Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Diana RWS 48 Air Rifle, TO6 Trigger reviews - page 2



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (57 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By gregwhetstone from USA on 2007-10-14 11:54:12

    Things I liked:I really like the heft of this rifle,smooth cocking action,did not get a chance to try open sights,as mine came with scope mounted,after what I call "settle down period",about60-75 shots,this gun shoots very good groups,IF you do your part,I own several .22 cal air guns ,so I sighted in with the type my other guns like,I had one other type on hand,so after sighting in,I tried those also,they produced tight groups a little low and left,consistently,but by alternating,and mixing the two types,my rifle definitely is very accurate and knows what it likes,my regular type of pellet continually groups inside 1" at 35 yards,which I find is the average distance I do all my shooting,whether hunting or plinking,its a lot of fun to shoot small fruits,like cherry tomatoes ,and cookies and crackers at this distance,this rifle packs a serious wallop,is extremely accurate and is a joy to own and shoot,I'm glad I chose .22 in this model,I own several high-end .177's also,but this rifle dlivers smashing terminal velocity,and I am sure the more I shoot it,the smoother it will get,and the velocity will creep steadily higher until it reaches maximum.
    Things I would have changed:not one solitary thing
    What others should know:sight in with your favorite pellet,then try one or two other types,you may find it likes a type other than your favorite,I was lucky ,because me and my rifle both are very fond of the same pellet!
    1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Customer from USA on 2010-02-09 16:00:23

    Things I liked: I have the 22 cal. I really like the workmanship of the Airgun. The gun has solid stock and is very accurate with CPs 14.3. It is one of my go to hunting rifle.
    Things I would have changed: I would like a metal trigger, although the plastic one is ok.
    What others should know:In order to shoot accurately you must learn and practice using the artillery hold. if possible, I recommend adding a sling.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ZippyPop from USA on 2012-11-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Have owned a RWS 48 in 22 for over 20+ years. It's fun to shoot, but does require some practice to handle well. Serious power for small game and target.
      Things I would have changed:twangy!
      What others should know:Lotsa power in 22 for those longer shots and small game hunting.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ian from USA on 2012-07-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:after owning and shooting my 48 for 16 years i can say without a doubt that this is rifle will be a family heirloom. its size and weight makes it difficult for lightweights to handle.
      Things I would have changed:fit it with a shrouded barrel,its a little loud in the urban setting.
      What others should know:fit a good scope with a quality mount.it likes heavy pellets,so find the one you like,CP's 14.3gr are my choice. get used to it as you will have it a long time.You can mount a base for a tripod on the fore grip to aid in shooting, it is heavy. Be sure to check your backstop as this rifle will soon burrow through two pieces of 3/4" plywood. this is a great air rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lead Pusher from USA on 2012-05-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great rifle, very accurate and consistant. Great power It is still new to me but I can see this will be one of my favorite I own. First day out shot about 150 pellets with iron sites and did okay for me. Next day mounted a Hawke Panorama EV 3-9 x 50 with the UTG droop compensation mount. Had it perfect in 10 minutes with very little adjustment. Yea suprised me too. About 30 minutes later went and got me a big rabbit at about 30 yards from a standing position. Look out squirrels here I come.
      Things I would have changed:Very heavy gun especially after mounting a scope. I need to get a sling for it.
      What others should know:It is a springer learn the artillery hold and understand that is a must when using this rifle. It is a heavy gun if wanting to go walking and hunting with it. Trigger is awesome I dont know why I waited so long to get a nice .22. You need to be a man to cock and use this thing all day. I was sore after a weekend of 400 pellets. Big plus is my kids dont ask to use it since it is a bit more then a 12 year old can handle. I am still testing pellets so far RWS superdome work well and Beeman rounds were good. Waiting for some JSB and hoping it gets even better. Very pricey but you get what you pay for and you will not be disappointed.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By GEORGE from USA on 2012-04-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the accuracy, I have about 20 different pellets in 22 cal and every thing shoots a little ragged hole with this gun, no wild flyers at all. Sure you would have to zero the scope for each pellet to get it on the bull, but it can be done for any pellet I have. The new TO-6 trigger is fantastic, very light pull weight and well defined 1st & 2nd stage, and very predictable when the gun will fire. The blueing and the stock are very nice, over all one fine RWS air rifle, love it.
