Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Diana RWS 34P air rifle reviews - page 5



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Lynda from USA on 2009-06-10 13:44:43

    Things I liked:I can get 1 inch groups at 30 yards. i chronied itat 740 fps with diablo xact pelits.
    Things I would have changed:nothing
    What others should know:Superb 4 killing vermin. we hav a chipmunk problem at mi house and i hav killed atlest 50 of them now and the population is slowlee declineing. I put a leepers 3-9x32 scope and thats like 45 $ at pyramid air and i hav another uv that scope on mi discovery.
    1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Christopher from India on 2009-04-27 10:54:07

    Things I liked:Definitely a Good Gun
    Things I would have changed:Nothing for the Rifle..... Probably change the way packing is done....
    What others should know:My rear sight was broken when I received the Air rifle. So I was mad at Pyramyd Air
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12345
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2008-08-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Received this rifle a couple of days ago. Shot Beeman Kodiak Match extra heavy pellets through it. This is a VERY nice gun...well built, solid, beautiful and very accurate. After I got my scope dialed in (AR22 4X32) I was shooting dime sized groupings at 20 yards. In a lot of my groupings the pellet holes overlapped. I did have to originally shim my scope (I used a Centerpoint 1 piece mount) and I was "clicked all of the way" and still off target by 2-3 inches. 2 small strips of plastic under the scope and I was good to go. I didn't find the rifle too hard to cock...about average for this type of air rifle. It was moderately loud...no loud "twang" from the spring, just the sound of the air...it's quiet enough to not be a nuisance for the neighbors if you have a moderate sized lot. Trigger was o.k.-very good; consistent pull. I have an extra GRT III trigger lying around and am going to see if I need to put it in. So far I don't think I have to. This is a nice gun!
      Things I would have changed:Protect the front sight
      What others should know:Great gun...great value. AND ACCURATE!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chris from USA on 2008-07-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the fiber-optic sights, stock is well made and feels nice, nice bluing, very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Add a hood for the front sight. Correct barrel droop issues at the factory. Replace the plastic trigger with a metal one (the plastic is fine and feels very nice, but fro a dollar or two they could have made it out of metal.
      What others should know:My rear sight is adjusted all the way down and the gun still shoots a little low. I don't know if this is common, but I don't have enough adjustment range on mine. It won't matter because as soon as my Leapers scope base arrives I'll be removing the sights and adding the scope.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Matt from USA on 2008-07-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a great air rifle. I have mine printing 1/2 inch groups or smaller at 35 yards using meisterkugeln pellets. With a little adjustment to the trigger, I may be able to do better. I created a stop for shooting in the backyard using 3/8 inch pine plywood and was suprised that the .22 pellets I was using were going right on through.
      Things I would have changed:I cannot think of one thing better to do, except maybe make the trigger guard a seperate piece from the stock, so it can be replaced if ever damaged. I don't see it being an issue though.
      What others should know:If you want to use your own scope, there is a good chance you will need mounts that can adjust for windage and elevation. With a Simmons Blazer scope and weaver mounts, I maxed out adjustment on the scope before being able to completely zero in. I switched to the RWS "C" mount and had better luck with windage, but still had to shim to correct for elevation.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jason from USA on 2008-07-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:(.22 cal) - This has to be THE most accurate rifle I've ever owned (out of box performance) in its price range. I own a bunch of Gamos, Crosmans and have owned a few others and while they're decent, it takes a bit of work (tuning, trigger, etc) to get them to stack pellets. This .22 Panther shot like a dream from day 1, is quieter than my other rifles, doesn't have a loud springy noise from the powerplant, is a bit more forgiving when it comes to hold sensitivity and has a nice out of box factory trigger (clean and crisp).
      Things I would have changed:The scope stop hole needs to be deeper, but Leapers now has an inexpensive adapter that'll help lock your scope in place for good.
