Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Diana RWS 460 Magnum reviews - page 2



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:4

    Accuracy:4

    By martintheterrible from USA on 2008-01-20 13:21:21

    Things I liked:Wood stock is absolutely Beautiful. Underlever cocking is better than a break barrel. Action is smooth with very little recoil. I wasn't sure if I wanted to spend the money on such an expensive rifle but now I'm glad that I did. This rifle packs a PUNCH !
    Things I would have changed:I would prefer a metal trigger. As for the issue with the awkwardness of having to de-cock, I just discharge the round into the ground.
    What others should know:I purchased the .22 cal to kill pigeons and opossum. You can hear the impact when the pellet hits the target. I have shot several pigeons. With a heavy pellet and a head shot the pigeons usually drop with very little fight. However, there have been times that I have used a lighter pellet and been beyond 30 yards or so and the pellet rises or doesn't have enough force to put a kill shot on the pigeon. It's like trying to throw a ping pong ball a hundred miles per hour. I have not shot a opposum yet. I'd imagine that it will take a very well placed head shot to knock a opposum out cold. We'll see.
    1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1

    Value for money:1

    Accuracy:1

    By Customer from USA on 2012-08-01 14:44:48

    Things I liked:Very nice looking rifle
    Things I would have changed:Make it lighter and higher quality for the money
    What others should know:I purchased this rifle as a step up to .22 from .177 and what I thouight was a step up from Gamo which I've owned several of. I now prefer the .177 as the .22 lost power after only a few hundred shots and drops like a rock. I've put thousands of shots on both gamo and ruger rifles at 1/4th of the cost. Now im going to have to spend almost $100.00 for warranty repair because of shipping costs to and from umarex. (About the cost of another Gamo) Moral: More expensive is not always better!
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-06-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:plenty of power, quality feel and looks
      Things I would have changed:reduce weight
      What others should know:crosman field points are the most accurate at 70 yrds and kill factor is high at 70yrds. Heavier pellots drop too much at 70+yrds.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Vernon from USA on 2011-03-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I just received the rifle today! I dithered between the RWS 350 and 460 but decided after reading the reviews that the 460 would be less hold sensitive. The gun has a slim stock, feels good in the hands like my RWS 34 Panther, and has good balance. Cocking doesn’t seem too bad but after the first few but it still takes some force so younger adults may find this rifle difficult to cock. I cleaned the rifle barrel of the usual grease and gunk and did my first test firing of the gun. First shot was puny, next one was much better, and by the 10 th I could tell it was putting out some serious power. I used the open sights because I got the wrong UTG adapter and couldn't mount my scope but I was holding true at 10 meters using .22 21.85 grain Kodiaks. I can’t measure the speed but from previous experience it’s firing faster than 700 fps but less than 900 fps so I doubt the claimed speeds are true. After cleaning the gun again I fired some 14.5 grain lighter RWS Superdomes and you can feel the difference in the rifle, a lot less kick and noise. It’s too early to tell which pellet and weight I’ll use but it seems like the gun isn’t that picky.
      Things I would have changed:I know the cocking release level is there to protect your fingers but it's kind of a pain to use and I wonder if it’s really necessary. Barrel is thinner that my RWS 34 but you don't cock the rifle with the barrel. Something I've found myself doing is holding the barrel while cocking which might be a problem in the future. I don’t like the finish on my stock at all. Unlike all the photos I’ve seen of the gun, mine is a dark brown and way over stained. It’s not bad but I expected more from seeing other RWS rifles. Synthetic stock. Deadens vibration better and is more dimensionally stable.
      What others should know:When I get the right UTG scope mount I can mount my scope and verify the nice tight groups at 10 meters can be reproduced at 20 and 30 meters. I know this is a hunting rifle but I expect it to have great accuracy like most RWS rifles have.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Geoff from USA on 2010-06-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very well made... beautiful stock...very accurate shoots flat and fast cigarette pack sized target at 75 yds is not an issue with JSB exact 8.4 grain. Haven't tried the jumbos yet they should work well also.
      Things I would have changed:make the cocking effort a little easier...Make a latch on the cocking arm more like a Gamo CFX so it dosent come loose when fired ive only had it happen once so far but could see it becoming a problem down the road.
      What others should know:This is a heavy gun. My wife can barley cock it and my kids can't at all.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Nialfire from USA on 2010-05-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:VARY consistent crony numbers of 830fps with Crossman premiers with dime size grouping @ 30 yards. Gotta love it.
      Things I would have changed:open sights need updating.
      What others should know:A well made and vary accurate hard hitter, made to hunting.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2009-10-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      41 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nice wood. Nice metal. Not too hard to cock. VERY powerful. Accurate. Not too loud or "sproingy."
      Things I would have changed:Nothing really. Nothing to complain about.
      What others should know:I got the .22 This is one POWERFUL springer. Very natural pointer and shooter. Accurate. Was hitting a soupcan standing, offhand 75% of the time at 40 yds. At 50 yds., this rifle has the same velocity that the venerable Beeman R1 (in .22) has at the MUZZLE!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Leonard from USA on 2009-02-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Beautiful pellet rifle. Well made. Sighted in quickly and was able to stack FTS pellets one of top of the other at 28 yards.
      Things I would have changed:I doubt you can reach the advertised velocity for the 22 caliber pellets.I would be pleased if it maintains 850fps after break in.
      What others should know:The cocking lever is a little difficult until you get a system going. The short cocking lever is what makes it difficult. My rifle is very accuracte with the right pellets and makes a fine hunting rifle.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By jamesrr2890@hotmail. from USA on 2008-07-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:The people that manufacture this gun take a lot of pride in their product. When I removed mine from the box, I couldn't help but marvel at the finish and the detail on the stock. I mounted a scope on mine, I used a rws scope mount that I had on a older gun. It was obvious it was made for this gun. It took less than a dozen shots to zero the scope. The trigger doesn't bother me, but I don't care for the front sights. I would hate to think I would have to use this gun without a scope.
      Things I would have changed:Front sight.
      What others should know:This is an accurate hard hitting rifle.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Luke from USA on 2008-06-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      53 ratings
       
