Date: 27/7/2016 9:39
0

Diana RWS 48 Air Rifle, TO6 Trigger reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (77 reviews)
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By gregwhetstone from USA on 2007-10-14 11:54:12

Things I liked: I really like the heft of this rifle,smooth cocking action,did not get a chance to try open sights,as mine came with scope mounted,after what I call "settle down period",about60-75 shots,this gun shoots very good groups,IF you do your part,I own several .22 cal air guns ,so I sighted in with the type my other guns like,I had one other type on hand,so after sighting in,I tried those also,they produced tight groups a little low and left,consistently,but by alternating,and mixing the two types,my rifle definitely is very accurate and knows what it likes,my regular type of pellet continually groups inside 1" at 35 yards,which I find is the average distance I do all my shooting,whether hunting or plinking,its a lot of fun to shoot small fruits,like cherry tomatoes ,and cookies and crackers at this distance,this rifle packs a serious wallop,is extremely accurate and is a joy to own and shoot,I'm glad I chose .22 in this model,I own several high-end .177's also,but this rifle dlivers smashing terminal velocity,and I am sure the more I shoot it,the smoother it will get,and the velocity will creep steadily higher until it reaches maximum.

Things I would have changed: not one solitary thing

What others should know: sight in with your favorite pellet,then try one or two other types,you may find it likes a type other than your favorite,I was lucky ,because me and my rifle both are very fond of the same pellet!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Tom from USA on 2016-06-26 07:53:04

Things I liked: T-06 trigger is very good. Accuracy is excellent in my book. Overall quality is very good. I wanted to try a fixed barrel .22 gun from Germany or UK for the sake of accuracy. It is very accurate by my standards, once the pellet choice is figured out. .

Things I would have changed: This gun is a bit heavy but it's not ridiculous. This probably adds to the stability and thus the accuracy. Also, this is the loudest springer I own, but, again, not too bad. I would like to see a shrouded barrel, like my Benji NP, to quiet it down a bit. Yes, I know - weight.

What others should know: When I first received the Model 48, I was astonished by all the noise and roughness when cocking it. This is quality? Not compared to my Beeman R-9 it's not. Came very close to sending it back. Ceasar, in Texas, suggested I shoot it some more first. So, I cleaned up some sharp edges, applied some oil to the spring and moly grease to the bolt and started to shoot. It is now much better and getting better. I like it - a lot. It's now nearly as good as an old, old Model 52 (.177) I have. The best pellet for me has been the JSB Exact 13.4 gr. The Crosman Brown Box Premiers are also very good and, surprisingly, so are the inexpensive, off the shelf Crosman Premier domes, 14.3 gr. I don't now why, but the heavier JSB Jumbo Heavies, (18.1 gr,). group well, but actually impact about 3" higher, at 27 yrds, than anything else I tried. Go figure! Bottom line is that this is now my favorite and most accurate .22 air rifle and I am a happy camper!

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2016-06-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: T-06 trigger is very good. Accuracy is excellent in my book. Overall quality is very good. I wanted to try a fixed barrel .22 gun from Germany or UK for the sake of accuracy. It is very accurate by my standards, once the pellet choice is figured out. .

    Things I would have changed: This gun is a bit heavy but it's not ridiculous. This probably adds to the stability and thus the accuracy. Also, this is the loudest springer I own, but, again, not too bad. I would like to see a shrouded barrel, like my Benji NP, to quiet it down a bit. Yes, I know - weight.

    What others should know: When I first received the Model 48, I was astonished by all the noise and roughness when cocking it. This is quality? Not compared to my Beeman R-9 it's not. Came very close to sending it back. Ceasar, in Texas, suggested I shoot it some more first. So, I cleaned up some sharp edges, applied some oil to the spring and moly grease to the bolt and started to shoot. It is now much better and getting better. I like it - a lot. It's now nearly as good as an old, old Model 52 (.177) I have. The best pellet for me has been the JSB Exact 13.4 gr. The Crosman Brown Box Premiers are also very good and, surprisingly, so are the inexpensive, off the shelf Crosman Premier domes, 14.3 gr. I don't now why, but the heavier JSB Jumbo Heavies, (18.1 gr,). group well, but actually impact about 3" higher, at 27 yrds, than anything else I tried. Go figure! Bottom line is that this is now my favorite and most accurate .22 air rifle and I am a happy camper!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-05-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun is amazing... Quality of material and craftsmanship is top notch. I was very surprised at the accuracy and power. Scoped the gun weighs around 11lbs which for me is a little heavy for freehand shooting but with the assistance of a shooting stick I am able to get remarkable, consistent accuracy. 25yd head shots on squirrels and the 14.5 gr domed pellet exits the other side. Overall, very pleased I made the investment.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: I have other springer's in the lower price range and still enjoy shooting, but the 48 is certainly now my favorite hunting riffle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eric from USA on 2016-05-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought this gun on the Airgun forum for around $375 in .22 caliber. I had excellent accuracy with open sights with almost every pellet. I bought a UTG 3-9X40 1" TF2+ Scope from Amazon and began shooting less than dime-sized groups with Beeman Kodiak Extra Heavy .22 Cal, 21.14 Grains Round Nose pellets at 12 yards. With every other pellet, this gun shoots nearly the same groups-- smaller than a dime. I hunt with this gun and have found out that it shoots really flat compared to the other pellet guns I have. With the mil dot scope, I have made kill shots on ground squirrels and rabbits past 80 yards from a good rest. My longest with this gun was at 135 yards on a rabbit with my scope aimed 7 mil dots high. I am elated with the accuracy, quality and consistency of this supreme pellet gun!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, great scope, great German quality.