      What others should know:Pellets - Mine loves Benjamin Domes. Next would be Predators and Gamo Hunters. The Predators and Hunters group extremely well, however the rifle seems to be a bit more hold sensitive with them. With the Benji Domes however, the rifle is much more forgiving when it comes to hold and I can consistently stay within 1/2" at 30 yards (offhand). It wasn't super hard to cock (just a little slap on the barrel) at first, but it did ease up a bit after about 50 rounds.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By steven dykes from USA on 2008-07-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:After trying several makes of air rifles in this price range the panther proved to be the most gun for the money, extremely well made and the accuracy at ranges out to 100 yds. so far my longest distance tried has been outstanding.
      Things I would have changed:The scope that came with my panther was to short for me to get my proper eye relief even when set as far back as possible. This is probably due to my age and my glasses. 65 yrs. young
      What others should know:After reading other reviews about different scopes and mounts I went with a BSA 3-12 x 44 with the long single mount bracket and adjustible scope rings, VERY IMPORTANT I did as suggested with rear scope ring and turned it up two full turns and locked everything down. When I set adjustments for windage and elevation at 20 yds. this setup was right on even with several different types and brands of pellits but after moving out in range I found the Beeman Kodiac Match extra Heavy was the pellit for this gun. I have shot over 4000 rounds now and cleaned the gun several times, checked the scope mounts still everything tight and when I don't shoot for several days I can still pick up my gun and hit small targets at 100 yds. almost everytime. If you like to shoot for fun and not spend a fortune this setup is perfect.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joel from USA on 2008-06-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This gun is very accurate. I could shoot 1/4" groups at 10 meter even without a proper brake in. It really is a beast to shoot the first 500 or so shots but after that it settles down and is a pleasure to shoot. I have a Bushnell Banner 4-12x40 scope on it using a leapers one piece mount and it hasn't moved after 700 shots. I wouldn't waste your money on a B-Square mount because you can shim the rear ring if you are suffering from barrel droop. I am not even using the stop pin and it is staying put.
      Things I would have changed:Globe to protect the front sight. Also the underside of the stock is very sharp but nothing that a little sand paper cant fix.
      What others should know:I really couldn't get good groups with Crosman premier lights but i got the best groups from JSB Exacts 8.4g and Crow Magnums 8.8g
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2008-06-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:BrianAg618: This is the first Air Gun of this type that I have purchesed (Break Barrel), and it came highly recomended by a Pyramyd sales rep. I normaly shoot and have been trained on all types of high powered (live ammo) weapons, and this rifle came as a very big surprise. It is better balanced then some of the weapons I am used to shooting, and has an overall great feel to it. Right out of the box, after cleaning it, I fired several rounds from 50 yards, and it only took a few clicls of the Micrometer rear sight to start hitting center with every shot. I then mounted the Leapers 3-9 X 50 scope, and again with only a few clicks she was hitting dead center. This rifle was a total surprise to me with the way she fired and held its groups, would highly recomand to any interested in buying an RWS Air Rifle.
      Things I would have changed:The only thing I my self would add is a Barrel Hand Guard for cocking the gun. I do not like having to wipe sweaty hand prints off the barrel before each shot, a Hand Guard to protect the barrel would be a great added feature. (If you can find one to fit, I would buy one, still looking)
      What others should know:If not sure what to buy ask the sales rep, I di and I am very happy that I did, great people to do business with
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bullseye from USA on 2008-05-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a nice air rifle. My first review is just two down from this one. I am "Bullseye" I am writing to offer help to the fellow and other who may have had trouble with stiff cocking of the rifle. My panther was very difficult to cock right out of the box. It became more and more difficult over the first 500-700 shots, almost to the point I was going to send it back for re-work. Out of frustration I tried oiling all the moveing parts and pivot points I could get at with out removeing the gun from the stock I also put a few drops of airgun oil on the spring you can see when holding the gun upside down. I probably used more oil than would be recomended buy a dealer but this was my last resort before sending it back. After two weeks standing barrel up in the gun case my Panther was smooth and very easy to cock, better and smoother than new. If you read my first review you can see that I hinted to the fact that cocking seemed to be more than the 33 # advertised. After the lube job it is actually easire to cock than my Camo Shadow-1000. Try it and you will be amaized Also! You may have to clean the barrel locking ball after 500 shots or so. My Panthers accuarcy went down hill fast at about 500 shots. It cocked easy now but shot poorley. 6" groups at 35 feet poorley and that's unexceptable. I noticed that windage was always pretty good but many shots were low 4 -6 inches. The only thing it could be was the bbl lock. After cleaning the ball and catch with slovent (Laquor Thinner) and a artist brush, drying with compressed air, a few drops of oil and a dab of axel grease on the ball the groups were back to .35" c to c at 33 feet and I'm happy with that. The clear class bottle I had the thinner in was full of metal filings either from break-in or manufacture.
