Diana RWS 460 Magnum reviews - page 1



Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:4.0

By martintheterrible from USA on 2008-01-20 13:21:21

Things I liked:Wood stock is absolutely Beautiful. Underlever cocking is better than a break barrel. Action is smooth with very little recoil. I wasn't sure if I wanted to spend the money on such an expensive rifle but now I'm glad that I did. This rifle packs a PUNCH !
Things I would have changed:I would prefer a metal trigger. As for the issue with the awkwardness of having to de-cock, I just discharge the round into the ground.
What others should know:I purchased the .22 cal to kill pigeons and opossum. You can hear the impact when the pellet hits the target. I have shot several pigeons. With a heavy pellet and a head shot the pigeons usually drop with very little fight. However, there have been times that I have used a lighter pellet and been beyond 30 yards or so and the pellet rises or doesn't have enough force to put a kill shot on the pigeon. It's like trying to throw a ping pong ball a hundred miles per hour. I have not shot a opposum yet. I'd imagine that it will take a very well placed head shot to knock a opposum out cold. We'll see.
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By poc from USA on 2012-08-01 14:44:48

Things I liked:Very nice looking rifle
Things I would have changed:Make it lighter and higher quality for the money
What others should know:I purchased this rifle as a step up to .22 from .177 and what I thouight was a step up from Gamo which I've owned several of. I now prefer the .177 as the .22 lost power after only a few hundred shots and drops like a rock. I've put thousands of shots on both gamo and ruger rifles at 1/4th of the cost. Now im going to have to spend almost $100.00 for warranty repair because of shipping costs to and from umarex. (About the cost of another Gamo) Moral: More expensive is not always better!
Sort by:
  • 123 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Triage' from USA on 2015-07-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Beautiful craftsmanship, super accurate.
    Things I would have changed:A tad on the heavy side.
    What others should know:May want to add a high quality scope.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Christopher from USA on 2015-07-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Good morning, I purchased the 460 in the 177 caliber, I liked it so much, I bought the 22 caliber. I've had a springer before but with the recoil it had I couldn't hit anything. Ended up taking it back, so I was a little concerned about the accuracy. I am happy to say both calibers shoot dead on, with a little slop, due to not being comfortable as I need to be.
    Things I would have changed:The plastic sights. The sights could be somewhat narrower. Better instructions on how to care (lube) the airgun.
    What others should know:The scope that is listed with the package, is not rated for a high recoil airgun. I am upset with Pyramid Air for not listing their scopes with a recoil rating.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By John from USA on 2015-06-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very well made gun. Smooth trigger and negligible spring twang. Still trying to find the right pellet and hold with this gun. Put a UTG true Hunter 3-9x40 with Illuminated reticle and hitting spinners at 50 yds now and grouping average 1 inch at 50 yds with Crosman Premier hollow points. This pellet has a consistent fit in barrel. This gun should last a long time. Just need to shoot it more.
    Things I would have changed:The weight distribution of the gun. Not balanced like my other guns. Wish it came in Ambidextrous model. Louder than any of my other guns. Can't shoot in my backyard at certain times because of the noise. Hopefully the gun will quiet down some. A Muzzle brake would help here.The front sight looks cheap compared to other features of this gun.
    What others should know:I'm only giving four stars because to really do a good review it should be over a period of time before a decision is made. Put a good scope on this and you'll be good to 50+ yds. Have been taking out moles and chipmunks consistently at this distance. Artillery hold works best for me. Have fun and always shoot with safety in mind! Use the HAWKE Ballistic App. Give all kind of great data with different pellet types,POI, Velocity, Kinetic energy graphs at different distances. Very accurate to gauge your Kill zone and best range. Everything you will need to make consistent hits.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Steven from USA on 2015-06-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Workmanship and accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:It's not lightweight but I would not give up the workmanship and quality to lower the weight.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By AirHead from USA on 2015-05-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Everything. I love the open sights. Beautiful rifle. Accurate right out of the box. No need to learn a special holding technique. I killed 3 squirrels my first week owning this rifle. Beautiful stock and barrel finish. Cocking not that hard.
    Things I would have changed:nothing. It's perfect. I consider this the holy grail of air rifles. This rifle is a work of art that can be handed down to future generations in your will.
