Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Diana RWS 34P air rifle reviews - page 3



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Lynda from USA on 2009-06-10 13:44:43

    Things I liked:I can get 1 inch groups at 30 yards. i chronied itat 740 fps with diablo xact pelits.
    Things I would have changed:nothing
    What others should know:Superb 4 killing vermin. we hav a chipmunk problem at mi house and i hav killed atlest 50 of them now and the population is slowlee declineing. I put a leepers 3-9x32 scope and thats like 45 $ at pyramid air and i hav another uv that scope on mi discovery.
    1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Christopher from India on 2009-04-27 10:54:07

    Things I liked:Definitely a Good Gun
    Things I would have changed:Nothing for the Rifle..... Probably change the way packing is done....
    What others should know:My rear sight was broken when I received the Air rifle. So I was mad at Pyramyd Air
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12345 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Tony from USA on 2010-10-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The look and feel of the rifle. I've owned several RWS springers and still do, but this version of the 34 is great. The gun is powerful and accurate right out of the box. Most springers take 200 to 500 shots to "shoot in" but this one seems to do just fine right away. Pellets of course are a matter of trial and error, but this one groups them all very well. It may not hit to the same point of aim, but they all group.
      Things I would have changed:I like it just the way it is.
      What others should know:Get one.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By douglas from USA on 2010-09-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:w/o scope, crosman hp's, and shooting outside of 40' w/scope not much. beatiful looking though. was very impressed w/ it out of box.
      Things I would have changed:mounted sights and breech seal and fps.( wish it had at least 8-850). averaged 700 from 10 for 10 test.
      What others should know:make sure to check set screw on front sight. mine came loose and walked around and down barrel scratching it. also breach seal keeps falling out. gonna call umarex.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By douglas from USA on 2010-09-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:hard hitting, not to loud. fun to shot. put 1000 pellets through in one session. 3000 total so far.
      Things I would have changed:the breech seal. it spins around inside of the slot that it sits in. it is the second seal because the first one came out when shooting. thought it fell out into the grass. couldn't find it. called p.a. who referred me to umerex who sent me a new one only to find out that it had actually fallen into the scope face. leapers 6-24x50 big. laughed my butt off until i realized that it splattered oil on the whole lens. p.a. helped w/ that also. if it comes out again i'm sending back to p.a. for inspection.
      What others should know:not sure about all 34p .22's but mine has expensive taste in pellets. do your selves a favor and spend more on a better rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By tom from USA on 2010-07-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:open sights are great. balance and feel. the trigger is pretty good out of the box.
      Things I would have changed:GET RID OF THE CHINESE BARRELS!!
      What others should know:the blueing on the chinese barrels is a brownish color while the reciever is a dark blue. if your gun is new, its probably chinese and it will have 12 lands and grooves. the german one has 8. its is accurate but the color dfference is real distracting. and at least do a lube tube when you get it. they come very dryout of the box. i didnt get 100rds thru it and it started grinding bad. i didnt screw around and sent it out to have a JM kit with apex seal put in and a night and day difference.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Terrell from USA on 2010-07-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Got this rifle in .177 for target shooting and long range plinking. The gun looks clean and feels very durable right out of the box. The trigger is adjustable and helps make for a smooth and predictable two stage trigger pull. It shoots well right outside the box and continues to do so without even having to be cleaned. Includes a lifetime warranty as long as you don't try to open it up, great value!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing so far, still shoots just as well since it was opened.
      What others should know: I have owned this gun since 6/23/2010 The serial number can be found engraved on the on the left side of the barrel in case your looking for it to register. This gun really kicks the first several hundreds of shots and this makes it harder to remain accurate in this "break-in" period. This subsides after a tin or two of pellets. Once it is broken in, it is superbly accurate
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bruce from USA on 2010-06-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:EVERYTHING!!! Cool looking, straight shooting and hard hitting (on squirrels especially).
      Things I would have changed:Can't think of a thing.
      What others should know:The RWS Super Domes work the BEST for me.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Greg from USA on 2010-06-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Good quality for the money. Seems accurate so far.
      Things I would have changed:Would give more sight adjustment. Could not adjust sights high enough for 6 O'clock hold at 10 meters. Had to shim the rear sight to get elevation correct.
      What others should know:In the video review there was concern about the front fiber optic sights not having a globe protector. This has appearently been changed because mine had the globe around the sights. The front sights are not adjustable though.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2010-05-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Mine is in .177 caliber the bluing is very good and the stock is very high quality. This is one a beautiful gun with a very smooth 2 stage trigger. Will drive tacks with CP 10.5 heavies out to 40 yards.