    What others should know: Don't be fooled by the price on this gun, save up your money and buy this awesome pellet gun. I also recommend the RWS model 34 Pro Compact in .177 because of it's great accuracy and quality like the Model 48.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-03-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy, power, weight, side-lever cocking, feel of the trigger.

    Things I would have changed: It's all great, no issues with this rifle.

    What others should know: The gun is not light. I wouldn't want to be walking around with this rifle. I use it in a bench rest and focus most on target shooting.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Paul from USA on 2016-02-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate with and plenty of power.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2015-11-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a very high quality air rifle with an outstanding trigger. Just my opinion, but I believe the side lever cocking system is far superior to a break barrel springer of similar power. It is very accurate with open sights and, with the right scope and mounting system, it is capable of dime size groups at 30 yards under calm conditions.

    Things I would have changed: The rifle is a bit on the heavy side and the stock dimensions are not the best for people with long arms. I would also suggest adding sling swivel studs to the stock making it easier to carry while hunting.

    What others should know: I would recommend ordering the Striker Combo. I did not and paid for my mistake. This rifle requires more than a passing understanding of scopes and mounts. At first, the rifle shot well but after10 shots the impact would shift and it destroyed two scopes before I realized I had inferior mounts for a rifle of this power and recoil. After getting recommendations from the staff at Pyramyd Air, I received the proper mounting system along with a Leapers 3-9X 40 scope. Since mounting this scope mount combo, I have had no further issues. Please note the shifting impact problem was entire due to shooter error and had nothing to do with the quality if this air rifle. Learn from my mistake and be sure you have a scope and mounting system which are compatible with this particular air rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2015-10-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power, weight, side lever, quality

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I received this rifle in July 2015. Very accurate but a bit heavy for offhand shooting. The quality of the metalwork and stock finish is outstanding as well as accuracy and group consistency. This is my third RWS rifle and they all like H&N brand pellets. After owning this gun for about 2 months, I noticed a sound like a knock at the end of the cocking stroke. After removing the stock I discovered a crack in the wood boss where the rear screw goes through. I contacted Umarex USA and they are sending a new stock to me under warranty. As a woodworker, I understand grain patterns and stress points. I cannot blame RWS, this was just a quirk and this is why they have such a good warranty policy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fabian from USA on 2015-07-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the finish of this rifle, I have received a lot of compliments at the range. The stock is exactly what I was expecting. Very well done. The accuracy of this rifle is amazing, I have been shooting at 50 yards and It performs very well every time with the open sights or with my scope. My vision is not what it used to be so if there are groups that are bigger than "the size of a quarter" at 50 yards it is because of me and not because of the rifle (pellets brands and quality also have a lot to do with that but you already know that).

    Things I would have changed: The rifle is heavy. I do not know if I have forgotten, but when I was younger I shot for a high school shooting team and we had them. They did not feel as heavy then. Cocking is very difficult for youngsters and women. My kids have a hard time cocking it and for my wife is literally impossible to do. I can tell you that when I go to the range I usually shoot around 100 pellets and for me it is a nice workout session.

    What others should know: The trigger is fantastic, but beware!!! The first shot caught me by surprise. The trigger is very smooth and it came set very light out of the box. This rifle is extremely accurate, it has a very noticeable recoil, after 100 shots you will feel it to. Accuracy is affected a lot by recoil, so you have to practice a lot until you get it right. Shooting standing position get's you tired very quick, and the weight of the rifle makes it very hard to concentrate shots within the 7 ring. I wish it was 3 pounds lighter and the cocking only required 20 to 25 pounds of force. It definitely will last for along time. I can see my grand grand kids shooting it!!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stefan from USA on 2015-06-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Yet another 5-star review. I am new to air rifles, but PA answered all my many questions and helped me pick a great rifle. Purchased this gun and added a UTG 3-9x40 True Hunter scope. Love the T-06 trigger--breaks when you expect it to. Very accurate! Considering I am new to air rifles and the artillery hold recommended for spring rifles, I was shocked by the tight groups I was getting right out of the box with little practice. Excited to think it will get better once broken in. Fit and finish what you would hope for from the Germans in this price range. I wanted a quality gun I could hand down to my kids--I think I have found it!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing--unless you could shave off a few pounds without sacrificing quality/accuracy.