      Things I would have changed:nothing at all
      What others should know:After about a 1000 pellet break in period this gun operates very smooth, easy to cock, hold & shoot. I zeroed my leapers scope with the RWS droop compensating mount using crosman premier pellets since they shoot great and are the best value in 22 cal pellets if your gun likes them.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By GEORGE from USA on 2012-03-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A very fine made rifle, the appearance and finish of the stock is beautiful, the metal blueing is top notch as well. After about 1,000 pellets break in period, the side lever cocking has really smoothed out, making this something you can shoot for hours. Since the cocking effort is not so great that it would fatigue you quickly. The new TO6 trigger is great, the first stage is well defined and from there its a crisp and predictable firing of the gun with very low pressure on the trigger, no need to mess with factory adjustments. The first 200 pellets I shot thru this gun were with the iron sights, and they shot quite good, but I want the accuracy of a scope so I mounted a Leapers 4x12x40mm lighted scope and it is great
      Things I would have changed:A little expensive for a springer.
      What others should know:I have about 20 different .22 cal pellet makes, shapes, weights, manufactures and this gun shoots everything fantastic, every pellet will shoot a small group and no flyers it's amazing. You could sight any pellet you want to shoot bullseyes all day, thats how accurate this gun is.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Scott from USA on 2012-02-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nicely built airgun. Very accurate when held correctly. Mine is in .22 cal and seems to like bigger pellets. Nice crisp trigger that feels smooth. Not a fancy stock but a good looking one. I like the sidelever design I think it looks cool and is easier to cock than a break barrel gun. I shoot tulip pedals at 50 yards (confirmed with rangefinder) with this gun with ease. I use the JSB Match Diabolo Exact 18.13 Grain pellets. This gun is powerful and is no toy so watch where you shoot. I haven't really shot anything with it yet but I have no doubt this gun could kill a squirrel at 50 yards.
      Things I would have changed:This gun is hold sensitive so you have to know how to shoot it which is a negative. It is also a heavy gun and if you plan on carrying it a lot you should think about putting a sling on it. This gun can be murder to a scope due to the double recoil. I found out the hard way when I rested the gun on a chair and fired about 20 rounds next thing I knew the gun was way off because the scope and mount came loose. The stock screw also came loose as well. You HAVE to put blue locktite on every screw or they will come loose trust me. Also I CANNOT safety this gun when its not cocked and I'm not sure if its supposed to be like that or not so it may be faulty.
      What others should know:Overall this is a very good spring gun but if I had to do it all over again I would probably go with a PCP airgun. I do not like the fact you cannot rest this gun on anything without it being inaccurate. I am used to centerfire rifles and my 850 Airmagnum where you can rest the gun on anything or hold it any way you want without effecting accuracy. If your used to shooting spring airguns and don't mind holding the gun a certain way then you will have a hard time finding a better gun than this however if your like me and don't want to worry about holding a gun a certain way to achieve good accuracy then you'll want to look for something else. It's no fault of the gun itself its the way all spring airguns are that's just the way they work. You won't notice hardly any recoil with this gun however your scope will so make sure you use locktite. I would say this gun is a in the medium range for sound. It's not loud nor is it quiet. Even though I would rather have gone with a PCP I do not regret buying this gun in any way shape or form. Its a good gun that will last me many years and will take many lives throughout it's life!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dylan Dempsey from USA on 2012-01-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Just about everything. It's easy to hold, and very comfortable, has a nice kick but it doesn't hit your shoulder too hard, the trigger is smooth and the safety is really convenient since its right above the trigger and you just have to press it with your thumb. You should get this gun if your getting any sort of pellet gun, I would recommend getting a used one or lightly used from someone you know or trust, since it is a bit pricy (I got mine from my uncle for $75). But it is also really heavy for a pellet gun weighing in at 8 pounds, but for some of you that is a good thing. It is very accurate, and just a good gun.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Loud, especially if you fire blanks.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By gary from USA on 2011-11-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Solid hard hitting rifle in .22 caliber.
      Things I would have changed:Get rid of the plastic trigger and guard. For the price give us metal!
      What others should know:Tighten the front and rear stock screws. Use Loctite (blue) to prevent them from loosening due to the heavy recoil. Like any springer because of the double recoil and slow lock time it demands sound shooting technique. Incorporate a consistent trigger pull, loose hold and remember to follow thru.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By BILLY from USA on 2011-10-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:SIDE LEVER IS THE EASIET TO COCK OF ALL PELLET RIFLES....AND ITS BULKY STOCK BALANCES PERFECTLY IN OFFHAND POSITION AS WELL AS BEING A SUPERB BENCH GUN.....
      Things I would have changed:AS USUAL WITH R.W.S NOTHING AT ALL...
