Date: 24/8/2016 7:31
0

Diana RWS 460 Magnum reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:4.0

By martintheterrible from USA on 2008-01-20 13:21:21

Things I liked: Wood stock is absolutely Beautiful. Underlever cocking is better than a break barrel. Action is smooth with very little recoil. I wasn't sure if I wanted to spend the money on such an expensive rifle but now I'm glad that I did. This rifle packs a PUNCH !

Things I would have changed: I would prefer a metal trigger. As for the issue with the awkwardness of having to de-cock, I just discharge the round into the ground.

What others should know: I purchased the .22 cal to kill pigeons and opossum. You can hear the impact when the pellet hits the target. I have shot several pigeons. With a heavy pellet and a head shot the pigeons usually drop with very little fight. However, there have been times that I have used a lighter pellet and been beyond 30 yards or so and the pellet rises or doesn't have enough force to put a kill shot on the pigeon. It's like trying to throw a ping pong ball a hundred miles per hour. I have not shot a opposum yet. I'd imagine that it will take a very well placed head shot to knock a opposum out cold. We'll see.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By poc from USA on 2012-08-01 14:44:48

Things I liked: Very nice looking rifle

Things I would have changed: Make it lighter and higher quality for the money

What others should know: I purchased this rifle as a step up to .22 from .177 and what I thouight was a step up from Gamo which I've owned several of. I now prefer the .177 as the .22 lost power after only a few hundred shots and drops like a rock. I've put thousands of shots on both gamo and ruger rifles at 1/4th of the cost. Now im going to have to spend almost $100.00 for warranty repair because of shipping costs to and from umarex. (About the cost of another Gamo) Moral: More expensive is not always better!

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Nathan from USA on 2016-06-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very well built and beautiful air gun. Great trigger. Easy cocking. Accuracy with JSB 15.89 grains .5 to 1.5 inch at 20 yards. Not hold sensitive.

    Things I would have changed: This gun is very heavy. To put this in perspective, it is heavier than my M1 Garand, my Sks, my M1A, my 45 70 Marlin, pretty much heavier than any other gun I have. No way to put a strap on it easily, and can't mount a bit pod without drilling into stock. Shooting freehand is very difficult due to weight, and I am not weak. The use of a strap during shooting would be helpful. These issues limit this to a bench gun in my opinion. Gun is too heavy to carry and to shoot off hand.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Johnny Lightening from USA on 2016-04-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I have owned the 460 for 30 days. The accuracy with JSB Exact Jumbo 15.89gr. is pretty terrific. I have 700 rounds through mine. H&N FTT Powers are great too. I can sit on the deck of my steps and hit bottle caps @ 40yds just holding the rifle and resting the forehand arm on my knee! The fit and finish is pretty sweet and it's not that heavy at all. I think it cocks easy. ( I am a 58 year old and I am 5'11", and 175 pounds) The T06 trigger is super...

    Things I would have changed: The cocking lever pin on mine broke @ about 450 rounds. I purchased a new one from PA because I am waiting for Umarex USA to respond. The fact is this pin breaking has been a well documented issue with this rifle. I have replaced it with a tool steel, polished, stainless, machine pin. It's smoother and it's the kind of steel that should be used in such a high stress point.

    What others should know: The energy is around 21-22 pounds. The pellets that are accurate are going around 800-835 depending on weight. I am glad I didn't let knowing about the substandard cocking lever pin didn't stop me from making the purchase. If you don' t own an underlever this is a good one for $500...

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By t.b.c. from USA on 2016-01-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Not much ,very heavy ,wont shoot accurate 50y freehand, grate on a rest, but hard to carry a rest on a squirrel hunt !

    Things I would have changed: The 1st thing is have it shoot advertised speed, the only thing it shoots at advertised speed is 3 cleaning wads. I've shot over $250.00 worth of every kind &shape pellets you can imagine &cronied them, some we're grate to 30ybut lost stability past that, some dropped to fast to use for hunting ,but finally found 2 grate ones &1 medium weight one that are good to 75y ,&thats after sending it in for repair (what a inconvenience ) because it wouldn't shoot over7?? fps with anything!

    What others should know: You better have a lot of free time, to season the barrel &try dozens &dozens of pellets to finally get a super heavy gun to be a bench rest tack driver at 50y ,& dont expect 1100fps with anything other than the 3 cleaning wads! I'm very disappointed to have over $1000.00 in this gun,scope, laser, without all the trial pellets & shipping back because it wasn't right out of the box in the first place, & god knows how many man hrs . testing everything, but if held correctly &enuff time to settle in ,it will drop a squirrel at 50+y .

