Crosmans and have owned a few others and while they're decent, it takes a bit of work (tuning, trigger, etc) to get them to stack pellets. This .22 Panther shot like a dream from day 1, is quieter than my other rifles, doesn't have a loud springy noise from the powerplant, is a bit more forgiving when it comes to hold sensitivity and has a nice out of box factory trigger (clean and crisp).

Things I would have changed: The scope stop hole needs to be deeper, but Leapers now has an inexpensive adapter that'll help lock your scope in place for good.

What others should know: Pellets - Mine loves Benjamin Domes. Next would be Predators and Gamo Hunters. The Predators and Hunters group extremely well, however the rifle seems to be a bit more hold sensitive with them. With the Benji Domes however, the rifle is much more forgiving when it comes to hold and I can consistently stay within 1/2" at 30 yards (offhand). It wasn't super hard to cock (just a little slap on the barrel) at first, but it did ease up a bit after about 50 rounds.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Christopher from India on 2009-04-27 10:54:07

Things I liked: Definitely a Good Gun

Things I would have changed: Nothing for the Rifle..... Probably change the way packing is done....

What others should know: My rear sight was broken when I received the Air rifle. So I was mad at Pyramyd Air

Sort by:
  • Previous 123456 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By j.martinez94 from USA on 2011-10-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a great rifle. I bought it in .177 and it's very accurate while at the same time it packs a punch! The sights on it are excellent and very easy to aim with. The new T06 trigger is fantastic, for me it had the right amount of pull right out of the box so I didn't need to adjust anything.

    Things I would have changed: The rifle is a bit heavy, so a lighter one would be slightly more convenient, but it's not too big of a deal since it only makes it difficult for me to shoot at longer distances while standing up.

    What others should know: Buying the rifle was great decision, it exceeded my expectations and i got more than what i payed for! I love this rifle and you will not regret buying it!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By harleybob from USA on 2011-08-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Good weight and balance,fiber optic sights,very powerful.Accurate right out of the box.Great recomendation from Pyramyd Air.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.Awesome gun.

    What others should know: This gun seems to like whatever you shoot out of it.Groups that can be covered with a nickle with open sights at 30yds. & after putting a scope on it you can cover with a dime.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By THOMAS from USA on 2011-07-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very Powerful. Purchased to get rid of some pest in my back yard. Well Constructed. Should last long time. Very Accurate with the proper scope.

    Things I would have changed: Scope I purchased for this gun does not work with this gun without a separate compensator mount to lift the back end of the scope up. Tech service said just to shim up the rear rather than purchase this mount and a new set of scope rings. If you don't shim up the back of the scope it will always shoot low. The scope I purchased was a Leapers 5th Gen 3-9x40 AO Mil-Dot Riflescope with r/G, 1" Tube. Once the back was shimmed up it worked great. Very Accurate at 35+ yards.

    What others should know: Definitely worth the money. I've had cheaper models and this one outperforms them all hands down.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Frank from USA on 2011-06-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I found the open sights on the .177 to be very good out to my normal range of 50 yds for varmint control. But I equipped it with the 4X40 Leapers Tactedge long eye relief scope as at 70yrs age, every vision advantage is needed. For a younger person with good eyes, the open sights would be just fine at that range. The new TO6 metal trigger is excellent. I've shot pistol and rifle all my adult life and the trigger is up there with the best of them. No adj were necessary :-)

    Things I would have changed: Too bad the UTG special RWS scope mount wont fit the guns with the TO6 trigger. As all the current 2011 RWS production use the TO6 trigger. Perhaps UTG will upgrade their mount soon? Also, it would be great to see a bundle with a wider range choice of Leaper Scopes. So a person dosnt have to spend so much time on the web site doing research.

    What others should know: I spent a lot of time viewing the Video's and reading the reviews on this site and found them very helpful. Pyramyd Air is providing great service in this way. And made the choice of air guns and scope a lot easier. I use the .177 cal only for varmint control and this gun has great knock down power. Every shot I've made with it has been a clean kill using RWS field line superdome. And the noise is low compared to other air guns I've used 35 yrs ago. Lots have changed in that 35 yrs !! For the better too.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Viktor from USA on 2011-06-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very nice and comfortable plastic stock, power and accuracy. Perfect tool for pest control and a great value for the price. I am planning on installing of a good scope on this rifle, but have no problem of hitting chipmunk-sized target at 25 yards with open sights.

    Things I would have changed: I wish I can get RWS/DIANA Lock down mount Single block with 0,01´4” elevation with 4 screws per ring. This mounts are available only in Europe for now.