    What others should know:I'm a backyard squirrel hunter. They chew on my house, fence, bird houses. They eat all the fruit on my fruit trees. The only good squirrel is a dead squirrel. I can't shoot a real firearm because of the neighbors. So I shoot this thing instead. It's almost like firing a .22 rifle with a silencer. The JSB 15.89 domes are my favorite ammo for this thing. I like the open sights. Squirrels don't always give you time to scope in. For squirrels, I need open sights and a quick shot.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Ellis from USA on 2015-05-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Right out of the box you think you've received A hunting rifle that shoot's 22 ammo, NOT a pellet .22 ! This beauty is some kind of Powerful, at 60 yrds using front and rear sights first 5 shots out of the gun were with in a 3 by five index card! Can't wait to put my Hawke Varmit scope on and start driving some nails!
    Things I would have changed:Nothing....
    What others should know:The first time you cock it make sure you cock it far enough so the release button will work, if you don t you will think it is miscombobulated, after the first cock it's a breeze !
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Michael from USA on 2015-05-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:That it is a Diana air rifle, that holds up to the names standards. Very accurate, very powerful.
    Things I would have changed:I wish it had been a little smoother out of the box, I was a little alarmed at first honestly, because it was so "tight" that it almost didn't feel right. That all went away quickly after about 60-100 rounds, now it's nice and smooth, like butter.
    What others should know:This gun has a little bit of a break in period. Don't be alarmed by the early stiffness of this rifle. My chrony is reading about 830-850 with 14.3 grain .22 caliber pellets. It may go up a bit after a while but it is where I expected it to be.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Daryl from USA on 2015-05-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very nice weapon--very well made and it has a very nice trigger--no idea if sights are good as it has a scope mounted as new--cocking effort seems to be less than listed--
    Things I would have changed:nothing as of now
    What others should know:worth the bucks i think--not cheap but its definitely not cheap in appearance or usage--if you can get it i'd say do it--also smacks very hard--havent chronoed yet because its just new
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Steve from USA on 2015-04-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I own a RWS Model 45 from 1983 and one from 1993(with a walnut stock). Both were and are superb rifles. I also have a Hatsan 95 from Pyramid and a NP XL 725. I have been shooting break barrels for a long time. This cannon is something else. It is a laser. .098" groups at ten meters pretty regularly and .50" at 25 meters. (JSB Exact Kings) I don't know if it is the underlever design but the gun is not nearly as hold sensitive as the aforementioned springers. I haven't had much experience with $1000+ air rifles, but at the 460's $500 price point, I find the fit and finish exceptional. A truly beautiful rifle that hits what you are aiming at hard.
    Things I would have changed:Even though I think the stock is very nicely done, it would be nice to see a walnut stock - personal preference , I know. As of yet, even though the T06 trigger is very nice, I can't seem to eliminate a small annoying creep in the second stage. I will keep on fiddling with the adjustment. I admit I am being picky because i LOVE this rifle so far.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By clyde from USA on 2015-02-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:very well made quality here very accurate hard hitting I like the one piece barrel instead of a break barrel very nice gun to shoot very happy with this purchase much better than my previous gamo
    Things I would have changed:nothing
    What others should know:I bought the package deal and the scope was mounted and sighted in shot accurate right out of the box
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By William from USA on 2014-12-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:excellent fit and finish. Mine is the .22 model. Paired with a Leapers 3-12X44 scope, the accuracy is very good with 3/8 - 1/2 inch groups at 25 yards, and with only about 75 - 100 shots so far, it is not even broken in yet.
    Things I would have changed:the plastic front sight needs to go. Either fit it with a good quality, precise and elevation adjustable front sight, or remove it and replace it with a muzzle break or suppressor.
    What others should know:Accurate and very hard hitting. I also have a model 54 air king in .22 and the 460 is the more powerful of the two. While it may never be the tack driver that the air king is at 50-75 yards, the 460 is no slouch producing 3/4"-1" groups at 50 yards. It all comes down to what you want to do with it. Best solution is get one of each!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Gerald from USA on 2014-08-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The RWS 460 is a great pellet rifle. I've only had it a couple of weeks, so I haven't fired it a lot yet, but my experience so far is that it is very accurate. The stock is really nice looking and feels like my 700 BDL at the shoulder with the Monte Carlo style stock. So far I am very happy with my 460. Thanks to the folks at Pyramyd for their great help with my rifle selection and the overall order.
