Diana RWS 48 Air Rifle, TO6 Trigger reviews - page 3



Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Average Customer Review

5.0 (68 reviews)
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By gregwhetstone from USA on 2007-10-14 11:54:12

Things I liked:I really like the heft of this rifle,smooth cocking action,did not get a chance to try open sights,as mine came with scope mounted,after what I call "settle down period",about60-75 shots,this gun shoots very good groups,IF you do your part,I own several .22 cal air guns ,so I sighted in with the type my other guns like,I had one other type on hand,so after sighting in,I tried those also,they produced tight groups a little low and left,consistently,but by alternating,and mixing the two types,my rifle definitely is very accurate and knows what it likes,my regular type of pellet continually groups inside 1" at 35 yards,which I find is the average distance I do all my shooting,whether hunting or plinking,its a lot of fun to shoot small fruits,like cherry tomatoes ,and cookies and crackers at this distance,this rifle packs a serious wallop,is extremely accurate and is a joy to own and shoot,I'm glad I chose .22 in this model,I own several high-end .177's also,but this rifle dlivers smashing terminal velocity,and I am sure the more I shoot it,the smoother it will get,and the velocity will creep steadily higher until it reaches maximum.
Things I would have changed:not one solitary thing
What others should know:sight in with your favorite pellet,then try one or two other types,you may find it likes a type other than your favorite,I was lucky ,because me and my rifle both are very fond of the same pellet!
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By derrick.hayes from USA on 2010-02-09 16:00:23

Things I liked: I have the 22 cal. I really like the workmanship of the Airgun. The gun has solid stock and is very accurate with CPs 14.3. It is one of my go to hunting rifle.
Things I would have changed: I would like a metal trigger, although the plastic one is ok.
What others should know:In order to shoot accurately you must learn and practice using the artillery hold. if possible, I recommend adding a sling.
Sort by:
  • « Previous 1234 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Richard from USA on 2011-08-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like verything. Great build quality! The balance and weight of the gun are perfect. The trigger is smooth and solid. I'm used to break barrel guns but I really like the side lever. It cocks very smoothly.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:It's a little loud but not too bad. Hoping that it will quiet down after I've had a chance to break it in. It just arrived today so after mounting the scope, the sling swivels, etc I only had the opportonity to fire off a few rounds before dark. I'm used to the noise level of my Benjamin Trail NP so maybe it's just my perspective.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Dean from USA on 2011-07-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I HIT A QUTER AT 20 YARDS GREAT GUN FOR KILLING SQURRLS RABBITS BIRDS AND IVE NOT KILLED COONS SKUKKS OR POSSUM I THANK IT WILL KILLEM I DO KNOW IT WILL GO THROUT A 3/4 BOARD WITH EASE
    Things I would have changed:THE BLUED BARREL WILL RUST IF YOU DO NOT CLEAN AND OIL IT
    What others should know:ID PUT A SCOPE ON IT I HAVE A 3-9 WINCHESTER
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Gary from USA on 2011-06-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:TO6 trigger is great!, and rear sight now has index marks for windage so you know if your left or right of center. Compared to the newest 34, the 48 drives the same 0.22 cal. pellet 2X as deep into the same piece of wood. So the 100 fps increase over the 34 translates into a lot more power. Like the fact that the stock does not have a cut out on the bottom as do break barrels. At first was not sure I would like a side lever (grew up with a break barrel), but the side lever has much better ergonomics and the barrel will not bend (my old HyScore break barrel has a very bent barrel, can not look straight through it). This rifle is dead accurate with open sights, nailed a zig zaging/running squirrel from 60 ft while standing. The gun is very smooth in both cocking and firing cycles with no vibration, and the two safeties make for comfortable loading of pellets. Front sight is adjustable for elevation. The few plastic parts are very high quality (trigger blade is metal). And contrary to reviews I have seen elsewhere, with a cocked gun after the safety is turned off it can be put back on safe while the gun is still cocked.