    What others should know: My RWS 34P likes 8.4gr JSB Match Diabolo and RWS 8.3gr Superdome. I am very impressed with customer service at Pyramyd Air too.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vernon from USA on 2011-03-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I use my gun primarily for pest control and target practice. I seldom hunt with it but I’ve taken squirrels in the gardens at 20 meters with head shots that dropped them instantly. I’ve actually missed on head shots and took them out with body shots that usually drops them in a few seconds. Synthetic stock dampens vibrations and is well balanced. Fits the hands well and is easy to grip. Accuracy is superb. At 20 meters with using a rest, I can touch the center dot and have each shot touch each other. Not picky with pellets, I can shoot RWS Superdomes and switch to Polymags and use the same scope position. Trigger is excellent and I really like the feel, there’s no guessing when you come to the second stage.

    Things I would have changed: I replaced the factory spring with one of Pyramid's Pro Guide springs after about a thousand shots. This helped this well dampened rifle have even less vibration.

    What others should know: Gun is sensitive to hold and trigger pull. The best position I've found is to lay it in your hand just past the trigger guard (artillery hold) and make sure you pull the trigger straight back. Make your own front sight shroud from a piece of 3/4” conduit or 1/2” copper pipe. Sights are not bad but they’re too big for much past 10 meters. If you mount a scope remove the front and back sight to make it easier to cock the gun. According to Umarex, apply a few drops of oil to the chamber about every 200-400 shots. They told me that even if you over oil the gun (not to the point of dieseling) that after about 50 shots the excess oil is blown out. Keep the barrel clean. My gun seems to be very sensitive to build up in the barrel. I usually clean with a plastic brush every 100 shots or so with alcohol followed by wipes to maintain accuracy. I use the RWS cleaning plugs but have found better success making my own from heavy duty felt. I generally insert the cleaning plugs sideways to better clean the barrel. My primary pellet is the RWS Superdome and occasionally a polymag. When I start to loose accuracy I clean the barrel. When I start to lose power, I add a drop or two to the chamber.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Walter from USA on 2011-02-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Well made. Will obviously become something i can pass dow, to my kids if it is given reasonable care. Pyramidyr website was dead on accurate with specs, reviews, and advice, making my purchase choices much easier

    Things I would have changed: I wanted a quiet gun for backyard use with the kids. It is not that quiet. I have only put 350 pellets downrange so this may change with some more time. Also, the weight specs are very accurate. Put a 2 pound scope on this gun and I'm sure it will feel like my M1 garand

    What others should know: comes fiberoptic sight, which makes a great hunting sight, but not so precise 10 meter target shooting. If you think you will go aftermarket aperature sight or a scope research those options now. There are pleny of good options but you have know about barrel droop, break barrel vs. fixed barrel, etc.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By dennis from USA on 2011-02-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: i've got 200 pells thru the bbl and it's starting to cloverleaf @ 25 yds using crossman premiums. but it gums up rather quickly and requires frequent cleaning. squirrels ain't got a prayer. lol

    Things I would have changed: like i said in the last review the checkering around the pistol grip has some sharp edges.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By dennis from USA on 2011-02-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: very accurate,very well made, a handsome gun, an excellent triger

    Things I would have changed: take sharp edges off from pistol grip.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2011-01-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: I bought this gun in .22 caliber for eliminating squirrels indulging in my wife's bird seed. Works great. Not a showpiece, but looks to have many of the same working parts as my older .177 Diana 34. Shooting quality has been maintained in spite of plastic stock, trigger and trigger guard. Quite satisfied with this gun.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By greg from USA on 2011-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: powerful, accurate, polymer stock, .22 caliber, blueing, checkering on stock, fiber optic sights, price-point.

    Things I would have changed: pretty much nothing. the sights are sort of wide, and the stock is sort of sharp around the edges. this can be corrected with fine sandpaper/file.

    What others should know: this is truly a great rifle for pest elimination, accuracy, and it shoots great with a scope, also accepts a wide variety of pellets. jsb jumbo exact and beeman FTS are among the best for tight groups. i mounted a Leupold Rifleman 3x9 scope on mine with an RWS one piece scope mount. a truly great combo for only $400 combined. shoots great anywhere from 10 to about 60 yards. highest quality gun in this price range by far. also reccomended, if you own ANY firearm, even airguns join the NRA. help protect our gun rights for decades to come! thanks.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Glade from USA on 2010-12-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a good-looking, fine-shooting gun. I have the .22 cal model, and it shoots excellent groups. It cocks easily without any grating sound my model 34P in .177 cal makes a grating noise when I cock it. Both the .177 and the .22 have excellent triggers.

    Things I would have changed: I would prefer that the .22 have sights like those on the .177, which are metal, and NOT fibre-optic. I like the composite stock, but it has some sharp edges, which I "dressed off" with sandpaper. The gun DID NOT come with a "globe" on the front sight; the fibre rod is exposed to breakage.