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2015-11-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the physical size, the ease of cocking, the trigger, the accuracy and the power. Actually every thing about this rifle is excellent.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing to change

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By james from Spain on 2015-10-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: nice stock and blueing to metal work,found this gun shoulders well and is quite light to hold ,t06 trigger fabulously smooth.very accurate ,using the iron sights till i recieve bullseye mount

    Things I would have changed: nothing really,only thing when cocking not as smooth as my weirauch hw77,ive heard they ship this dry with no lube so am going to strip it down and see if a lube smoothes out cocking,seems the breech is grinding when cocking,expected better from gun this price

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William H. from USA on 2015-09-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I've had this rifle for about a year. It's very accurate and powerful. Confidence inspiring! However after about 500 rounds thru the rifle ... the cocking lever components broke ... more specifically a small pin within the cocking assembly ... rendering the rifle unusable. I am disappointed that UMAREX (DIANA RWS US agent) cannot provide the replacement part (pin) needed to repair the rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Improve the engineering of the components to withstand the pressures this rifle generates. Also either allow US customers to purchase spare parts from Germany ... OR ... find another US agent (UMAREX is currently the agent) to provide service and spare parts to US customers. Unfortunately DIANA RWS refers spare parts enquiries to UMAREX USA and UMAREX does not have sufficient parts in stock.

    What others should know: I believe this rifle has an engineering fault. i.e. some components are not robust enough for the stresses generated. A small pin in the cocking lever broke on my 460 magnum. I believe this pin is not strong enough for the pressures required to cock the rifle. My suspicions were confirmed by UMAREX (US service agent for Diana RWS) who told me that this particular pin is back ordered, i.e. several 460 magnum customers are needing this replacement part ... apparently as a result of breaking the pin as I did. UMAREX also cannot give me any estimate of when the needed spar part will be available and UMAREX will not take my contact info to notify me when the spare part is available. UMAREX sats "telephone us every two weeks" when they admit the spares have been ordered for 6 months and they don't know when they will arrive. When I suggested my bringing the broken rifle to UMAREX facilities for their inspection they discouraged this saying their facilities (Ft Smith AR) are a "closed campus"

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By t.b.c. from USA on 2015-09-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Low recoil,very nice looking.

    Things I would have changed: Have it approach the advertised speed .

    What others should know: Had to send the 1st one back,shot way to slow ! They did their thing & I gained 80 to 110 fps but still way slower than I expected, about 785fps w/premier 14.6gr. which is best flying ,&most acc. so far out of the 18 diff.pellets I've tested &cronied, even after a long seasoning in. I cant get anything to croni. out near 1000fps but 3 cleaning wads. Gamo raptors pba 875 to 911 fps h&n snipper light 14 gr. 825ish but fall out of breech, jbsmatch 13.73gr 812ish, fps. but they corkscrew fly a little. It has taken a lot more work to get a 50y gun than I expected! I'm a little disappointed that it's not in the 900+ range with a 14gr.pellet but at this point I can live with it . I never thought I'd put over 1000$ into a pellet gun , but with a good mt. &hawke scope ,& pellet trials thats what I've wound up with ! I would think twice before you get into this gun,or have good dedication to find out what your gun will like &shoot well. It could be a grate gun for some or a nightmare ! ! !

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Triage' from USA on 2015-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Beautiful craftsmanship, super accurate.

    Things I would have changed: A tad on the heavy side.

    What others should know: May want to add a high quality scope.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Christopher from USA on 2015-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good morning, I purchased the 460 in the 177 caliber, I liked it so much, I bought the 22 caliber. I've had a springer before but with the recoil it had I couldn't hit anything. Ended up taking it back, so I was a little concerned about the accuracy. I am happy to say both calibers shoot dead on, with a little slop, due to not being comfortable as I need to be.

    Things I would have changed: The plastic sights. The sights could be somewhat narrower. Better instructions on how to care (lube) the airgun.

    What others should know: The scope that is listed with the package, is not rated for a high recoil airgun. I am upset with Pyramid Air for not listing their scopes with a recoil rating.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2015-06-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very well made gun. Smooth trigger and negligible spring twang. Still trying to find the right pellet and hold with this gun. Put a UTG true Hunter 3-9x40 with Illuminated reticle and hitting spinners at 50 yds now and grouping average 1 inch at 50 yds with Crosman Premier hollow points. This pellet has a consistent fit in barrel. This gun should last a long time. Just need to shoot it more.

    Things I would have changed: The weight distribution of the gun. Not balanced like my other guns. Wish it came in Ambidextrous model. Louder than any of my other guns. Can't shoot in my backyard at certain times because of the noise. Hopefully the gun will quiet down some. A Muzzle brake would help here.The front sight looks cheap compared to other features of this gun.

    What others should know: I'm only giving four stars because to really do a good review it should be over a period of time before a decision is made. Put a good scope on this and you'll be good to 50+ yds. Have been taking out moles and chipmunks consistently at this distance. Artillery hold works best for me. Have fun and always shoot with safety in mind! Use the HAWKE Ballistic App. Give all kind of great data with different pellet types,POI, Velocity, Kinetic energy graphs at different distances. Very accurate to gauge your Kill zone and best range. Everything you will need to make consistent hits.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2015-06-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Workmanship and accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: It's not lightweight but I would not give up the workmanship and quality to lower the weight.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By AirHead from USA on 2015-05-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything. I love the open sights. Beautiful rifle. Accurate right out of the box. No need to learn a special holding technique. I killed 3 squirrels my first week owning this rifle. Beautiful stock and barrel finish. Cocking not that hard.