    Things I would have changed:Option for a upgraded stock with checkering and raised cheek pad, though this one feels very good with a smooth stock. I really liked the fiber optic sights on the 34, would be nice to have that option on the 48, though the blade sight is very accurate.
    What others should know:First 48 shipped had a loose 2nd trigger screw (made adjusting trigger a problem) and the side lever rubbed when closing. Pyramyd Air made the return/exchange easy and the replacement 48 was perfect. 39 lbs pull weight is okay especially with the side lever, but I did ~60 rounds in one day and pulled a muscle in my back. So if your going to do a lot of shooting try doing 20 push ups a day for a week first! The TO6 trigger adjustment is very sensitive, 1st screw has about 1/4 turn usable adjustment CCW from the factory minimum (all the way clockwise) which is the longest first stage travel, 2nd screw has about +/- 1/2 turn usable adjustment. The 3rd screw adjusts the pull weight for the first and second stage, and for the second stage "step". If you can not feel the second stage step, increase the pull weight (turn 3rd screw CW). Also, the trigger will have a little more resistance when cocked versus uncocked. RWS Superdomes are perfect for this gun. The 48 represents German engineering and manufacturing at its best in air rifles!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Gary from USA on 2011-06-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Moved up to the 48 from a 34 for more power. The "first" 48 with the TO6 trigger had a loose fitting trigger screw (2nd screw) making it hard to adjust the trigger. Pyramyd Air made the return/exchange easy. The replacement 48 was perfect! TO6 trigger is great and the 48 has lots more power than the 34, but not a noticeable difference in recoil (it is a heavier gun). I grew up with a break barrel so was hesitant at first to get a side lever, but I found the ergonomics of the side lever are much better than the break barrel (and the barrel will not bend over time). Just work up to it and even switch hands to cock it, I ran ~60 rounds through the first one trying to get the trigger right and pulled a muscle in my back (and I am in really good shape). Very accurate gun, at first missed the fiber optic sights on the 34, but the blade sight works great and is more adjustable. Over all a high quality air rifle that has a smooth cocking mechanism and no vibration on the firing cycle! I now know what Paul C. meant when he said in his video it feels like a tuned gun right out of the box.
    Things I would have changed:Having the option for an upgraded stock would be nice (as on the 54)
    What others should know:Notes for the trigger adjustment (three screws): the 1st screw has about a 1/4 turn (CCW) of usable adjustment for the 1st stage travel (starting from all the way in, CW), the 2nd screw has about 1/2 turn +/- usable adjustment, and the third screw affects both the 1st stage and 2nd stage pull weight. The 3rd screw adjustment is also critical in allowing you to feel the "step" between the 1st and 2nd stage. If you stop feeling where the 2nd stage step is, turn the 3rd screw CW to increase the pull weight. It is a touchy trigger, so make small adjustments to fine tune it if needed.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By mims_mark from USA on 2011-04-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked: EMPACT77 THIS IS GOT TO BE IN THE TOP 10 WHEN IT COMES TO SPRINGERS HITS HARD AT LONG SHOTS OUT TO 60YRDS WELL MADE GREAT SIGHTS NICE MATCH TRIGGER MANY FLYING RATS HAVE GOTTEN A LONG KISS GOOD NIGHT ,FROM THIS GUN.
    Things I would have changed:NOTHING
    What others should know:TAKE IT EASY ON THE COCKING ARM DO NOT JERK ON IT USE A NICE SLOW DRAW .YOU CAN'T BEAT A LIFETIME WARRRNTY BEST ROUNDS I FOUND WERE BEEMAN SILVER ARROW IN 177CAL.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By huntoon3 from USA on 2011-01-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:this is the first RWS i have ever owned, so i did not know what to expect. it is very nice out of the box. nice heavy feel, very stout. beautiful wood, the trigger is really nice. i was very excited about the noise level, it is actually pretty quiet, not silent, but i can shoot it in my backyard and not get nervous that the neighbors will be alarmed, this was really my main objective with finding a well made air rifle. overall it is just a time tested sure thing, well made air rifle, that i know will be in my family for many years.
