Diana RWS 460 Magnum reviews - page 2

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:4.0

By martintheterrible from USA on 2008-01-20 13:21:21

Things I liked: Wood stock is absolutely Beautiful. Underlever cocking is better than a break barrel. Action is smooth with very little recoil. I wasn't sure if I wanted to spend the money on such an expensive rifle but now I'm glad that I did. This rifle packs a PUNCH !

Things I would have changed: I would prefer a metal trigger. As for the issue with the awkwardness of having to de-cock, I just discharge the round into the ground.

What others should know: I purchased the .22 cal to kill pigeons and opossum. You can hear the impact when the pellet hits the target. I have shot several pigeons. With a heavy pellet and a head shot the pigeons usually drop with very little fight. However, there have been times that I have used a lighter pellet and been beyond 30 yards or so and the pellet rises or doesn't have enough force to put a kill shot on the pigeon. It's like trying to throw a ping pong ball a hundred miles per hour. I have not shot a opposum yet. I'd imagine that it will take a very well placed head shot to knock a opposum out cold. We'll see.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By poc from USA on 2012-08-01 14:44:48

Things I liked: Very nice looking rifle

Things I would have changed: Make it lighter and higher quality for the money

What others should know: I purchased this rifle as a step up to .22 from .177 and what I thouight was a step up from Gamo which I've owned several of. I now prefer the .177 as the .22 lost power after only a few hundred shots and drops like a rock. I've put thousands of shots on both gamo and ruger rifles at 1/4th of the cost. Now im going to have to spend almost $100.00 for warranty repair because of shipping costs to and from umarex. (About the cost of another Gamo) Moral: More expensive is not always better!

Sort by:
  • Previous 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By joseph from USA on 2013-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The 460 .177 shoots like a lazer beam pest beware .wood stock is decent .holds 1/2 to 3/4 in groups at 50 if i do my part .ive put about 1500 pellets threw it.ive dropped alot of small game withit already .

    Things I would have changed: Nothing its proven quality

    What others should know: Ok after 1500 shots it has slight twang no big deal very slight but nothing a tune cant fix its normal.if you dont want the front sight order the diana 470 muzzle from uramex.this air rifle is a magnum in power and weight .its pushing 10 lb with a scope and droop mout so if your looking for light weight look elsewhere. If bench shooting is your thing itll do pop cans at 100 yrds if you're up to it .

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By raymond from USA on 2013-08-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a substantial beautifully made rifle with exceptional fit & finish ,I equipped mine with a bushnell 6x18x50 scope After a few hundred rounds mine settled in, the groups tightened up and now will keep a 3/8" 5 shot group at 40 yds & I've got 57 Y.O. eyes. I like the underlever design. a rigid barrel insures accuracy. Mine prefers silver arrows, crow mags ,and the 28 gr Korean pellets in that order ,the Benjamin discovery's work well too. However I've only tried the Beeman's, the Korean, & Benjamin's line of pellets so far . I'd recommend this rifle to any one looking for an underlever. This rifle in .22 will drop squirrels, cottontails. coyotes and even the big Jackrabbits like a bolt of Lightning well past 50 yds. If you do your part, you' don't have to worry about this rifle doing it's part.

    Things I would have changed: Make a model in .25 caliber/800FPS {lead}. Revise the cocking lever catch{can be a little weak }, add an integral suppressor and a gas spring. To make it perfect put it in a walnut stock with an adjustable comb. I'll take it from there!{have it tuned and tweaked}talk about a DREAM Gun!!!

    What others should know: Like a lot of spring guns mine required a few hundred rounds fired through it before the groups started shrinking. {mine groups better the more I shoot it}. You'll have a powerful & accurate rifle without having to drag around an air pump or scuba tank. This is a Good One!! Worth the $$$ !!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Don from USA on 2013-05-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: well made and accurate with good power. Also very pretty

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at this time.

    What others should know: This rifle is worth the money

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Don from USA on 2013-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well balanced and very accurate great gun for the price but can be had for less with time to shop

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Very powerful and accurate with the right pellet this is a nail driver

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2013-04-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great looking gun and very well-balanced. I'm tall so I like a longer gun and this one is, but still is a full pound lighter at 8.3 lbs than other guns in its class. The weapon seems to have plenty of power and very good accuracy. I already owned a Leupold VX-2 3x9x33 Extended Focus Range scope designed for rimfire and air guns, which is a great optic for this tool and very light, albeit somewhat expensive. There is at least one excellent video review of the RWS 460 if anyone is interested in really seeing the gun being used.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at this time. I'm still learning how to use this air gun, what kind of ammo it likes, etc. Perhaps I would offer a walnut stock for an appropriate upcharge, but this may not be practical for most users.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2013-03-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very good, power and accuracy

    Things I would have changed: more easy to load

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2013-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: This rifle has a beautiful stock. I have a lot of nice German and English air rifles and have to say I love this Diana in 22.cal. It has a fantastic weight and balance, and the accuracy is dead on. I had mine custom tuned with a JM modified spring to make it easier to cock and get a slower moving pellet that is deadly at 30 yards and now pleasant to shoot for hours and so much smoother. Just a wonderful rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Put a shroud on the rifle, the front sight is not very attractive.