      Things I liked:RWS super high quality, just like on my Model 54. Nice stock with decent checkering. Awesome metal-to-metal and wood-to-metal fit throughout. Yes, the trigger is plastic (exact same trigger as on my M54, actually), but it breaks extremely clean, and I would guess it is right at 3 lbs from the factory, as they state in the specs. I've fired thousands of rounds through my Model 54 with no problems of any sort, and the only reason I bought the 460 is that I have wanted a .22 cal for quite a while now and this one looked too good to pass up.
      Things I would have changed:The wood on mine is rather plain, almost like birch rather than walnut, but still pretty nice. I've seen many $600 centerfire rifles with worse wood. The open sights, as everyone else noted, are a complete joke. The stupid front sight practically covers a tin can at 30 yards, which does not make for precision shooting! I have scoped mine also, which fixes part of the problem, but that front sight does not come off without also removing the retainer for the cocking lever, and as far as I know, there is no replacement compensator available for this rifle. This is a bummer, as I too will need to saw off the front sight, since it appears as a very distracting blurr in my 3-9x scope. I hate using a hacksaw to cut pieces off an expensive German rifle!
      What others should know:I had not thought of this before getting the gun, but there is no way to put traditional sling swivels on this gun's forearm, due to the cocking lever. Even one of those shotgun style slings won't work, since it would interfere with cocking the gun. I like a sling on my hunting guns, but there won't be one on this gun. Have not done serious accuracy testing yet, only fired about 30 rounds so far. Did do a quick chronograph check with RWS Superdomes--14.5 grains--and was amazed at the consistency: 804.6, 805.5, 803.2, 803.2, 809.3, Extreme spread of only 6.1, and SD of 2.5fps.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Doug from USA on 2008-06-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      53 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The stock is better than some high power rifles. The acurracy is excellent after only 150 shots, no spread at 12 yards, cuts the same hole. After sighting in, and trying to break it in, shot and killed a bird eating my seeds in my garden with the first shot. I have never killed anything in my life with the first shot at game.
      Things I would have changed:The under locking lever has a tendency to come unlatched after firing. Get rid of iron sights all together, and send them along as an installable option, and put screws in the holes. Front sight is awful. For those of you complaining about the plastic trigger, you must not have shot enough different rifles in you time, because this trigger is better than some very expensive powder rifles. It has very little first stage creep, great, crisp release, and low pull weight.
      What others should know:Get a good scope like the Leapers 3-9X40, TS with locking turrets. This thing has pretty tough recoil, and will jostle the reticle in lesser scopes.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2008-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:This was a used or a return that I bought from Pyramid and I must say that it arrived in absolute like new prestine condition. This is an extremely hard hitting rifle in .22 caliber. I have yet to chrony this gun but in doing some penetration testng it outperforms my model 48. This accuracy is amazing just like on my 48. Very sastified and highly recommended.
      Things I would have changed:Of course everybody fusses about the plastic sights and trigger but I opted for the BSA scope and I do not care if the trigger is plastic as long as it has acceptable pull ,which it does. The cocking effort is not for weaklings and the underlever mechanism takes some getting used to but neither is unacceptable.
      What others should know:I had Pyramid mount a BSA scope on a Leapers Accushot mount and it has not creeped one bit. They supposedly sighted it in but it was nowhere close. After about a hundred rounds or so and experimentng with several different pellets this gun really came to life. At thirty yards I am consistently getting 1 inch groups with the Crossman Premiers shooting off my lead sled. Make sure you use a good scope mount- not an RWs as this thing kicks with authority. All in all I really like this rifle it was an incredible bargain from Pyramid Air.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2008-03-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:most accurate i have shot, if you got the money buyit, great stock reliable gun. love the underlever cocking forget the breakbarrel. I put on a leaper 3x9x40 scope, and use crow magnum and predator pellets 3/8 group at 25yds...