    Things I would have changed:maybe add some fancy checkering on the stock like the 350 magnum.
    What others should know:pyramid air customer service did a good job. i did the 10 shots for $10, and i felt it was worth it.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Mr.Prapon from Thailand on 2010-12-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Beautiful Rifle.Absolute accuracy.A true point & shoot.This rifle's dynamics were crafted perfectly:This rifle is very well made.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jungle Jim from USA on 2010-10-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:My Diana RWS Model 48 is in .25 caliber and it has exceeded my expectations. It is very accurate and powerful. I shoot both the Beeman 26.2 grain Crow Magnum and H&N 26.23 grain Hollowpoint pellets and I am very satisfied with their accuracy and terminal performance. Both pellets will cleanly dispatch a Groundhog up to 35 yards by employing a head shot. Royally pissed off at a big black Grackle bullying smaller birds and expensive raking sunflower seeds, intended for polite Cardinals, out of the back side of my bird feeder to feed a throng of his black gang members on the ground below, I once shot clean through two .250" layers of plexiglas and 4" of bird seed to kill the rogue black Grackle and stop his looting. I had to replace the plexiglas sides of the bird feeder; however, that damn gang of black Grackles never returned.
    Things I would have changed:I would like to have more than just one of these fine rifles...atleast one in every caliber available. I'd like to have one with a fancy checkered high grade wood stock and another with a lightweight carbongraphite composite stock to carry squirrel hunting. My .25 caliber Model 48 is kind of heavy...it has a solid piece of timber for a stock that is great for shooting off a benchrest.
    What others should know:I clean the barrel every 100 shots or so with JB non-embedding cream. It works great just like it does in my centerfire Benchrest and Target rifles...I clean them every 20 shots or so after their barrels are broken in.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By John from USA on 2010-05-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.03 ratings
     
    Things I liked: Build quality is excellent, power is awesome. I ordered the 48 in 22 ca and couldn't be happier with it. Shooting @ 20 yards I have yet to shoot a group that couldn't be covered with a dime. I've been shooting cp's and crow magnums through it with incredible results. Dropped a crow in my garden @ 40 yards, head shot. Never knew what hit em. The mildot scope is a great choice too. I highly recommend this combo. Best bang for the buck
    Things I would have changed: Although the scope and mount setup appears to be very strong, they do sit a bit high off the cheek piece. The trigger is not adjustable for weight of pull. Only travel. Although I don't mind that its plastic, I would prefer a slightly more curved profile of the trigger.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By derrick.hayes from USA on 2010-02-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.6666700839996343 ratings
     
    Things I liked: I have the 22 cal. I really like the workmanship of the Airgun. The gun has solid stock and is very accurate with CPs 14.3. It is one of my go to hunting rifle.
    Things I would have changed: I would like a metal trigger, although the plastic one is ok.
    What others should know:In order to shoot accurately you must learn and practice using the artillery hold. if possible, I recommend adding a sling.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Ryan from USA on 2010-01-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Trigger, fit and finish are top notch! Can shoot a veriety of pellets well
    Things I would have changed:Nothing. Its German engineering at its best!
    What others should know:I own three RWS air rifles (34, 350, and 48) all are great, but this one is definetly the smoothest! Mine is in .22 cal. and can only say great things about this air rifle! This gun is accurate!!!!! The cocking effort seems minimal for the power this gun produces. At 20 yards, this air rifle shoots through 3/4" pine with JSB exact jumbo heavy exacts (18.3g.) witch will pack a great punch on small game. Probably the smoothest springer i have ever shot. If u want a well crafted, great shooting air rifle, here it is!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By sgray411 from USA on 2009-12-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Accuracy of my .177 Diana Model 48 is top notch even when using the iron sights. The Stock is high quality. At 50 yards I can see dirt fly behind my paper targets instantaneously after I pull the trigger. This gun is blazingly fast. I penetrates wood like you won't believe. Have toyed with the idea of lining up a row of pumpkins to see how many it will penetrate.