      Things I would have changed:Really nothing, this is a good gun, very accurate and now very easy to cock. It also looks very cool with my 3x12x50 BSA. If I could I would ask the factory to do a better job with lubrication and make sure the barrel lock is clean and free of metal filings
      What others should know:Yeah, don't let a Panther get the best of ya. Break it in (500 shots min) Clean the barrel, clean locking ball, lube the pivot points and piston and get ready for a life time of shooting, this is a good gun for the money. Bullseye
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2008-04-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Most of the pluses that everyone else described I agree with. Especially like the lifetime warranty. I also have a Mendoza RM-600 and I think I prefer the Mendoza. The features are almost identical, but the Mendoza is much easier to cock. I'm no little guy by any stretch, but the Panther really IS a bear to cock. The price of the Mendoza was also much more economical than the Panther. The Panther has good accuracy out of the box.
      Things I would have changed:Definitely put a sight protector on the front sight. I would like to see Pyramid sell one for this rifle. I will make one out of plastic as a temporary fix.
      What others should know:Not a good airgun for pre-teens. Even a teenager is gonna have to be a big, strapping bodybuilder to be able to cock this rifle. Shooting over an extended period of time may be quite tiring for anyone. Pellet fit was VERY tight in my rifle. This may loosen up over time, but probably accounts for the rifle's good accuracy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bullseye from USA on 2008-04-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have been playing with Gamo guns and have been pretty sadisfied but a custom trigger was a must. I bought the Panther sight un-seen based on the reviews here on Pyamyd and I am amazed at what this gun will do right out of the box. My Gamo S 1K didn't settle down untill 1000+ shots were fired but the Panther was dead on and consistant right out of the box. Being a single guy I have a 43 foot range in my living room and a solid bench to shoot from. Th Panther shot .1/4" C-C groups with out warm up. The trigger has a great 1st stage and a crisp predictable release. Pellets fit verry tight in the breach compared to my Camo S 1K which I am sure has something to do the accuracy. This is outstanding air gun and is tops in my collection of seven air rifles. In one other review a fellow commented on the some what sharp edges on the checkering for the all weather stock as a undesirable trate. Well folks, I like it as it gives the gun a solid no slip feel. I have also read a complaint or two about the position of the saftey but have had no problems with disengaugeing interfearance while cocking. This gun is a little difficult to cock, the book says 33 lbs but I think it more but not a big deal for all us big strong airgunners.
      Things I would have changed:At this point nothing. The German engineering is great, quality is great, trigger is great, accuarcy is great and at a very reasonable price from Pyramyd.
      What others should know:Yeah, I'm going to order one in .22 next week!
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By richard from USA on 2008-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:seems to be put together good, ive only shot it about 30 times using the crow magnum .177 pellets. with open sights im all over the paper at 20 yds, ill shoot another 200 with open sights, then clean it good and mount a rws 350 4x32 scope. i hope the grouping gets better soon, i hear it takes awhile before it shoots good groups.
      Things I would have changed:nothing yet
      What others should know:nothing yet, i was asked to review the gun but i havent shot it enough to give a good or bad review, I did read alot about this panther 34 and it was all good.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By JohnK from USA on 2008-03-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:What's not to like?
      Things I would have changed:Uhhhhhh..... nothing.