      What others should know:I HAD ALL CALIBERS BUT THEY BURNED IN HOUSE FIRE.. MY FAVORITE 25 CAL. WAS IN MY TRUCK...IT KEEPS IMPRESSING ME AT ANY RANGE..POWER ELITE!! GOES THROUGH 2 CANS INSIDE EACH OTHER AT 50 FEET AND KNOCKS THEM OVER ON EXIT...ALSO PENETRATES 1/2 PLYWOOD AT 50 YARDS...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2011-08-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like verything. Great build quality! The balance and weight of the gun are perfect. The trigger is smooth and solid. I'm used to break barrel guns but I really like the side lever. It cocks very smoothly.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:It's a little loud but not too bad. Hoping that it will quiet down after I've had a chance to break it in. It just arrived today so after mounting the scope, the sling swivels, etc I only had the opportonity to fire off a few rounds before dark. I'm used to the noise level of my Benjamin Trail NP so maybe it's just my perspective.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dean from USA on 2011-07-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I HIT A QUTER AT 20 YARDS GREAT GUN FOR KILLING SQURRLS RABBITS BIRDS AND IVE NOT KILLED COONS SKUKKS OR POSSUM I THANK IT WILL KILLEM I DO KNOW IT WILL GO THROUT A 3/4 BOARD WITH EASE
      Things I would have changed:THE BLUED BARREL WILL RUST IF YOU DO NOT CLEAN AND OIL IT
      What others should know:ID PUT A SCOPE ON IT I HAVE A 3-9 WINCHESTER
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2011-06-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:TO6 trigger is great!, and rear sight now has index marks for windage so you know if your left or right of center. Compared to the newest 34, the 48 drives the same 0.22 cal. pellet 2X as deep into the same piece of wood. So the 100 fps increase over the 34 translates into a lot more power. Like the fact that the stock does not have a cut out on the bottom as do break barrels. At first was not sure I would like a side lever (grew up with a break barrel), but the side lever has much better ergonomics and the barrel will not bend (my old HyScore break barrel has a very bent barrel, can not look straight through it). This rifle is dead accurate with open sights, nailed a zig zaging/running squirrel from 60 ft while standing. The gun is very smooth in both cocking and firing cycles with no vibration, and the two safeties make for comfortable loading of pellets. Front sight is adjustable for elevation. The few plastic parts are very high quality (trigger blade is metal). And contrary to reviews I have seen elsewhere, with a cocked gun after the safety is turned off it can be put back on safe while the gun is still cocked.
      Things I would have changed:Option for a upgraded stock with checkering and raised cheek pad, though this one feels very good with a smooth stock. I really liked the fiber optic sights on the 34, would be nice to have that option on the 48, though the blade sight is very accurate.
      What others should know:First 48 shipped had a loose 2nd trigger screw (made adjusting trigger a problem) and the side lever rubbed when closing. Pyramyd Air made the return/exchange easy and the replacement 48 was perfect. 39 lbs pull weight is okay especially with the side lever, but I did ~60 rounds in one day and pulled a muscle in my back. So if your going to do a lot of shooting try doing 20 push ups a day for a week first! The TO6 trigger adjustment is very sensitive, 1st screw has about 1/4 turn usable adjustment CCW from the factory minimum (all the way clockwise) which is the longest first stage travel, 2nd screw has about +/- 1/2 turn usable adjustment. The 3rd screw adjusts the pull weight for the first and second stage, and for the second stage "step". If you can not feel the second stage step, increase the pull weight (turn 3rd screw CW). Also, the trigger will have a little more resistance when cocked versus uncocked. RWS Superdomes are perfect for this gun. The 48 represents German engineering and manufacturing at its best in air rifles!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2011-06-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Moved up to the 48 from a 34 for more power. The "first" 48 with the TO6 trigger had a loose fitting trigger screw (2nd screw) making it hard to adjust the trigger. Pyramyd Air made the return/exchange easy. The replacement 48 was perfect! TO6 trigger is great and the 48 has lots more power than the 34, but not a noticeable difference in recoil (it is a heavier gun). I grew up with a break barrel so was hesitant at first to get a side lever, but I found the ergonomics of the side lever are much better than the break barrel (and the barrel will not bend over time). Just work up to it and even switch hands to cock it, I ran ~60 rounds through the first one trying to get the trigger right and pulled a muscle in my back (and I am in really good shape). Very accurate gun, at first missed the fiber optic sights on the 34, but the blade sight works great and is more adjustable. Over all a high quality air rifle that has a smooth cocking mechanism and no vibration on the firing cycle! I now know what Paul C. meant when he said in his video it feels like a tuned gun right out of the box.
      Things I would have changed:Having the option for an upgraded stock would be nice (as on the 54)
      What others should know:Notes for the trigger adjustment (three screws): the 1st screw has about a 1/4 turn (CCW) of usable adjustment for the 1st stage travel (starting from all the way in, CW), the 2nd screw has about 1/2 turn +/- usable adjustment, and the third screw affects both the 1st stage and 2nd stage pull weight. The 3rd screw adjustment is also critical in allowing you to feel the "step" between the 1st and 2nd stage. If you stop feeling where the 2nd stage step is, turn the 3rd screw CW to increase the pull weight. It is a touchy trigger, so make small adjustments to fine tune it if needed.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-04-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: EMPACT77 THIS IS GOT TO BE IN THE TOP 10 WHEN IT COMES TO SPRINGERS HITS HARD AT LONG SHOTS OUT TO 60YRDS WELL MADE GREAT SIGHTS NICE MATCH TRIGGER MANY FLYING RATS HAVE GOTTEN A LONG KISS GOOD NIGHT ,FROM THIS GUN.