      Things I would have changed:the front sight is huge, srewed on dovetail scope design.
      What others should know:get the 22 cal for hunting. mount a good scope
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Rick from USA on 2008-03-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:The power is impressive.......after approximately 100 shots I ran a 10 shot chrony test with .22 cal. 14.30 gr. Crosman Premiers....... 854.4 , 864.7 , 859.8 , 859.2 , 861.1 , 858.3 , 865.5 , 858.9 , 854.6 , 856.8 AVG. FOR 10 SHOTS = 859.33 FPS The consistency , ( shown by an extreme spread of 11.10 is excellent . )
      Things I would have changed:The large , wide plastic front sight , and cut the thickness of the recoil pad at least 50 % , for an appearance more like the Beeman rifles.
      What others should know:The power is excellent , and it is very accurate with the right pellets ......... Beeman FTS & Crosman Premier for my 460 . Also , the trigger is very good .
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Martin from USA on 2008-01-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:-Beautiful rifle -Great QC from RWS.
      Things I would have changed:-Plastic trigger -Front sight post (too wide) I use a scope anyways
      What others should know:This is such a powerful and more importantly, accurate rifle. Its fairly easy to cock, especially after break in. I have put 1000 pellets through this rifle now. I did have to send it back to RWS to because the chamber seal had to be replaced. RWS fixed it the same day they received it and it was in the mail that same day. WOW! Great customer service. With medium pellets this rifle tends to pass through small game. I recommend using large hollow points (crow mag or predator) to maximize kill shots. Well worth the money.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By martintheterrible from USA on 2008-01-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Wood stock is absolutely Beautiful. Underlever cocking is better than a break barrel. Action is smooth with very little recoil. I wasn't sure if I wanted to spend the money on such an expensive rifle but now I'm glad that I did. This rifle packs a PUNCH !
      Things I would have changed:I would prefer a metal trigger. As for the issue with the awkwardness of having to de-cock, I just discharge the round into the ground.
      What others should know:I purchased the .22 cal to kill pigeons and opossum. You can hear the impact when the pellet hits the target. I have shot several pigeons. With a heavy pellet and a head shot the pigeons usually drop with very little fight. However, there have been times that I have used a lighter pellet and been beyond 30 yards or so and the pellet rises or doesn't have enough force to put a kill shot on the pigeon. It's like trying to throw a ping pong ball a hundred miles per hour. I have not shot a opposum yet. I'd imagine that it will take a very well placed head shot to knock a opposum out cold. We'll see.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Jim from USA on 2007-11-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Power , accurracy, weight distribution , ease of loading and cocking
      Things I would have changed:put metal triggers on the guns , make the scope dovetails machined in the guns body instead of mounted to it with screws
      What others should know:This gun is a first class powerful airgun that requires a good quality scope that can take a beating as the recoil is sharp due to its power.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2007-10-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nice stock and quality finish. Seemed accurate at the range. Hard hitting, killed my first rabbit last night, while eating my flowers. One shot, about 20 yards, flipped him once, and he never even twiched. I am a 60 year powder shooter, and I am impressed by this spring gun. I shot a number of pests durning the summer with my Gamo CFX, and the 460 seems like a harder hitter. The 460 has the look and feel of a real rifle.
      Things I would have changed:A metal trigger would be nice, and a front sight blade that could be removed.
      What others should know:Sighted the rifle in with Beeman Ram Jets, and killed the rabbit wth a JSB Ballistic Predator, so it must put them in close to the same spot. Both my CFX and the 460 are 22 cal, however the 460 seems a little louder than the CFX. The 460 has 50 shots through it and the CFX 1000 to 1200. Between the two I like the 460 better, dispite the difference in the cost.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2007-10-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      32 ratings
       