      What others should know:I already own an RWS 34, and I recently purchased a RWS Panther 34 for my Dad, well I was already smitten with the 34, but when I saw that Panther, and shot it... I had to have one too! So now Dad has a Panther, and I, a 34 "woodie" and a Panther, all 3 in 177, all from PA, and all with that unmistakeable RWS quality. A winning combo in it's own right, RWS & PA.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Squirrel Chef from USA on 2008-02-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Bought two of these (my first one was stolen) in .22 caliber. This gun has a nice quality feel to it when you pick it up and handle it - much better than most guns in this price range. It is a bit long, but the gun balances well and the length aids in using open sights. I used it for a while with the stock sights, which worked very well, but I wanted to scope it. Bought a Centerpoint 3-9x50 Adventure and B-square one-piece, high-profile mount. The mount had to be installed "backwards" due to placement of the stop hole on the scope rail - but I have not had any problems with slippage after 500 rounds. I added a custom muzzlebreak to cover the ugly grooves left behind after removing the front sight - newer models will have a factory muzzlebreak option. It looks very cool, and for me anyway, that is an important factor when selecting a gun (my Ruger .22 WMR Single Six in stainless always gets complements at the range). I would not consider myself a competitive shooter by any means, but I have no problem dropping squirrels on thin branches from 25 yards with a single shot. I use RWS Superdomes and Benjamin Diabolos (14.3gr), which usually pass cleanly through a squirrel at 20 yards - know your backstop!
      Things I would have changed:The safety mechanism is not the best design - about half the time, I disengage it unintentionally; your index finger tends to push it as a result of the natural hand position when holding the stock during cocking. It also seems to be the lowest quality item on the gun.
      What others should know:This may not be have the exclusivity appeal of some of the other high end air rifles - but this gun definately delivers performance where it counts - power, accuracy, good looks and workmanship.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Arthur from USA on 2007-10-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Right out of the box with factory sights @ 15 yds.with Beeman .177HP lead I was hitting the X ring. I put a 3-12 BSA "Air" scope on and from 5-30 yds. this RWS is amazing.The BSA with A.O. is a necessity for short shots. The adjustable trigger is great. With a solid rest this RWS is unbeatable.
      Things I would have changed:The sharp edges on the stock in the barrel channel need to be rounded..easily done with a file. For a great backyard rifle I would change nothing.
      What others should know:Witha BSA 3-12 Air scope it wieghs 9 lbs.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By george from USA on 2007-10-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:wow! very nice airgun. accurate (1/2 " c-t-c at 60 ft),balence is very good,trigger is just fine as is. reminds me of my gamo shadow but stronger and more accurate. scope mount works fine ( did only 2 shots) bought it for short range critters. I LIKE THIS GUN>.22 cal. of course pyramyd air was fast and accurate too.
      Things I would have changed:front sight shifted in shipment,easy fix.put a foam sleeve on it in box.
      What others should know:one heck of a bargain for the price and accuracy is super.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By hoss4902 from USA on 2007-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This air rifle is amazing! Before I bought this gun I owned a winchester 1000sb and I thought that air guns were just inaccurate. That was until I bought the RWS 34 Panther. Just with iron sites I was holding 1-1.5 inch groups at about 60 feet. The workmanship on this gun is also amazing; they are right when they say German made air guns are the best. As soon as you pick up this air rifle you can just feel how sturdy and well made it is. When I ordered the gun I thought that the synthetic stock would be some cheap plastic but once I got it I realized it is actually very solid and strong. Another thing I also noticed was the trigger. On my last air gun the trigger was very shaky and just felt cheap. But on the RWS 34 Panther the trigger is sturdy and just feels good when you pull it. I also really like the raised rail on the RWS. On most air gun the rail is just engraved into the top of the gun, and therefor does not hold a scope very well. When on the RWS the rail is nice a big and holds a scope perfectly. The rear iron sight (which does all the elevation/windage) is a strong metal that you can trust compared to the plastic sites on most other air guns. As you probably already know the price is also great. AMAZING gun!!!!
      Things I would have changed:The safety on the rear end of the gun is a little hard to use and just could of been made a little better.
      What others should know:Use a one piece mount if you plan on putting a scope on. The two piece ones don't hold up to the unique recoil that a air gun has (a air gun has a backward and forward recoil). Trust me; I blew through 2 two piece mounts before I finally found a one piece.
    • « Previous 12345
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top