    What others should know: Beware,this rifle is a magnum air rifle. As a original out of the box rifle it is very hard to cock.Get a good tuner and modify it down. You might want to look at a Vortek Kit. I hear they are wonderful for this rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lynn from USA on 2012-12-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very high build quality, great looking rifle, extreme power/velocity in 177 cal, superb accuracy right out of the box, very impressive. T06 trigger is spectacular, and a HUGE part of this rifle's excellent performance.

    Things I would have changed: Some people don't like the front sight.

    What others should know: Once you shoot the 460 magnum, you will understand just how good it is. With very little practice, you will be getting tiny groups at 30 yards. Also, the T06 trigger is so good, you will not even believe it, until you try it. Truly fantastic! I would say it's nearly a 'hair trigger' so be prepared for that. Further, there is no "springy" sound when firing the rifle (many cheaper springers make that noise, but not this one). All you hear is a "crack" when fired; it sounds a lot like a .22 long rifle, but a bit quieter. Overall, I am very impressed with the quality of this rifle, the outstanding power and velocity, and the ease of taking surgically accurate, hard-hitting shots even at longer ranges.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2012-11-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This rifle feels good in the hands. It is readily apparent that it is not a toy. With the right ammo I am poking holes in Ohio license plates at 20 yds.

    Things I would have changed: Deal with this "barrel droop" issue I keep reading about. There is a lot to consider if you scope it as opposed to using the open sights.

    What others should know: This is a big heavy gun. Forget about kids trying to shoot it unless you rest the barrel.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By poc from USA on 2012-08-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.04 ratings

    Things I liked: Very nice looking rifle

    Things I would have changed: Make it lighter and higher quality for the money

    What others should know: I purchased this rifle as a step up to .22 from .177 and what I thouight was a step up from Gamo which I've owned several of. I now prefer the .177 as the .22 lost power after only a few hundred shots and drops like a rock. I've put thousands of shots on both gamo and ruger rifles at 1/4th of the cost. Now im going to have to spend almost $100.00 for warranty repair because of shipping costs to and from umarex. (About the cost of another Gamo) Moral: More expensive is not always better!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stan from USA on 2012-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: There is a quality air gun and I'm pleased with my purchase. Sadly, I had to make an exchange for a stock flaw in my previous shipment. The previous gun was old-style German quality with a beautiful glossy finish on the stock. I didn't note a safety release for the cocking lever on that model, but there is one on the latest version. Though I'm still pleased with the rifle, I miss the attention to detail of the older editions. Some safety designs are efficient and warranted... I'm not sure why there has to be a lever to release the cocking lever once cocked. The rifle definitely has the power I need for the .22 caliber. I still think it is a very nice rifle and is worth considering.

    Things I would have changed: As I mentioned, I wonder why the cocking lever release is necessary. In general, I think that some safety features these days are overkill while others are beneficial. It doesn't seem like the anti-gunners will be happy until they plug our barrels. Heaven help us if we ever need to make a shot in hurry. It's now faster to grab an arrow and use a bow or just hit the varmint over the head with the stock. Shooting, today, is becoming similar, in feeling, to putting on a spacesuit and then having to use the restroom.

    What others should know: Any of you who have experienced previous shipping problems, Pyramyd Air's recent shipments have arrived in pristine condition. My compliments and thanks to them for their improvement in this regard.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By dirk from USA on 2012-06-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very powerful springer. Looks well made, very accurate once you hold it correctly. Shipped from Pyramyd with scope perfectly mounted, well worth the small price to pay for their large combo deal including the scope, pellets and mounts. Like it as much if not better than my RWS 54.

    Things I would have changed: The safety doesn't reengage but otherwise nothing. Great gun. It is not cheap so 4 star for value, otherwise 5 star.

    What others should know: It is a great gun, at 22 yards one big hole with a number of pellets. Just don't hold it tight, hold it loose but do hold it. Took me a few minutes and now it is great. Would highly recommend!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Angelia from USA on 2012-06-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Everything

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Worth every penny and then some.Powerful,Accurate,Best trigger ever out of the box.Better than the custom trigger on my savage .223 bolt varmint rifle.Breaks so perfect every time.Only gun I will squirrel hunt with.Using Skenco 18.2 gr.Ultramag metal points,look like they been hit by hot lightning.Quality thats hard to find these days.Very cheap for one that you will be proud to hand down to one of your grandsons someday.Yeah well someday.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By smi.sami from USA on 2012-02-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.663 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, A truglow front sight would be better.