    What others should know: This is a heavy gun (especially with optics). I second the many reviews suggesting a sling. Side lever cocking effort is all of the 39lbs advertised, but I found it more ergonomic than the break barrel.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2015-05-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quality stock. Smooth shooter. Crisp, light, adjustable trigger. Feels substantial in your hands. Accurate as you are. For the money can't be beat.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing yet. Looking for the right scope.

    What others should know: Get one if you're looking for a quality tack-driver!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2015-05-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Build quality and accuracy is excellent.

    Things I would have changed: The safety on the gun is absolute garbage. Feels like it is made of plastic and very cheap. Considering the cost of this gun, the safety should be of great importance!

    What others should know: I actually had a problem with the bluing on the gun and Pyramid Air took care of me. Absolutely EXCELLENT customer service and I would never go anywhere else!!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charlie from USA on 2015-04-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A beautiful piece of German machinery. Shoots very well. Heavy, well built rifle. The stock trigger as set at the factory is as good as any of the $200 aftermarket triggers I have in my other rifles. Light and crisp.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice if the safety were re-settable. once you disengage it the rifle must be fired, the safety can't be re-engaged. would love to see it come with strap lugs.

    What others should know: The rifle has a 3/8 scope rail. I used Burris Signature rings to allow me to near zero the scope at center of vertical turret travel using the eccentric Burris sleeves. The 48 needs allot of offset. You will have to use the included pin to keep the rings from working their way off the 3/8 rail. You have to use your right hand to load.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Edward from USA on 2015-04-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice and short just like a carbine.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Nice air rifle some say it is heavy but that makes it feel like a real powder burner. I can hit a soda can at 35+ yards out of the box with cheap gamo pellets standing. That is with no scope and only about 25 pellets its not even close to broken in yet.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carlos from USA on 2015-03-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything on this rifle is superb for me.

    Things I would have changed: Offer enhanced front and rear sights for low light shooting.

    What others should know: This rifle is an excellent spring-piston. Accurate and powerful. Mine likes the 15-16 grain JSB and H&N pellets. It shoots the 18 grain pellets with about four inches of drop at 25 yards. There are no fliers with this rifle.....accurate! I am very satisfied.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By MARK from USA on 2015-02-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy, looks,

    Things I would have changed: for myself the stock is a little short

    What others should know: this air gun is very accurate and well worth your money

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Frederick from USA on 2015-02-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well built stock and metal parts.Heavy but manageable with a sling if carrying in the woods for hunting.Its a breeze to install the sling studs!Very hold sensitive.Took me about 100 rounds to figure out my best hold for this gun.It like to be held very lightly without any pressure point.Once I dial in the hold,I was able to put 5 shots in a 1/2 inch circle at 20 yds!.I use a Leaper 3x9x40 scope with medium ring on a UTG droop compensator scope base.I realized that my gun does not have a barrel droop so I reversed the scope base instead.So far it likes RWS Superdome,Grosman Premiers and the Diabolo Exact domes pellets.The Diabolo is the most accurate of these three pellets for my gun.I am very happy with the overall quality,accuracy ,and price for this gun.It really oozes German technology and built quality. Very happy with the puchase, and the customer service of PA.No regrets for my first air gun!

    Things I would have changed: None for now....

    What others should know: It is a heavy gun to shoot off hand.Mine weigh over 10 lbs with scope, scope base and rings!If you plan on doing a lot of walking for your hunt,a sling will be helpful.A shooting stick will help stabilise this heavy rifle with longer shots.Learn to hold it lightly on your shoulder,cheek and do not squeeze the forearm.Give it room to move from the double recoil and your accuracy will Improve.It likes dome pellets so far weighing between 13 to 18 grains .I zero it at 20 yds and it is good up to 35 yds.Above 35 yds I just have to hold over a tad on my mildot .Overall, be patience and take the time to learn the hold and pellets preference.Once you have these dialed in, it is a pleasure to shoot.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeffrey from USA on 2015-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate gun. Lots of fun and easy cocking unlike my 8 pumper.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Makes a little noise, but hey part of the fun. Kills squirrels so far at 20 yards.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2015-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: This is the first quality spring gun I have owned or even shot. Dime size groups are common.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2015-01-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle is very well made . I was surprised at the quality of workmanship. It is designed to hold in the off position very well.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing!

    What others should know: While this rifle is a bit heavy it is very solid and no plastic which makes it a joy to hold and shoot. I have found it very accurate and very consistent.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2014-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: High quality fit and finish. Absolute dead on accuracy with RWS dome head pellets. Dime size 5 shot group at 25 yds. consistently.

    Things I would have changed: The iron sights need to be the same as the new fiber optic sights on the model 34. Front sight way to wide.

    What others should know: This gun is HEAVY. A sling is a must on this big boy! Gun is rock solid though.

  • 1234 Next
Navigation