      Things I would have changed:Make the rifling and breach in the barrel a few thousands smaller so that CP 7.9 lites and other light pellets below 9 grains can be shoot without having 90 % of the ending up as fliers. The groves in the barrel are so large that the light pellets will not contact the rifling when inserted into the breech and will fall out if you don't hold the barrel down.
      What others should know:If you buy this gun get it in 22 caliber .177 will only shoot heavy pellets accurately anyway the light ones end up flying all over the target. The first one of these that I received from Pyramyd Air could not be sighted in with open sites so they sent me a second one, it would site in with open sites but would not shoot pellets below 9 grains accurately.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Eddie from USA on 2010-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well pleased with this .177 rifle. Had it for about a month. Most accurate with RWS Hobby and RWS 8.3 grain domed pellets. Surprised how easy to cock. My 14 year old grandson can cock it easily.
      Things I would have changed:Not much.
      What others should know:Ordered UTG droop compensator base and weaver type rings. Rifle had no barrel droop. Had to return droop compensator base and swap for UTG Item#:LEMNT-DNTOWL[PY-A-2639] (base for rifles that have no droop). Zeroed in fine with this base and very accurate.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kevin from USA on 2010-04-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:EVERYTHING! But more specificaly... - Almost no recoil - Accurate right out of the box, and is even better ounce it's "broken-in" - Smooth, crisp, very light trigger pull (adjustable, 2-Stage) - All-Weather synthetic Monte Carlo style stock (solid and durable) - Awesome knock-down power - The incredible quality and value, just holding and shooting the RWS air rifle, you would think that it would cost in the $300-400 range. Amazing look and feel to this gun. It is very well built, and will last a long time. Fun to shoot, affordable. Great for hunting and target practice. (.22 Cal.) The day I bought it, I taped a target to our old wooden barn, to see what the pattern looked like to sight it in. Every shot with the .22 caliber 34P easily punched through the 3/4 inch wooden boards. ( yes it is an old barn, and weathered, thus weakening the wood) However, my friends .177 Gamo Whisper that is still fairly new, was unable to go through the wooden wall of the barn.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing at all. It's perfect.
      What others should know:I bought this rifle .22 Caliber and some accessories that I was told go good with this pellet rifle. - UTG Weaver style Scope Mount Base, that Compensates for Droop & Stops Scope Shift - UTG Premium 1" Rings, Medium, Weaver Mount - Leapers 5th Gen 3-9x40 AO Mil-Dot Rifle Scope with R/G, 1" Tube - Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct - RWS Super-H-Point .22 Cal, 14.2 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct I recommend that you get all of these products if you are getting this pellet rifle, just because they are all amazing combination's for this rifle and ultimately help the rifle perform at its maximum ability. With all the above listed accessories the total cost comes out to $336.83 including the free shipping and the Free shooting glasses (I never received the free glasses, which were promised with specified items over $99). If you are looking for a pellet rifle, especially one that is both powerful and accurate, stop thinking and buy the RWS Diana 34P. It is a great gun, and great for hunting. I zeroed in the scope at 35 yards, and it was producing 1" groups at that distance with only having fired 30 pellets out of it. The more you shoot it, the more consistent the velocities it puts out, making it even more accurate. After about 100-150 pellets, I was able to stack shots at 40 yards. The bigger, heavier .22 Caliber pellets produce a lot of knock down power for hunting. Can easily kill raccoons, squirrels, birds, rabbits, woodchucks, and other small game.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2009-12-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The over all Quality, the bluing is tops and the fit is exellect.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:For a starter rifle you can't beat it. Mine is two years old and I love the time I spend with it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Matthew from USA on 2009-12-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Ive had this gun for a little more than a month and have put well over 500 pellets through it so far. To put it simply this rifle is absolutely outstanding. Appearance and finish out of the box were flawless. It cocks smoothly and has a very well balanced feel. From the very first shot I was surprised how accurate it is. Its not terribly hold sensitive and felt recoil (while noticeable) hasn't had a very big effect on how it operates at all. I've been able to stack shots right on top of one another at 30 yards after some practice and while I expect it can handle longer distances I haven't had the chance to try as of yet. I was hesitant to purchase the synthetic stock after my experience with other brands but RWS has really impressed me with how well they've put this rifle together. If you're still on the fence about purchasing this rifle, stop thinking about it and buy it. You will not be disappointed.
      Things I would have changed:I cant really think of anything about this gun negative enough to mention, honestly.