    Things I would have changed: nothing. It's perfect. I consider this the holy grail of air rifles. This rifle is a work of art that can be handed down to future generations in your will.

    What others should know: I'm a backyard squirrel hunter. They chew on my house, fence, bird houses. They eat all the fruit on my fruit trees. The only good squirrel is a dead squirrel. I can't shoot a real firearm because of the neighbors. So I shoot this thing instead. It's almost like firing a .22 rifle with a silencer. The JSB 15.89 domes are my favorite ammo for this thing. I like the open sights. Squirrels don't always give you time to scope in. For squirrels, I need open sights and a quick shot.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ellis from USA on 2015-05-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Right out of the box you think you've received A hunting rifle that shoot's 22 ammo, NOT a pellet .22 ! This beauty is some kind of Powerful, at 60 yrds using front and rear sights first 5 shots out of the gun were with in a 3 by five index card! Can't wait to put my Hawke Varmit scope on and start driving some nails!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing....

    What others should know: The first time you cock it make sure you cock it far enough so the release button will work, if you don t you will think it is miscombobulated, after the first cock it's a breeze !

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2015-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: That it is a Diana air rifle, that holds up to the names standards. Very accurate, very powerful.

    Things I would have changed: I wish it had been a little smoother out of the box, I was a little alarmed at first honestly, because it was so "tight" that it almost didn't feel right. That all went away quickly after about 60-100 rounds, now it's nice and smooth, like butter.

    What others should know: This gun has a little bit of a break in period. Don't be alarmed by the early stiffness of this rifle. My chrony is reading about 830-850 with 14.3 grain .22 caliber pellets. It may go up a bit after a while but it is where I expected it to be.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Daryl from USA on 2015-05-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very nice weapon--very well made and it has a very nice trigger--no idea if sights are good as it has a scope mounted as new--cocking effort seems to be less than listed--

    Things I would have changed: nothing as of now

    What others should know: worth the bucks i think--not cheap but its definitely not cheap in appearance or usage--if you can get it i'd say do it--also smacks very hard--havent chronoed yet because its just new

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2015-04-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I own a RWS Model 45 from 1983 and one from 1993(with a walnut stock). Both were and are superb rifles. I also have a Hatsan 95 from Pyramid and a NP XL 725. I have been shooting break barrels for a long time. This cannon is something else. It is a laser. .098" groups at ten meters pretty regularly and .50" at 25 meters. (JSB Exact Kings) I don't know if it is the underlever design but the gun is not nearly as hold sensitive as the aforementioned springers. I haven't had much experience with $1000+ air rifles, but at the 460's $500 price point, I find the fit and finish exceptional. A truly beautiful rifle that hits what you are aiming at hard.

    Things I would have changed: Even though I think the stock is very nicely done, it would be nice to see a walnut stock - personal preference , I know. As of yet, even though the T06 trigger is very nice, I can't seem to eliminate a small annoying creep in the second stage. I will keep on fiddling with the adjustment. I admit I am being picky because i LOVE this rifle so far.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By clyde from USA on 2015-02-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: very well made quality here very accurate hard hitting I like the one piece barrel instead of a break barrel very nice gun to shoot very happy with this purchase much better than my previous gamo

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: I bought the package deal and the scope was mounted and sighted in shot accurate right out of the box

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2014-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: excellent fit and finish. Mine is the .22 model. Paired with a Leapers 3-12X44 scope, the accuracy is very good with 3/8 - 1/2 inch groups at 25 yards, and with only about 75 - 100 shots so far, it is not even broken in yet.

    Things I would have changed: the plastic front sight needs to go. Either fit it with a good quality, precise and elevation adjustable front sight, or remove it and replace it with a muzzle break or suppressor.

    What others should know: Accurate and very hard hitting. I also have a model 54 air king in .22 and the 460 is the more powerful of the two. While it may never be the tack driver that the air king is at 50-75 yards, the 460 is no slouch producing 3/4"-1" groups at 50 yards. It all comes down to what you want to do with it. Best solution is get one of each!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gerald from USA on 2014-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The RWS 460 is a great pellet rifle. I've only had it a couple of weeks, so I haven't fired it a lot yet, but my experience so far is that it is very accurate. The stock is really nice looking and feels like my 700 BDL at the shoulder with the Monte Carlo style stock. So far I am very happy with my 460. Thanks to the folks at Pyramyd for their great help with my rifle selection and the overall order.

    Things I would have changed: Wish RWS would have a more detailed in the box user's guide. I'm glad there was a Pyramyd supported video on utube with a walk through of the 460.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By PluK from USA on 2014-06-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice, Elegant, accurate.... EVERYTHING !!!!!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing...

    What others should know: Some people said, this rifle it's hard to cocking... In my opinion that's nice if you want buy a spring rifle instead of a PCP , the only issue is how it to load the pellet into the chamber, but not a big deal !!!!!!

  • 1234 Next
Navigation