    Things I would have changed:I think this gun could use sling swivel attachments. The gun is heavy and if you plan on carrying it in the field you will notice the weight. I have a slip on loop type sling but I'd prefer swivel attachments so I can use a standard rifle sling. My loop type sling is wrapped around both the barrel and the stock at the hand grip. I am worried that the blueing will might wear off the barrel eventually.
    What others should know:These guns have only increased in price since I purchased mine about 5 years ago. If you are in the market and can afford this gun you should buy it. You won't be dissappointed. This is a top quality German air gun. It doesn't get any better than this.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Sparky from USA on 2009-12-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I just acuired on of these beautiful rifles in .20 cal. i have to describe this gun in two words beautiful and deadly. i am averaging 800FPS with several different rounds. i just bought and mounted a BSA 3X12X44 AO scope and a one piece accushot mount and now she is a real tacdriver. the ron sights are real nice as well. i have been getting 16ft pounds and love it. gallon gug of watter are no match and this weekend the jack rabbits are not either.
    Things I would have changed:nothin at all. those germans really know their air rifles.
    What others should know:be sure to use a relxed grip, slow triger poll, and a soft rest. i have yet to get this thing on the long shots. but the snow here is not letting me. lol. if u can find this rifle in 20 cal get it . great power and accuracy. the feel of this stock is great for me at 5' 7". the 39 pound cocking effort seem efortles with this sidelever design. i rest the butt in my left thigh and pull down with right arm and this way i can shootall day.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By monsfp from USA on 2009-05-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:solidly built , accurate , durable.
    Things I would have changed:better scope rail
    What others should know:This rifle is deadly accurate !. The power is very respectable and is not too picky on pellets , except Gamos (mine is .22 cal). it is a bit heavy to carry if you do field (rough) hunting ,like i do in the Philippines so i mounted a sling on mine .Get a well built scope and , the new UTG scope base which i will soon receive fm. Pyramid.. Hopefully this will solve the scope shift problem w/c had plagued RWS rifles. Overall it's one great product !! -mon d.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Foster from USA on 2009-03-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Powerful ! , Extremely well made and solid as a rock ! The Mercedes Benz of Air Rifles .
    Things I would have changed:nothing
    What others should know:This is as fine as airgunning gets in my opinion . A gorgeous , well engineered and made , powerful rifle that will last foryears and years ...and it's got a lifetime warranty !...If you buy a scope for this gun you will more than likely need an adjustable scope mount ....i don't know why this is but i just bought my second model 48 and it's a common problem with them that most scope and mount combos don't seem to be able to be adjusted high enough ...like 2 or 3 inches low at only 10 yards . Also you might want to check with the U.S. importer of RWS ...a company called Umarex ( they have a web site ) ...i called them and was told that RWS themselves are putting out a solid mount in mid-March of 09 that's already height adjusted to remedy this problem , which is the route i'm taking with my latest model 48 .
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2008-12-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:insane power, beautiful stock, accurate enough to hit a quarter at 45 yards, very very solid, adjustable trigger, rubber buttpad, it goes on and on...
    Things I would have changed:nothing wrong with it but im going to make the trigger pull a little lighter
    What others should know:i got it for christmas and this is my third airgun. my father took it to a shop and got it custom made he asked for one with a nice stock and it is beautiful. other reviewers complain about the front post being too thick and/or plastic. my dad got a muzzle brake so the front post doesnt stick up in front of the sight picture (gamo or beeman, im not sure.) and a centerpoint adventure class 3-9x40 scope. it looks nothing like the picture, its a lot better looking. if this is at your budget, i highly recommend it.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By t.devil from USA on 2008-10-31
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very accurate riffle, plenty of power for squirels. Purchased with leaper bug buster scope mounted with B-square 25015 mounts. Had rifle zeroed in less than 20 shots. First outing I harvested 4 squirels from 20-30 yards with the crossman premier pellets. Great products
    Things I would have changed:Front sights are large and made of plastic . I was able to place shots consistently with them.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By scott from USA on 2008-08-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Fixed barrel. Side cocking. Good, crisp trigger. Very good practice/target/small game rifle.