      Things I liked:LOOKS!!! FEEL!! What a beuttifull rifle!! Power to spare!Very impresive to my freinds shooting lightweight pellets that break sound barrier!! Sounds like 22 rimfire!!! { standard weight pellets are very quiet}
      Things I would have changed: A little truth in advertising. Velocety claims are inflated___ but that is ok the others do it to!!
      What others should know:This gun is SUPER ACURATE! Expect abreak in of about 1000 shots to scmooth things out! I am now getting ONE hole accuracy @20 yds.Crosman premiers 7.9 @ 1100 f.p.s TOO fast for accuracy, jsb exact ,,8.4 985 f.p.s. SUPERB !! Crosman heavys 10.5 < Kodiak magnums 10.6,,,Fantasyik! USE HEAVY PELLETS FOR THIS POWERHOUSE YOU WILL LOVE IT !!!!!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By William from USA on 2007-10-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good wood in stock. Proper grain pattern. Good finish in/on wood and metal. Solid linkage in cocking system. This a very well "made with pride" product from Germany. This rifle is not made of junk parts with poor workmanship/QC from China. You get what you pay for in regards to quality. "Cain't be told, you will be showed".
      Things I would have changed:Eliminate the plastic parts. I have concerns, but will use and see how they hold up over time. Most likey, the plastics are of good polymer for the application. It would be interesting to know RWS's position on this aspect. Some input from them might set the position straight on this matter.
      What others should know:First tens shots out of the box (I know, I know, it is not broke in........yet). Measured with Beta Chrony 31.5" from muzzle to first detector. Temperature = 68 degrees F Humidity = 61% Barometric Pressure = 29.91" Pellet = RWS Superdome 14.5 gr 10 shot string Lo = 807.2 FPS Hi = 823.3 FPS Avg = 815.4 FPS ES = 16.04 SD = 04.24 FPE = 21.41
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Charles from USA on 2007-10-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The wood was beautiful. The metal to metal fit is smooth. Overall feel and firing cycle is very quiet for a magnum air gun.
      Things I would have changed:I'd rather have a metal trigger.
      What others should know:Mine is a .177 and shoots great. Accuracy and power. A very nice high quality gun.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2007-10-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle has a well balanced feel. The 460 in 22 caliber is considerably more accurate than my RWS break barrels. Trigger pull is abour right.
      Things I would have changed:I would prefer a steel trigger and a better scope mount.
      What others should know:I have tried many brands of pellets. This rifle is very consistent with all the pellets that I have tried. I have had the most success with Beeman FTS pellets. I noticed the velocity improving as the gun breaks in. I have chronied the FTS at the muzzle at 905. This is after 500 rounds. To summarize, a very accurate and powerful underlever.
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    Over
    ammo packs sold