    Things I would have changed:Wish RWS would have a more detailed in the box user's guide. I'm glad there was a Pyramyd supported video on utube with a walk through of the 460.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By PluK from USA on 2014-06-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Nice, Elegant, accurate.... EVERYTHING !!!!!
    Things I would have changed:Nothing...
    What others should know:Some people said, this rifle it's hard to cocking... In my opinion that's nice if you want buy a spring rifle instead of a PCP , the only issue is how it to load the pellet into the chamber, but not a big deal !!!!!!
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Don from USA on 2014-05-31
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:As everyone else states, the build quality is tops. The trigger is high quality and feels good from the factory. The under barrel action is stiff out of the box but gets smoother and a bit easier after 50 - 75 shots. Accuracy is good, but it only likes certain pellets - follow PA's recommendation. The recoil is stout for a springer. But this is the price you pay for a FLAT shooting rifle.
    Things I would have changed:Reduce the weight - this thing is heavy with a scope, mount and rings. Wow... I would also make a model with a thumb hole for greater accuracy/control.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Brian from USA on 2014-05-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Not too hard to cock. Very accurate. great looking gun
    Things I would have changed:can't think of anything
    What others should know:Just a nicely made very accurate hard hitting air rifle.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By kambiz from USA on 2014-05-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:power full, accurate, beautiful.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:It is heavy with scope, but who cares, it shoot great.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jose from USA on 2014-02-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Extremely accurate out of the box!! Amazingly powerful!! Light weight for an under barrel lever!! All metal and wood!!
    Things I would have changed:Front plastic sight... other than that... not a thing!!
    What others should know:This one is one truly well made under lever air rifle. It has become my #1 hunting non powdered gun equal only to a firearm!! Very loud even with heavy lead ammunition(ballistic crack). The price is right, this gun is extremely well made in Germany, checkering is incredible!! Nice in every aspect!! The finest spring piston rifle i have ever owned!! I recommend very very highly buying this gun. I love this gun!! This and a Beeman P1 for target practice or for hunting, they are as close you can get to target shooting or hunting with a firearm. Very satisfied with the service from Pyramyd Air and employes. A+ This one is one other great great product!!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By SEAN from USA on 2014-01-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The rifle is solid.
    Things I would have changed:Offer a left-handed stock.
    What others should know:Press lightly on trigger when shooting for first time, or you'll miss secondary stop.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By jason from USA on 2014-01-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:shoots accurately,same hole groups
    Things I would have changed:id put a thumbhole stock so as to be abidextress,im a lefty and with only half of the chamber open,its very hard to load as is cocking an pushing beartrap safety.Make a stock that works for both leftys an rightys.Like the rws 470 or Benjamin nitro trail.25 cal would be awesome as well.
    What others should know:loud spring sound when shot
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Bruce from USA on 2014-01-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It is a great small game hunting rifle - I owned a RWS 46 in .177 for 15 years. It was a hard decision to get this rifle because of all the nice PCP rifles out there. It was tempting! In the end I got another springer because it is self contained and didn't require exotic pumps and/or air tanks. I could never allow myself to believe that a barrel cocking mechanism would remain stable and accurate over a long time. I was stuck with the under lever or the side cock mechanism to charge the rifle. It took the rifle around 40 to 60 shots to settle down and after that it was 100% on target - That may have been as much having to do with the scope then the rifle. Still you do have to break in a springer - nothing new. The T-06 trigger is spectacular - maybe a bit too fabulous. I think I may need to stiffen it up a bit to feel a bit safer between the first and second stage. It is the trigger I have always wanted, but now am having second thoughts! Luckily it is adjustable. A pound or 2 more trigger pull on the second stage wouldn't hurt! All in all this is a great air rifle - She is still in teething ;) but it is well built and hasn't been on any rabbit or squirrel hunts yet... those are where the .177 Diana model 46 excelled. So far I have good feelings about the 460 mag. in .22 cal to be a great replacement.
    Things I would have changed:Trying to figure out a simple safe and cheap way to keep the screw on the spring to hold the cocking lever locked tight - on both rifles they slowly unscrew. Every 50 to 100 rounds check your charging lever for looseness. Don't say locktite!
    What others should know:LOL... If your going to spend this much for an airgun you probably know what your looking for!!!
  • 123 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top