    What others should know: This is a must have gun, I would not mind paying 2000$ for such a gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By primo from USA on 2012-02-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: This rifle is the Roll Royce of the RWS. I got mine about a year ago took it out of the box and it was shooting dead center at quarters at 20 yards open sight . Haven't touched the sight since. Forget about the gripe that the front sight is to big I'm 63 and this rifle is for hunting aiming fast requires a front sight that you can see instantly put it on the target with this rifle and good bye. The woodwork and metal on this rifle is superb your going to pay big bucks for them but you get your investment 100 percent. Power wise it a sledge hammer but with the precision of a target rifle.

    Things I would have changed: NOTHING

    What others should know: If you are serious about air rifles then you most certainly have to add this rifle to your collection. If you only want to have one heck of a good hunting air rifle break the piggy bank and reward yourself with this masterpiece you won't regret it. Shoot safe have fun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By CECIL from USA on 2011-07-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a quality air rifle with a solid feel. The rifle is extremely accurate with the right pellet. In my rifle's case it's the 15.9 grain JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo .22 Cal. Sub .5" groups at 45 yds. are routine using a 12 power scope. The stock and checkering are very pleasing to the eye.

    Things I would have changed: The second stage of the trigger is heavy and the screw head sheared with minimal effort when I tried to adjust it per the trigger adjustment instructions. I will return the gun to RWS to have this repaired in the coming weeks.

    What others should know: With a 4-12 Hawke Airmax scope and Beeman 5039 adjustable mount installed, the gun weighs about 9.5 lbs which is on the heavy side. The cocking effort is also more than I anticipated. It's rated at 36# but it feels as if it's more than that.

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By poc from USA on 2011-06-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: plenty of power, quality feel and looks

    Things I would have changed: reduce weight

    What others should know: crosman field points are the most accurate at 70 yrds and kill factor is high at 70yrds. Heavier pellots drop too much at 70+yrds.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Vernon from USA on 2011-03-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I just received the rifle today! I dithered between the RWS 350 and 460 but decided after reading the reviews that the 460 would be less hold sensitive. The gun has a slim stock, feels good in the hands like my RWS 34 Panther, and has good balance. Cocking doesn’t seem too bad but after the first few but it still takes some force so younger adults may find this rifle difficult to cock. I cleaned the rifle barrel of the usual grease and gunk and did my first test firing of the gun. First shot was puny, next one was much better, and by the 10 th I could tell it was putting out some serious power. I used the open sights because I got the wrong UTG adapter and couldn't mount my scope but I was holding true at 10 meters using .22 21.85 grain Kodiaks. I can’t measure the speed but from previous experience it’s firing faster than 700 fps but less than 900 fps so I doubt the claimed speeds are true. After cleaning the gun again I fired some 14.5 grain lighter RWS Superdomes and you can feel the difference in the rifle, a lot less kick and noise. It’s too early to tell which pellet and weight I’ll use but it seems like the gun isn’t that picky.

    Things I would have changed: I know the cocking release level is there to protect your fingers but it's kind of a pain to use and I wonder if it’s really necessary. Barrel is thinner that my RWS 34 but you don't cock the rifle with the barrel. Something I've found myself doing is holding the barrel while cocking which might be a problem in the future. I don’t like the finish on my stock at all. Unlike all the photos I’ve seen of the gun, mine is a dark brown and way over stained. It’s not bad but I expected more from seeing other RWS rifles. Synthetic stock. Deadens vibration better and is more dimensionally stable.

    What others should know: When I get the right UTG scope mount I can mount my scope and verify the nice tight groups at 10 meters can be reproduced at 20 and 30 meters. I know this is a hunting rifle but I expect it to have great accuracy like most RWS rifles have.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Geoff from USA on 2010-06-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Very well made... beautiful stock...very accurate shoots flat and fast cigarette pack sized target at 75 yds is not an issue with JSB exact 8.4 grain. Haven't tried the jumbos yet they should work well also.

    Things I would have changed: make the cocking effort a little easier...Make a latch on the cocking arm more like a Gamo CFX so it dosent come loose when fired ive only had it happen once so far but could see it becoming a problem down the road.

    What others should know: This is a heavy gun. My wife can barley cock it and my kids can't at all.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Nialfire from USA on 2010-05-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: VARY consistent crony numbers of 830fps with Crossman premiers with dime size grouping @ 30 yards. Gotta love it.

    Things I would have changed: open sights need updating.

    What others should know: A well made and vary accurate hard hitter, made to hunting.

  • Previous 123 Next
Navigation