    What others should know: DO NOT BUY THIS GUN IF YOU THINK YOU WILL GET THE GUN THAT IS ILLUSTRATED ON THE PYRAMYD WEBSITE! I have emailed Pyramyd, Umarex, and Diana RWS regarding the "missing" snap-on globe sight. Pyramyd said that they don't have the part and that I should contact Umarex. Umarex says they don't have the part and that I need to contact Diana RWS. I have emailed RWS, but haven't had a reply from them yet. Getting a gun that was different from the one pictured on the Pyramyd website was a huge disappointment for me, and Pyramyd needs to reflect the change. I may decide to return the gun. I am not going to scope the gun, so it is important to me to have some protection for the front sight.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By GJM from USA on 2010-11-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Super accurate and a very solid, well made air gun. The leader in the low $200's price point based on several expert reviews. Don't invest part of your money into the cheap scopes that come with these $250 and below guns, put your money into the gun itself.

    Things I would have changed: Would like a closed front sight to protect the fiber-optics.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tony from USA on 2010-10-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The look and feel of the rifle. I've owned several RWS springers and still do, but this version of the 34 is great. The gun is powerful and accurate right out of the box. Most springers take 200 to 500 shots to "shoot in" but this one seems to do just fine right away. Pellets of course are a matter of trial and error, but this one groups them all very well. It may not hit to the same point of aim, but they all group.

    Things I would have changed: I like it just the way it is.

    What others should know: Get one.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By doug from USA on 2010-09-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: w/o scope, crosman hp's, and shooting outside of 40' w/scope not much. beatiful looking though. was very impressed w/ it out of box.

    Things I would have changed: mounted sights and breech seal and fps.( wish it had at least 8-850). averaged 700 from 10 for 10 test.

    What others should know: make sure to check set screw on front sight. mine came loose and walked around and down barrel scratching it. also breach seal keeps falling out. gonna call umarex.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By doug from USA on 2010-09-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: hard hitting, not to loud. fun to shot. put 1000 pellets through in one session. 3000 total so far.

    Things I would have changed: the breech seal. it spins around inside of the slot that it sits in. it is the second seal because the first one came out when shooting. thought it fell out into the grass. couldn't find it. called p.a. who referred me to umerex who sent me a new one only to find out that it had actually fallen into the scope face. leapers 6-24x50 big. laughed my butt off until i realized that it splattered oil on the whole lens. p.a. helped w/ that also. if it comes out again i'm sending back to p.a. for inspection.

    What others should know: not sure about all 34p .22's but mine has expensive taste in pellets. do your selves a favor and spend more on a better rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By tom from USA on 2010-07-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: open sights are great. balance and feel. the trigger is pretty good out of the box.

    Things I would have changed: GET RID OF THE CHINESE BARRELS!!

    What others should know: the blueing on the chinese barrels is a brownish color while the reciever is a dark blue. if your gun is new, its probably chinese and it will have 12 lands and grooves. the german one has 8. its is accurate but the color dfference is real distracting. and at least do a lube tube when you get it. they come very dryout of the box. i didnt get 100rds thru it and it started grinding bad. i didnt screw around and sent it out to have a JM kit with apex seal put in and a night and day difference.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Terrell from USA on 2010-07-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Got this rifle in .177 for target shooting and long range plinking. The gun looks clean and feels very durable right out of the box. The trigger is adjustable and helps make for a smooth and predictable two stage trigger pull. It shoots well right outside the box and continues to do so without even having to be cleaned. Includes a lifetime warranty as long as you don't try to open it up, great value!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing so far, still shoots just as well since it was opened.

    What others should know: I have owned this gun since 6/23/2010 The serial number can be found engraved on the on the left side of the barrel in case your looking for it to register. This gun really kicks the first several hundreds of shots and this makes it harder to remain accurate in this "break-in" period. This subsides after a tin or two of pellets. Once it is broken in, it is superbly accurate

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bruce from USA on 2010-06-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: EVERYTHING!!! Cool looking, straight shooting and hard hitting (on squirrels especially).

    Things I would have changed: Can't think of a thing.

    What others should know: The RWS Super Domes work the BEST for me.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Greg from USA on 2010-06-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Good quality for the money. Seems accurate so far.

    Things I would have changed: Would give more sight adjustment. Could not adjust sights high enough for 6 O'clock hold at 10 meters. Had to shim the rear sight to get elevation correct.

    What others should know: In the video review there was concern about the front fiber optic sights not having a globe protector. This has appearently been changed because mine had the globe around the sights. The front sights are not adjustable though.

  • Previous 123456 Next
Navigation