      Things I would have changed:NOTHING
      What others should know:TAKE IT EASY ON THE COCKING ARM DO NOT JERK ON IT USE A NICE SLOW DRAW .YOU CAN'T BEAT A LIFETIME WARRRNTY BEST ROUNDS I FOUND WERE BEEMAN SILVER ARROW IN 177CAL.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-01-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this is the first RWS i have ever owned, so i did not know what to expect. it is very nice out of the box. nice heavy feel, very stout. beautiful wood, the trigger is really nice. i was very excited about the noise level, it is actually pretty quiet, not silent, but i can shoot it in my backyard and not get nervous that the neighbors will be alarmed, this was really my main objective with finding a well made air rifle. overall it is just a time tested sure thing, well made air rifle, that i know will be in my family for many years.
      Things I would have changed:maybe add some fancy checkering on the stock like the 350 magnum.
      What others should know:pyramid air customer service did a good job. i did the 10 shots for $10, and i felt it was worth it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mr.Prapon from Thailand on 2010-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Beautiful Rifle.Absolute accuracy.A true point & shoot.This rifle's dynamics were crafted perfectly:This rifle is very well made.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jungle Jim from USA on 2010-10-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:My Diana RWS Model 48 is in .25 caliber and it has exceeded my expectations. It is very accurate and powerful. I shoot both the Beeman 26.2 grain Crow Magnum and H&N 26.23 grain Hollowpoint pellets and I am very satisfied with their accuracy and terminal performance. Both pellets will cleanly dispatch a Groundhog up to 35 yards by employing a head shot. Royally pissed off at a big black Grackle bullying smaller birds and expensive raking sunflower seeds, intended for polite Cardinals, out of the back side of my bird feeder to feed a throng of his black gang members on the ground below, I once shot clean through two .250" layers of plexiglas and 4" of bird seed to kill the rogue black Grackle and stop his looting. I had to replace the plexiglas sides of the bird feeder; however, that damn gang of black Grackles never returned.
      Things I would have changed:I would like to have more than just one of these fine rifles...atleast one in every caliber available. I'd like to have one with a fancy checkered high grade wood stock and another with a lightweight carbongraphite composite stock to carry squirrel hunting. My .25 caliber Model 48 is kind of heavy...it has a solid piece of timber for a stock that is great for shooting off a benchrest.
      What others should know:I clean the barrel every 100 shots or so with JB non-embedding cream. It works great just like it does in my centerfire Benchrest and Target rifles...I clean them every 20 shots or so after their barrels are broken in.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Nancy from USA on 2010-05-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked: Build quality is excellent, power is awesome. I ordered the 48 in 22 ca and couldn't be happier with it. Shooting @ 20 yards I have yet to shoot a group that couldn't be covered with a dime. I've been shooting cp's and crow magnums through it with incredible results. Dropped a crow in my garden @ 40 yards, head shot. Never knew what hit em. The mildot scope is a great choice too. I highly recommend this combo. Best bang for the buck
      Things I would have changed: Although the scope and mount setup appears to be very strong, they do sit a bit high off the cheek piece. The trigger is not adjustable for weight of pull. Only travel. Although I don't mind that its plastic, I would prefer a slightly more curved profile of the trigger.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2010-02-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.6666700839996343 ratings
       
      Things I liked: I have the 22 cal. I really like the workmanship of the Airgun. The gun has solid stock and is very accurate with CPs 14.3. It is one of my go to hunting rifle.
      Things I would have changed: I would like a metal trigger, although the plastic one is ok.
      What others should know:In order to shoot accurately you must learn and practice using the artillery hold. if possible, I recommend adding a sling.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ryan from USA on 2010-01-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Trigger, fit and finish are top notch! Can shoot a veriety of pellets well
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Its German engineering at its best!
      What others should know:I own three RWS air rifles (34, 350, and 48) all are great, but this one is definetly the smoothest! Mine is in .22 cal. and can only say great things about this air rifle! This gun is accurate!!!!! The cocking effort seems minimal for the power this gun produces. At 20 yards, this air rifle shoots through 3/4" pine with JSB exact jumbo heavy exacts (18.3g.) witch will pack a great punch on small game. Probably the smoothest springer i have ever shot. If u want a well crafted, great shooting air rifle, here it is!
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top