      What others should know:In my experience the RWS 34P is an outstanding rifle that shoots easily and with exceptional accuracy. You will be very pleased with its quality and appearance from the moment you open the box. I expect a rifle this well made will last quite a long time.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Mike from USA on 2009-10-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything. When you shoulder this gun it's like it's just an extension of yourself. It has a natural feel to it. It looks and feels very professional. I have the .22 and the pellets hit very hard at the target 35 yards out.
      Things I would have changed:The rear sight screw needs to be longer. It cam out on me adjusting for longer ranges, and it was a pain to get back in.
      What others should know:This is a seriously nice gun and a hard hitter. I didn't think I would like the synth stock but I got over it when I opened the box. Then after handling it I was converted. If you get a scope for it don't forget to purchase a UTG droop compensating base, it makes all the difference.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By sam from USA on 2009-08-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:this is a very good gun the quality is great the accurcy and power are amazing. i can get a quarter inch groups or less at 15yrds with 10.5grn crosman pellets and abput the same sized groups wiht beeman kodiaks. the trigger is great the second stage breaks like glass i dont care that the trigger is plastic because its great and it works. the sights are nice the rear sisght one mine broke but its ok because i use a leepers 3-9x40 scope and its a great combo. its not to hard to cock and it just gets easier after time. this gun is not to loud to shoot in a neighborhood i shoot all day and ave never gotten a complaint but this depends on your neighborhood
      Things I would have changed:the scope rail. the stop pin holes are not deep enough but its not a problem because there is a UTG Scope Mount Base that is a littel less than 20 bucks and it is great my scope stays where it is and doesnt move. a sling would be nice because it can get heavy when you get a scope on it and cary around for a few hours in the woods
      What others should know:ive had this gun for about 2 months now and it seems to be broken in fairly nicely. i shoot a lot of squirrels in my back yard with my gun and the just fall right out of the trees and are done before the hit the ground. and rabits never now what hits them. this gun is great for just general shooting or small game hunting its very accurate and very powerfull
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Adam from USA on 2009-08-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This air rifle was a 13th B-Day present for my son. Who has quite a bit of experience with air guns for his age. He shoots my old Crosmans and my Sheridans so a beginner he is not. I have pretty much let him break this air gun in himself, it is .22 caliber and he has now officially put 500+ pellets through it and he loves it. I recently shot with him in our back yard range, open sighted, and he never misses. I mean he punches dime size holes in everything out to 40 yards easily. I can shoot pretty good, and my efforts with my old Crosman Model 1 are futile. H has made me look like Ned in the first grade reader. Not only can this baby throw lead at 14 grains out at about 760 feet per second consistantly it shoots every pellet accurately. We use premiers, Gamos, RWS's, Preditors etc... No one shoots better than another. It does like to shoot at about 30 yards, it has the best balance of power and range. It will shoot at 50 but really likes 30 to 35 best. The stock is bullet proof, very nice and practical, utilitarian is the best word. The rifle is truly a gem and sights are unbelievable.
      Things I would have changed:DO NOT CHANGE ANYTHING ABOUT THIS AIR RIFLE !
      What others should know:The # 1 thing to know about this air rifle is do not under estimate it. It is extremely powerful and shoots long distances, be weary of your back stops and know your target and beyond, this isn't your old crosman 760, this one travels like a freight train... Lastly, if you hunt with this, as my son and I have, it takes most game very quick and effortlessly. It is very humane and quite authoritative when it hits your prey, when it is in this guns sights, its dead, period ! I have shot good size squirrels out to 36 yards and one shot bam, dead. Good luck and if you are looking for a solid gun for under $ 250.00 this one is it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bill from USA on 2009-08-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I received the .177 cal. on July 23rd, 2009. Open sites are very good - the front site now comes with a hood for protection. Very accurate (shooting at 25 yards) with the right pellet. Hits very hard too. I agree with Tom Gaylord's assessment, Crosman Premiers 7.9 grain, both hollow point and domes, shoot with fantastic accuracy. I also tried JSB Diabolo Exact domed, 8.4 grains, and RWS Superdomes, 8.3 grains. The JSB's were not as accurate as the Crosman's. The Superdomes were absolutely horrendous - the worst rifle / pellet mix I have ever seen. My 12 gauge shotgun patterns better. It's too bad as my RWS 45 loves the Superdomes so I have many tins in stock, but the 34 simply hates them. The gun is not as hold sensitive as most springers tend to be. The gun honked like a goose for the first 100 or so rounds when cocked, but has settled down very nicely after break in - which takes about 1000 rounds to fully break in. The noise level is on par with other spring guns, so in a back yard in a typical development setting, the neighbors will know your shooting, but it's not irritatingly loud. I had Pyramyd do the 10 for $10 test and it averaged 903 fps with 7.9 grain Crosman Premiers.