    Things I would have changed:Put a thinner front post. The factory front post is too thick to shoot with past 15-20 yards accurately.
    What others should know:It was difficult to scope this rifle as of recently. Pyramyd has the LEAPERS DIANA weaver base available that compensates for barrel drop (droop). I would STRONGLY suggest that base and some LOW weaver rings. If you have a little bigger budget then the RWS 52 (same action as the 48 but has the raised cheek comb on the stock. Everything else is the same.) Would be the more ergonomical stock for the LEAPERS DIANA base because the base raises the scope about 3/4 of an inch and even with low rings my cheek is still a little low for a natural hold. If I had just gotten the 52 with the raised cheek comb it would've been PERFECT. Now I need to order a 52 stock for $220 from UMAREX or make a cheek riser if it really bothers me. If I knew then what I know now I would've got the 52. Still with this gun and a 3-12x44 leapers scope I can put 5 shots into eachother at 25 feet rested. With the LEAPERS base, I zero'd at 20 yards as per the required zero and the next zero intersects at about 34 yards or so (meaning I hold dead center at 20 AND 34 yards for a hit).... Crossman premiers work well. I'd recommend this gun or the 54 to ANYONE looking for a quality, accurate, powerful springer.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2008-07-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Besides the 48 I also own a 460 Magnum and a 54 recoiless. I have a Luxux 52 on order, so I am pro RWS (more on that later). My 48 is .177 cal the others are .22. I really like this gun it is powerful and accurate. Cocking effort is relatively light and precise as only the Germans can do. Overall finish and feel is one of quality.
    Things I would have changed:The Owner's Manual is weak. The gun comes with a tag on the barrel warning about deploying the release button to finish cocking the gun. Unfortunately mine was off the gun in the bottom of the box and my first cocking action nearly bent the cocking lever. Please RWS publish a DECENT owner's manual! Like Beeman and Air Rifle Headquarters did years ago! The 48 is the value gun (as compared to the 52 and 54) so I'm not going to complain about the forgettable bland and boring beech stock which is finished in brown crayon. But if Winchester can offer a walnut stock on a $100 gun, why can't RWS give us a walnut option for a reasonable price?
    What others should know:This is an overall excellent gun for about $350. My gripes are minor when compared to the inherent quality of this rifle. The gun is a bit heavy due to its quality construction if you are going to hunt with it buy a sling.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Michael from USA on 2008-06-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is a quality air rifle, I like it very much. My new .22cal. Model 48 is well balanced, very accurate and lethal to small game at 50 plus yards. The gun is somewhat heavy but, very easy to hold on target. To me the hefty weight is a testament to its solid construction and robust performance. Recently, from about 23 yards I dropped a possum in my garden. The wadcutter hit him square in the shoulder with a loud cracking sound and there was no need for a second shot. The entrance wound was substantial but, there was no exit wound. This surprised me given the fact that at the same distance a wadcutter will go through a three forth inch piece of white pine with ease. As to the issue of accuracy, a good scope is a must. Not that there is anything wrong with the open sight's, its just the fact that this gun is capable of so much. After a short break in period I was shooting inch groups at 20 and 35 yards. I did noticed about a half inch drop in trajectory at the further distance. In my book that is quite acceptable.
    Things I would have changed:The scope rail. It is too short and the stop pin holes need to be a little deeper.
    What others should know:You will not go wrong with this gun. The quality of materials and craftsmanship are superb. Cocking effort is every bit of the advertise 39 pounds. To accomplish this task with the least amount of effort I place one knee on the ground and put the butt of the rifle on my other foot. This allows me to use all my upper body strength in pulling the cocking handle straight down. I did have some trouble in finding a proper scope mount. After trying several types, I am well pleased with the 2 piece Beeman 5030m. It is rock solid.
  • « Previous 1234 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top