      Things I would have changed:The infamous RWS scope rail that allows scope creep due to the small scope stop pin hole. To stop creep totally, I followed Tom Gaylord's advice (he reviews the 34 P - check the blog) and used a Beeman 5040 1-Pc Mount with the scope stop pin hanging in front of the scope rail. Barrel droop is also an issue with many RWS guns. The one piece mount allows you to shim in between the mount and rail instead of just under the rear ring. I put 2 strips of film negative between the rail and rear part of the mount and one piece between the scope and rear ring. I've shot about 2500 rounds with no creep at all. I believe that Pyramyd now sells a scope mount that corrects both of these issues right out of the box. They do sell the Beeman 5040 mount mentioned above too.
      What others should know:For the price, it'd be tuff to beat this gun. I'm extremely happy with the purchase and I do recommend this gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By dave from USA on 2009-06-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is my first and only air rifle. Overall build quality, appearance, power and value is better then good. it doesn't look or feel cheap. i was pleasantly surprised to see protected front sights(same as the wooden stock 34), unlike the pictures or complaints I've come across before purchase.
      Things I would have changed:Although it seems that most people prefer fiber optic sights and while they do function well, I feel that it looks kind of cheap, fragile and toy-like. They do look much better under sunlight, but what's wrong w/ having metal sights? The trigger and the trigger guard(part of the stock) are made of strong plastics and i felt that a metal trigger wouldn't improve anything.
      What others should know:Although i don't have comparisons, this trigger seems to feel much lighter after break in. Without the safety engaged, this trigger will release with minimal effort. At first, I dripped with sweat after shooting only a few shots and had to take time off to rest. But after a few hundred shots, cocking became much easier and now I don't break a sweat. This gun is very heavy, but i think it was carefully engineered that way.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lynda from USA on 2009-06-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I can get 1 inch groups at 30 yards. i chronied itat 740 fps with diablo xact pelits.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:Superb 4 killing vermin. we hav a chipmunk problem at mi house and i hav killed atlest 50 of them now and the population is slowlee declineing. I put a leepers 3-9x32 scope and thats like 45 $ at pyramid air and i hav another uv that scope on mi discovery.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By TNT from USA on 2009-06-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power, accuracy, ease of use. Seems very well built and should last for decades! Bought to control squirrel population and it works like a charm! One shot does it all!
      Things I would have changed:Love is as-is. Would be nice to have a wood stock version that has the checker pattern like the synthetic does. This was the reason I went synthetic and I'm very pleased.
      What others should know:B.B. Pelletier suggested I go with the 0.22 version for squirrel control and I'm very glad I did!! If you are looking for a gun for pest control you can't go wrong with this one!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Redleg from USA on 2009-05-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a quality air gun with a superbly crafted synthetic stock (I purchased the .177 cal). Very nice two stage trigger that is well pronunced between the first and second stage. With a crisp pull in the second stage. Tru Glo signts are good for target acquisition and plinking and the adjustments are well defined clicks for both windage and elevation. This air gun appears to perform best with heavy pellets. I've had very good results with the Beeman Crow-Magnum and RWS Superdome.
      Things I would have changed:This gun needs sling swivels if you use it for hunting. This aiir gun will be a heavy load to lug around in the field without a sling. Further, it would help in both the Off Hand and Sitting Posiion because the gun is so heavy at the muzzle, and the balance point for me is just in front of the trigger guard.
      What others should know:I 've had this air gun for over two months before submitting these comments. This is my first adult air rifle, and I selected the 34P over the CFX upon the recommendation of the PyramydAir Customer Rep. I would recommend a .22 Cal for an air gun that weighs this much with or without a scope. Before mounting the scope I shot approximately 300 pullets through it to get a feel for its shooting characteristics, and hopefully also obtain some mechanical break-in. I learned to obtain consistent shot groups requires a longer follow through and much more relaxed hold with the left hand foreward position. This air rifle is very difficult to shoot in both the Off Hand (Standing) and Sitting Position because of the barrel drop. A rifle sling would greatly improve the balance and steady the hold position. I noticed that other evaluators have obtained very small shot groups; however, the best I have obtained with out of the box pellets (without sorting or weighing the pellets) is about 3/8" CTC at 20 yards with a 5th Gen Leapers 3-9 Scope . And about 1/2" with the open sights. Both shot groups were from a bench rest.
    • « Previous 12345 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top